View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

Yoda01
18/04/2008, 8:42 AM
am i right in saying the top 3 have went to carrig in the last few weeks and only the mount came away with the 3 points?

ball-hop
18/04/2008, 12:24 PM
Yes. That is correct. It seems that the Carrigaline equaliser on Wed night was very late. 'Hall form in recent league matches hasn't been up to the standard set earlier in the season. Rockmount, particularly, and Avondale are setting the bar higher in the league and the last 5 or 6 matches will be very interesting

Clifford
19/04/2008, 10:37 PM
Mount beat Salthill Devon in the senior FAI cup today. Comfortable 1-0 win with Mick Deasy bagging the goal. Avondale lost at home to Drogehda Town, what happened the great cup team Caulfield had going????

20/04/2008, 7:33 PM
what happened the great cup team Caulfield had going????Another goalkeeping error :D

Clifford
20/04/2008, 11:24 PM
Obviously, I'll wait til I get an unbiased shout like you do to me..:D:D

Next games probably in June so won't affect the run in too much for both teams.

gee wizz
21/04/2008, 9:04 AM
who do are yer tips to go down at the moment,i suppose carrigaline are gone but who after them

Yoda01
21/04/2008, 10:59 AM
who do are yer tips to go down at the moment,i suppose carrigaline are gone but who after them

any one of cobh, passage or castleview. who has who left to play?

gee wizz
21/04/2008, 11:32 AM
any one of cobh, passage or castleview. who has who left to play?
what about everton and ucc:rolleyes:
this is the run in for the teams from fifth down

wanderers v douglas hall

castleview v avondale
rockmount

ucc v douglas hall
carrigaline
avondale

everton v carrigaline
rockmount

passage v rockmount
douglas hall

carrigaline v ucc
everton

ball-hop
21/04/2008, 1:30 PM
Difficult to see Passage gaining points, likewise Castleview, Everton should have enough about them to see off Carrigaline. That would see Passage gone on 16 points, with Castleview safe on 17, Everton safe on 19

Yoda01
21/04/2008, 2:26 PM
what about everton and ucc:rolleyes:
this is the run in for the teams from fifth down

wanderers v douglas hall draw - cobh 21 points

castleview v avondale 1 draw 1 loss - view 18 points
rockmount

ucc v douglas hall 1 win, 1 draw, 1 loss - UCC 21 points
carrigaline
avondale

everton v carrigaline 1 win, 1 draw - everton 20 points
rockmount

passage v rockmount 2 defeats - passage 16 points
douglas hall

carrigaline v ucc 1 draws 1 loss - carrig 12 points
everton

carrig and passage to go down, the others to scrap it......

Larks
21/04/2008, 3:08 PM
Mount beat Salthill Devon in the senior FAI cup today. Comfortable 1-0 win with Mick Deasy bagging the goal. Avondale lost at home to Drogehda Town, what happened the great cup team Caulfield had going????

Comftorably? They had about three shots in the whole game. Salthill totally dominated the second half while the first half was quite even. I presume you werent at the game. If you were you'd want to get your eyes checked son. On another day Salthill could have won by two or three goals. Comftorable my balls.

gee wizz
21/04/2008, 3:11 PM
Squeaky bum time at the bottom of the league

Clifford
21/04/2008, 3:35 PM
Comftorably? They had about three shots in the whole game. Salthill totally dominated the second half while the first half was quite even. I presume you werent at the game. If you were you'd want to get your eyes checked son. On another day Salthill could have won by two or three goals. Comftorable my balls.

Wasn't at it, but the report from the game I got was it was comfortable, keeper never really tested. (Some on here will say that's biased as ususal!!) Mount, without 6 regulars, never needed to get going really. It's what we do, ask anyone on here, we score and then defend it - generally very well. Even with our second string. Unbeaten in two and a half seasons in the league, mostly 1-0 wins. 1 goal in 3 shots ain't a bad ratio dude, compared to 0 goals in however many shots Salthill had.

Fair enough if you thought they were battered, it's all in the eye of the beholder or in the words of someone more intellectual than me:

"could have won it is fcuk all good" ;)

gee wizz
21/04/2008, 3:43 PM
Is that soar grapes i can taste there larks, the record books say rockmount won by one goal, thats how games are decided by goals not by shots on target unless ye have a differn't scoring system up in the west:D

Clifford
23/04/2008, 12:18 PM
Rockmount away to Fermoy in the Beamish cup tonight at 6.30

Intermediate cup replay on Sunday.

ball-hop
23/04/2008, 3:05 PM
All Cork final?

Allstar
23/04/2008, 5:11 PM
more than likely!! Won do ya reckon's gonna win it?? :cool:

Clifford
24/04/2008, 6:44 AM
Rockmount beat Fermoy 1-0, a Willie Byrne goal won it for Mount, who in typical fashion got the goal and invited Fermoy to get one as well, but they never looked like it despite having more of the ball. Sound familiar?

With regard to Sunday, too close to call. Too excellent sides come face to face again and I pray we win it, but this is the toughest one we've had in ages. An all Cork final would be superb.

