View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

BillysBoots
11/01/2007, 3:34 PM
Agreed Billy, it's hard to maintain any sort of match sharpness with the way the season has been so stop start so far. Don't let anyone go on a June holiday I reckon!

Mount have been playing mid-week friendlies under lights to try and spark some kind of match practice. It's a real pain eh?

Everton away is never easy, good luck with it.

Midweek matches under lights, very interesting!!

Yep, Everton away will be a tough one.

Clifford
11/01/2007, 8:33 PM
Torches really, but don't tell anyone..

12/01/2007, 10:39 AM
any sort of match sharpnessMatch sharpness, :D I heard there was another sort of sharpness on display when ye met Mayfield up on their astro pitch

Mount have been playing mid-week friendlies under lightsUnder lights, :eek: all ye need now is to get the bar open again and its world domination.

Avondale had no game this weekend, then Mount went and drew last weekend, so now Carrigaline away is freed up next Sunday morning.
So the pigeons were sent out, hopefully the winds during the week didn't scupper their missions.
The fixtures secretary is all over the shop, severe mix ups all over the place.

Clifford
12/01/2007, 3:44 PM
Nice edit, I nearly never came back to it...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4a-qi0mSPfY

The Mayfield lads/lasses had even bigger handbags than these two. Nothing to get the ould knickers in a twist.

12/01/2007, 10:27 PM
Nice edit, I nearly never came back to it...Was chattin to a lad involved with Mayfield after I posted, he was tellin me about the "friendly" match.
Mount will be off to the movies next for team bonding, I hear Rocky Balboa is on the way.:D :D

Clifford
13/01/2007, 10:38 AM
Mount will be off to the movies next for team bonding, I hear Rocky Balboa is on the way

Naw, if Mount want to go and see some washed out heavyweights they can go and watch Avondale or Castleview shooting practice any day. :eek: :D

14/01/2007, 9:20 PM
Naw, if Mount want to go and see some washed outAvondale washed out? Only when it suits. :D :D :D
Dale away to Carrigaline called off this morning.

BillysBoots
15/01/2007, 5:18 PM
Naw, if Mount want to go and see some washed out heavyweights they can go and watch Avondale or Castleview shooting practice any day. :eek: :D

Castleview v Rockmount Sunday morning. View's pitch was in a bad way last week after the Tramore game, so I'd be surprised if this will go ahead. It's the worst I've ever seen this pitch. It would need a roll at least, weather permitting obviously.

BillysBoots
15/01/2007, 5:36 PM
Castleview v Rockmount Sunday morning. View's pitch was in a bad way last week after the Tramore game, so I'd be surprised if this will go ahead. It's the worst I've ever seen this pitch. It would need a roll at least, weather permitting obviously.

Unless of course it's moved up to Rockmount and you can be sure Castleview will turn up. I don't think Castleview are afraid of a battle ;)

15/01/2007, 8:25 PM
I don't think Castleview are afraid of a battle ;)Bring your handbags :D

Clifford
16/01/2007, 8:09 AM
Yeah I've no doubt Castleview will show up unlike some other shoddy outfits who pick and chose their games depending on how they feel (and how the pigeons feel or something....)

Looking forward to it, both teams need to try get the season off and running.

21/01/2007, 7:37 PM
UCC 1-0 Avondale Utd

On a weekend that Dale were supposed to have off, the fixtures secretary struck to arrange this one. Without either first or second choice keeper Dale succumbed to a UCC team they should have beaten that turned into one of those days. The College keeper played out of his skin and nothing would go in only Colleges one chance.
Did Mount - View go ahead?

BillysBoots
22/01/2007, 7:16 AM
UCC 1-0 Avondale Utd

On a weekend that Dale were supposed to have off, the fixtures secretary struck to arrange this one. Without either first or second choice keeper Dale succumbed to a UCC team they should have beaten that turned into one of those days. The College keeper played out of his skin and nothing would go in only Colleges one chance.
Did Mount - View go ahead?

Castleview - Rockmount Called off.

BillysBoots
22/01/2007, 3:20 PM
Castleview - Rockmount Called off.

