View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 [74] 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

Sparky
18/05/2011, 9:57 PM
Better team won on the night. Hall fully deserved their win. Avondale so called big players did not turn up at all. They had no urgency and let the hall pass it about especially in the first half. I was shocked to hear Rockmount did not take all three points. I would still fancy Rockmount to take the title but you just dont know which Avondale will turn up next week. I predict a few Hall players will go and watch it ha ha. May the best team win as I stand by the words "The league doesn't lie". Bit of a scurmish after the game with Mark O'Sullivan and Gareth Donovan which came of nothing. Its been a long season for all 3 teams so I bet they cant wait for it to come to an end. p.s. Biscuits to get the freedom of Douglas if he can deliver!

mayfield utd
18/05/2011, 11:54 PM
it's great to see 3 teams still in the title race with only 1 game to play,i'd like to see douglas win it just to see someone else winning the league.i hate people on here moaning about mounts long ball game,every team should play to there strengths and it seems mounts strengths is the long ball and there one of the best teams in ireland at it,just look at all they won in the last 10 years or so they must have 5 or 6 leagues 3 or 4 intermediate cup and they lost another 1 or 2 finals they've also won a few other local cups,compare that to a team that plays ball the right way like douglas what have they won in the last 10 years or so i think it's 1 maybe 2 local cups.i'm not a mount fan boy in fact if douglas were playing on the pitch next to rockmount i'd watch douglas,you got to give credit where credit due,it's not pretty football but it's work wonders for rockmount over the years

Sparky
19/05/2011, 10:10 AM
I totally agree with you Mayfield Utd. Those who moan about Rockmount are jealous of their success. I love to see football being played the right way but you need to be able to mix it too. Role on Friday week for EL-CLASSICO (Mount vs Dale). Should be a bruiser!

maninthemiddle
19/05/2011, 11:47 AM
hopefully there will be agood bit of rain in the run up as the pitches need it or else it will be like the farce in avaondale park last night (the pitch). so many good payers on a rock hard pitch. i havenet seen much of rockmount the last 2 years but when i played against them many times from 1999-2005 in particular i would never have associated them with long ball.

Glenbuck
19/05/2011, 12:43 PM
mount will prob move the game to the schoolboy pitch out the back if there is rain anyway;)..fancy dale strongly 2-0...good break for them now to recharge the batteries...walking off last night they must have thought their season was over a i dont think anyone expected mount to let a lead slipAnd why pray tell would we move the match to the schoolboy pitch. You seem to be mixing us up with someone else. Anyway roll on Friday week. May the best team win...

maninthemiddle
19/05/2011, 3:14 PM
they would want to up their game then as they could not seem to life it at all. they were trying dont get me wrong but i was beside the avondale bench and the distinct lack of urgency was unreal. i hope its only a hangover from the intermediate cup which would be understandable as there was hardly a voice raised at half time (avondale stayed on the pitch).they were yards off douglas at times and couldnt get goping fully. the second bite of the cherry as you say and a bit of rest might revive them. in fact it surley will.

either way its going to be a great finish.

mayfield utd
20/05/2011, 10:50 PM
i forgot to post that our lads beat midleton 3-1 on wednesday night,wayne mac scored all 3 goals,our lads out played them for most of the game,very good end to the season for our lads the last few weeks they've been excellent

maninthemiddle
21/05/2011, 8:22 AM
saw ye a few times this year mayfield and ye are not far off from pushing the top teams if ye could be more consistent and of course just get those few more goals. 7 or 8 more goals could meant another 6-9 points at senior league.

i suppose tadgh will be busy on the phone in the summer. lol

ringmahon4ever
22/05/2011, 12:36 PM
Beat bandon this morn in the final of the pop kelleher cup 1-0.our captain got a great header in the first half.bandon came at us in the second half but we held on .great finish to the season after all the drama of the league.trophy is what we needed.hopefully we can push on now for next year.Come on the Ringmahon Rangers :)

maninthemiddle
22/05/2011, 1:04 PM
Beat bandon this morn in the final of the pop kelleher cup 1-0.our captain got a great header in the first half.bandon came at us in the second half but we held on .great finish to the season after all the drama of the league.trophy is what we needed.hopefully we can push on now for next year.Come on the Ringmahon Rangers :)

congrats ringmaho. wheres the session on. enjoy....

ball-hop
22/05/2011, 8:25 PM
Beamish Cup Semi Final - Ballinhassig 1 'Hall 2. They led 1-0 at half time. Deccie equalised soon after the interval. Mark Murphy scored a late winner. Another trip to the Cross guaranteed.

