View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 [53] 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

Clifford
22/10/2010, 10:37 PM
Leeds at home for Fermoy tomorrow in div one. Best of luck to both sides.

Clifford
22/10/2010, 10:40 PM
Corinthians game today was abandoned after 30 minutes as the Centre back had a very bad leg break, 3 breaks and a dislocated ankle, thanks very much to Fermoy as they were 2 0 up and they called the game off. Get well soon Ian from all at Corinthians.

Any news from Ian this week bud? Our lad who was carried off has had the worst cruciate tear possible and will be out for a year at the very least. Gutted for both lads.

Clifford
24/10/2010, 12:02 AM
Fermoy upset high flying Leeds today in Carrig Park. The champions elect came in hope of taking all three points but Fermoy were well on top and should have won by more. Leeds ended with 9 and Fermoy with ten after three straight reds. Finbarr got them all spot on in my opinion. Not often refs get praised, but he was good today. Fermoy scored three superb goals along the way.

ringmahon4ever
24/10/2010, 11:10 AM
champions elect ringmahon rangers :) :) went down to cobh and came away with the three points after a 3-2 win.great game.league is wide open

collcorforever
24/10/2010, 11:25 AM
Any news from Ian this week bud? Our lad who was carried off has had the worst cruciate tear possible and will be out for a year at the very least. Gutted for both lads.

Hi Clifford
Sorry to hear about your lad thats awful for him he will be a loss for ye, good player.
Ian had 3 breaks and a dislocated ankle he had to get a rod into his leg and he is back into hospital friday and may need another op to fix the other breaks!!out for over a year and out of work for a few months. We took out good insurance this year and he should be looked after.
Ill keep you posted on his rehab, great result for ye yesterday puts ye back into contention.

ball-hop
24/10/2010, 3:00 PM
Keane Cup Semi: Douglas Hall 1 (Graham McCarthy) Mayfield Utd. 0

collcorforever
24/10/2010, 8:30 PM
Corinthians 1 st Marys 1 (Marys won on pens) all 11 outfield players had to take one and Marys won it on there 12th Pen. good game and a draw was prob fair result shame to lose on Pens though.

Clifford
25/10/2010, 1:29 AM
champions elect ringmahon rangers :) :) went down to cobh and came away with the three points after a 3-2 win.great game.league is wide open

Exactly my point, my post was tongue in cheek at Southsider from a few weeks a go saying it was Leeds title. Tough tough league and it could go long into the season before a winner emerges

Clifford
25/10/2010, 1:32 AM
Hi Clifford
Sorry to hear about your lad thats awful for him he will be a loss for ye, good player.
Ian had 3 breaks and a dislocated ankle he had to get a rod into his leg and he is back into hospital friday and may need another op to fix the other breaks!!out for over a year and out of work for a few months. We took out good insurance this year and he should be looked after.
Ill keep you posted on his rehab, great result for ye yesterday puts ye back into contention.

Gutted for both of them. Winced yesterday everytime a Leeds player lunged at one of our lads. Not cos of the tackles, but cos of last weeks resulting injuries from innocuous tackles.

Unlucky in the cup, we have them next week in intermediate, any tips?

Southsider
25/10/2010, 12:10 PM
Exactly my point, my post was tongue in cheek at Southsider from a few weeks a go saying it was Leeds title. Tough tough league and it could go long into the season before a winner emerges
I still think Leeds look the strongest but i havent seen Fermoy yet. Great result for them yesterday blows everything wide open again. Bad result for us Saturday away to Mallow we could only manage a 1-1 draw. They scored with 5 mins left we just cant keep a clean sheet and in the meantime we waste to many chances. Long way to go yet :)

ringmahon4ever
25/10/2010, 4:35 PM
Ha Ha i know ya. im only havin a wind up with ya :bigsmile:.just amazing the way people are gettin so cocky all ready and were only half way through season.this league will go right down to the wire.4 or 5 teams have a chance unlike the premier section.

collcorforever
25/10/2010, 4:43 PM
Unlucky in the cup, we have them next week in intermediate, any tips?[/QUOTE]

No real tips, they are a good side but I cdertainly would not fear them, they are a small team a bit dodge at the back but have good pace up top. I would fancy ye do at least get a draw.
we have leeds saturday looking forward to that, who was sent off for them??

