View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 [127] 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

rebelabroad
14/10/2012, 10:09 PM
Thats sounds like David alright. Great skill & pace but not always an end product.

el nino coro
16/10/2012, 10:15 PM
Keane cup Result:Rockmount 3-0 Douglas Hall

Glenbuck
17/10/2012, 4:20 PM
Sorry for the delay in getting back. Problems with computer. Passion on and off the field ??? Where and when was this. Dave played well alright and Gary Coughlan took his goal well but passion !!!!! Not sure on that one. Probably the poorest Mount / Saints games in years. Good win for Marys.

el nino coro
17/10/2012, 10:37 PM
Sorry for the delay in getting back. Problems with computer. Passion on and off the field ??? Where and when was this. Dave played well alright and Gary Coughlan took his goal well but passion !!!!! Not sure on that one. Probably the poorest Mount / Saints games in years. Good win for Marys.

Rockmount management got it seriously wrong on the day,fair enough it was a cup that neither side will win but a derby is a derby and there would be something seriously wrong with a player if he didnt want to be in the first 11,giddy and cambridge and o connor left on the line all and were introduced late on and it was clear to see rockmount were the better team then but the damage had already been done

tricksey
18/10/2012, 12:38 AM
Saw the hall vs rockmount Tuesday Douglas are a very poor side I'm tipping them for relegation.ive seen all bar the Avondale game this year of Douglas hall and there a poor side I think moorsey just hasn't got the players to b honest.rockmount were rockmount nothing spectacular just efficient

splinter
19/10/2012, 9:22 PM
any result from dale and midleton game??

striker9
19/10/2012, 9:28 PM
3-1 avondale comfortable win.

the hawk
19/10/2012, 10:00 PM
Really disappointed with Midelton .Taught they would have put up a bit more of a fight but they were blown away from the first minute by a very strong looking Avondale team

Sparky
19/10/2012, 10:12 PM
Not sure if it was Avondale on fire or Midleton below par but it really was a stroll in the park for Avondale. Avondale played some top football in first half especially. Very impressive. Midleton huffed and puffed in second half but nothing to exactly report regarding chances. I heard Midleton were a force to be reckoned with this year but on this showing I have to question my informers :-).................good entertaining game all the same.

freddie04
19/10/2012, 10:48 PM
While Avondale were'nt at the full flow tonight they were still very good and with too much quality all over the pitch. midleton just were not able to hold on to the ball long enough to ever put Avondale under sustained pressure. what did people really expect tonight Avondale are a class outfit with quality player all over the park. Look at midleton best player for the last two years only on the bench that say's it all and just shows the gulf in quality between Avondale and a lot of teams in the msl.
I have seen every team in the league this season and the way Avondale can pass the ball around is great to watch. no disrespect to the other teams but they aren't in the same class as Avondale . But there isn't a whole lot between all the other teams in the league and I'm including rock mount in that. still not a bad start for midleton they probably would have taken 7pts from 4 games played.

Mr.Reliable
20/10/2012, 2:09 AM
Agree with Freddies comments, very accurate account of the game. Midleton had no clear cut chances, and goal was a good finish from break away move! Avondale always had another gear if needed! Chubbs on the bench is a luxury no other side can afford even if he is just back from being away. Relating to Sparkies comment, for me, Midleton where below par, change of formation to 3 5 2 as players away, 3 hard playing centre backs, with unnatural wingbacks playing, found it hard to play the ball out from the back. Went long a lot due to this and found it very hard to hold it up as overpowered by Avondales centre- halfs. Needed a big man who was unavailable that night. Thus legs went trying to close the gap between up top and midlfield! Work- rate was good. On a quality surface tho (if not any) Avondale will have better passing and movement than any other team in the league, if you have a different opinion fair enough, but just be aware your opinion is wrong. Are Avondale the best amateur team in Ireland?? Yes?? You where buying money if you got them at 4/9 really. Still think there is a lot more to come from Midleton however, good management in place and good team moral from what I can see. It's still early days and building blocks are only being laid. Will they go down? No! Will they threaten to win the league? No! Mid table finish is all that can be expected.

