View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

09/03/2008, 7:10 PM
Quote copied from Razor on the Intermediate thread just cos today was Dale's payback and payback in spades it was. But Mount only had to play the 2nd half against 10 men.
Who was reffin?
He must log on here :D

Clifford
09/03/2008, 10:26 PM
But Mount only had to play the 2nd half against 10 men.
Who was reffin?
He must log on here :D

Yeah we did and restricted Dale to a big fat 0, that's 0 attempts on goal. Oh he sent off one of ours as well to even things up before going on to award the most disgustingly ridiculous cheating spotter I've even seen given in my life.

But there ya go, league wide open which is what the MSL wanted at the end of the day. ;)

Still unbeaten in over two years of league football!

10/03/2008, 7:45 AM
the most disgustingly ridiculous cheating spotter I've even seen given in my life.I wasn't there so I couldn't say, and while I do respect your report, I'm afraid I may have to go elsewhere for am impartial view :D

But there ya go, league wide open which is what the MSL wanted at the end of the day. ;)conspiracy theory, i like it.

Still unbeaten in over two years of league football!A super achievement at any level, well done.

Footballer
10/03/2008, 9:15 AM
I can second that alright(regarding the penalty decision)
I decided to travel up to Rockmount park on Sun morning. It was quite a trip but it was worth it.
Between Avondale getting a sending off just before half time, the penalty decision at the end and Caulfield & Billy Cronin having a go at each other at half time it was all quite worth the trip.
Rockmount went one up about 25 minutes into the end game. Deasy scored from a Brendan O 'Connell mistake. Rockmount played football for the first half. Avondale then just got a man sent off, for what was a defo sending off but Finbarr Murphy was not going give the red only for Rockmount players to kind of bulling em into it. That is something I think is totally wrong but how Finbarr wasn't going to give the red was quite funny. Caulfield gave out to Horgan for getting sent off but JC was totally right. It was a bad challenge in the middle of the park, which wasn't needed
Then the half time whistle went & Caulfield made a quick burst to the referee where Cronin followed. They obviously clashed with Caulfield pushing past Billy who in turn shouldered em. It was worth the trip and the cold weather.
Second half started and Avondale created nothing but had more of the ball. They played quite a bit of long ball, infact that is all the played. Rockmount looked solid and had a man sent off, deservingly so. His first was a yellow which could have been a red only for Hally to stay on his feet. 10 minutes later he gave away another foul and then when he gave out the finbarr he picked up the ball and lashed into the other field. How that wasn't red then I don't know what is(I'll get on to Damo).Then came Damo, I'm laughing while I'm typing this cause I have to say it was was so bad a decision a person would have to laugh. I'm trying to think which was worse, his scream or his fall. I wouldn't call it a dive cause he couldn't even do that right. He landed on his knees standing upwards with his two hands in the air screaming but how Finbarr gave it was I suppose as Cliffy said disgraceful. It was shocking. Without doubt a yellow for diving. I was surprised how calm Rockmount were afterwards cause Caulfield would have went mad, AGAIN
Overall Rockmount were the better team and looked like they were in third gear. The dale looked quite poor.
Pick of the Match: Johnny C & Billy Cronin at half time. These two must not like each other.
Moan of the match: Has to be poor old Finbarr. What a disgraceful decision but Damo needs to have a look at himself too
As they say "that's football"!

Footballer
10/03/2008, 9:20 AM
Oh ya, missing for Avondale
Cotter
Spratt
O'Sullivan

Missing for Rockmount
Howey
Beechinor
Busteed.

Finbarr refereeeing Avondale vs Douglas hall in Monday's replay. That's 3 weeks in a row................

