View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 [45] 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

Duster Bouglas
31/01/2010, 11:56 AM
Duster you seem to know an awful lot about Garryduff?? were or are you involved with them???

No never involved with them, but I know some lads that were. I have contact with one of the players still there. Hence I get all the up to date news and confirm my info.

AvondaleNutter
01/02/2010, 5:20 PM
Thank god that rubbish with the paying players is put to bed. Clubs can barely make enough to survive not alone pay their players...

So any transfers???? Only thing in Avondale is that Andrew Goulding has re-signed from Garryduff. Was with us at the start of the season but left, as far as i know he had to leave Garryduff and had no option but to return to Avondale due to the 2 clubs in one season rule.

Southsider
01/02/2010, 6:25 PM
Its against the rules of Msl to poach players who are signed with other clubs - preseason is fine but you cannot approach a player midseason. No doubt it goes on but under league rules a player must look for the transfer.

Rules are rules my friend doesnt mean everyone plays by them. It goes on wholesale and in my opinon every club is guilty of it at some stage in a season.

Duster Bouglas
02/02/2010, 9:26 PM
I agree that every club does it but it doesn't make it right.

ringmahon4ever
02/02/2010, 11:27 PM
the top teams are more guilty then anyone.if the gaa rule was in soccer i wonder how many would survive.play for the team thats in your parish. doubt avondale would survive

AvondaleNutter
03/02/2010, 8:23 AM
the top teams are more guilty then anyone.if the gaa rule was in soccer i wonder how many would survive.play for the team thats in your parish. doubt avondale would survive

Avondale wouldn't be as good, fact.

For me personally, I would prefere to see a team of blackrock/ballintemple based players, players from these areas might be more willing to contribute more to the club if the majority of the players were from the area..

But then Avondale could become a mediocre team like Ringmahon.

Shinguard
03/02/2010, 3:05 PM
Avondale wouldn't be as good, fact.

For me personally, I would prefere to see a team of blackrock/ballintemple based players, players from these areas might be more willing to contribute more to the club if the majority of the players were from the area..

But then Avondale could become a mediocre team like Ringmahon.To call Ringmahon Rangers mediocre is a very unfair comment about a club with very long history and a record amount of Munster Senior League titles. At least they play players from their own locality and don't trawl the city and county like Avondale to creat the Avonadale All Stars. Avondale are without doubt the master poachers.

AvondaleNutter
03/02/2010, 3:26 PM
To call Ringmahon Rangers mediocre is a very unfair comment about a club with very long history and a record amount of Munster Senior League titles. At least they play players from their own locality and don't trawl the city and county like Avondale to creat the Avonadale All Stars. Avondale are without doubt the master poachers.

First of All shinguard i was taking the mickey, i was having a pop off Ringmahon 4 ever because he had a pop off Avondale, just a little bit of banter. Second of all I would personally prefere Avondale to be more like a 'Club' like Ringmahon. Thirdly Avondale would survive despite Ringmahon 4 Ever doubting this. Fourtly its tough for Avondale to keep on to players from their locality when their pitch is in Carrigaline and this is no fault of their own, they just dont have the funds to move back to its origin. If they had a pitch in their own locality then i'm sure Avondale would have a very strong team based soley on local players. They are more or less forced to ask players from other areas of cork to play for them.

Its grand for the likes of Douglas Hall, Ringmahon, Mayfield etc to build a team on home based players as their pitches are local. Most of Avondales schoolboys will pick Gaelic, Hurling or Rugby over Football when reach Youth level due to the clubs being in close proximity to their homes.

Would you agree shinguard?

Southsider
03/02/2010, 8:41 PM
Ya Bodie. 2nd division will be very tight. Anyone of 4 teams could win it. Obviously promotion was our aim at the start of the season but we will be looking to win it after our good start. Were extremely solid at the back conceding 3 goals in 9 league games but on the other hand were not scoring many 14 goals either. Our problem all season is not punishing teams after going in front and then putting ourselves under pressure by being only a goal up......

