View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 [139] 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

peterpan
16/02/2013, 5:00 PM
Wasn't at that game today but for me the referee in question is well past it and games like that are to big for him now.

the hawk
16/02/2013, 6:46 PM
Corinthians 1 Rockmount 3 aet. Not a great game by any stretch of anyones imagination. Corinthians 1 up after 30. They were down to 10 on the stroke of half time. Mount made it 1 apiece with 15 to go. Et saw a furthur 2 goals for Mount. A second red for Corinthians and a red for Mount. If you are looking for a turning point in the game....it was the non giving of a blatant penalty to Corinthians not long after Mount had equalised. It probably resulted in the dismissal of the Corinthians manager. Terrible decision.

things are starting to take a turn for Corinthians i fear .Beaten well by Avondale last week and a loss to rockmount this weekend .I just hope they don't implode and let Avondale have a easy walk to the title like they did last year .

who was sent off for corinthians ,were all 3 straight reds

the hawk
16/02/2013, 6:54 PM
Pop Keller Cup Draw
Posted: 2013-02-15 10:51:33

http://www.munsterseniorleague.ie/admin/news/spacer.gif
1st Round: 5 Games / 11 Byes

1. Carrigaline Utd v Ballincollig
2. Crosshaven v Castleview
3. Kinsale v Leeds
4. Ringmahon Rgs v Youghal Utd
5. Cobh Wanderers v Leeside

2nd Round:

1. Kinsale / Leeds v Mallow Utd
2. Bandon v Crosshaven / Castleview
3. Carrigaline Utd / Bcollig v Passage
4. Tramore Ath v Rmahon Rgs / Youghal Utd
5. Cobh Wanderers / Leeside v Wilton Utd
6. Glashen v CIT
7. Blarney Utd v Ballinhassig
8. Casement Celtic v Crofton Celtic

1fortheTeam
16/02/2013, 7:58 PM
Tom Tully helping out rockmount again,he should never ref a a game again after failing to award that penalty kickcant beat 3 card tommy lol .

Glenbuck
16/02/2013, 8:16 PM
Tom Tully helping out rockmount again,he should never ref a a game again after failing to award that penalty kick Helping out Rockmount again???? alright it was a stonewall penalty but up to then he didnt give them a thing. It was 5 yellows to 1 when he sent off young Moreland.

Glenbuck
16/02/2013, 8:30 PM
things are starting to take a turn for Corinthians i fear .Beaten well by Avondale last week and a loss to rockmount this weekend .I just hope they don't implode and let Avondale have a easy walk to the title like they did last year .

who was sent off for corinthians ,were all 3 straight reds First one for Corinthians was a second yellow, first one was harsh. 2 in et were straight reds. I am open to correction on that. Moreland and Colin O Shea for Corinthians, Monty for the Mount. A lot of yellows today were uncalled for. Ken Hoeys in first half was a joke. Ref gave a goal kick when he adjudged the defender to have won the ball.

Glenbuck
16/02/2013, 8:32 PM
cant beat 3 card tommy lol . As Paul Daniels used say "NOT ALOT OF PEOPLE KNOW THAT".

Glenbuck
16/02/2013, 8:33 PM
Wasn't at that game today but for me the referee in question is well past it and games like that are to big for him now. Correct..

16/02/2013, 8:43 PM
Ken Hoeys in first half was a joke. Ref gave a goal kick when he adjudged the defender to have won the ball.He told the ref to F-off and then called him an F-ing eejit. Well worth a yellow in my book. (At least)
Ref was poor though , my 5 year old asked if he had a football inside his jersey.
He could have done with a few linesmen.
Left early so didn't see the penalty decision.

