View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 [59] 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

Reznik
20/01/2011, 4:48 PM
very interesting games this weekend!! i personally think midleton could upset rockmount, ballincollig against ballinhassig will be a huge derby, whilst i also think casement could get a result up in leeds park!!

You mention wes dat u think midleton ''could upset'' rockmount this weekend, Whereas in the prediction forum you have da mount to win 2-1. Are you speaking with your heart or head? By the way. No flies on me.:D

AvondaleNutter
20/01/2011, 6:30 PM
ya wesleybhfc, sum interesting thoughts,leeds always a tough place to go, i think casement wud be happy with a pint, rockmount midleton game is a real tests for both sides, especially as both have big cup games next week, wonder if rockmount will rest players, and whats midletons priorty?? staying up in their first season r cud they try and rest some for next week? ballincollig vs ballinhassig, how are they getting on with all the players moving to ballinhassig last year, says a lot for this league that we have so many talking points!! this is my first post, just hoping to stay in touch with msl after not being involved for awhile,

Welcome Villaman10... More the merrier

Glenbuck
20/01/2011, 6:33 PM
Cant see Mount resting too many tomorrow night. Will want to give team a good run out before Crumlin game. Leeds and Casement will be interesting alright. Although I think Casement will want more than a PINT from proceedings villaman10...

wesleyBHFC
20/01/2011, 9:41 PM
sorry resnik, meant to say midleton 2-1. miss print on my behalf reznik. Sorry about that.!!!!

villaman10
20/01/2011, 10:08 PM
ha ha see i will have to mind my spelling, dont get away with much on here, i blame texting!!:) might have to change my prediction so for rockmounts game, midleton will be really up against it!! thanks avondale nutter for the welcome!!

Nedge
20/01/2011, 11:06 PM
Wesley i agree that the Ballinhassig-Ballincollig will be a tasty affair. I expect an end to end game with a few fisty challanges and i will certainly be attending. The is suppose to be a few ex Collig players on the Hassig team at the moment- can anybody confirm?

jacksparrow
21/01/2011, 12:43 AM
ballincollig and ballinhassig will be a dour affair..not much between them and are both lucky cobh and mallow are in the league. that said either one could get involved in a serious battle if they loose.. as for talk of rockmount resting players, well dats just daft..after a poor start by their standards why wood they jeopardise there climb up the table,as everyone knows there are no easy games in that league..

Goggs
21/01/2011, 6:51 AM
You mention wes dat u think midleton ''could upset'' rockmount this weekend, Whereas in the prediction forum you have da mount to win 2-1. Are you speaking with your heart or head? By the way. No flies on me.:D
Jesus Reznik your sharp.Wecome on board all the new little treasures.

the hawk
21/01/2011, 11:33 AM
blarney game should be tough on friday night they lose that and its relegation trouble

ball-hop
21/01/2011, 12:10 PM
Great to see so many newbies on the forum.... Bound to liven up debates and discussions - the more opinions the better......
Welcome villaman10, glenbuck, the hawk, jacksparrow and nedge who have found us in the last month

jacksparrow
21/01/2011, 1:11 PM
Great to see so many newbies on the forum.... Bound to liven up debates and discussions - the more opinions the better......
Welcome villaman10, glenbuck, the hawk, jacksparrow and nedge who have found us in the last month

thank you ball hop..looking forward to all the banter...onwards and upwards

Reznik
21/01/2011, 4:38 PM
MSL Premier match between Blarney Utd v St Marys tonight has been abandoned due to frozen pitch.

Glenbuck
21/01/2011, 4:45 PM
MSL Premier match between Blarney Utd v St Marys tonight has been abandoned due to frozen pitch.
What is about Blarney and Friday night games being off.

Glenbuck
21/01/2011, 4:46 PM
Many thanks Ball Hop. Glad to be on board.

Billynomates
21/01/2011, 5:49 PM
What is about Blarney and Friday night games being off.