villaman10
20/10/2012, 2:58 AM
avondale totally outplayed midleton, first time seeing midleton this year and from reading older posts expected more, seems to me its an easy out to say avondale are fantastic and cant be stopped!! is the game lost before a ball is kicked??

bullet
20/10/2012, 7:35 AM
mr reliable never read so much crap after been beaten by corinthians last week no posts from anyone from midleton,the week before ye beat everton and ye nearly crashed the site there was so many of ye on and this week put in yere place by avondale and excuses excuses excuses missing this player couldnt play from the back what a load of bull.

freddie04
20/10/2012, 9:21 AM
go back to last week post bullet and you will see a fair post on the midleton game v corinithian again making no excuses beaten by a better team on the night .
even though midleton were missing a few defenders last night that really would'nt have made any difference to the result avondale were just the better team on the night. avondale would want to have a off night and midleton would have to be on top form for them to have any chance. that's just being realistic, the level that avondale play at is just higher tempo and skill than a lot of teams in cork or the whole country. as a previous post stated will midleton win a league or compete for top three probably not, but will they compete with a lot of team's in the top division yes.
the senior premier league has a lot of team's on par with each other and one outstanding team in avondale. thats just fact....

corkey121
20/10/2012, 10:15 AM
Hi lads, intersting rumours going around about the ringmahon senior team appartently only 6 training both night this week.is this a sinking ship to div 2.it would be a real shame on that club..On the other hand apparently malcom stoke has been apporached for this position.he would be a good choice to get best out of players..just to add to the 6 training this is because of injuries suppose to be missing 6/7 due to injury.havent seen them since the carrigaline game who are also in a bit of bother could barry mcgovern be about to take that job :hat:

thebooboys
20/10/2012, 4:24 PM
Leeside 3 - Wilton 2 (1 o.g. a piece) and Leeside snatched goal in last minute. Game could have went either way to be fair.

striker09
20/10/2012, 4:44 PM
midleton here lads ..... agree with comments about game last night v avondale ....avondale were different class last night and no team would have beaten them on that performance last night . from our point of view 7 points from 4 games is good start for us with basically new team .Would not fault our team effort and workrate. intermediate cup action next week v blarney after 2 defeats need to get that win quickly ........

striker09
20/10/2012, 4:46 PM
no excuses from me by the way :-)

20/10/2012, 6:10 PM
UCC lead Mary's 4-0 when I left this afternoon.

ringmahon4ever
20/10/2012, 6:13 PM
Beat cobh today one nil .great battling win after the week we had.

freddie04
20/10/2012, 6:16 PM
Any result from college Corinthians and Everton game today

ringmahon4ever
20/10/2012, 6:24 PM
Any result from college Corinthians and Everton game today

One all

freddie04
20/10/2012, 7:09 PM
That was a good point for Everton away from home today it might kick start their season. Corinthians will obviously be disappointed with not keeping their 100% record especially being at home. Still 10pts from 12 is a great start to the season. It just shows that every team on their day in this division are hard to beat.

Clifford
20/10/2012, 8:22 PM
Great to see match reports etc and football talk on here last few days. Love it. Pls lets keep this going.

What a division the Prem is. All these teams are superb on their day. Fair play to Ucc bouncing back immediately.

Mayfield at home in the morning for us. Another tough day in the office for us. Loving being part of this division. Bring it on.

Clifford
20/10/2012, 8:24 PM
Beat cobh today one nil .great battling win after the week we had.

Congrats lad. Keep it up. Never found wanting for heart. Hope next week is better.

Mr.Reliable
20/10/2012, 8:57 PM
Bullet. Where are the excuses? Midleton did have players away and did have to change formation to accomadate this. The Corinthians game last week was a close contest, Midleton were just edged out. Avondale are a serious side and I was just conveying that in what I wrote. Midleton at full strength, any side at full strenght infact, will find it tough against them. No excuses where made, I pointed out facts. Did I complain about conditions, playing surfaces, the referee, Avondale themselves? No. The better side won = No excuses. I feel I could sit here all day to try and explain this to you but you clearly are a bit special.

