View Full Version : Philly Or Ryan

09/05/2005, 6:52 PM
It's a simple question.

Who do the loyal fans think should be starting at right back?

Be sure to give your opinion on who you picked!

09/05/2005, 7:05 PM
Definetely Ryan cos he has waited long enough for a chance and Gallagher has'nt really proved himself as of yet.

garykelly
09/05/2005, 7:22 PM
ryan o'donnell - in fairness to manager he was picked to play but got injured

Da Real Rover
09/05/2005, 7:39 PM
O'Donnell without a doubt cause hes more reliable and is an allround better player.

sligoboy
09/05/2005, 8:49 PM
Definetly has to be ryan, a much better all round player than philip. He has a better touch can make better tackles and can pass the ball properly. A much more intelligant player too. :)

shedhead
09/05/2005, 9:44 PM
A definetly Ryan but we havent seen him in that position for us before but he is probably the most consistent and reliable player i have ever seen play football from his days at cartron,summerhill and the odd game i saw him at kildare. Philly is a good player first division player but his bad points are being shown up in the best defence rovers have had for years. Whatever happens philip should get our support even when playing bad, as too shean flannery who came in for some too harsh critism on saturday nite.

garykelly
09/05/2005, 11:21 PM
A definetly Ryan but we havent seen him in that position for us before but he is probably the most consistent and reliable player i have ever seen play football from his days at cartron,summerhill and the odd game i saw him at kildare. Philly is a good player first division player but his bad points are being shown up in the best defence rovers have had for years. Whatever happens philip should get our support even when playing bad, as too shean flannery who came in for some too harsh critism on saturday nite.

he has played that position in cobh after coming on for injured gallagher. composure, good tackles, good passing and no fear of getting stuck in was the way he played. as for flannery, everyone at the game saw what the goal meant to him. nobody should question his commitment.next time rovers play watch him, cos he does alot you dont see. everyone should judge for themselves and not jump on a bandwagon. let the opposition criticise our players while we support our players

DonalE
10/05/2005, 5:43 PM
Ryan for me too,no matter how much time Philip has on the ball he rarely takes a touch. Everything is hit first time and sliced into the stand! Ryan has more composure and experience.

SligoRoversfan
10/05/2005, 6:57 PM
ryan,gallacher hasnt a clue waht to do going foward

heard ryan had a fall out with sean connor :confused:

Donegalred
11/05/2005, 11:15 AM
Deserves a shout as well. He'll come in during the summer I hear. he's A lot better than phil.

Redzer
11/05/2005, 2:36 PM
An interesting stat, after 9 games last season we had conceded 15 goals and scored 13. This season after 9 games we have conceded 4 goals and scored 8. Its very hard to change a defence with that record, even if you have potentially better players on the bench.

Petmuller
11/05/2005, 4:17 PM
An interesting stat, after 9 games last season we had conceded 15 goals and scored 13. This season after 9 games we have conceded 4 goals and scored 8. Its very hard to change a defence with that record, even if you have potentially better players on the bench.
Redzer that is the best thread I've read on this forum, you are 100% right in what you say!! The stats speak for themselves and no matter what anyone of us thinks about any player our defence is doing a wonderful job. As the old saying goes; if it's not broken don't fix it.

Da Real Rover
11/05/2005, 4:23 PM
Another interseting stat is that Gallagher scored an own goal and conceded a penalty both within 5 minutes of the games starting. Don't tell thats not broken.

Petmuller
11/05/2005, 5:03 PM
Another interseting stat is that Gallagher scored an own goal and conceded a penalty both within 5 minutes of the games starting. Don't tell thats not broken.

I don't think that's very fair on the player. I think in both instances it was proven by video evidence that both were just a cases of bad luck, certainly for the OG, the other was just a bad decision by the referee.
The stats supplied by redzer prove that Sean has done a great job with our defence. I think we should be now concentrating on our midfield section where we aren't creative enough. With McTiernan back and Flannery buzzing after his goal if we can get the middle sorted then we can look forward with optism for the first time in years.
Let's get off Gallagher's back and instead give the lad the support all our players deserve.

11/05/2005, 5:11 PM
I don't think that's very fair on the player. I think in both instances it was proven by video evidence that both were just a cases of bad luck, certainly for the OG, the other was just a bad decision by the referee.
The stats supplied by redzer prove that Sean has done a great job with our defence. I think we should be now concentrating on our midfield section where we aren't creative enough. With McTiernan back and Flannery buzzing after his goal if we can get the middle sorted then we can look forward with optism for the first time in years.
Let's get off Gallagher's back and instead give the lad the support all our players deserve.

And what about the players who should be starting,like ryan?Are they expected to sit on the bench and wait for things to go wrong before they get a chance?

ranting rover
11/05/2005, 5:24 PM
And what about the players who should be starting,like ryan?Are they expected to sit on the bench and wait for things to go wrong before they get a chance?

Should be starting in YOUR opinion. And yes, they should be waiting on the bench - patiently - along with working hard in training to prove to the manager that they are worth their salt if we start leaking goals. If you want a high profile example of this then look at any player in the Chelsea squad who doesn't necessarily start - Cudicini is a prime example. 4 goals conceded in 9 games is an excellant record in any league and there is absolutely NO reason for change at present...

...we should be praising all 4 members of the defence and concentrating on our dismal scoring record...

Da Real Rover
11/05/2005, 5:51 PM
I agree we should be critical of our dismall scoring record but this thread is about whether you want Phillip or Ryan in defence.