24/04/2008, 7:54 AM
Fair enough if you thought they were batteredI wouldn't have been surprised if ye were though, when I saw the list of players that were missing I thought ye'd struggle but squeezed out the win fair play.

Clifford
24/04/2008, 2:45 PM
I wouldn't have been surprised if ye were though, when I saw the list of players that were missing I thought ye'd struggle but squeezed out the win fair play.

Good one to win considering how many were out. Depth of squad is the key. We'll need it more than ever in the upcoming weeks. If we win again on Sunday it could be June before we finish up for the season.

Allstar
24/04/2008, 10:07 PM
gees ye struggled against fermoy so clifford. there fairly poor now 2 b fair but a wins a win. best of luck sunday

ball-hop
25/04/2008, 10:29 AM
'Hall beat Leeds 2-1 in extra time in the Beamish Cup last night. Late winner.
Avondale are racking the points up in the league, convincing win by all accounts against College last night.

'Hall now have a chance to get level with Rockmount in the league, with R'mount otherwise engaged at the weekend.

Clifford - all the best in the replay on Sunday - Wayside seem to have hit a rich vein of form, very emphatic win over Swilly last Sunday. Can we expect a 1-0 Rockmount win and performance?

gee wizz
25/04/2008, 10:59 AM
the students could be in trouble if they dont get a result against hall on saturday,all the best to the rockmount lads on sunday hopefully they can get through what should be a very tough tie

Clifford
25/04/2008, 12:21 PM
The usual Allstar, got the goal and invited Fermoy to get one back, they couldn't. Not overly worried as it was hard to get up for the game with Sunday looming overhead. Fear of injury etc..

Cheers lads for the wishes on Sunday, Mount will be giving it everything as usual. The outcome of 1-0 would certainly do me fine altogether. Very tough encounter, but if the lads are all up for it we might be able to get to the final.
Fingers crossed.

League table is hotting up now and of course the games will plie up something rotten for us in the next few weeks. It could be June before we finish our season. Crikey.

ball-hop
25/04/2008, 1:15 PM
College on 17 points with 2 games to go should be ok - I expect 'Hall to have too much for them Saturday - the 'Hall record against College is very decent in recent years but they will be favourites to turn over Carrigaline which would make them safe.

Passage look in most danger - Rockmount and the 'Hall are their remaining games and they don't have points on the board.

ball-hop
26/04/2008, 4:06 PM
'Hall comfortable 4-1 winners against College. Albert Clarke, Deccie O'Connell, Brian Wilkinson in the first half. College got a spotter, before Gerard O'Donovan put the cap on the win with a last minute goal.

A number of 'Hall regulars missing, but convincing win recorded.

28/04/2008, 8:31 AM
Avondale beat UCC 3-0 on Thursday and Blarney 3-1 on Saturday to go 6 clear but Mount have 3 games in hand

Dale 15 34
Mount 12 28
Hall 14 28

ball-hop
28/04/2008, 10:02 AM
This league is going to the wire... 'Hall hanging in there, and with both Avondale and Rockmount at home, we'll at least have an influence on the destination. As we've seen through the season, there are no gimmes so it'll go all the way and we still have a squeak.

It has been a terrific league this season - teams in contention all over the place which makes for more excitement and more meaningful matches.

ball-hop
30/04/2008, 7:56 AM
Back to the marathon tonight Clifford - we're in Cobh tomorrow night - how do you expect to go tonight?

Clifford
30/04/2008, 12:26 PM
Back to the marathon tonight Clifford - we're in Cobh tomorrow night - how do you expect to go tonight?

Looking forward to it, Castleview are always difficult and it's all to play for. Depends who shows up for Mount tonight with regard to work etc..

Interesting to see how the lads will perform after Sunday's epic battle. Hoepfully they will be on the crest of a wave from here til the season end.

Anyone hear the result between Fermoy and St Mary's in the pop kelleher cup? I think Fermoy won it 2-1 surprisingly enough, although they were decent against us last week.

Clifford
30/04/2008, 10:36 PM
Rockmount 3-0 Castleview

Easy win tonight for Rockmount. Willie Byrne and Beech with 2 were the goalscorers. Nothing at all to report other than it was comfortable. If only they were all like this one.

The marathon moves over to Passage on Saturday now for the defending champs. Fingers crossed they all stay fit and healthy from here on in. Good to see Stevie Yelverton set up the second and get minutes on the pitch under his belt. Savage player to be getting back to fitness at this point of the season.

Clifford
01/05/2008, 11:24 AM
this the site i'm using at the moment the other one is closing after a few seconds.
http://www.msl.leaguerepublic.com/

Bumping this as I still having trouble gettin in direct.

Allstar
01/05/2008, 10:11 PM
Wanderers beat the hall 2-1 tonight. 2 unbelieveable goals from chubbs!! the hall were fairly brutal 2 b honest. wat do ya wreckon ball hop????

