View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 [62] 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

Carpet
10/02/2011, 3:23 AM
You mentioned the Rockmount team of 1999 Glenbuck all home grown players fast forward 11 years later no home grown players something has radically changed ye were once a club now ye are just a team if your calling me small minded because of this so be it.I guess at heart i'm a romantic glenbuck and that 99 team was a pure CLUB side and yes ye have gone on from there to achieve great things but at a cost.The cost was your club,how many of the current side will go on to help your committee how many of your current side will go on to coach your schoolboys how many of your current side will collect outside mass on a Sunday I'll tell you Glenbuck none.

Goggs I can't believe you delivered this sermon without mentioning your other nemesis,Blarney United,another club just like Rockmount who sold their soul to the devil

Goggs
10/02/2011, 6:50 AM
Goggs I can't believe you delivered this sermon without mentioning your other nemesis,Blarney United,another club just like Rockmount who sold their soul to the devil
Well i'm grateful to be given the opportunity thank you Carpet, if I was to compare the two i'd have to draw comparisons to Austin Powers Dr Evil and Mini Me and naturally Blarney would be the latter mimicking everything his hero is doing but never quiet achieving anything and losing alot of respect on the way.

j-burt
10/02/2011, 9:50 AM
Crumlin to beat Rockmount Sunday @ 2/1 is my tip for the weekend.

Thats great odds!!! people we're saying crumlin were depleted this year, I think not by the looks of things, although, after midleton beating bangor, can you judge this league properly, very strange.

http://www.lsl.ie/LeagueTables.aspx

Glenbuck
10/02/2011, 12:11 PM
Thats great odds!!! people we're saying crumlin were depleted this year, I think not by the looks of things, although, after midleton beating bangor, can you judge this league properly, very strange.

http://www.lsl.ie/LeagueTables.aspx Crumlin are from depleted.

Glenbuck
10/02/2011, 12:14 PM
Over reaction I would think. No one has sold their soul to the devil or whatever. Listen guys I think it may be time to turn your pettiness in to graft and put it back in to your own clubs. Thats if ye are involved with clubs. Life goes on. Why cant we just get on !!!!!

Silly Billy G
10/02/2011, 1:11 PM
Well i'm grateful to be given the opportunity thank you Carpet, if I was to compare the two i'd have to draw comparisons to Austin Powers Dr Evil and Mini Me and naturally Blarney would be the latter mimicking everything his hero is doing but never quiet achieving anything and losing alot of respect on the way.

Bit harsh on Blarney there, currently have 11 players who played schoolboy football with the club in senior panel. 2 of these still playing underage Jordan O'Connor and Kieran Murray. Always had a history of being a local club.
In fairness veered off the plan in the last couple of years with the Cobh influx but getting back to basics now again.

Sparky
10/02/2011, 3:08 PM
Local teams like Midleton, Blarney and Mayfield always did better when they had their own players that were hungry to impress and fought for each other with good team spirit. When they signed outsiders they seemed to lose their hunger, appetitie and identity. It is proven fact that Blarney were more successful without new comers in last 2 years as were Mayfield before they signed Deasy brothers, Conor Meade (played for Blarney too), James Cummins etc... No doubt these players are good players but when you have a good buzz going it doesnt mean you have to change everything. Midleton are doing a nice job now with only one or two outsiders to help them along. I think when clubs get promoted they panic and feel they have to sign 'NAMES' when they should perhaps look at what they have. Castleview are another example that you can be good enough if you stick with what you have.

code red
10/02/2011, 3:20 PM
Bit harsh on Blarney there, currently have 11 players who played schoolboy football with the club in senior panel. 2 of these still playing underage Jordan O'Connor and Kieran Murray. Always had a history of being a local club.
In fairness veered off the plan in the last couple of years with the Cobh influx but getting back to basics now again.

Very good point Silly Billy G. Blarney are certainly after taking a step back in order to build again for the future.They have a great blend of old and young and they will certainly challenge more in the coming years, maybe not this or even next but the club is building.

ringmahon4ever
10/02/2011, 4:49 PM
ringmahon aswell..every player on team has come up through schoolboy and junior ranks..working from academy,schoolboys,youths is only wat forward.local players,local team etc

The 'View
10/02/2011, 11:01 PM
Hi lads, new to this forum. Very interesting discussion. Just from a Castleview point of view we are currently down a little but we are rebuilding and hope to be back on top in a few years. Most of our current team are our own. We have some great underage players coming through and the Committee has decided if possible to stick with our own. Might seem like a step back but should be good for the future and the club. Our 14,15 & 18 teams are going well in the national cups.

villaman10
11/02/2011, 8:57 PM
midleton 4 tramore 1

Reznik
12/02/2011, 12:43 PM
midleton 4 tramore 1

14 goals in there last 3 and 3 wins on the bounce you have to give credit to job being done there since promotion!

