View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 [60] 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

Glenbuck
25/01/2011, 5:16 PM
No im talking bout Howey aswell as number 3
Did you ever play senior yourself Reznik ?

Reznik
25/01/2011, 6:12 PM
Did you ever play senior yourself Reznik ?

The last 8years...And hopefully 8 more!

Goggs
25/01/2011, 7:10 PM
As for the players you all don't like............are they worth mentioning and discussing? No. As for the players you like and respect I personally think there are too many to mention over the years and currently. The majority of Players in the MSL Premier Division are decent players with great attitudes - THAT'S WHY WE LOVE IT. The end for me, let's talk more football!
Hey Sparky I reckon all the cork premier sides could progress to the 1/4s after this weekend am i been naive or is the MSL every bit as good as the Lsl if not better what do ye think?

Nedge
25/01/2011, 8:20 PM
I actually struggled to come up with three unpopular players in the senior league. I believe the majority of players do their club proud on a weekly basis. There is a few managers who leave alot to be desired but they are not worth a disscussion. Few big games this weekend, where will be the game of the weekend be? Oh and any chance of a female referee this weekend?

jacksparrow
25/01/2011, 8:53 PM
who do ya play for reznik

Sparky
26/01/2011, 12:31 PM
Hey Sparky I reckon all the cork premier sides could progress to the 1/4s after this weekend am i been naive or is the MSL every bit as good as the Lsl if not better what do ye think?

Well Goggsy boy, I think it is a tough one to call. I think 2 or maybe 3 to go through. If I had to put my neck out I would say Crumlin to beat Rockmount; Everton to beat Sacred Heart; Bangor to beat or draw with Midelton and Avondale just to pip Corinthians. I dont know much about Sacred Heart but Everton at home are always hard to beat. Any of the 4 games could go either way but i will go with Crumlin, Bangor, Avondale and Everton.

ball-hop
26/01/2011, 1:01 PM
Well Goggsy boy, I think it is a tough one to call. I think 2 or maybe 3 to go through. If I had to put my neck out I would say Crumlin to beat Rockmount; Everton to beat Sacred Heart; Bangor to beat or draw with Midelton and Avondale just to pip Corinthians. I dont know much about Sacred Heart but Everton at home are always hard to beat. Any of the 4 games could go either way but i will go with Crumlin, Bangor, Avondale and Everton.
Sparky - no opinion of Belgrove v. Douglas Hall.
I fancy a draw in Dublin, then a bumper gate for the replay in Moneygourney!!

Sparky
26/01/2011, 1:06 PM
Sparky - no opinion of Belgrove v. Douglas Hall.
I fancy a draw in Dublin, then a bumper gate for the replay in Moneygourney!!

Sorry Ball-hop, totally slipped my mind. I would have to go with Hall win but tight game. 1-2 with winner scored in last 10 mins.

Horse24
26/01/2011, 5:34 PM
Lads, whats the reason for the 23 man panel? For no particular reason - just nosey. If it is to stop the big teams signing everyone, then the choice to be sub at a big team should surely rest with the player?

villaman10
26/01/2011, 6:22 PM
ya horse24 think that was the reason, to stop big teams hording all the best talent, bout 2/3 years ago rockmount could of fielded 2 sides capable of achieving sucess , but look if a player is asked to join a rockmount/ avondale they know that there is a good chance they might get less game time, but also a better chance of winning medals!! that shud be there own choice!! 23 player rule would have less effect on country teams as they seem more loyal likes of fermoy who seem to have a good policy of bringing through their own

Horse24
26/01/2011, 9:07 PM
ya horse24 think that was the reason, to stop big teams hording all the best talent, bout 2/3 years ago rockmount could of fielded 2 sides capable of achieving sucess , but look if a player is asked to join a rockmount/ avondale they know that there is a good chance they might get less game time, but also a better chance of winning medals!! that shud be there own choice!! 23 player rule would have less effect on country teams as they seem more loyal likes of fermoy who seem to have a good policy of bringing through their own

