View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 [159] 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

striker09
12/08/2013, 10:25 PM
What kind of football was on display 'striker'? Was that the barry wall?
was actually ok for pre season plenty of gaols scored and high tempo games all teams doing ok . as for us we delighted with it making plenty of changes giving all the lads run outs .

mardyke
12/08/2013, 10:55 PM
Was at the Midleton tournament yesterday watched a bit of both games standard was poor! Tough year ahead

striker09
13/08/2013, 4:04 PM
We're u expecting champagne football in pre season ? ? We did well at times scoring couple of good goals with great build up play

striker09
13/08/2013, 10:30 PM
Allan martin resigns as rockmount manager tonight .Work commitments is the problem .

Clifford
13/08/2013, 11:04 PM
Sad to hear that about Alan, lovely lad and totally committed to the cause above in Mount. Interesting to see who goes in there now.....especially with a manager change at Dale as well.

Managing in the Prem is a tough gig to be honest, takes a heck of a lot of time and energy. With work and family I can see why fellas don't stay at it for long.

Clifford
13/08/2013, 11:09 PM
Was at the Midleton tournament yesterday watched a bit of both games standard was poor! Tough year ahead

Sorry Pep, will try harder next time.

Fri we were full strength and scored 4 good goals v Mayfield. Sun missing 2/3 but gave a good account of ourselves for 1st 20 mins v Midleton and again once they made their sec half changes. A pleasure to be invited down there to take part in a very good pre season competition. Thanks to all involved for that, we all realise the effort that goes into it.

Superkeeper
14/08/2013, 7:30 PM
Lads can't believe there's been so little activity on this post, has it been confirmed that Alan has left rockmount ? If so had it anything to do with the lack if numbers they have had up there in pre season ? Time for Billy to return, huge job with such little time to the start of the Keane cup

tricksey
14/08/2013, 8:36 PM
Lads can't believe there's been so little activity on this post, has it been confirmed that Alan has left rockmount ? If so had it anything to do with the lack if numbers they have had up there in pre season ? Time for Billy to return, huge job with such little time to the start of the Keane cup

Very little super I agree what s going on up In Everton park any signings our any news ?

thebooboys
14/08/2013, 10:08 PM
Leeside vs Mayfield tomorrow night in the annual Denis Cambridge Memorial match, k/o 7 pm in Mayfield.

mary
15/08/2013, 7:22 AM
Allan martin resigns as rockmount manager tonight .Work commitments is the problem .
A big loss to rockmount and to cork football.

el nino coro
15/08/2013, 12:09 PM

Work commitments my eye, RIP Rockmount

waspdragon2013
15/08/2013, 2:48 PM
Work commitments my eye, RIP Rockmount
Best one i hear in ages, work commtments my eye, couldnt evn get junior aul players to sign, billy cronin he aint, hopefully avondale will go the same way they dont bring throug any youth

Clifford
15/08/2013, 10:30 PM
Been left down for a friendly in Fermoy on Sat afternoon. Anyone free and able to play at such late notice? Pls call if so.

Cheers.

Edit: the magic of foot.ie again strikes in less than 30 minutes. All sorted now. Game fixed for Sat.

This site really is a great local soccer amenity for bringing clubs players and fans together. Fair play to all who run it. And best of luck to one and all over the coming season.

mayfield utd
15/08/2013, 11:45 PM
i also think alan martin quitting rockmount is just an excuse to get out,surely before pre season started he knew what's the story with work.if it's cos of the lack of player it's only going to get worst for the club now cos whoever did sign for alan martin will surely move on

magpie
16/08/2013, 1:39 PM
Best one i hear in ages, work commtments my eye, couldnt evn get junior aul players to sign, billy cronin he aint, hopefully avondale will go the same way they dont bring throug any youth
I think that a lot of people on this site are very quick to kick a man when he's down. Alan martin has been a fantastic man for both rockmount and local football in general. He had a very tough job to follow billy, and in my opinion his spell in charge was a pretty successful one considering that avondale have been near invincible for the past 5yrs.
I would like to see some of the couch potatoes on this site give the time and dedication that Alan martin has given.

old-head
16/08/2013, 2:26 PM
I think that a lot of people on this site are very quick to kick a man when he's down. Alan martin has been a fantastic man for both rockmount and local football in general. He had a very tough job to follow billy, and in my opinion his spell in charge was a pretty successful one considering that avondale have been near invincible for the past 5yrs.
I would like to see some of the couch potatoes on this site give the time and dedication that Alan martin has given.
Alan doesn't owe Rockmount a thing. Gave them great service as player/ Manager and given this service I hope it was his decision to walk away. Good luck to him in whatever he does...

el nino coro
16/08/2013, 4:07 PM

I was laughed at on here about a year ago when i said rockmount would be down in division one within 5 years,maybe i was being too generous when i said 5!!!

zico365
16/08/2013, 6:27 PM
I was laughed at on here about a year ago when i said rockmount would be down in division one within 5 years,maybe i was being too generous when i said 5!!!

