View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 [126] 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

Clifford
07/10/2012, 12:54 PM
Fermoy 1-3 Avondale.

Munster senior cup 1st round. Dale led 5 before half time with a header from a corner. A goal each within a few mins of the restart. As much as Fermoy battled the Avondale lads matched up and scored one more 10 from the end. A string of Mick Devine saves made the scoreline respectable.

bullet
07/10/2012, 1:03 PM
everton 0 midleton 1

07/10/2012, 1:50 PM
Fermoy 1-3 Avondale.

Munster senior cup 1st round. Dale led 5 before half time with a header from a corner. A goal each within a few mins of the restart. As much as Fermoy battled the Avondale lads matched up and scored one more 10 from the end. A string of Mick Devine saves made the scoreline respectable.Never made it down, too far for a City boy like me early on a Sunday.
Made it out to Kilcully for the 2nd half, scrappy enough but Mary's a bit more clinical.
The young lad that got the winner is a nice player.

Long Throw
07/10/2012, 2:28 PM
Lge Everton 0-1 Midleton
Not much in it, winner came from a spotter in the last few mins, the old chesnut of when is a player coming back from an offside position interferring with play. M'ton had a player a couple of yards off through the middle, winger ran onto a through ball and Everton half stopped expecting a flag, winger was taken down when about to shoot, was a pen and finished well. Everton earlier had a great chence to go one up but CF fluffed the chance with keeper to beat.
Margins are very thin in the premier lge but M'ton get the three points & Everton need to pick up some points soon.

striker09
07/10/2012, 2:57 PM
Everton 0 Midleton 1 ... Great result in a very tight game , very hard place to get a win so.delighted with the 3 points 1/ 4 final next sat v Corinthians

Radiostar
07/10/2012, 4:25 PM
Another good win Striker09, great start to the league for ye!

bullet
08/10/2012, 3:02 PM
nice little double header in east cork sat leeside v kinsale at 2 followed by midleton and corinthians in keane cup 1/4 in midleton that evening.

ringmahon4ever
08/10/2012, 5:58 PM
Lads does anyone know what colour gear glenvale wear in aul

thebooboys
08/10/2012, 6:04 PM
Lads does anyone know what colour gear glenvale wear in aul

Home - Light blue/navy/navy
Away - Red/blue/navy

AUL Handbook at: https://docs.google.com/document/preview?id=1rtGv0uFi8NE1agYiuosuBRxxWp6cwLG8G6k3vG 9tCrY

pirlo
08/10/2012, 8:48 PM
Marys 2 mount 1
A typical northside derby, loads of passion on show both on the pitch and on the line. Rockmount enjoyed most of the possession, a bit too much abuse from both managers towards the ref, sets a bad example for the kids on the line looking in. David Welsh showed why he has been one of the best players in the league for so long. In my opinion he was the difference between the two sides, and coughlan took his goal very well...Alan Martin wont be too happy about loosing to their fierce rivals. Enjoyed the game.

rebelabroad
09/10/2012, 6:57 AM
Anyone know who Dave Mccarthy is playing with now? He is a winger and previously played with Tramore and College Corinthians.

Clifford
09/10/2012, 8:40 PM
Any able to confirm which site is more accurate for fixtures? The MSL has Fermoy away to Ucc sun more. The refs site has us sat at 3. Safe to assume its the MSL site to go by?

http://www.isrscork.com/Munster%20Senior%20League.htm

http://www.munsterseniorleague.ie/news_detail.php?news_id=294

Goggs
11/10/2012, 8:14 AM
Looking forward to the midleton Corinthians game on sat should be a cracker can someone tell me how many loan players Corinthians have from cork city is it 3 or 4 and how long are there loan deals is 3 month 6 month or a year.Are they then cup-tied for cup competitions featuring cork city ie fai cup Munster senior cup do Corinthians pay there wages or is it supplemented by city.

bullet
11/10/2012, 8:47 AM
You should be able to answer that question yourself goggs didn,t ye have the same arrangement with city last year when you were with Midleton.