But I see an MSL junior side struggling to field a team cos they cant get players who are long gone off the form? It just makes no sense to me. Thanks for the info

Nedge
27/01/2011, 5:22 PM
Just heard from a source at work that there was a bust up in training out in Rockmount the other night. Can anybody confirm- possably only a wild rumor however be interesting if it was true?

the hawk
27/01/2011, 7:47 PM
whats the bets nedge howey was involved haha
im going for all cork sides to progress bar corinthians who will lose to the dale

Goggs
28/01/2011, 2:45 PM
welcome aboard hawk go on the cork sides

ringmahon4ever
28/01/2011, 5:43 PM
Just heard from a source at work that there was a bust up in training out in Rockmount the other night. Can anybody confirm- possably only a wild rumor however be interesting if it was true?

bet ya howey started giving lip to the dugout even though there was no one in it ha ha. he so used to doing it every week

Carpet
28/01/2011, 11:44 PM

not gonna mention names because i dont want my comment deleted but i heard there was a bit of a bust up, nothing too serious but 1 of these things that you hear about in training once in awhile. mightn't be a bad thing galvanising the team for the rest of the year.

Billynomates
29/01/2011, 7:35 AM
not gonna mention names because i dont want my comment deleted but i heard there was a bit of a bust up, nothing too serious but 1 of these things that you hear about in training once in awhile. mightn't be a bad thing galvanising the team for the rest of the year.
I would say it is pretty rare for a team competing for trophys and having a big squad never having a disagreement in the training ground. With so many players competing for places sometimes challenges might be a bit over the top and things might get a bit heated. I wouldnt read it into it too much. Best of luck to all the Cork teams in the intermediate cup this weekend.

Gobias
29/01/2011, 3:08 PM
Saw in the Echo the other night that Declan Cahill (ex Limerick, Cobh and Blarney) has signed with Avondale, good signing for them.
Have they signed any more players, see that they have been put as favourites for the Intermediate Cup by PaddyPower

ringmahon4ever
29/01/2011, 3:33 PM
ringmahon 0 - 1 leeds..bad day at the office

Clifford
29/01/2011, 4:30 PM
2-1 win for fermoy at casement. Led at half time, they scored 10 into sec and we scored winner 5 mins after that. Held on very well atthe end.

Didn't see that one comin at home for ringmahon. Game on.

Southsider
29/01/2011, 6:55 PM
2-1 win for fermoy at casement. Led at half time, they scored 10 into sec and we scored winner 5 mins after that. Held on very well atthe end.

Ya Cliff some good defending towards the end by yerselves. We should have went one up very early on when our striker missed a great chance We just couldnt get going in the 1st half at all after that. First goal was to soft our Centre half was turned way to easy. Came out in the 2nd half all guns blazing took the lead with a good bit of play from a set piece but straight away from the restart some very casual play just outside our box let ye in again. Missed another 1 v 1 again at 2-1 we have no luck at the minute but some would say you make your own luck Were our own worst enemy a.t the best of times we'll just enjoy the rest of our season now and have a rattle off the Pop Keller.

justasupporter
29/01/2011, 7:38 PM
St marys 3 Tramore 0

el nino coro
30/01/2011, 7:51 AM
Lads..was told Gareth Cambridge has signed for st marys!!! Can anyone confirm this??? If so he is up there with the best in the league without a doubt!

ringmahon4ever
30/01/2011, 1:05 PM

none of us seen it coming.had man sent off for handball after ten min s.tough call..hopefully we will bounce back from it.first loss in a long time

wesleyBHFC
31/01/2011, 3:57 PM
cant confirm if gareth cambridge has joined st marys but if the rumour is true it is a great addition to there squad. they really need to pick up points because there in a relegation battle with tramore, UCC and blarney!!! interesting times ahead!!

Nedge
31/01/2011, 5:12 PM
Can anybody explain weather players from MSL can join League of Ireland before the end of the season? Rumors of a raid from Forus are growing around the city- heard that a young Douglas Hall striker and one from Blarney- has anybody else heard this?

