View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 [72] 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

jacksparrow
04/05/2011, 10:40 PM
haha.. only one game left before douglas surrender their spot at the summit... third place awaits

Clifford
04/05/2011, 11:19 PM
He reffed castleview and fermoy earlier in the season

Think that was buttimer - but I can't remember for sure. Certainly wasn't Kelly did either of our games with View. I would certainly have gotten a ban for asking him can I touch his hair as I handed over the sixty quid!!!

Billynomates
05/05/2011, 7:19 AM
Think that was buttimer - but I can't remember for sure. Certainly wasn't Kelly did either of our games with View. I would certainly have gotten a ban for asking him can I touch his hair as I handed over the sixty quid!!!

My bad. Might have been castleview and leeds so. He was definately reffing some game up in castleview during the season

Glenbuck
05/05/2011, 5:29 PM
why is everyone so worried about the ref all of a sudden...the msl have put the best official in cork in charge of the biggest game in cork so far this season so fair play to them...maybe on monday we will be talking about the football now instead of bad referring etc...cant believe people are not talking about the actual game and worried about which game a certain ref last etc....is it the football ye are interested in on here or is it just some old wives club and just a chance to come on and moan about something or other.
Dont think anyone will disagree that Alan is best ref in city and in my view the country. The thing people seem to be puzzled by is the way other MSL refs are all of a sudden looked over for the biggest game in their particular lge. Me ??? Looking forward to Sunday morning. Great time for Alan. Nice guy. Hope all goes well for him. Oh yeah in case I forget....... Cmon the Mount.

05/05/2011, 9:22 PM
Great time for Alan. Nice guy. Hope all goes well for him. Oh yeah in case I forget....... Cmon the Mount.He posts here you know, should be worth at least a pen :D

Horse24
05/05/2011, 11:38 PM
Its a tough one on the ref situation - teams scream for the best but it probably should have been the best MSL ref.

As an AUL guy watching in, I found this season the most inetresting for years, with good promotion and relegation battles across the divisions. I had a personal interest in all 3 league/promotion fights..........one up, one didnt and one dropped away! Any clues there?

From within, what is yer opinion on this year, even before Sunday?

maninthemiddle
06/05/2011, 12:35 PM
best of luck to leeds tonight!

Sparky
06/05/2011, 6:46 PM
Best of Luck to Fermoy tonight!!!!!!

maninthemiddle
06/05/2011, 8:00 PM
Leeds won 3 nil.Leeds started brighter and got a superb goal after 10 mins. Fermoy had a good spell for 10 minutes then and could have equalised but after Leeds chased down a lost cause and put presssure on, the fermoy keeper and defender messed up a back Pass and Leeds forced the ball Over the line. The mistake buried fermoy and they never recovered. Leeds got another to finish it. Hard llines to fermoy. Leeds have some nice plAyers but will inevitably struggle big time to stay up.

Midleton should get a pat on the back. The ground and facilities were second to none and thank god for the stand out ofthe rain for the big crowd.

Reznik
06/05/2011, 8:37 PM
Blarney 5-3 Midleton

Clifford
06/05/2011, 8:49 PM
Well summed up man in the middle. Caught cold with a beauty of a first goal. Were doing well when the second went in.

Proud of the lads for the second half display, should and could have had one or two, but not to be. Hope Leeds enjoy next year and we'll be back in sept to try again. Two very close seasons to going up. Third time lucky maybe!!

Hats off to the venue. Outstanding venue.

maninthemiddle
07/05/2011, 5:54 AM
[QUOTE=Clifford;1483320]Well summed up man in the middle. Caught cold with a beauty of a first goal. Were doing well when the second went in.

Proud of the lads for the second half display, should and could have had one or two, but not to be. Hope Leeds enjoy next year and we'll be back in sept to try again. Two very close seasons to going up. Third time lucky maybe!!

Ya it just didn't go well on the night for ye. that happened to Leeds 2 years ago as well. ye needed a break or early second half Goal to make a game of it. with 15 to go Leeds keeper made an unbelievable save at point blank range. If that had gone in it would have been intetesting.Just didn't happen on the night. hopefully next year ye can do it.

mayfield utd
07/05/2011, 4:24 PM
our lads beat marys 2-1 today goals from eric fleming and barry triggs and greg kelly got an og nothing he could do really just hit off his chest and went in,good result for the lads and there having a good end to the season

maninthemiddle
08/05/2011, 6:13 AM
Anders reffing it too, MSL taking no chances

With only ten refs Available and 8 in use Alan was brought in.