P.S. I know someone who can fix full stop buttons at a good rate, yours appears to be broken.

Yours Lovingly,
Mr. Relaiable.
xoxo

ringmahon4ever
20/10/2012, 10:12 PM
Congrats lad. Keep it up. Never found wanting for heart. Hope next week is better.

cheers bud.were having no luck with injuries.absolutly crippled with them.another player off today injured .keep up the good work yereselves

Nedge
20/10/2012, 10:14 PM
Any reports on games.?

Clifford
21/10/2012, 12:55 PM
Fermoy 0-0 mayfield.

Not a whole lot to report on this one. We had a goal disallowed inside first ten mins. They crashed one off the bar on about 40 mins. Neither keeper tested sec half. Two evenly matched teams battled it out to share the points.

Avondale next week away for us in the cup.

el nino coro
21/10/2012, 12:59 PM
hall 1-2 rockmount. some disgraceful tackles in the game. monty taken to hospital with an ankle injury.

Sparky
21/10/2012, 7:13 PM
Any news from Monty's injury? I am all for a good challenge but you are right el nino coro, some bad tackles and cheap cowardly ones too.
There is no love lost here between these clubs going back over the last 5 years. Good points for the Mount, Hall look a shadow of themselves.

The Lawd
21/10/2012, 8:25 PM
Leeside 3 - Wilton 2 (1 o.g. a piece) and Leeside snatched goal in last minute. Game could have went either way to be fair.
Was at the game thebooboys and from what I seen Leeside looked the better team thought ye definitely deserved the 3 points. Steven Daly in middle for wilton is different class but thought ye handled him well. Seen no Keegan for wilton??

Clifford
21/10/2012, 8:57 PM
Any news from Monty's injury? I am all for a good challenge but you are right el nino coro, some bad tackles and cheap cowardly ones too.
There is no love lost here between these clubs going back over the last 5 years. Good points for the Mount, Hall look a shadow of themselves.

Who got the goals lads?

striker09
22/10/2012, 7:22 AM
@clifford ....beech got the winner ....... know more about monty today waiting for swelling to go down if not broken then ligament damage and either way some time out injured

Chiefscout
22/10/2012, 8:03 PM
Any news on montys injury yet?.heard tackle was a disgrace.

thebooboys
22/10/2012, 10:51 PM
Was at the game thebooboys and from what I seen Leeside looked the better team thought ye definitely deserved the 3 points. Steven Daly in middle for wilton is different class but thought ye handled him well. Seen no Keegan for wilton??

We played high alright and didn't leave him dictate play as he likes to do. No, Keegan was away I heard.

wesleyBHFC
23/10/2012, 9:40 PM
blarney 2-4 Tramore. good win for tramore tonight. 1st division seems to be hotting up nicely.

roberto1
24/10/2012, 10:37 AM
cant really see Tramore keeping it going to be honest,im hearing they have a few Cork footballers playing with them

mary
26/10/2012, 12:14 PM
Have to disagree with you there if these players are senior gaa players there fitness levels would be to a very high standard they could make alot of difference to a team

casilles
26/10/2012, 4:06 PM
Blarney St Ath looking for a friendly next weekend 3/4 Nov. if interested call Eddie on 0863775408

mary
30/10/2012, 10:57 AM
Long term listner first time caller i just joined the forum lads ive been following it for years and feel it should be called the midleton leeside forum at the moment I would love to here from all the other clubs in the MSL and get there views on how things are going not just in east cork where have all the punters of old gone please come back.

toto
30/10/2012, 2:17 PM
Looking at this coming weekends fixtures there's definitely a few big games in store. Must win games for Mayfield and Midelton at home. Midleton havent won at home in a while and face a Hall side struggling for results as late and following Mayfields poor showing at home in the Intermediate cup they have an uphill task at home against a consistent Rockmount.. Bandon face a tricky tie away to Blarney whilst Wilton try to regather momentum following 2 defeats in a row at home to a Crosshaven side who have underachieved so far this season......

