View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 [84] 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

The 'View
24/08/2011, 12:05 AM
Jesus lads if all above is true, isn't it time the leagues looked really hard at whats happening. AUL is the same they've lost a lot of teams this year as well. Is it lack of interest or too costly for people to play?

24/08/2011, 8:11 AM
Jesus lads if all above is true, isn't it time the leagues looked really hard at whats happening. AUL is the same they've lost a lot of teams this year as well. Is it lack of interest or too costly for people to play?Sad, maybe they've gone to the Shipping League? They've added 6 extra teams and are gone back to 3 divisions.

Sparky
24/08/2011, 10:10 PM
i was told monday that they were having a big meeting monday night about pulling out there senior team,i didn't hear the out come of that meeting.casement are gone ballinhassig and garyduff could be going,won't the 2nd division be a joke with only 6 or 7 teams in it,i think it should go back to 2 divisions and have 12 or 13 in each division,18 games isn't enough league games in my opinion

I totally agree with Mayfield, not enough league games in 18. Perhaps we should have less Cups KEANE, BEAMISH, DONIE FORDE, MUNSTER SENIOR, INTERMEDIATE............could we afford to drop one and increase the league games. We are lucky to have a brilliant and competitive league so why not have more emphasis on it. Good luck to all Clubs because I feel this year it finally has proper MSL PREMIER CLUBS with the right traditions and attitudes. Good to be back this weekend with action. Cant wait to hear the results coming in. Perhaps we should all make an effort to get the results up asap. All the GOSSIP is over, its now football time!!!!!!!!!!!

footiefanatic
25/08/2011, 10:26 AM
i was told monday that they were having a big meeting monday night about pulling out there senior team,i didn't hear the out come of that meeting.casement are gone ballinhassig and garyduff could be going,won't the 2nd division be a joke with only 6 or 7 teams in it,i think it should go back to 2 divisions and have 12 or 13 in each division,18 games isn't enough league games in my opinion

Well casement and ballinhassig pulling out will really affect the 1st division, but have found out that ballinhassig have only pulled out of keane cup, they still will (hopefully) participate in the 1st division!! Thinks having 2 divisions is a bit drastic as of yet, but if this trend continues, the MSL will have no other option really! Delighted to see garryduff gone, no heart or commitment in that so called 'club' at all. Can't wait for action to resume this weekend, should be some good keane cup games on show, giving us an early indication of how teams are ready for the new season!!

Clifford
25/08/2011, 1:16 PM
Reg Forms sent in yesterday, tough going but got our three squads sorted Sad to hear clubs are in difficulty. I comprehend what they are going through though. Don't know how we ll do in collecting memberships, ref money and expect lads to drive to away games all season without recompense.

Can't wait for Sun morn. What are Glasheen like? We ve added Mick Devine, Tim Kiely and Gavin Quirke to our squad, but lost slatts, Alan McCormack and Darren Cody.

Southsider
25/08/2011, 1:44 PM
Reg Forms sent in yesterday, tough going but got our three squads sorted Sad to hear clubs are in difficulty. I comprehend what they are going through though. Don't know how we ll do in collecting memberships, ref money and expect lads to drive to away games all season without recompense.

Can't wait for Sun morn. What are Glasheen like? We ve added Mick Devine, Tim Kiely and Gavin Quirke to our squad, but lost slatts, Alan McCormack and Darren Cody.
Is that Timmy Kiely ex Cork City ??

The 'View
25/08/2011, 2:00 PM
Just been told our game versus Lakewood Sun morning is off. They've pulled out of the Keane Cup. Things are getting ridiculous now with the amount of teams gone or almost gone.

Clifford
25/08/2011, 9:37 PM
Is that Timmy Kiely ex Cork City ??

Yip. Trained away with us last few weeks and signed on tue after scoring 2 v ballincollig the week before. Tasty player, needs match time.

25/08/2011, 10:05 PM
Tasty player, needs match time.No doubt the lad is quality but the last time he togged out for City he looked seriously out of shape.

Clifford
25/08/2011, 10:34 PM
No doubt the lad is quality but the last time he togged out for City he looked seriously out of shape.

