View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 [71] 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

Glenbuck
24/04/2011, 1:56 PM
who has everyone still to play,we have 3 games left all away marys,midleton and everton,we might need another 3 points to be safe depending on how ucc get on in there last game against douglas hall.i think douglas hall still have ucc,rockmount and avondale,it's gonna be a good run in to the end of the seasonMount home to Avondale and Marys. Away to Everton and Hall.

Reznik
24/04/2011, 2:38 PM
We went three nil up by half time, Ballinhassig got back to 3-2 in the second half with about 5 left. We nearly folded, but a spotter in the last min got us to the 35 points.

Nervy half hour after the game as we heard the Ringmahon result and were told Leeds were 1 up with 4 mins left. We more or less wrote it off, as we left the ground some calls came in reporting that College had got one in stoppage time.

Play off is set for Blarney on Fri 6th May.

Delighted when i heard the results cliffy. Fair play to ye for getting the job done. I predicted ye to win the league a few months ago but ye just fell short and i harped on about how good it would be to have ye back in the big time. Best of luck in the playoff.

Reznik
24/04/2011, 3:35 PM
Mount home to Avondale and Marys. Away to Everton and Hall.

Nasty fixtures but the league is still in your hands to win.

Pundit
24/04/2011, 4:07 PM
who has everyone still to play,we have 3 games left all away marys,midleton and everton,we might need another 3 points to be safe depending on how ucc get on in there last game against douglas hall.i think douglas hall still have ucc,rockmount and avondale,it's gonna be a good run in to the end of the season
Avondale home to douglas hall midleton and blarney, away to rockmount. gonna be an interesting run in,, may the best team win..

Pundit
24/04/2011, 4:09 PM
Clifford hope ye go and do the buisness now.. best of luck

mayfield utd
24/04/2011, 11:29 PM
douglas hall,rockmount and avondale have very hard games coming up in the league,i can't see any of them winning all there games

ball-hop
25/04/2011, 4:16 PM
To use an awful expression - all to play for still. We have UCC and Rockmount at home; Avondale away. Nothing easy there. Any three wins will see us home.

Nedge
26/04/2011, 9:14 PM
Ringmahon threw it away this year, by far best team after Corriantians in the division. I think Leeds are poor and while Fermoy are honest, i think they may lack the quality for Senior League. Any thoughts?

Nedge
26/04/2011, 9:15 PM
Ballinhassig were very lucky to avoid the drop, saw them a few times, didnt look up to much?

Reznik
26/04/2011, 9:59 PM
Ballinhassig were very lucky to avoid the drop, saw them a few times, didnt look up to much?

Realistically how good did ballinhassig have to be when you see cobh and mallow! I went to the relagation match between mallow and ballincollig last week and to be honest it felt like watching a blue square premier match when there is a premiership match on the other channel. 1-1 so mallow went down. To be fair mallow had a bit of a go in the last 15mins but it didnt seem like they even gave a damn.

ringmahon4ever
26/04/2011, 10:29 PM
Ringmahon threw it away this year, by far best team after Corriantians in the division. I think Leeds are poor and while Fermoy are honest, i think they may lack the quality for Senior League. Any thoughts?

ya we lost all our games to the top teams.we were top for most of season. coriantians went on a fierce run so cant complain.leeds arent a great team at all.will struggle big time.

Clifford
27/04/2011, 11:35 AM
Cheers for the well wishes above lads, we'll give it a right good shot again next Fri week and see where it takes us.

Thanks Nedge for even mentioning us. The echo twice last week at no point even acknowledged our existance. The table on Fri night was the top three only. Amazing that a bastion of reporting can be so blinkered. :p

Each team will think they had their chances, for us the turning point came when we were 2-0 up v College and the game got abandoned. We lost the rematch and had two suspended the following week for Leeds away. That catered for a six point swing with College and weakened us the following week which we lost.