08/05/2011, 10:47 AM
Hall 0-0 Mount HT

08/05/2011, 11:54 AM
Hall 1-2 Mount FT

Glenbuck
08/05/2011, 12:36 PM
Great result for the Mount at Douglas Hall. Poor game spoilt by a howling wind. Alan O Connor with the first 5 mins in to 2nd half. Hall level with spotter from Mark Murphy. Gary O Riordan with winner 6 to go. Happy Days. Hungrier team won it. More to follow, I am sure.

Clifford
08/05/2011, 12:47 PM
Great result for Rockmount. All to play for now. Hats off to Billy and the lads if they pull this one off.

ball-hop
08/05/2011, 1:05 PM
Can't really argue about this morning's result - Rockmount were the better team on the day. Seems like there's almost nothing left in the tank.
Not quite over yet, but it's now out of our own hands, we have to hope for some twists and turns before the end of the season.

Just a small by the way - if the pitch that we all looked at in Douglas Hall this morning ranks as one of the worst in the league, as was alleged here, there must be some carpets out there that I'm not aware of.

Horse24
08/05/2011, 5:26 PM
With only ten refs Available and 8 in use Alan was brought in.

Valid reason but I suppose it shows communication as the error.

Glenbuck
08/05/2011, 5:30 PM
Can't really argue about this morning's result - Rockmount were the better team on the day. Seems like there's almost nothing left in the tank.
Not quite over yet, but it's now out of our own hands, we have to hope for some twists and turns before the end of the season.

Just a small by the way - if the pitch that we all looked at in Douglas Hall this morning ranks as one of the worst in the league, as was alleged here, there must be some carpets out there that I'm not aware of.Pitch in great condition. Hats off to who ever is looking after it. Another note from game was the performance of the ref. 8 out of 10 I would say. Still does not excuse MSL going outside panel.

Reznik
08/05/2011, 6:40 PM
It appears the hall have done a ''McIlroy'' on it. Congrats to Mount for slugging it out.

Glenbuck
08/05/2011, 6:55 PM
It appears the hall have done a ''McIlroy'' on it. Congrats to Mount for slugging it out.Win just puts it back in Mounts court without having to depend on others. Not over by along shot. Games remaining- Mount Home to Marys and Avondale. Hall to play Avondale and UCC. Avondale to play Mount, Midleton and Hall.

greengrass
08/05/2011, 7:14 PM
It appears the hall have done a ''McIlroy'' on it. Congrats to Mount for slugging it out.

haha love it

maninthemiddle
08/05/2011, 10:30 PM
Valid reason but I suppose it shows communication as the error.
4 refs doing intermediate cup in the cross and 4 doing Oscar traynor final left 2 available so Alan was needed to complete the trio for the game.

Just on the pitch comments I feel the rain helped anawful lot of pitches as 2 weeks ago the surfaces of all pitches were rock hard regardless. with the rain the pitches are far better and safer.

Glenbuck
08/05/2011, 11:21 PM
4 refs doing intermediate cup in the cross and 4 doing Oscar traynor final left 2 available so Alan was needed to complete the trio for the game.

Just on the pitch comments I feel the rain helped anawful lot of pitches as 2 weeks ago the surfaces of all pitches were rock hard regardless. with the rain the pitches are far better and safer.When was Oscar Traynor on? Lame excuse. Plenty of grade 1s at Cross today.

maninthemiddle
09/05/2011, 7:30 AM
the msl/john finnegan dont tend go outside their own panel like the other panels glenbuck so thats why alan was asked. it's a decisison made by the msl. the league of ireland refs are assigned a panel at the start of the year as well like the rest of us and can be used when games dont clash with LOI games. not sure where the oscar traynor was on but there was 4 cork officials were officiating in any case.

