View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

Clifford
16/04/2007, 10:36 AM
Chocolate? Your avin a larf innit? Where do you think your going to - a professional club or something?

Tell ya what, I'll butter it for ya.

16/04/2007, 10:59 AM
Chocolate? Your avin a larf innit? Where do you think your going to - a professional club or something?

Tell ya what, I'll butter it for ya.Tell Teddy Barry get the chequebook out and get some proper biscuits.
Although tis years since I put butter on a digestive, sounds nice.:p
Once I can dunk it I don't really mind. ;)

Clifford
16/04/2007, 11:57 AM
I'll give ya two of em if you come up behind the goal where all the hooliganz are and sing "I'm Razor, I'm barmy, I'm off me bleedin head" for a few minutes. I'll be the one in a burberry cap, burberry jacket and burberry wellies :D :D

16/04/2007, 2:26 PM
I'll give ya two of em if you come up behind the goal where all the hooliganz areDon't worry, i've ruffled a few feathers there in the past and won't be afraid to do it again.;)
Plus twould be well worth it for 2 digestives.

Clifford
17/04/2007, 10:33 PM
Rockmount 2-0 Avondale

Comfortable win for Rockmount tonight at home to a strong Avondale side. The first half was a toe to toe slog, but two second half goals clinched this one, funnily enough the first Mount goal came when Dale were on top for a period at the start of the second. A beautiful free kick by Willie Byrne was whipped in to the back post where the ubiquitous Stevie Yelverton popped up to head in. Too much huff and puff from Dale all told, they never troubled Slatts other than a tame Cotter free in the first half and a gilt edged chance with 2 mins left at the end. The imperious Weldon, Byrne and O Mahony triumvirate at the back saw off the galant efforts of a comitted front two for Dale. Mount were in control on the flanks with the fit again Busteed (well for about 75 mins anyway old man!!) in fine form on the right. Gearoid on the left had a difficult opponant in Tynan, but dealt well with everything superbly and even found time to get up to score the second with a vicious swerving effort nine minutes from time that deceived the luckless Dave in goals for the Dale. The aforementioned keeper had made 2/3 top class saves in the game and owes his side nothing at the end of this one. The midfield battle was dour and not a place for the faint hearted, honours even there I'd reckon. Alan O Connor and Steph Hurley ensured that the Dale backs will wake up in the morning knowing they were in a game.

All in all another superb display by the defending champions in their bid to retain the title.

18/04/2007, 8:01 AM
Didn't make it out after all Cliffy, work commitments prevented me.
Thats the title in the bag now surely.
Hopefully Dale can get all the bad displays out of the way before May 13th.

Clifford
18/04/2007, 8:19 AM
Just as well I didn't approach the lad behind the goal on his own then, I was convinced it was your self. Reputation would have been ruined.

"Hi, are you Razor off the internet?"

"Get away from me you sick pervert, I'll bate ya black and blue ya feign"

:eek: :D

18/04/2007, 8:23 AM
Just as well I didn't approach the lad behind the goal on his own then, I was convinced it was your self.A devilishly handsome chap then I presume.:cool:

Clifford
18/04/2007, 10:06 AM
A devilishly handsome chap then I presume.:cool:

:D I wouldn't know about that, I just scanned the packed attendance for a computer geek with a lap top and anorak. Saw loads of em in the Dale dugout, but settled on this lad for his adventurous, but biased abusing of the ref.

18/04/2007, 10:30 AM
but settled on this lad for his adventurous, but biased abusing of the ref.That sounds a bit like me alright but I can't see how that singled him out from the usual inhabitants of Rockmount
Park? :confused:
Was he upsetting the Rockmount Fogies behind the goal?

Clifford
18/04/2007, 12:01 PM
Oh no, we argue no decision, we accept our fate every time. I pity the poor linesman on the Dale side though, we really should be allowed send Billy to all the other clubs to educate them in the art of diplomacy and gentile response to decisions against us. Like Rafa he doesn't need to shout and rant, Jonny C take note....now where is that tongue in cheek icon.