That's football and we appear to be have given one more shot at it. So hopefully an honest bunch of bumpkins will be able to see the job through next week. :rolleyes:

wesleyBHFC
27/04/2011, 4:23 PM
the play off between Fermoy and leeds will be a great game. anything can happen on the night. lets hope its a good game of football with plenty of action for us to talk about after. best of luck to both teams involved!!! :)

Glenbuck
27/04/2011, 4:43 PM
i see leeds winning this comfortably, fermoy not up to much in my opinion and when the pressure was on them they bottled it...there was no pressure on them last game and they just squeesed in...not a negative on fermoy as for a small club they are over achieving by being anywhere near the premier tier in the msl....teams would be hoping they go up as i can imagine as an easy 6 points and a trip down to a great pitch is always welcome....leeds 3-0 is my predictionI was at the last Leeds and Fermoy game. While Leeds won that game I thought that Fermoy were very unlucky. Only for the young fella in goal for Leeds it would have been a different result. I hope they have there scoring boots on next week. It would be great to see Slatts leading a team out at Rockmount Park. A great servant during his time with us.

27/04/2011, 7:55 PM
Avondale Utd 1—1 Blarney Utd
Blarney salvaged a point with a penalty in stoppage time

Reznik
27/04/2011, 9:37 PM
Avondale Utd 1—1 Blarney Utd
Blarney salvaged a point with a penalty in stoppage time

Dale started v.fast out of the blocks and had a couple of decent efforts from distance from Cotter and lockheed. Blarney then had a good spell for 20mins before dale scored from an overhead kick on 35mins by colin o brien. Second half saw the game die a little both teams hampered by a rock solid and bumpy pitch which saw some of the best players in the league not able to cope with conditions. Dale huffed and puffed without creating much and blarney tried to counter but failed to test dale keeper. Blarney hit the butt of the post with 10 to go with a speculative effort from the edge of the box. Then the incident which will please hall and mount fans. Stone wall penalty awarded in what i think was the 91min. Blarney striker ''Blue'' sent dave the save the wrong way to snatch a point. Gap at top is reduced to just 3points but dale will feel they blow it at the end. Once again best of luck to any team that expect to play ball in that pitch for the rest of the season.

Sparky
28/04/2011, 9:46 AM
3 x games to go. Its going to be a good one. Rockmount, Dale and Hall all have to play each other. Nobody has easy games at this stage. Avondales pitch is worst in MSL outside of Tramore if you ask me. It could cost them. Not at the game last night but i bet it was rock hard and bumpy. Hall to hold out i think.

villaman10
28/04/2011, 2:52 PM
3 x games to go. Its going to be a good one. Rockmount, Dale and Hall all have to play each other. Nobody has easy games at this stage. Avondales pitch is worst in MSL outside of Tramore if you ask me. It could cost them. Not at the game last night but i bet it was rock hard and bumpy. Hall to hold out i think.

halls pitch is up there as well, very poor!!

AvondaleNutter
28/04/2011, 2:54 PM
Dales, Rockmounts and Halls are probably the worst pitches in the league.

Glenbuck
28/04/2011, 3:00 PM
Dales, Rockmounts and Halls are probably the worst pitches in the league.
Give it a break guys. No pitch can deal with the weather we are getting at the moment. Im sure groundsmen are doing their best.To put Whitechurch and Moneygorney in the same bracket as Avondales pitch is way off the mark.

Reznik
28/04/2011, 5:44 PM
Give it a break guys. No pitch can deal with the weather we are getting at the moment. Im sure groundsmen are doing their best.To put Whitechurch and Moneygorney in the same bracket as Avondales pitch is way off the mark.

Check out Blarneys pitch. Perfect condition probably the reason Ireland U-16s played there last week and the 1st division playoff is on there friday week.

Pundit
28/04/2011, 7:36 PM
ya we lost all our games to the top teams.we were top for most of season. coriantians went on a fierce run so cant complain.leeds arent a great team at all.will struggle big time.

ringmahon, ur 1 to talk bout leeds not being a great team,, at least they have given themselves a chance.. given ringmahon recent results in the premier division in the last few years i think ye would struggle even more.. is it3 or 4 years ye went up only to go straight back down.. i think u should be saying well done to leeds and fermoy for given themselves a chance.. all u are on bout the last few weeks is cors were a disgrace and all that bull for walking of..if they gave ye a rematch i suspect the 4-2 result to be the same as they are a far superior side to ye... if ye didnt bottle it ye might be going to the premier but as usual ye wud be going straight back down next year

magpie
28/04/2011, 8:30 PM
Does any team want to win this league?.. i hope the 'hall' take it because they are the only team in the league who consistently try and play ball. i know you can say that Rockmount are always in contention at the business end of the season, but man they are hard to watch.. I have not seen much of the avondale, but going by the condition of there pitch they cant be much better. its been a very entertaining season for the neutral its a pity its coming to an end.

