View Full Version : Tonight's gamesTonight's - 16 August

16/08/2019, 8:25 PM
There's a drunken aul fella walking the length of the Jodi shouting "Gimme a B!" all night. He spells "Bohs" with an A, and he even robbed the mic at half time too. An utter pain in the hole.

Anyways, I was wondering if I throw a bottle at him, does he get a 5-match ban?

Bohs11
16/08/2019, 8:40 PM
There's a drunken aul fella walking the length of the Jodi shouting "Gimme a B!" all night. He spells "Bohs" with an A, and he even robbed the mic at half time too. An utter pain in the hole.

Barry - if you'd put ten of him on the pitch, you mightn't have lost 10-1 tonight. Enjoy the First Division next season and thanks for the goal difference! :beer:

16/08/2019, 8:47 PM
You're probably right. That loon would never have curled one in from 25 yards

patrickccfc
16/08/2019, 8:48 PM
Shocked we've won a game.

Bohs11
16/08/2019, 8:53 PM
You're probably right. That loon would never have curled one in from 25 yards

If that can give you solace in the most disgraceful performance in LOI history, then fair play to you.

joey B
16/08/2019, 9:03 PM
UCD lost 10-1 and I bet you they didn't give away some of the goals we did,red card in the first half ended any contest,Dundalk coulda got 10 aswell in fairness, move on quickly hopefully......

D24Saint
16/08/2019, 9:10 PM
First half was a absolutely shocking affair but thankfully the second was the complete opposite, it was actually entertaining. We deserved the three points despite some comical defending. The first goal from McAuley was a cracker the best I've seen from us this year. He looks a player and if we can cut out the sloppy defending he could help turn things around and nab fourth spot. It's a slightly disconcerting feeling this Positivity.

16/08/2019, 9:16 PM
UCD lost 10-1 and I bet you they didn't give away some of the goals we did.
Well seeing as ye were playing in a different county, it's a bit much to be saying we were conceding your goals as well as ours!

ToberonaTornado
16/08/2019, 9:17 PM
UCD lost 10-1 and I bet you they didn't give away some of the goals we did,red card in the first half ended any contest,Dundalk coulda got 10 aswell in fairness, move on quickly hopefully......

True.Only for the excellent McGinley in goal it could have been 10 but we're grand with the five:good:
Hopefully McEleney kicks on from his motm display for us tonight,thought Dano Kelly was good too.

El-Pietro
16/08/2019, 9:21 PM
Thank ****ing christ for that. We're not out of it yet but 7 points plus better goal difference gives us some breathing room, as well as putting Waterford below us to act as a buffer. If we can pick up another 5 or 6 points we should be more than safe.

marinobohs
16/08/2019, 9:22 PM

You won’t have to worry about him next season he only goes to Premier Division games 😁
Tarquin and Co will soon be back where ye belong.

RathfarnhamHoop
16/08/2019, 9:29 PM
The attitude some Bohs fans have towards UCD purely because one of their players had the audacity to celebrate a win is really embarrassing

EAFC_rdfl
16/08/2019, 9:36 PM
You won’t have to worry about him next season he only goes to Premier Division games 😁
Tarquin and Co will soon be back where ye belong.

Tarquin 😂

16/08/2019, 9:39 PM
First half was a absolutely shocking affair but thankfully the second was the complete opposite, it was actually entertaining. We deserved the three points despite some comical defending. The first goal from McAuley was a cracker the best I've seen from us this year. He looks a player and if we can cut out the sloppy defending he could help turn things around and nab fourth spot. It's a slightly disconcerting feeling this Positivity.

Did t think we were that bad first half. We had most of the ball and Sligos lead came against the run of play. Second half was definitely the best I've seen us play this year. Much more drive and urgency about us. McAuley does look a find.

Bohs 10 against UCD ! Wow. That's actually embarrassing. Shouldn't be happening in the top tier in the country.

D24Saint
16/08/2019, 9:58 PM
Fair play to Bohs tonight normally at LOI level teams take their foot off the gas.Its a hard pil to swallow for UCD though.

marinobohs
16/08/2019, 10:05 PM
The attitude some Bohs fans have towards UCD purely because one of their players had the audacity to celebrate a win is really embarrassing
Nope. That was all about Stu 😁 couldn’t care less about them or the missing minnow 😎

NeverFeltBetter
16/08/2019, 10:09 PM
Bad for the perception of the league alright, but these freak results will happen. UCD arent the same team that started this season, and at the moment would be better off in the lower tier.

16/08/2019, 10:42 PM
The win tonight feels like it had a bit of a bonus point added, Rovers had eaten well in to our GD advantage after their rout of UCD so to get 5 and push GD out a bit again could be handy!