Goggs
30/10/2012, 4:23 PM
Cant speak for leeside Mary but Midleton are probably the best supported team in the msl thats why theres more interest in them.

mary
30/10/2012, 5:16 PM
Cant speak for leeside Mary but Midleton are probably the best supported team in the msl thats why theres more interest in them.

They might have been last season Goggs i heard there was no one there against Blarney which is ironic as Blarney have taken alot of slack the last few seasons for fielding outside players,yet they had all locals and ye had all the outsiders. Wouldnt you say the tables have turned.

1fortheTeam
31/10/2012, 8:36 AM
there is no intrest in leeside . but i agree with you about middleton .

tricksey
31/10/2012, 10:44 AM
Watched douglas hall game last Sunday against kinsale not a great game in which kinsale when 1 up should have got a second only for a horrendous refereeing descion the ball was 3 yards over the line a Douglas fall player on the post confirmed this to me and Douglas hall go down the pitch 10 seconds later and make it 1-1 while kinsale still complain ! Turned the whole game on its head

mary
31/10/2012, 11:42 AM
I havnt seen the Hall yet this season do they still play a nice brand of football

pacman
31/10/2012, 1:41 PM
there is no intrest in leeside . but i agree with you about middleton .
seriously, you've done enough damage on the Aul forum no need to start it in here now!

Clifford
31/10/2012, 1:46 PM
Long term listner first time caller i just joined the forum lads ive been following it for years and feel it should be called the midleton leeside forum at the moment I would love to here from all the other clubs in the MSL and get there views on how things are going not just in east cork where have all the punters of old gone please come back.

Welcome Mary, what club you follow then? :p :rolleyes: How are they doing?

No point coming on and looking for others to discuss things without helping us out a little.

As for Fermoy, we're enjoying the step up in level even if the start to the league season has been broken up annoyingly with cups and free weekends. Nearly November and only 3 lg games played isnt ideal. I now know why we were about 2 weeks earlier than the rest back into preseason, but we'll live and learn.

Competitive so far in all our games so that's a plus considering we're favourites to go down in many peoples eyes. We'll enjoy the season and see where it brings us. Delighted to be part of the top league with so many big clubs to learn off. Depth of squad might hinder us winning the thing, but hey ho that's the lot of a country club. Can't beat working with a team full of local lads with one ancient blow in in goal!! ;)

corkgaffer
31/10/2012, 2:12 PM
Welcome officially to the forum Mary from the sidelines. Id just like to point out that not all posts on behalf of Leeside seem to come from the club itself or even from representatives of the club. I can put my hand up and say 100% I'm from Leeside but am relatively new to the club having only taken over the senior side at the beginning of this season so I cant be held accountable for any previous transgressions that I don't know about.

Just as Clifford has pointed out for Fermoy and premier league status we at Leeside are slowly getting used to the demands of senior football and all that it entails. We've been fortunate in our cup draws and have had one or two results this season that have turned a few heads but there's still a long way to go and the team has had to learn quickly from the mistakes that were made at the start of the season. We are lucky that unlike the premier and Division 1 there is no relegation. We played Fermoy in preseason and I thought we didn't embarrass ourselves but pay no attention to Cliffords remark about the one ancient blow in in goal. Mick Devine is a super keeper. A real pro who is worth at least 10 points to them a season. His experience is invaluable and his ability to slow the play and take the pressure of his defenders is second to none.There isnt a manager in the league that wouldnt kill to have him between the sticks.

For us its all about learning and we are getting there each match at a time. We play in a great league have availed of wonderful away facilities in every game and have a few great games on the horizon. With all due respect to Castleview we will more than likely meet Avondale at home in the Munster senior league which will be a great occasion for our club to host the best amateur side in the country. The big games keep coming but we look forward to each one.