Glenbuck
28/04/2011, 8:35 PM
Check out Blarneys pitch. Perfect condition probably the reason Ireland U-16s played there last week and the 1st division playoff is on there friday week.
I totally agree. Smashing surface but only one team play on it and if there is a drop of rain due for the Lee Valley area Blarney call the game off. The record shows.

villaman10
29/04/2011, 9:00 AM

since they only play a game there if the moisture content in the air is in the exact specific region, and the moon is alined with jupiter!! ( you might of guessed i had a few futile spins to blarney this year:-) ) in fairness best pitch in the league next year will be college cors first pitch, beautiful surface, more so because they will play all their home games on the 2nd pitch!! mounts pitch has got better, where as hall's and dale's is still pretty poor!! doesn't seem to be affecting hem though!! any one seen midletons pitch lately?? shocking compared to what it used to be!!

AvondaleNutter
29/04/2011, 9:20 AM
since they only play a game there if the moisture content in the air is in the exact specific region, and the moon is alined with jupiter!! ( you might of guessed i had a few futile spins to blarney this year:-) ) in fairness best pitch in the league next year will be college cors first pitch, beautiful surface, more so because they will play all their home games on the 2nd pitch!! mounts pitch has got better, where as hall's and dale's is still pretty poor!! doesn't seem to be affecting hem though!! any one seen midletons pitch lately?? shocking compared to what it used to be!!

Its still quite good.. Id have Mayfield and Blarneys pitch in the top two pitches in the league.

Corinthians pitch is very good too but im just comparing premier legaue pitches as i haven't seen much of corinthians pitch this year but will thankfully next year.

greengrass
29/04/2011, 10:00 AM
Blarneys and corinthians 1st pitch are by far the best in the league
credit where credits due to there groundsman
they still have the same games played on them every year as everyone else
they both look a joy to play on even at this late stage of the season

mayfield utd
29/04/2011, 10:06 PM
ya blarney pitch is a top class pitch,there floodlights help them out for the pitch,they can call off as many games as they like and never have a back log of games come the end of the season,cos with the floodlights lights they can play as many midweek games as they want in the winter,not many teams can do that,hopefully rockmount and midleton pitches can benefit from the floodlights as well

maninthemiddle
30/04/2011, 10:38 AM
hi lads. new to the forums so looking forward to getting stuck in even if it is the end of the season at this stage.

Glenbuck
01/05/2011, 12:37 PM
Everton 0 Rockmount 1. Monty. Penalty. Hard fought game. Ref had 2 major decisions to make and got both of them right. Definite penalty and definite sending off. What was Chris Byrne thinking going over the ball in the corner with 25 to go and Everton still in game. Game on now lads.

Gobias
01/05/2011, 7:39 PM
Biggest fixture of the season so far set for next Sunday ----Douglas Hall vs Rockmount

Glenbuck
02/05/2011, 12:43 PM
Biggest fixture of the season so far set for next Sunday ----Douglas Hall vs RockmountOutstanding!!!! Every game is a cup final now.

02/05/2011, 1:03 PM
Biggest fixture of the season so far set for next Sunday ----Douglas Hall vs Rockmount
Anders reffing it too, MSL taking no chances

Glenbuck
02/05/2011, 4:06 PM
Anders reffing it too, MSL taking no chancesGrant it the intermediate cup final is on this Sunday but I can think of at least 2 refs who are not involved on Sunday who would be more than capable of handling the Hall/Mount game. Does not put too much faith in the MSL panel of refs. Still Alan is the top ref in the country so I dont expect much after debate. And if thats not the kiss of death !!!!

02/05/2011, 5:11 PM
Still Alan is the top ref in the country so I dont expect much after debate. And if thats not the kiss of death !!!!Too late, did you see the fallout from todays Sligo-Derry game? 1 superstar ref, 2 penalties, 3 goals and 4 sending offs :D
Good preparation.

But to be fair he is one of the best refs in the country.
Doesn't say much for the current MSL panel or the MSLs faith in them.

Glenbuck
02/05/2011, 6:22 PM
Too late, did you see the fallout from todays Sligo-Derry game? 1 superstar ref, 2 penalties, 3 goals and 4 sending offs :D
Good preparation.

