View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 [140] 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

thebooboys
24/02/2013, 8:49 PM
I was at this game & won't be getting into an argument but there was 100% nothing dodgy about the penalty that awarded yesterday. Leeside centre half was caught out by a runner from midfield, made a tackle from behind & got no ball & it was in the box. Penalty, every & anyway you looked at it.

No intention of getting into argument either but thought the initial tackle was outside the box that's all

Igot2words4ya
24/02/2013, 10:37 PM
Dave welch was managing everton u 16 team very strange set up really
That is a strange one

bullet
24/02/2013, 10:48 PM
Dave welch was managing everton u 16 team very strange set up really not really anybody that knows dave will know he has managed this particular schoolboy team for the past 3seasons fair play lotta commitment involved. not sure its the reason missed the fixture tho.

bullet
24/02/2013, 11:27 PM
I was at this game & won't be getting into an argument but there was 100% nothing dodgy about the penalty that awarded yesterday. Leeside centre half was caught out by a runner from midfield, made a tackle from behind & got no ball & it was in the box. Penalty, every & anyway you looked at it.
dont worry bout the arguments two touch what forums about opinions go the whole hog - def penalty yr right shouldnt mattered mallow should been out the gate long before end of 90mins leesides keeper pulled off series heroic saves 2nd half to keep them in it, that and some awful finishing by mallow must had the mallow management on tenderhooks til the final whistlewhen really the 2-1 win were more flattering to visitors - mallow will be promoted tho i fancy as runners up wilton my fancy as champs defeating age old rivals kinsale again more comfortably than the scoreline suggests at least div2 has a serious title race yet unlike prem or 1st div avondale & leeds to the fore... 2nd div any team can defeat any team any given w/end luckily i assume theres no relegation... relegation battles going to get v interesting thurs nights game mayfield v fermoy now a huge tie should be well worth a visit

Shinguard
24/02/2013, 11:51 PM
not really anybody that knows dave will know he has managed this particular schoolboy team for the past 3seasons fair play lotta commitment involved. not sure its the reason missed the fixture tho.

Dave Welch is out injured for the last few weeks and he will be out for at least another 2/3 weeks.

mayfield utd
25/02/2013, 12:32 AM
Yip Razor. 5 in the end against us. Have played em twice already this season and coped well with Marky Sull. Didn't today. He got 4, but in overall play he was on song and showed why he is the number one striker in the country at this level. Different class, touch, movement, pace, etc. We were competitive enough in all the other parts, but that bit of class and guile makes such a big difference at this level. Roll on Mayfield on Thursday night. thursday night ? must be on the all weather pitch so

Two Touch
25/02/2013, 9:21 AM
No intention of getting into argument either but thought the initial tackle was outside the box that's all

Fair point. I was standing behind the goal where the tackle took place & from my eyeline, it was about a yard or 2 inside the box. I thought you were disputing the tackle itself.

Superkeeper
25/02/2013, 2:59 PM
It's getting very tight down the bottom of the senior prem, everyone from midelton will be looking over there shoulders, 6 pointer for both teams Thursday night in mayfield !!

bullet
25/02/2013, 3:14 PM
Two Touch think your telling a few porkies there because there was no one behind the goal where the penalty was given.

Two Touch
25/02/2013, 4:08 PM
Two Touch think your telling a few porkies there because there was no one behind the goal where the penalty was given.

Sorry, let me be more exact for poor old bullet.It seems as it he/she is very particular about who stands where. I was standing to the right handside of the goal,leaning on the fence which is technically behind the goal. I was wearing yellow pants, an orange jumper with a purple hat.Not my best day for colour cordination but meh.

I was in line with the pen that was given...and there was 5 or 6 others spread right across the fence behind the goal streching down to the corner flag in the bottom corner of the pitch. I said in an earleir post that i don't intend to have arguements on here. Debate is fine but can't be arsed having arguments on a public forum.

That ok bullet?

Igot2words4ya
25/02/2013, 6:19 PM
Dave Welch is out injured for the last few weeks and he will be out for at least another 2/3 weeks.
Where was gary aherne do you know?

25/02/2013, 9:11 PM
Where was gary aherne do you know?Marys lost 3/4 players to injury above in Leixlip. Aherne has been injured since then as has Welch.

Igot2words4ya
25/02/2013, 9:27 PM
Marys lost 3/4 players to injury above in Leixlip. Aherne has been injured since then as has Welch.