AvondaleNutter
26/10/2010, 12:04 PM
Ha Ha i know ya. im only havin a wind up with ya :bigsmile:.just amazing the way people are gettin so cocky all ready and were only half way through season.this league will go right down to the wire.4 or 5 teams have a chance unlike the premier section.

I wouldnt say that the premier league is a 1 or two horse race.. Think 4 teams have a chance here. Avondale seem to be finding their way, Everton look strong, Douglas Hall seem to be the team to beat and Rockmount as proven by Everton are not undefeatable. I wouldn't rule mayfield out either. Remains to be seen what UCC are like.

champagne
27/10/2010, 4:47 PM
rockmount vs douglas hall called off due to brendan o connell and KEN HOWIE on international duty

Any result from the Ireland France game today? They beat San Marino 2-0 and drew with Italy, but needed a win today to go through. Nothing yet on the FAI site about it.

skinny11
27/10/2010, 7:19 PM
keane cup final st marys vs douglas hall has been fixed for november 19th time tbc

champagne
27/10/2010, 8:12 PM
Any result from the Ireland France game today? They beat San Marino 2-0 and drew with Italy, but needed a win today to go through. Nothing yet on the FAI site about it.

3-0 Ireland. Howey played, O'Connell on the bench

Clifford
30/10/2010, 7:51 PM
How did Leeds v College go today? Any other scores?

Clifford
30/10/2010, 7:53 PM

No real tips, they are a good side but I cdertainly would not fear them, they are a small team a bit dodge at the back but have good pace up top. I would fancy ye do at least get a draw.
we have leeds saturday looking forward to that, who was sent off for them??[/QUOTE]

Sorry never got back to this, but didn't know either of the two sent off. Hope they didn't play today....

Clifford
30/10/2010, 7:54 PM

we have leeds saturday looking forward to that, who was sent off for them??[/QUOTE]

Sorry never got back to this, but didn't know either of the two sent off. Hope they didn't play today....

ball-hop
31/10/2010, 1:13 PM
Premier League - Douglas Hall 3 (Kevin Mul 2 and Deccie) Mayfield Utd.1.
0 all at half time, Podge made one particularly good save to keep it scoreless. Deccie headed the first goal and two fine strikes from Kevin secured the points. Mayfield scored with about 5 minutes to go.

mayfield utd
31/10/2010, 8:13 PM
Premier League - Douglas Hall 3 (Kevin Mul 2 and Deccie) Mayfield Utd.1.
0 all at half time, Podge made one particularly good save to keep it scoreless. Deccie headed the first goal and two fine strikes from Kevin secured the points. Mayfield scored with about 5 minutes to go.ya things not going the lads way lately,mayfield were the better in the 1st half the hall keep pulled off 2 great saves to keep it 0-0 at half time,the hall score 3 goals any half decent keeper would have saved (brosy had to go in goal after 2 minutes).kevin mull goals were decent strikes from distance but any half decent keeper would be expected to save them

skinny11
01/11/2010, 10:38 PM
but wasnt the mayfield keeper taking off with the same injury against the hall and the 2nd goal the hall scored was the same mistake as brosy made in the the semi final the week before . surely ye could of seen that happening . good team ye have just not much going forward but well orgainized

mayfield utd
01/11/2010, 10:57 PM
but wasnt the mayfield keeper taking off with the same injury against the hall and the 2nd goal the hall scored was the same mistake as brosy made in the the semi final the week before . surely ye could of seen that happening . good team ye have just not much going forward but well orgainizedya i think he was taking off with the same problem,don't know why the junior keeper wasn't asked to come up.your right we're lacking a goal scorer i think the lads up front are very good player but there not strikers more attacking midfielders/wingers,and by playing them up front we're weakening out attacking midfield options,it's hard to see where our goals or gonna come from this season

Southsider
03/11/2010, 1:43 PM
Were home to Ringmahon this week. Huge league game for us. A fella would say even a 6 pointer. We badly need a win at this stage. We should have won the first game against them but we wasted chances AGAIN. Hope the weather stays some bit reasonable...

ringmahon4ever
04/11/2010, 12:49 AM
Were home to Ringmahon this week. Huge league game for us. A fella would say even a 6 pointer. We badly need a win at this stage. We should have won the first game against them but we wasted chances AGAIN. Hope the weather stays some bit reasonable...
True that.ye missed some very easy goals.some be a good enough game.hopefully we keep up our good run in league

Clifford
05/11/2010, 10:09 PM
Are Ballincollig playing at their new ground? In the middle of the town I hear? Any help getting there for tomorrow?