Glenbuck
16/02/2013, 9:13 PM
He told the ref to F-off and then called him an F-ing eejit. Well worth a yellow in my book. (At least)
Ref was poor though , my 5 year old asked if he had a football inside his jersey.
He could have done with a few linesmen.
Left early so didn't see the penalty decision. Frustration Razor !!!! Everyone in the ground could see that it was a foul on Ken, I was just wondering if it was inside or outside the "no foul area". As for his jersey, lavender/pink pretty sums up his performance. When are we going to get a re run of refs with a personality. God be with Derry Barrett and his ilk.

peterpan
16/02/2013, 9:36 PM
The trouble now is that the powers that be don't allow them to have a personality, it's all about sticking to the rules, there are still a couple of them that you can have abit of banter with but there a dying breed.

16/02/2013, 9:58 PM
Frustration Razor !!!! Everyone in the ground could see that it was a foul on Ken, I was just wondering if it was inside or outside the "no foul area".I know that but from a player of his experience it isn't acceptable. Can't remember where it took place, Hoey spent a lot of time on the ground in the first half :D

One thing I noticed was the yellows flowed in the first half but dried up after the break, he obviously found them again for extra time.

Igot2words4ya
16/02/2013, 10:17 PM
Are there any seniors games on in the morning that haven't fallen foul too the weather yet?

Clifford
16/02/2013, 11:01 PM
Are there any seniors games on in the morning that haven't fallen foul too the weather yet?

Fermoy vs UCC in the Donie Forde semi final is on for sure.

Clifford
16/02/2013, 11:04 PM
First one for Corinthians was a second yellow, first one was harsh. 2 in et were straight reds. I am open to correction on that. Moreland and Colin O Shea for Corinthians, Monty for the Mount. A lot of yellows today were uncalled for. Ken Hoeys in first half was a joke. Ref gave a goal kick when he adjudged the defender to have won the ball.

That could mean a long ban for O Shea, sure he was the lad sent off vs us in the last game before Xmas. Or does it matter if it's a second or third red of the season (except financially of course, goes without saying!!)

Igot2words4ya
16/02/2013, 11:11 PM
Fermoy vs UCC in the Donie Forde semi final is on for sure.

Best of luck against what is a very strong UCC team.have seen them a few this year and JC has them playing very well...

Any games around the city still on?

old-head
16/02/2013, 11:54 PM
Best of luck against what is a very strong UCC team.have seen them a few this year and JC has them playing very well...

Any games around the city still on?
Think Everton / bandon still on in MSC up in airport. Fair play to rockmount, on a great run since before Christmas. Was cambridge playin for cors.....

Igot2words4ya
17/02/2013, 12:28 AM
MSL site says its off...good lot of games off...Sunday mornings with no game of ball aren't the same!

Glenbuck
17/02/2013, 8:37 AM
Think Everton / bandon still on in MSC up in airport. Fair play to rockmount, on a great run since before Christmas. Was cambridge playin for cors..... He was fairly quiet....

Clifford
17/02/2013, 12:39 PM
Fermoy 1-2 Ucc Donie Forde semi.

Heartbreak at Carrig park this morning as a goal from a corner with 2 mins left sent Ucc to the final.

They led after 10 with a well worked goal and finish at the back post. We responded brilliantly and took the game to them despite playing into a strong breeze. Levelled it up on 43 mins from a corner. Second half was an epic battle with both teams keeping to their football principles as best they could. Gutted to lose it, proud of the attitude and heart of the lads.

Ucc travel up north for the Collingwood next week and all at fermoy afc wish them well on their travels.

Must admit the three officials were spot on today. They get grief most of the time but deserve credit when it's due also.

AvondaleNutter
17/02/2013, 3:03 PM
Avondale 4-2 limerick. Cork city or douglas hall @ home in the semi final

striker09
17/02/2013, 7:54 PM
What way are Crofton Celtic lads ?

peterpan
17/02/2013, 8:07 PM
There not great, have Harry ex mayfield playing in the middle of the park and a polish lad up front that's pretty decent but that's about it..

striker09
17/02/2013, 8:11 PM
Cheers have them next week 2ND round beamish cup in Midleton

peterpan
17/02/2013, 8:13 PM
Ye should beat them well to be honest, how are ye coping with the loss of gaz and Alan?