Big loss's in my opinion when your premier status is at stake...

el nino coro
26/02/2013, 12:33 AM
Marys lost 3/4 players to injury above in Leixlip. Aherne has been injured since then as has Welch.

lies,banksy is injured,dave was injured aswell,gary just didnt turn up,mayfield gone,marys/fermoy going with them

Superkeeper
26/02/2013, 9:31 AM
2-3 wins and your pulled away from the dreaded bottom 2, Everton looked dead and buried after 7 games but 3 wins and a draw from teams around them have given them a good chance of survival

justasupporter
26/02/2013, 10:18 AM
saw aherne play with St Mary's juniors at the weekend . maybe coming back from injury & probably needed a game ? looked unfit anyway

The Boar
26/02/2013, 10:30 AM
Played Mallow away yesterday. Went down there with a good game plan and things seemed to be going pretty well. Despite going one down early in the first half we leveled just after the break and looked to put Mallow under more pressure. We then lost a player about 5 minutes into the second half for a second yellow and the game plan went out the window as such. Unfortunately no plan B as bench was severely depleted due to injuries and suspensions. Didn't really have an issue with the booking for the second yellow but the first yellow was never a booking and the ref put himself under pressure following that. I cant have too many complaints about the penalty. If you go to ground in the box it has to be clean or else you'll concede the penalty and Id agree with Two touch about the runners from midfield as we were under a fair bit of pressure at that time having lost a player and in fairness to Mallow they took advantage of that. Mallow were good for their win and despite losing on the opening day of the season to Wilton in a bizarre game I think they have remained unbeaten on their home patch since. Credit to Mallow who go joint top with 3 good points from a solid home game. As for the penalty and the sending of I'm a firm believer that these things even themselves up over the course of the season so I hope they do for us.

Only other game I took in at the weekend was Balinhassig home to Ballincollig. Ballinhassig were missing at least 5 due to an under 21 Gaa game but they came out winners in a pretty good game on a smashing day down in half way. Both teams traded punches for most of the game with good football from both teams with Ballinhassig scoring a goal midway through the second half after Ballincollig failed to clear form a corner. I think Ballincollig will feel hard done by not leaving with a share of the points as Ballinhassigs goal mouth and crossbar led a charmed life in the last 5 minutes but Ballinhassig held out for a good win.

Lots of football to be played between now and the end of the season in Division 2 with Wilton and Mallow the pace setters and the teams to catch but with most teams improving on their earlier season form and big games to be played the promotion spots are by no means settled yet. Lots of teams taking points of each other with a lot of young teams like ourselves yet to show any decent away form so that's the challenge. An east Cork derby awaits us away to Cobh next week and a break from the league.

Well said Gaffer the league in my opinion is still very much open yes Mallow and Wilton are the pace setters but as you say with all the games yet to be played and teams to play each other nothing is set in stone yet and there is still a lot of interest in this division yet.

26/02/2013, 11:09 AM
saw aherne play with St Mary's juniors at the weekend . maybe coming back from injury & probably needed a game ? looked unfit anyway
Good to see the lad is coming back from injury.
Might explain why he "didn't turn up" for the Seniors.

I'm sure the Marys management team have it all in hand.

Igot2words4ya
26/02/2013, 3:14 PM
So who do people reckon are going down?

Im thinking Mayfield are all but gone
then 1 from Fermoy Everton and Mary's

Superkeeper
26/02/2013, 4:26 PM
Midelton aren't safe yet !!!

Igot2words4ya
26/02/2013, 5:07 PM
They beat mayfield Fermoy and Mary's all recently if not wrong so thats how they've moved up a bit

I don't think they got anyone going by posts here

Igot2words4ya
26/02/2013, 9:27 PM
That's right they got Shane Spitere from Pearse Celtic.good player

sharpshooter
26/02/2013, 9:35 PM
C.i.t 0 v 1 Bandon

Clifford
26/02/2013, 9:36 PM
thursday night ? must be on the all weather pitch so

Yeah I assume so as well. Anyway to find out? aren't we supposed to be informed about it if it's on an astro or is that rubbish?

Clifford
26/02/2013, 9:44 PM
So who do people reckon are going down?

Im thinking Mayfield are all but gone
then 1 from Fermoy Everton and Mary's

Douglas Hall safe? Two bad results against one of the teams around them has them in deep trouble as well. Starting at home to Everton Sunday morning. No one should have been misled about Everton's pre Christmas results. They have been strong in the Prem for a good while, it's hard to buy that experience.

It's deffo shaping up as a right good battle - we've found it very hard since Christmas, competitive in nearly every match but just not taking chances when they come along. Learning the level I guess. We'll keep going and learning and enjoying it. Hopefully 2/3 more wins will see us safe, love another crack at this level next year.

bullet
26/02/2013, 9:53 PM
Two touch is there a red mist descending over you for the second in a week.