Billynomates
06/11/2010, 9:38 AM
Are Ballincollig playing at their new ground? In the middle of the town I hear? Any help getting there for tomorrow?

Turn right at aldi as you head into the town from the city side. There is a turn to the right straight ahead of you then. You drive along the back of the gaa pitch along a dirt track and you will then see the pitch and dressing rooms.

Reznik
06/11/2010, 5:24 PM

I hear ye had a v.interesting game today! 3 down after 7mins and ye won 4-3! Some comeback!

skinny11
06/11/2010, 5:29 PM
douglas hall 4-0 carrigaline hall went two up after 15 minutes with goals from kevin mul, gaz and and nother strike from kev mul in the second half and strachan finishing it off

Clifford
06/11/2010, 5:42 PM
I hear ye had a v.interesting game today! 3 down after 7mins and ye won 4-3! Some comeback!

Thanks to billy for the directions - after seven mins I was cursing you for getting us there ha ha.

Yeah Rez. Three down inside seven and could have had one ourselves. Fair play to ballincollig. Put it right up us and deserved their lead. Three food goals cut us apart. Great reaction from us, were 3-2 down 15 before the half. Massive sec half, all our goals were super efforts.

Good day out in the end, points away from home and good spirit after horrible start. On we go.

Southsider
07/11/2010, 2:59 PM
Same ol story for Casement yesterday. Couldnt take our chances again. 0-0. How Ringmahon got something from this game is beyond me. They troubled us for 10 mins then we absolutely battered them after that. Had a stone wall pen turned down aswell. Back to the drawing board i suppose......

Reznik
07/11/2010, 9:41 PM
Thanks to billy for the directions - after seven mins I was cursing you for getting us there ha ha.

Yeah Rez. Three down inside seven and could have had one ourselves. Fair play to ballincollig. Put it right up us and deserved their lead. Three food goals cut us apart. Great reaction from us, were 3-2 down 15 before the half. Massive sec half, all our goals were super efforts.

Good day out in the end, points away from home and good spirit after horrible start. On we go.

Good Result alrite considering the circumstances. Would like to see ye get promoted! With the size of the town n with yer facilities it would be great to have a north cork side back in the big league! Will be a tough job because there is 5 teams in the league dat could go up! Best of luck though.

Clifford
09/11/2010, 12:26 PM
Good Result alrite considering the circumstances. Would like to see ye get promoted! With the size of the town n with yer facilities it would be great to have a north cork side back in the big league! Will be a tough job because there is 5 teams in the league dat could go up! Best of luck though.

Cheers, we're in a right tough division all right. As you say at least 5 can go up. I'm happy enough where we are cos we've not had a full panel to pick from yet with injuries and lads away. Maybe I'll never get a full squad, but if we do then we've great depth. The town would love to have top flight MSL football, it would be well acknowledged and appreciated. Fingers crossed, but a long way to go.

Loving being involved though, it's my first season at it. Good to be back, 1994 was the last time I was involved in the MSL before this season.

douglas local
11/11/2010, 8:24 PM
i hear the donegal 2 appeal by douglas hall has been thrown out by the mfa and will now head to the fai and maybe down the legal route after that if needed. must have loads of money in that club.

Bobby D
11/11/2010, 9:08 PM
Lads just looking for some info on Leeds were playing them in munster snr cup in a few weeks time.

Billynomates
12/11/2010, 8:10 AM
i hear the donegal 2 appeal by douglas hall has been thrown out by the mfa and will now head to the fai and maybe down the legal route after that if needed. must have loads of money in that club.