Clifford
10/03/2008, 12:25 PM
I can second that alright(regarding the penalty decision)
I decided to travel up to Rockmount park on Sun morning. It was quite a trip but it was worth it.
Between Avondale getting a sending off just before half time, the penalty decision at the end and Caulfield & Billy Cronin having a go at each other at half time it was all quite worth the trip.
Rockmount went one up about 25 minutes into the end game. Deasy scored from a Brendan O 'Connell mistake. Rockmount played football for the first half. Avondale then just got a man sent off, for what was a defo sending off but Finbarr Murphy was not going give the red only for Rockmount players to kind of bulling em into it. That is something I think is totally wrong but how Finbarr wasn't going to give the red was quite funny. Caulfield gave out to Horgan for getting sent off but JC was totally right. It was a bad challenge in the middle of the park, which wasn't needed
Then the half time whistle went & Caulfield made a quick burst to the referee where Cronin followed. They obviously clashed with Caulfield pushing past Billy who in turn shouldered em. It was worth the trip and the cold weather.
Second half started and Avondale created nothing but had more of the ball. They played quite a bit of long ball, infact that is all the played. Rockmount looked solid and had a man sent off, deservingly so. His first was a yellow which could have been a red only for Hally to stay on his feet. 10 minutes later he gave away another foul and then when he gave out the finbarr he picked up the ball and lashed into the other field. How that wasn't red then I don't know what is(I'll get on to Damo).Then came Damo, I'm laughing while I'm typing this cause I have to say it was was so bad a decision a person would have to laugh. I'm trying to think which was worse, his scream or his fall. I wouldn't call it a dive cause he couldn't even do that right. He landed on his knees standing upwards with his two hands in the air screaming but how Finbarr gave it was I suppose as Cliffy said disgraceful. It was shocking. Without doubt a yellow for diving. I was surprised how calm Rockmount were afterwards cause Caulfield would have went mad, AGAIN
Overall Rockmount were the better team and looked like they were in third gear. The dale looked quite poor.
Pick of the Match: Johnny C & Billy Cronin at half time. These two must not like each other.
Moan of the match: Has to be poor old Finbarr. What a disgraceful decision but Damo needs to have a look at himself too
As they say "that's football"!

A spot on summary in my book. Just cause I'm Mount through and through Razor don't mean I'd lie or distort things. It really was a shocking decision to the point that even O Connell was laughing when he got up in shock/disbelief.

Half time entertainment provided at Rockmount park is a step ahead of the rest as well, never a dull moment when those two meet up! :D

10/03/2008, 1:06 PM
Just cause I'm Mount through and through Razor don't mean I'd lie or distort things.I never said that, its just that your views are pretty much one sided, thats all.
The fact that it was a soft penno probably makes it all the sweeter for Dale.
Will ask Damo when I see him.

Clifford
10/03/2008, 2:58 PM
I never said that, its just that your views are pretty much one sided, thats all.
The fact that it was a soft penno probably makes it all the sweeter for Dale.
Will ask Damo when I see him.

Very harsh on me, I'm a bastion of all things equality related...:D

I've even had my fair, exciting, unbiased reports put up on the MSL website.......what more do I need to do to prove that I love all the clubs in the MSL without predjudice????? :D

messer
11/03/2008, 8:18 AM
Always complaining about referees in Cork. How will Marys do at Wayside on Sunday?

messer
11/03/2008, 8:30 AM
Will they be complaining about ref if they dont win?

11/03/2008, 8:36 AM
Very harsh on me, I'm a bastion of all things equality related...:DHow come you never mentioned Micky "Rocky" Deasys attempt to punch the knees off the soon to be red carded Dale defender?
Could have been a player each heading for an early HT
For the record, my impartial source told me it was a very soft penalty.

Always complaining about referees in Cork. How will Marys do at Wayside on Sunday?In the immortal words of Damien Richardson, they'll be "Ridden Rock Solid"

Will they be complaining about ref if they dont win?Depends on the severity of the RRS

Clifford
11/03/2008, 10:18 AM
How come you never mentioned Micky "Rocky" Deasys attempt to punch the knees off the soon to be red carded Dale defender?
Could have been a player each heading for an early HT
For the record, my impartial source told me it was a very soft penalty.