We're no Cork City though. Touch and vision should help us out a lot and we know it'll be 4/5 matches til we're up to speed with him. Real nice lad who just want's to play ball tbf.

six-yard-box
25/08/2011, 10:48 PM
We're no Cork City though. Touch and vision should help us out a lot and we know it'll be 4/5 matches til we're up to speed with him. Real nice lad who just want's to play ball tbf.

Great signings for ye. Ye should Be very strong 3 good quality signings.. Glasheen are young well they were last season tidy side tho should give ye a game I'd expect ye to win tho.

douglas local
26/08/2011, 6:27 PM
heard there was great fun between the hall and ringmahon last night - match abandoned -it seems the hall are at it early in the season

the hawk
26/08/2011, 10:08 PM
heard there was great fun between the hall and ringmahon last night - match abandoned -it seems the hall are at it early in the season

i suggest you worry about the getting your own team in order after yere shocking performance against crosshaven ,ye play like that and it wont be enough to keep corinthians in the premier if ye play like that

Billynomates
27/08/2011, 8:23 AM
Aparrently crofton celtic are moving from junior first division to the senior second division.

27/08/2011, 4:14 PM
Avondale Utd 3-0 Temple Utd

AvondaleNutter
27/08/2011, 4:56 PM
Couldn't make the game razor, who got the goals? Heard mark sull got 1

27/08/2011, 10:44 PM
Couldn't make the game razor, who got the goals? Heard mark sull got 1Wasn't there either but I heard Marky Sull got 2 and Eoin Forde got the other.
They only had 12.

Goggs
28/08/2011, 9:00 AM
Crosshaven 0 Midleton 6
One nill at half time Crosshaven were well in it up to that stage they disrupted Midleton's passing game very well and were very physical all over the pitch.Midleton simply upped a gear and ran a muck in the second half. Felt sorry for Bezzer his first game in charge was a tough one but the scoreline didnt reflect his teams performance and once he puts his own mark on this team they will be a tough nut to crack.Any other results lads.

collcorforever
28/08/2011, 1:12 PM
Corinthians 1 Everton 0. good game everton could have been one or two up in the 1st 20 minutes, we came back into it but a draw might have been a fair result!! everton were good but were missing a few.

Pundit
28/08/2011, 3:58 PM
Wasn't there either but I heard Marky Sull got 2 and Eoin Forde got the other.
They only had 12.

the dale without 8 players due to hols work and injury.. mucky, alan carey, spratty, danny long, jammer will be back soon just to name a few.. not bad players to come back eh.. temple were poor but the worked hard. easy win for the dale. tougher times ahead on thursday

Clifford
28/08/2011, 4:52 PM
Beat glasheen 1-0 this morn. Pen after 20 mins did enough for us. We should have won by 3/4. Good young glasheen side - they are hoping to get ballinhassig s place in our div if they pull out.

Word is wanderers are coming back up instead of casement.

Chiefscout
28/08/2011, 7:31 PM
Heard after a "great" 4-3 win v cobh wanderers ,Alan marvins long ball specialists had a fantastic 1-1 v mallow.....disgrace our view had a bye in wat was meant to be first game.senior league has a lot to answer for

mayfield utd
28/08/2011, 8:55 PM
our lads beat ballincollig 5-2 on saturday,we had a few missing due to work and holidays wolfie brosy davie warren and dermy ryan.goals from greg kelly wayne mcbride howie connor roche and an og,the game was more like a walk in the park for our lads.to make things worst we finished the game with 10 men due to injuries wayne mcbride at half time groin steph hurley 5 minutes into 2nd half knee,roddis knee and ian fleming knee.i also seen ballincollig have signed that heavy guy that played up front for rockmount last season i think they call him giddy or something like that

the hawk
29/08/2011, 6:32 AM
giddy is the lad upfront for ballincollig now .hw was with rockmount for 2 seasons i think ,he also had spells with blarney but i 99% sure ballincollig was his main club as i remember playing against him when he was with ballincollig.

scout as much as i disagree with long ball football .rockmount have been winning medals since 99 thats fair going to be on top that long re building the squad after retirements and so on doesnt matter if you play long ball or like barcelona all in counts is the medals in the back pocket and right now ,most of their pockets are bulging with em

Innishvilla
29/08/2011, 11:50 AM
Called up to watch a bit of the Hall v carrig game. Douglas looked very good - played some lovely football I thought, went 1 down against the run of play; got a very good equaliser, didn't see the 2nd half but I was suitable impressed by the style of football played. Also to note/mention I though Damien O'Mahoney was excellent, kept up with play made (what I thought was) the correct call on a couple of firm but fair challenges, was willing to talk to players (once or twice having a quiet word in an ear) and allowed advantage for a foul in the run up to Hall's equaliser...

flyr
29/08/2011, 8:20 PM
Yes that is right cobh wanderers are in instead of casement.But they have a much stronger squad than last season with a few new players and a new manager.

