View Full Version : FAI Rip off Supporters Clubs...
monutdfc
04/05/2005, 4:09 PM
I'd leave out the tabloidesque tone (eg "exposed as worthless") and stick to the facts. Let the sub editors do that for you. JMHO.
Also, when the scheme was originally introduced (Albania and Georgia as I recall), the eL allocation was from the visiting associations allocation that was not taken up. It was the same arrangment for the Russia game. It is since then that the supposed block-booking arrangement was put in place. Soccerc should be able to give you the details.
04/05/2005, 4:26 PM
Also, when the scheme was originally introduced (Albania and Georgia as I recall), the eL allocation was from the visiting associations allocation that was not taken up. It was the same arrangment for the Russia game. It is since then that the supposed block-booking arrangement was put in place. Soccerc should be able to give you the details.
The situation was changed for this qualifying group (or at least it was supposed to be).
joeraki
04/05/2005, 4:33 PM
Whats the break down in tickets for games. If the place holds 36'000 seated, anyone know who gets what ? block bookers, sponsors, various clubs etc...
If all those above are sorted and the FAI said they'd accommodate EL fans in the event of away fans taken a full allocation then theres something seriously wrong or theres been some Big lies told
04/05/2005, 4:44 PM
Representatives of the various supporter groups involved in the scheme are now calling on the FAI to review its decision as a matter of urgency. “If they need to find extra tickets to accommodate the Israeli fans, surely they should spread the burden for this around the stadium – and not just focus it upon the very fans who have been so active in supporting them over the years”.
Is this by Ciaran too? I think it needs a name to go with the quote (if you still have time to edit). Excellently written though. I wonder how long it will take Alan hunter to find this band waggon and jump on it? :rolleyes:
monutdfc
04/05/2005, 4:47 PM
The situation was changed for this qualifying group (or at least it was supposed to be).
That's what I thought. If you go with a press release attacking the FAI (or any group) you need to have all your facts correct. Otherwise they just focus on the inaccuracies and use them to undermine your whole position.
Eanna since when have the Irish team become a british footblalling team.. Relax a little there.
I wasn't saying that, I said I won't give my money to British football. The FAI don't give a hoot about Irish football, and all the players who get their match fee play in England- so IMO if the money is going anywhere, it certainly ain't going to Irish football
04/05/2005, 5:37 PM
Why anyone bothers giving money to the scum in the FAI I really don't know. To hell with them. Before now there was a small chance of me going back to Landsdowne sometime in the future- can't see it happening now. I won't give my money to british football
Think you need to differentiate between the national team and the FAI. It's like not going to Cork City games because you don't like the board. Also, I don't know how the money is going to British football - it's going to Irish players (or players of Irish origin, which is an argument I'm not about to get into again), not British football.
Anyway, let's see where this press release leads...
Maynard
04/05/2005, 5:52 PM
Reads well, although due to it's length I'd imagine most journo's would just quote certain passages from it, but so long as it's not misquoted that should do no harm. Here's hoping it'll have some effect...
harpskid
04/05/2005, 6:27 PM
Excellent piece Maribor.
Here's hoping that someof the journos take this on board and expose this for the shambles that it really is!
I think Brian Kerr needs to be confronted on this. We know he loves the local game, I wonder how he feels about those diks doing this to the fans he knows & loves? :mad:
harpskid
04/05/2005, 6:46 PM
I wonder if that would be a viable option Collie. It would certainly be worth looking into, and it would be interesting to hear the reaction if we got Kerr on our side
Bald Student
04/05/2005, 7:00 PM
I think Brian Kerr needs to be confronted on this.I agree in principle but I don't think anyone should make contact with him unless they know him. He was mentioned in the press release and that is enough of an invitation for him to give his view. There's no point in annoying him when he does after all have a game to prepare for. He might not want to get involved in FAI politics.
I agree in principle but I don't think anyone should make contact with him unless they know him. He was mentioned in the press release and that is enough of an invitation for him to give his view. There's no point in annoying him when he does after all have a game to prepare for. He might not want to get involved in FAI politics.
I agree, I don't mean we confront him, I mean the press at the next press conference or an open question in an article, that sort of thing. He is the one that tried to get the league fans sorted in the first place tho so he's in this whether he likes it or not. Don't get me wrong, I love him, but I think he's on our side & being the manager should hold some sway.
Saint Tom
04/05/2005, 7:19 PM
as a saint, many of the locals know Brian and believe me, he will be involved in any initiative that takes away the right of the true hardcore fans to go Landsdowne. i was in tel aviv and cant get a ticket in Dublin says it all really
The big issue i think is how the FAI can suddenly suggest that have to give 3600 tickets to France when anybody with half a clue would know they'd take up their ticket allocation - if the FAI had mentioned that at the start of the qualifying campaign then would be fair enough.