Who is going to take the job next .?
Maybe u el nino?
Since u did play with them for awhile!

el nino coro
16/08/2013, 7:22 PM
Who is going to take the job next .?
Maybe u el nino?
Since u did play with them for awhile!

Alan Martin legged it faster than the captain of the costa concordia,why should i pick up his mess!

mary
17/08/2013, 1:25 PM
Come on Coro Alan got the best out of an average enough team,and still won some silverware last season.

Take-a-bow
17/08/2013, 8:01 PM
Come on Coro Alan got the best out of an average enough team,and still won some silverware last season.

Were there any friendly games today lads?

magpie
17/08/2013, 8:45 PM
Were there any friendly games today lads?

midleton drew 2-2 with a very impressive semi -pro Welsh outfit( cant remember their name). A game like this will only help with nxt wks opening game v Douglas.

Clifford
17/08/2013, 8:49 PM
Fermoy 1-1 st Mary's.

Good tough physical game - excellent pre season work out. Roll on Ringmahon next thurs in the Keane cup.

Thanks to Mary's for coming down, wish them well for the coming season. Don't think either side had many changes from the end of last season.

killer"B"
17/08/2013, 10:56 PM
was everton and leeside on today up at everton?!?! any info if so

Just my opinion
17/08/2013, 11:40 PM
I DON'T know Alan Martin at all but i believe it's an absolute disgrace people slating him on here! It's a very very tough job managing any team but following on in the previous footsteps was near impossible!! And he won a cup beating the invincible Avondale in the final. Unless you have played and coached/managed at that level then don't slate the man!!

Take-a-bow
18/08/2013, 1:31 AM
was everton and leeside on today up at everton?!?! any info if so

Heard a draw in that game from a fella up there,he said they were poor.

Take-a-bow
18/08/2013, 12:12 PM
Casement 3-2 Douglas hall(junior) good ball game two teams didnt have there full squads but enjoyable game all the same.

mary
18/08/2013, 8:14 PM
Cracking game at the cross today Avondale went in at half time 2-1 down and a man down. They came out all guns blazing and battered sheriff in the second half they got there equailizer with 10 to go and last kick of the game dale had a corner sheriff broke and scored.

el nino coro
18/08/2013, 9:48 PM
Avondale beaten again today by the best team in the country!

Sparky
18/08/2013, 10:03 PM
Whoever El Niño Coro is, he is your typical NEGATIVE, COWARDLY keyboard warrior. All comments are of jealousy and negativity. Best of luck to Alan Martin, decent fella and knows the game well.

el nino coro
18/08/2013, 10:21 PM
Whoever El Niño Coro is, he is your typical NEGATIVE, COWARDLY keyboard warrior. All comments are of jealousy and negativity. Best of luck to Alan Martin, decent fella and knows the game well.

Im entitled to my opinion the same way you are,alan martin resigns due to work commitments?? pull the other one,and I reckon sheriff are the best side in the country the same way I reckon the fai junior cup is harder to win than the fai intermediate,sorry for upsetting you!

the hawk
18/08/2013, 10:34 PM
Avondale beaten again today by the best team in the country!

well that is 4 times they have played each other and its 2-2 by my count
There is no difference between the top intermediate teams and the top aul teams in the country .there is 5 or 6 teams in the country that are leagues above everybody else You have pike ,kilbarrack Avondale sherriff ,carew .
And from them 5 clubs id say there is barely 5 players on the irish team haha

I know marky sull didnt play and Mulconroy didnt play who by anybody standards are huge losses but from what im hearing Avondale should of been out of sight in the second half even with 10 men

Razor
can you confirm that Liam Kearney has signed for Avondale

el nino coro
18/08/2013, 10:42 PM
well that is 4 times they have played each other and its 2-2 by my count
There is no difference between the top intermediate teams and the top aul teams in the country .there is 5 or 6 teams in the country that are leagues above everybody else You have pike ,kilbarrack Avondale sherriff ,carew .
And from them 5 clubs id say there is barely 5 players on the irish team haha

I know marky sull didnt play and Mulconroy didnt play who by anybody standards are huge losses but from what im hearing Avondale should of been out of sight in the second half even with 10 men

Razor
can you confirm that Liam Kearney has signed for Avondale

Im pretty sure sherriff have won on the last two occasions including on avondales own patch,the conna maradona would be a great signing!

Thebeanosarebac
18/08/2013, 11:04 PM
Ole ole ole

Thebeanosarebac
18/08/2013, 11:05 PM
Sparky you have some neck calling someone a keyboard warrior!

Pundit
19/08/2013, 10:16 AM
Coro just wondering how many fai intermediate cup or junior cup winners medals have you. I'd be right in saying 0. Hopefully you might win promotion this season and shur you ll look a good player in the first division aswell.

el nino coro
19/08/2013, 10:35 AM
Just because I said sherriff are better haha the truth hurts,and another thing im not in the first division but keep thinking that way you

Mighty almighty
19/08/2013, 3:32 PM
Billy Cronin back at the helm at his beloved.

