View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

16/05/2008, 8:42 PM
It wasn't full strength, but wasn't totally reserve either. Saw the Echo tonight, 3 or 4 changes from Sunday, musta been some amount of alcohol sweated out there.

Clifford
17/05/2008, 10:17 AM
Saw the Echo tonight, 3 or 4 changes from Sunday, musta been some amount of alcohol sweated out there.

Don't know what your talking about, our boys are supreme athletes in the prime of their careers. Total tee total - not a drop of booze passed their lips in an effort to ensure the title comes our way as well as the cup.

:cool:

balls
17/05/2008, 11:41 AM
city never looked liked scoring. young lads they had up front were never gonna get past ken hoey. He s a class act at the back

17/05/2008, 9:12 PM
Total tee total - not a drop of booze passed their lips in an effort to ensure the title comes our way as well as the cup.Maybe twas the photo on the back page of the echo of 3 players draped all over each other all over the pool table in Tipples. :D

ball-hop
17/05/2008, 10:08 PM
That photo came to mind for me as well. I expect they will all be fit and well by Tuesday night

Clifford
18/05/2008, 12:18 PM
Mount beat Carrigaline 1-0 today in O Connell cup quarters, semi v Dale next Sat I think.
Only 3/4 regulars played.

I hear Dale won 3-0 v Hall?

ball-hop
18/05/2008, 7:29 PM
Hall beaten 4-0 by Avondale. Competitive first half, but second 'Hall fell away. Difficult to keep motivation with the league drawing to an end.

Beamish Cup next target, home to Mayfield in Semi on Tuesday night.

Clifford
18/05/2008, 10:33 PM
Hope you'll do the same when we show up in the next few weeks! Can't see that happening, but you never know.

bon2007
19/05/2008, 8:25 AM
Very shaky end for the season in the league for the hall. Avondale must of been on fire.
Have the heads dropped ball-hop since the Inter cup final.

ball-hop
19/05/2008, 1:53 PM
Still playing good football, but not converting chances, but the cup final has taken its toll. Set backs in matches seem to have a greater effect at the moment.

ball-hop
20/05/2008, 9:35 PM
Team shuffle tonight, Strachan's goal enough to get the 'Hall past Mayfield in the Beamish Semi. Everton beat Mary's 2-1 in the other semi.

How did Rockmount do, Cliff?

Clifford
20/05/2008, 10:00 PM
Just in from windy Rockmount park (for a change!).

1-1 draw on the night. A 90 min own goal by the Blarney num 9 (I think!) got the point for Mount. It was nothing more than we deserved as we absolutely battered a resolute Blarney from the 25th min on. The first 25 mins was dominated by the incredibly hard working Blarney outfit, you'd wonder who were going for the title at that stage. Mark Clifford (my alias, but sadly not me) brilliantly set up the lead goal in about the 5th minute. He skipped past three ex team mates to send in a superb cross which was dispatched to the net from about 5 yards out.

From the 25th min on Mount kicked into gear and with the wind battered the Blarney goal mouth with frees and corners to no avail. The second half, into the wind was also dominated by the champions. Despite that Blarney had a superb effort smash off the bar and were always lively on the counter attack. Eventually we got our deserved equaliser, but fair play to Blarney for the battle they made it. Cliffy and Ray O Leary were excellent as were the back four in general considering everything including the kitchen sink was thrown at them.

For Mount Ken Hoey, Pat Keane and the industrious Jammer and Beech stood out on the night. True to say we weren't at our best, but the incredible heart shown to keep this historic attempt at three in a row alive was immense. Hats off to all the lads involved tonight, about 28 players involved all willing to fight to the bitter end for the cause. Shows why the Munster Senior Lg is dominating all before it in the Intermediate cup.

Hats off to the man in the middle tonight, let the game flow as much as possible in terribly windy conditions, both from the air and
both side lines! :D:D

Keep up the good work everybody. Some run in ahead of us. Three games left while Dale sit back and wait for Sat week.

21/05/2008, 9:07 AM
Keep up the good work everybody. Some run in ahead of us. Three games left while Dale sit back and wait for Sat week.Is that definitely being left til last Cliffy?
That last gasp point could prove crucial should ye win the next 2 games.