Clifford
01/05/2008, 10:55 PM
Jaysus thats some result. Gutted for Hall! Well done Wanderers.

ball-hop
02/05/2008, 7:52 AM
'Hall fell apart after going in front. Not an inspiring performance at all.... Billy will have learned nothing :-)

Fair play to Wanderers - two super goals and on the balance of play the right result. Think too many looking towards May 11.....

C'e la via!

ball-hop
02/05/2008, 8:28 AM
Everton beat Carrigaline 1-0 to move them to a far safer position. Passage on 16 points with Rockmount and the 'Hall to play look treacherous, while College should do enough to survive against Carrigaline.

Who have Castleview left?

ball-hop
02/05/2008, 11:45 AM
Had a quick look at the MSL Site, which hasn't been updated with this week's results yet.
Top seems a straight race between Rockmount and Avondale - if Rockmount beat Passage tomorrow, they'll go level with Avondale with a game in hand - right Cliff?
Dale have Mount, Castleview and Hall;
Mount have Dale, Blarney, Passage and Hall.
Sure to go to the wire!!

Bottom is as clear as mud, though Everton did themselves a big service last night.

Everton 17 played, 19 points - Rockmount away
UCC 17 played, 17 points - Carrigaline
Castleview 17 played, 17 points - Avondale at home
Passage 16 played, 16 points - - Rockmount home, 'Hall away
Carrigaline 17 - 11 points - UCC

Hmmmm.....

Clifford
03/05/2008, 5:45 PM
Passage 0-2 Rockmount

Another game, another win for Rockmount in the league. A difficult enough task was made a lot easier by two first half goals in the space of 3 minutes. First Jammer smashed a Micky Deasy cross into the top corner and then Willie Byrne curled in a beauty with his left peg to seal the win.

Passage tried hard to get back into it, but bar hitting the crossbar once through the impressive number 9 they never made Slatts break sweat.

Special mention today to Johnny Busteed who I don't think lost a ball all day long or a header. Incredible performance, for one so old. Only jesting Johnny.

Clifford
05/05/2008, 9:57 PM
Mount lost to Mayfield in the Beamish cup today 2-1 - Monty scored for Rockmount who played with 4/5 regulars.

ball-hop
06/05/2008, 8:05 AM
'Hall beat Youghal 4-0 in the Beamish cup. Now for Sunday!!

Clifford
06/05/2008, 11:36 AM
Those results make Hall hot favourites then. Such good form by them will never be matched by a team who lose to Mayfield. Ah well sure it was fun to get to the final. Bookies have put Mount out to 10-1 to win as a result....now where's my iron :D

ball-hop
12/05/2008, 8:10 PM
Sweet - all four Senior League teams at home with City and Ramblers away.

Everton v. Carrick
'Mount v. Bray
Marys v. Wayside
'Hall v. Drogheda Utd

Great that none have to travel - hope that the fixtures are such that those who wish can go to as many of the matches as possible

Clifford
12/05/2008, 10:35 PM
Sweet - all four Senior League teams at home with City and Ramblers away.

Everton v. Carrick
'Mount v. Bray
Marys v. Wayside
'Hall v. Drogheda Utd

Great that none have to travel - hope that the fixtures are such that those who wish can go to as many of the matches as possible

I'd go to all four of them if it is possible. Great draw for the MSL and nice acknowledgement of Rockmount on the rte draw live on MNS. Happy days.

Back to a mountain of fixtures now with 4 in the next week starting Thursday. Bring it on I say. We could still be playing in July at this rate.

15/05/2008, 1:10 PM
Avondale are away to Castleview tonight, must win game.

ball-hop
15/05/2008, 8:46 PM
Just back from the 'Hall game - 2-1 to the 'Hall, goals from Strachan and Wilkie. Passage now relegated.

I heard that Carrigaline beat UCC, and that Avondale were 2-1 up on Castleview. How did it finish Razor?

Clifford
15/05/2008, 9:43 PM
Mount lost on spotters to Cork City in the Muns senior cup semi final. 0-0 after 90 mins. FAI referees and linos tonight, Alan Kelly in the middle. My God how how how is he allowed? anyone who watches MNS will know about them. Enough said.

15/05/2008, 9:50 PM
I heard that Carrigaline beat UCC, and that Avondale were 2-1 up on Castleview. How did it finish Razor?Finished 3-1 to Dale

Mount lost on spotters to Cork City in the Muns senior cup semi final. 0-0 after 90 mins.City fielded a complete 2nd team, I presume ye hardly had a full side out either what with the celebrtions and all.

gee wizz
16/05/2008, 2:04 PM
the curse of winning the first divison strikes again,passage this year mayfield last year

Clifford
16/05/2008, 2:51 PM
Finished 3-1 to Dale

City fielded a complete 2nd team, I presume ye hardly had a full side out either what with the celebrtions and all.

It wasn't full strength, but wasn't totally reserve either. Bossed the game to be fair, McNulty made a save or two and as I said above Kelly made sure the deadlock wasn't broken.

Not sure how well some of the players were to be fair, but gave it a good rattle.

ball-hop
16/05/2008, 3:31 PM
Wouldn't have thought that the MSC was top of the priority list out Rockmount way!!! or even the O'Connell Cup...