Shinguard
03/02/2010, 8:54 PM
First of All shinguard i was taking the mickey, i was having a pop off Ringmahon 4 ever because he had a pop off Avondale, just a little bit of banter. Second of all I would personally prefere Avondale to be more like a 'Club' like Ringmahon. Thirdly Avondale would survive despite Ringmahon 4 Ever doubting this. Fourtly its tough for Avondale to keep on to players from their locality when their pitch is in Carrigaline and this is no fault of their own, they just dont have the funds to move back to its origin. If they had a pitch in their own locality then i'm sure Avondale would have a very strong team based soley on local players. They are more or less forced to ask players from other areas of cork to play for them.

Its grand for the likes of Douglas Hall, Ringmahon, Mayfield etc to build a team on home based players as their pitches are local. Most of Avondales schoolboys will pick Gaelic, Hurling or Rugby over Football when reach Youth level due to the clubs being in close proximity to their homes.

Would you agree shinguard?I agree

ringmahon4ever
04/02/2010, 12:52 PM
i dont think you can blame the gaa and rugby as an excuse.every club has gotta deal with that.st michaels/blackrock built massive grounds right next to us but we just got on with it.i think personally myself there should be some rule there.

Onefootednopace
05/02/2010, 8:31 AM
Anyone here know if this fixture is going ahead tonight? Blarney had a problem with their floodlights during the week, only managed to play 40-45 minutes of a friendly v Limerick City on Tuesday night due to floodlight failure.

Silly Billy G
05/02/2010, 10:55 AM
Anyone here know if this fixture is going ahead tonight? Blarney had a problem with their floodlights during the week, only managed to play 40-45 minutes of a friendly v Limerick City on Tuesday night due to floodlight failure.

On alright, fingers crossed they dont fail again !

Onefootednopace
05/02/2010, 11:59 AM
On alright, fingers crossed they dont fail again !

Thanks, might pop over there for a look.

Silly Billy G
05/02/2010, 3:33 PM
Thanks, might pop over there for a look.

Its on the Astro apparently.

Onefootednopace
05/02/2010, 3:52 PM
Its on the Astro apparently.

Thanks for that Billy G

08/02/2010, 1:27 PM
Ballincolig 1-3 Avondale Utd on saturday afternoon
Dale were 1up and seemingly coasting but could not get a 2nd
Then an awful mistake at the back allowed the Collig in for an equaliser.
Collig looked to be heading for their first point of the season but Dale wore them down and scored twice n the last 10 minutes.

Shinguard
09/02/2010, 9:00 PM
Blarney United 0-3 UCC. UCC fully deserved their win and also had the luxury of missing a penalty. They were 2 up at the interval and coasted through the rest of the game, scoring a third goal with 15 minutes remaining.

Silly Billy G
10/02/2010, 9:12 AM
Blarney United 0-3 UCC. UCC fully deserved their win and also had the luxury of missing a penalty. They were 2 up at the interval and coasted through the rest of the game, scoring a third goal with 15 minutes remaining.

Fair shock there. UCC have rockmount this weekend too so will see how they fare there.

ballsac7
10/02/2010, 8:53 PM
Ya Bodie. 2nd division will be very tight. Anyone of 4 teams could win it. Obviously promotion was our aim at the start of the season but we will be looking to win it after our good start. Were extremely solid at the back conceding 3 goals in 9 league games but on the other hand were not scoring many 14 goals either. Our problem all season is not punishing teams after going in front and then putting ourselves under pressure by being only a goal up......

Heard Crosshaven have a protest against Casement after the away game ten days ago...........whats going on there Southsider?