Glenbuck
12/02/2011, 3:16 PM
14 goals in there last 3 and 3 wins on the bounce you have to give credit to job being done there since promotion! Writing on the wall for Tramore I would think. But who is to go with them ?

ringmahon4ever
12/02/2011, 4:22 PM
beat crosshaven 4-1 in pop kelleher.should and could of been more.

justasupporter
12/02/2011, 4:27 PM
St marys 2 everton 2 , Marys went 2 up early on , Gareth cambridge free kick & coker & John Paul Sullivan hit post with header, Everton battled back second half but marys will feel they left it behind , had 2 good chances to get a third . Blues had 2 sent off at 2 each. Good game

villaman10
12/02/2011, 6:02 PM
Writing on the wall for Tramore I would think. But who is to go with them ?

makes you wonder how there is such a difference in the two teams, i know midleton won the 1st division last year but that was via a playoff!! and if anything tramore should of run away with the league until they choked

Glenbuck
12/02/2011, 6:31 PM
St Marys 2 Everton 2

johhny g
12/02/2011, 7:10 PM
makes you wonder how there is such a difference in the two teams, i know midleton won the 1st division last year but that was via a playoff!! and if anything tramore should of run away with the league until they choked

not sure about tramore but i know midleton made 3/4 very good signings,one being stapleton who is one of the best in the league

Billynomates
13/02/2011, 8:53 AM
not sure about tramore but i know midleton made 3/4 very good signings,one being stapleton who is one of the best in the league

I agree. They also signed paul deasy from cork city. Dont think many teams fancy playing midleton.

overthehill
13/02/2011, 8:35 PM
Sad to see Cobh in trouble, especially that their neighbours Springfield are flying in the AUL, beat Tolka Rvs up in Dublin yesterday and are playing Abbeyfeale in the Munster junior next week.

johhny g
13/02/2011, 8:41 PM
incomplete contrast to what I witnessed at our Senior game yesterday in Cobh. Won 3-1 comfortably, don't like to see any club down but they're in real trouble. No electricity in the dressing rooms. Hopefully it's not the case but one Cobh guy told me their electricity was cut off as they couldn't pay bill.

im playing with the juniors in cobh and cant comment on the electricity as i wasnt in the dressing rooms yesterday but the club is in real turmoil.
lost nearly all of last years senior team which then resulted in breaking up our junior team from last year which was a very strong team.
its been a tough year so far and the sooner it ends the better and hopefully we can get the mess sorted in the close season

olachico
13/02/2011, 8:51 PM
I think i know who he is The View - think he was playing AUL football for ye last year ;-)

Mr.Reliable
13/02/2011, 9:22 PM
New to this so but have been following for a while!....Looking forward to taking part

Reznik
13/02/2011, 10:27 PM
Bad Boys,Bad Boys what ya going to do, What you going to do when Razor comes for you...:D

Glenbuck
13/02/2011, 10:32 PM
Moderator fine and busy tonight. Great stuff.

olachico
13/02/2011, 10:41 PM
How is it unsubstantiated if people actually know the guy personally and know it to be true?

Glenbuck
13/02/2011, 10:43 PM
How is it unsubstantiated if people actually know the guy personally and know it to be true?
Know what guy ?? Know what is true ??

14/02/2011, 7:53 AM
How is it unsubstantiated if people actually know the guy personally and know it to be true?For those that have been on here a while, we've been through all this.
Unless proof can be provided then don't type it.

for those newbies, forum rules are here (http://foot.ie/faq.php?faq=rules)

Here is the exact rule for everyone.
READ IT.

Rumours & Allegations
There's too many "I heards" and "someone saids" on football sites, which is often damaging to the clubs and people involved. There's plenty of news sites out there, plenty of people in authority willing to be quoted, plenty of mobile phones with cameras, plenty of sites where pictures and videos can be posted. So there's no excuse for posting rumour and innuendo any more, and every opportunity to make the news yourself. Take a photo or a video, ask someone for a quote, or post a scan or a link to a news article. Alternatively, keep your mouth shut on Foot.ie, or you'll be out on your ear.

AvondaleNutter
14/02/2011, 8:24 AM
Its very funny you say this but every year Avondale won the the Intermediate cup they never won the league and have actually played quite poorly in those years but still mananged to win the Cup.

