View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 [96] 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

underpressure
17/11/2011, 10:12 AM
Ye can all comment about ian stapleton going here, there and everywhere, but he wont be leaving midleton this season, as has been said, he is as loyal as they come, only left cobh wanderers because the club have gone backwards big time in the last few years, didnt have a choice but to leave!

el nino coro
17/11/2011, 12:55 PM
Ye can all comment about ian stapleton going here, there and everywhere, but he wont be leaving midleton this season, as has been said, he is as loyal as they come, only left cobh wanderers because the club have gone backwards big time in the last few years, didnt have a choice but to leave!

Midleton wouldnt be far off going backwards now when they are looking like odds on to go down at christmas!

Chiefscout
17/11/2011, 1:55 PM
Midleton wouldnt be far off going backwards now when they are looking like odds on to go down at christmas!
In fairness to Midleton they have been very unlucky recently.they outplayed the champions few weeks ago and got nothing from the game,and conceded a last minute equalizer last week.one win for them will turn their whole season around and the likes of mayfield everton and Marys will be looking over their shoulders.and chubbs is the one man that can get them the win

el nino coro
17/11/2011, 3:27 PM
In fairness to Midleton they have been very unlucky recently.they outplayed the champions few weeks ago and got nothing from the game,and conceded a last minute equalizer last week.one win for them will turn their whole season around and the likes of mayfield everton and Marys will be looking over their shoulders.and chubbs is the one man that can get them the win

That win would want to come fairly lively because they are odds on to go down,i think its Mayfield and College they have to play in their final games of the 1st half league programme and honestly i cant see them beating either of those,that late equaliser they conceded last sunday could prove fatal in their chances to survive!

Billynomates
18/11/2011, 10:02 AM
Tonights Beamish Stout Senior Premier game, Rockmount v Mayfield Utd, scheduled for Rockmount Park at 7.30 is cancelled. Senior 2nd Division, CIT v Crofton Celtic, in CIT at 7.30 also cancelled.

Doesnt look good for the weekend

Chiefscout
18/11/2011, 12:24 PM
Tonights Beamish Stout Senior Premier game, Rockmount v Mayfield Utd, scheduled for Rockmount Park at 7.30 is cancelled. Senior 2nd Division, CIT v Crofton Celtic, in CIT at 7.30 also cancelled.

Doesnt look good for the weekend
The league should just call off all matches and save teams traveling for games over weekend and refs calling them off

lawman
18/11/2011, 2:00 PM
No, let us travel. It gets me out of the house for a while... and what about the loss of income for the refs:) 20 euro I believe to check the pitch to call it off.... money for jam.. or pints..

Goggs
18/11/2011, 3:32 PM
That win would want to come fairly lively because they are odds on to go down,i think its Mayfield and College they have to play in their final games of the 1st half league programme and honestly i cant see them beating either of those,that late equaliser they conceded last sunday could prove fatal in their chances to survive!I have to agree with you el nino about getting a win but that Midleton team are a very committed bunch and have come through alot together only 5 seasons ago they were languising in the second division and have been through an awfullot together they have character in abundance and will gave any team a game they should have beat rockmount they should have beat blarney and they should have beat leeds but they didnt thats football I was talking to there assistant manager the other day and he still believes they have the fight and quaility to get out of the current situation and if you have that believe it can get you points look at Marys last season bottom with tramore last christmas but they need to do it now.

greengrass
18/11/2011, 4:10 PM
The league should just call off all matches and save teams traveling for games over weekend and refs calling them off

id imagine they will call off tomorrows at lunch time,pointless really,if pitches are not playable tonight they certainly wont be tomorrow
Sundays games is anyones guess though

villaman10
18/11/2011, 5:09 PM
id imagine they will call off tomorrows at lunch time,pointless really,if pitches are not playable tonight they certainly wont be tomorrow
Sundays games is anyones guess though

think all games should be off now, as if for the simple reason clubs rely upon the gate money an awful lot to help contribrute towards the running of the club and pay for ref's! apart from fermoy and midleton are their any other clubs that have a stand for fans?? can't imagine many people venturing out in this weather to support their teams!

