View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

29/04/2005, 8:00 AM
After last Night

Castleview___19 13 3 3 42
Avondale Utd_17 9 7 1 34
UCC_________20 9 3 8 30
Rockmount___15 8 5 2 29
Ringmahon___19 6 5 8 23
College Cors__19 6 5 8 23
Douglas Hall__14 6 4 4 22
Midleton_____18 7 1 10 22
Everton_____19 5 5 9 20
Leeds_______18 5 4 9 19
St Marys_____15 4 4 7 16
Fermoy______17 2 4 11 10

29/04/2005, 8:16 AM
Haven't heard much of Castleview before

Clifford
29/04/2005, 8:54 AM
Nice one Razor, it's getting tight up there now. Do Avondale have to play Castleview? If not then it's in Rockmounts own hands to win or lose. Bad loss last night v Hall, they got their goal deservedly and shut up shop after that. Mount couldn't break them down, good performances from Albert the centre half and Fenton up front especially. Mount just not getting rub of green at the moment, had a perfectly good goal chalked off for offside with about 15 left. I was in line with it and it was a horrific decision. But, there you go, apparently these things even out over the season.

Drummer, Castleview are flying and have been a surprise to some. They are managed by Cork City legend Patsy Freyne. He has them playing some smashing football and the expected bad run has just not materialised - yet!!!!

Fair play to em, they now play Rockmount at Rockmount on Sunday morning, if the Mount win we can snatch the title by winning the games in hand. But, the problem will be Mount will prob have two games a week from here on in and the Intermediate final, so who knows.

Clifford
01/05/2005, 7:10 PM
0-0 this morning between Rockmount and Castle View. It's View's to lose now, come on Avondale....

01/05/2005, 8:19 PM
Nice one Razor, it's getting tight up there now. Do Avondale have to play Castleview? Yeah at home

Clifford
02/05/2005, 9:12 PM
Yeah at home

Johnny Caul on top form this weekend? Fair play to him, best of luck in the final, City or Mary's - who'd ya like?

dcnags
02/05/2005, 9:22 PM
Hes scored a few in the last couple of weeks and has played quite a lot of football!!

Avondale and castleview should be a great game. From what i've heard, castleview like to play, not just hoof. Hopefully avondale can see the season out without any more injuries........looking forward to the final, could have a chance against what could possibly be a second string city team(or st. marys of course)

Gerrit
02/05/2005, 11:24 PM
Everton ?? Leeds ?? :eek:

Clifford
03/05/2005, 9:46 AM

Yeah, since Everton sold Rooney they were never the same, Leeds on the other hand are just rubbish without O Leary.

03/05/2005, 10:23 AM
Everton are from out the southside , Leeds are from Ballyvolane.

amarach
03/05/2005, 12:18 PM
Avondale for the league ......... we ****ed up our chances in the past two games Clifford didn't we, fecking disgrace!!

Out at the douglas hall game last thursday night we had the whole castleview players standing by us, jeering and mocking the lads of course we nearly went mental fecking langers like, you'd never see any of our lads going out to their matches :mad:

Clifford
03/05/2005, 3:33 PM
Avondale for the league ......... we ****ed up our chances in the past two games Clifford didn't we, fecking disgrace!!

Out at the douglas hall game last thursday night we had the whole castleview players standing by us, jeering and mocking the lads of course we nearly went mental fecking langers like, you'd never see any of our lads going out to their matches :mad:

And all the Hall players at yesterday's game, jeering and cheering also. I find it amazing, but I suppose that's what success does to ya. They want to be us and are not able to get there. I have my own thought's on the two displays by the opposition, but won't post them here as they might cause offence. Suffice it to say I nearly choked on my coffee this morning reading
dcnags comment about View and their style of play. I shudder to think what is in store for Avondale on Sunday morning, suffice it to say about 8 of the View are over 6 foot three......dcnags, enjoy it if yee can. I'd be cheering for yee anyhow.

Amarach, you should stand over our side, where it's only Mount allowed. No need to be wound up by those types.....

amarach
03/05/2005, 7:34 PM
It's a balls teams get so bitter especially none of the Rockmount lads ever go around being Cocky and you've the langers then against them.