Avondale Utd 17 40
Rockmount 15 35
Douglas Hall 17 31

Clifford
21/05/2008, 9:34 AM
Yip, we play Everton on Thurs and Hall next Weds. Seems mad to play the decider on the Saturday of the June Bank Holiday, I for one will most likely miss it as we're going away. I wonder how many from either side will be in the same position.

Surely nothing wrong with Tue Thurs set up like it has been for the last 6 weeks.

21/05/2008, 11:06 AM
It also says they are playing this Saturday in a cup, what cup is that?

bon2007
21/05/2008, 12:07 PM
Tough final three games for Rockmount to win league. Surly that was two points lost against blarney. Hall will be up for it after Final defeat. Will be some turnaround from Avondale if Mount slip up.

Clifford
21/05/2008, 3:16 PM
O Connell cup semi on Saturday as far as I know.

Tough games indeed Bon. It's tough to keep it going, last year and the year before Dale fell away in the league after winning the fai cup. It certainly takes it toll on the players.

If we pull it off it'll be some double, but it's squeaky bum time indeed. Everton won't be showing up on Thurs for the craic I'll wager!

Clifford
22/05/2008, 9:17 PM
And Everton showed up for more than the craic as I predicted.

3-1 defeat for Rockmount puts a serious dent in their title hunt. Two wins now needed away to the Hall and Dale respectively.

Never got going tonight and went behind early on, Ross O Callaghan levelled things up and we waited for the onslaught. Sadly for us it never really came and the tiredness seemed to finally catch up as the lads just couldn't muster up the energy to create openings.

Without Wheldon, Keane and Oldham the players who came in did superbly well, but ultimately the timing of losing such valuable players has gone against us this week.

Never mind, makes the last two games all the more interesting. Sadly the two year unbeaten run is over. We'll just have to begin it all again next Weds night.

23/05/2008, 8:20 AM
I must say when the text came through last night I got a bit of a shock. Mount now must win away to Douglas Hall for it to go to the wire.
Hall rolled over to Dale last week but after the Intermediate Cup Final I can't imagine them doing Mount any such favours.

Avondale Utd 17 40
Rockmount 16 35
Douglas Hall 17 31

Footballer
23/05/2008, 8:54 AM
From what I hear injuries are after stopping Mounts title challenge.
Doyle, Keane, Oldham Weldon, & M Deasy all are out. Doyle tried to play last night (1st game since the inter final) but had to come off.
All are set to miss the final two games. Unfortunate time to get these injuries as obviously playing 3 times a week has taken it's toll.
At least the trophies are spread around this year although I did bet for the Hall to beat Mount in the Intermediate and the Mount to win the league.
Quite shocked they threw it away as they looked so dominate in the league but will put it down to bad luck. 4 big players to be losing
Anyway fair play to Avondale for sticking at it

23/05/2008, 10:17 AM
Anyway fair play to Avondale for sticking at itAnd without a proper keeper too.;) :D

Footballer
23/05/2008, 11:39 AM
Isn't Brendan O' Connell the keeper for Avondale, he is one of the top keepers in the league. It is fair to say he started off a bit on the rocky side but he seems to be playing well the second half of the season and back to the level.
Good keeper in my opinion but is frustrating to watch with all his gamesmanship

champagne
23/05/2008, 1:34 PM
I second the Brendan O'Connell sentiments - in my opinion the best keeper in the league. Good leader, good talker, distribution is superb. I'd have him in my team anyday. His gamesmanship can frustrate in fairness though.

Clifford
23/05/2008, 3:52 PM
Haven't seen enough of O Connell myself, but if it's not broke don't fix it is my motto and can't see why they got rid of Dave the save. Never let them down and has two FAI Intermediates sitting in his ass pocket.

I'm biased, but Mount keeper Slatts has to be the top keeper in the league as for about 4 seasons now they have kept the goals against under 10 (now 10 this season after last night!!) which is incredible - add to that the fact that winning two Intermediate cups were won as well, only conceeding 1 along the way this time and last time. Incredible. Good back four helps, but to organise them and make the saves when called upon is also vital. We saw that a Turners Cross v Hall with a match winning save at 0-0.

23/05/2008, 6:50 PM
Haven't seen enough of O Connell myself, but if it's not broke don't fix it is my motto and can't see why they got rid of Dave the save. Never let them down and has two FAI Intermediates sitting in his ass pocket.I second those sentiments Cliffy ;)

I'm biased, but Mount keeper Slatts has to be the top keeper in the league Any truth in the rumour that he is leaving after this season?