Aw sure god help us the poor likkle girlies making up likkle stories to justify their woeful assault on Yelvie.

Interesting that footballer didn't see fit to mention "said event" either in his above post...

Good draw for Dale in the senior cup 2nd round. Away trip to Salthill for Rockmount.

Clifford
11/03/2008, 10:19 AM
FAI Ford Senior Challenge Cup - 2nd Round Draw

Corduff United FC V St. Mary’s AFC
Avondale United FC V Drogheda Town FC
Douglas Hall FC/ Castlebar Celtic FC V Belgrove FC
Crumlin United FC V Liffey Pearse FC
Salthill Devon FC V Rockmount AFC
Killester United FC V Bangor Celtic FC
Swilly Rovers FC V Wayside Celtic FC
St. James Gate V Carrick United FC
Everton AFC V Tullamore FC
Mervue United FC/Lissadel United V Fanad United/Carrigaline United

Fixtures to be played weekend ending, Sunday 20th April

11/03/2008, 11:05 AM
Aw sure god help us the poor likkle girlies making up likkle stories to justify their woeful assault on Yelvie.This came from an impartial source, no justification was made on behalf of the Dale player, definite second yellow but surely that would be punishment enough without having a guy half his size trying to knock him out.
I can see it now, "Put up your Dukes" with a hand on his forehead and he swingin furiously.:D

Clifford
16/03/2008, 4:02 PM
Match called off yesterday vs Everton, only shame was ref waited til everyone was there before pulling it. A quick trip out in the morning would have seen it cancelled and no need to make the trip.

Clifford
17/03/2008, 7:54 PM
Rockmount 3-0 Carrigaline

Beamish cup game today, easy win for the Mount team, Robbie Deasy and Pat Keane and Beech got them. Fermoy next up in this cup.

Clifford
21/03/2008, 5:53 PM
Apparently Douglas Hall 1-3 Everton is a result from the league today. They must be wrecked after Monday's exploits. Fair play to Everton.

gee wizz
21/03/2008, 9:37 PM
avondale 5-1 cobh wanderers,terrible day at the office for the wanderers

Clifford
24/03/2008, 10:08 PM
I believe the Hall took another beating today at the hands of Blarney, MSL's plans to have an 8 point Hall gap at the end of Easter has blown up somewhat.

Come on Rockmount, fixture pile up or not we'll give it everything to win the three in a row.

25/03/2008, 7:55 AM
Everton beat Avondale 2-1 yesterday up in Everton Park.
With one of the Everton goals a hoof from 50 yards the bounce deceived the Dale keeper, over him and into the net.

Clifford
25/03/2008, 8:29 AM
If only they had a proper keeper eh Razor? Some weekend for Mount without a game.

Edit: appears that it was Beamish cup between dale and Everton.

Rockmount away to Everton in the league Sun coming.

Clifford
30/03/2008, 9:58 PM
1-1 today at the Airport. Mount ahead through a lovely Pat Keane goal. Missed a few chances and paid the price when Everton equalised in the second half. Most likely the fairest result as both teams put in a good shift and Everton deffo showed enough industry and energy to take something from the game. They are obviously in good form and it showed. Mount might have had the semi next week on their minds, but no complaints here with the result at the end of the day.

Clifford
31/03/2008, 12:05 PM
Munster Senior League

FAI Senior Cup 1st Rd:
Douglas Hall 4 Castlebar Celtic 1;
Fanad United 2 Carrigaline United 0;

Senior Premier Div:
Blarney United 1 Cobh Wanderers 1;
Everton 1 Rockmount 1;

Senior Div 1:
Ballincollig 2 Leeds 0;
Mayfield United 0 Ballinhassig 0;

Div 2:
Garryduff 2 Casement Celtic 1;
Lakewood Athletic 2 CIT 0;

Pop Kelleher Cup QF:
College Corinthians 3 Mallow United 1;
Fermoy 5 Tramore Athletic 4;

Junior Premier Div:
Blarney United 1 Douglas Hall 2;
Avondale United 5 UCC ‘A’ 1;
Rockmount 0 Ringmahon Rangers ‘A’ 0;

Div 1:
CIT 0 Crofton Celtic 3;
Everton ‘A’ 3 Fermoy 0;
Brooklodge United 0 Mallow United 0;
College Corinthians ‘B’ 2 Ringmahon Rangers ‘B’ 2;
Glasheen 0 College Corinthians ‘A’ 0.