To my knowledge this stat also applies to Rockmount so correct me if i'm wrong so I don't agree with you rubbishing Avondales chances of winning it.

If i was asked who i'd predict, i would say Douglas Hall from what i've seen but i wouldn't put money on them. My money would be on Rockmount or Avondale as they have been there done that without playing particularly well.

The trend looks to be continuing.

ringmahon4ever
14/02/2011, 10:10 AM
i have all the proof you want and i reckon im the only person so why delete the comments and give us a warning..taught this was an open forum..if we have proff were allowed talk

14/02/2011, 10:14 AM
i have all the proof you want and i reckon im the only person so why delete the comments and give us a warning..taught this was an open forum..if we have proff were allowed talkI haven't seen any proof. If you have it lets see it.

AvondaleNutter
14/02/2011, 10:30 AM
i have all the proof you want and i reckon im the only person so why delete the comments and give us a warning..taught this was an open forum..if we have proff were allowed talk

There was talk for years that Avondale players were getting paid and that is so far from the truth. This thing about players getting paid always seems to rear its ugly head on a monthly basis at this stage.
If a club is able to pay players then fair play to them, they have either managed to generate income from the club it self or recruited a chairman or investor willing to invest their hard earned money into the club.

@Ringmahon4ever, if you had a serious amount of wealth behind you and you were passionate about your club then im sure if you had an opportunity to bring in quality players to your club for a small sum then you'd seriously consider it if it brought success to your club.
Now don't give me that you'd rather win it with home grown players because this is very unlikley to actually happen in most clubs cases, if it would happen at all.

ringmahon4ever
15/02/2011, 1:15 PM
are you serious or taking the p**s out of me.fair enough clubs want success and stuff but why bring in a player into an amateur game and pay him.plus your bringing a player to a club that he really doesnt give a poo about and all he cares about is his back hander after every game..by doing this your upsetting the local players and that will go right down to the junior ,youth and schoolboy setup..they will just give up trying because they know outsiders are being brought in for a few euros so there will be no room for them then..I think if you ask everybody on this forum the majority will think its wrong no matter how wealthy your club are ..just use the money on looking after your own players through there injuries and keep upgrading your club etc..thats my rant of the day over now gentlemen

BalagueFC
15/02/2011, 3:07 PM
Fair point. I can't see any long term benefits for clubs paying players. It kills the club ethos and also ruins younger players ambitions to play senior which should be every schoolboys aim, unless good enough for a better standard. Brings back to the point of no clubs being successful in the schoolboy leagues, youth level and senior premier as most clubs would prefer immediate success rather than letting a club slide for a year or two to bring through home grown players which would allow for long term stability. I think this is starting to be brought through by the first division clubs more than any at the moment including Ringmahon. And that's tough to say coming from a Dale man.

Goggs
15/02/2011, 6:19 PM
To be fair Ringmahon have a great system going as do Fermoy as do Leeds but theirs a few teams in the premier who are doing the same Mayfield have very few outsiders as do Tramore as do Everton as do Midleton I think St Mary's are good as well but not positive on that one.Now that's 50% of the premier with Everton and Midleton in the top 4 of the league. So theirs good work been done by these clubs to keep their identity and still be able to add a bit of quailty by bringing in 2 or 3 players as long as they don't take the **** and force out the local lads.

ringmahon4ever
15/02/2011, 6:55 PM
Fair point. I can't see any long term benefits for clubs paying players. It kills the club ethos and also ruins younger players ambitions to play senior which should be every schoolboys aim, unless good enough for a better standard. Brings back to the point of no clubs being successful in the schoolboy leagues, youth level and senior premier as most clubs would prefer immediate success rather than letting a club slide for a year or two to bring through home grown players which would allow for long term stability. I think this is starting to be brought through by the first division clubs more than any at the moment including Ringmahon. And that's tough to say coming from a Dale man.
ha ha i sense your heart was at breaking point saying that but the truth hurts :) :)

ringmahon4ever
15/02/2011, 6:58 PM
thanks fellas..im just saying why bother clubs setting up academy,schoolboy programs and then when go off and pay fellas to play for team.this doesnt give a good example to the younger players.

mayfield utd
17/02/2011, 10:20 PM
To be fair Ringmahon have a great system going as do Fermoy as do Leeds but theirs a few teams in the premier who are doing the same Mayfield have very few outsiders as do Tramore as do Everton as do Midleton I think St Mary's are good as well but not positive on that one.Now that's 50% of the premier with Everton and Midleton in the top 4 of the league. So theirs good work been done by these clubs to keep their identity and still be able to add a bit of quailty by bringing in 2 or 3 players as long as they don't take the **** and force out the local lads.
ya think we only have two players that or not from mayfield,alberto and brosy , i think everyone else or local lads

