View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

Two Touch
16/10/2009, 11:12 AM
The basis of it was the complaining of the pitch being too small for a senior pitch and they cant wait for the return game on a bigger one,now tell me this do you or any of the lads on here class MSL 2nd division as senior or the 1st division for that fact?For me only the premier teams can be classed as senior teams,simple as that!I quoted the wrong message also so this might have caused confusion

One of the most ridiculous comments i've seen in a long time.

ballsac7
16/10/2009, 11:51 AM
The length of a pitch must be between 100 yards (90m) and 130 yards (120m) and the width not less than 50 yards (45m) and not more than 100 yards (90m).

For example Man City's pitch is 117yards x 77 yards - Millwall 105 x 68. Thats a big difference.

Southsider
16/10/2009, 10:40 PM
I think the comment left by El Nino was directed at Southsider not me. I just commented that I had heard from a buddy in Douglas that Crosshaven were good value for the draw and on the balance of the first half should have won it. Last nights Echo had a report and it seemed to reflect this.
Lads let get things straight i attacked no one on this forum. I agreed that a draw was a fair result i said that in my first post. Crosshaven were on top in the 1st half and we were on top in the 2nd half. I didnt use it as an excuse that we had players missng because i think our squad is good enough to replace 2 or 3 players. On the Echo report that was sent in by Crosshaven so it was a bit biased. He never stated the fact we should have had a penalty and the ball was inches from going in against them after they drew level when the report said the ref blew up straight after they level.

Southsider
16/10/2009, 10:57 PM
The basis of it was the complaining of the pitch being too small for a senior pitch and they cant wait for the return game on a bigger one,now tell me this do you or any of the lads on here class MSL 2nd division as senior or the 1st division for that fact?For me only the premier teams can be classed as senior teams,simple as that!I quoted the wrong message also so this might have caused confusion
What a post. What a load of s***e. You must have a short memory when your team were down the doldrums of division 1 when there wasnt even a 2nd SENIOR division. Just because us lower placed teams have not got the Sprattys and Marky Sulls of Avondale does'nt mean where not SENIOR teams. Does that mean so that Mayfield and Ringmahon are SENIOR teams this year cause their playing Premier but if they go back down at the end of the season their not SENIOR then. el nino i think your trying to stir things up on this thread and by the looks of the replies your getting you just have............

Southsider
17/10/2009, 7:59 AM
Just noticed the argument now. This message is coming all the way from the us of a. There are some great clubs in the first division and i enjoy nothing more than the competition of these clubs trying to get back to the pinnacle. But when it comes to the second division i have to draw a line. Junior Premier MSL and junior premier AUL is a better standard. The sooner people realise this the better.
From a fella who has played Premier AUL up until last season for a good few years i can honestly say that its not better than the 2nd division. The top teams in the AUL might beat the bottom 5 or 6 but they would not beat ourselves,Ballinhassig,Carrigaline and Crosshaven. As iv always said it's everyone to the their own but i'v been their and done that.

ballsac7
17/10/2009, 8:17 AM
From a fella who has played Premier AUL up until last season for a good few years i can honestly say that its not better than the 2nd division. The top teams in the AUL might beat the bottom 5 or 6 but they would not beat ourselves,Ballinhassig,Carrigaline and Crosshaven. As iv always said it's everyone to the their own but i'v been their and done that.

Have to agree with you Southsider, I go to all games AUL Premier & any MSL games and see a lot of the action, I think most of the AUL Premier sides would struggle in the MSL 2nd bar maybe Leeside/Grattan who are consistently strong. I think a lot of the MSL 2nd Division sides have realised what it takes to get promoted and have signed players to reflect this. Karl Caulfield & Jason Keegan for example at Casement would get into most Premier MSL sides. Ballinhassig look strong as well this year. As for the early argument El Nino posted a throw away comment into a civilised discussion and all of the above posts are the consequence!

AvondaleNutter
17/10/2009, 4:14 PM
Douglas Hall 0 Avondale 1

Hughesy scored in 1st half for the dale against run of play. Hall dominated for long periods.

Dale were missing marky sull, spratty and mucky so they would be delighted to get away with all 3 points

Billynomates
17/10/2009, 4:44 PM
Fixtures are uphttp://www.isrscork.com/MSL.htm

el nino coro
18/10/2009, 7:55 AM
Have to agree with you Southsider, I go to all games AUL Premier & any MSL games and see a lot of the action, I think most of the AUL Premier sides would struggle in the MSL 2nd bar maybe Leeside/Grattan who are consistently strong. I think a lot of the MSL 2nd Division sides have realised what it takes to get promoted and have signed players to reflect this. Karl Caulfield & Jason Keegan for example at Casement would get into most Premier MSL sides. Ballinhassig look strong as well this year. As for the early argument El Nino posted a throw away comment into a civilised discussion and all of the above posts are the consequence!