Reason we stay over away supporters side is to get behind the lads on both sides shout and scream at them both ends lol

they'll get themselves back on form again, just in time for Wayside for definite, any news on Ruairi, less than two wk's left now for the big one Clif :D we'll do it in style

Clifford
03/05/2005, 10:38 PM
It's a balls teams get so bitter especially none of the Rockmount lads ever go around being Cocky and you've the langers then against them.

Reason we stay over away supporters side is to get behind the lads on both sides shout and scream at them both ends lol

they'll get themselves back on form again, just in time for Wayside for definite, any news on Ruairi, less than two wk's left now for the big one Clif :D we'll do it in style

Beech was told by Pat Kelly to get a soft cast and he'd be fine to play, ref on Sunday morn hummed and bummed and declined to let him play. I saw Beech show it to Kelly who was there, with ten mins left and he said it was fine :confused:

So hopefully he might be back Thurs or Sun. I'd rather give him another week now that the lg is gone for the time being....

amarach
04/05/2005, 3:20 PM
Christ that must have been a balls for him, I'd say he was freaked, bet he can't wait to get back on the pitch and sling in the goals, as you said he's best waiting now til the final all we're short is to loose him to another injury :eek: I'd die couldn't handle that not a hope

dcnags
05/05/2005, 9:30 PM
Result from MSL:

Avondale 5-2 Leeds.

Wasnt at the game, decent win for the dale, starting to score a a bit more in the last few games. I didn't get much of a report but heard caulfield scored again! I think avondale are ahead of rockmount by 7 and behind castleview by 6 or 3, playing them on sunday. Not sure about games in hand though. Its still very open. Avondale still have to play rockmount...... away :(

Clifford
05/05/2005, 10:11 PM
Result from MSL:

Avondale 5-2 Leeds.

Wasnt at the game, decent win for the dale, starting to score a a bit more in the last few games. I didn't get much of a report but heard caulfield scored again! I think avondale are ahead of rockmount by 7 and behind castleview by 6 or 3, playing them on sunday. Not sure about games in hand though. Its still very open. Avondale still have to play rockmount...... away :(

Rockmount back on track with a 2-0 win over Middleton. Mickey Deasy the goal machine with one and Pat Oldham with a stunning scissors kick. Beechinor and Oldham back in the side after injury.....ominous for others hopefully.

The Avondale v Castleview on Sunday is a must win for Avondale for themselves and Rockmount, then if that happens when they both meet at Rockmount it should be a decider - providing they win all their other games into the bargain. So in essence Come on Avondale on Sunday and Come on the Mount forever..... :D :D

06/05/2005, 10:20 AM
Went over to Leeds Park last night, Castleview crowd were out in force.
Leeds tried the usual kick sh*t but were poor at the back.
For a man of his age Caulfield is playing some super stuff, scored again last night.
Avondale were 4-1 up at HT.
After their defeat to Castleview a while back and after some dodgy draws I think Avondale are picking things up again. 3 Cup wins on the trot and a fairly convincing win last night.
Sunday is the game though, think its 3pm KO at Avondale Park.

Clifford
06/05/2005, 2:00 PM
Went over to Leeds Park last night, Castleview crowd were out in force.
Leeds tried the usual kick sh*t but were poor at the back.
For a man of his age Caulfield is playing some super stuff, scored again last night.
Avondale were 4-1 up at HT.
After their defeat to Castleview a while back and after some dodgy draws I think Avondale are picking things up again. 3 Cup wins on the trot and a fairly convincing win last night.
Sunday is the game though, think its 3pm KO at Avondale Park.

Prob the defeat in the quarter finals upset them!!!! Seriously though they are in great form and should be well up for the game on Sunday. Leeds are poor though. So last night although impressive it may not be a good indicator. Castleview will "get amongst" you on Sun arvo so hopefully Caulfield will be on form score three and then opt out against Rockmount, you can't beat class no matter what age.

06/05/2005, 2:03 PM
Prob the defeat in the quarter finals upset them!!
Think it was more the manner of the defeat as opposed to the defeat itself. ;)

Clifford
08/05/2005, 10:47 PM
Think it was more the manner of the defeat as opposed to the defeat itself. ;)

Yawn....

Well, I heard it was 2-0 castleview with about ten left, any further on that one? If so then unlucky, sure it was a tough one, they get in amongst you.

Rockmount were robbed in a nil all with Ringmahon, lost in the end on spotters. Only Beamish cup though.

Bring on the big one next Sunday.....

