View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

Wuzza Wuzza
09/03/2007, 1:49 PM
It wouldn't surprise me if He was logged into this page himself, is he still playing?

09/03/2007, 4:15 PM
It wouldn't surprise me if He was logged into this page himself, is he still playing?No, John you're not ;) :D

Wuzza Wuzza
11/03/2007, 11:52 PM
Did Avondale win 5-1 yesterday? Any match report? Fair play to them.

Clifford
12/03/2007, 8:39 AM
Did Avondale win 5-1 yesterday? Any match report? Fair play to them.

Yeah, Razor has some info on the Intermediate cup thread. Good win for them. Glad it worked out after the messing last weekend, it's a hell of a costly cup to win, don't need silly cancellations getting in the way either.

BillysBoots
12/03/2007, 9:35 AM
Yeah, Razor has some info on the Intermediate cup thread. Good win for them. Glad it worked out after the messing last weekend, it's a hell of a costly cup to win, don't need silly cancellations getting in the way either.

Castleview won 3-0 against a very bad Tramore team. Avondale away on saturday..:eek:

BobbyBoy
15/03/2007, 3:05 PM
Yeah Tramore were poor. Struggled with 10 men although had a coupe of decent players. they were weak up front. Castleview werent outstanding but took their chances

Clifford
17/03/2007, 12:37 PM
Rockmount 2-1 Carrigaline this morning. Ross and Willie B free kick. Missing about 10 players, but got through it anyway.

17/03/2007, 7:32 PM
Rockmount 2-1 Carrigaline this morning. Ross and Willie B free kick. Missing about 10 players, but got through it anyway.Only 10? :eek: Thats some squad. :D
A weakened Avondale side beat Castleview 3-1 this morning.

BillysBoots
19/03/2007, 9:40 AM
Only 10? :eek: Thats some squad. :D
A weakened Avondale side beat Castleview 3-1 this morning.

Two questions Razor. Did you see the game? And did you see what the Referee and the two linesmen failed to see half way through the second half at 1-0?

BobbyBoy
19/03/2007, 4:16 PM
Just back from Tramore Rockmount. Not a bad game Mount won 2-1. All the goals were due to bad defending. Ref didnt have the best of games but they never do. Both had chances.

were u out there clifford? What did u think?

19/03/2007, 8:53 PM
Two questions Razor. Did you see the game? And did you see what the Referee and the two linesmen failed to see half way through the second half at 1-0?No, Billy I wasn't there, what happened?
Avondale lost 2-1 to Everton this afternoon, league is gone now.

Clifford
19/03/2007, 11:00 PM
Just back from Tramore Rockmount. Not a bad game Mount won 2-1. All the goals were due to bad defending. Ref didnt have the best of games but they never do. Both had chances.

were u out there clifford? What did u think?

Didn't make it today BB, had a match of my own this afternoon (3-3 draw for the record!! Not telling who with or where...:p )

By all account's your spot on, first one for Mount not closed down well enough, Willie Ronaldinho's free kick went in on the side the keeper should have been protecting and the sun made a mess of the dropping ball for the Mount keeper.

These wins are tough wins and are what Mount need to keep getting in the quest to retain the title. Away games are so tough in this league. No easy games as we found out this weekend and every other week.

Not to sure about the ref overall, but amazed he disallowed Beech's effort as the man on the line attempting to clear it should have given the ref a clue that he wasn't off side!! Good grief.

BillysBoots
20/03/2007, 12:50 PM
No, Billy I wasn't there, what happened?
Avondale lost 2-1 to Everton this afternoon, league is gone now.

Era nothing really, if you weren't there no worries....

Castleview v Douglas Hall Called off.

21/03/2007, 7:55 AM
Era nothing really, if you weren't there no worries....Ah Billy you can't leave us all hanging there.
You gotta tell us now. Come On.

Mallow away in the Beamish Cup next week.
Donegal the week after.

BillysBoots
21/03/2007, 12:34 PM
Ah Billy you can't leave us all hanging there.
You gotta tell us now. Come On.

Mallow away in the Beamish Cup next week.
Donegal the week after.