Fixtures: Mayfield v Castleview Saturday and Avondale v Rockmount Sunday. It's like a Grand Slam Weekend with top playing Fourth and Second playing Third :ball:

Worldcup
22/01/2007, 6:36 PM
I hear rockmount jnr's have a tough game v carew park in FAI Jnr cup sunday..
Will it be on heard pitch very bad...

toronto
22/01/2007, 8:32 PM
anybody any news of mayfield/college cor game yesterday

BillysBoots
23/01/2007, 8:21 AM
anybody any news of mayfield/college cor game yesterday

Mayfield won 4-1 I think, they won anyway. They are now top!!

toronto
23/01/2007, 10:45 PM
Mayfield won 4-1 I think, they won anyway. They are now top!!

do you think college corinthians are an outside bet for the intermediate cup or have they been lucky to get this far their league form is poor enough

BillysBoots
24/01/2007, 8:26 AM
do you think college corinthians are an outside bet for the intermediate cup or have they been lucky to get this far their league form is poor enough

Coll Cors are struggling badly in the league, the Cup has been a welcome distraction. No disrespect, to what is Historically a great Club but I can't see them winning it this year.

24/01/2007, 8:58 AM
Coll Cors are struggling badly in the league, the Cup has been a welcome distraction. No disrespect, to what is Historically a great Club but I can't see them winning it this year.I would agree there Billy, Mayfield beat them 4-2 at the weekend and though Mayfield are flying Cors form has been poor. Mayfield mightn't be a bad outside bet for the Intermediate Cup.

BillysBoots
24/01/2007, 1:26 PM
I would agree there Billy, Mayfield beat them 4-2 at the weekend and though Mayfield are flying Cors form has been poor. Mayfield mightn't be a bad outside bet for the Intermediate Cup.

True, hopefully they'll have that on their mind on Saturday. Although it's good time for them to be playing Castleview, infact it's a good time for any team. Castleview have played one game since Nov 23rd, so I fear for them on Saturday.

Clifford
24/01/2007, 4:01 PM
College as mentioned would be very lucky indeed if they won the Intermediate cup, although Dale fluked it last year so you never know eh??? Only joking Razor lad..

All set for Sunday morning, I hope the Pigeons have been sent out on time this week. I see Billy's getting in his excuses all ready...

27/01/2007, 9:03 PM
so I fear for them on Saturday.Arrived for the last 35 minutes, with View 1up. They were looking comfortable but they dropped deep and invited Mayfield on to them. Mayfield eventually equalised after Eric Barrett made a super treble save only for the 4th rebound to be smashed home. From there it petered out into a 1-1 draw.

toronto
27/01/2007, 9:05 PM
who will win this cup tie celbridge are struggling in their own league while college are faring no better themselves maybe college are good enough for a replay in cork

Clifford
28/01/2007, 3:52 PM
Dale 0-0 Rockmount this morning, close enough encounter apparently, I had to pull out of going last minute. Don't think either side did enough to win it, but Dave the save made a good one from Ross O Callaghan header I believe that might have made the difference.

Did anyone see it? Two draws this weekend, everybody happy with that?

29/01/2007, 7:48 AM
Dale 0-0 Rockmount this morning, close enough encounter apparently, I had to pull out of going last minute. Don't think either side did enough to win it, but Dave the save made a good one from Ross O Callaghan header I believe that might have made the difference.Couldn't make it either, heard the same as yourself, close game, draw a fair result.
Even the website looks up to date, whatever next. http://www.munsterseniorleague.ie/

harpskid
30/01/2007, 10:06 AM
I see Douglas Hall won at the weekend. How are they playing these days. Must be a fairly good side as they have two amateur internationals.

We have them in the intermediate cup on Sunday and am looking forward to a good game

BillysBoots
30/01/2007, 5:02 PM
I see Douglas Hall won at the weekend. How are they playing these days. Must be a fairly good side as they have two amateur internationals.

We have them in the intermediate cup on Sunday and am looking forward to a good game

To be fair they are a very good, attacking young side. On their day they could beat anyone in the Country. The Intermediate Cup is what they really want to win and they haven't been too far away in recent years.

30/01/2007, 8:55 PM
as they have two amateur internationals.Money talks.

Clifford
30/01/2007, 9:42 PM
who will win this cup tie celbridge are struggling in their own league while college are faring no better themselves maybe college are good enough for a replay in cork

Did College win it? Prob close between the two of them, sorry didn't see this before it was played.

Clifford
30/01/2007, 9:44 PM

Bought Mark O Sull from Avondale, class player indeed, don't think he's playing as well as last year from the 2 times I've seen him. Hall are a good side, Chelski like in the way they have been assembled.

Good luck with the game, tough one to call I reckon with the travel involved.

Shilts
31/01/2007, 9:39 AM
Bought Mark O Sull from Avondale, class player indeed, don't think he's playing as well as last year from the 2 times I've seen him. Hall are a good side, Chelski like in the way they have been assembled.

Good luck with the game, tough one to call I reckon with the travel involved.