Doesn't say much for the current MSL panel or the MSLs faith in them. By the way Razor UCC beat Tramore 2 nil (predictions).

footiefanatic
03/05/2011, 12:25 PM

and with the intermediate cup final, AND Manchester United playing Chelsea in Old Trafford there really is a feast of football this sunday :D

ringmahon4ever
03/05/2011, 4:15 PM
ringmahon, ur 1 to talk bout leeds not being a great team,, at least they have given themselves a chance.. given ringmahon recent results in the premier division in the last few years i think ye would struggle even more.. is it3 or 4 years ye went up only to go straight back down.. i think u should be saying well done to leeds and fermoy for given themselves a chance.. all u are on bout the last few weeks is cors were a disgrace and all that bull for walking of..if they gave ye a rematch i suspect the 4-2 result to be the same as they are a far superior side to ye... if ye didnt bottle it ye might be going to the premier but as usual ye wud be going straight back down next year
welcome to the forum.straight in for a fight i see.i take it you must be a leeds supporter.with this forum people can say what they feel so that was my honest opinion.i never said that ringmahon would or would not struggle.we werent good enough all the other times and if we did go up we would need more players to bolster squad.so i dont think its nothing about bottle.if you look back at other posts im not the only person that said leeds would struggle.if you wanna start off a slagging match your in the wrong place

ringmahon4ever
03/05/2011, 4:17 PM
Too late, did you see the fallout from todays Sligo-Derry game? 1 superstar ref, 2 penalties, 3 goals and 4 sending offs :D
Good preparation.

Doesn't say much for the current MSL panel or the MSLs faith in them.

thats true but how many games has alan refed this year in msl.surely this is the biggest kick up the backside to all the other referees.taught he was just concetrating on the league of ireland games and his internationals

Gobias
03/05/2011, 4:35 PM
taught he was just concetrating on the league of ireland games and his internationals

Money talks, i'm sure he is not doing the match on the cheap

Good decision from the MSL infairness cause at least he will ref any incident on the incident alone and not on a players reputation.

ringmahon4ever
04/05/2011, 5:13 PM
Money talks, i'm sure he is not doing the match on the cheap

i dunno about the money talks part because i cant the msl opening the cheque book :)

Clifford
04/05/2011, 7:26 PM
Any news on the appeal for Ringmahon?

Looking forward to Friday now, should be a great game and shur we'll give it an ould lash anyhow and see if we can keep up with the Leeds lads.

Either way we've enjoyed the season and will be back for more next year whatever happens.

casilles
04/05/2011, 8:05 PM
Beamish cup
Rockmount 2 St marys 1
Senior league
Everton 0 mayfield 1

Long Throw
04/05/2011, 8:14 PM
UCC relegated after Mayfield's win tonight, disappointing end to their season after winning the Collingwood.

Glenbuck
04/05/2011, 8:29 PM
thats true but how many games has alan refed this year in msl.surely this is the biggest kick up the backside to all the other referees.taught he was just concetrating on the league of ireland games and his internationalsHeard today that he has not reffed in MSL in at least 9 years. Infamous game involving Leeds and Rockmount.

Glenbuck
04/05/2011, 8:33 PM
UCC relegated after Mayfield's win tonight, disappointing end to their season after winning the Collingwood.That wont look good on JCs CV.

Glenbuck
04/05/2011, 8:38 PM
St Marys 1 Rockmount 2. Mount 2 up thru Darren O Riordan and Gary O Riordan before Marys knew there was a game on. Marys upped it in 2nd half and forced 1 back with 20 to go. Scrappy game. That John Paul is a scream. Why he just dont get on with his game without getting involved with opposition lines I dont know. Gene Stephens handled it well.

Billynomates
04/05/2011, 9:16 PM
Heard today that he has not reffed in MSL in at least 9 years. Infamous game involving Leeds and Rockmount.

He reffed castleview and fermoy earlier in the season

Sparky
04/05/2011, 9:27 PM
With Mayfield winning it is huge win for the HALL. UCC wont even have a team now with exams etc. If Hall get 3 points on Sunday it looks like they will wrap it up. Well done Mayfield for putting a fight together. They picked up some good results against Dale, Hall, Mount and Everton in last number of weeks. UCC's season must be regarded as a failure. I think Caulfield will stay with them no matter what rumours are circulating the league. Hall for league, Mount for Beamish Cup and Dale for Intermediate?

impartial
04/05/2011, 9:45 PM
Heard that the appeal has been rejected