View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 [50] 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

ringmahon4ever
29/08/2010, 2:07 PM
Ya Tramore are the talk of the place about that Hall match an utter disgrace was what one Senior League official said to me. Marky Sull is leaving Passage on a high,red card inside 10mins he's heading back to Avondale. James O Leary was the man who got injured broken leg by all accounts so there two big signings wont be much good to them this year.
John O Rourke gone from The Dale already John Cotter has taken on the job so all last years crew will be back.
Karl Caulfield is back with Casement so great to have him back with us.
dont think marky sull can sign back due to the two club rule..avondale are in serious trouble :cool:..serves them right

29/08/2010, 9:08 PM
avondale are in serious troubleyou can say that again, they were 2-1 up away to Temple at half time on Saturday when I left but eventually lost 3-2.

mayfield utd
29/08/2010, 9:35 PM
been a while since i've been on.our lads beat rockmount 3-2 in keane cup and were the better team,well done lads .can anyone tell me when does transfer window close is it end of this month or end of september

skinny11
30/08/2010, 5:34 PM
been a while since i've been on.our lads beat rockmount 3-2 in keane cup and were the better team,well done lads .can anyone tell me when does transfer window close is it end of this month or end of september

that was a great result for mayfield did rockmount have a full team out .transfer windows closes tomorrow 31 st august if i have been told correctly

skinny11
30/08/2010, 5:35 PM
Game Date Home Team Away Team Kick Off Referee Ground
2010-09-02 Casement Celtic Douglas Hall 6.30pm J. Lyne Casement Park
2010-09-02 St Marys Carrigaline Utd 6.30pm R. Murphy St Marys Park
2010-09-02 Mayfield Utd Everton 6.30pm T. Long Mayfield Park
2010-09-02 Youghal Utd College Corinthians 7.30pm D. Deady Adrath Park

Southsider
30/08/2010, 8:09 PM
dont think marky sull can sign back due to the two club rule..avondale are in serious trouble :cool:..serves them right
You can play with 3 clubs,so it was Avondale Cork City and Passage. Avondale or City are the only teams he can leave Passage otherwise it would be 4 clubs and thats not allowed. Looking forward to Thursday night its been awhile since we have been in the latter stages oof the Keane Cup. We'll be well up against it but we'll give it a go and ud never know:)

mayfield utd
30/08/2010, 8:12 PM
that was a great result for mayfield did rockmount have a full team out .transfer windows closes tomorrow 31 st august if i have been told correctly

ya near enough full team think 1 or 2 were missing,to be honest i couldn't tell ya which is there strongest team,the guys on the bench or just as good as the starting 11,there spoil for choice up there

Footballer
31/08/2010, 8:38 AM
Rockmount had 12 players but 12 good players. Mayfield got 2 goals in the last 12 minutes. Rockmount were well in control before the equalizer. Howey very impressive for Mayfield.
Rockmount hit the crossbar on a one on one 3/4 minutes to go.
2 big players missing for Mayfield, Triggs & their centre back. Howey, Hughes, Gaffney, Butt, Darren O' Riordan, Aidan o 'Mahony, missing for Rockmount + a few new signing who I wouldn't know.

mayfield utd
01/09/2010, 10:30 AM
Rockmount had 12 players but 12 good players. Mayfield got 2 goals in the last 12 minutes. Rockmount were well in control before the equalizer. Howey very impressive for Mayfield.
Rockmount hit the crossbar on a one on one 3/4 minutes to go.
2 big players missing for Mayfield, Triggs & their centre back. Howey, Hughes, Gaffney, Butt, Darren O' Riordan, Aidan o 'Mahony, missing for Rockmount + a few new signing who I wouldn't know.
barry triggs and dave kiely missing for mayfield think there on holidays,howey was missing cos of red card in the last game,aidan o mahony missed 2nd half of last season and i don't think his played any games this season so who knows if his even signed with the club

ball-hop
02/09/2010, 8:13 PM
Douglas Hall 1 Casement Celtic 0.
Mark Murphy scored an early goal for the 'Hall. Hall had the better of the first half, but Casement had the upper hand in the second. They were most unlucky not to get an equaliser, one great chance slipping away. Hall held on and progress to the semi.