Whats this about?

ball-hop
12/11/2010, 8:43 AM
If this is true, and I haven't heard one way or the other, then it's not an issue of money. The club (any club) will do all it can to support the players and this is how it should be.
Clubs have to support and help their players all they can and this is a clear instance where money will not and never could be an issue.

skinny11
12/11/2010, 10:24 AM
the donegal 2 are kev mul and deccie o connel who were handed a 5 week ban from the mfa for not confirming they wouldnt be going to maichael ward in donegal evem though kev mul had told patsy freyne that he was injured and deccie had told patsy he couldnt make it due to work.

its a joke just like that msl committee we have . I know for a fact that one player only went because the msl said that if he goes they will reduce his violent conduct ban from 3 games to 0 games . the same year the previous player was call at 10 minutes before the bus left for galway for the mw cup and told the management he wasnt going did he get a ban .didnt think so.

ballsac7
12/11/2010, 11:59 AM
the donegal 2 are kev mul and deccie o connel who were handed a 5 week ban from the mfa for not confirming they wouldnt be going to maichael ward in donegal evem though kev mul had told patsy freyne that he was injured and deccie had told patsy he couldnt make it due to work.

its a joke just like that msl committee we have . I know for a fact that one player only went because the msl said that if he goes they will reduce his violent conduct ban from 3 games to 0 games . the same year the previous player was call at 10 minutes before the bus left for galway for the mw cup and told the management he wasnt going did he get a ban .didnt think so.

All clubs should stand 100% behind the two lads from Douglas - its an amateur level we are playing at, if you are injured that should be accepted at face value or if you have to work the MSL should realise that in the current climate work is more important. Are they going to pay your wages while you are up the country? I doubt it. Its always nice to be selected for one of these teams but nobody should be forced. The MSL need to make it more attractive for players to travel not hammer them.

archie
13/11/2010, 12:34 AM

I heard that all the players that were asked to go to Donegal had the clear option to decline the offer when asked, All those who could not travel for one reason or another told the managers in plenty of time, so they could make alternative arrangements to fill the panel, but seemingly these two players just didn't bother,and if I remember rightly,it's not the first time for one of these players. They should not be asked again and should count themselves lucky to get away with 5 weeks.
Any player asked to play for their league,county or country should be honored and proud to do so and if they are not available, should have the courtesy to let the management knowin plenty of time. The MSL look after all the players involved in their tournaments, Transport,Accommodation, food and even a few beers, and all thats asked in return is to wear the jersey with pride and give 100%. A lot of work goes on behind the scenes by people voluntarily giving of their time and efforts in clubs and leagues all over the country, Including those on the MSL committee, I don't know if you are involved in the running of a club Skinny 11, if you are you should know better than to listen to spoilt players who think only of themselve,and if you are not maybe it.s time you did, you might learn something.

Carpet
13/11/2010, 1:05 AM
your totally right ballsac7 as you say its amateur and i feel that the players already put in enough of their time at club level without heading to donegal for what is in all honesty a competition that is of no interest to 99% of the msl.players are juggling playing,work and families who cares if the msl pay for a few pints for them they are giving them 3 or 4 days for a mickey mouse tournament. archie you are way out of line with your comment about spoilt players who only think of themselves I'd guess you in no way can appreciate the time and effort given by players

ballsac7
13/11/2010, 9:50 AM
I heard that all the players that were asked to go to Donegal had the clear option to decline the offer when asked, All those who could not travel for one reason or another told the managers in plenty of time, so they could make alternative arrangements to fill the panel, but seemingly these two players just didn't bother,and if I remember rightly,it's not the first time for one of these players. They should not be asked again and should count themselves lucky to get away with 5 weeks.
Any player asked to play for their league,county or country should be honored and proud to do so and if they are not available, should have the courtesy to let the management knowin plenty of time. The MSL look after all the players involved in their tournaments, Transport,Accommodation, food and even a few beers, and all thats asked in return is to wear the jersey with pride and give 100%. A lot of work goes on behind the scenes by people voluntarily giving of their time and efforts in clubs and leagues all over the country, Including those on the MSL committee, I don't know if you are involved in the running of a club Skinny 11, if you are you should know better than to listen to spoilt players who think only of themselve,and if you are not maybe it.s time you did, you might learn something.