31/01/2011, 6:42 PM
Rumors of a raid from Forus are growing around the city- heard that a young Douglas Hall striker and one from Blarney- has anybody else heard this?I would think players could go but no MSL players made the grade last season, most weren't given ample opportunity to be fair.
I think you mean FORAS, which is the supporters trust, it would be Cork City FC, the club, that'll be doing the signing if at all.

greengrass
31/01/2011, 6:44 PM
Can anybody explain weather players from MSL can join League of Ireland before the end of the season? Rumors of a raid from Forus are growing around the city- heard that a young Douglas Hall striker and one from Blarney- has anybody else heard this?

havn't heard anything
do you know which players?

ringmahon4ever
01/02/2011, 4:22 PM
look i know this means nothing but im trying past year or more to get my club crest in list.been told do this do that.send to this send to that..edit avatar.blah blah blah.point is i stil cant do it so anyones help will be good.i can send it to someone or something..i dont want the fai one :(

UPDATE : See here (http://foot.ie/threads/32180-Avatars-Crest-and-Kits)

Cici900
01/02/2011, 4:49 PM

would you happen to know which players???

01/02/2011, 9:37 PM
would you happen to know which players???Crosshaven keeper has signed for City.
see here (http://www.crosshavenafc.com/)

Nedge
02/02/2011, 12:11 AM
I would love to provide the names i heard however i believe it would be unfair to publish them on this considering nothing has been confirmed. Aparantly Tommy Dunne or his coaching staff will be watching MSL games this weekend so there may be more to come. I am quite suprised myself about this, as i remember reading the echo not so long ago when Billy Woods was talking down the MSl and constantly refered to the gap between League of Ireland and the MSL. I would love to see a Munster Senior League team compete in the LOI to see how they fair. Has anybody thoughts on this?

02/02/2011, 8:19 AM
I would love to provide the names i heard however i believe it would be unfair to publish them on this considering nothing has been confirmed.Fair play Nedge
As a Cork City fan who follows the MSL I'd love nothing more than to see local lads make it into the City team and if they are good enough maybe across the water.

Southsider
02/02/2011, 8:21 AM
Crosshaven keeper has signed for City.
see here (http://www.crosshavenafc.com/)
Iv seen this guy 3 times before god hes shocking. Hes about 6 foot 6 but hes pure tripe. City must be stuck this year.

Nedge
02/02/2011, 9:37 AM
Iv seen this guy 3 times before god hes shocking. Hes about 6 foot 6 but hes pure tripe. City must be stuck this year.

I couldnt agree more, There is far more talented keepers out there, The new keeper at Mayfield and Blarney keeper come to mind.

Goggs
02/02/2011, 11:26 AM
as i remember reading the echo not so long ago when Billy Woods was talking down the MSl and constantly refered to the gap between League of Ireland and the MSL. I would love to see a Munster Senior League team compete in the LOI to see how they fair. Has anybody thoughts on this?
As much as I love the MSL Nedge their is a gap between 1st division League of Ireland and the MSL and theirs a huge gap between MSL and the Premier League of Ireland. I think committment is the major factor between the first and I think the difference in skill levels for the Premier.Time and time again MSL players have tried to step up but just can't cut it because they simply not good enough.Their is probably 3 players in the MSL who could play with city in my opinion but do they have the committment that's Howey[rockmount] Stepleton [midleton] Mulcahy {Hall},the MSL is a good league but its an amature league at the end of the day well mostly anyway.

greengrass
02/02/2011, 2:06 PM
I personally feel that the LOI is not as good as some people on here seem to think
having been an avid fan of LOI football years ago,nowadays i find the MSL games to be much more interesting package
maybe individually the LOI players are better but many of the MSL players would be the same if they were playin football constantly
for an amatuer league i think the dedication of most of the MSL players is top class

Reznik
02/02/2011, 8:27 PM
i think the dedication of most of the MSL players is top class

