View Full Version : Which country has conceded the least goals per game in the world cup finals?

Pages : 1 [2]

stojkovic
09/05/2005, 4:29 PM
3 world cup winning captains have played for the same club

name club and players???
Shot in the dark

AS Roma - Cafu, Dunga and Passarella ?

stojkovic
09/05/2005, 4:33 PM
Ah sneaky one, could it be ;

New York Cosmos

Beckenbauer
Carlos Alberto
Bobby Moore

09/05/2005, 4:35 PM
Paul you never told us, who won the EPL with two different clubs?

09/05/2005, 4:38 PM
David May

Btw May actually joined Utd at the start of the season Blackburn won the title.

09/05/2005, 5:04 PM
Ah sneaky one, could it be ;

New York Cosmos

Beckenbauer
Carlos Alberto
Bobby Moore

thats it

09/05/2005, 6:25 PM
a) Which country has drawn the highest proportion of its world cup games?

b) Who were the opponents and what was the score.

Nobody got this one yet? Shall I give you a clue :rolleyes:

jimbob117
09/05/2005, 6:31 PM
Name 7 players that are / were in premiership squads and are/were managed by their fathers?

09/05/2005, 6:39 PM
poor student henning berg was one.

but the one i was thinking was veron. cos technically he is only out on loan!!hehe :p

09/05/2005, 6:41 PM
stoikovic sorry for spelling your name wrong, but that was very good! did you google that?

alex and darren ferguson
brian and nigel cloughie
harry and jamie redknapp
kenny dalglish
strachan's kid?
mike and ian walker

09/05/2005, 6:50 PM
colin and andy todd?

jimbob117
09/05/2005, 7:07 PM
stoikovic sorry for spelling your name wrong, but that was very good! did you google that?

alex and darren ferguson
brian and nigel cloughie
harry and jamie redknapp
kenny dalglish
strachan's kid?

Walker is incorrect.... paul dalglish is kennys kid, as is gavin strachen, and todd is also correct. Am impressed but there is one more, not very well known, i could give ya a hint?

Closed Account 2
09/05/2005, 7:14 PM
iim hoping someone can tell me the answer to this one, whoo played in the liverpool derby, the london derby and the manchester derby, i think he played around the early 90's but i dont know who it is, thought it was parker ( not paul ) but i donot think it is.

Paul Walsh ?

jimbob117
09/05/2005, 7:23 PM
12 players who have scored in the champions league final and played in the premiership??

Paul the other player has never played in the 1st team so thats why its kinda tricky!

09/05/2005, 7:41 PM
that isnt much of a hint!! give me a proper hint i cant think, i give in im defeated

steve bruce's kid was on the youth team though. and he went to newcastle. thats all i can think.

also here are a few for the others
steve mc manaman
ole,
teddy,
gulit,
hierro,
kluivert ( for ajax)
vialli and or ravenelli
koeman?
morientes?

jimbob117
09/05/2005, 7:53 PM
that isnt much of a hint!! give me a proper hint i cant think, i give in im defeated

steve bruce's kid was on the youth team though. and he went to newcastle. thats all i can think.

also here are a few for the others
steve mc manaman
ole,
teddy,
gulit,
hierro,
kluivert ( for ajax)
vialli and or ravenelli
koeman?
morientes?

Steve bruce's kid is right!!played in the reserves im told.
as for the others... vialli and ravenelli are correct, as are the rest bar koeman and hierro.. 4 others

09/05/2005, 7:56 PM
desailly?

i thought steve bruce's kid was youth. anyhow

jimbob117
09/05/2005, 8:04 PM
desailly?

yep!!

09/05/2005, 9:01 PM
paul dalglish is kennys kid, as is gavin strachen

Who'd have known!!!? Kenny bangin' Gordons wife!! :eek:

09/05/2005, 9:44 PM
Who'd have known!!!? Kenny bangin' Gordons wife!!

ya i thought that was quite funny as well!!!hehe! im sure he meant though both had kids playing

09/05/2005, 9:54 PM
was away at my girlfriends final one i can only think of is riedle

jimbob117
10/05/2005, 2:11 AM
was away at my girlfriends final one i can only think of is riedle

Correct! and ye are very funny about the error i made about strachen! only realised it after i posted! anyway paul the other 2 are jari litmanen and mendieta!

stojkovic
10/05/2005, 9:13 AM

Nah just thought of all the captains. Cafu played for Roma and I thought maybe Dunga and Passarella did. Then just thought that it had to be something silly like the Cosmos but wasnt sure who Bobby Moore played for over there.