Goggs
11/10/2012, 9:36 AM
What's this bullet a game of guess who again you presume. Are you not intrigued how Corinthians have gone from relagation contenders to sweeping all before them this season are you not one bit curious how these players have made such a difference to what was a very average group of players or perhaps it's the introduction of Joe Gambles coaching driving this.Maybe there's a Russian with copious amounts of oil who just happens to love Corinthians.

11/10/2012, 10:21 AM
Looking forward to the midleton Corinthians game on sat should be a cracker can someone tell me how many loan players Corinthians have from cork city is it 3 or 4 and how long are there loan deals is 3 month 6 month or a year.Are they then cup-tied for cup competitions featuring cork city ie fai cup Munster senior cup do Corinthians pay there wages or is it supplemented by city.5 players went from City to MSL clubs in recent weeks as far as i'm aware.
Andy O'Connell, Stephen Carroll and Eoin Murphy went to Corinthians, Cathal Lordan to UCC and Graham McCarthy back to Avondale.
Not sure about loan deals but these players must have signed for these clubs otherwise they wouldn't be eligible to play surely.

Wages? Please see here
http://foot.ie/threads/171407-Player-Payments-Discussion?p=1624696&viewfull=1#post1624696

bullet
11/10/2012, 11:12 AM
Maybe the same can be said about there opponents next saturday so goggs because they were in a worst position than corinthians who if i am not mistaken won two trophies last year.

Billy the Kid
11/10/2012, 11:36 AM
Hi lads,

Does anyone know if it's possible to view the final league tables from recent seasons anywhere?

Goggs
11/10/2012, 1:38 PM
Fair enough but still would like to know how longs the loan deal etc I'm not having a pop off Corinthians I think it's very forward thinking on there behalf.

Southsider
11/10/2012, 2:44 PM
5 players went from City to MSL clubs in recent weeks as far as i'm aware.
Andy O'Connell, Stephen Carroll and Eoin Murphy went to Corinthians, Cathal Lordan to UCC and Graham McCarthy back to Avondale.
Not sure about loan deals but these players must have signed for these clubs otherwise they wouldn't be eligible to play surely.

Wages? Please see here
http://foot.ie/threads/171407-Player-Payments-Discussion?p=1624696&viewfull=1#post1624696

I think none of the above players would be getting money from Cork maybe Lordan cause he was there a few years but the younger fellas I very much doubt it.

Southsider
11/10/2012, 2:45 PM
Anyone know who Dave Mccarthy is playing with now? He is a winger and previously played with Tramore and College Corinthians.
Is he a brother of Graeme ?

douglas local
11/10/2012, 8:15 PM
rumour has it that carrigaline are after jack kent(ex douglas hall) to take over the vacant senior manager position. would be a good choice as he has been involved down carrig for awhile. would also have good contacts in the hall.

Clifford
11/10/2012, 10:12 PM
Never even knew they had a vacancy. All was as last season two weeks ago when we played em in cup. Wow, shocked with that.

the hawk
12/10/2012, 7:39 PM
What's this bullet a game of guess who again you presume. Are you not intrigued how Corinthians have gone from relagation contenders to sweeping all before them this season are you not one bit curious how these players have made such a difference to what was a very average group of players or perhaps it's the introduction of Joe Gambles coaching driving this.Maybe there's a Russian with copious amounts of oil who just happens to love Corinthians.

Ah goggs ,sweeping all before them are you having a laugh wait till they have to play Rockmount r Avondale and then we can judge them
Leagues aren't won in October

As douglas hall only learned a few years ago

schoolboygodno9
12/10/2012, 10:00 PM
played with dave with tramore seniors when we got promoted to senoir a few years back last i heard hes with cors juniors could wrong good player but held on to the ball a bit too long

Goggs
13/10/2012, 6:33 AM
Yea that's true i'm yet to see them play but what i'm hearing is that there very good all round and as bullet pointed out they won two cups last season so that might have given them a base or confidence if you like to work off this season plus the addition of those quality city youngsters have added that winning mentality but it is early days.

freddie04
13/10/2012, 4:57 PM
Any score from Avondale Douglas hall game today

13/10/2012, 4:58 PM
Avondale 6-3 Douglas Hall.
Strange game, it was 3-1 when I got there.
Dale were good going forward but woeful at the back.
Hall keeper was MOTM, made at least half a dozen top drawer saves.
One of the Longs got a second yellow at the end, not even sure if he was booked.

freddie04
13/10/2012, 5:56 PM
Thank razor for the Avondale Hall result. Good result for Avondale much needed win to kick start their league campaign. Strange though that they conceded three goals at home they usually pretty strong defensive wise. They have now conceded 7 goals in three games, I suppose it gives hope to other contenders for the league hope . I suppose with all their attacking flair at their disposable it doesn't matter what the opposition score on the day they will probably score more.