09/05/2005, 8:30 AM
Avondale 0-2 Castleview FT
Castleview were 2 up after 5 minutes, league over i'm afraid.
Didn't make it down myself.
Hopefully a decent draw tonight in the FAI Cup.

Read the Echo last night with a report by Pat McAuliffe who was also the linesman for the game (talk about double jobbing)and said the ref had a good game, he booked one player from each team twice and played 44 minutes in the first half. crazy stuff.

09/05/2005, 11:44 PM
So can any1 tell me a bit more about Avondale, should we be worried for the cup game?

10/05/2005, 8:08 AM
So can any1 tell me a bit more about Avondale, should we be worried for the cup game?
Oh Yeah i'd be worried alright, Lots of ex Cork City talent at the club.
John Caulfield is player manager and playing super stuff at the moment, Noel Hartigan at centre half, John Cotter in midfield. A good side playing some good football under Caulfield. They are currently missing a few players through long term injuries but should be a good game all the same.
News from the camp is that the game will probably go ahead at Avondale Park. Directions can be posted later.

Clifford
10/05/2005, 11:33 AM

Mate of mine - ST holder up there with Bray is happy enough. Avondale will enjoy the battle , will make it really hard, but Zayed and co should be enough to get through it.

Great tie though, you never know with cup football. Good luck to both.

11/05/2005, 9:03 AM
Cheers lads, we'll probably manage a draw and take them back to the Carlisle.
I am a bit worried, the draw seems tougher than a few Div1 teams, good bitto quality around the MSL so then I reckon.

l.f.c......
17/05/2005, 5:25 PM
lads how is douglas hall getting on in yer league

thanks

Clifford
17/05/2005, 9:49 PM

thanks

Assume you are from the Carew perspective? Did yee play replay yet?

If you looked at a table you would think it will be a stroll, but they are after finding some incredible form since January in cups in particular. Pushed Wayside in semi of intermediate cup and beat other finalists Rockmount in the league about three weeks ago (although Mount were weak on the night)

I'm not sure how to compare the different leagues both teams play in, but I'd venture the Hall might have a bit too much, although it is away. What's the inherent difference between Senior and Junior football? I'd say very little indeed.

18/05/2005, 11:21 AM

thanks
Last Night
Avondale Utd 0-0 Douglas Hall

So unless Rockmount can provide a minor miracle then the league is Castleviews.

Clifford
18/05/2005, 11:26 AM
Last Night
Avondale Utd 0-0 Douglas Hall

So unless Rockmount can provide a minor miracle then the league is Castleviews.

Jaysus, what's happened Avondale? I saw them v Fermoy at the weekend and they were hammered. Shame really, a good senior cup run will fix it all. Is it cos big Damien is injured?

Rockmount need Douglas Hall to come up with a win v Castleview and then we have to win all 5 of the league games left. Bleeding heck it would be amzing if tht became possible. Come on the Hall.

19/05/2005, 7:47 AM
Jaysus, what's happened Avondale? I saw them v Fermoy at the weekend and they were hammered. Shame really, a good senior cup run will fix it all. Is it cos big Damien is injured? Got a report on the game and seemingly it was one of those days, Avondale had 10-15 chances and didn't take any of them, Fermoy did and still got relegated when Marys beat UCC 4-1. Damien has been a loss but has the cast off and isn't too far off a return from what I hear.

Clifford
19/05/2005, 8:55 AM
Got a report on the game and seemingly it was one of those days, Avondale had 10-15 chances and didn't take any of them, Fermoy did and still got relegated when Marys beat UCC 4-1. Damien has been a loss but has the cast off and isn't too far off a return from what I hear.

Bias is a great thing, Fermoy played all the football for the first twenty, played like a team with no inhibitions cos of the relegation. Avondale had about 5 good chances, Caulfield missing the worst sitter, from a yard. That's about it really, good to hear Damien recovering, nice chap.

amarach
19/05/2005, 11:56 AM
Hey Clifford,

Was that you emailing me back from travel agents :confused: I hadn't a clue never guessed to look at name lol

I continued the boozing up to Tuesday morning today's my first day back in work :eek:

Are ya heading up on Sunday???

