View Full Version : Roy Keane Testimonial V Celtic
Orchard Celt
07/05/2005, 8:28 PM
Seen this in some Scottish paper today. Hope its true, wouldn't mind a night in Manchester. I hope we get 20,000 tixs again to show Utd what a atomsphere is. Would be a great night. :D :D
ROY Keane’s affection for Celtic has been expressed often enough in public to be accepted as the genuine article. But, in the past week, it has deepened into an even more intensely supportive allegiance for reasons other than natural affinity.
Keane and his Manchester United team-mates are hoping desperately that the Scottish champions will cling to their title in the next two nerve-shredding weeks because Martin O’Neill’s side are due at Old Trafford on 3 August to play the Irishman’s testimonial match.
"They’re all on tenterhooks down here," said a jocular Alex Ferguson the other day. "Obviously, Roy and the lads want Celtic to come here as champions. They thought it was all over and they could relax when Celtic won at Ibrox, but now they’re having to go back and look out the brown trousers."
Keane should be re-assured that the Parkhead side’s status will have no bearing on the enormous number of fans they are likely to take to the match. As Ryan Giggs - like many before him - discovered when he was the last beneficiary of their company in 2001, Celtic supporters have a long-standing concord with United and a willingness to make the pilgrimage to the Theatre of Dreams that transcend such baubles as a league championship trophy.
It's a shame that the name of a great club(& travelling support)will be tarnished in such a way....................... :o
Surprised the Trafford Bavarians aren't indulging in their usual pre-season jaunt to the Far East....though that market is a little more crowded these days.
Explain....why would the club be tarnished?
Having to accomodate a pampered arrogant millionaire brat....even though he is a Celtic fan.It's not in the spirit of the club's ethos,IMO.
Though to be fair,I would feel a lot differently If he donated all but £100k max.to charity.As done by Messrs.Radebe,N.Quinn & G.Kelly in recent times.
I think Celtic are quiet able to tarnish themselves to be quiet honest...
On Keane..it would be nice if he donated some cash from his testimonial which i am sure he will..Roy does alot of charity work already so lets not forget that..and calling the guy a pampered millionaire brat is not on..he is looked after well because he is the captain of possibly the biggest club in the world and one if not there best player..he is a millionaire because of the above also and why not??..im sure a lot lesser players are also millionaires but Man Utd make enough money from him and he is dead right to get some back..and do not mistake arrogance with passion and determination to always being the best and thats also for when he plays for OUR country..i am not a Man Utd fan but Keane is a legend..have some respect for the guy...
oh and one last thing..doesnt that nice guy Craig Bellamy play with Celtic?.. ;)
07/05/2005, 11:53 PM
Having to accomodate a pampered arrogant millionaire brat....even though he is a Celtic fan.It's not in the spirit of the club's ethos,IMO.
Celtic are testimonial whores. Unbelievable the amount of times they play in England. And as for their ethos, they aren't doing this for free...
Oh and Man u's away fans are easily the equal of Celtic's. Home fans are different thing altogether
Thomo
08/05/2005, 11:02 AM
Hmm.....3 in 10 years......Norwich,Wycombe,Manchester.
'Whores' indeed.The sad thing is that the fans apart,they'd barely command a significant fee.....
ddint they also do gary kellys testimonial for leeds?
08/05/2005, 8:09 PM
have you seen ManUre this season.....inc.many of their big games....& for Ireland,Roy has been a shadow of his former self.
Personally I despise his bullying,petulance & arrogance,but recognise he was at the height of powers going back to the turn of the century.But not now.
The cheek of Keane in getting old! Doesnt he know that he would be a much better player if he just stayed 28 for ever! What does he think he's up to! :mad: :eek: :rolleyes:
I can see & Keane/ Cork Vs everone else argument starting here...... :(
09/05/2005, 12:33 PM
Celtic are testimonial whores. Unbelievable the amount of times they play in England.
I've heard it all now, Celtic getting slagged for playing testimonials :eek:
I suppose it's their own fault really for being recognised as having a friendly and huge away following :rolleyes: How dare they... :D
09/05/2005, 12:43 PM
I was in OT when Celtic came down for Giggs' testimonial.
The presence of the Celtic fans made for a great atmosphere, and it was a cracking match, ended 4-3.
I'd happily travel over for Roys if I thought I'd have the same experience again.