Pundit
13/10/2012, 6:33 PM
Was at the game and i would agree Avondale weren't great at the back today but razor are u for real naming a keeper that conceeded 6 man of the match. Come off it will you. I thought the dale raced out of the blocks. 3up after 9mins. They took the foot off the pedal then. I think this is 1of the poorest hall sides I've seen in years. Any1else agree

Pundit
13/10/2012, 6:36 PM
Was at the game and i would agree Avondale weren't great at the back today but razor are u for real naming a keeper that conceeded 6 man of the match. Come off it will you. I thought the dale raced out of the blocks. 3up after 9mins. They took the foot off the pedal then. I think this is 1of the poorest hall sides I've seen in years. Any1else agree.
Also the referee today was an absolute joke. Telling players to f**k off when they questioned his awful decisions. No where near the standards needed to ref them games.

roberto1
13/10/2012, 6:48 PM
good win for leeside against kinsale was it deserved any reports?

pacman
13/10/2012, 7:58 PM
I was down there today. My first time seeing either team since they left the aul. Would have seen a lot of both over the last few years. Firstly it is clear both teams are rebuilding, i only recognized two players from Kinsale and four from Leeside so radically different teams.

In terms of the game it was well deserved for Leeside. Kinsale keeper made a few great saves. The first Leeside goal was as good a team goal as i've seen, started in the left back position, about 15 passes later the right winger pulled a ball back to Ricky Gettings for a great finish. Leeside definitely trying to play ball and look like they have a specific approach to the game.

Kinsale i am less sure about, seemed a bit aimless to me. Lots of young players which is good for the club but they are probably a few years from getting back to where they were.

Leeside probably too dependant on Gettings in attack given some of the players who have left. From what i hear a few have dropped to junior side

thebooboys
13/10/2012, 8:19 PM
Well deserved should have been more.

13/10/2012, 8:26 PM
Was at the game and i would agree Avondale weren't great at the back today but razor are u for real naming a keeper that conceeded 6 man of the match. Come off it will you.Could have been 12 without him.

Also the referee today was an absolute joke. Telling players to f**k off when they questioned his awful decisions. No where near the standards needed to ref them games.i though the ref was poor also, looked out of his depth, wasn't blowing for bad tackles and then couldn't deal with players giving out.

freddie04
13/10/2012, 9:04 PM
College Corinthians fully deserved their 1 nil victory in midleton tonight. The first half was a pretty even affair not the greatest football spectacle but midleton had the better chances and probably should have went in at the break 1 nil up.
The second half was a different game with college dominating possession and playing the better football of the two team. They scored after 20 minutes and deserved it on the run of play. They had another guilt edge chance with 15 minutes to go it seemed easier for the striker to score than miss! Only he could explain it. To midleton credit they battled hard till the end with the Corinthians keeper making one fine save to keep them 1 nil ahead.
Corinthians were good value for their win, a good young side that try to play football the right way. Midleton are tough and dogged side and will be definitely hard to beat at home. They had a few injuries and their main striker suspended for this match so they can ate heart from the performance.
Avondale next week in the league at home so another tough game for midleton next Friday night

bullet
13/10/2012, 10:13 PM
Was at the leeside and kinsale game today as well apart from gettings goal and his performance the game was brutal two falling giants is all i seen.

thebooboys
13/10/2012, 10:27 PM
Was at the leeside and kinsale game today as well apart from gettings goal and his performance the game was brutal two falling giants is all i seen.
Great win for leeside against a well organised kinsale, dont know what game you were at bullit or you must not have had the specs on but some of leesides play was fantastic,should have been more. Onwards and upwards. Leeside turning the corner.