18/04/2007, 1:14 PM
we really should be allowed send Billy to all the other clubs to educate them in the art of diplomacy and gentile response to decisions against us. You didn't get a new fitted kitchen recently did ya? :D

22/04/2007, 6:12 PM
I hear Mount cemented the title up in Guadalajara this morning.
Come on Cliffy, tell us all about it.

Clifford
23/04/2007, 12:08 PM
Morning,

Castleview 0-4 Rockmount

If anyone wonders where Man united's recent good attacking form went to on Sat, it was poached by the Rockmount managment and installed into their line up for the game away to Castleview. Pat Keane, the prolific Darren Doyle, Johnny Busteed with a sitter and Alan O Connor all scored, most of them goal of the season contenders. Castleview were very galant and put it up to Mount in the first half an hour, once the first went in the title chasers settled to the task better and proceeded to rip the View to shreds.

Unlucky on the View to be on the end of this performance, but it was coming for a while.

Just seen the fixtures and Rockmount have five games in the next 12 days, fingers crossed all the players stay fit and hang on to their title.

23/04/2007, 1:44 PM
Just seen the fixtures and Rockmount have five games in the next 12 days, fingers crossed all the players stay fit and hang on to their title.I presume the reserve 11 will be put out Wednesday night against Corinthians, Mayfield (Next Sat) & Everton (Tue week) away will be tough though, what are the other fixtures?
With City having 2 away games it'll be nice to get to Turners Cross on Thursday night for the Donie Forde Cup Final.
Although with Dales current form Tramore could spring a surprise.

Clifford
23/04/2007, 3:18 PM
Blarney away on Thurs and UCC at home on the Sat. Strongest 11 all the way from here on in. 7 points needed, not going to let up until they are in the bag. Some very tough away outings left in that lot of fixtures.

Forde final will be interesting, form book going out the window and all that. Although I imagine Dale players will be playing for places in the real cup final so it should be comfortable.

What's the fall out from Galway this weekend?

23/04/2007, 3:25 PM
What's the fall out from Galway this weekend?Spratty was definitely missed up front, really struggling to score goals at the minute.

Clifford
25/04/2007, 9:49 PM
Rockmount 3-0 College Corinthians

The Rockmount lads continued their relentless assault on the MSL tonight with another clean sheet, another 3 goals and another step on the road to retaining their title. Beech got the scoring under way with a good header, Ross copied Alan O Connors spectacular overhead kick at the weekend with his own version of Jackie Chan in full flight and our new diminutive striker put the seal on things with a cracking finish after a knock down from Pat Keane. All in all a good night's work, Mayfield next up in the whirlwind of matches...where will it all end???

26/04/2007, 7:55 AM
our new diminutive strikerSo diminutive that you don't know his name?
where will it all end???In the pub with the MSL title of course.

Clifford
26/04/2007, 9:06 AM
So diminutive that you don't know his name?

In the pub with the MSL title of course.

Naw, it's a secret, we don't want Mayfield or Everton getting info on him. Secret weapon kind of thing.

We don't drink. :rolleyes:

We'll go to the park and play picnic games and listen to Sully tell us how things were in the old days, we'll sit silently as Billy serenades us with songs from the musical Miss Saigon and we'll enjoy once again the committees version of Nesun Dorma, John Delea has an amazing baritone if you haven't heard....:D

26/04/2007, 10:25 AM
Naw, it's a secret, we don't want Mayfield or Everton getting info on him. Secret weapon kind of thing. Diminutive? Don't tell me ye've signed Mickey Deasy.