Ok if you really want to know, Tom Tully has been robbing Castleview for many a year now. It was 1-0 to Avondale, defender sticks the hand up and handles the ball in the box. Two linesmen and the ref and no penalty, just wondered what was your take on it but since you weren't at the game obviously there's no debate.

Good Luck next week in the Intermediate Cup!!

BobbyBoy
22/03/2007, 6:57 PM
I think ye prob no by now i'm tramore supporter. Hit by another player leaving the country young centre half is off to america wit college.

Already after losin 2 centres from last year. last years player/manager and top goalscore. last years player of the year.

Things aint goin right for us but when your down there they never do :-(.

ps Tully is a poor ref and shouldnt be in the munster senior league. makes his decisions based on what club you are and refuses to discuss anything and talks to players like there a lower life form

Shilts
23/03/2007, 12:14 PM
I hope this doesn't turn into a 'slag the ref' site. All teams will feel that they've been shafted by refs at some stage. However, you never hear too many stories saying that the ref gave us everything. HAHA!

Lets try to keep it positive. The introduction of the linesmen this season in the MSL Prem has been a success. I think everyone would agree with that.
Not all the best refs are doing MSL games tho'.
Gene Stephens, Finbarr Murphy and Larry Buckley are doing AUL games at the moment. These 3 are top refs in my opinion and should be reffin at a higher level. Any other good refs out there? :ball:

Clifford
23/03/2007, 10:06 PM
Gene and Finbarr? :eek:

I'd reckon it's better that a few new faces are coming into it and agree the linesmen have made for better games in general. I've never complained at a ref in Rockmount games ever, ha ha. I swear...

Except in the RSC against Waterford in the FAI cup a few seasons back when I ran from the back of the stand and nearly pole vaulted the barriers into the scumbag. Now that would have been an assault only seen in South America after the raping he gave us that night. We'd have won the cup that year.

Clifford
26/03/2007, 2:32 PM
Rockmount win 3-2 against Carrigaline in the cup, tough game, gave away 2 pens after going 1 up. Turned it round in the end, scorers: 2 from Beech and one from Buster.

Beamish Senior cup first round
Rockmount 3 Carrigaline Utd. 2;
Leeds 0 Midleton 1;
Ballinhassig 1 Bandon 2;
Casement Celtic 0 Fermoy 0 (Fermoy won 3-1 on pens.).

Beamish Stout Senior Cup second round
Mallow Utd. 3 Avondale Utd. 2;
St. Mary’s 4 College Corinthians 3.

Senior Premier Div.
Castleview 1 UCC 0;
Douglas hall 4 Tramore Ath. 1.

Senior 1st Div.
Ringmahon Rgs 3 Temple Utd. 0;
Ballincollig 2 Crofton Garryduff 2;
Passage 1 Youghal Ut 1;
Glasheen 0 Cobh Wanderers 3.

27/03/2007, 1:03 PM
Beamish Stout Senior Cup second round
Mallow Utd. 3 Avondale Utd. 2; Bad defeat even for a weakened Dale side.
Big Guns rested ahead of the big one in Donegal next weekend.

Clifford
29/03/2007, 9:14 AM
Here we go, the night games kick off for Rockmount tonight, home to Douglas Hall at 6.15

Now the battle is on to ensure players can get time off work. Going to be 2/3 games a week from here on in. Ho hum.

29/03/2007, 11:42 AM
Now the battle is on to ensure players can get time off work. Going to be 2/3 games a week from here on in. Ho hum.With the 35 man 1st team squad ye have sure these games will be no trouble.
Surely a few of them are full time pro by now.;)

Clifford
29/03/2007, 10:55 PM
They all get 10,000 a week obviously, but none of them are full time.

Won tonight 2-1 against the Hall, 1 down at half time again. Couple of scary moments, but keeper and good defending insured that when Oldham scored there was only going to be one winner, Alan O Connor duly obliged with a smashing volley with about 10 left. Another win, not pretty, but 3 points at the end of the day and all that horses***

30/03/2007, 8:10 AM
They all get 10,000 a week obviously, but none of them are full time.Tis no wonder Teddy Barry is after extending the shop so. :eek:

Thats the title in the bag now Cliffy, well done.
Dale got a few injury doubts for Sunday but hopefully a few days rest might iron things out.