Clifford
22/05/2011, 10:03 PM

Fantastic stuff lad. Fair play to ye. Celebrate it and we'll all meet back in July for another shot at promotion.

mayfield utd
22/05/2011, 11:40 PM
saw ye a few times this year mayfield and ye are not far off from pushing the top teams if ye could be more consistent and of course just get those few more goals. 7 or 8 more goals could meant another 6-9 points at senior league.

i suppose tadgh will be busy on the phone in the summer. lol
ya they seem to play well against the big teams and really bad against the teams they should be beating (lost 2-1 at home to mallow in the cup and mallow were the better team on the day),lack of goals have been a big problem i heard wayne mac finished top goalscorer with 6 goals,we have good attacking players in wayne mac,barry triggs,howie and 1 or 2 others but for some reason they don't score as much as they should wayne mac got 6,barry triggs didn't score his 1st goal till the everton match 2 weeks ago,he finished with 2 goal,and howie only scored 1 or 2 goals

mayfield utd
22/05/2011, 11:49 PM
billy cronin and kieran sullivan or finishing up after this season,steph hurley (ex rockmount player) said he was talking to kieran sullivan and he said this is there last season,and they'll be putting alan martin's name forward to the rockmount committee to take over as manager next season.i know this comes up every year but it must be true if kieran sullivan said it himself.

Shilts
23/05/2011, 9:43 AM

Congrats on the win Ringmahon4ever.
Well deserved!

Glenbuck
23/05/2011, 2:18 PM
billy cronin and kieran sullivan or finishing up after this season,steph hurley (ex rockmount player) said he was talking to kieran sullivan and he said this is there last season,and they'll be putting alan martin's name forward to the rockmount committee to take over as manager next season.i know this comes up every year but it must be true if kieran sullivan said it himself.Where have you been for the last 5 months. That was discussed here just in to the new year. Alan is been groomed for last 2 seasons. Top class guy who gave his all as a player.

ringmahon4ever
23/05/2011, 3:41 PM
congrats ringmaho. wheres the session on. enjoy....

the session is stil goin on ha ha

ringmahon4ever
23/05/2011, 3:43 PM
Fantastic stuff lad. Fair play to ye. Celebrate it and we'll all meet back in July for another shot at promotion.

we will give it a good crack all right.carrigaline and bandon joining us now.very impressed with bandon.good to see all local teams with local players giving it a go.

Glenbuck
24/05/2011, 8:27 PM
Blarney 1 Mount 1. Gone to extra time.

Glenbuck
24/05/2011, 8:47 PM
Blarney 1 Mount 1. Gone to extra time.Penalties

Glenbuck
24/05/2011, 8:55 PM
PenaltiesBlarney won 4 3 on spotters.

maninthemiddle
24/05/2011, 9:42 PM
Who do blarney play in the final glenbuck?
Hard lines.

Was the game any good?

Reznik
24/05/2011, 10:15 PM
Who do blarney play in the final glenbuck?
Hard lines.

Was the game any good?

the hall in the final allready. Beat ballinhassig last sunday

Shilts
25/05/2011, 10:03 AM
How come the Pop Keller Cup Final between Ringmahon and Bandon was not played in Turners Cross???
This is not the first time this has been the case.
Even Junior Cup Finalists get to play at TX

I think it degrades the competition when the final is played elsewhere.

ALL AUL finals are played at TX by the way.

Could it be the cost???
I hope not!!!

code red
25/05/2011, 12:01 PM
fair play to blarney as finishing the season strongly although im sure most neutrals would have loved to seen the hall and mount have another go off each other..obviously a league playoff still possible so maybe it will happen there...mount hardly at full strenght with friday looming?? where is peoples money for fri? id rule the draw out anyway but cant decide who will nick it

Two strong teams out. Good win for Blarney and totally deserved.Rockmount got a late goal to get back into it but Blarney had the better chances throughout the game.
One team in particular played good football on a superb pitch.
It'll be a decent final.

ringmahon4ever
25/05/2011, 1:00 PM
How come the Pop Keller Cup Final between Ringmahon and Bandon was not played in Turners Cross???