Goggs
30/08/2011, 9:31 AM
I'm not really surprised by the Rockmount result as I saw Mallow play in preseason and their a very phyisical one dimentional side with alot of spirit and its always a difficult place to go.

Glenbuck
30/08/2011, 5:20 PM
Quick run down on game v Mallow last Saturday. A missed penalty by Gareth Cambridge and some poor finishing by Mount had the score at 0 all at break. Plenty of possesion for the Mount in second half but only one goal to show for it (Danny Leahy, yth player 2 seasons ago). Mallow had a few breaks but nothin to show for it. A blocked clearance resulted in keeper (Stephen Deasy) taking down Mallow player resulting in penalty. 1 all. Not a bad game.

douglas local
30/08/2011, 8:36 PM
heard podge is heading to avondale - big loss for the hall

Chiefscout
31/08/2011, 5:48 PM
heard podge is heading to avondale - big loss for the hall

As I predicted weeks ago :-)..............right lads.looking to watch a good match tomorrow night.what game is worth going to see?

Reznik
31/08/2011, 6:03 PM
As I predicted weeks ago :-)..............right lads.looking to watch a good match tomorrow night.what game is worth going to see?

Rockmount v Avondale is an obvious choice. Everton v Leeds and Fermoy v Blarney could also be good ties.

the hawk
31/08/2011, 7:34 PM

i think if you back i was the one who said podge was going to Avondale.Great move by cotts .Avondale have a seriously strong squad this year and will be hitting the season on the front foot unlike last year when o rourke had them .

Anybody know why podge left the hall . was it a falling out or whats going on up there

The 'View
31/08/2011, 8:17 PM
Good prediction chief. With regards to a game you could always go to O'Sullivan Park and watch you're beloved Castleview play Passage. Or maybe you just forgot about that game. You're rumbled kid, which club are you really with cause it ain't us.

go for gold
31/08/2011, 9:35 PM
Quick run down on game v Mallow last Saturday. A missed penalty by Gareth Cambridge and some poor finishing by Mount had the score at 0 all at break. Plenty of possesion for the Mount in second half but only one goal to show for it (Danny Leahy, yth player 2 seasons ago). Mallow had a few breaks but nothin to show for it. A blocked clearance resulted in keeper (Stephen Deasy) taking down Mallow player resulting in penalty. 1 all. Not a bad game.

just wandering who played well for mount

Chiefscout
01/09/2011, 3:39 AM
Good prediction chief. With regards to a game you could always go to O'Sullivan Park and watch you're beloved Castleview play Passage. Or maybe you just forgot about that game. You're rumbled kid, which club are you really with cause it ain't us.

I am and always will be castleview...let's be honest,our match tonight won't be a classic so I'll be heading elsewhere...next week for the quarter final though I'll be cheering on patsy and the lads...might even be involved if patsy gives me the all clear.

The 'View
01/09/2011, 7:47 AM
Real loyal Chief, let myself and the rest of the lads support the team tonight. Don't forget saturdays game as well. Was looking at the master form last week can't remember seeing you're name on it but sure hopefully you're signed and fit for next week. Talk to you then.

code red
01/09/2011, 8:48 AM
Carrigaline keeper heading to Douglas as far as I know.Not sure of his name but i'm sure the same lad was at Avondale a few years back.

AvondaleNutter
01/09/2011, 12:32 PM
Carrigaline keeper heading to Douglas as far as I know.Not sure of his name but i'm sure the same lad was at Avondale a few years back.

Would that be twiggy? First name Peter io think?

Nice fella, v.good keeper.

ringmahon4ever
01/09/2011, 8:18 PM
beat st marys tonight 2-0 in keane cup.great result for first game of season and especially up in marys park.

01/09/2011, 8:53 PM
Mount 2-2 Avondale

Dale fought back twice, the second time with 9 men in what was a very high paced but not a dirty game.