Clifford
18/11/2011, 6:41 PM
Do clubs still charge people to go and watch them? Fair play, we'd get no one up if we charged them. Don't think I've seen anyone in div 1 charge money thus far.

Our pitch in fermoy is going to have a junior game tomorrow and a senior game sun. At the moment both are on. It's not supposed to rain after tomorrow morning and our surface is good. No need for us to have to give up home advantage if our pitch is playable.

villaman10
18/11/2011, 7:28 PM
Do clubs still charge people to go and watch them? Fair play, we'd get no one up if we charged them. Don't think I've seen anyone in div 1 charge money thus far.

Our pitch in fermoy is going to have a junior game tomorrow and a senior game sun. At the moment both are on. It's not supposed to rain after tomorrow morning and our surface is good. No need for us to have to give up home advantage if our pitch is playable.

been to rockmount, avondale midleton and douglas in recent years and they charge all the time, well i should use the word ''donation''! no problem handing over 3 yo-yo's to be fair!

Sparky
18/11/2011, 7:56 PM
Leeds vs Avondale game is off tomorrow.

ringmahon4ever
19/11/2011, 1:46 PM
seen on echo few weeks back that avondale are charging 5 euros a game.think that would be a nightmare on a rainy sunday morn when a man and his dog shows up for a game.is there any rule about clubs charging.i dont think any first division teams charge as clifford said and its only the big boys in premier charge.suppose they gotta pay the players wages somehow ha ha :)

the hawk
19/11/2011, 2:18 PM
seen on echo few weeks back that avondale are charging 5 euros a game.think that would be a nightmare on a rainy sunday morn when a man and his dog shows up for a game.is there any rule about clubs charging.i dont think any first division teams charge as clifford said and its only the big boys in premier charge.suppose they gotta pay the players wages somehow ha ha :)

something you won't have to worry about for a while anyway ringmahon

go for gold
19/11/2011, 3:33 PM
how did cors v everton game finish up

AvondaleNutter
19/11/2011, 3:37 PM

And people pay it and it helps out the club. Club aren't in a good financial position so they try to raise funds in anyway they can. If you have suggestions for other ways the club can raise money then please suggest them. Thanks.

villaman10
19/11/2011, 4:23 PM
how did cors v everton game finish up

1-0 to everton!

Billynomates
19/11/2011, 4:51 PM

Just to correct you Avondale charge €3 a game as printed in the echo

The 'View
19/11/2011, 7:29 PM
Most Premier games have linesmen which last time I checked cost a total of €131.50. Thats nearly €1,200 for referees for home league games alone. As I said before the linesmen are a waste of time. I've no prob with clubs charging to try to offset the cost.

el nino coro
19/11/2011, 8:05 PM
Most Premier games have linesmen which last time I checked cost a total of €131.50. Thats nearly €1,200 for referees for home league games alone. As I said before the linesmen are a waste of time. I've no prob with clubs charging to try to offset the cost.

Have to disagree that linesmen are a waste of time,costly yes but you cant expect a ref to make a call on an offside/onside which could ultimately decide a league/relegation!

lawman
19/11/2011, 8:18 PM
as stated above, linesmen are costly, but they can be very effective if as suggested they were called upon to make a tight onside/offside call that could ultimately decide the result of a game/league........ thats all provided they get the call correct :) but who are we to say if they are right or wrong? sure we really dont even know all the rules of the game, and before somebody beats me to the punch, I know I know, they dont either. Nevertheless, I would love to have them at all our games. And to offset the officials expenses I have proposed on numerous occasions that we find a sponsor each fortnight. Supermarket owner this week, pub owner the next game etc etc.. Anybody agree?

greengrass
19/11/2011, 9:18 PM
Have to disagree that linesmen are a waste of time,costly yes but you cant expect a ref to make a call on an offside/onside which could ultimately decide a league/relegation!

