View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 [73] 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

14/05/2011, 5:48 PM
Dale 3-0 Midleton today

the hawk
15/05/2011, 2:44 PM
hall 0-1 ucc utter shocking performance from the hall .ucc fully deserved it .hall looked out of ideas after 20 mins ucc with josh and rob waters in great form center halfs from ucc had great game ,very hard to see how they were relegated .literally cant pick one player for the hall who stood out donovan was terrible at the back.caught for pace for the goal midfield looked like they had never played together mark murphy tried ,but lacked service .hall missing 4 players moorsey varian podge and deccie . big disappointment for the hall big changes needed in the summer if they are gonna challenge and FINISH strong

Glenbuck
15/05/2011, 6:14 PM
As far as I am concerned all 3 teams can still win the league. You would have to consider the Hall getting all 3 points on Sunday. The Dale have a tricky one at home but you would see them winning too. Dale vs Hall next Wed and Mount and Marys. Realistically in this league anybody can win or lose against each other. I think the strongest SQUAD will pull through.............not telling you who I think though! This weekend will tell alot going into the last two games!Apoligies Sparky. Hall v Dale is indeed on Wednesday. It just goes to show it is possible to get fixtures before they are published.

Gobias
15/05/2011, 7:07 PM
Hall v Dale is indeed on Wednesday.

Very busy end to the season for Douglas, they are playing Wednesday,Friday,Sunday and Tuesday with only 1 of the games at home. Not the kind of run of fixtures you want when your playing poorly

Pundit
15/05/2011, 9:08 PM
Hall are a bunch of bottlers... hall have only taken 9points from there last 10 matches.. there lucky they won there first 7 matches and took 21 points because 9 points from a possible 30 is relegation standard. Have to say that you never celebrate a league in december when you are 11 points clear, like some of the hall players were doing. Couldnt of happening to a nicer team. Dale or Mount to win it.. Who do ye think will win it lads?????

douglas local
15/05/2011, 10:00 PM
just left east village biscuits is not doing the hall next year players will leave if tiny or some local is not back

mayfield utd
15/05/2011, 10:22 PM
hall 0-1 ucc utter shocking performance from the hall .ucc fully deserved it .hall looked out of ideas after 20 mins ucc with josh and rob waters in great form center halfs from ucc had great game ,very hard to see how they were relegated .literally cant pick one player for the hall who stood out donovan was terrible at the back.caught for pace for the goal midfield looked like they had never played together mark murphy tried ,but lacked service .hall missing 4 players moorsey varian podge and deccie . big disappointment for the hall big changes needed in the summer if they are gonna challenge and FINISH strong

luck we weren't waiting on the hall to do us a favour to keep us up

Sparky
15/05/2011, 10:28 PM
Apoligies Sparky. Hall v Dale is indeed on Wednesday. It just goes to show it is possible to get fixtures before they are published.

Didnt want to bite back Glenbuck!!! ha ha. I was confident but not sure to be honest. I will see you at the end of the season in the Prediction race :-). Ah it looks like a great finish on the cards lads. Hall, big big part of me feels sorry for the players. They led for almost the whole season and played some fab football. I heard about these DECEMBER celebrations but as we all know nothing is won then. To be honest you cant reflect a few players being 'mouthy' on the whole squad. Some great p;ayers in that squad who deserve a big medal. The Hall still have a big say where the league goes so it will be interesting. It is easy to blame the current management and their principles but jaysus the players need to man up. Nine points from ten games lacks serious LEADERSHIP. Mount look favourites for sure at this stage with possible 4 points from next two games. Whoever takes the title deserves it as the table never lies. Best of luck to all involved.