Clifford
30/03/2007, 10:14 AM
Tis no wonder Teddy Barry is after extending the shop so. :eek:

Thats the title in the bag now Cliffy, well done.
Dale got a few injury doubts for Sunday but hopefully a few days rest might iron things out.

LOL, shure I'm on 2,500 a week just to show up and abuse the opposing bench. I think I'll wait til it's mathematically impossible for us to get caught before I accept your congrats with regard to the league. Too many banana skins left for my liking.

BillysBoots
30/03/2007, 12:05 PM
LOL, shure I'm on 2,500 a week just to show up and abuse the opposing bench. I think I'll wait til it's mathematically impossible for us to get caught before I accept your congrats with regard to the league. Too many banana skins left for my liking.

Get off that fence Cliffy, name one team who's going to catch ye? Try and say it with out laughing to yourself!!

Clifford
30/03/2007, 10:13 PM
Get off that fence Cliffy, name one team who's going to catch ye? Try and say it with out laughing to yourself!!

Well we know my prediction history (Everton to go down) is shocking, so if I say Mallow will catch us it may actually happen, despite the differing leagues.

Ain't over til the fat lady sings and I've well and truly not even thought about warming the bitch up yet. :D

Clifford
01/04/2007, 9:39 PM
Rockmount won 4-0 away to Castleview today in the Cup, comfortable I hear, but I wasn't there. Think Steph, Beech, Pat K and Willie got em, but not sure. Will confirm tomorrow.

historynut
04/04/2007, 7:58 AM
Just want to say guys took some time out last nite (yep euro soccer bores me) to scan your league thread looking for some info (more of which I'll come back later too) and had one of the best reads for a longer time. The banter you guys have and the underline humour with each other does come across,its A1. Boy do you all dish it out but can take it on the chin when your own club has a cropper even if you do go to ground for a while ! Its first class not like some threads were some throw wobblies on line. Though if as history shows you going to be a rebel you need disipline in the face adversity and we know you guys have got that !! You could have the beginnings of a comedy sketch show in there( I THOUGHT OF IT FIRSTT) never mind a home for disfunctional priests, real soccer fans at the grassiest (it does rain does it not) of roots of soccer.Me thinks that it sounds like the female role would go to Physio with the soft hands(hands that do dishes etc)
What was I looking for- as name suggests bit of a freak when it comes to Junior/Intermediate level in Ireland, like collecting records of various leagues. A few years back got hold of book on History of MSL by I beiieve 2 of Corks most reknowned soccer writers G. Desmond & D Galvin (believe they produce programme at T. X for City)(also did Rothmans style annuals on LOI for a couple of years in early 90's) apart from giving a damm good detailed history of the MSL it obviously gave details of the league Champs and R/UP to when the book was printed 1997/98. Ive put your league on back-burner (dont get upset now) pursued other leagues history and what do you know I'm 10 years behind. Managed to acertain last night Rockmount won it in 2005/06 with Avondale Utd R/up, Castleview champs 2004/05, if maths correct Rockmount 2001/2002 (2006-4), Would any of you charming helpful cork lads help me out re your league in giving me details of CHAMPS & RUNNERS UP PERIOD 1998/99 to 2004/05 and for also Div 1 98/99-05/06. OK wise guy why dont I TRY MSL web-page did, but does not seem to be a history page unless I missed it. A big thanks in anticipation of some help.
OK lets chat about the Msl. First of all league administrators crtainly know how to create grandslam finishes, you guys would'nt hack summer football you'd still be at it at Xmas. Mentioned apart from League, know about Ms CUP, AND fai Intermediate, what is deemed to be the leagues blue ribband cup. Know over the years league has covered most of province, though has always been Cork dominated, 1+1=2 re petrol for travelling to get better representation throughout province? Is there not a cup in Munster played for by the various league champs to determine overall top-dog similar to one in Connaught. Call it a province champions league. Or are MSL seen as I take it as top-dogs end of story. Obviously AUL seen as a feeder to your league.Nearly done, take it as league at Intermediate Level all member clubs enter Mun Senior Cup, what is criteria for entry to this cup by non-senior intermediate sides, is it similar format to FAI Cup last 4 or 8 in Munster Junior Cup qualify for MSCUP.. How well attended are games in MSL ?
And finally YES FINALLY, as Cork men I'm sure you'd want to wish one of your own the bst of luck in his baptism of fire as manager of my home town in trying to keep them in the F.L. the board in their hour of wisdom ditched the manager of some 5 years or so and thrust the job on your man. Who was seen as his able deputy promptly threw a wobbly (right out of his daddies repatoire) as it was'nt him who was picked and jumped ship. But I'm sure you'd rather us have a rebel boy than a son of an ex hun(oops dont want to get into troubled waters here). Hey great thead and appreciate any help with request. LETS SEE THE LIKES of FERMOY BACK AS TOP DOGS IN mUNSTER.