Clifford
02/09/2010, 9:19 PM
Good luck to all involved in the season starting this weekend. Hope nobody objects if we keep the Prem and Div one in this thread as there ain't too many in the other thread.

What you think Razor, want to delete the Div 1 thread and leave this as an MSL in general? No bothers either way.

Home to Ballincollig for us in Fermoy. Bring it on, waiting the bones of 3 months for this to begin.

Del Trotter
04/09/2010, 8:49 PM
Sorry guys I know this isn't right forum, but in the 2nd Division Pat Downey has resigned as Garryduff manager due to the lack of players. They could only get 5 players out training last week.

Lads anybody have an update on Garryduff, I see they didn't enter Keane Cup, no fixture this week and no fixture next week?
Are they getting special treatment from MSL?

Long Throw
05/09/2010, 1:38 PM
Everton 1-0 Blarney
Marys 0-2 Rockmount
'Dale 6-2 Tramore
'Hall 3-0 Midleton

Clifford
05/09/2010, 2:28 PM
Welcome to the Prem division then Tramore and Midleton, I thought Dale were on their knees? All changes when the season comes about eh?!

Fermoy beat Ballincollig 4-1 in a tough encounter. Young game Ballincollig team were eventually beaten, but fought a good fight. Fermoy could have had more, but will take it as a starting result.

ball-hop
05/09/2010, 3:14 PM
Hall scorers were Mark Murphy (again!!), Kevin Mul, and Deccie from a spotter.

AvondaleNutter
05/09/2010, 6:22 PM
Avondale 6 Tramore 2. 2 from spratty, 2 from Micheal Doody, and a goal each from kenny bruton and beezer. will be a long season for Tramore, can't really say how good avondale were considering tramore were so poor, but its a winning start at least.

ballsac7
05/09/2010, 9:01 PM
Went to watch Carrigaline this morning, 0-0 with Crosshaven. Hard to see Carrig winning title they never once troubled a very young looking Crosshaven team who were quiet impressive considering they were cleaned out player wise by Corinthians.

Southsider
06/09/2010, 1:34 PM
Casement 3-3 Corinthians. Great game for a neutral. We were 2 down after 30 mins and all 3 subs used aswell with 2 nasty knee injuries. Got 1 back before the break and scored again not long after the restart. 4 mins left we go 3-2 up but with 1 min to go Corinthians levelled. We handed the 3 goals to them so plenty of work to be done defensively. A point was a fair result. Donie Ford this week at home to Midleton.

champagne
06/09/2010, 2:36 PM
Good win for Leeds away to Cobh Wanderers (6-1). Anyone at the game?

Southsider, is Karl Caulfield playing for you this year? Saw hime a while back with Avondale, great ball player.

ball-hop
06/09/2010, 3:24 PM
Karl Caulfield came on as a sub for Casement in the Keane Cup match - very effective in the centre of midfield. Fine player.

Sparky
06/09/2010, 3:55 PM
Wanderers have lost majority of 1st team from last year. Most gone to Springfield Juniors and few gone to Midleton Seniors. They will 'probably' struggle this season. I suppose Leeds still have to put the ball in the net so fair play for scoring 6.

Southsider
08/09/2010, 8:59 PM
Southsider, is Karl Caulfield playing for you this year? Saw hime a while back with Avondale, great ball player.
Ya hes back again. Super signing. Hes one of the top midfielders when fully fit in the Senior league so great to have him back. He would be a great addition for any Premier team so were over the moon to have him with us.

AvondaleNutter
08/09/2010, 9:04 PM

Marky Sull is signed with Avondale, suspended at the moment. Think Avondale have dug themselves out of a hole with the appointment of John Cotter and Damo O'Connell as Asst. Still very strong squad there with Dave the Save Back, Micheál Kiernan, Hoggy, Spratty, Mucky, Kenny Bruton, Cotts and young Player Called Doody.