19/05/2005, 12:59 PM
Bias is a great thingWell as I said I got the report 2nd hand and i'm sure we couldn't ever accuse yourself of being biased. ;)

Clifford
19/05/2005, 10:05 PM
Hey Clifford,

Was that you emailing me back from travel agents :confused: I hadn't a clue never guessed to look at name lol

I continued the boozing up to Tuesday morning today's my first day back in work :eek:

Are ya heading up on Sunday???

Aye, that be me all right, ha ha, I was praying it was you - imagine someone else with the same name getting it? It is me who goes through them every morning and at night.

Will ya mail me back and I can bring info with me Sunday. We are going for sure, hitting the road at 7.30am. Long drive ahead. Saw yee Sunday, nice work with the Mount t-shirts. We were up by the Wayside dug out for a bit of banter. Looking forward to it now. All fit and well, arrangements made for those who were supposed to be elsewhere.

Clifford
19/05/2005, 10:06 PM
Well as I said I got the report 2nd hand and i'm sure we couldn't ever accuse yourself of being biased. ;)

Sorry bud, meant the person who'd passed on the info. Bias is not a bad thing, without it the banter would be boring like egg chasing.

amarach
20/05/2005, 10:11 AM
Aye, that be me all right, ha ha, I was praying it was you - imagine someone else with the same name getting it? It is me who goes through them every morning and at night.

Will ya mail me back and I can bring info with me Sunday. We are going for sure, hitting the road at 7.30am. Long drive ahead. Saw yee Sunday, nice work with the Mount t-shirts. We were up by the Wayside dug out for a bit of banter. Looking forward to it now. All fit and well, arrangements made for those who were supposed to be elsewhere.

:mad: I won't be there sunday :mad:
I've to be elsewhere, can't get outta it, plus I've 8 Derry lads from the BPSC staying in my house next Friday for the wkend, so I've a hectic week ahead and last wkend I didn't get home from drinking til Tuesday evening so parents aren't 2 impressed so this wkend have to have a quiet one :rolleyes:
So am I gonna get a great deal on Cork to New York, talking to my cousin last night we're gonna be heading there end of November start of December just for the christmas shopping!!!! So bud your best deal lol :p joking

My email addy is lisalynch1979@yahoo.ie

Clifford
26/05/2005, 8:25 AM
Well tonight is the night of destiny. Castleview at home to Douglas Hall seeking a win to take the title. Hall need a point to be absolutely safe from relegation, Rockmount need Hall to take a point to still have a chance of the title. This is Castleviews last game, Mount have 4 or 5 left, they play St Mary's tonight. Good luck to all involved.

amarach
26/05/2005, 12:24 PM
I hope Douglas Hall kick their arses lol, I was in a pub last week and got fierce slack from Castleview players, taunting me on why I follow Rockmount and not Castleview :rolleyes:

Where's the game been played??

Clifford
26/05/2005, 2:50 PM
I hope Douglas Hall kick their arses lol, I was in a pub last week and got fierce slack from Castleview players, taunting me on why I follow Rockmount and not Castleview :rolleyes:

Where's the game been played??

Mount and View both at home I think. Fingers crossed we get this to go our way tonight.

Edit, Mount away I'm told, sorry Amarach.

Clifford
26/05/2005, 10:10 PM
Castleview were ahead 2-0 last I heard, ROckmount drew one all, travesty. Dominated and should have buried the Mary's lads, but couldn't get the 2nd. Mary's levelled with last kick of the game, first shot on goal all game. (it was a header actually).

Well done Castleview, title theirs after a great season. Nice one.

27/05/2005, 11:53 AM
As far as I know Castleview finished 2-0, fair play to Patsy and the lads.

Crambler
27/05/2005, 1:09 PM
is douglas hall's season finished now ??
they are due to play one of our junior teams in the senior cup in two weeks ?
are they any good ??
would they be a level about the top junior teams in cork ?
hall have 1 more league game to play in msl,had a slow start to season but finnishing well.
due to play carew park in cup should make a good game,any idea at this stage where game is to be played?
they had a poor start to the season,but signed a few player's and last time i saw them they looked a solid side.
they would be above the level of a top junior side and on a par with a weaker div1 el side like limerick.hall have a few ex el players like moore/o'donovan and sweeney .

i know nothing about carew but i know the hall are up for this one and i would expect them to win it without a replay in cork.