greengrass
15/05/2011, 11:02 PM
Didnt want to bite back Glenbuck!!! ha ha. I was confident but not sure to be honest. I will see you at the end of the season in the Prediction race :-). Ah it looks like a great finish on the cards lads. Hall, big big part of me feels sorry for the players. They led for almost the whole season and played some fab football. I heard about these DECEMBER celebrations but as we all know nothing is won then. To be honest you cant reflect a few players being 'mouthy' on the whole squad. Some great p;ayers in that squad who deserve a big medal. The Hall still have a big say where the league goes so it will be interesting. It is easy to blame the current management and their principles but jaysus the players need to man up. Nine points from ten games lacks serious LEADERSHIP. Mount look favourites for sure at this stage with possible 4 points from next two games. Whoever takes the title deserves it as the table never lies. Best of luck to all involved.

you cannot argue with the table at the end of the day sparky

Sparky
15/05/2011, 11:12 PM
"Whoever takes the title deserves it as the table never lies"

I think my final comment says it all Greengrass, The Hall were the best team up to Christmas and it showed but now it looks like Rockmount. You can never argue at the end of the season who wins it as it is over 18 games. It has been a fantastic league this year as it looks like it might go to the final game of the season which is what we all want. Wednesday will be interesting!

maninthemiddle
16/05/2011, 12:27 PM
Am i right in saying that the A.O.H. cup final is on the same night as the title decider between rockmount and avondale?

i would have liked to have seen both. shame if so.

footiefanatic
16/05/2011, 2:53 PM
It is unbelievable to see such a collapse by the Hall since Christmas. 6 out of 6 before the loss to rockmount, they followed up with a great win awat to everton. Must admit, after that win, taught surely this would be the year they could win the league, but it looks as if they have bottled it again. I myself would love to see Avondale win the league, especially since winning the intermediate cup, would be a fantastic double seeing as a lot of people were writing them off at the start of the year!! It looks as if going down to the rockmount/avondale game, which should be a fantastic match!! Whoever wins the league deserves it, could see a Douglas exodus next year after another failed bid for glory.

Glenbuck
16/05/2011, 3:56 PM
Hall are a bunch of bottlers... hall have only taken 9points from there last 10 matches.. there lucky they won there first 7 matches and took 21 points because 9 points from a possible 30 is relegation standard. Have to say that you never celebrate a league in december when you are 11 points clear, like some of the hall players were doing. Couldnt of happening to a nicer team. Dale or Mount to win it.. Who do ye think will win it lads?????
A win for Hall and Mount on Wednesday gives it to The Mount. Any other combination and it is down to Friday week in Rockmount Park. I think its great.

Glenbuck
16/05/2011, 4:01 PM
Talk of The Hall team breaking up got me thinking. What one player would I go after if I was an MSL manager. One word.... Strachan. Ger O Donovan smashing player.

maninthemiddle
16/05/2011, 5:50 PM
might be wrong glenbuck but even if rockmount win on wednesday at marys it leaves them on 35 point and avondale can still reach 37 if they win their 3 left including the rockmount game. i might be wrong though...

Sparky
16/05/2011, 7:37 PM
might be wrong glenbuck but even if rockmount win on wednesday at marys it leaves them on 35 point and avondale can still reach 37 if they win their 3 left including the rockmount game. i might be wrong though...

Rockmount 32 (Marys away and Avondale at home)
Dale 31 (Hall home and Rockmount away)
Hall 31 (Avondale away)

The Hall can hand Rockmount the title if they win on Wed (They have beaten Avondale twice already) but I think it will be a draw and it will go to last game for Mount needing a draw for the title or Avondale needing a win for a play off! For everyones sake I hope it goes to the last game. Hall can still win it but it would be a big ask. Marys would have to beat or draw with Rockmount. It is great we are all discussing it with two games to go!!!! Big attendance expected at both games on Wed and if it happens the play off with be bumper packed!!!!! May the best team win!

Glenbuck
17/05/2011, 8:30 AM
might be wrong glenbuck but even if rockmount win on wednesday at marys it leaves them on 35 point and avondale can still reach 37 if they win their 3 left including the rockmount game. i might be wrong though...You are correct but I was just making the point that if Mount and Hall win on Wednesday Mount are champions.

maninthemiddle
17/05/2011, 8:53 AM
sorry glenbuck i just realised that douglas are playing avondale meaning avondale would have lost a game. bit slow there.

gene stephens doing the game with pat buckley and tomas long afaik.