Heard over the weekend that Jammer from Ringmahon has signed, not sure if this is true. Can you shed some light Ringmahon4ever?

johhny g
08/09/2010, 9:14 PM
:(we have lost 6 or 7 from last seasons starting xi,will do well to stay up.the game was played in leeds pk,was 1 apiece at ht,then a complete collaspe in the second gave leeds 2 pens and 2 very soft goals.

offside rule
09/09/2010, 7:41 AM
Cobh Wanderer's have basically lost there whole team from last Season. Players became unhappy with way previous management was handled and left club, then the late appointment of new manager and then his stepping down left the club in an awful state.
7/8 players have gone to local club Springfield(senior team in AUL), 2players went to Ramblers, 2players to Midleton, 1player to Mayfield and 1player to Avondale(I think!). From what I know only 2/3 players left at club from last year's Snr Squad. They have a lot of players who have stepped up from their Junior team to make up a squad.
Very inexperienced team and management for MSL Snr 1st didvision, could well struggle this year. Wish them all the best!!!

champagne
09/09/2010, 9:33 AM
:(we have lost 6 or 7 from last seasons starting xi,will do well to stay up.the game was played in leeds pk,was 1 apiece at ht,then a complete collaspe in the second gave leeds 2 pens and 2 very soft goals.

How are Leeds looking this year? Apart from Wanderers gifting them a few goals?

ringmahon4ever
09/09/2010, 4:30 PM
yeah jammer is gone to the opposite side of parish to ye ha ha.was injured all pre season so didnt play.he wont last long up in avondale.
Marky Sull is signed with Avondale, suspended at the moment. Think Avondale have dug themselves out of a hole with the appointment of John Cotter and Damo O'Connell as Asst. Still very strong squad there with Dave the Save Back, Micheál Kiernan, Hoggy, Spratty, Mucky, Kenny Bruton, Cotts and young Player Called Doody.

Heard over the weekend that Jammer from Ringmahon has signed, not sure if this is true. Can you shed some light Ringmahon4ever?

mayfield utd
10/09/2010, 3:32 PM
yeah jammer is gone to the opposite side of parish to ye ha ha.was injured all pre season so didnt play.he wont last long up in avondale.why won't he last long i seen him play when he was up with mayfield for a season good ball player and since avondale or a good football team he should fit in well

AvondaleNutter
10/09/2010, 3:41 PM
why won't he last long i seen him play when he was up with mayfield for a season good ball player and since avondale or a good football team he should fit in well

Ya i don't see why he won't last there either. Think he lost his way down in Ringmahon and with good players around, im sure they'll bring out the best in him. I think he's made the right move if he wants to get his career back on track.

Think its sour grapes from Ringmahon4ever

johhny g
10/09/2010, 10:09 PM
hey champagne, i dont think they will be strong enough to get promotion but they will have a say in who goes up as they will be fairly strong at home.we also played them in the midleton tournement pre season (lost 4-1) but that was not a true reflection on the game as we went to sleep for the last 20 but were well able to match them up till then.

Bodie
11/09/2010, 7:36 PM
anybody know why Garryduff have no game yet this season?

Apparantly they have no team so like last year when they fell apart midseason the MSL have given them time to get themselves together

Would any other team be afforded this luxury?

I hear Crofton applied for senior status surely they as an honest club deserve to replace a garryduff team who were twice caught fielding illegal players last year?

What do ye think???

Sparky
12/09/2010, 1:53 PM
Avondale 0-0 Everton. Everton had man sent off with ten mins left and Referee awarded blatent penalty. Mark Sull for Avondale with post and came back out. Finished 0-0.

AvondaleNutter
12/09/2010, 2:39 PM
avondale nil all with everton. very few chances created. everton had a man sent off for an intentional hand ball and marky sull missed the resulting penalty. avondale are struggling to get the players john o'rourke brought with him, off the form as they no longer want to play for avondale. that rule of 23 players is a joke, its not as if it professional or anything. i think clubs should get together and vote on that rule and hopefully get it abolished.

ringmahon4ever
12/09/2010, 3:14 PM
but you can remove a player from the form once he sighns a form and then register a new player.
avondale nil all with everton. very few chances created. everton had a man sent off for an intentional hand ball and marky sull missed the resulting penalty. avondale are struggling to get the players john o'rourke brought with him, off the form as they no longer want to play for avondale. that rule of 23 players is a joke, its not as if it professional or anything. i think clubs should get together and vote on that rule and hopefully get it abolished.