Good press release. Important to point out the different arrangements in last campaign (match per match basis) & current campaign (fans had to commit in advance). Could mention how much eL fans contribute to IRISH football yearly.
The media love an FAI bashing story so be surprised if no takers.
04/05/2005, 11:10 PM
The ticket situation is a disgrace. I stopped attending Republic of Ireland Senior Men's International games on a regular basis in 1990 when Lansdowne's capacity was reduced from 40,000 to 33,000 for competitive games. I have on occasion acquired the odd ticket to friendly internationals, even winning one in a draw on one occasion.
The way the EL fans are being treated is a disgrace and the man responsible is John Delaney. The buck stops with him.
We were given an EL allocation by Fran Rooney, and since he has been shafted the new broom is sweeping clean.
Previous posters are correct the FAI have acted in a fraudulent manner in this issue and it might be worthwhile contacting a solicitor to see if any redress is possible. As regards a fanzine, great idea. As regards a real supporters organisation that will act on behalf of EL supporters on this and other issues, well good luck to whoever wishes to organise it.#
Having started down that road myself with an organisation some 10 years ago it eventually petered out when the looming crisis that brought it about had been successfully averted. Some of the early members thought that's it job done time to move on.
Well there is a need for some form of organisation now.
I'd be interested to see who brings it about and how it is intended to recruit members etc and will the committee do any of the nitty gritty work required? :rolleyes:
bluemovie
05/05/2005, 12:03 AM
Well done on the press release. Send it to columnists (Dolan, Roddy, Dervan) as well as sports editors. They might take more interest as they can comment on what they like. As for Brian Kerr, I think it should be sent to him to. No harm so long as he is informed rather than 'confronted' about it.
Buile Shuibhne
05/05/2005, 4:57 AM
from the Irish Independent:
FAI hit by World Cup tickets row
Thursday May 5th 2005
The FAI is on a collision course with angry eircom League supporters' groups, who have had their allocation for Ireland's forthcoming World Cup qualifier against Israel slashed by 70 percent.
Over the last two years, supporters' clubs connected with eircom League clubs have been allocated over 700 tickets for every international game at Lansdowne Road. However, as the Israeli FA has signified its intention to take up its full allocation of 3,600 seats for the tie, the FAI has had to cut the eircom League supporters' allocation to just 240.
The eircom League supporters groups, under the banner of the National League Supporters' Association, claim that they have block bookings and are insisting on their full allocation for every game.
The FAI insist that their agreement with the supporters' groups was always based on the number of tickets returned by visiting associations but concede that the groups have always received the same number of tickets for every match over the last two years because no visiting team has ever taken up its full allocation.
"The simple problem is there are not enough tickets," said an FAI spokesperson.
Owen Cowzer
© Irish Independent
http://www.unison.ie/irish_independent/ & http://www.unison.ie/
michaelguineys
05/05/2005, 8:09 AM
Its in the Irish Examiner aswell this morning.
David Ludzik wrote a good piece.
Do ye think the FAi are gonna take notice tho and do something bout it?????????
Im so disgusted with it. We go to all the not so glamourous friendlies and then they go and ditchus for the big games. Unbelievable
Rochey
05/05/2005, 8:21 AM
Having started down that road myself with an organisation some 10 years ago it eventually petered out when the looming crisis that brought it about had been successfully averted. Some of the early members thought that's it job done time to move on.
Well there is a need for some form of organisation now.
I'd be interested to see who brings it about and how it is intended to recruit members etc and will the committee do any of the nitty gritty work required?
Thats what happens with organisations born out of crisis however if people are serious there is always need for a group made up of fans to lobby the FAI, Media ect on behalf of supports as no one else will. Its up to us to start an organisation like that and try to keep it going after that. No point no starting something because it might peter out eventually you never know it just might take off.
Ticket Information - Home Games
All tickets for the Republic of Ireland's home qualifying matches for 2006 World Cup are allocated to our Season Ticket holders (who buy for every match), Long Term Ticket holders, Leagues and Clubs throughout Ireland, sponsors etc.
10% of the capacity must be reserved for Visiting Associations. If they do not take up their full allocation, we may be in a position to sell any returns to the general public, subject to potential security concerns. Details on the sale of returns will be posted on this site as soon as available. This would usually be 10 days before the match in question.
Legally with this said we have everything in our favour to get OUR correct number of tickets
from the Irish Independent:
FAI hit by World Cup tickets row
Thursday May 5th 2005
The FAI is on a collision course with angry eircom League supporters' groups, who have had their allocation for Ireland's forthcoming World Cup qualifier against Israel slashed by 70 percent.