Allstar
31/03/2008, 4:15 PM
Wat a game the tramore match would of been to go to ha!! Everton seem to b flying at the moment

Clifford
31/03/2008, 5:32 PM
Wat a game the tramore match would of been to go to ha!! Everton seem to b flying at the moment

It went 3-0 Fermoy, then 4-2, then 4-4 and in extra time Fermoy won it apparently. What a game indeed.

Clifford
01/04/2008, 4:02 PM
Fixtures for the weekend locally, I'll be in Dublin this weekend for the Intermediate cup semi final, good luck one and all.

SAT 05 APR 2008 02:00 PM
Castleview v Carrigaline Utd O'Sullivan Park

SUN 06 APR 2008 10:45 AM
C Blarney United v Everton O'Shea Park
Everton v Passage Everton Park
UCC v Avondale Utd The Farm

Clifford
07/04/2008, 9:03 AM
Munster Senior League
FAI Intermediate cup semi-finals:
Wayside Celtic 0 Rockmount 0;
Bangor Celtic 0 Douglas Hall 2.

Senior Premier Div:
Castleview 4 Carrigaline Utd. 0;
Everton 1 Passage 0;
UCC 1 Avondale Utd 3.

Div 1:
Fermoy 1 Ballinhassig 1;
Tramore Ath. 0 St. Mary’s 4;

Div 2:
Templemount Celtic 2 Glasheen 1;
Midleton 1 Garryduff 1;
Bandon 0 Youghal Utd. 3.

Senior Cup 1st Rd:
Ringmahon Rgs. 3 CIT 4;
Leeds 2 Cobh Wanderers 1.

2nd Rd:
Mayfield Utd. 2 Ballincollig 0.

Clifford
09/04/2008, 11:06 PM
Back to the league now and a mental 6 days for Mount with Douglas Hall tomorrow night, Carrigaline Sunday and Cobh Wanderers on Weds. Bloody hell...talk about a pile up. It's taken 6 months to play half a season and Mount will now play the other half of the season in 6 weeks. What a shambles in my opinion.

gee wizz
10/04/2008, 8:06 AM
could be a lot worse cliffy ye could be struggling for survivly like the bottom 4 or 5 teams, so i wouldn't feel too sorry for myself just yet:ball:

Yoda01
10/04/2008, 10:06 AM
could be a lot worse cliffy ye could be struggling for survivly like the bottom 4 or 5 teams, so i wouldn't feel too sorry for myself just yet:ball:

hi gee wiz, any report on your game against leeds last weekend? an unexpected defeat, did ye not play a full team?

Clifford
10/04/2008, 10:44 PM
Deep breaths, count to ten...etc...

Rockmount 2-2 Douglas Hall.

A superb encounter ended in stalemate tonight after Mount came from a goal down to lead 2-1, only for Hall to pull it back level and come away with a share of the spoils. Hall went ahead with a header from a free about 30 mins into the game without either side threatening up until then. Mount came out all guns blazing in the second half and about 15mins in Wille Byrne burst through the middle to set up a Pat Keane cross that was blasted home by Ross O Callaghan. Jammer was then pulled back unceremoniously in the area and from the resultant spotter Willie Byrne almost broke the net. Straight down the other end and a free header from the Hall centre back went in from six yards to pull things level again. Beech was ruled offside after sticking one in the net with 5left and then we had the incident at the end.