Could it be the cost???
I hope not!!!
shilts i bet it was defo to do with costs.msl dont like spending the money for the small teams.they were even charging 5 euro to get in sunday morn.i know when msl use your pitch they give your club a few bob as a thank you gesture .they made nice bit sunday morn because there was big support there from both teams..traditionaly the final was heald in st colmans park due to the fact that pop kelleher was a cobh man.wonder are the msl in dispute with cobh or what because they could of done with the money.when every player gets to a final its turners cross they want to play in.thats the ambition from schoolboys up.not giving out one bit about blarneys pitch but i kinda think we were bit let down by the msl.any opinions

maninthemiddle
25/05/2011, 1:15 PM
i dont think the pop kelleher was ever played in the cross much. i won it many years ago and the final was in marys park for some reason.

maninthemiddle
25/05/2011, 3:03 PM
in fairness it cant be that expensive to rent the cross and its afterall a senior cup final...as was mentioned every player gets a great buzz out of playing in the cross and thats the way it should be....defo takes away from the competition (not meant as any disrespect to rmahon)....also its the best realistic chance of a 1st/2nd division team to get to a final so reward these fellas who have put a lot of effort in all year......out of curiousity do the oconnell cup, donie forde, junior cup finals all go to the cross?

those competitions tend to be in the cross unless its down to availabilty but they have been played elsewhere as well.i agree that all finals should be out there but it seems more of a trend the last few years to move them about. the cross can be rented off the mfa for finals. figure used to be around 500 euro a few years ago but not sure what it is now.im open to correction on all of the above tbh.

Gobias
25/05/2011, 3:06 PM

Could it be the cost???
I hope not!!!

Nothing to do with cost, I heard that the lights in Turners Cross are being repaired and might not even be repaired for Cork city to play Friday.

Gobias
25/05/2011, 3:08 PM
out of curiousity do the oconnell cup, donie forde, junior cup finals all go to the cross?

O'Connell cup is always played in Crosshaven, the rest are usually the cross

thebooboys
25/05/2011, 3:55 PM
Nothing to do with cost, I heard that the lights in Turners Cross are being repaired and might not even be repaired for Cork city to play Friday.

Correct - the lights in Turner Cross were due to be repaired by THE MFA today but now won't be repaired until tomorrow supposedly.

maninthemiddle
25/05/2011, 4:35 PM

thought AOH cup was on there this friday?

Gobias
25/05/2011, 4:38 PM

Sorry City are playing Thursday night

Gobias
25/05/2011, 7:56 PM
http://www.paddypower.com/football/football-matches/munster-senior-league/Rockmount-v-Avondale-Utd-2701363.html

Rockmount 13/10 Draw 23/10 Avondale 13/8

After watching Rockmount last night even though they rested 1 or 2 13/8 doesnt look to bad for Avondale

Glenbuck
25/05/2011, 9:27 PM
AOH is off

26/05/2011, 7:47 AM
Rockmount 13/10 Draw 23/10 Avondale 13/8

After watching Rockmount last night even though they rested 1 or 2 13/8 doesnt look to bad for AvondaleIf the winds stay this strong it could ruin the game.
Whitechurch can be blustery on a calm day.
What time is kick off? 7.30?

wesleyBHFC
26/05/2011, 12:34 PM
If the winds stay this strong it could ruin the game.
Whitechurch can be blustery on a calm day.
What time is kick off? 7.30?

Ya razor, Game is on at 7.30 in rockmount Park!!!

Glenbuck
27/05/2011, 5:19 PM
Get along to Whitechurch tonite guys. All proceeds from tonites gate go to 96fm cancer appeal. Best of luck to both teams.

ball-hop
27/05/2011, 9:07 PM
What a conclusion to the season. After all the ups and downs, one match to decide this season's champions.
An opportunity for us when all seemed lost a fortnight ago.

overthehill
27/05/2011, 9:10 PM
score??

Glenbuck
27/05/2011, 9:18 PM
score??Nil all. Dale down to 10 after 10. End to end stuff. Mount great chances in last 15. 3 keepers were outstanding.