Clifford
01/09/2011, 9:35 PM
Lost 3-2 at carrig park to blarney. A game of 3 stunning goals. Ray o l and Kenny right out of the top drawer for them. Tim Kiely with an exquisite free kick for us.

Decent game of ball. We have picked up Dave keating and Noel Barry from Garryduff who have folded.

mayfield utd
01/09/2011, 10:28 PM
our lads beat youghal 1-0 tonight,poor enough game but happy with the result.the manager made 5 or 6 changes from the team that started saturday,our bench had the likes of howie,greg kelly,barry triggs,steph hurley and james o mahony in for them came anytony wolf,brenden cronin,some guy called o shea (think he came from cobh ramblers)connor roche,davie warren and brosy,we were also missing ian and eric fleming and dermy ryan who were injured

The 'View
01/09/2011, 10:34 PM
Had a good first outing tonight beating Passage 7-2. Infairness to Passage they are struggling a bit but tried to the end. If we get any younger we'll be playing Youths. Lots of young players on view, which is good. Imagine when Chiefscout is back playing we'll be unbeatable!!!!!

footiefanatic
01/09/2011, 10:43 PM

Would that be twiggy? First name Peter io think?

Nice fella, v.good keeper.

This is definantly not the case, as far as i am aware of, he is commited to carrigaline this season, will be very important in their push for promotion this season as he is a fantastic keeper. Carrigaline lost to douglas 2-1 tonight, a draw prob would have been a fair result, from what people told me, an improved performance on their defeat in douglas.

the hawk
01/09/2011, 10:53 PM
This is definantly not the case, as far as i am aware of, he is commited to carrigaline this season, will be very important in their push for promotion this season as he is a fantastic keeper. Carrigaline lost to douglas 2-1 tonight, a draw prob would have been a fair result, from what people told me, an improved performance on their defeat in douglas.

who was in goal for the hall.Podge has def signed for Avondale.And from what i have been told by my hall source Twiggy is gone to the hall and if that fails Brendan hurley i think is it in goal for kinsale will be coming .

Seen the 2nd half of yer game view had to work late .Passage worked hard and didnt give up both squads looked fairly thin.Patsy was only arriving around same time as me .Heard a few of yer goals were brutal defensive mistakes by passage.From what ive seen i think both teams would do well in there respective divisons

six-yard-box
01/09/2011, 11:44 PM
who was in goal for the hall.Podge has def signed for Avondale.And from what i have been told by my hall source Twiggy is gone to the hall and if that fails Brendan hurley i think is it in goal for kinsale will be coming . Brendan signed with bandon so I couldn't see that happening!!

villaman10
02/09/2011, 12:04 AM
midleton 5 cobh 0 game stopped after 70 mins due to poor light, they were trying to get lights on but both managers shook hands and ref blew up early! keeper from kinsale has definetly signed for bandon!

Pundit
02/09/2011, 11:28 AM
Mount 2-2 Avondale

Dale fought back twice, the second time with 9 men in what was a very high paced but not a dirty game.

Razor what did you think of the match. Was up there watching it myself and thought Rockmounts antics were nothing short of a disgrace. They were diving all over the place. Very good game all the same. Sending offs were prob right in my opinion but there wasnt much in any of the challenges to be fair. Mount never once attacked the dale when they were down to 9 men. Think they were happy with 2-1. Great spirit from the 9men to come back and get a point

03/09/2011, 10:35 AM
Razor what did you think of the match. Was up there watching it myself and thought Rockmounts antics were nothing short of a disgrace. They were diving all over the place. Very good game all the same. Sending offs were prob right in my opinion but there wasnt much in any of the challenges to be fair. Mount never once attacked the dale when they were down to 9 men. Think they were happy with 2-1. Great spirit from the 9men to come back and get a pointRef was very poor, neither strong enough or fit enough for that game.
Showed no consistency and allowed the crowd make his decisions for him.
Monty could have easily walked before half time but the ref chose to give him a talking to, which is fair enough but then sent the Dale players off.
Dished out the yellows too early and then put himself under pressure.

At one stage in the second half Rockmount at 2-1 up, had 5 players in their own half marking nobody, guess their conservatism cost them in the end.

ringmahon4ever
03/09/2011, 4:32 PM
beat tramore two nil today in keane cup. Roll on the quarter finals