Southsider
12/02/2010, 6:59 PM
Heard Crosshaven have a protest against Casement after the away game ten days ago...........whats going on there Southsider?
Ya its true There saying we used someone who wasnt at the match so in other words an illegal player. As if we would i mean come on like 12 kick off on a sunday afternoon 1st against 2nd. Why on earth would we do something so stupid. 2 Senior league officals at the match and we also knew the Echo were coming out. It did say on the echo a player was used but he didnt come on but he was togged out and there saying he was not even there, There clutching at straws cause ther out of the title run.......... Very frustrating.........

archie
12/02/2010, 11:10 PM
Ya its true There saying we used someone who wasnt at the match so in other words an illegal player. As if we would i mean come on like 12 kick off on a sunday afternoon 1st against 2nd. Why on earth would we do something so stupid. 2 Senior league officals at the match and we also knew the Echo were coming out. It did say on the echo a player was used but he didnt come on but he was togged out and there saying he was not even there, There clutching at straws cause ther out of the title run.......... Very frustrating.........

Out of the title race eh?
League table suggests otherwise, points on the board.
12-2-10
Crosshaven 25 pts
Casement 23
Ballinhassig 22
Carrigaline 19
Cit 16

ballsac7
13/02/2010, 7:38 AM
Out of the title race eh?
League table suggests otherwise, points on the board.
12-2-10
Crosshaven 25 pts
Casement 23
Ballinhassig 22
Carrigaline 19
Cit 16

Obviously Crosshaven beat Carrigaline last night so?
That should be an interesting meeting with the League so Southsider.

Southsider
13/02/2010, 8:31 AM
Walkover against Lakewood so were back on top by a point 2 games in hand. I mean this now if Crosshaven get a result from this meeting im calling it a day in Senior League.

ballsac7
13/02/2010, 10:56 AM
Walkover against Lakewood so were back on top by a point 2 games in hand. I mean this now if Crosshaven get a result from this meeting im calling it a day in Senior League.

Well if Casement did everything by the book then ye'll have nothing to worry about.

Billynomates
13/02/2010, 12:36 PM
Roackmount beat Ucc 1-0. Ross o callaghan goal.

ringmahon4ever
13/02/2010, 12:54 PM
ringmahon and mayfield off in the morn

13/02/2010, 3:00 PM
Roackmount beat Ucc 1-0. Ross o callaghan goal.
I arrived down for a few minutes in the 2nd half, heard the goal was an o.g.

Duster Bouglas
13/02/2010, 3:12 PM

Why did Lakewood give a walkover?

Billynomates
13/02/2010, 4:21 PM
I arrived down for a few minutes in the 2nd half, heard the goal was an o.g.

Could of been. It was a scrapy goal

Billynomates
13/02/2010, 4:26 PM
Mayfield Ringmahon game off tomorrow due to a bereavement with mayfield

13/02/2010, 6:06 PM
Avondale Utd 0-0 Blarney Utd

Long Throw
13/02/2010, 8:59 PM
Ballincollig 0 - 6 Douglas Hall

Shinguard
14/02/2010, 9:23 AM
Avondale Utd 0-0 Blarney UtdThis was probably one of the worst games played in Avondale Park for a long time. Blarney's goalkeeper was not the regular keeper but a GAA keeper and he injured himself after ten minutes. Yet he didn't have a single shot to save all afternoon. At least 4 of the Blarney team badly need some training. The Blarney team looked unfit anyway. They seemed to be happy with a point. Where is the ambition gone ? If either of these teams think that are going to catch Rockmount they better think again because on this performance Rockmount will be winning the league for the next 10 years.

Duster Bouglas
14/02/2010, 3:41 PM
Anybody know whats the story of the incident after a premier game during the week, heard player struck by opposition team official

14/02/2010, 7:59 PM
Anybody know whats the story of the incident after a premier game during the week, heard player struck by opposition team officialI heard the story and that there was extreme provocation but i'm not sure naming names on here would benefit the situation.

Southsider
19/02/2010, 1:35 PM
Why did Lakewood give a walkover?

They couldnt field a team. Objection from Crosshaven was thrown straight out the door tuesday night. A complete waste of everyones time and Crosshavens money. Huge game again for us Saturday home to Ballinhassig. Should be a good one........

ballsac7
19/02/2010, 3:22 PM
They couldnt field a team. Objection from Crosshaven was thrown straight out the door tuesday night. A complete waste of everyones time and Crosshavens money. Huge game again for us Saturday home to Ballinhassig. Should be a good one........