striker09
17/02/2013, 8:18 PM
Signed Stephen Mulcahy what a trainer and player so fitting in well for gaz ... Flynny goals are the big problem we have replacing them.. But Shane Geasley and Andrew Knowles have trained well together and did very well in carragline last week . Knowlsey scored gees won a pen thru hard Work.

peterpan
17/02/2013, 8:21 PM
Mul is a fine player and a nice lad, if ye can keep him fit then he will be a major asset to ye, geasley is a little raw but bags of potential, wicked fast and a good eye for goal. Probably not as polished as flynny but a good replacement all the same.

striker09
17/02/2013, 9:42 PM
Ya for sure flynny was unreal for us but we move on now and build for next season

Two Touch
19/02/2013, 11:45 AM
Anybody hear anything with regards the Ballincollig-Wilton game last Saturday? Apparently Ballincollig were 2 Nil up & the game was abondonded at half-time due to an alleged brawl. Don't know the ins & outs. Anybody connected with Ballincollig/Wilton who might be able to shed any light?

The Boar
19/02/2013, 2:47 PM
Anybody hear anything with regards the Ballincollig-Wilton game last Saturday? Apparently Ballincollig were 2 Nil up & the game was abondonded at half-time due to an alleged brawl. Don't know the ins & outs. Anybody connected with Ballincollig/Wilton who might be able to shed any light?

I was at the match, was wondering if anyone was going to pass comment on here about it, interesting on the echo last night that it said there is going to be a report on tomorrow's echo didn't think they would report on an abandoned match.

Two Touch
19/02/2013, 3:24 PM
I was at the match, was wondering if anyone was going to pass comment on here about it, interesting on the echo last night that it said there is going to be a report on tomorrow's echo didn't think they would report on an abandoned match.

I think it was game of the week on the Echo alright but i agree with you, i'm surprised they are doing a report on an abondoned game as it might not paint the MSL in a good light.
Will the game have to be re-played or will one side be given the points?

The Boar
19/02/2013, 4:12 PM
I think it was game of the week on the Echo alright but i agree with you, i'm surprised they are doing a report on an abondoned game as it might not paint the MSL in a good light.
Will the game have to be re-played or will one side be given the points?

Yes it was match of the week, not sure what will happen I know what I think should happen from what I saw, but it will depend on the referee's report and then the meeting that will follow for both clubs, the usual, and then you never know with the MSL what they will decide only thing is as it was match of the week there were MSL officals at it so they will or should have first hand view for themselves of what happened that led to the events of the day.

Reznik
19/02/2013, 5:28 PM
Two Touch and The Boar stop flirting with us and spill the beans. What the hell happened????

Two Touch
19/02/2013, 5:34 PM
No need to get jealous Reznik!...Have not got a clue what happened. Only heard that the game was abondoned due to an alleged brawl.I have no more info than that.

thebooboys
19/02/2013, 7:00 PM
I heard something about an ex Ballincollig player who plays with Wilton now being center of it but to be honest not sure how true it is.

peterpan
19/02/2013, 7:27 PM
That would be Healy so ya?

Nedge
19/02/2013, 7:36 PM
Wilton claimed the ball was out of play when Ballincollig scored the second goal. Then as players went into dressing room, it kicked off.

thebooboys
19/02/2013, 8:12 PM
Wilton claimed the ball was out of play when Ballincollig scored the second goal. Then as players went into dressing room, it kicked off.

Sure didn't the same thing happen to Crofton when they played Wilton in league before Xmas?? Supposedly ball a few feet out for throw. No hand went up on the line. Wilton went up and scored. Can't get all the decisions!

Two Touch
19/02/2013, 8:33 PM
It will be interesting to see what happens with this now.I can't imagine the league will be too happy with such events happening at their match of the week & in front of MSL officials.

Glenbuck
21/02/2013, 7:46 PM
Rockmount 1 up

Clifford
21/02/2013, 10:35 PM
Finished 1-0 to mount vs Mayfield I believe. Who scored G'buck?