Could they not agree to play on the all weather? The rockmount game could be looking dodgy too so if the blarney game is called off

Gobias
21/01/2011, 6:19 PM
Could they not agree to play on the all weather? The rockmount game could be looking dodgy too so if the blarney game is called off

The ''All'' weather would be worse than the grass pitch because that freezes aswell. From what i have heard 90% of the pitch was ok but the part that was frozen was by the penalty box nearest the clubhouse which is shaded by trees.
Rockmount game should be going ahead, the pitch should be fine as its out in the open

Glenbuck
21/01/2011, 9:07 PM
The ''All'' weather would be worse than the grass pitch because that freezes aswell. From what i have heard 90% of the pitch was ok but the part that was frozen was by the penalty box nearest the clubhouse which is shaded by trees.
Rockmount game should be going ahead, the pitch should be fine as its out in the open
Rockmount game went ahead after long inspection. 2 1 win for Mount. 2 penalaties either side of Midleton goal. No score at break. Not bad considering conditions. Both sides made a good effort at trying to get ball down and knock it around. Impressed by some of the play from a fairly young Midleton side.

Clifford
21/01/2011, 10:25 PM

Seconded. Bout time we got it back to the days of 07/08 when there was good, insightful stuff. (And me shouting from the roof tops about how awesome Mount were vs Razor for Avondale....how times change eh!)

Welcome, welcome everyone, if yer special branch or on the run....:ball:

Well done Clifford. Good to see ye put last weeks reverse behind ye. Keep it going. Big welcome waiting for your keeper in Whitechurch next season. Would be great to see him in the opposition goal.

Cheers Glenbuck. If he keeps the clean sheet as he did vs yee over Chrimbo in that friendly then all the better!! Fingers crossed. Another battle this week with our friends from Mallow. Who knows where this Div 1 is going, as with the Prem it could become a right good battle til the last weekend.

Reznik
22/01/2011, 8:54 AM

Exactly right Gobias that area of the pitch would get very little sunlight therefore no chance of any thaw. Anyone at da mount game? It seems they are back in the race now! Never really felt they were out of it in the first place.

Glenbuck
22/01/2011, 10:50 AM
Exactly right Gobias that area of the pitch would get very little sunlight therefore no chance of any thaw. Anyone at da mount game? It seems they are back in the race now! Never really felt they were out of it in the first place.
I was at the Mount match Reznik. Not a bad performance. Was impressed by a young Midleton side as well.

Goggs
22/01/2011, 12:05 PM
I was at the Mount match as well Ref gave 2 penalities to Rockmount which were justified Midleton stood up to their Bully boy tactics and took no **** off them.Howey was up to his old tricks again thwarting the Midleton bench with 2 minutes to go sticking up his fingers indicating the score 2-1 the Midleton management brought this to the attention of the linesman but nothing was done about it.The whistle blew and the manager approached Howey I thought all hell would break out but they shook hands and Howey scurried off.How long more are Rockmount going to condone this behaviour.It was a very enjoyable match but his actions left a sour taste in my mouth how the Midleton manager held his head I do not know.I wonder what Roy Kean thought of it all who was a keen observer last night

Glenbuck
22/01/2011, 12:50 PM
I was at the Mount match as well Ref gave 2 penalities to Rockmount which were justified Midleton stood up to their Bully boy tactics and took no **** off them.Howey was up to his old tricks again thwarting the Midleton bench with 2 minutes to go sticking up his fingers indicating the score 2-1 the Midleton management brought this to the attention of the linesman but nothing was done about it.The whistle blew and the manager approached Howey I thought all hell would break out but they shook hands and Howey scurried off.How long more are Rockmount going to condone this behaviour.It was a very enjoyable match but his actions left a sour taste in my mouth how the Midleton manager held his head I do not know.I wonder what Roy Kean thought of it all who was a keen observer last night
Bit of an over reaction I would think Goggs. Bully boy tactics ??? Think you are taking away from what was not a bad game of football in difficult conditions (a cold night and a just about playable pitch).Did you not hear someone on the Midleton line needlind Ken throughout (hope that was not you, ha ha). Ken and John Ryan would go back a long way. No badness there. No question of him losing his head either. As for Roy !! Ya he enjoyed it.As always.

Goggs
22/01/2011, 1:53 PM
I'm not taking anything away from the game Glenbuck I was to the right of the Midleton dugout I didnt hear any banter through out the game only in the last two minutes, maybe their is history their I don't know but this is my second time in 8 days being at a match in whitechurch and after last weeks game I thought their would be no more provoking all i'm saying is someone should take him aside and tell him concentrate on his football.

ringmahon4ever
22/01/2011, 3:15 PM
ringmahon beat cobh 3-1 :)

Glenbuck
22/01/2011, 3:33 PM
I'm not taking anything away from the game Glenbuck I was to the right of the Midleton dugout I didnt hear any banter through out the game only in the last two minutes, maybe their is history their I don't know but this is my second time in 8 days being at a match in whitechurch and after last weeks game I thought their would be no more provoking all i'm saying is someone should take him aside and tell him concentrate on his football.
I am not aware of any history there Goggs. I agree that Ken can be a bit bold when it comes to confrontation with opposing lines but there was definitley some barracking throughout. I thought the way they celebrated the equaliser that they had won the league. As for the Douglas game I think some of the reporting was a bit on the harsh side. See some of my previous posts.
Let he who is without sin throw the first stone.