AvondaleNutter
12/09/2010, 7:19 PM
but you can remove a player from the form once he sighns a form and then register a new player.
yes but you have to wait for that player to find another club and get a transfer or else your stuck with that player for the season on your form. I just think its a silly rule

Southsider
12/09/2010, 7:28 PM
yes but you have to wait for that player to find another club and get a transfer or else your stuck with that player for the season on your form. I just think its a silly rule
No you dont if a player just doesnt wanna play anymore you can take him off your form its the choice of a club we did it so there shoudnt be a problem. We lost 2-0 yesterday against Midleton we were very poor. Hpoefully we pick up 3 points next week versus Ballincollig. Fingers crossed.

collcorforever
12/09/2010, 7:56 PM
We beat Ringmahon today 3-1, we were one down at half time and came back well to win. Ringmahon were good and it could have went either way but we edged it.

AvondaleNutter
12/09/2010, 8:39 PM
No you dont if a player just doesnt wanna play anymore you can take him off your form its the choice of a club we did it so there shoudnt be a problem. We lost 2-0 yesterday against Midleton we were very poor. Hpoefully we pick up 3 points next week versus Ballincollig. Fingers crossed.

i wasn't aware of that. i was led to believe that a player had to transfer or else emigrate to get him off the form. Is it just a matter of contactin the MSL to say you want a player removed so?

ringmahon4ever
13/09/2010, 1:31 PM
yeah ye had the better of the second.we came out dead in second half. .keeper made bad mistakes and it was a stupid sending off.our captain went off with a very bad ankle injury from that tackle.yere striker beezer shoudnt be left any space cause he can punish teams in two seconds.
We beat Ringmahon today 3-1, we were one down at half time and came back well to win. Ringmahon were good and it could have went either way but we edged it.

ringmahon4ever
13/09/2010, 1:32 PM
i wasn't aware of that. i was led to believe that a player had to transfer or else emigrate to get him off the form. Is it just a matter of contactin the MSL to say you want a player removed so?
once you write a letter and get a player to sign it he can be removed.make spaces available on form then

ringmahon4ever
13/09/2010, 2:36 PM
why won't he last long i seen him play when he was up with mayfield for a season good ball player and since avondale or a good football team he should fit in well

if his injuries keep comeing back it be very hard.especially comeing into the winter

Sparky
15/09/2010, 6:27 PM
Nothing stands out in Intermediate Cup draw although Rockmount v's Mayfield could be a good game. Let's hope it comes South this year and back to Cork.

Del Trotter
15/09/2010, 8:05 PM
Yeah, I can confirm we applied but we were turned down because we hadn't done enough in Juniors leagues!!! We explained that its hard to attract good players when your playing in a crap league. What surprised us was there comment that the second division is not limited to 10 teams so watch this space for some new arrivals in the next couple of years.

Shilts
16/09/2010, 2:59 PM
Garryduff-gate continues it seems.

There are plenty of clubs in Cork who are more worthy of a place in the MSL than Garryduff or whatever they are called this week.
Crofton have a much better tradition and history and should be helped to get back senior where they belong, as an addition to, or at the expense of Garryduff.

Also, there are many AUL clubs waiting for the 5 year ceasefire between the MSL and AUL to end. (No movement allowed between AUL and MSL for 5 years - what is the footballing reason for this?).

The MSL and the AUL should organise a promotion/relegation between the MSL Div 2 and the AUL Premier. (Criteria for facilities could be outlined in advance)

Leeside, Grattan, Kinsale, Wilton and Park Utd from Mitchelstown would all hold their own in the MSL Div 1 or higher and deserve their chance to step up. Bureaucracy should not keep good players down or poor teams up (eg. Garryduff).

Some people will remember that the top MSL clubs such as Rockmount, Blarney, St. Marys, Avondale and Douglas Hall all originally came from the AUL.
There should be a route for this trend to continue or has it become an old boys club now?

ballsac7
16/09/2010, 3:28 PM
Garryduff-gate continues it seems.

There are plenty of clubs in Cork who are more worthy of a place in the MSL than Garryduff or whatever they are called this week.
Crofton have a much better tradition and history and should be helped to get back senior where they belong, as an addition to, or at the expense of Garryduff.