16/08/2019, 10:44 PM
Nope. That was all about Stu  couldn’t care less about them or the missing minnow 

Ah here, there are shades of 'The Big Club' days of old on Foot.ie with that comment....

16/08/2019, 10:56 PM
UCD arent the same team that started this season, and at the moment would be better off in the lower tier.
Just on that point actually, of the starting XI we would have been anticipating at the start of the season -

Kearns - suspended for 6 games for having bottles thrown at him
Osam - did his cruciate in pre-season; still not back
Collins - injured since the mid-season break
Scales - ****ed over by Bristol Rovers; missed a month and wasn't even training in that time so came back rusty
Dignam - injured
Farrugia - gone to Rovers
O'Neill - gone to Rovers
Molloy - gone to the US
McClelland - scored
Davis - gone to Derry
McDonald - injured since the break

Keaney came in as a new signing, but he was suspended tonight, and Doyle (captain) came off injured just before the second goal.

That's literally an entire team missing. Add in an opposition with a point to prove because we beat them last time - and played them off the park for the first 40 minutes in Dalymount last time too - and the result starts to make a bit of sense at least. Any team would struggle if they're putting out what's basically the 19s. (Though they might keep it to single figures!)

bohsmug
16/08/2019, 11:02 PM

I would’ve thought anybody following the league as long as you would know of Barry. If not by name, then at least would be familiar with the “gimme a B” thing that he’s been doing for 20+ years at this stage. I don’t know how you’re hearing the O as an A either. Barry is one of the great characters of LOI.

I’d be in a foul mood if my team conceded 10 too but still. And I don’t know how to put this, and without meaning to sound holier than thou, it doesn’t really sit right with me for him to be slagged too much on a public forum like this to be honest. He’d be a bit vulnerable for want of a better term.

ThirdManRun
16/08/2019, 11:08 PM
Just on that point actually, of the starting XI we would have been anticipating at the start of the season -

Scales - ****ed over by Bristol Rovers; missed a month and wasn't even training in that time so came back rusty
Dignam - injured
O'Neill - gone to Rovers
Molloy - gone to the US
McClelland - scored
Davis - gone to Derry

Keaney came in as a new signing, but he was suspended tonight, and Doyle (captain) came off injured just before the second goal.

That's literally an entire team missing. Add in an opposition with a point to prove because we beat them last time - and played them off the park for the first 40 minutes in Dalymount last time too - and the result starts to make a bit of sense at least. Any team would struggle if they're putting out what's basically the 19s. (Though they might keep it to single figures!)

Doesn’t help when you refuse to play your top scorer (Mahdy) and very experienced (Tobin).

The management has to be questioned. It’s not as if UCD were pulling up trees before Farrugia and ONeill left anyway!

thebronze14
16/08/2019, 11:09 PM
I would’ve thought anybody following the league as long as you would know of Barry. If not by name, then at least would be familiar with the “gimme a B” thing that he’s been doing for 20+ years at this stage. I don’t know how you’re hearing the O as an A either. Barry is one of the great characters of LOI.

I’d be in a foul mood if my team conceded 10 too but still. And I don’t know how to put this, and without meaning to sound holier than thou, it doesn’t really sit right with me for him to be slagged too much on a public forum like this to be honest. He’d be a bit vulnerable for want of a better term.

Some man, chatted to him in McGowans a few times back in the day...hadn't seen him in years but happy to see he was still about after tbe first match of the season. As for our match, we were comfortable until the needless concession of the first goal and the sending off. We needlessly went into self destruct then it could have been any score. Was a free shot really and with the ucd game doesn't feel like much damage was done

marinobohs
16/08/2019, 11:10 PM

Dignam - injured
O'Neill - gone to Rovers
Molloy - gone to the US
McClelland - scored
Davis - gone to Derry

Making excuses 😁 it was 10-1 you numpty, can’t recall a worse score in the Premier Division (even all the years you weren’t there 😁).
If Bohs were “trying to prove a point” they did. BTW we played our U19s at Pats last year - we won.
Thanks though, your whining makes it sweeter.

16/08/2019, 11:19 PM
Doesn’t help when you refuse to play your top scorer (Mahdy) and very experienced (Tobin).

The management has to be questioned. It’s not as if UCD were pulling up trees before Farrugia and ONeill left anyway!
Yeah, Byrne has been preferred to Mahdy since he arrived - bit hard for Byrne to have caught Mahdy for goals at this stage! And Tobin has been in and out lately, I think since we changed from full-back to 3 centre backs and wing-back operating alongside, so I don't know is it the case that it's felt he can play full-back, but wing-back not so much. That said, it's hard to know if our full-backs can play full-back either!

Not to disagree with you necessarily, but they could be the reasons.