What happened at the end of the game beggars belief, but I'm not even going to go there as the ref admitted that a mistake was made and that apparently makes it ok. I don't think it does, but apparently the officials have feelings too ( :D) so I'll bite my tongue this time.

I'll let someone else mention it if they were there as I don't want to be seen to be mental (or any more mental than usual I suppose.)

Clifford
10/04/2008, 10:45 PM
Apparently Dale drew 1-1 with Carrigaline as well tonight, but I'm not 100% sure on that one? Anyone?

Yoda01
11/04/2008, 10:17 AM
Deep breaths, count to ten...etc...

Rockmount 2-2 Douglas Hall.

A superb encounter ended in stalemate tonight after Mount came from a goal down to lead 2-1, only for Hall to pull it back level and come away with a share of the spoils. Hall went ahead with a header from a free about 30 mins into the game without either side threatening up until then. Mount came out all guns blazing in the second half and about 15mins in Wille Byrne burst through the middle to set up a Pat Keane cross that was blasted home by Ross O Callaghan. Jammer was then pulled back unceremoniously in the area and from the resultant spotter Willie Byrne almost broke the net. Straight down the other end and a free header from the Hall centre back went in from six yards to pull things level again. Beech was ruled offside after sticking one in the net with 5left and then we had the incident at the end.

What happened at the end of the game beggars belief, but I'm not even going to go there as the ref admitted that a mistake was made and that apparently makes it ok. I don't think it does, but apparently the officials have feelings too ( :D) so I'll bite my tongue this time.

I'll let someone else mention it if they were there as I don't want to be seen to be mental (or any more mental than usual I suppose.)

eh clifford, don't you dare leave us hanging like that! come on spill the beans we all know ur mental anyways :D

ball-hop
11/04/2008, 10:21 AM
Just thawed out after a cold, wet night in Whitechurch. Must agree, terrific match, second half particularly good.
I didn't hear anything about referee making a mistake, I thought it was a clear free out for a collision with the 'keeper jumping for the ball. I've seen softer frees given when the goalkeeper is involved.

Overall, a great advert for the MSL - cracking match, great pace, contrasting styles, complete commitment. Roll on part II.

Yoda01
11/04/2008, 10:41 AM
Just thawed out after a cold, wet night in Whitechurch. Must agree, terrific match, second half particularly good.
I didn't hear anything about referee making a mistake, I thought it was a clear free out for a collision with the 'keeper jumping for the ball. I've seen softer frees given when the goalkeeper is involved.

Overall, a great advert for the MSL - cracking match, great pace, contrasting styles, complete commitment. Roll on part II.

hi ball-hop, welcome aboard... so what exactly happened at the end?

11/04/2008, 10:58 AM
I'll let someone else mention it if they were there as I don't want to be seen to be mental (or any more mental than usual I suppose.)Your not mental Cliffy just incredibly biased.
Come on spill the beans, we promise we'll take it with the usual grain of salt.;)

11/04/2008, 11:03 AM
Double Post

ball-hop
11/04/2008, 11:12 AM
Should've mentioned.... Avondale scored a late equaliser in Carrigaline. This leaves them in deep trouble, and Rockmount and 'Hall visit them for their next 2 games.

My read was that the 'Hall keeper was fielding a cross, got bumped by a 'Mount forward, ball fell over the line. IMHO Always a free out.

Honesty, I was surprised by the 'Mount reaction. If the shoe was on the other foot I think Rockmount would have been a bit upset if a goal was given. I had no idea of what referee might have said to players etc at the time or at the full time whistle.

Keeps the pot boiling..... looks like 3 in contention at the top, 6 in contention at the bottom - will make for an interesting 3 or 4 weeks.

Clifford
11/04/2008, 12:16 PM
Ball crossed in, keeper dropped it, wasn't touched by forward, ball goes into net ref gives free out. Ref at final whistle says he got it wrong, their keeper said he dropped it cleanly and was amazed to get away with it, but happy he did. Obviously.