Shilts
17/05/2011, 11:28 AM
Very exciting finish to the season, but will the winning total be the lowest in living memory?

17/05/2011, 12:39 PM
Rockmount - Marys game has been pushed to 7.30 on Wednesday.
so basically Mount will know the result of Dales game with 30 minutes left in theirs.
Shouldn't both games be played at the same time?

Sparky
17/05/2011, 1:06 PM
so basically Mount will know the result of Dales game with 30 minutes left in theirs.
Shouldn't both games be played at the same time?

The MSL should be stepping in here demanding same time kick offs. Dont think it will matter too much but I think it just prevents any accussations.

villaman10
17/05/2011, 1:15 PM
The MSL should be stepping in here demanding same time kick offs. Dont think it will matter too much but I think it just prevents any accussations.

don't think its a conspiracy!! rockmount have lights for a reason, 7.30 is the proper time for a match in my opinion

Glenbuck
17/05/2011, 1:23 PM
Shouldn't both games be played at the same time?Does it really matter. Dale and Mount still have 1 game (against each other) to go after Wednesday.

Glenbuck
17/05/2011, 1:24 PM
The MSL should be stepping in here demanding same time kick offs. Dont think it will matter too much but I think it just prevents any accussations.Go away ow dat !!! ha ha

17/05/2011, 1:42 PM
The MSL should be stepping in here demanding same time kick offs.It's the MSL that changed the time, don't know why though.

rockmount have lights for a reasonBut why use them if you don't have to?

AvondaleNutter
17/05/2011, 2:06 PM
It's the MSL that changed the time, don't know why though.

But why use them if you don't have to?

Can't argue with your points here razor

villaman10
17/05/2011, 4:55 PM
But why use them if you don't have to?

have been to 2 friday night games recently and at half time both ref's demanded lights be turned on!! and 7.30 is better than 6.30 with work, nothing worse than racing around like a blue arse fly trying to get sorted for a game, would you not agree that its fairer on the players??

17/05/2011, 5:00 PM
have been to 2 friday night games recently and at half time both ref's demanded lights be turned on!! and 7.30 is better than 6.30 with work, nothing worse than racing around like a blue arse fly trying to get sorted for a game, would you not agree that its fairer on the players??I would but is this the reason for the kick off being moved or are you just summising?

Glenbuck
17/05/2011, 5:19 PM
i personally hope the league winners come from the dale/hall game as without doubt put try to play the game the right way rather than the dull boring football frequently seen at rmount park.....rmount though cannot be faulted for doing the business when it matters and i can only see them winning against marys so that means the dale have to do the same against the hall.....it would sum up their season if the hall with the pressure slightly off them now go and beat avondale thus handing the title to the mountPeople seem to be hung up on Mount not winning the title. Think it was mentioned in an earlier post that the table does not lie. redandwhite I suggest you buy a season tkt for the Nou Camp if you want to see football the right way. This is the MSL after all. Pretty football does not always work. Ask the boys from the Hall !!!

six-yard-box
17/05/2011, 10:58 PM
was talking to kinger today and he said its a 7 o clock kick off. because avondale have no lights and both games must kick off at same time??

Glenbuck
18/05/2011, 5:32 PM
was talking to kinger today and he said its a 7 o clock kick off. because avondale have no lights and both games must kick off at same time??Game is at half 7

Glenbuck
18/05/2011, 5:35 PM
glenbuck my point is if a neutral is gona go and watch a game on a friday night/sunday morn i can assure u they wont be heading to rockmount park...the league table wont lie as they say and i would bet a lot of money that mount WONT win the title....Avondale are stronger, hungrier and a better footballing side and this is a very very average rockmount teamThe lge must be very average so. Check the table on MSL website and just remind me who are on top. Keep your money in your pocket in these days of recession !!!! Remember they were written off at the end of END OF NOVEMBER. Give credit where its due for Gods sake.

maninthemiddle
18/05/2011, 5:39 PM
so is avondale game v douglas still 7 lads as i am finished work down that way at 6.30 ish and was going to take in the game?

