View Full Version : Sligo Rovers Vs. Malahide United

09/05/2005, 5:46 PM
We have just drawn them in the F.A.I. Cup second round at home today. What do ye think-Tough or Easy game :D ?

Did ye see Sean Conor in the crowd? Looking well in the suit ha? :D :D

The games are on the week ending the 12th of June. So that's the 11th for us.

Ciarán Keaveney
09/05/2005, 5:50 PM
I would say an easy game. i never heard of them before. When is the game on.

Da Real Rover
09/05/2005, 5:56 PM
If the lads perform we'll win, if not it could be a tricky game.

09/05/2005, 5:59 PM
you never know with non league teams.we will have to play better than we are at the moment in the cup cos the premier league tems will put us to shame.

what are the odds of our old pal pat scully beating the harps.
might watch TV3 tonight to hear what he has to say......even if it is a sh*t programe

garykelly
09/05/2005, 6:06 PM
I would say an easy game. i never heard of them before. When is the game on.

no easy games I'm afraid..ask anyone who was at the blubell and mervue games..two non league defeats in two years !!

I think we'll beat em, but complacency has no place in football.

1 9 2 8
09/05/2005, 6:14 PM
no easy games I'm afraid..ask anyone who was at the blubell and mervue games..two non league defeats in two years !!

Didn't Mervue get a 0-0 draw in the Showgrounds and the replay finished 2-0 to Rovers in Terryland

shedhead
09/05/2005, 6:18 PM
should easily beat them as the gap between senior and junior football is growing all the time in Ireland. One thing do is that they could be tired after a long season together or they could have gelled together. Who knows. Not one of the most famous junior clubs but i would still worry bout them. Its a pity no sligo junior teams have been in the draw,cant remember the last iv seen a sligo team apart from rovers in the senior cup,any 1 remember.

see there standing this year, mid table.What standard is there league any1 know?
http://www.soccerbot.com/afl/afl.htm

09/05/2005, 6:22 PM

I was at them but we'll win this won definetely ;)

garykelly
09/05/2005, 6:23 PM
Didn't Mervue get a 0-0 draw in the Showgrounds and the replay finished 2-0 to Rovers in Terryland

yeah ur right. memory skipped there...thought lost in galway.sure moran scored 2 late on to win in terryland...gettin old ! but anyhoo we did lose to blubell so warning signs are there :rolleyes:

sligoboy
09/05/2005, 8:56 PM
We should win easily, shouldn't be even questioning it, if we're planning on moving up we should beat these teams with ease. ( and yes i do remember the misserable results against junior teams in recent years, but hopefully we've improved since!!) our lads should be going into this game with a sense of cockyness and control it from start to finish and show them the difference in standard. The score board has to show it too. :rolleyes:

09/05/2005, 9:36 PM
a fully fit team should go far in this seasons cup and a nonleague opening tie is the perfect way to get the ball rolling.

LondonRover
10/05/2005, 3:14 PM
Would be right in assuming the game will be on the Sat night the 11th?
I might be home for a family thing that weekend so would hopefully manage to sneak out for the match! Wish it was a bigger draw (for my first game of the season) but yeah, you'd have to hope/assume that Rovers will beat Malahide so could be hope of a cup run.
Would it be a good thing to get the crowds back or could it be a distraction to a League campaign do ye reckon?

10/05/2005, 3:21 PM
Malahide centre forward is Austin Skelly (Ossie) formerly of Dublin City, some of you may remember him. They are managed by Bobby Brown. Sligo should be too strong for them but they should not be taken lightly.

Petmuller
10/05/2005, 3:48 PM
The proverbally banana skin I'd say. As someone has already said there's no easy game. These lads will be up for it we can be sure of that. They have nothing to lose so we'll have to be on our guard. But having said that we should be too strong for them. I'd expect a good open game of football as Bobby Brown was some player himself so I'd say he'd have his team playing nice football which will suit our lads.
Looking forward to it already.