27/05/2011, 9:20 PM
Finished 0-0, Dale had Triggs sent off early on for 2 yellows, an uphill struggle after that.
Great finish to it, both teams went for it and either team could have won it.
Playoff now between Mount and Hall next week.

villaman10
27/05/2011, 9:21 PM
i can see a hollywood script in their somewhere!! some season lads, hope next years is half as entertaining!!

the hawk
27/05/2011, 9:43 PM
great game for the nuetral but seriosly was fibarr getting paid by the card serious damper on what was a great game

27/05/2011, 9:55 PM
great game for the nuetral but seriosly was fibarr getting paid by the card serious damper on what was a great gameSending Triggs off so early for what in my view was a soft 2nd yellow set a precedence, some fairly soft yellows doled out after that.
Fair Play to Rockmount for donating the gate to charity.

jacksparrow
27/05/2011, 10:46 PM
finbar was useless.very harsh sending off.. fair paly to both teams going for it in the second half.. some very good saves made by all the keepers... It just goes to show why you need a good keeper in reserve

mayfield utd
27/05/2011, 11:37 PM
Nil all. Dale down to 10 after 10. End to end stuff. Mount great chances in last 15. 3 keepers were outstanding.

i never made it out to the game.why was there 3 keepers,i was thinking dale keeper was sent off but then i seen it was paul triggs that saw red

Billynomates
28/05/2011, 6:53 AM
i never made it out to the game.why was there 3 keepers,i was thinking dale keeper was sent off but then i seen it was paul triggs that saw red

Brendan O Connell went of injured for Rockmount. It was a great second half with end to end stuff. Both teams had great chances but a draw was probably a fair result considering avondale were down to ten men after 8 mins. How the hell he gave a second yellow for Triggs second challenge baffles me. Why finbarr murphy, who is a very poor referee in my view, got to ref this game is crazy. Biggest game in the league calender. This is not the first time peple have questioned finbarrs abiltiy as a referee on this forum either (rant over). Spratty had a great chance in the second half only for the rockmount sub keeper to pull off a great save. Giddy had a great chance in the dying minutes only for big dave to save to claw the ball out of net bound shot from 5 yards. I felt rockmount didnt use the extra man advantage and never really created much and will probably be dissapointed. I feel Hall getting a second chance will sneak it in the playoff.

I think the playoff is fixed for wednesday night out in Casement Park (according the radio). Although Rockmount are down to tuesday night in the o connel cup

maninthemiddle
28/05/2011, 10:10 AM
obvioulsy i feel obliged here to defend my colleague and friend finbarr. he is a top top ref and top bloke having done all the big games and was a great player in his day. sometimes cards are neccessary for control purposes.as well as facilitating the game a ref is responsible for player welfare and safety.

if finbarr felt the game needed those cards in order to keep order in a big game then thats his choice. it can spoil the viewing for sure but that life.i know there was a game earlier in the season (rockmount v douglas i think) which got out of hand with 5 reds i think. thats what can happen.

you let some tackles go and before you know it some fella has a broken leg and you could have prevented it.

as i said he is a top ref. saying he was like a pervert with the cards help nobody. rant over as well.

i couldnt make this match in the end so im glad we get a play off to see. hope its not this wednesday though as i could have a match myself.was there a big crowd lads?

Billynomates
28/05/2011, 10:19 AM
obvioulsy i feel obliged here to defend my colleague and friend finbarr. he is a top top ref and top bloke having done all the big games and was a great player in his day. sometimes cards are neccessary for control purposes.as well as facilitating the game a ref is responsible for player welfare and safety.

if finbarr felt the game needed those cards in order to keep order in a big game then thats his choice. it can spoil the viewing for sure but that life.i know there was a game earlier in the season (rockmount v douglas i think) which got out of hand with 5 reds i think. thats what can happen.

you let some tackles go and before you know it some fella has a broken leg and you could have prevented it.

as i said he is a top ref. saying he was like a pervert with the cards help nobody. rant over as well.

i couldnt make this match in the end so im glad we get a play off to see. hope its not this wednesday though as i could have a match myself.was there a big crowd lads?

There was a big turn out. Not a great judge of crowd numbers but the whole perimeter of the pitch was full. As razor said fair play to rockmount for donating the gate recipts to charity. Nice gesture.

With regards the match with the 5 red cards. I was at that game and they were all justified red cards. Dan Deady was reffing that day and he got all the decisions right hence nobody on this forum questioned the sendings off (if my memory serves me correct). Im not having an attack personally on finbar and im sure he is a nice bloke but my opinion is he is not a top ref and shouldnt be reffing a game of this importance. I have seen him ref a few games during the year and was dissapointed with his attitude to players and his decisions. I personally think john lyne should have reffed it and finbar on the line but im sure people will probably disagree with me. Football is full of opinions.