Over the last two years, supporters' clubs connected with eircom League clubs have been allocated over 700 tickets for every international game at Lansdowne Road. However, as the Israeli FA has signified its intention to take up its full allocation of 3,600 seats for the tie, the FAI has had to cut the eircom League supporters' allocation to just 240.
The eircom League supporters groups, under the banner of the National League Supporters' Association, claim that they have block bookings and are insisting on their full allocation for every game.
The FAI insist that their agreement with the supporters' groups was always based on the number of tickets returned by visiting associations but concede that the groups have always received the same number of tickets for every match over the last two years because no visiting team has ever taken up its full allocation.
"The simple problem is there are not enough tickets," said an FAI spokesperson.
Owen Cowzer
© Irish Independent
http://www.unison.ie/irish_independent/ & http://www.unison.ie/
This part is totally untrue, this is the crux of the problem.
TG
Bald Student
05/05/2005, 10:33 AM
This part is totally untrueCan we prove that to be the case? Were the finn harps lads talking about having e-mails from the FAI confirming the block booking status? If so, I think another press release is in order pointing out the lies told by the FAI spokesperson. The newspapers would probably publish something if we can prove that what was published today is incorrect.
Rochey
05/05/2005, 10:55 AM
I think someone on here earlier said that there was only 23000 at the canada game. You can guarantee that there was more than 700 people who werent at that game or didnt have to pay for tickets for that game who will be guaranteed tickets for the qualifying games. It's only mugs like us who would gladly go to every game that will be asked to fork over the big bucks and told to F**k off and let other people take our seats for the qualifiers. :mad:
05/05/2005, 10:58 AM
I think someone on here earlier said that there was only 23000 at the canada game. You can guarantee that there was more than 700 people who werent at that game or didnt have to pay for tickets for that game who will be guaranteed tickets for the qualifying games.
Unfortunately Rochey, you can't prove they didn't buy tickets, you can only prove they didn't use them.
harpskid
05/05/2005, 11:04 AM
This was the case for the euros, but when the WC Qualifying campaign started I was of the opinion that we were on the block booking list.
Didn't they say this was the case...
05/05/2005, 11:07 AM
This was the case for the euros, but when the WC Qualifying campaign started I was of the opinion that we were on the block booking list.
Didn't they say this was the case...
They did say it AFAIK, but I'm not sure anyone has it in writing.
I've emailed the FAI for clarification this morning but haven't received a reply yet.
Rochey
05/05/2005, 11:12 AM
Unfortunately Rochey, you can't prove they didn't buy tickets, you can only prove they didn't use them.
True its just a pity that the goodwill created between eircom league supports and the FAI having introduced the scheme has been destroyed following this stunt.
05/05/2005, 11:37 AM
one of many fans on this one more then likely who have taken 2 or 3 tickets only to have it cut down to 1.
I have 2 buddies new to going to soccer games i was trying to get into the atmosphere of a live match over the barstool. Now after Canada & China etc i have to tell them theres gona be nothing for France & Switz.
Typical incompetence from the FAI
"we care about irish football" - me ******
:( :mad:
05/05/2005, 12:03 PM
So far today it's been mentioned in the Indo as highlighted above
There's a good piece in the Irish Examiner
The Indo piece is pretty much repeated in the evening Herald
The Irish Times carries a small piece at the end of a story on rovers.
Anyone know yet if the Echo picked up on it?
05/05/2005, 12:07 PM
Its in the mirror
05/05/2005, 12:14 PM
Can someone post up the Examiner piece for us Nordie who can't buy it ;)
05/05/2005, 12:16 PM
Can someone post up the Examiner piece for us Nordie who can't buy it ;)
i'll scan it tonight and throw it up tomorrow if no-one does before me.
basically it's your piece with quotes from eric who looks after CCFC's allocation, comes down on our side IMO.
Maynard
05/05/2005, 12:16 PM
To keep the ball rolling on this may I suggest that whoever can ring or text into the radio station they listen to (particularly if it has a sports show) and make our position known to them. Newstalk 106 have a 3 hour "Off the Ball" Sports show tonight and every weeknight from 7-10. They do alot of soccer stuff and may well be interested. Their text number is 086-6000106 or email@newstalk106.ie (I think...they give the details out all the time anyway)
If we just wait for the papers to do us any favours we'll be doing alot of waiting. FAI won't be afraid of a few colum inches that come and go, but if there's sustained discussion on it we could shake things up a bit. I imagine there's quite alot of regular Irish fans who might be interested to hear about this...
05/05/2005, 12:33 PM
For the Ireland V Portugal game the Cork City payment was late and we were moved to the South Terrace. If Im correct, we were given hassle and told that we must buy the tickets as we were block bookers. Eventually everything was sorted out (we even bought tickets that wernt going to be sold, ya?) and we were moved to the South tce, but where did they magically find South Tce tickets from? Were there not block bookers here? If so, then they did not take up their tickets and one would assume left the block booking arrangement, so why cant we be given these tickets?