That's the reason people were going mental, no idea how you saw contact bud as there was no one near him.

Dale spotter and this one really gall me, but as I'm not involved I can't do anything about it.

Clifford
11/04/2008, 12:20 PM

At the end of the day, this comment is what matters, totally agree with the sentiment.

Real end to end high energy stuff. I'm very impressed with number 7 for hall, don't know his name and the 10 Deckie something is also very very good in my opinion.

ball-hop
11/04/2008, 12:30 PM
Seamus Long and Deccie O'Connell.

Ross O'Callaghan made a big difference, fine player. Any idea why he didn't start. Willie very solid.

Great tussle all through between Beech and Wilkie

Clifford
11/04/2008, 12:37 PM
Really enjoyed the Beech battle as well, he held up some great ball, but the CB also won a lot of ball - 50% 50% in the end I suppose.

I think it's just rotation with regards to Ross (he was good Sunday), Jammer was superb in the second half when Mount were pressing and he was the one who came in essentially. Difficult to name Mount's first team.

Robbie and Micky Deasy and Ross and Beech are playing for the 2 spots and share it well

gee wizz
11/04/2008, 1:09 PM
hi gee wiz, any report on your game against leeds last weekend? an unexpected defeat, did ye not play a full team?

we had the bare eleven with the manager making up the one and only sub although he wasn't used,leeds had 2 attacks in the first half and scored twice the wanderers scored late on in the second half which was too little too late maybe should have been a draw but seen as we have nearly gone out of every cup at the first hurdle it came as no surprise,the usual bad blood from these 2 teams from last year was not evident and it wasn't a classic game like last years league game which was probably down to so many players being missing from both side,on a plus point for leeds they had a young winger who was top class all game and with the right coaching will be a fantastic player in a year or two.

ball-hop
13/04/2008, 2:34 PM
Avondale 1 Passage 0
Carrigaline 0 Rockmount 2
Castleview 1 'Hall 1

Shaping like a 2 horse race. Hall's recent slip ups could prove costly.

Clifford
13/04/2008, 10:15 PM
Rockmount won well at a tough Carrigaline venue this morning. Gearoid scored in the first half to ease the pressure and after Slatts pulled off a great save Mount went down the other end and won it with a Ross O Callaghan goal. Goals going in again thank God. Looking forward to the run in. Another game Weds night home to Cobh Wanderers I think.

gee wizz
14/04/2008, 6:36 AM
ya wanderers on wednesday night cliffy at 6.45,looking forward to it hopefully it will be a good game,

ball-hop
14/04/2008, 8:07 AM
Wednesday night will tell even more tales....

'Mount in Cobh, 'Hall in Carrigaline, 'Dale at Everton.

Passage could be the team to suffer, they are running out of matches and not picking up the points.

I predict Rockmount and Hall to get full points, Everton to ruffle feathers and get a draw against Avondale.

Clifford
16/04/2008, 10:15 PM
Well Rockmount did their part and won 2-0 at home to Wanderers. Ruair Beechinor got both the goals from Willie Byrne corners. A tough first half saw Mount frustrated by Wanderers, but the class shone out in the end and a comfortable second half ensued.

Great stuff from the lads, I hear maybe Hall slipped up again??? No idea how Dale did.

gee wizz
17/04/2008, 7:59 AM
douglas drew with carrigaline 2-2, and avondale won 3-0, ya fairly comfortable last half hour for ye once ye got the goals from the corners, cant really remember any great shooting chances for both teams in a very blustery rockmount park, good player to be able to bring into the action as he has got four against this season alone, so its off to carrigaline on saturday for us and hopefully we can get something out of the game to keep us up in the premier

Clifford
17/04/2008, 10:45 PM
Carrig are in good form so you'll have your work cut out. Very good effort last night though, as you say squad depth tells an awful lot at this time of the year with 3 games a week.