I especially liked when they were down a few weeks after the Manchester Bombings for the Hughesy testimonial. The RA songs went down a treat that day... :rolleyes:
As for not doing testimonials, well this would be the 4th trip to OT in ten years for testimonials off the top of my head, so where the fook 3 in ten years in England came from......
Junior
09/05/2005, 2:57 PM
I especially liked when they were down a few weeks after the Manchester Bombings for the Hughesy testimonial. The RA songs went down a treat that day... :rolleyes:
As for not doing testimonials, well this would be the 4th trip to OT in ten years for testimonials off the top of my head, so where the fook 3 in ten years in England came from......
To be fair Man U haven't been shy in asking Celtic down for testimonials(Macari, Robson, Hughes, Giggs off the top off my head)- do you think Celtic write to clubs begging to come down and play a testimonial?? United looked for a club who'd bring a big trouble free following, hence Celtic.
For this reason celtic have done many testimonials. It can be a bit tedious & many celts find it a bit of a **** take. However as more and more players are donating the cash to charity and the fact that it gives celtic fans outside of Glasgow an easier opportunity to see their side I guess the club see it as a good opportunity to 'spread the bible' ;)
Not really commenting on the Celtic testimonials too much, just pointing out the 3 in 10 years was clearly bullshít. It's 3 in 10 years at OT as it is (Hughes, McClair (fair enough), Giggs). Keane's would be 4th.
Celtic are used for the testimonials because the fans are gullible. They'll bring down crazy numbers for nothing games to make up for the short fall of home fans that think players get enough money anyway/ fed up being used by clubs to bolster contracts at their own expense.
btw, it's the players testimonial committee that sort out opposition isn't it? The home club just agree to provide the ground, security etc.
btw2, United have been asked up to Parkhead a good few times over the years too.
Junior
09/05/2005, 3:24 PM
Mclair - I knew there was another I'd been too - the most obvious of the lot as well!
'Gullible' perhaps, or more likely for me, that the fans like an away day, a bit of a session away from the normal spl grounds.
I think you've agreed with my point that Celtic are used because of the big following - its purely a money thing as far as the testimonial committee are concerned.
As for games at Celtic Park. yeah you've been up there too. '92 celebrating 25 years since we won the european cup (the year before your lot I believe ;) at a guess I'd say you brought up about 8k for a midweek game.
Think you've also been up for Bobby charltons and Crerands?? but could be wrong.
stickyjoe
09/05/2005, 3:44 PM
i think united were up about 3 or 4 years ago as well for Tommy Boyds testimonial. finished 2-0 united from what i can remember of it
Junior
09/05/2005, 3:53 PM
I think you're right!
stojkovic
09/05/2005, 4:13 PM
I assume by Keano's new £12m gaff that he's not short of a mill or two so is he donating his testamonial money to charity. Guide dogs for the blind would be obvious one as he does great work for them.
You are right about Celtic. Their fans will boost the gate.
These are always seen as a sort of Battle of Britain.
I think it's up to the player what he does with the money. Good to see when they donate it to charity, but it shouldn't be the expected imo. Fans don't have to go to the games if they don't think it should go direct to the player.
United are particularly bad at using testimonials as part of the contract - reduce the weekly wage, with the promise of a pay day that they don't have to provide.
Incidentally, the testimonials against Celtic used to be great nights at OT. Just became to common, and the songs at Sparky's lost a lot of goodwill on the United side. Bryan Robson's was a brilliant night....
Junior
10/05/2005, 8:05 AM
I think it's up to the player what he does with the money. Good to see when they donate it to charity, but it shouldn't be the expected imo. Fans don't have to go to the games if they don't think it should go direct to the player.
United are particularly bad at using testimonials as part of the contract - reduce the weekly wage, with the promise of a pay day that they don't have to provide.
Incidentally, the testimonials against Celtic used to be great nights at OT. Just became to common, and the songs at Sparky's lost a lot of goodwill on the United side. Bryan Robson's was a brilliant night....
I don't dispute what you say (not close enough to utd fans feelings on the matter) but the same songs sung at Hughes were those sung at Robsons, Mclairs etc.... I guess from what you say it was just the timing?
Totally agree that they were sung at them all (McClairs after Hughesy's though) - it was more the timing. Not the brightest move just a month or so after the Manchester Bombings if you ask me. Manchester would be a fairly republican city (in no monarchy terms at least), so maybe it was under the radar. Seems like a long time ago (actually probably because it was :) ) that there was at least one joint fanzine between United and Celtic.