I also find it strange that for WC games against Cyprus and the Faroes we (the eL section) were not sat in the 'Away' section left vacant by the away teams (in the corner of the North Tce, by the East Stand), but in the middle of the Irish support. This would sugggest to me that the FAI allocated the returned tickets to another group/individuals and that we were already marked down for 'home' tickets.
:confused: :confused: :confused:
Im confused, angry and disapointed, but not surprised :(
05/05/2005, 12:35 PM
Tiktok
The club reps are taking a unified position on this and I would ask fans involved in the scheme to hold off emailing the FAI and let the reps handle it for the minute. United we stand on this one and speaking with one voice gives us credibility.
Offtheball got the press release so they may feature but people should ring and raise it with them ditto Des Cahill, Big Red Bench- any sports talk show you know of
05/05/2005, 12:49 PM
Tiktok
The club reps are taking a unified position on this and I would ask fans involved in the scheme to hold off emailing the FAI and let the reps handle it for the minute. United we stand on this one and speaking with one voice gives us credibility.
Offtheball got the press release so they may feature but people should ring and raise it with them ditto Des Cahill, Big Red Bench- any sports talk show you know of
fair enough, makes sense I guess, I'll delete the post above
The FAI cannot be let get away with spinning the "there just aren't enough tickets..." excuse. People who don't know the facts will believe that line.
Needs to be a lot of focus on the difference between last & current campaigns. I don't anyone would be complaining if the FAI had kept the same arrangement in place as last campaign as we'd all have known the situation in advance.
I'm not too put out as will have ticket for myself but i see this as trust issue that FAI can just choose to shaft a small section of the blcok booker scheme!
One Question i'm sure the FAI will not be able to answer:
- Why were supporter groups FORCED to purchase tickets for the recent friendlies?
monutdfc
05/05/2005, 2:08 PM
Here's a question - did anybody give up a regular block booking (or ticket source) so they could take the eL allocation when they became a "block booking"?
I know of people who would have liked to join the eL section (or did swaps to do so) but didn't want to give up a guaranteed source.
05/05/2005, 2:19 PM
At least one person in my allocation did that
redgav
05/05/2005, 3:00 PM
truly a disgrace and once again ,The powers that be show utter contempt for the hardcore support .Would support any action that is decided upon .
Would be very interested how many extra tickets Guinness and other sponsers have suddenly found available for their latest pub/premium line promotions
05/05/2005, 8:03 PM
I will be on Newstalk106 around half nine to outline the position of the clubs reps on this one
05/05/2005, 8:47 PM
I will be on Newstalk106 around half nine to outline the position of the clubs reps on this one
Well done Maribor, I caught a bit of it, was listening to 106 on the net, but my connection was playing up so i missed bits here and there. I'd say that was a good move.
05/05/2005, 8:51 PM
Kevin McDaid of the supporters grouping was just interviewed on Newstalk106 and came across very well. Says they are willing to meet the FAI to see if this can be resolved to everyone's satisfaction
cullenswood
05/05/2005, 9:11 PM
Well done Maribor,
You came across very well. The more good publicity got on this case the better. Also I think it is good not to antagonise the FAI yet.
06/05/2005, 11:44 AM
I think it is good not to antagonise the FAI yet. :D
I couldnt get to a radio and newstalk doesnt stream to macs but I did send them an email to ger@newstalk.ie who is their sports ed. Not sure if it was read out, but I let them know whats happening too.
Well done Maribor but it remains to be seen if anything has changed :(
06/05/2005, 1:22 PM
Made the Star today, with a note of support from Pat dolan in his column
nice one. fair play to him
Bray Head
06/05/2005, 3:12 PM
All Supporters Clubs should highlight this to their own club as well. I know the North terrace tickets are seperate to the football clubs allocation but surely the clubs can speak up for us in Merrion Square. We are the ones keeping our own clubs alive each week by going to matches NOT the FAI. Some of our members have paid for these north terrace tickets in the past when they could not make the game just to keep their tickets for the qualifiers. Typical of FAI to make us buy 2 lots the last time. They have €14,000 euro of north terrace tickets paid already for the Italy game. How much interest will they have made on those 700 tickets @ €20 each for six months until the Italy game ?
06/05/2005, 4:20 PM
All Supporters Clubs should highlight this to their own club as well. I know the North terrace tickets are seperate to the football clubs allocation but surely the clubs can speak up for us in Merrion Square. We are the ones keeping our own clubs alive each week by going to matches NOT the FAI.
Too right! I think that we should be getting our Club reps to help fight our cause on this one. They have meetings fairly regularly so it should be on the order of business at some stage soon.