Igot2words4ya
26/02/2013, 9:55 PM
Well mayfield only have lights over their astro as far as I know? So it must be on that.
Ya I do think Douglas Hall will be ok.as you say they might get dragged into it but I don't see it.Fermoy Mary's or Everton I think will go but judging by Evertons results lately they mite get out of it soon.i can't see mayfield getting out of relying on over 35's and junior players altho, tadhg is around a long time and might pull something out of the bag.losing Wolfe too middelton and Ian Fleming too injury at the start of the season hurt them.theres not many players still there from the team who had that good cup run last season.i think from the startin 11 there's only 4 left.

mayfield utd
26/02/2013, 11:12 PM
clifford the match is on the all weather,cos that's the only pitch with lights.as far as i know you can wear any type of boots on the all weather,so maybe that's why nobody told you it on the all weather

Clifford
26/02/2013, 11:18 PM
Spot on Mayfield lad. We'll see ye Thurs then. Always a good club so don't believe negative stuff here. I know they will fight til the very end. Best of luck (cept on Thurs obv)

corkie
28/02/2013, 11:40 AM
Everton have signed three players shane spitere from pearse craig duggan and a craig hoare. according to the papers this craig hoare is scoring the goals. anyone know who he is

pirlo
28/02/2013, 8:01 PM
Spot on Mayfield lad. We'll see ye Thurs then. Always a good club so don't believe negative stuff here. I know they will fight til the very end. Best of luck (cept on Thurs obv)

Any update from the game Clifford?

pirlo
28/02/2013, 8:15 PM
Some big games this weekend. Midleton v Rockmount. Corinthians v St. Marys
Douglas v Everton.
Mayfield v Fermoy.
In my opinion probably the most important fixtures of the season for a lot of teams these teams.

corkie
28/02/2013, 8:49 PM
Any score from mayfield vs fermoy

Eric
28/02/2013, 9:10 PM
Mayfield 1 - 1 Fermoy

Mayfield went ahead on 81 minutes and Fermoy equalised from the spot on 91 mins after Mayfield player handled a goal bound shot.

Mayfield will feel they left it behind them but Fermoy will be very happy with the point.

Clifford
28/02/2013, 9:59 PM
Mayfield 1-1 Fermoy.

Mayfield out of the blocks first. Good save by Mick one on one after 15 woke us up. Got on the ball and battled well til ht - their keeper also pulled off a super save in a one on one.

Same sec half they went at it from the start and I counted 4 scoreable chances for them. We knuckled down and got back into it from 60 onwards. Long ball over the top caught us cold after defending so well til then. With 7/8 left we feared the worst but I've said many times on here we have heart in abundance and fought til the dying seconds and had a def goal bound shot handled after their keeper had made a great save. Red card, pen scored and off we go with a point. Happy days roll on Douglas Hall Sunday week.

Hope the weekend goes well and safely for everyone.

corkie
28/02/2013, 10:09 PM
Best result for all other bottom teams will be an interesting weekend

corkey121
01/03/2013, 9:59 AM
Best result for all other bottom teams will be an interesting weekend

Welcome corkie, nice name;)

corkie
01/03/2013, 10:17 AM
Welcome corkie, nice name;) thanks corkey121 😄

Superkeeper
01/03/2013, 11:49 AM
Huge weekend down the bottom of the league over the next two weeks, only 4 teams safe, from midelton down are all watching there backs !!

corkie
01/03/2013, 12:58 PM
Who to go down lads 😃

oldlegs
01/03/2013, 4:00 PM
I know very very short notice but we're looking for a game tomorrow at home Premier Aul side if interested please pm thanks

Superkeeper
01/03/2013, 6:52 PM
Predictions for the weekend ????

Glenbuck
01/03/2013, 8:26 PM
Midleton and Rockmount off Sunday morning. Hall and Everton looks tempting.

Superkeeper
01/03/2013, 8:47 PM
Midleton rockmount been off definitely suits Midleton to be off regardless off the reason of the cancellation, last thing they wanted was to be going into there game next week against Everton with another loss.

corkie
01/03/2013, 11:17 PM
He seems to he doing the business for them anyway . I see a draw in that game

Igot2words4ya
02/03/2013, 7:40 AM
Anybody fancy everton sunday odds of 7/4 sounds tempting

Douglas Hall have conceded alot of goals this season.they could do with a big win too pull clear of the pack fighting below them.if they lose they could be sucked down into the relagation fight.i said before I don't think they'll go down tho.

Two Touch
02/03/2013, 4:20 PM
Anybody know the Wilton-Glasheen score from today?

Clifford
02/03/2013, 4:26 PM
1-1 Cors v Mary's.

the hawk
02/03/2013, 5:15 PM
1-1 Cors v Mary's.2more valuable points slipping away at home for cors.looks like they are starting to slip lately .loss to avondale,rockmount and waterford and now a draw with marys .

Seems like the ball is Avondales court now.4 points behind with 3 games in hand.only thing is they do have to play each other twice .if they drop any more i fear it could be over.

big game for everton and the hall esp with teams around them starting to pick up points

the hawk
02/03/2013, 5:16 PM
1-1 Cors v Mary's.2more valuable points slipping away at home for cors.looks like they are starting to slip lately .loss to avondale,rockmount and waterford and now a draw with marys .

Seems like the ball is Avondales court now.4 points behind with 3 games in hand.only thing is they do have to play each other twice .if they drop any more i fear it could be over.

big game for everton and the hall esp with teams around them starting to pick up points.