Great question though.

stojkovic
10/05/2005, 9:20 AM
12 players who have scored in the champions league final and played in the premiership??

There is only TEN.

Solksjaer 1999 Man Utd
Sheringham 1999 Man Utd
McManaman 2000 Real Madrid
Morientes 2000 Real Madrid
Karl Heinz Riedle 1997 Borrussia Dortmund
Patrick Kluivert 1995 Ajax
Jari Litmanen 1996 Ajax
Ravanelli 1996 Juventus
Mendieta 2001 Valencia
Marcel Desailly 1994 AC Milan

Champions League started as a group stage in 1992 so Gullit does not count.

Who are the other two that you say ?

10/05/2005, 9:48 AM
mendieta!

ah feck!!!! i shoulld have got that boro. feck. thats poor. i dont think i would have jari litmanen though!!!! fair play thanks for that.

jimbob117
10/05/2005, 5:24 PM
There is only TEN.

Solksjaer 1999 Man Utd
Sheringham 1999 Man Utd
McManaman 2000 Real Madrid
Morientes 2000 Real Madrid
Karl Heinz Riedle 1997 Borrussia Dortmund
Patrick Kluivert 1995 Ajax
Jari Litmanen 1996 Ajax
Ravanelli 1996 Juventus
Mendieta 2001 Valencia
Marcel Desailly 1994 AC Milan

Champions League started as a group stage in 1992 so Gullit does not count.

Who are the other two that you say ?

I counted gullit.. i had forgotten it was just before the champions league. vialli was the other one.

10/05/2005, 6:18 PM
i said vialli!!!!

jimbob117
10/05/2005, 9:56 PM
i said vialli!!!!

I know paul, that was for stojkovic who asked!

stojkovic
11/05/2005, 9:04 AM
And when did Vialli score in a Final ?

He didnt.

11/05/2005, 9:46 AM
Marcel Desailly, Jari Litmanen, Patrick Kluivert, Fabrizio Ravanelli, Karl Heinz Riedle, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, Teddy Sheringham, Steve McManaman, Gaizka Mendieta and Fernando Morientes

stojkovic
11/05/2005, 9:49 AM
Marcel Desailly, Jari Litmanen, Patrick Kluivert, Fabrizio Ravanelli, Karl Heinz Riedle, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, Teddy Sheringham, Steve McManaman, Gaizka Mendieta and Fernando Morientes
Are you just repeating my (correct) list. Mine has clubs and the year :cool:

11/05/2005, 10:05 AM
stoijkov is this not right for the other:

napoli (caradona, zoff , maradona)

for the three captains playing at the same club

stojkovic
11/05/2005, 10:22 AM

Dont think so, Zoff was a Juve man.
Who's Caradona ?

monutdfc
11/05/2005, 11:31 AM
I think Steve Bruce signed son Alex from Gillingham earlier this season

jimbob117
15/05/2005, 10:11 PM
And when did Vialli score in a Final ?

He didnt.

Didnt he score in the peno shoot out in 96 champions league??along with jugovic and palace legend padovano??

16/05/2005, 1:52 AM
The answer to my question "Which country had drew the highest proportion
of it's games in world cup finals?" is, of course...drum roll...... Ireland.

I am not sure what conclusion to draw ;) from that except we need to polish up on our penalty taking, should/when we qualify :)

stojkovic
16/05/2005, 4:12 PM
Didnt he score in the peno shoot out in 96 champions league??along with jugovic and palace legend padovano??
Penos in shoot-outs don't count.
Likewise Townsend, O'Leary and Cascarino have never scored in a World Cup.

jimbob117
16/05/2005, 10:25 PM
Penos in shoot-outs don't count.
Likewise Townsend, O'Leary and Cascarino have never scored in a World Cup.

My question was who scored in a champions league final. i knew that he didnt score from open play, but i didnt specify that. therefore vialli has, otherwise i would not have included him in my answers

16/05/2005, 10:27 PM

Dino Zoff played for Napoli up to 1972 when he went to Juventus for a then World Record fee for a goalkeeper. He was 30 at the time and played for the club for a further 11 years, retiring in 1983 at the ripe old age of 43.
He was one of the best goalkeepers in the history of the game.