Superkeeper
19/08/2013, 4:29 PM
Heard the same earlier today, will the players flock back I wonder, should be a interesting couple of weeks in Whitechurch!

offside rule
19/08/2013, 8:49 PM
No senior league football in Cobh next year. Pity because the town has such great football tradition throughout the years. Big reason for this is the mass exodus of Cobh personnel who have decided to help Midleton avoid relegation to 1st Div as opposed to helping their local club get promotion to the 1st Div. A real pity considering a great chunk of the 12+contingent had spoke about "Revolutionising Cobh Football" a few weeks back when the held their meeting in the country local. Well fair deuce lads, ye certainly have changed football in Cobh -ur names will be forever etched in Cobh Football History for the wrong reasons.

the hawk
19/08/2013, 8:56 PM
Im pretty sure sherriff have won on the last two occasions including on avondales own patch,the conna maradona would be a great signing!
Yes they have beaten them twice but Avondale have also beaten them in their patch .they could play 100 times and you would never get the same results and either team could win
Just wish we had more stronger teams in Cork so we could watch teams like this play every week
Two really top class outfits.

Really cant see many players heading back to Whitechurch ,esp when other teams are so strong
Expect good things from Midelton and Corinthians this year.

But i think Ucc will be the ones to watch ,very strong last year and seem to have added a few more players this year

Can wait till the weekend

mardyke
19/08/2013, 9:30 PM
Can't believe cobh wanderers are gone that is a disgrace! The players in Midleton should be ashamed letting there local club down! On another note heard that about billy too would be big plus I could see rockmount challenging again

el nino coro
19/08/2013, 10:02 PM
Can't believe cobh wanderers are gone that is a disgrace! The players in Midleton should be ashamed letting there local club down! On another note heard that about billy too would be big plus I could see rockmount challenging again

Arguably 2 of evertons best players ended up at avondale,chubbs midletons best player by a mile ends up at avondale,kev mull and podge and mcarthy from the hall to avondale,all 3 clubs struggled last year while avondale get all the credit with their unbeaten run and 3 in a row,no wonder the league is in a bad place at the moment

mardyke
20/08/2013, 4:03 PM
Midleton going to need a second bus coming from cobh!;) Pity really, is there any loyalty left in football.

the hawk
20/08/2013, 7:46 PM
Arguably 2 of evertons best players ended up at avondale,chubbs midletons best player by a mile ends up at avondale,kev mull and podge and mcarthy from the hall to avondale,all 3 clubs struggled last year while avondale get all the credit with their unbeaten run and 3 in a row,no wonder the league is in a bad place at the moment

In fairness coro the two longs are both ballvolane celtic players ,chubbs is a cobh wanders man,Mc carthy is tramore ,podge is passage ,kev mul was thrown out of the hall so all those players who left were taken from there original clubs by clubs they left so you could say there loyalty was gone even before they left

To be honest lads nobody remembers the played who played for only 1 club .everybody remembers the winners

Out of the all the clubs there is not many who can say all our players are home grown

Look how may schoolboys Douglas hall take from nearby clubs every year
Look how many marys players rockmount have taken ,same for castleview taking temple players
Unless the rules are made like the gaa ,then you cant have loyalty in football

Blackandwhite
20/08/2013, 8:02 PM
In fairness coro the two longs are both ballvolane celtic players ,chubbs is a cobh wanders man,Mc carthy is tramore ,podge is passage ,kev mul was thrown out of the hall so all those players who left were taken from there original clubs by clubs they left so you could say there loyalty was gone even before they left

To be honest lads nobody remembers the played who played for only 1 club .everybody remembers the winners

Out of the all the clubs there is not many who can say all our players are home grown

Look how may schoolboys Douglas hall take from nearby clubs every year
Look how many marys players rockmount have taken ,same for castleview taking temple players
Unless the rules are made like the gaa ,then you cant have loyalty in football

What a stupid comment. How do douglas hall take schoolboys from nearby clubs. There are so many clubs in that area. It's the players or parents who decide. The go from hall to corthnians to tramore. Same up in the north side. It's all about where they can get there game.

the hawk
20/08/2013, 8:19 PM
,i just used those 3 clubs as an example
But to prove my point ,how many passage player have played with douglas hall seniors in the last few year
As small club trying to build ,imagine how frustrating it is when your nearest rivals taking all your player
Same as whats happening between Cobh and midelton

oh yeah and the answer is 5 players and that is just senior

Blackandwhite
20/08/2013, 8:25 PM
The reasons players were leaving passage was an internal problem with the club themselves. Passage was run badly so players left. Who are the 5 that you have in mind.

peterpan
20/08/2013, 8:44 PM
I would say podge, James Leary, Simon mcgarry, Gary prout and don't know the fifth

Blackandwhite
20/08/2013, 8:51 PM
James o Leary played alot of schoolboy with Douglas. Gary prout played most of his school boy with Hibernians. Don't know about mcgarry but i know he is from shanbally area so eithet hibs or passage. Podge was passage till adult level and floats from club to club. The 5th I think he is on about might be Darren o Connor. He played school boys with Douglas hall aswell. Like I said passage have/do have massive internal problems so that's why the good players left