I think most players Archie put their clubs before the league - it seems like its always been that way & you know as well as I do that most players never appreciate the work that goes on behind the scenes but at the same time Carpet is right. We play at an amateur level, people have families, most have two parents working. Some players have work & don't know from one end of the week to the other what work is available. I think the MSL need to bring in clear rules regarding the selection of players for the MW Cup to avoid this happening in future.

archie
13/11/2010, 11:51 AM
your totally right ballsac7 as you say its amateur and i feel that the players already put in enough of their time at club level without heading to donegal for what is in all honesty a competition that is of no interest to 99% of the msl.players are juggling playing,work and families who cares if the msl pay for a few pints for them they are giving them 3 or 4 days for a mickey mouse tournament. archie you are way out of line with your comment about spoilt players who only think of themselves I'd guess you in no way can appreciate the time and effort given by players

Carpet, I'm looking at this from both sides of the fence, I played the game AND administered on a Committee at club level for over 20 years so I know the score, I'm not saying all players are spoilt but there are some in every club who just don't care as long as they get to play and won't put themselves out to help there club or league. OK, it might be a Micky mouse tournament to some but they can still get 20 players willing to play on the representative side and proud to do so,those who have not got the time to do so should just come out straight and say so and let the mentors plan with who they have. ballsac7,The FAI rule book clearly states: "Any player selected to play in any International or any other match arranged by the FAI OR IT'S AFFILIATES and who,WITHOUT GOOD AND SUFFICIENT CAUSE refuses to comply with the arrangements for playing of the match or fails to play in such match, May be adjudged to be guilty of misconduct, and such player or any club which may be deemed to have encouraged such player to misconduct, may be dealt with as the disciplinary bodies shall deem appropriate". Now, these two players got there suspensions and should hold their hands up and take it, their club appeals it so they can play while it's under appeal. Most clubs are struggling to raise funds at this time so the money spent for this appeal is a pure waste of club funds. It won't be reversed.Players like this should study the rules of the game and play by them or suffer the consequences, and stop clubs wasting valuable time and money. "It's a simple game made hard by players". Now I'm putting this to bed :)

skinny11
13/11/2010, 4:04 PM
so does being injured and have to work not good and sufficent cause . it doesnt say anywhere that they have to ring the management and confirm they are not going .so what about the the mayfield keeper , karl caulfield .ray o leary who also didnt go where is there suspension .and what about other events that happened in donegal .Wouldnt that also be considered alleged serious violent conduct archie

archie
13/11/2010, 4:41 PM
so does being injured and have to work not good and sufficient cause . it doesnt say anywhere that they have to ring the management and confirm they are not going .so what about the the mayfield keeper , karl caulfield .ray o leary who also didnt go where is there suspension .and what about other events that happened in donegal .Wouldnt that also be considered serious violent conduct archie

Look, of coarse injury or work commitments are sufficient but It's only out of courtesy that you let your management know as soon as possible, so they can make alternative arrangements, whether it be at club or representative level. (and three or four lads did this)These two lads just didn't bother,if it happened at club level I'm sure any manager worth his salt would drop them for the next game or two and then they might think twice before leaving their team mates and management guessing weather they'll turn up or not. It's all about being honest with your team mates and management. As for the alleged Donegal incident,I'm sure the FAI would have dealt with it if it were that serious, as it was their tournament.

Goggs
13/11/2010, 6:42 PM
Why didnt the msl stress the importance of this tournament if their handing out such severe suspenions. Only a handfull of players stayed in on the Saturday night before the crunch tie on the Sunday that doesnt sound organised nor respectful of the tournament to me. So why the casual approach on one hand by the msl and suspensions on the other it makes absolulte no sense what so ever.

skinny11
14/11/2010, 12:45 AM
As for the alleged incident which was seen by by nearly every1 there no action taken .Guess it really just depends on wether you play for rockmount or not

Carpet
14/11/2010, 2:12 AM
watch out skinny11 your at the stage when your comments will be blocked as you are telling the truth which isn't appreciated by some on this forum. i cant believe that archie wants club managers to suspend their own players over this, club managers should be giving these players the few pints they would of got in donegal from the generous msl in return for their players not wasting their time and risk of injury at this tournament. to go quoting FAI rules to amateur players when the association cant deal with players like stephen ireland and roy keane over the years is laughable.amateur players do enough for clubs with their time.i'd bet ray leary and karl caulfield are delighted they weren't there by the way why weren't two of the msl's best players there?

Long Throw
14/11/2010, 12:49 PM
Everton 1-3 Tramore (LGE)
Mayfield 2 - 0 Avondale (LGE)
Douglas Hall 2 - 1 Rockmount (MSC)

Goggs
14/11/2010, 1:23 PM
Tramore beating Everton big shock only a matter of time before Everton were found out. I was at Mayfield game Avondale were missing one or two but look a shadow of their former selfs.