Every other league in cork lets the ref make these calls

el nino coro
19/11/2011, 9:37 PM
[/B]Every other league in cork lets the ref make these calls

The rest are junior leagues! The top league in cork should and does have linesmen

townhall tez
19/11/2011, 10:54 PM
i watched corinthians v. everton today,not a great game. Corinthians had the better chances but Everton scored against the run of play from distance. Keeper should have done better. Both teams not good enough to challenge for the league but too good to be in a relegation battle. It looked to me like everton were missing a lot and i was told Mike Mcsweeney Kieran Keneally Chris Madden Aidan O Mahony and Paul Burke were amongst those missing for corinthians. Where are all these players??????????????

ball-hop
20/11/2011, 1:18 PM
Douglas Hall 1 (Graham McCarthy) St. Marys 0

Clifford
20/11/2011, 1:24 PM
Fermoy 1-1 Midleton in Munster Senior Cup.

Fermoy won it on penalties, Mick devine saved one and we scored all 5. Midelton took the lead 15 or so into second half, ten mins later great work by Graham Byrnes saw the midleton keeper take him down in the box. Pen and red card. Scored pen, but couldn't push on and get winner. Midelton coped with ten very well with Knowlsey up top on his own.

Glad to get through it, bring on the big guns.

AvondaleNutter
21/11/2011, 9:24 AM
Just to correct you Avondale charge €3 a game as printed in the echo

Thanks billynomates. I think ringmahon4ever worries more about Avondale then his club, he likes to write more about us anyway. Not being cheeky or anything but you're not gonna get people paying to watch a 1st div side. I have no problem paying to watch the top sides

ringmahon4ever
21/11/2011, 10:26 AM
ha ha are you actually serious.how did i know you would say something like that.if i really wanted to say wat i think about your club id be banned from this site. I was merely sayin it because ye advertised it on echo that ye were gonna charge. The topic was after been raised so people just added on.personally i dont agree with it but thats my opinion and prob some people out there might or might not agree with me..

fifa
21/11/2011, 7:48 PM
I think you have to have a gate charge when there is linesmen no club could afford to pay 131 euro every second week for officials

douglas local
21/11/2011, 8:16 PM
League, Sunday 20th Nov
Douglas Hall 1 (Graham McCarthy) St. Marys 0

welcome back to ball hop
didnt hear from you for awhile
hope it wasnt because the hall were on a bad run or because of the unrest over deccy and kevin mul

BalagueFC
22/11/2011, 6:17 PM
i watched corinthians v. everton today,not a great game. Corinthians had the better chances but Everton scored against the run of play from distance. Keeper should have done better. Both teams not good enough to challenge for the league but too good to be in a relegation battle. It looked to me like everton were missing a lot and i was told Mike Mcsweeney Kieran Keneally Chris Madden Aidan O Mahony and Paul Burke were amongst those missing for corinthians. Where are all these players??????????????

Is that Paul Burke who played with CC years ago? What age is he now?? I never heard of the other players mentioned.

Clifford
23/11/2011, 10:06 AM
Anyone know which pitch Carrigaline will use on a Sat afternoon down there? Conflicting thoughts coming through to me as to whether we'll be on grass or artificial. Not been down there so assume the artificial will take a stud, blade or mould?

footiefanatic
23/11/2011, 11:46 AM
Anyone know which pitch Carrigaline will use on a Sat afternoon down there? Conflicting thoughts coming through to me as to whether we'll be on grass or artificial. Not been down there so assume the artificial will take a stud, blade or mould?

Most likely to be on the grass pitch clifford, although if it were to be played on the artificial, it would take either type of stud, blade or mould. juniors and seniors play most there matches on the grass.

Chiefscout
23/11/2011, 12:13 PM
Most likely to be on the grass pitch clifford, although if it were to be played on the artificial, it would take either type of stud, blade or mould. juniors and seniors play most there matches on the grass.

An I right in saying the away team have the right to not play on artificial surface unless they are allowed to train on it few days before?...or am I misinformed

Clifford
23/11/2011, 12:49 PM

Thanks for that FF. Prob makes a difference all right, although all our training is on astro nowadays so it's prob not to different.