I would agree that Karl would get in any team without a doubt but your suggesting jason keegan would get in most premier MSL teams is that why he joined casement in the senior 2nd and not everton ,douglas hall ,avondale give it a break now hes a waste of a jocks

el nino coro
18/10/2009, 9:24 AM
Just noticed the argument now. This message is coming all the way from the us of a. There are some great clubs in the first division and i enjoy nothing more than the competition of these clubs trying to get back to the pinnacle. But when it comes to the second division i have to draw a line. Junior Premier MSL and junior premier AUL is a better standard. The sooner people realise this the better.

ya i think your right maybe not the first division to certain extents but the 2nd is nothing short of laughable and anyone down there thinks there player senior are beliving there own lies

el nino coro
18/10/2009, 11:25 AM
:ball:Agree, Both pitches in crosshaven are regulation size so that's no problem.Any manager worth his salt will use any means to try and overcome the opposision, like using a smaller pitch or wider pitch to throw them off their stride.Some teams do better on a wide pitch so playing on a narrow one may upset their play. Alternative use of two pitches also ensures that most games will go ahead especially in the winter (Good club management). All teams mentioned deserve their SENIOR status as their grounds and pitches are excellant and their contribution to the league over the years has been outstanding.:)

What do ya need so for senior status so a good pitch changing rooms and showers and then a load of headless chickens running around as the 11 stop the lights boy will ya

archie
18/10/2009, 12:37 PM
What do ya need so for senior status so a good pitch changing rooms and showers and then a load of headless chickens running around as the 11 stop the lights boy will ya

:ball: There's only one headless chicken here, You woul'nt know anything about football if it hit you in the face, relegation and promotion makes the leagues exciting and the wheel goes around, I wounder if you'll be so negative when you're lot go down, and it will happen.;)

Southsider
18/10/2009, 2:13 PM
Agreed all round pal;)

archie
18/10/2009, 2:27 PM
do you play then fella?and whats your club?definately a 1st or 2nd division team il wager

:ball: Been there, done that. Been up there, went down and fought our way back up again, thats what it's all about, ENJOYMENT. You're approprietly an apprentice, you've a lot to learn sunshine:p, I concur with Ballynomates.:)

18/10/2009, 4:25 PM
Things were quiet till you came along el nino coro!

ballsac7
18/10/2009, 8:57 PM
Just to add to my post,

I think its best that the forum just ignores him and if you foolishly reply to this guy, try and blank out the fact that he "claims" his club is avondale.

Thanks guys, and i apologise from the Club about him.

Agreed

AvondaleNutter
18/10/2009, 9:19 PM
Any result from the Mount and Everton game guys?

el nino coro
18/10/2009, 9:27 PM

rockmount won 2-1

18/10/2009, 9:37 PM
rockmount won 2-1I heard Ray Leahy got both for Mount.

archie
18/10/2009, 10:04 PM
I heard Ray Leahy got both for Mount.

:ball: Ya, He got both,Derec Varian for Everton

19/10/2009, 7:54 AM
El nino coro is an idiot but Lads , can we have an end to the personal attacks?
You should have the cop on not to react to him if he is a wind up merchant.
If he's not then it means he has a differing opinion, in which case there is no need to go calling anybody anything.
If you don't agree, then argue your point but leave the personal attacks out of it.
Wise up please.

Southsider
19/10/2009, 10:17 AM
Was at the game myself i thought Everton deserved a draw from it anyway. They tried to play football at times where as Rockmount had no intention to but then again why should they when they always seem to win:rolleyes:. Big crowd there aswell for a Sunday morning. CIT is some set up,pitch was immaculate. 2 set pieces and 2 Ray Leahy headers the 2nd was a diving header which was a very good goal. Varian scored for the Blues a great solo goal to level matters so it was 1-1 at half time. Everton are carrying 2 or 3 players which is the reason they will be 4th or 5th this year. If Varian actually decided to pass to his team mates Everton would be alot better off. He must have had 10 shots yesterday and 1 on target,i know people are gonna say sure he scored but you had to be there yeasterday to see the amount of ball he wasted. Best players were Danny Long and Terry White for Everton and Ray Leahy and Donnacha Murphy for the Mount.

19/10/2009, 10:34 AM
From the Examiner

Lucozade Sport Munster Senior Cup second round:
College Corinthians 1 Midleton 2;
Tramore Athletic 0 Mayfield Utd. 3;
Bunratty 1 St. Mary’s 1 (aet); St. Mary’s won 5-4 on pens.