Clifford
23/05/2008, 8:07 PM
I second those sentiments Cliffy ;)

Any truth in the rumour that he is leaving after this season?

None whatsoever as far as I'm aware. Think a "Ronaldo" like comment about one day looking to end his career in another country was taken out of context. Keepers should go til 35ish and he's only 29ish as far as I know.

23/05/2008, 8:45 PM
None whatsoever as far as I'm aware. Think a "Ronaldo" like comment about one day looking to end his career in another country was taken out of context. Keepers should go til 35ish and he's only 29ish as far as I know.Not retiring just wanting to play nearer home is what I heard ( don't even know where the guy lives to be honest)

Clifford
24/05/2008, 5:03 PM
Mount beat Dale 3-1 aet in the semi of the O Connell cup. Both sides rested players. Final v Everton for us now.

26/05/2008, 8:32 AM
Mount beat Dale 3-1 aet in the semi of the O Connell cup. Both sides rested players. Final v Everton for us now.More goalkeeping faux pas, will they ever learn :D

Hall beat Everton 1-0 in one of the other cups last night at the Cross

Clifford
26/05/2008, 11:02 AM
More goalkeeping faux pas, will they ever learn :D

Hall beat Everton 1-0 in one of the other cups last night at the Cross

Congrats to Douglas Hall. In honour of such a momentus win I have put a keg behind the bar of the East village to be consumed only between the hours of 3 and 6 on this Wednesday night. For the first 11 and subs only. :D

26/05/2008, 12:06 PM
Congrats to Douglas Hall. In honour of such a momentus win I have put a keg behind the bar of the East village Do you honestly think that JC hasn't thought of that already?
Perks of the trade and all that ;)

ball-hop
26/05/2008, 1:55 PM
Nice to get a trophy on the shelf.... will ease pressure - the feeling of needing to win something this season was almost overwhelming. Beamish Cup is a reward for the effort put in by team and management this season.

Clifford
26/05/2008, 10:27 PM
Nice to get a trophy on the shelf.... will ease pressure - the feeling of needing to win something this season was almost overwhelming. Beamish Cup is a reward for the effort put in by team and management this season.

Agreed, well done. Now take the rest of the season off eh? Cheers! :D

27/05/2008, 7:31 AM
Agreed, well done. Now take the rest of the season off eh? Cheers! :DSurely they've a bit of unfinished business to take care of first ;) :D

ball-hop
28/05/2008, 12:32 PM
Back at it again tonight.... big game to warm up for Drogheda. Huge game for 'mount, who could see the league gone after tonight. I expect the 'Hall to be in good shape, winning on Sunday put a trophy on the shelf and relieves pressure.

Looking forward to another terrific game between the two - another notch for the status of the Senior League.

Clifford
28/05/2008, 9:35 PM
And there it ends. A gallant Rockmount team drew 2-2 tonight in their last ditch throw of the dice to set up a winner take all decider on Saturday at Avondale.

Alas, it wasn't to be, the damage was done last week against the game and honest efforts of Blarney and Everton. The high of winning yet another Intermediate Cup took it's inevitable toll on the former Champions and a cracking attempt at an almost impossible double is over for another year.

Hat's off to the new champions Avondale. In yet another two horse race they ground out some superb results in the closing stages and put the points on the board like Celtic in Scotland.

I look forward to Saturday when the Champions of Ireland and the Munster Senior League Champions can clap each other to the field again after another dominant season for both. Very enjoyable. Hope the rest can catch up some time soon.

Micky Deasy and Ross O Callaghan scored for Mount on the night, we came from 1 down to lead 2-1 until a late goal tied it up.

29/05/2008, 8:23 AM
Alas, it wasn't to be, the damage was done last week against the game and honest efforts of Blarney and Everton. The high of winning yet another Intermediate Cup took it's inevitable toll on the former Champions and a cracking attempt at an almost impossible double is over for another year.We've discussed that before on this thread about how the Intermediate Cup and MSL Premier double is an almost impossible task.
When you consider Mount have been in 4 of the last 6 Intermediate Cup Finals and Dale won the other 2.

I believe there were some unsavoury incidents after last nights game.