John Delea has an amazing baritone if you haven't heard....:DI've heard :rolleyes: :D

Clifford
26/04/2007, 4:04 PM
LEAGUE TABLE
Ply Pts
1 Rockmount 16 40
2 Everton 16 31
3 Avondale Utd 17 29
4 Douglas Hall 18 27
5 Blarney Utd 18 27
6 UCC 19 26
7 Castleview 18 26
8 Carrigaline Utd 18 23
9 Mayfield Utd 17 22
10 Tramore Ath 18 11
11 College Corinthians 19 5

27/04/2007, 7:51 AM
Donie Forde Cup Final
Avondale Utd 0-1 Tramore Athletic
One of those nights really, Caulfield didn't play his full team but saying that those that were out should have been well capable of beating a young Tramore team.
Tramore created 1 or 2 chances but once they got their goal from the penalty spot just before half time then it was a back 7 and hold on after that.
Apart from the keeper every single Tramore player went down with cramp in the 2nd half, they did lose 2 strikers through genuine injuries but fair play to the ref he added in the region of 8/9 minutes stoppage time at the end. Dale hit the post late on but I reckon if they were still there they wouldn't have scored.Their inability to score goals is becoming a real problem.
A nice going away present for Tramore, well done.

Clifford
27/04/2007, 9:46 AM
Fair play to Tramore. Might give them a pick me up after the season they had. Dalel have bigger fish to fry at the end of the day.

BobbyBoy
27/04/2007, 7:20 PM
Yeah it was a good win for us. Pity about the season. If a couple of results had gone our way who Knows.

No point in thinking about that now, hopefully the players will stick around and try and get us back up in next year.

Good game. Avondale really did struggle up top. The goal was well taken and i'm happy for the lads. Its tough when the managers are changing ever couple of weeks and players leaving and go aboard. Young team though we'll have to see.

Clifford
29/04/2007, 12:05 AM
0-0 today between Rockmount and Mayfield, tough game, Mount should have won it at the end. Another point in the bag. Come on Castleview!!

29/04/2007, 9:07 PM
0-0 today between Rockmount and Mayfield, tough game, Mount should have won it at the end. Another point in the bag. Come on Castleview!!Caught the last 10 minutes of this one as it was in the vicinity, Mount had a few chances but couldn't convert.
Avondale did manage to score on Saturday and defeated Douglas Hall 2-0.

Todays results from the MSL site
Everton 0-0 Castleview
Tramore 2-4 Carrigaline

So Mount a mere 9 point clear with 3 games left.
Have you conceded ye've won it yet?

Rockmount 17 41
Everton 17 32
Avondale 18 32

Clifford
29/04/2007, 10:24 PM
It's gonna be tight right to the wire, away to Everton and Blarney this week. I know we won it at Dale last season, but same type thing this season might not work out. I'm sure we'll be ready for anything, but the fat lady is indeed clearing the throat and starting to tune up for the last song.

Well done View, owe you some beers Billys Boots....that'll get him on here I bet!!

Clifford
01/05/2007, 2:53 PM
Off to the airport to catch a flight to the Everton game in a while. This is it, can Mount clinch it or will Everton prolong the agony until later in the week.

Bring it on.

Clifford
01/05/2007, 11:12 PM
Everton 2-6 Rockmount

On a balmy night, with the planes flying by like the Red arrows hailing the Champions, Rockmount AFC retained the Munster Senior League Premier Division title. Going through the season undefeated is a massive achievement for all involved and long may they enjoy the celebrations that begun after the full time whistle inside the changing rooms of their closest rivals.

A goal apiece in a whirlwind start saw Alan O Connor's stunning goal cancelled out by a penalty for Everton, ruining Mount's six game run without letting in a goal. The champions were not to be denied winning the title on the home soil of the only team that could catch them. Within 6 minutes they were back in front from a Willie Byrne corner that was headed into the top corner by Ross O Callaghan. This feat by the majestic O Callaghan was to be repeated an astonishing 3 more times during the course of the game by him alone, allowing him to walk off the pitch with 4 goals, another league medal and the match ball in his back pocket. His aerial prowess has been something to behold for a long time, but this evening he gave an exhibition that Niall Quinn would be proud of in his prime. Two more corners in the first half led to goals, one for O Calllaghan and one for Willie Byrne both from Alan O Connor deliveries, to send Mount in at half time in an astonishing, but much deserved lead. Everton for all their pre game confidence didn't know what hit them.