04/04/2007, 8:54 AM
Sounds like you're writing a book yourself.

MSL Premier Champions
Rockmount 06/07
Rockmount 05/06
Castleview 04/05
Avondale 03/04
College Corinthians 02/03
Rockmount 01/02
College Corninthians 00/01

Theres a new competition called the Donie Forde Cup where the top 4 in the Premier and the top 4 in the First playoff.

BillysBoots
04/04/2007, 10:08 AM
Sounds like you're writing a book yourself.

MSL Premier Champions
Rockmount 06/07
Rockmount 05/06
Castleview 04/05
Avondale 03/04
College Corinthians 02/03
Rockmount 01/02
College Corninthians 00/01

MSL 1st Divion Champs
Mayfield UTD 05/06
Blarney UTD 04/05
Castleview 03/04
Avondale 02/03

Douglas Hall 00/01
UCC 99/00

Clifford
04/04/2007, 10:31 AM
I see what you've done Razor and I think it's great that Avondale have won the Intermediate cup final as well.

Right I'm off to see if I can get a Swazi translator to see if I can welcome our new guest in his local lingo.

Welcome history nut, would echo the Fermoy sentiment, how would they go about it? Bring back Liam McMahon!!??

Clifford
04/04/2007, 10:34 AM
And finally YES FINALLY, as Cork men I'm sure you'd want to wish one of your own the bst of luck in his baptism of fire as manager of my home town in trying to keep them in the F.L.

What club you on about?

04/04/2007, 11:58 AM
MSL 1st Divion Champs
Mayfield UTD 05/06 2nd Tramore
Blarney UTD 04/05 2nd Carrigaline
Castleview 03/04 2nd Ringmahon
Avondale 02/03 2nd Fermoy

Douglas Hall 00/01 ??U sure Billy, Am thinking Cobh Wanderers for this year??
UCC 99/00 More above

BillysBoots
04/04/2007, 1:57 PM
Douglas Hall 00/01 ??U sure Billy, Am thinking Cobh Wanderers for this year??

Defo, I've a reason for knowing!!

04/04/2007, 2:54 PM
Defo, I've a reason for knowing!!Memory ain't what it used to be, maybe it was 2000 :confused:

historynut
04/04/2007, 6:27 PM
To, Razor, BillyBoots & Clifford, thanks for the info forwarded. Just need details of champs Runn/up Prem-98/99 and 99/2000. No Div 1 01/02 ? wAS'NT that the year foot & mouth ? Appreciate the Ceal ma Failte (forgive the spelling) and allow me to say diolch !
Is not Brian Carey a Cork man ? Belated congrats over us at Croke, only right really first soccer game there goes your way, but boy did I relish it when your XV really stuffed those *******s in white- that was joy !
In respect of Fermoy know the town is one of the pioneering spots of soccer in Ireland and munster consider its heritage and shame cant hack it at top no more.

Clifford
04/04/2007, 10:07 PM
Nice one Nut, that's fine Carey is indeed one of the Capital's finest.

It was always a great trip to Fermoy, lovely set up and good surface. Shame the teams are weak now, but they will come again I'm sure.

06/04/2007, 8:09 AM
Just to get us back on track,after being side tracked by the HistoryNut. Rockmount secured the league when Avondale were held 2-2 by Blarney the other night. They are away to Carrigaline next Monday night.