Glenbuck
18/05/2011, 5:45 PM
so is avondale game v douglas still 7 lads as i am finished work down that way at 6.30 ish and was going to take in the game?
Ya, that game is on at 7. Game out in Whitechurch is at half 7.

villaman10
18/05/2011, 8:16 PM
any scores lads!!

casilles
18/05/2011, 8:18 PM
Rockmount 1 up

maninthemiddle
18/05/2011, 8:20 PM
Douglas 1 up. 25 to go.

18/05/2011, 8:57 PM
Dale 0-1 Hall FT

ball-hop
18/05/2011, 9:16 PM
Strachan scored a beauty for the Hall. Earlier Derek Varian hit the bar when it seemed easier to score. Avondale put on pressure but we held on - they had hit the post early in the second half

18/05/2011, 9:24 PM
Mount 1-1 Marys FT

Hall 34
Mount 33
Dale 31

Mount v Dale the last game.
All three teams can still win it.

Reznik
18/05/2011, 9:36 PM
Mount 1-1 Marys FT

Hall 34
Mount 33
Dale 31

Mount v Dale the last game.
All three teams can still win it.

Mount win means there champs, A draw means a mount v hall playoff and a dale win means a dale v hall playoff.... Great stuff

Glenbuck
18/05/2011, 9:50 PM
Mount 1 Marys 1. Alan O Connor in first half, Gareth Cambridge equaliser in 2nd half from free kick. Scrappy first half came to life in 2nd half with both teams having chances to win it. Never saw a team celebrate an equaliser like Marys did. ha ha

maninthemiddle
18/05/2011, 9:50 PM
Brilliant.

the hawk
18/05/2011, 9:54 PM
glenbuck , just spoke to biscuits he said there is a van load of bottle being dropped from moneygourney to whitechurch if few of your lads need it :-)

the hawk
18/05/2011, 9:58 PM
oh and red and white what was that about avondale be more hungier better footballing and rockmount were average . ye looked pretty much the same .me neck is killing me from watching hoggy HOOFING the ball .Still think rockmount will win it best over all squad .Best of luck to all 3 .Cant wait

Glenbuck
18/05/2011, 10:00 PM
glenbuck , just spoke to biscuits he said there is a van load of bottle being dropped from moneygourney to whitechurch if few of your lads need it :-)
And tell me this, what would Phil know about bottle? He was resigning Sunday night and now all of a sudden he thinks he is Alex Ferguson. I will give him a shout next Friday night ha ha.

Fantasista
18/05/2011, 10:01 PM
Fantastic end to the season cant wait for the last game

justasupporter
18/05/2011, 10:30 PM
Id say it was More then an equaliser glenbuck , at 1 Nil mount are league champions ... Rivalry Still exist's in this fixture in case you didnt Know ;-) Marys should have won it in fairness , had 2 or 3 good chances.. Great end to season now , all to play for ..

18/05/2011, 10:44 PM
Strachan scored a beauty for the Hall. Earlier Derek Varian hit the bar when it seemed easier to score. Avondale put on pressure but we held on - they had hit the post early in the second halfOnly made the first half but Hall were the better side with the wind behind them and the goal was a peach. Hopefully Spratty will be fit for Friday week.
It should be a great occasion, Cork City playing on the Thursday so hopefully there'll be a bumper crowd.

maninthemiddle
18/05/2011, 10:44 PM
Mount 1 Marys 1. Alan O Connor in first half, Gareth Cambridge equaliser in 2nd half from free kick. Scrappy first half came to life in 2nd half with both teams having chances to win it. Never saw a team celebrate an equaliser like Marys did. ha ha
That's the beauty of a derby

Avondale looked a bit tired tonight and lacked a bit if urgency for me. they never really troubled the Douglas keeper even though the did hit the woodwork twice. The pitch was awful and made it virtually impossible to play ball on.

it was only a piece of individual brilliance separated them in the end.

Thought dales big players went missing tonight. Fair play to Douglas.