Crambler
27/05/2005, 2:28 PM
carew played their last round in limericks home field "hogan park".
they beat a team called st peters from athlone i think.
they were lenister sen league .
don't know how their actual league compares with msl !
carew are having a good season and a lot of people expect them to beat douglas and hopefully get a big team in the next round !

should make for a good competive game then ,i hope to make it if the date/timing is right. hall should have a good support at the game as limerick only a short trip.let's hope the winner does get a good draw in the next round and make a few euro's from it.let the best team win.

Clifford
27/05/2005, 3:02 PM
carew played their last round in limericks home field "hogan park".
they beat a team called st peters from athlone i think.
they were lenister sen league .
don't know how their actual league compares with msl !
carew are having a good season and a lot of people expect them to beat douglas and hopefully get a big team in the next round !

Rockmount beat St Peter's 5-0 in the Intermediate Cup, Hall beat Mount 2-0 recently. They have games left in the lg and are still (to the best of my knowledge) involved in a relegation battle (due to horrible early season form, I think, not sure).

I'd be surprised if Carew beat them, but their recent form has been poor. All on the day with this one I'd imagine.

Clifford
03/06/2005, 12:53 AM
Tonight Rockmount drew 0-0 with Everton, which assured Everton of Prem football next season. As I understand it St Marys are relegated with Fermoy. Shame to see two "big" clubs go down, but there you go. Douglas are playing superbly I hear now the surfaces have levelled out. Bet they are looking forward to FAI cup.

Avondale hammered Castleview in the O Connell cup semi final, wonder were View still celebrating or were Dale just back on form? Winners of Fermoy and Rockmount meet Dale in final.

Sunday match between Rockmount and the Avondale boys for second place should be interesting.

Any thoughts?

03/06/2005, 7:55 AM
Douglas Hall beat St Marys 4-2 last night, relegating them.
Avondale will be more interested in the match practice in advance of thei FAI Cup tie and to be honest 2nd place isn't worth a damn anyway.
Avondale beat Castleview 5-1 the other night but View have probably been on the piste for the last while anyway. Hat trick for Davd Spratt, thats 26 in all competitions now, fine striker.

dcnags
05/06/2005, 10:24 PM
When is the final of the o connell cup schedueled for? I heard it was friday if avondale weren't in it but they are so........?

Ya, spratty and mark have been banging them in all season, looking forward to friday evening, although i hear we're missing hargy! He'll be a big loss. I heard we signed a few players for the game to strengthen the squad, a midleton striker, ucc centre half and alan o'shea who is a keeper! If he stays there will be huge competition next season with dave o keeffe back, that'd be 3 good keepers!

Clifford
05/06/2005, 10:55 PM
When is the final of the o connell cup schedueled for? I heard it was friday if avondale weren't in it but they are so........?

Ya, spratty and mark have been banging them in all season, looking forward to friday evening, although i hear we're missing hargy! He'll be a big loss. I heard we signed a few players for the game to strengthen the squad, a midleton striker, ucc centre half and alan o'shea who is a keeper! If he stays there will be huge competition next season with dave o keeffe back, that'd be 3 good keepers!

Obviously none of the 3 keepers played this morn in the 2-1 defeat at Rockmount? The first guy got taken off for leaving in two in first 5 mins, bit harsh I thought as they were deadly finishes, Cokers from 25/30 yards just flew in. The second guy who came on was as bad flapped at almost all crosses, caught one near the end all right. Two less than full strength sides played out an interesting end of season game, got heated enough to know both sides cared. Mount missing Byrne, Howey, Beechinor, Doyle, Dale missing Spratt, Harty and a few more I imagine. Hoppy and Hallie were outstanding for the visitors. Coker with his first for Mount (a stunning volley), Weldon and two young youths were best for Mount.

Rockmount conceded only 9 league goals in 22 league games, I think it's a MSL record. Awesome defence indeed. 2/3 new signings to come in during the summer, as well as a couple of crackers coming back from other clubs. Can't wait for next season.

To answer the q about the O Connell Cup I believe it will be Sunday in Casement Park. Fermoy v Rockmount in the semi on tue night to see who gets to play the Dale.

If it Knowlsy from Midleton he's very decent, lovely left foot. Don't know others.

Clifford
07/06/2005, 10:18 PM
Tonight Rockmount beat Fermoy 4-0. Avondale v Mount Sunday in Casement Park.

Bring it on, best of luck to all involved in FAI Senior Cup this weekend. Fingers crossed a few of the Cork teams will go through.