Tuesday nights results
Blarney Utd 2-2 Avondale Utd
UCC 2-1 Douglas Hall
Tramore Ath 3-1 College Corinthians
Castleview 1-2 Carrigaline Utd

Clifford
06/04/2007, 9:45 AM
Not so fast Razor my good man, Rockmount drew 0-0 last night against Mayfield. Game of few chances, Mayfield competed well, but created nothing until a pen was awarded to them, the Rockmount keeper pulled of an incredible save going full length high to his right fingertipping the ball away to safety :D Mount went on to dominate after that, but a Willie Byrne free kick off the cross bar, followed up by Beech hitting the crossbar from the rebound was about all we could muster.

No harm done, but it would have been a big step in the right direction if a win had ensued. Missing Pat Keane, Ken Howey, but obviously the biggest loss of all was the silky skills, pace, guile and goalscoring of the incredible Johnny Busteeed, who hopes to be back next week to lead his team in the run in - without him they are nothing he feels :p . (That what you were looking for Buster, eh?? :D Cheque in the post?)

Clifford
06/04/2007, 9:47 AM
LEAGUE TABLE
Ply Pts
1 Rockmount 13 31
2 Everton 15 28
3 UCC 18 23
4 Mayfield Utd 14 22
5 Avondale Utd 13 22
6 Carrigaline Utd 16 22
7 Douglas Hall 14 20
8 Castleview 13 19
9 Blarney Utd 14 15
10 Tramore Ath 16 11
11 College Corinthians 14 5

06/04/2007, 10:42 AM
Not so fast Razor my good man, Rockmount drew 0-0 last night against Mayfield.Oh dear, the pressure is obviously telling. :( Don't tell me the wheels have come off. :D

10/04/2007, 8:08 AM
If you were to read the Echo last night you would think the View were in trouble but yesterdays win should see them fine.

Yesterdays results
College Corinthians 0-2 Castleview
Carrigaline Utd 1-1 Avondale Utd
Douglas Hall 0-1 Blarney Utd

Clifford
10/04/2007, 4:47 PM
Carrigaline Utd 1-1 Avondale Utd

Your joking? Holy cow, just had a look at the table, the examiner is right only Rockmount are actually safe from relegation.

I might be spot on with my Everton prediction now they are in freefall again....:D :D ( I know, I know I should keep my mouth shut!!)

Shilts
12/04/2007, 9:58 AM
Any comments on College Corinthians getting relegated with 5 games to be played?
How a massive club with great facilities could be relegated with a miserable points total of 5pts is beyond me.
Remember it's only 4yrs since Corinthians won the MSL with a record total of 56pts (and a 20pt margin!!!). I reckon some major surgery is needed up there. :ball:

BobbyBoy
12/04/2007, 7:56 PM
Any comments on College Corinthians getting relegated with 5 games to be played?
How a massive club with great facilities could be relegated with a miserable points total of 5pts is beyond me.
Remember it's only 4yrs since Corinthians won the MSL with a record total of 56pts (and a 20pt margin!!!). I reckon some major surgery is needed up there. :ball:

Yeah they lost alot of there player of old and the new ones simply couldnt do it. The manager is gone already i think and its one of the UCC old boys comin in, can't remember his name. It has been a good season so far except for cancellations.

I cant see how they are going to come back up. Its hard to attract players to play in the first divison. Their Juniors arent doin great in their own league so can't rely on them. Its simply a matter of tryin to a couple of decent players and a bit of team spirit as this season a lot of them barely knew each others names

Clifford
12/04/2007, 10:17 PM
They gave an impressive battle against Everton tonight apparently, lost 2-1 with the Everton winner in the 92nd min or something like that.

15/04/2007, 7:48 PM
Weekends results

Last Thursday
Everton 2-1 College Corinthians
Avondale Utd 1-0 Mayfield Utd

Saturday
Douglas Hall 7-1 Carrigaline Utd
College Corinthians 0-3 Avondale Utd
Blarney Utd 3-1 Castleview

Sunday
Tramore Ath 0-3 UCC

Big one on Tuesday night
Might even pop out to the sticks for that one.

Clifford
15/04/2007, 10:22 PM
Mount lost to Everton 2-0 in one of the cups today, Beamish I think!

Do Razor, I'll even make ya a brew, if your lucky I'll throw in a digestive!!

16/04/2007, 8:18 AM
if your lucky I'll throw in a digestive!!Chocolate?