bullet
13/10/2012, 10:34 PM
Take gettings out of the game today and the two teams would,nt have looked out of place in the night owls very poor fair.

thebooboys
13/10/2012, 10:39 PM
Take gettings out of the game today and the two teams would,nt have looked out of place in the night owls very poor fair.
Dont know what game you were watching,shane carry by far the best player on the pitch,wilton next week,looking forward to it should be a interesting game.

bullet
13/10/2012, 10:51 PM
Boo from what i have seen of both ye and wilton if the club have a few pound to spare send the keeper for physio on his back during the week because he could be bending it alot next weekend :D

pirlo
14/10/2012, 10:30 AM
Boo from what i have seen of both ye and wilton if the club have a few pound to spare send the keeper for physio on his back during the week because he could be bending it alot next weekend :D
went to both games in east cork last nite, and to be honest there was no difference between the two divisions although one of them was a cup. Standard was pretty poor in both games. leeside deserved their victory. Think we will see a different midleton attitude next week against avondale. Was like they had no interest in being there last nite.

Clifford
14/10/2012, 12:59 PM
Ucc 1-2 Fermoy.

We went off like a train and were 2-0 in first 10/15 mins. We carried it on for the rest of the half and may have got more, but also had a few moments at the back with Mick saving once or twice. Very good college side got going in the sec half and put us under cosh. They got one back 25 from the end but we battled hard and came away with a very good three points away from home.

Phew!

corkey121
14/10/2012, 3:54 PM
Ucc 1-2 Fermoy.

We went off like a train and were 2-0 in first 10/15 mins. We carried it on for the rest of the half and may have got more, but also had a few moments at the back with Mick saving once or twice. Very good college side got going in the sec half and put us under cosh. They got one back 25 from the end but we battled hard and came away with a very good three points away from home.

Phew!

Rumour has it both carrigaline utd and ringmahon rangers first divisions sides are now looking for managers .both seem to be in a bit of bother

sbsbsbsb
14/10/2012, 3:55 PM
Do you know who got the three goals in the game?

Clifford
14/10/2012, 5:22 PM
Mayfield 2-1 Mary's as well today apparently.

Surprised if Ringmahon have changed, heard the Carrig one is true all right but mayb the lads will be back again I heard today. It's getting harder and harder to commit so much time to a team. A huge effort from all involved and I can fully understand lads stepping aside.

jimhacker
14/10/2012, 6:48 PM
Mayfield 2-1 Mary's as well today apparently.

Surprised if Ringmahon have changed, heard the Carrig one is true all right but mayb the lads will be back again I heard today. It's getting harder and harder to commit so much time to a team. A huge effort from all involved and I can fully understand lads stepping aside.

Carrigaline are celebrating 40 years in the game this week. A.

Apparently they marked the occasion last week by turning up for their game with no goalkeeper, no water, no footballs and[U]no manager[U].

Quite extraordinary! Assuming all the above is true - and I have no reason to doubt it - it is a complete dereliction of duty to their own players and a discourtesy to the MFA and to the opposition. I doubt, therefore, if the lads will be back.

It seems that there has been no organised training for the last fortnight or so and the whole thing is in limbo. I'm told that there were plenty signs visible right through last season but that reasonable results papered over the cracks. Failure to act over the summer. means that an entire season has gone by the wayside.

Great pity to see this happening to such a normally progressive club.

I posted on this some weeks ago and was politely contradicted by Footiefanatic. Maybe now he'll concede that ol' Jim was right after all - though I get no pleasure from this one!

PS. Looks like I might have been right about Everton too!

mayfield utd
14/10/2012, 9:01 PM
our lads played carrigaline last week in a cup game,yes they had no keeper the guy jones played in goal,and ken dennenhy wasn't there so no manager,i don't know if they had balls or water

mayfield utd
14/10/2012, 9:04 PM
our lads had a good win today over marys,dave warren (overhead kick) and jamie murphy (free kick) got mayfield's goals today

rebelabroad
14/10/2012, 9:58 PM
Yes. He is Graham's older brother.