Redzer
11/05/2005, 12:22 PM
LSL Premier Sat P W D L F A +/- Pts
Vale View Shankill 27 17 6 4 64 29 35 57
Hartstown United 26 17 5 4 77 33 44 56
Loughlinstown Celtic 24 16 5 3 73 31 42 53
Ballycullen Boys 26 15 6 5 61 34 27 51
Sportslink 24 15 4 5 62 33 29 49
Brendanville 27 12 12 3 57 30 27 48
Dunboyne 27 12 5 10 56 57 -1 41
Walkinstown Athletic 27 11 7 9 45 47 -2 40
Dundrum Athletic 26 12 2 12 50 54 -4 38
Cashelvilla 28 8 5 15 43 71 -28 29
Malahide United 28 8 3 17 44 64 -20 27 :ball:
Rathfarnham Punters 28 6 9 13 37 58 -21 27
Spartak Dynamo 27 6 7 14 43 53 -10 25
Fassaugh Celtic 29 4 4 21 37 86 -49 16
Hillcrest 28 2 0 26 12 81 -69 6

Above present position in LSL. Also Dundalk beat them 4-1 in a preseason early on this year.

11/05/2005, 12:37 PM
LSL Premier Sat P W D L F A +/- Pts
Vale View Shankill 27 17 6 4 64 29 35 57
Hartstown United 26 17 5 4 77 33 44 56
Loughlinstown Celtic 24 16 5 3 73 31 42 53
Ballycullen Boys 26 15 6 5 61 34 27 51
Sportslink 24 15 4 5 62 33 29 49
Brendanville 27 12 12 3 57 30 27 48
Dunboyne 27 12 5 10 56 57 -1 41
Walkinstown Athletic 27 11 7 9 45 47 -2 40
Dundrum Athletic 26 12 2 12 50 54 -4 38
Cashelvilla 28 8 5 15 43 71 -28 29
Malahide United 28 8 3 17 44 64 -20 27 :ball:
Rathfarnham Punters 28 6 9 13 37 58 -21 27
Spartak Dynamo 27 6 7 14 43 53 -10 25
Fassaugh Celtic 29 4 4 21 37 86 -49 16
Hillcrest 28 2 0 26 12 81 -69 6

Above present position in LSL. Also Dundalk beat them 4-1 in a preseason early on this year.

Thats their reserve team’s league. You'll find their stats in the www.lsl.ie Senior Sunday league. They have reached 2 cup finals already this season. Quite a few of their players are getting a few bob for playing. Wayne Griffin has just been selected to play for the ROI Amateur team.

garykelly
11/05/2005, 1:53 PM
Thats their reserve team’s league. You'll find their stats in the www.lsl.ie Senior Sunday league. They have reached 2 cup finals already this season. Quite a few of their players are getting a few bob for playing. Wayne Griffin has just been selected to play for the ROI Amateur team.

i think this is their league
P Pts
Bangor Celtic 24 54
Wayside Celtic 24 44
Belgrove 22 44
Crumlin United 22 41
CYM Terenure 25 37
Malahide United 20 36
Cherry Orchard 25 33
Moyle Park 26 30

also goto the link below to see bobby browne/sean connor with the cup
http://www.malahideunited.com/fai_cupdraw.htm

their website is under construction till end of may.

Redzer
11/05/2005, 2:22 PM
Thanks for the correction Drummerboy :)

monutdfc
11/05/2005, 2:25 PM
also goto the link below to see bobby browne/sean connor with the cup
http://www.malahideunited.com/fai_cupdraw.htm

Sean Connor should be arrested for that suit, with the white t-shirt underneath. He's been watching too many re-runs of Miami Vice I think

11/05/2005, 2:28 PM
Thanks for the correction Drummerboy :)

No problem Redzer, don't want you guys getting lulled into a false sense of security, lol

Ciarán Keaveney
11/05/2005, 6:06 PM
Do Malahide Utd have any good players and where are they from.
(is there a bus going to the kildare game)

Toddy_Burns
11/05/2005, 6:44 PM
Do Malahide Utd have any good players and where are they from.
(is there a bus going to the kildare game)

Im Gonna guess malahide utd are from malahide on this one!
that'd be dublin now ciaran. posh enuff area.

jstuff
12/05/2005, 10:17 AM
Don;t think there is a bus going to the kildare game, poor enough showing on last bus with only 30 supporters on a 52 seater bus to athlone. In addition the race night for the trust was poorly attended.

12/05/2005, 6:06 PM
Im Gonna guess malahide utd are from malahide on this one!
that'd be dublin now ciaran. posh enuff area.

Yeah and whatever about their team their facilities are top drawer, the Irish team train on them.