Genuinely never saw him before. And yeah, must have had 20/30 trips to Dalyer at this stage. (It was the H I was picking up as an A btw - I presumed he was spelling it kind of phonetically - "Bo-as".)

Fair enough on your other point, though at least don't give him the mic at half-time...

wexfordned
17/08/2019, 12:47 AM
You were at the game in Dalymount then?? Frankly I don't blame you. Watching Shamrock Rovers this season has been a tough watch and far from entertaining.

Football is all about scoring goals. Bohs have won alot of games and over achieving to be in 3rd place. Shamrock Rovers have spent a fortune to pick a team full of midfielders who can't score goals.

Kingswood Rover
17/08/2019, 6:59 AM
Shamrock Rovers have not been entertaining, you gotta be kidding me, a joy to watch this season.

17/08/2019, 8:06 AM
Making excuses  it was 10-1 you numpty, can’t recall a worse score in the Premier Division (even all the years you weren’t there 😁).
If Bohs were “trying to prove a point” they did. BTW we played our U19s at Pats last year - we won.
Thanks though, your whining makes it sweeter.

This one of your windups or have you completely missed the irony in your post? Go have a read back at your reaction to the previous result against UCD - now that was a proper and protracted whine!!

marinobohs
17/08/2019, 8:26 AM
This one of your windups or have you completely missed the irony in your post? Go have a read back at your reaction to the previous result against UCD - now that was a proper and protracted whine!!
Show me where ANYBODY posted that UCD didn't deserve to win at Belfield ?
The debate was around the antics of one clown and that was proven correct when he got a 5 game ban (one clown wanted an apology for him and Stu is still whining about it 😁). The result was accepted - however annoying it was.
Maybe try READING before commenting..

If ANY Bohs player gets a 5 game ban for last night you might have a point otherwise jog on WUM.

marinobohs
17/08/2019, 8:28 AM
Shamrock Rovers have not been entertaining, you gotta be kidding me, a joy to watch this season.

I have to say shams have been very entertaining in all the derby games.😁

Northsider
17/08/2019, 8:33 AM
Fair play to Bohs tonight normally at LOI level teams take their foot off the gas.Its a hard pil to swallow for UCD though.

Yep, when we scored the 4th goal I said I hope we keep this up and improve our goal difference, but 10-1 was beyond my wildest dreams. We were about 6 or 7 goals worse off with Derry before kick off and now we are 4 goals better off, could be crucial at the end of the season.

RathfarnhamHoop
17/08/2019, 8:50 AM
You were at the game in Dalymount then?? Frankly I don't blame you. Watching Shamrock Rovers this season has been a tough watch and far from entertaining.

Football is all about scoring goals. Bohs have won alot of games and over achieving to be in 3rd place. Shamrock Rovers have spent a fortune to pick a team full of midfielders who can't score goals.

😂😂😂😂 Probably the most entertaining team in the league to watch and fans of any team bar maybe Dundalk and Bohs will tell you that

Ezeikial
17/08/2019, 9:20 AM
 Probably the most entertaining team in the league to watch and fans of any team bar maybe Dundalk and Bohs will tell you that

In your world, is there some sort of group think where fans of a particular club have identical thoughts?

marinobohs
17/08/2019, 9:21 AM
😂😂😂😂 Probably the most entertaining team in the league to watch and fans of any team bar maybe Dundalk and Bohs will tell you that
To be fair Bradsers interviews are usually entertaining and their record against Dundalk and Bohs (as you namechecked them) is hilarious.
But it's probobly the bizarre delusions of adequacy among their fans that make them so very very entertaining 😁 probobly the most entertaining in the League.

Dalymountrower
17/08/2019, 9:43 AM
Jesus, get a grip lads!
Bohs were unbelievable last night, probably motivated by the antics in Belfield( both guilty parties)
Never seen a performance like it.Could have been 12 as the UCD keeper actually did OK without a back 4 to defend him

Rovers have been entertaining this year and not just in the three defeats to Bohs.

Stu, that man last night has been self appointed cheerleader for 20 + years, used to take half time penos at away games.
A chink of daylight in the third place competition, will go right to the wire.

dong
17/08/2019, 9:58 AM
What is this?
*&#128513

joey B
17/08/2019, 10:06 AM
What is this?
*&#128513

I'm guessing it's emoji code but not sure!!

ToberonaTornado
17/08/2019, 10:24 AM
Our next two league matches are against UCD.Home and away the same week.
Will take two 1-0's right now.

Easy to disparage UCD after after a 10-1 drubbing and clubs all around the league loaded with ex UCD lads,including ourselves.

Calcio Jack
17/08/2019, 10:35 AM
In your world, is there some sort of group think where fans of a particular club have identical thoughts?

Based on the similarity of the tone and tenor of your and Marinobohs posts the answer has to be a resounding “yes”.