Chiefscout
22/02/2013, 12:24 PM
Finished 1-0 to mount vs Mayfield I believe. Who scored G'buck?
Chris byrne

sharpshooter
23/02/2013, 6:13 PM
Bandon 0 v 3 Carrigaline

thebooboys
23/02/2013, 6:22 PM
Mallow 2 - Leeside 1. Beaten by Mallow for the second time by a pen, and a dodgey one this time to be fair. Played most of 2nd half with ten

24/02/2013, 11:54 AM
Fermoy 0-5 Avondale this morning.
Wasn't there but I'm sure Clifford will have a match report in a bit

Clifford
24/02/2013, 12:22 PM
Yip Razor. 5 in the end against us. Have played em twice already this season and coped well with Marky Sull. Didn't today. He got 4, but in overall play he was on song and showed why he is the number one striker in the country at this level. Different class, touch, movement, pace, etc. We were competitive enough in all the other parts, but that bit of class and guile makes such a big difference at this level.

Roll on Mayfield on Thursday night.

Igot2words4ya
24/02/2013, 12:23 PM
Everton 2 Mary's 1
Late Everton goal won it.no Dave Welch or Gary Aherne for Mary's not sure where they were

Two Touch
24/02/2013, 3:41 PM
Mallow 2 - Leeside 1. Beaten by Mallow for the second time by a pen, and a dodgey one this time to be fair. Played most of 2nd half with ten

I was at this game & won't be getting into an argument but there was 100% nothing dodgy about the penalty that awarded yesterday. Leeside centre half was caught out by a runner from midfield, made a tackle from behind & got no ball & it was in the box. Penalty, every & anyway you looked at it.

corkgaffer
24/02/2013, 7:10 PM
Played Mallow away yesterday. Went down there with a good game plan and things seemed to be going pretty well. Despite going one down early in the first half we leveled just after the break and looked to put Mallow under more pressure. We then lost a player about 5 minutes into the second half for a second yellow and the game plan went out the window as such. Unfortunately no plan B as bench was severely depleted due to injuries and suspensions. Didn't really have an issue with the booking for the second yellow but the first yellow was never a booking and the ref put himself under pressure following that. I cant have too many complaints about the penalty. If you go to ground in the box it has to be clean or else you'll concede the penalty and Id agree with Two touch about the runners from midfield as we were under a fair bit of pressure at that time having lost a player and in fairness to Mallow they took advantage of that. Mallow were good for their win and despite losing on the opening day of the season to Wilton in a bizarre game I think they have remained unbeaten on their home patch since. Credit to Mallow who go joint top with 3 good points from a solid home game. As for the penalty and the sending of I'm a firm believer that these things even themselves up over the course of the season so I hope they do for us.

Only other game I took in at the weekend was Balinhassig home to Ballincollig. Ballinhassig were missing at least 5 due to an under 21 Gaa game but they came out winners in a pretty good game on a smashing day down in half way. Both teams traded punches for most of the game with good football from both teams with Ballinhassig scoring a goal midway through the second half after Ballincollig failed to clear form a corner. I think Ballincollig will feel hard done by not leaving with a share of the points as Ballinhassigs goal mouth and crossbar led a charmed life in the last 5 minutes but Ballinhassig held out for a good win.

Lots of football to be played between now and the end of the season in Division 2 with Wilton and Mallow the pace setters and the teams to catch but with most teams improving on their earlier season form and big games to be played the promotion spots are by no means settled yet. Lots of teams taking points of each other with a lot of young teams like ourselves yet to show any decent away form so that's the challenge. An east Cork derby awaits us away to Cobh next week and a break from the league.

Igot2words4ya
24/02/2013, 7:15 PM
I think Casement will have a big say in the Division 2 title.watched them twice at the start if the season and they were awfull but watched them yesterday and they were much much better with lots of new faces against a handy Glasheen side.Joe Fitz could have had 4r5.Casements CF tore Glasheen apart too