[QUOTE=Macy]
Incidentally, the testimonials against Celtic used to be great nights at OT. Just became to common, and the songs at Sparky's lost a lot of goodwill on the United side.
I suppose Man United fans singing songs about Bill Shanky's death is never going to upset anyone and put anyone's nose out of joint.
Yeah it's only Munich and Matt Busby singing that's acceptable, obviously.
sylvo
10/05/2005, 10:21 AM
Yeah it's only Munich and Matt Busby singing that's acceptable, obviously.
Oh I take it Celtic fans are getting blamed for those songs as well then, I've been to Irish pubs in Manchester on a saturday night and seen people in Man U shirts singing along to bands playing those very same songs that seem to have caused huge offence at Old Trafford. : :cool:
No doubt, at the time it píssed people off. And considering the relationship that was there between the fans before that, it does seem to have changed. The last time I was at one, it wasn't the big scarf swap fest it used to be...
The consensus on various Cellic MB's is that they're none too keen on the concept of this game.IMO,They're right......unless of course it's for Charity? :rolleyes:
They shouldn't go then. It's not rocket science, there is a choice in these games (that's supposed to be the point - fans rewarding players).
Junior
10/05/2005, 12:31 PM
They shouldn't go then. It's not rocket science, there is a choice in these games (that's supposed to be the point - fans rewarding players).
Macy, as I've already pointed out. I would wager that the vast majority of celtic fans that go, would not be going in support of Roy Keane, Ryan Giggs, Bryan Robson etc....- But more because it was a day on the **** in England - end of story. In fact a significant number who make the journey down (or up for that matter!) won't even make the game.
The last scarf swap fest was in fact probably Robsons.
Macy, as I've already pointed out. I would wager that the vast majority of celtic fans that go, would not be going in support of Roy Keane, Ryan Giggs, Bryan Robson etc....- But more because it was a day on the **** in England - end of story. In fact a significant number who make the journey down (or up for that matter!) won't even make the game.
I get all that, but if Keano decides to pocket the money himself, there's no point giving out and going the game. More effective not to buy a ticket (and as you say go on the píss in the city all day/night).
The last scarf swap fest was in fact probably Robsons.
Defo, although the next one was Hughesy's I think, so we're both right? :D
Aldini98
10/05/2005, 2:25 PM
He deserves his testimoanial (get it), cause we all know hes broke....... :rolleyes:
10/05/2005, 4:05 PM
Dont see the problem here, Keane is having a testimonial and he is getting a team that will bring a decent following down. I think it is quite obvious that this will go to charity. There is no way keane is going to have a testimonial to finance his back pocket. So it makes sense to get Celtic who will bring a big following for a meaningless game and there will be a few quid made for charity.
I can see & Keane/ Cork Vs everyone else argument starting here...... :(
What an inteligent reply.. :rolleyes:
Keane is a legend..an IRISH/CORK legend at that..it makes me laugh when i see people on this forum slag the guy..the same guys will be cheering his every pass as they drink pints when we play Isreal next month..hypocrites..i hope he burns the testimonial money live on TV just to give some begrudgers something to whinge about :eek: ..then again i reckon the guide dogs for the blind and many other IRISH charitys will gain from this... ;)
11/05/2005, 11:25 PM
Keane is a legend..an IRISH/CORK legend at that..it makes me laugh when i see people on this forum slag the guy..the same guys will be cheering his every pass as they drink pints when we play Isreal next month..hypocrites..
Typical Cork arrogance. Most people who have slagged off RMK on this forum and anywhere else have not cheered his every pass since he returned. I would suggested they have tolerated him by way of support for Brian Kerr.
Gonzo is right, there are fans who will never cheer him until he acknowledges that he let Ireland down in 2002 and 2003 when he was wanted most. I am one of them.
Hibs4Ever
12/05/2005, 7:40 AM
Typical Cork arrogance. Most people who have slagged off RMK on this forum and anywhere else have not cheered his every pass since he returned. I would suggested they have tolerated him by way of support for Brian Kerr.
Gonzo is right, there are fans who will never cheer him until he acknowledges that he let Ireland down in 2002 and 2003 when he was wanted most. I am one of them.
Definitely agree with that
Eire06
12/05/2005, 8:46 AM
Think he already acknowledges Ireland were let down in 2002 and 2003
by the FAI and Mr. Mick McCarthy :rolleyes:
Sure he was the one who told us all about what they were up to!!