I had to laugh at the above remarks about how the Hall team has been assembled. Especially since not many of the Avondale team played schoolboys with them!!! JC is well known to be a great poacher off the pitch as well as on it. Look at his recent activity just before the tranfer window closed. If teams are to improve they will need to acquire better players and nobody can complain too much when transfers take place as there isn't too much loyalty to clubs anymore.

Clifford
31/01/2007, 10:31 AM
Clubs like Avondale and Rockmount don't need to purchase players, players come looking to play with them or jump at the chance once interested is expressed. Chelski like spending sprees is about all the rest have to offer.

Get over it, it's a fact and that's all we stated above, nothing more nothing less. I've no doubt it's been done before and will be again by other clubs. There is nothing against it in the rules so happy days.

BillysBoots
31/01/2007, 11:36 AM
Clubs like Avondale and Rockmount don't need to purchase players....Chelski like spending spree is about all the REST have to offer.

Need I comment here or will I give you time to take your head out of your Ass!!

Shilts
31/01/2007, 2:15 PM
Clubs like Avondale and Rockmount don't need to purchase players...Chelski like SPENDING SPREES is about all the rest have to offer.

This is better than comedy night. There must be a great view up there from the high moral ground. How dare little clubs poach players from the big boys?

Rockmount and Avondale have been hoovering up players from other clubs into huge squads for the past few seasons forceing good players to sit on the bench when they could be playing regularly with some of the 'lesser lights of Cork Soccer'. Is this done to keep the other clubs down?

As for the spending sprees needed by the rest of the clubs to attract players... are we talking about the same league??? Is the money paid offshore to retain amateur status??? :)

Clifford
31/01/2007, 3:27 PM
Jaysus, not one, but two bites. Lads, calm down, calm down. It's all good fun, don't get the knickers in a twist - we all know yee are jealous of the big guns and that's the way it'll always be......lol, ducks for cover again...

Clifford
31/01/2007, 3:31 PM
As for the spending sprees needed by the rest of the clubs to attract players... are we talking about the same league??? Is the money paid offshore to retain amateur status??? :)

I'd be quite happy to receive the amounts the lads are getting, it is Chelski like in relation to the league we're talking about. :eek:

Don't know if anyone at Hall has the brains to open an off shore account, they would prob go and drop cash off the yacht at Kinsale...raa raa.

31/01/2007, 3:57 PM
JC is well known to be a great poacher off the pitch as well as on it. Look at his recent activity just before the tranfer window closed.One striker?

Rockmount and Avondale have been hoovering up players from other clubs into huge squads for the past few seasons forceing good players to sit on the bench I think the fact that JC is still playing would tell you that Avondale don't have the biggest squad in the world.
If Douglas Hall cannot compete with the pedigree of the bigger clubs and go the financial route then so be it. Thats their call.

And Billy, you've been around here long enough now. Shame on you for falling for that old chesnut. :D

Shilts
01/02/2007, 2:33 PM
As I've no connection with the Hall I can't confirm or deny whether they attract players with money (I heard the rumours too!). However, I also heard that A'dale did tap up a player already signed with another club (a Chelski tactic if ever there was 1).

As both methods are legal I suggest we should just get over it, although it does allow for a little slagging!

toronto
01/02/2007, 5:26 PM
celbridge town very unlucky to go out very harsh penalty awarded against them deserved at least a draw best of luck to college might just kick start their season

Clifford
02/02/2007, 1:24 PM
As both methods are legal I suggest we should just get over it, although it does allow for a little slagging!

That's the spirit, all's fair in love and war.

Rockmount sign Cobh Ramblers former captain Stevie Yelverton.

Have a nice weekend, tough game tomorrow away to Castleview for Rockmount, who everyone else playing?

Edit: Sorry, Mount at home tomorrow.

Clifford
03/02/2007, 4:07 PM
Rockmount 1-0 Castleview

Pat Keane goal after about 20 mins settled this one. View huffed and puffed in the second half, but didn't create too much. Big win for the Champions.:D

04/02/2007, 9:48 PM
I heard that View had a goal ruled out at some stage.

BillysBoots
05/02/2007, 7:54 AM
I heard that View had a goal ruled out at some stage.

Castleview had a goal ruled out early in the second half, Jonathan Coker's header was over the line!! Sheazer had the ball over the line again minutes later but it was ruled out for a foul which no one saw but the Ref..that's football I suppose.

It's going to be an open season and looking at the tables, there are lots of team who feel they have a chance of going close.