Did ye lose a few players?

Duster Bouglas
19/02/2010, 10:33 PM

I see Garryduff beat CIT last week 2-1, this fixture was originally called off because Garryduuff couldn't field a team. Lakewood weren't afforded the same luxury by the MSL as Garryduff. Garryduffs fairy godfather within the MSL strikes again.

ball-hop
20/02/2010, 3:59 PM
Douglas Hall 1 (Gary Drennan_ U.C.C. 0.
Well contested, with 'Hall just about shading the match. Important three points, keeping a decent recent run going.

ballsac7
20/02/2010, 4:27 PM
Heard Casement were beaten away by Ballinhassig. Think it was 1-0, its not up on website yet.

ballsac7
20/02/2010, 4:38 PM
And just heard Crosshaven beat Bandon which puts Ballinhassig joint top with Crosshaven (no goal difference in MSL) & Casement down to 3rd with games in hand although you'd have to fancy them as they've played both Crosshaven & Ballinhassig twice.

Silly Billy G
20/02/2010, 4:50 PM
Blarney beat ringmahon 1-0 . Decent game .

22/02/2010, 8:10 AM
yesterdays scores.
St Marys 0-3 Avondale Utd
Balllincollig 0-10 Rockmount

Silly Billy G
22/02/2010, 9:10 AM
yesterdays scores.
St Marys 0-3 Avondale Utd
Balllincollig 0-10 Rockmount

Ballincollig only had ten i heard, few over 35's in there and keeper playing outfield too with over 35 fella in goal. Ref called it up soon after half time. Looking like league over really, no stopping Rockmount.

ballsac7
22/02/2010, 11:35 AM
Ballincollig only had ten i heard, few over 35's in there and keeper playing outfield too with over 35 fella in goal. Ref called it up soon after half time. Looking like league over really, no stopping Rockmount.

Obviously Ballincollig are having big trouble fielding a team as are their neighbours Lakewood. Maybe the League should give them a break like they did recently for Garryduff and let them try & get their house in order.

AvondaleNutter
22/02/2010, 11:40 AM
Obviously Ballincollig are having big trouble fielding a team as are their neighbours Lakewood. Maybe the League should give them a break like they did recently for Garryduff and let them try & get their house in order.

The league should scrap the 23 player rule. I wouldnt be surprised if this is affecting Ballincollig. Possibly they filled up their Quota at the start of the season and now maybe some of these players left due to the teams poor displays in the league. If the league scrap the 23 player rule, then ballincollig could sign a few players just so they can fulfill their fixtures until the end of the season.

I think its one of the silliest rules the MSL have introduced and there have been quiet a few!

ballsac7
22/02/2010, 11:56 AM
The league should scrap the 23 player rule. I wouldnt be surprised if this is affecting Ballincollig. Possibly they filled up their Quota at the start of the season and now maybe some of these players left due to the teams poor displays in the league. If the league scrap the 23 player rule, then ballincollig could sign a few players just so they can fulfill their fixtures until the end of the season.

I think its one of the silliest rules the MSL have introduced and there have been quiet a few!

By all accounts that was brought in to discourage the likes of Avondale & Rockmount from poaching the best players from around Cork & leaving them sitting in the reserves!

AvondaleNutter
22/02/2010, 12:03 PM
By all accounts that was brought in to discourage the likes of Avondale & Rockmount from poaching the best players from around Cork & leaving them sitting in the reserves!

Its these Players decision to sign for the club. They have an opportunity to move in December if they wish or before the transfer deadline at the end of August.

Billynomates
22/02/2010, 12:21 PM

Thats the players problem and not the leagues. Other teams and clubs are suffering due to this. You cant just scratch a player off if he packs it in. He has to either imigrate or get a transfer to another club.