Goggs
22/01/2011, 4:13 PM
Fair enough.There celebration for the goal was a bit excessive but as newcomers to the league i would put it down to excitement rater than malice as for the biblical side of things i certainly cant throw any stones.:D

Reznik
22/01/2011, 4:16 PM
I agree that Ken can be a bit bold when it comes to confrontation with opposing lines

Bold... Surely you dont really believe that the word bold justifies that fellows approach to the game. Disgraceful would be a better description. I understand glenbuck that you are a rockmount man but dont underestimate his behaviour.

Glenbuck
22/01/2011, 5:00 PM
Bold... Surely you dont really believe that the word bold justifies that fellows approach to the game. Disgraceful would be a better description. I understand glenbuck that you are a rockmount man but dont underestimate his behaviour.
As you can see I put the word bold in bold lettering. Listen Reznik I am a Rockmount man and have been most of my life but tell me this. Is he the only one or is it because he plays for Rockmount. I can go back a long time and name players whose behaviour on the pitch left a lot to be desired but everyone just got on with it and left it be... Not for one minute would I condone anyones behaviour but surely its the job of the officials to deal with it. But bottom line. He is some player.

villaman10
23/01/2011, 2:47 AM
reznick, shud of logged in fri afternoon before i drove to blarney!!!! u have d knowledge, so there i was with my son in toe, god bless my wife she needed a night off, game was called off, so i said...right i'll b true to my prediction and go to rockmount park and c mid win 2-1....... got there just in time to c midleton score, yeah for me 1-1 with 25 mins to go, den bang, prediction gone!! i cried and little bit of wee might of escaped!!! apart from that though, 2 sides tried their best to get the ball down and play ( despite billy cronin sayin KICK IT) think a draw a fair result, just a shame once again we are left talking bout kens behavior!!! his talent deserves a pedastal for what he has done for cork soccer, just a shame he is a k*&b

Clifford
23/01/2011, 12:15 PM
Fermoy 4-0 Mallow

We beat Mallow well this morning. Spotter in the first ten got us off and running, Kurt Wheeler buried it. Two more before half time from Graham Byrne ended it as a contest. An OG 15 into the sec half was the last score of the game.

Any news from the Leeds game?

ringmahon4ever
23/01/2011, 12:53 PM
Fermoy 4-0 Mallow

We beat Mallow well this morning. Spotter in the first ten got us off and running, Kurt Wheeler buried it. Two more before half time from Graham Byrne ended it as a contest. An OG 15 into the sec half was the last score of the game.

Any news from the Leeds game?
congrats..its one all.started at 12.30.the draw will do nicely :)

Billynomates
23/01/2011, 1:41 PM
one all in leeds game

Clifford
23/01/2011, 10:30 PM
Good draw indeed in the Leeds game. Two big games next Saturday. We're away to Casement and Ringmahon play Leeds at home.

Bring it on.

Goggs
24/01/2011, 8:45 AM
Ah el nino coro where have you been? I knew a good Howey rant would bring you back.You Mexicans were always knowen for your firey tempers.Question for you and it might open up a little debate.Who was/is the most unpopular player ever to play in the MSL.Ill give you my 3 Laurence [everton] Howey [Rockmount] Brendan o Connell{Rockmount}.

Reznik
24/01/2011, 12:13 PM
Ah el nino coro where have you been? I knew a good Howey rant would bring you back.You Mexicans were always knowen for your firey tempers.Question for you and it might open up a little debate.Who was/is the most unpopular player ever to play in the MSL.Ill give you my 3 Laurence [everton] Howey [Rockmount] Brendan o Connell{Rockmount}.

Heres my 3...