The second half was more of the same, as O Callaghan and Byrne twice combined to ensure the Everton keepers back would be in bits tomorrow morning. From the 5th goal onwards the Rockmount 11 dished out a lesson in free flowing possession football. Without doubt the Whitechurch men held out til their hour of need to produce their finest football. At the end, Evertons cracking consolation volley didn't matter in the slightest as the boys in yellow and green went marching in.

Every player on the night played his part in the dismantling of Everton, but obviously the man of the match would be heading through the air in the direction of Ross O Callaghan, this supporter has no doubt it too would be dispatched into the top corner of the net with aplomb.

As league campaigns go it doesn't get any better, well done lads, let's do it all again next year. Enjoy the weekend.

Championeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeesss, championeeeeeeeeeeesssss are we are we are we........

Cici900
02/05/2007, 4:59 PM
Congratulations on winning the league!!!!!!

Hope that the 'Hall can survive relegation.

03/05/2007, 9:14 AM
Well done Rockmount, comprehensive champions.
Fingers crossed now for Sunday week.

BillysBoots
03/05/2007, 10:58 AM
Well done Rockmount, comprehensive champions.
Fingers crossed now for Sunday week.

Yea, Fair Play, I'm ****ing delighted for ye...he he!! :rolleyes:

Clifford
03/05/2007, 10:54 PM
Blarney United 0-0 Rockmount

Stunning evening in Blarney, complimented by a stunning playing surface, complimented by a decent game of football. That's about the size of tonights match. Rockmount enjoyed the evening without every getting out of 3rd gear, Blarney played the better football for most of the second half, but came up against a brick wall in the Rockmount back 5 (even without the vetern Busteed!!). Formidable defending from Weldon, Byrne and Oldham as well as wing backs Yelvy and Gearoid made it very difficult for an industrious Blarney to make any inroads. The first half was even, with a melee in the Blarney six yard box after a goalkeeping fumble being the only action of real note.

The second half saw the Rockmount keeper bring off a quiet extraordinary save from a close range header after about 5 minutes. The ball was whipped in at pace from the right and the Blarney player got a touch on it that must have had him thinking "We've finally got through the mighty defence of Rockmount." "Not likely" says Slatts, who got down superbly to his right to get just enough on the ball to tip it around the post. The clean sheet count is mounting and it's great credit to the goalkeeping staff at the club that another season has passed with so many clean sheets, one more will do nicely. Well done both Derek's indeed.

A free kick hammered off the bar by Blarney's number 5 was about the highlight of the remaining 40 minutes. Rockmount probed, but at leisure. Blarney pressed, but with no penetration. All in all a nice evening, a competitive game and the Champions have one game to survive in order to end the season unbeaten.

Clifford
03/05/2007, 10:58 PM
RESULTS THU 03 MAY 2007
Avondale Utd 4 - 0 Tramore Ath Avondale Park
Blarney Utd 0 - 0 Rockmount O'Shea Park
Mayfield Utd 4 - 2 Everton Mayfield

Clifford
03/05/2007, 11:02 PM
Jaysus, that's some table from 4 to 9, it's going to be eventful on Sat this weekend. Hat's off to all the MSL web site for an incredibly up to date service. Well done chaps. Nice wage for match reporters I hear as well...:D

LEAGUE TABLE
Ply Pts
1 Rockmount 19 45 Champions
2 Avondale Utd 19 35
3 Everton 19 32

4 Blarney Utd 19 28
5 Douglas Hall 19 27
6 Castleview 19 27
7 Mayfield Utd 19 26
8 UCC 19 26
9 Carrigaline Utd 19 26

10 Tramore Ath 20 11 Relegated
11 College Corinthians 19 5 Relegated

04/05/2007, 8:16 AM
Nice wage for match reporters I hear as well...:D Do they have to be impartial? ;)

Last games
Castleview v Avondale Utd
Rockmount v UCC
Carrigaline Utd v Mayfield Utd
College Corinthians v Blarney
Douglas Hall v Everton

Blarney are safe cos Carrigaline are playing Mayfield and both cannot finish above them.
Its gonna be very very tight.