Got another cup final next Monday night and a chance to avenge the defeat to Everton.

bon2007
29/05/2008, 9:10 AM
Any match report on last night? Who scored for da hall?

Clifford
29/05/2008, 9:54 AM
We've discussed that before on this thread about how the Intermediate Cup and MSL Premier double is an almost impossible task.
When you consider Mount have been in 4 of the last 6 Intermediate Cup Finals and Dale won the other 2.

Yeah, hard to keep candle burning at both ends. In my opinion the final should be the last game of the season and a showpiece game rather than a month before seasons end as it's very hard to come back to playing league games after such a high. Dale found this for the last two seasons and now we're hit with it. Even with a massive squad, losing Pat Oldham, Pat Keane and Alan Wheldon for the crunch games was too big an ask. Oh well, next year hopefully.

I believe there were some unsavoury incidents after last nights game.

To say the least. No comment really as I've had my wrists slapped from on high about comments made here previously and won't lower myself to that level again. I wasn't there, but by all accounts it got tasty afterwards.

Got another cup final next Monday night and a chance to avenge the defeat to Everton.

Bring it on, be nice to play them again so soon.

Clifford
29/05/2008, 9:56 AM
Any match report on last night? Who scored for da hall?

Wasn't there last night, no idea who scored for them.

Footballer
29/05/2008, 10:32 AM
Hacket scored after about 15/20 minutes. Very good goal & a great finish. Douglas had the better first half although with Mulchay getting on the ball quite a bit. The hall were well up for this one as people knew they'd be. Rockmount came into it after the hall scored and finished better than they started.
Second half started and Beechinor missed a chance when the ball dropped on a half volley for em. This player seems to have something on the hall as he outclassed their defense for most of the night. The hall had some great chances at 1-0 with a number of consecutive corners and one cleared off the line. It didn't look like Rockmount would score but as the game went on Rockmount pushed & pushed. 17 mins to go Rockmount scored from a free after Beechinor was fouled. The ball was kicked in and from a goal mount scramble the ball was put over the line. 1-1. From the kick off Rockmount robbed possession and passed to Beechinor who tore down the right wing and hammered the ball across the ball for the on coming O' Callaghan to kick in from 4 yards. 2 -1. Rockmount started to look like the league champions they are(were I now say!) 15 min left
Now this is where all the "unsavory incidents" started. I stood on the Rockmount side for the second have due to the wind & before the kick had been taken to restart Robert Brohan for the hall heat butted Cummins a number of times. Now both players were at it but the hall player did do the head butting. This sort of thing isn't needed in the game but how the Referee and linesman did not send him off then was beyond me. It was going on for a 30 seconds. The same player was sent off 5/7 minutes later for kicking Doyle in the Rockmount corner. The hall pushed on and in injury time had a free from the right hand side, which was very questionable. It about 20 yards out. Cullnane kicked the ball in & Long flicked it on, it fell to Wilkinson's feet for a tap in. 2-2. Rockmount should have defended it better
Now this is why I thought the player was wrong. The hall player(Wilkinson) ran 30 yards to Rockmounts dugout shouting. He came to within about 2/3 feet shouting( I couldn't make out hat he was saying) & the Rockmount line went mad, management, players & supporters. Maybe there must be something from the past few games but after this I'd say there'll be revenge on Rockmount minds for a few years to come. The game was nearly finished and Rockmount still pushed on with Beechinor making a great run in from the left and hammer a shot from 20 yards with his lift boot which went inches wide. Another Rockmount player had a better chance when the ball dropped on the half volley from 6 yards out only for him to blaze over. A tough shot to get under control. FULL TIME 2-2. Rockmount probably will go home more upset as it was there for them but the Hall worked hard and stuck it out in the end.
Howey, Byrne, & Beechinor played well for Rockmount while Mulcahy & O' Connell play well for the Hall.
Now from what I hear after there seemed to be a committee member from the Hall threaten Doyle from Rockmount when going into the dressing room. This led to a load of hand bags.
Referee: Finbarr Murphy: 5/10: Lost control of the game from an early stage and Brohan should have been sent off early on.