Petmuller
11/05/2005, 5:54 PM

That, my friend, is how football works. It can be a cruel game but the rewards are great for he who waits. As Ranting rover rightly puts it we should indeed be praising all four members of our back four, after all they are a unit and they play very well as one. The facts speak for themselves.

Petmuller
11/05/2005, 6:50 PM
petmuller, no1 is complaining about gallagher defensively, it his attacking i have a problem with
I'm not saying that the lad doesn't have any faults, yes he's poor going forward, in fact he just doesn't get forward enough but he is a defender and we have to come to appreciate that.

11/05/2005, 7:04 PM
Lads i started this thread to see who the fans think should be playing. i agree with the fantastic record our back 5 has achieved. But i put it to you, would he have conseaded less,maybe, maybe not but would a more attack minded right back result in more delieveries into the box and therefor more goals?

Petmuller
11/05/2005, 7:26 PM
Lads i started this thread to see who the fans think should be playing. i agree with the fantastic record our back 5 has achieved. But i put it to you, would he have conseaded less,maybe, maybe not but would a more attack minded right back result in more delieveries into the box and therefor more goals?

In my opinion the best attacking full back we had in recent times was Ian Rossiter. Ian got forward with every opportunity and he both created and scored some great goals. That's the plus side of an attacking full back. The negative side is that because he liked to get forward then he was also caught out of position a good deal of the time. People will tell you that most goals we conceeded during Ian's time with Rovers was down our right side.
I think one thing that we can learn from both examples is that a defender that only defends concentrates 100% on defending whereas he that likes to get forward and is more creative has a divided role. So it's a matter of choice really.

11/05/2005, 8:01 PM
In my opinion the best attacking full back we had in recent times was Ian Rossiter. Ian got forward with every opportunity and he both created and scored some great goals. That's the plus side of an attacking full back. The negative side is that because he liked to get forward then he was also caught out of position a good deal of the time. People will tell you that most goals we conceeded during Ian's time with Rovers was down our right side.
I think one thing that we can learn from both examples is that a defender that only defends concentrates 100% on defending whereas he that likes to get forward and is more creative has a divided role. So it's a matter of choice really.

Good point about rossiter and i agree.
However i think that if ryan was to go forward and get balss into the box he would have both the pace and desire to get back and help the defence again,something which rossiter didnt really have.Also Raf could easily fill in for him or whoever is playing in the holding midfield role.

Da Real Rover
11/05/2005, 9:48 PM
I agree that defensively Phill is sound but so is Ryan, also Phill gets chances to attack but waists them and that then means we have one less avenue of attack. Ryan is proven to be a much better ball player, so when the right back gets a chance to attack it will be taken advantage of by Ryan.

15/05/2005, 12:05 PM
ryan for now i suppose.....cotterill will take over in july...he isnt signing him to just sit in the stands

roversforever
28/05/2005, 6:58 PM
neither......sean purcell for me.

garykelly
31/05/2005, 8:29 AM
hopefully ryan will get a run in the team soon cos come July Chris Cotterill will probably be right back leaving both ryan and phillip out in the cold

shedhead
31/05/2005, 10:38 AM
Is ryan back from injury. He can play central back or midfield as well,hopefully if he's fit he will play tonite. Im sure he will get his chance when Liam Burns leaves us(hopefully he wont) and anyway cotterill can play on the wing i think so he mite yet make the right full back position his own yet.Regards Philly he is a good player but with the ball all he does is hoof it,and he usually slices it as well

31/05/2005, 10:59 AM
he wont play ryan centre back....when he is fit[not yet i think] he will start....at right back

red metal
31/05/2005, 11:02 AM
Has to be ryan for me. Hopefully he get,s his chance tonight game v harps and keep,s gallagher out of the team for the rest of the season. :ball:

roversforever
31/05/2005, 12:19 PM
can confirm that gary curran is starting tonight.delighted with this news coz he's a class act.

31/05/2005, 1:59 PM
Don't think he will be playing.Still injured.
Heard from a reliable source,wildrover knows who that is.

roversforever
31/05/2005, 10:16 PM
totally agree,we need to get him out of the team.he was turned inside out so many times,he can't attack,when he has the ball its hit and hope.he never looks for a man.at times he seems to panic when he has the ball.his throws or poor too.he can't throw it too far.this might seem like a small thing but compare them with lows throws on the other side.he sets up goo attacking options for us with his throws.he can't cross a ball either.i know this might seem harsh but im not just jumping on the bandwagon.for me he's been a problem all season.

roversforever
31/05/2005, 10:26 PM
ya i noticed that as well tonight.id like to see sean purcell given a chance when he returns from injury.he's struggling with his hamstring.

Mitch Buchanon
01/06/2005, 8:21 AM
Lads all I'm going to say is that actions speak louder than words. Harps even noted the weakness and sent there best player (Kevin McHugh) out the left side. It was embarassing.

Case closed.

showgies
01/06/2005, 8:38 AM
One sentence sums up Philip Gallagher "he is not a footballer"...............

01/06/2005, 11:19 AM
last night i struggled to believe he was a human being!

sign a right back sean

or as i said last night 8 times

"TAKE HIM OFF!!!!"

Da Real Rover
01/06/2005, 6:08 PM
ffs lads easy on the personal insults will ye! :mad:
Hes not too bad at them himself, what goes around comes around.