BillysBoots
05/02/2007, 9:52 AM
Rockmount 1-0 Castleview

Big win for the Champions.:D

A big win but by no means convincing against a Castleview Junior team. No Healy, Falvey and Kearney to mention a few.

Clifford
05/02/2007, 11:33 AM
All out of the wrong side of the bed this morning darlings?? :D

Aim of the game:
The team scoring the most goals wins, and if both teams score the same amount or no goals are scored then the match is a draw.
To score a goal the ball must pass between the goalposts and beneath the crossbar, with the whole of the ball crossing the goal line.

Billy, above clip is taken from fifa site, thought you'd have known that by now. The Sheaser one was actually saved, but I agree I have no idea why the free was given.

Suspensions don't count towards "missing players", that's just your own fault, when's Kearney back?

Mount were missing Irelands player of the year Kenny Hoey, Stevie Yelverton didn't play and Pat Oldham was also injured. Happens all teams. Any big win for us humble teams are greatly appreciated.

Clifford
05/02/2007, 11:46 AM
Eighteen awards were announced including the Senior Player accolade which was awarded to goalkeeper Shay Given for the second in year in a row, a Rockmount AFC player won the Intermediate Player of the Year award also, with Ken Hoey claiming the honour after Ruairi Beechinor won it last year.

The Young Player Award went to Kevin Doyle while Kevin Foley captured the Under 21 Player Award as John Paul Kelly picked up the Under 19 Award for his performance in this year’s UEFA Under 19 Championship qualifiers.

Former Republic of Ireland senior international and current Under 21 Manager, Don Givens entered the FAI Hall of Fame. Givens amassed a total of 56 senior caps and scored an impressive 19 goals in the green shirt.

Current U.C.D Manager, Pete McMahon claimed the Special Merit Award as his outstanding contribution to Irish football as both a player and manager from schoolboy, junior, senior and indeed international level was recognised.

The International Goal of the Year Award, which was voted on by the viewers, went to Kevin Kilbane for his goal against the Czech Republic at Lansdowne Road in November.

The winners are:

Senior International Player : Shay Given - Newcastle United FC

Young International Player: Kevin Doyle – Reading FC

Under 21 International Player: Kevin Foley – Luton Town FC

eircom League Player: Ollie Cahill – Drogheda United

Under-19 International Player: John Paul Kelly - Bohemian FC

Under-17 International Player: Terry Dixon – Tottenham Hotspur FC

Under-16 International Player: James O’Brien – Birmingham City FC

FAI Schools International Player: Conor Powell – Portmarnock Community School/Bohemian FC

Junior International Player: Michael Keogh – Killester United FC

Intermediate Player: Ken Hoey – Rockmount FC

Women’s International Player: Alisha Moran – Harvard University, USA

Women’s Under-19 International Player: Aine O’Gorman – Stella Maris FC

Football for All Award: Gary Messitt – Cerebral Palsy Sport Ireland/Glencormack United FC

eircom International Goal of the Year: Kevin Kilbane – (Wigan Athletic FC) v Czech Republic ECQ 11.10.06 (H)

European Club Goal of the Year: Kevin Deery – UEFA Cup Qualifying Round – Gretna v Derry City (2nd Goal)

Hall of Fame Award: Don Givens

International Personality: Award Bobby Robson

Special Merit: Award Pete Mahon

BillysBoots
05/02/2007, 11:58 AM
Billy, above clip is taken from fifa site, thought you'd have known that by now. The Sheaser one was actually saved, but I agree I have no idea why the free was given.

Sorry now Kid but Sheazer's header was also over the line, ask Kieran, he's an honest man as you well know. I'll tell why the free kick was given because the Ref knew he had to make a big decision and he bottled it. Anyway we all live with bad refereeing, some weeks you'll benefit and some weeks you won't.

Clifford
05/02/2007, 12:43 PM
Sorry now Kid but Sheazer's header was also over the line, ask Kieran, he's an honest man as you well know. I'll tell why the free kick was given because the Ref knew he had to make a big decision and he bottled it. Anyway we all live with bad refereeing, some weeks you'll benefit and some weeks you won't.

Kieran is an honest man and in his eyes like yours it may have gone in from a distance, but the man who made the save is also an honest man and said he did keep it out, irrelevant, but there you go.

We all live with bad decisions indeed. It all goes to making the game we love so great.

05/02/2007, 2:45 PM
Fair play to Ken Hoey, well deserved by all accounts.

Other MSL results.

UCC 3-0 College Corinthians
Carrigaline Utd 1-3 Blarney Utd
Tramore Ath 0-2 Everton