1. Howey
2. Ken Howey
3. That blonde fellow who plays with Rockmount that fights with everyone

Goggs
24/01/2011, 3:07 PM
And the 3 most popular
1 Moresey Douglas Hall
2 Dave Ahearn rockmount
3 Derek Slattery Fermoy

3 quality players who have been and still are a credit to the MSL

villaman10
24/01/2011, 5:33 PM
popular players goggs,
1 that blond fella who plays center midfield for midleton, been there for years always handles himself well hickey is his last name
2 beezer (with college cor's now used to play with crosshaven
3 hartigan

Reznik
24/01/2011, 6:10 PM
And the 3 most popular
1 Moresey Douglas Hall
2 Dave Ahearn rockmount
3 Derek Slattery Fermoy

3 quality players who have been and still are a credit to the MSL

Surely Pat Keane deserves a mention in this category... Ray O Leary arqueably the most underated player in the league for some time now

Bufc2010
24/01/2011, 6:41 PM
dave aherne is the man

Goggs
24/01/2011, 8:57 PM
Surely Pat Keane deserves a mention in this category... Ray O Leary arqueably the most underated player in the league for some time now
Yea I agree with Ray O Leary.Pat Kean overrated.

Glenbuck
24/01/2011, 9:38 PM
Yea I agree with Ray O Leary.Pat Kean overrated.
Ray is far from under rated. Every manager in lge would love to have him. Highly rated by all. As for Pat being over rated ?? The honours and his overall persona says it all.

mayfield utd
24/01/2011, 11:38 PM
Heres my 3...

1. Howey
2. Ken Howey
is your number 3 the tall centre back guy,i think they call him monty

Clifford
24/01/2011, 11:54 PM
Ever you say Goggs? In my life in MSL then....most popular...I played with some leg's back in the 90's. Half the lads here won't know one of em i reckon.

1. Wimmie Van Wijen (Cobh)
2. Billy Woods (Midleton)
3. Roy Cunningham (Mallow)
3. Seanie Hegarty (Too many too mention, is he still reffing?) - Now there's a man who makes Ken Hoey look like Mother Theresa.

code red
25/01/2011, 9:46 AM
Ray is far from under rated. Every manager in lge would love to have him. Highly rated by all. As for Pat being over rated ?? The honours and his overall persona says it all.

Fully agree Glenbuck.Ray O Leary has been and still is one of the top players around and as far as under rated goes, didn't he get a few Irish caps and he also captained the MSL as well when I was on it.Nice guy as well to go with that.
As for Pat Keane,he's a quality player and his medal count proves that.

jacksparrow
25/01/2011, 11:32 AM
totally agree ray is far from under rated.any manager and player alike would have him in there team..has consistintly been one of the best players in the msl..we all know wat these players are capable of doin, the likes of hoey,ray,moresy just to name a few but are there any younger players beginning to make there mark on the msl..

Reznik
25/01/2011, 11:43 AM
No im talking bout Howey aswell as number 3

AvondaleNutter
25/01/2011, 12:32 PM
Heres my 3...

1. Howey
2. Ken Howey

A "Blonde" moment there Mayfield Utd....

el nino coro
25/01/2011, 1:37 PM

Laptop was down for a while goggs,tough to pick a top 3 but heres my opinion anyway..... Hoey (rockmount) deccie o connell (hall) laurence toland (everton)..hoey and o connell have undoubted ability but surely the way they carry on constantly harrasing the ref, i once heard hoey say to a chap on the side line.."hear me what are you going to to about it" as regarding to a bad tackle on a player and to be quiet honest hoey wouldnt beat a child in a fight

Sparky
25/01/2011, 3:33 PM
As for the players you all don't like............are they worth mentioning and discussing? No. As for the players you like and respect I personally think there are too many to mention over the years and currently. The majority of Players in the MSL Premier Division are decent players with great attitudes - THAT'S WHY WE LOVE IT. The end for me, let's talk more football!

Glenbuck
25/01/2011, 5:15 PM
Ever you say Goggs? In my life in MSL then....most popular...I played with some leg's back in the 90's. Half the lads here won't know one of em i reckon.

1. Wimmie Van Wijen (Cobh)
2. Billy Woods (Midleton)
3. Roy Cunningham (Mallow)
3. Seanie Hegarty (Too many too mention, is he still reffing?) - Now there's a man who makes Ken Hoey look like Mother Theresa.
Throw Martin "Chucken" Higgins, Johnny Murray (Glasheen) and Jerry Butler (Temple) into the mix and we can talk.