Glenbuck
09/05/2011, 11:54 AM
the msl/john finnegan dont tend go outside their own panel like the other panels glenbuck so thats why alan was asked. it's a decisison made by the msl. the league of ireland refs are assigned a panel at the start of the year as well like the rest of us and can be used when games dont clash with LOI games. not sure where the oscar traynor was on but there was 4 cork officials were officiating in any case.As I said before I had no problem with Alan doing the game but its not right on other officials. God knows they get slated enough.

Gobias
09/05/2011, 12:37 PM
Cup Draws:

Beamish Stout Senior Cup:
1. Ballinhassig v Douglas Hall
2. Blarney Utd / Glasheen v Rockmount

Beamish Stout Junior supercup:
1. Passage v Blarney Utd / Crofton Celtic
2. Douglas Hall v Midleton

Pop Keller Cup:
1. Cobh Wanderers v Bandon
2. College Cor v Ringmahon Rgs

O'Connell Cup:
1. Blarney Utd / Douglas Hall v Everton
2. UCC / Rockmount v St Marys / Avondale Utd

wesleyBHFC
09/05/2011, 4:39 PM
i fancy douglas hall for the beamish cup. easy draw for them. should hit ballinhassig for 4 or 5!! ballinhassig very poor this season!!!

villaman10
09/05/2011, 5:41 PM
[QUOTE=wesleyBHFC;1484174]i fancy douglas hall for the beamish cup. easy draw for them. should hit ballinhassig for 4 or 5!! ballinhassig very poor this season!!![/QUOT

don't think that will be much consolation for them, after sunday's result looks like they have done a newcastle from 96/97 season, all that missing is a kevin keegan-esqe style moment!!

villaman10
09/05/2011, 5:43 PM
Blarney 5-3 Midleton

heard it was 0-0 at half time!! must of been the most entertaining 2nd half in a long time!!

Gobias
09/05/2011, 6:41 PM
heard it was 0-0 at half time!! must of been the most entertaining 2nd half in a long time!!

Was 0-0 at half time alrite. Blarney went 3-0 and then Midleton pulled 1 back, then another and then another. They were still celebrating there comeback when blarney scored 20 seconds after the restart and got their fifth with 5 minutes to go.

Nedge
10/05/2011, 12:27 AM
Blarney defence is very poor, very slow and it has cost them with being in with a chance for the league.

Nedge
10/05/2011, 12:28 AM
My money is still on the Hall to win the league. Dont write them off yet

villaman10
10/05/2011, 11:57 AM
My money is still on the Hall to win the league. Dont write them off yet

as i said earlier many pages back i would love to see them win the league,as they play football. but just like arsenal in the eng prem they just dont seem to have the heart for the battle, could be proved wrong but if they don't do it this year they will be forever known as chokers!! all the in fighting has cost them dearly!!

what odds on caulfied as douglas manager next year???

Gobias
10/05/2011, 1:48 PM
Blarney defence is very poor, very slow and it has cost them with being in with a chance for the league.

Their defending was very poor at the start of the year but has been very good since then, excluding the Midleton game which had some awful defending.
If you look at the results they had only conceded 3 goals in 7 league games prior to Midleton. Not bad considering the teams they played included Avondale, Rockmount and Douglas. They also kept a clean sheet against St.Marys in the Donie Forde Final in that time.

Reznik
10/05/2011, 4:05 PM

Thats strange Nedge because the league table suggests that they have the 3rd tightest defence in the league. Only Rockmount and Avondale have a better defensive record.

greengrass
10/05/2011, 5:30 PM
Thats strange Nedge because the league table suggests that they have the 3rd tightest defence in the league. Only Rockmount and Avondale have a better defensive record.

hidden agenda maybe??

Nedge
10/05/2011, 7:15 PM
No hidden agenda, i should have been more precise, their poor defensive performence at the begining of the season have cost them in challanging for the league. at keane appears to have whipped them into shape as the season progressed, but their poor start to the season is definatly down to poor defending

wesleyBHFC
10/05/2011, 9:14 PM
Dont agree with you there NEDGE. From the games i have seen with blarney its there lack of scoring and fire power up front has cost them! at times they play great football but without the finishing touch. would like to see them against douglas hall in the beamish cup final. be interesting to see if douglas hall fail to win the league..