I agree totally greengrass. Paying for membership, insurance and training plus trying to balance family, work and football 3 or 4 times a week is a big commitment and 99% of players in the 3 msl leagues dont get a penny for it. We do it for the love of the game. If thats not commitment i dont know what is... P.S. I once knew a guy who drank 7-up at his brothers wedding because he was playing a Donie Forde Cup game the following day. Quality

ball-hop
03/02/2011, 10:52 AM
I agree that the players' dedication in the MSL is top class. However, the National League requirement is another step up. Easy examples - Finn Harps, Monaghan. Salthill Devon, Mervue Utd.
Anyone who has had the experience with an MSL club travelling to Donegal for Intermediate Cup fixtures knows how gruelling this is!!! Once every couple of seasons. Multiply that upwards for regular league fixtures and the level of dedication needs to notch up big-time.
I think, without question, there are a number of MSL players who could well make the step up if only based on ability, but for National League, there is much more involved.

Goggs
03/02/2011, 12:57 PM
Good to see someone with a bit of common sense ball-hop its grand to comment on this forum with off the cuff comments and mostly made in the best intentions but if you havnt experenced playing at both levels its not rational to comment theres a big difference in training on a tuesday and thursday and playing local on a Sunday morning opposed to training 4 nights a week and traveling the length and breath of the country.Plus theirs the added pressure of preforming in front of a thousand plus people a week and beening covered by the national press compared to playing in front of one man and his dog and getting a few inches in the echo if your lucky on a wednesday night.

ringmahon4ever
03/02/2011, 1:47 PM
I agree totally greengrass. Paying for membership, insurance and training plus trying to balance family, work and football 3 or 4 times a week is a big commitment and 99% of players in the 3 msl leagues dont get a penny for it. We do it for the love of the game. If thats not commitment i dont know what is... P.S. I once knew a guy who drank 7-up at his brothers wedding because he was playing a Donie Forde Cup game the following day. Quality

i reckon its less then 99% and i hope he was drinking 7-up light :) :) :)

wesleyBHFC
03/02/2011, 4:49 PM
rumour on the street is rockmount have found new management for next season. heard it from a source at work today!! can anyone confirm this???

the hawk
03/02/2011, 8:01 PM
I couldnt agree more, There is far more talented keepers out there, The new keeper at Mayfield and Blarney keeper come to mind. mow in not affiliated with any clubs but really like watchin the msl no matter what divison and the two best keepers i have seen are the halls (cant remember his name) and dave the save

Cici900
03/02/2011, 8:13 PM
That would be very interesting to see them without Cronin :eek:

Goggs
04/02/2011, 6:59 AM
That would be very interesting to see them without Cronin :eek:
Maybe a change in management might bring a bit of decorum and respect to the game which is sadly lacking from their set up

Sparky
04/02/2011, 7:55 AM
I would imagine it would be Alan Martin and one or two others. Maybe only a rumour to keep things exciting?

greengrass
04/02/2011, 10:50 AM
Good to see someone with a bit of common sense ball-hop its grand to comment on this forum with off the cuff comments and mostly made in the best intentions but if you havnt experenced playing at both levels its not rational to comment theres a big difference in training on a tuesday and thursday and playing local on a Sunday morning opposed to training 4 nights a week and traveling the length and breath of the country.Plus theirs the added pressure of preforming in front of a thousand plus people a week and beening covered by the national press compared to playing in front of one man and his dog and getting a few inches in the echo if your lucky on a wednesday night.

I would relish playing in front of a thousand plus people goggs
wouldnt you?

Goggs
04/02/2011, 5:04 PM
I would relish playing in front of a thousand plus people goggs
wouldnt you?

I would Greengrass but the only playing I would be doing is with myself;)

05/02/2011, 3:46 PM
Avondale Utd 1-1 Rockmount

villaman10
05/02/2011, 6:59 PM
avondale should of won it, very good game in spite of the conditions both teams tried to get the ball down and play, very entertaining!