Also, there are many AUL clubs waiting for the 5 year ceasefire between the MSL and AUL to end. (No movement allowed between AUL and MSL for 5 years - what is the footballing reason for this?).

The MSL and the AUL should organise a promotion/relegation between the MSL Div 2 and the AUL Premier. (Criteria for facilities could be outlined in advance)

Leeside, Grattan, Kinsale, Wilton and Park Utd from Mitchelstown would all hold their own in the MSL Div 1 or higher and deserve their chance to step up. Bureaucracy should not keep good players down or poor teams up (eg. Garryduff).

Some people will remember that the top MSL clubs such as Rockmount, Blarney, St. Marys, Avondale and Douglas Hall all originally came from the AUL.
There should be a route for this trend to continue or has it become an old boys club now?

One of the main reason clubs haven't been allowed into the MSL previously was due to facilities & not footballing abillity. Granted some AUL sides are now getting their act together but nobody in the Senior league wants to be relegated back to the days of getting changed on the side of the pitch.

Shilts
17/09/2010, 11:59 AM
One of the main reason clubs haven't been allowed into the MSL previously was due to facilities & not footballing abillity. Granted some AUL sides are now getting their act together but nobody in the Senior league wants to be relegated back to the days of getting changed on the side of the pitch.

Haha!
Nobody in the AUL Premier Division gets changed al fresco anymore.
It's all gone very posh! :o

Anyway, if you're not good enough to play senior you should get shipped out.
You shouldn't be allowed to hang onto your senior status just because you've been there for years.
Footballing ability has to be the major factor in deciding who are the senior clubs.

For example - The Barrs (former All Ireland club football winners) lost their senior status a few years back - roughed it Intermediate for a year and came back up to the senior ranks, based on their results.

But Kinsale who have won 5 AUL Premier titles in 8 years can't get 'promoted' and far inferior MSL Div 2 teams can't get 'relegated'.

To me that is unfair and doesn't promote an ethos of competitiveness in some clubs.
Could you imagine the relegation battle at the bottom of Div 2 if the losers were to get moved on to the AUL.
Now that would be competitive :D

rebelraider
17/09/2010, 5:21 PM
Ya i don't see why he won't last there either. Think he lost his way down in Ringmahon and with good players around, im sure they'll bring out the best in him. I think he's made the right move if he wants to get his career back on track.

Think its sour grapes from Ringmahon4ever

I dont think its sour grapes,if things dont go jammers way he can be a bad influence,imo Chris Fox is a better player

Duster Bouglas
17/09/2010, 7:48 PM
Haha!
Nobody in the AUL Premier Division gets changed al fresco anymore.
It's all gone very posh! :o

Anyway, if you're not good enough to play senior you should get shipped out.
You shouldn't be allowed to hang onto your senior status just because you've been there for years.
Footballing ability has to be the major factor in deciding who are the senior clubs.

For example - The Barrs (former All Ireland club football winners) lost their senior status a few years back - roughed it Intermediate for a year and came back up to the senior ranks, based on their results.

But Kinsale who have won 5 AUL Premier titles in 8 years can't get 'promoted' and far inferior MSL Div 2 teams can't get 'relegated'.

To me that is unfair and doesn't promote an ethos of competitiveness in some clubs.
Could you imagine the relegation battle at the bottom of Div 2 if the losers were to get moved on to the AUL.
Now that would be competitive :D

That will never happen the 2 leagues would have to amalgamate and currently the MSL and AUL probably have 4 or 5 representatives each on various FAI committees for which they get travel expenses for meeetings, freebie international tickets and various other add ons. So which 5 are going to give up their goodies? Answer is none.
These guys are like politicians in it for themselves and what they can get.

17/09/2010, 9:37 PM
Blarney Utd 0-1 Avondale Utd tonight
Marky Sull in the second half

Also heard tonight that Karl Caulfield has signed for Avondale.

Shinguard
17/09/2010, 9:54 PM
Rockmount 0-0 Everton. Game abandoned after 20 minutes. Flood lights didn't work. Officials still took the full match fee having started the game knowing that Rockmount had a problem with the lights. Disgraceful !!