Clifford
29/05/2008, 11:05 AM
From what I hear Footballer, that is spot on. Good work.

ball-hop
29/05/2008, 1:31 PM
Not as good as the first league match between the two, but a decent match at the same time. Footballer's match report pretty accurate. Honestly didn't see afters following 'Mount's second goal. Sending off - no argument. Goal celebrations not too tasty.
Not having seen I wouldn't comment on further afters.
Wouldn't dispute footballer's assessment of the players who shone.
Interesting that both teams who played last night had their league ambitions severely dented by Everton and Blarney immediately following Intermediate cup matches. We dropped 6 points, while 'Mount dropped 4.
Finally, Cliff's suggestion to keep the Cup Final until the last match of the season would be great, but we still all suffer build-up of matches - cancellations, weather etc etc throws fixture lists up in the air and the matches remaining after the Cup final were all like cup finals for both clubs. It told in the end.

29/05/2008, 2:07 PM
Few pics from last night here (http://www.flickr.com/photos/opti76/sets/72157605320767009/)

Shilts
29/05/2008, 4:07 PM
Congratulations to Avondale.
However, this season's records will need to have an asterisk attached to show that the winners received 3 valuable points on appeal, and that Carrigaline, who were relegated, would have had a playoff if they were not deducted the same 3 points.
It is better to win it on the pitch, in my opinion, so I hope that Avondale win/draw with Rockmount at the weekend and win the league by more than the unearned 3 points :ball:

Avondale No1
29/05/2008, 4:29 PM
Congratulations to Avondale.
However, this season's records will need to have an asterisk attached to show that the winners received 3 valuable points on appeal, and that Carrigaline, who were relegated, would have had a playoff if they were not deducted the same 3 points.
It is better to win it on the pitch, in my opinion, so I hope that Avondale win/draw with Rockmount at the weekend and win the league by more than the unearned 3 points :ball:

So you think teams should be allowed to play illegal players and not face any repercussions? We might as well do away with the rule book altogether! What a load of rubbish. If the MSL hadn't taken the action that they did then the league would be open to widespread abuse. So you know what you can do with your asterisk!!

Unlucky to Rockmount. It just proves how difficult the double is to win. Well done Dale. A great run in the end of the season saw the league trophy come back to the southside!!

Footballer
30/05/2008, 9:33 AM
To be honest I do think it's harsh on Carriag. Fighting at the other end of the table and losing 3 points is tough especially if that could have kept em up. It was a great win for them at Avondale park and it's tough enough at the bottom end of the table as it is.
I am however for punishing teams if playing illegal players but in this case it wasn't that simple. After hearing the ins & & outs of the story I do think the match should have been replayed. Things are never that black & white Avondale No 1, just remember when Avondale played an illegal keeper v's Fanad a few years ago in the intermediate semi final. No punishment was given
However for Rockmount I think injuries cost them the league as they looked strong all year. I don't think Rockmount will complain as they had the games in hand to win the league.
From what I hear they went 52/53 games unbeaten in the league until the defeat to Everton

Clifford
30/05/2008, 10:24 AM
Few pics from last night here (http://www.flickr.com/photos/opti76/sets/72157605320767009/)

Some cracking shots, no wonder Finbarr finally gave us a decision by sending their lad off, look at the Rockmount militia behind the incident. Argghh. I'd be running scared as well....:D

Clifford
30/05/2008, 10:30 AM
Finally, Cliff's suggestion to keep the Cup Final until the last match of the season would be great, but we still all suffer build-up of matches - cancellations, weather etc etc throws fixture lists up in the air and the matches remaining after the Cup final were all like cup finals for both clubs. It told in the end.

Yeah, I know it isn't practical at all with the way the games pan out. Backlog is all part of it, but we played no game over Easter when the Dale got two played and at Christmas it was something similar. I respect the logistics of things with weather etc playing it's part, I hugely admire the people who run the MSL cos without them we'd have nothing, so it's not a gripe - just an observation. It's been thus for years and that's why Mount tried for both with such a strong squad this season. Tough one to call, but we gave it everything.

Clifford
30/05/2008, 10:33 AM
However for Rockmount I think injuries cost them the league as they looked strong all year. I don't think Rockmount will complain as they had the games in hand to win the league.
From what I hear they went 52/53 games unbeaten in the league until the defeat to Everton

Yeah, over two calender years since last defeat in the league up til last week. All good things come to an end and hopefully two wins at the weekend will see us start all over again.