Reznik
10/05/2011, 9:20 PM
No hidden agenda, i should have been more precise, their poor defensive performence at the begining of the season have cost them in challanging for the league. at keane appears to have whipped them into shape as the season progressed, but their poor start to the season is definatly down to poor defending

I suppose if you INSIST! The same reason most goals in football can be pinned down to an individual error somewhere in the field. MSL has no Barcelona's in it so rarely do teams score goals of pure brilliance where the opposition could have done nothing about it. So therefore, Every team in the league is guilty of poor defending at stages of each game it just depends whether there punished by the opposition or not. I agree with the influence of Pat Keane in the team. A winner and a leader is what most teams thrive for throughout a campaign

douglas local
10/05/2011, 9:34 PM
at the hall game last sunday it looked to me as if they were going for the win when i would have thought a draw would have put them in the driving seat for the league. This was noticeable from the management as well as they were rushing everything when it was one all. when the mount scored the winner they shut up shop and ran down the clock perfectly. just wondering was it lost on the line and not by the players as same thing happened against blarney by being caught upfield in the last minute to lose the game

Glenbuck
11/05/2011, 3:42 PM
Management has an awful lot to do with it. Varian for Wilky was a terrible substitution at the time. A draw was status quo with maybe Dale being the big winners but they still have Hall and Mount to play. Mount freshened up their fwd line at that stage with Gary O Riordan coming on as sub and coming up with the winner. The pitch is a poor excuse. Its the same for both teams involved. Dale and Hall will be huge but so will Marys and Mount next Wednesday night.

Reznik
12/05/2011, 6:08 PM
at the hall game last sunday it looked to me as if they were going for the win when i would have thought a draw would have put them in the driving seat for the league. This was noticeable from the management as well as they were rushing everything when it was one all. when the mount scored the winner they shut up shop and ran down the clock perfectly. just wondering was it lost on the line and not by the players as same thing happened against blarney by being caught upfield in the last minute to lose the game

I would have to agree with the first bit, A draw would have been a decent result against rockmount considering it was a ''6 pointer'' so by drawing also restricts rockmounts push. In respect to the blarney game i would think the hall would have to go for the win simply because a draw would have been 2 dropped points against a team not challenging for the league and of course hall being the home side. Evidently blarney snatched the win but hey, Thats football...

Sparky
13/05/2011, 9:03 AM
As far as I am concerned all 3 teams can still win the league. You would have to consider the Hall getting all 3 points on Sunday. The Dale have a tricky one at home but you would see them winning too. Dale vs Hall next Wed and Mount and Marys. Realistically in this league anybody can win or lose against each other. I think the strongest SQUAD will pull through.............not telling you who I think though! This weekend will tell alot going into the last two games!

Glenbuck
13/05/2011, 12:26 PM
As far as I am concerned all 3 teams can still win the league. You would have to consider the Hall getting all 3 points on Sunday. The Dale have a tricky one at home but you would see them winning too. Dale vs Hall next Wed and Mount and Marys. Realistically in this league anybody can win or lose against each other. I think the strongest SQUAD will pull through.............not telling you who I think though! This weekend will tell alot going into the last two games!Hall and Dale not fixed yet. Hall v Blarney next Wednesday in O Connell cup.

13/05/2011, 1:10 PM
Marys beat Dale 4-1 last night, Dale had 7 changes from last Sunday and Marys got 3 penalties.

villaman10
13/05/2011, 2:11 PM
As far as I am concerned all 3 teams can still win the league. You would have to consider the Hall getting all 3 points on Sunday. The Dale have a tricky one at home but you would see them winning too. Dale vs Hall next Wed and Mount and Marys. Realistically in this league anybody can win or lose against each other. I think the strongest SQUAD will pull through.............not telling you who I think though! This weekend will tell alot going into the last two games!

well sparky from what i've seen of you this year, wouldn't mind seeing you wit a medal!! all 3 squads are strong in football wise, but going by this forum's opinion only 2 are strong in the mental side of the game, which i think this season has been the most important for the top teams!!

ringmahon4ever
14/05/2011, 4:40 PM
beat coriantians today in semi final.one nil.small bit of revenge.after a long season its gonna boil down to a final against bandon.we deserve a trophy :)