Sparky
18/02/2011, 8:01 AM
ya think we only have two players that or not from mayfield,alberto and brosy , i think everyone else or local lads

Dont ye also have two midfielders think that theay are from 1. Tipperary and 2. Ex St. Marys and another guy Mc Bride who was not school boys? Think that is 5 outside players and the polish keeper is 6 as I hear he is gone back to ye.

six-yard-box
18/02/2011, 4:18 PM
rockmount match off tonight incase anyone was going to travel out. good luck to the lads from the msl playing in that trial game in limerick tomorrow.

Glenbuck
18/02/2011, 7:08 PM
Rockmount v Passage off tonight.

mayfield utd
18/02/2011, 11:49 PM
Dont ye also have two midfielders think that theay are from 1. Tipperary and 2. Ex St. Marys and another guy Mc Bride who was not school boys? Think that is 5 outside players and the polish keeper is 6 as I hear he is gone back to ye.your right dermy ryan from tipp and conor roche played school boys with mary's thery been there so long forgot they were not from mayfield,i think mc bride from mayfield as far as i know i'm not 100% on that and as for the polish keeper seba his long gone,he shows up training now and then last i heard he had a trial with cork city.so 4 maybe 5 players out of a squad of 15+ is fairly good you know your stuff mr sparky .midleton v mayfield was called off

ringmahon4ever
19/02/2011, 4:25 PM
beat glasheen 3-0 today in pop kelleher..into the quarter finals now.anyone know wat way the draw goes

collcorforever
20/02/2011, 8:19 AM
We beat mallow in the pop keller cup on saturday at home, had a full squad for the 1st time in a long time, played ok mallow kept going to the end and worked hard we just got the lucky breaks when needed. Does every other team suffer the same as us with guys going away for weekends??? Next week we have 3 of the lads going to Carling cup and another going to Dublin. I know people will say thats why you need a squad but when you sign up for the season these are the sacrifices players should make!!!

greengrass
20/02/2011, 9:19 AM
We beat mallow in the pop keller cup on saturday at home, had a full squad for the 1st time in a long time, played ok mallow kept going to the end and worked hard we just got the lucky breaks when needed. Does every other team suffer the same as us with guys going away for weekends??? Next week we have 3 of the lads going to Carling cup and another going to Dublin. I know people will say thats why you need a squad but when you sign up for the season these are the sacrifices players should make!!!

players should show dedication but you can't expect them there every weekend
i think at the very most 2 games missed over a season for social occasions is the most
after that players are taking the ****
friday night games are perfect to quell situations like this

Sparky
20/02/2011, 2:47 PM
The players are not SENIOR players if social comes first. Simple as. Playing Senior is not just about talent but attitude too. You get out what you put in in football. To be fair to the players though they dont even know on Sunday afternoon what day their game will be the following week. I think the AUL can tell you on Thursday what day your game will be the following weekend. Finnegan and the MSL need to address this matter. Clubs should know their next 2 games at all times. With technology now we are not depending on the Echo to print these fixtures. Common sense should prevail.

BalagueFC
20/02/2011, 7:20 PM

I love that you don't mention you lost to CIT 2-1 on Thursday night in the Beamish Cup. I wouldnt worry about players your going away for a weekend because ye are going to win nothing anyway and finish mid table at best in the 1st division

Bufc2010
20/02/2011, 7:43 PM
The players are not SENIOR players if social comes first. Simple as. Playing Senior is not just about talent but attitude too. You get out what you put in in football. To be fair to the players though they dont even know on Sunday afternoon what day their game will be the following week. I think the AUL can tell you on Thursday what day your game will be the following weekend. Finnegan and the MSL need to address this matter. Clubs should know their next 2 games at all times. With technology now we are not depending on the Echo to print these fixtures. Common sense should prevail.

to be fair i agree with this sparky
senior players are about the attitude to the game
training in there own time and wanting to better themselves

Billynomates
20/02/2011, 7:58 PM
I love that you don't mention you lost to CIT 2-1 on Thursday night in the Beamish Cup. I wouldnt worry about players your going away for a weekend because ye are going to win nothing anyway and finish mid table at best in the 1st division

Bit harsh

Bufc2010
20/02/2011, 8:12 PM
Bit harsh
agreed