Another day out to look forward to, tough game as they have started incredibly well.

Clifford
23/11/2011, 12:54 PM
An I right in saying the away team have the right to not play on artificial surface unless they are allowed to train on it few days before?...or am I misinformed

We haven't received a call giving us a choice anyway. Not sure it makes too much of a difference these days anyway with lads playing on astro's all over the place.

townhall tez
23/11/2011, 12:59 PM
Is that Paul Burke who played with CC years ago? What age is he now?? I never heard of the other players mentioned.

Ya that Paul Burke,he signed again this year. Surprised you don't know the other players-Aidan O Mahony is a junior international who has played with Ucc and Rockmount,McSweeney captained Ucc to the collingwood last year,Madden has played with douglas hall and Kenneally signed from cork city.

footiefanatic
23/11/2011, 3:26 PM
Should be a great game clifford, two teams fighting for promotion, both who could possibly end up finishing 1st and 2nd. They have played all their home games this season on grass, apart from intermediate cup game vs st.marys i think. But after the result they got against them wouldnt be suprised if they wnated to stay on it!!! Think the club is only supposed to receive 24 hours notice chiefscout. But not too sure on that one, but as cliff said, most teams in cork are either playing or training on astro neway. Plus Carrigaline's surface is a closed to grass as you would get anyway, suits any type of stud or boot and can only be good for football if it is played on it.

BalagueFC
23/11/2011, 4:05 PM
Ya that Paul Burke,he signed again this year. Surprised you don't know the other players-Aidan O Mahony is a junior international who has played with Ucc and Rockmount,McSweeney captained Ucc to the collingwood last year,Madden has played with douglas hall and Kenneally signed from cork city.

Paul Burke is probably the only one from my era. I would not know many of the younger players in the league these days by name. Good to see him back playing

fifa
23/11/2011, 6:32 PM
Drove past carrigaline yesterday no lines on pitch and grass was about a foot long if that's any help

el nino coro
24/11/2011, 1:18 PM
Should be a great game clifford, two teams fighting for promotion, both who could possibly end up finishing 1st and 2nd. They have played all their home games this season on grass, apart from intermediate cup game vs st.marys i think. But after the result they got against them wouldnt be suprised if they wnated to stay on it!!! Think the club is only supposed to receive 24 hours notice chiefscout. But not too sure on that one, but as cliff said, most teams in cork are either playing or training on astro neway. Plus Carrigaline's surface is a closed to grass as you would get anyway, suits any type of stud or boot and can only be good for football if it is played on it.

Carrigaline wont be promoted at all this season,your clutching at straws there fanatic,i also think fermoy had their chance last year and i see it coming down to castleview Ucc and Bandon for the 2 promotion spots

fifa
24/11/2011, 6:02 PM
Carrigaline wont be promoted at all this season,your clutching at straws there fanatic,i also think fermoy had their chance last year and i see it coming down to castleview Ucc and Bandon for the 2 promotion spotsfermoy will be there or there abouts have strengthened from last year

douglas local
24/11/2011, 8:43 PM
especailly for ball hop and chief scout any truth that the dale are after signing another player

go for gold
24/11/2011, 9:27 PM
hoey from mayfield trained with mount 2night.be a good addition

the hawk
24/11/2011, 9:44 PM

he trained with the hall on tuesday night

el nino coro
24/11/2011, 10:19 PM
he trained with the hall on tuesday night

He wudnt get a game with the top teams in the league!

fifa
25/11/2011, 6:54 AM
Hopefully more games will survive the weather this weekend

Chiefscout
25/11/2011, 7:42 AM

Prediction for you...he will be playing aul by end of January....

Chiefscout
25/11/2011, 7:45 AM
especailly for ball hop and chief scout any truth that the dale are after signing another player
Haven't heard yet to be honest but wouldn't surprise me.but can only play 11 and bring on 3 subs so id expect a few to leave the dale aswel.maybe ringmahon will sign a few of their players 😃