BillysBoots
04/05/2007, 9:20 AM
Do they have to be impartial? ;)

Last games
Castleview v Avondale Utd
Rockmount v UCC
Carrigaline Utd v Mayfield Utd
College Corinthians v Blarney
Douglas Hall v Everton

Blarney are safe cos Carrigaline are playing Mayfield and both cannot finish above them.
Its gonna be very very tight.

If UCC get a result against Rockmount, which I reckon they will, league won and all. Mayfield and Carrigaline draw. It's possible, if Castleview lose to Avondale, they will go down!! :eek:

Clifford
04/05/2007, 9:35 AM
If UCC get a result against Rockmount, which I reckon they will, league won and all. Mayfield and Carrigaline draw. It's possible, if Castleview lose to Avondale, they will go down!!

:eek: :D :D Never? Hmmmm, do Mount go for the "undefeated season" honour or will they let UCC win and phone Mayfield and Carrigaline to tell them do a 1990 on it????????

Come on Avondale, they found the goals last night I see, who got em Razor?

Do they have to be impartial?

Aren't they always with me?

Shilts
04/05/2007, 10:39 AM
Great finish to the season even if 3 relegation spots in an 11 team league is a little harsh. I tipped Carrigaline to go down earlier but its very tight now. If Rockmount try to stay unbeaten then they'll beat UCC. Mayfield and Carrigaline to 'Germany - Austria 1990' a draw to keep them both up and relegate UCC???
Or UCC to draw, Mayfield and Carrigaline to draw and Castleview and Doulas Hall to lose thus setting up a 5 way relegation playoff finishing in October. HAHA!!!

Shilts
04/05/2007, 10:44 AM
Great finish to the season even if 3 relegation spots in an 11 team league is a little harsh. I tipped Carrigaline to go down earlier but its very tight now. If Rockmount try to stay unbeaten then they'll beat UCC. Mayfield and Carrigaline to 'Germany - Austria 1982' a draw to keep them both up and relegate UCC???
Or UCC to draw, Mayfield and Carrigaline to draw and Castleview and Doulas Hall to lose thus setting up a 5 way relegation playoff finishing in October. HAHA!!!

04/05/2007, 11:15 AM
Come on Avondale, they found the goals last night I see, who got em Razor?Bout time, Big Derek got 3, Haulie got the other.

Aren't they always with me?Do you really want me to answer that?
Although I must admit having actual quotes from the keeper in the seconds before he made a save is above and beyond the call of duty.

Clifford
04/05/2007, 2:22 PM
:D Ha, ha, I heard it, I swear. I couldn't print what they said after the save was made though, unless I used loads of ***** things.

Cici900
05/05/2007, 4:56 PM
:) :) Douglas Hall 3-2 Everton today hall helld on very well

05/05/2007, 5:19 PM
Castleview 1-1 Avondale Utd
Carrigaline Utd 2-1 Mayfield Utd
Rockmount 0-0 UCC

Think this means Mayfield are relegated

Clifford
08/05/2007, 10:32 AM
Morning all,

Missed the games this weekend, can't believe Mayfield went in the end, they must really hate Carrigaline at this stage.

Undefeated through a season? Awesome, as the Echo said "That's why we're champions....."

BillysBoots
08/05/2007, 1:30 PM
Undefeated through a season? Awesome, as the Echo said "That's why we're champions....."

Undefeated, I'm ****ing delighted for ye!!

Cici900
08/05/2007, 2:16 PM
Congratulations and well done. Its a fair achievement to do a season unbeaten.

Clifford
08/05/2007, 10:44 PM
Cheers Cici900 and big hugs for Billy, I know relegation threatened wasnt on the menu for View, but ye'll be back....I know you mean it from the heart...thanks.

16/05/2007, 8:43 AM
Avondale and Rockmount tonight in the Quarter Final of the O'Connell Cup.
Mount should be well sobered up, Avondale? Probably not.