Ezeikial
17/08/2019, 10:47 AM
Our next two league matches are against UCD.Home and away the same week.
Will take two 1-0's right now.

Easy to disparage UCD after after a 10-1 drubbing and clubs all around the league loaded with ex UCD lads,including ourselves.

Before the first of those games Rovers have the chance to close the gap to 4 points by winning their refixed match against Waterford on Monday night (albeit with two more games played)

UCD will obviously have a chance to restore some wounded pride in their cup match against St Pats on Friday, but playing a team trying to rebound from a heavy defeat tends to make the task harder not easier.

Two 1-0 wins would be fine!

marinobohs
17/08/2019, 11:02 AM
Based on the similarity of the tone and tenor of your and Marinobohs posts the answer has to be a resounding “yes”.
Other fans have similar thoughts, shams have delusions. 😁

marinobohs
17/08/2019, 11:03 AM
What is this?
*&#128513

Think it occurs with "smiley" and "bracket." Seems to be a coding thing

17/08/2019, 11:09 AM

The model of the club just hasn't worked out this year. Last year we blitzed the First Division and had a very credible cup campaign by reaching the semi losing narrowly to Dundalk at Oriel. Slogett and O'Connor departed in the winter and the squad was pretty much eviscerated in the summer. Yes, we had started to drift but the squad depletion and the uncertainty has left us unable to credibly compete this year. Maybe succession planning has been insufficient or maybe that level of flux just can't be managed. I feel having already lost all our best players and having just signed two experienced Premier quality midfielders may actually see us positioned to hit the ground running in the First.

As for last night, I think the youthful nature of the team leaves us prone to complete collapse in a way that might not happen if we had a few veteran heads. It's been an arduous and challenging season and the team must be increasingly demoralised. Rovers actually played better against us in Tallaght and could probably have hit more than ten the time they hit seven but last night we performed even worse. Credit to Bohs for continually pushing and having the appetite.

Ezeikial
17/08/2019, 11:19 AM

It looks like you didn't understand what I posted.

Let me try to make it clearer - Some posters regularly make a generalised assumption that all fans of any one particular club have an identical view. That has no connection with how some fans of different clubs may agree on some points

(I realise this is probably pointless, if you just wanted to have a lazy jibe)

placid casual
17/08/2019, 11:36 AM
Good win for Rovers last night up in the Brandywell. Having the best keeper in the league helps. Jack Byrne ran the game, as he runs every game and it was a good finish by greener. Can't remember the last time we won twice in a season up there. Not much Rovers can do about catching dalk, especially with 2 gimmes coming up for them against UCD. A win on Waterford will at least prolong the coronation I suppose.

Ezeikial
17/08/2019, 11:46 AM
Good win for Rovers last night up in the Brandywell. Having the best keeper in the league helps.

Fair play to Rovers - any win in the Bradywell is decent, two wins in the same season is remarkable

It most be frustrating to have "the best keeper in the league" along with "the best defence in the league", and "the top three left backs" etc etc and still have lost 3 x the number of league games as Dundalk, conceded more goals and also be so far removed from maintaining a credible league challenge past July.

marinobohs
17/08/2019, 11:58 AM
Fair play to Rovers - any win in the Bradywell is decent, two wins in the same season is remarkable

It most be frustrating to have "the best keeper in the league" along with "the best defence in the league", and "the top three left backs" etc etc and still have lost 3 x the number of league games as Dundalk, conceded more goals and also be so far removed from maintaining a credible league challenge past July.
Especially with Jack Byrne “running every game “ 😁 delusions or what ?

RathfarnhamHoop
17/08/2019, 12:28 PM

I was generalising based on the fact Bohs fans are unlikely to give rovers credit for something positive for obvious reasons and Dundalk fans on here and online in general take exception to anyone saying any club in the league is better than then at anything in any way.

wexfordned
17/08/2019, 12:34 PM
I was generalising based on the fact Bohs fans are unlikely to give rovers credit for something positive for obvious reasons and Dundalk fans on here and online in general take exception to anyone saying any club in the league is better than then at anything in any way.
Shamrock Rovers have 1 point from their games against Dundalk and Bohs this season so you'll excuse us if we find comments like best keeper in the league and Shamrock are great entertainers amusing. Are you Stephen Bradley because sound like him

Ezeikial
17/08/2019, 12:44 PM

You don't have to try to double down on something that is so obviously unfair and inaccurate

Generalise - to make a broad, sweeping assumption or statement - is exactly what I said you were doing.

Your justifying "fact" about Bohs fans is also askew for example - I recall the much maligned marinobohs recently giving repeated credit for the matchday experience and organisation at Tallaght Stadium (maybe this credit is due to SDCC?)