Senior Premier Div:
Ringmahon Rgs. 2 UCC 3
Douglas Hall 0 Avondale Utd. 1
Everton 1 Rockmount 2

Senior Div 1:
Cobh Wanderers 2 Leeds 1
Castleview 5 Youghal Utd. 1

Billynomates
20/10/2009, 12:13 PM
Was at the game myself i thought Everton deserved a draw from it anyway. They tried to play football at times where as Rockmount had no intention to but then again why should they when they always seem to win:rolleyes:. Big crowd there aswell for a Sunday morning. CIT is some set up,pitch was immaculate. 2 set pieces and 2 Ray Leahy headers the 2nd was a diving header which was a very good goal. Varian scored for the Blues a great solo goal to level matters so it was 1-1 at half time. Everton are carrying 2 or 3 players which is the reason they will be 4th or 5th this year. If Varian actually decided to pass to his team mates Everton would be alot better off. He must have had 10 shots yesterday and 1 on target,i know people are gonna say sure he scored but you had to be there yeasterday to see the amount of ball he wasted. Best players were Danny Long and Terry White for Everton and Ray Leahy and Donnacha Murphy for the Mount.

Ray Leahy really did come back and bite everton in the arse. Stupid decision to let a man of his class and experience leave whne they ahve such a young side.

archie
20/10/2009, 3:18 PM
Big game in Crosshaven on Sat 3pm, local derby Crosshaven against Carrigaline, senior 2nd division, Been a while since these two met at senior level, Should be a cracker.

Southsider
22/10/2009, 10:24 AM
Big game in Crosshaven on Sat 3pm, local derby Crosshaven against Carrigaline, senior 2nd division, Been a while since these two met at senior level, Should be a cracker.
Hopefully if this rain stops there might be a few games on. A draw will be a good result for us :)

archie
22/10/2009, 3:40 PM
Hopefully if this rain stops there might be a few games on. A draw will be a good result for us :)

:ball: Forecast light rain tomorrow, cloudy sat and sun, most games should go ahead, Ye should take Temple just about, especially at home.Tight at the top of this league so far, early days,anyones title.:confused:

Duster Bouglas
22/10/2009, 9:33 PM
:ball: Forecast light rain tomorrow, cloudy sat and sun, most games should go ahead, Ye should take Temple just about, especially at home.Tight at the top of this league so far, early days,anyones title.:confused:

Any know result of CIT V Ballinhassig

archie
22/10/2009, 10:11 PM
Any know result of CIT V Ballinhassig

:ball: 1 all,on msl web.:)

Southsider
23/10/2009, 10:06 AM
Ya we should have enough to beat Temple id still be wary of that Danny Dunne tho,he's very unfit but he knows where the goal is. watched them against Carrigaline there handy but ran out of steam last 20mins so id expect a home win tomorrow. Fair play to the MSL there updating the new website fast,that CIT result was in very quick. Lets hope they keep it up now.

archie
23/10/2009, 10:19 AM
Ya we should have enough to beat Temple id still be wary of that Danny Dunne tho,he's very unfit but he knows where the goal is. watched them against Carrigaline there handy but ran out of steam last 20mins so id expect a home win tomorrow. Fair play to the MSL there updating the new website fast,that CIT result was in very quick. Lets hope they keep it up now.

:ball:Know a guy whose involved, he says quick updates on the web are no problem once the club's send their result in strait after games.

Southsider
23/10/2009, 4:07 PM
Casement V Temple is off tomorrow. Pitch is waterlogged :( !!!

collcorforever
23/10/2009, 7:24 PM
Just wondering do the 4 yellow cards count anymore??
I know a few lads who have 4 and have heard nothing.

archie
23/10/2009, 11:13 PM

:ball: As far as I know 4 yellows = 20euro fine with a possible 1 or 2 match suspention (Depending on ref's reports etc) each yellow after that=10euro fine, maybe the clubs paid the fines, unknown to the players or the league are slow sending them out. ( I think players should pay their own fines, especially if the cards are for unessesary things like persitant foul language, mouthing at the ref or kicking the ball away etc ),Anyway, the lads are probably hung out to dry now if someone on the msl decipline commitee read these posts:(

Southsider
24/10/2009, 9:13 AM
They still count. If they are doing it like last year you dont get notified by the MSL its up to your team to tell the players they are suspended for a match. Its not enforced like a straight red so thats why they heard nothing and thats why not many fellas get suspended for yellow cards. You'll get your notice for the fine to be paid tho:rolleyes:

AvondaleNutter
24/10/2009, 9:52 AM
Rockmount match called off due to heavy fog. Mount were 2-1 up at the time

AvondaleNutter
24/10/2009, 4:21 PM
Avondale and Ballincollig was called off. Not too sure why, as i heard the UCC and Everton game went ahead and they play on the same grounds.

Duster Bouglas
24/10/2009, 4:39 PM
They still count. If they are doing it like last year you dont get notified by the MSL its up to your team to tell the players they are suspended for a match. Its not enforced like a straight red so thats why they heard nothing and thats why not many fellas get suspended for yellow cards. You'll get your notice for the fine to be paid tho:rolleyes:

There was a suggestion at the last delegate meeting that when a player reached 4 yellow card his name would go up on the website so all clubs knew where they stood. MSL are considering it.

Southsider
24/10/2009, 9:23 PM
There was a suggestion at the last delegate meeting that when a player reached 4 yellow card his name would go up on the website so all clubs knew where they stood. MSL are considering it.
Not a bad idea i suppose but is too much trouble to post the suspension to the club secretary.The price of an envelope and stamp is not much and with all the of money there making from the cards in the first place and there would be no problem. Crosshaven won 3-1 today against Carrigaline. UCC beat Everton 1-0 aswell.

ballsac7
25/10/2009, 9:44 AM
Not a bad idea i suppose but is too much trouble to post the suspension to the club secretary.The price of an envelope and stamp is not much and with all the of money there making from the cards in the first place and there would be no problem. Crosshaven won 3-1 today against Carrigaline. UCC beat Everton 1-0 aswell.

Was at the game yesterday Southsider - Crosshaven were good value despite a rough 15 minutes at the start of the second half. Carrigaline are poor - only for Ken Dennehy who must be about 40 and John Harrington they hadn't much. Must say it wasn't a great game to watch as the wind was spoiled things. Some fella with a shaved head got two for Crosshaven & Beezer. That puts Crosshaven top. Might go look at CIT next week, they've started well.

ball-hop
25/10/2009, 11:55 PM
Mayfield Utd 1 Douglas Hall 0
Mayfield scored about midway through the first half. 'Hall dominated possession, but Mayfield defended very well. Their 'keeper and both centre halves were very effective.

collcorforever
26/10/2009, 10:58 AM
Mayfield scored about midway through the first half. 'Hall dominated possession, but Mayfield defended very well. Their 'keeper and both centre halves were very effective.

Is it me or do Douglas Hall always seem to think they dominated possession and end up losing????

Corinthians drew 0 0 away to Midleton, poor game in bad conditions

ball-hop
26/10/2009, 12:33 PM
Is it me or do Douglas Hall always seem to think they dominated possession and end up losing????

Corinthians drew 0 0 away to Midleton, poor game in bad conditions

Yip - always loads of possession and either not creating or converting chancs :(

mayfield utd
26/10/2009, 2:50 PM

great result for the lads, after mayfield scored they had 2 great chances to make it 2-0 but both chances was kicked over the bar from all of 6 yards,the lads had there backs to the wall for the last 30 minutes but defeated very well and the best the hall could manage were a few half chances

ball-hop
26/10/2009, 8:00 PM
great result for the lads, after mayfield scored they had 2 great chances to make it 2-0 but both chances was kicked over the bar from all of 6 yards,the lads had there backs to the wall for the last 30 minutes but defeated very well and the best the hall could manage were a few half chances
Completely accurate!

AvondaleNutter
27/10/2009, 1:00 PM
Completely accurate!

Touch of sarcasim :rolleyes:

ball-hop
27/10/2009, 2:52 PM
Touch of sarcasim :rolleyes:
No sarcasm intended... Mayfield made the most of their chances, we didn't. End of.

Billynomates
28/10/2009, 7:17 AM
Anyone know much about UCC this year?? Two wins out of two already.. Wasnt at the game against us but i heard they looked very good. Signed two players from Cork City youths this year.. Can't see them struggling like last season

Im very dissapointed with everton this year. I tipped them as a dark horse this year but they have failed to live up to their expectation so far. Is there problems at the club or something. 2 very good players in minty and ray leahy have already left.

Southsider
28/10/2009, 10:37 AM
Im very dissapointed with everton this year. I tipped them as a dark horse this year but they have failed to live up to their expectation so far. Is there problems at the club or something. 2 very good players in minty and ray leahy have already left.
Same o same o again at Everton great squad on paper but never do anything worth taking notice of. Always politics at Everton not just at Senior. Minty left because he was playing one week and dropped the next for no apparent reason,the boy is pure class if you ask me he's the player you build your team around. Ray Leahy came back to haunt them last week which was always going to happen after the way they treated him before the season started. Trevor Daly is gone to Oz and John Des is working in Liverpool and Luke O'Sullivan gone to Ringmahon. Everton seem to be down to the bare bones of about 14 or 15 players. Troubled times ahead maybe...............

AvondaleNutter
30/10/2009, 10:39 AM
There'll hardly be any matches on this weekend. if this is the case, will teams involved in the intermediate cup lose their home advantage?