View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 [125] 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

27/09/2012, 1:33 PM
6-1 doesn't tell half the story.the carry on from some of leeside players on the field with bad challenges and players getting sick on sideline.disgraceful behaviourSounds awful.
are you sure you didn't dream it?

Chiefscout
27/09/2012, 1:42 PM
Right, neither of Ye were at the game obviously for 2 reasons;
1- it finished 4-1
2- there were no bad tackles/no hassle whatsoever
The ref had an easy night, very friendly game as we play each other regularly. Hope someone from mayfield could come on & put 2 of Ye in yere places.
Wasn't there but I'll promise to tell the 3 people that told me the same story that they imagined in.no bother

Chiefscout
27/09/2012, 1:43 PM
Sounds awful.
are you sure you didn't dream it?
Zzzzzzzz...must have.ha

27/09/2012, 2:20 PM
Graham McCarthy back at Avondale

freddie04
27/09/2012, 6:35 PM
how many players do Avondale now have on their panel? mick o' shea Mayfield rumoured to be the next addition . the sooner this transfer deadline is gone the better for every other team in the league at least they will know who they will and won't have on their panels.
I have nothing against Avondale but the have so much quality how does John cotter keep them all happy?

mayfield utd
27/09/2012, 7:31 PM
Right, neither of Ye were at the game obviously for 2 reasons; 1- it finished 4-1 2- there were no bad tackles/no hassle whatsoever The ref had an easy night, very friendly game as we play each other regularly. Hope someone from mayfield could come on & put 2 of Ye in yere places. i wasn't at the game but i was told it finished 4-1,no bad tackles the ref didn't show a yellow card or speak to anyone,no players squared up to each other,so i don't know where the other story came from.

toto
27/09/2012, 8:27 PM
toto, you seem to be more intersted in midleton senior team rather than your own team Leeside. Remember midleton play in the Msl Premier Division not the 2nd division so the possibility of getting relegated is always going to be there when you have good teams in the league. i dont think leeside have to worry about getting relegated from the 2nd division because that cant happen, no matter how bad a team is.
dont worry about premier league teams when your side isnt even close to that standard. leeside have a long road ahead and if you do make it to the premier league lets see how many local players are playing then ! every team in the top division is made up from player all over cork city, take avondale or rockmount as just examples. you should really thing before you post stupid comments on the forum about a team's make up. Players move around clubs all the time thats just local football for you.

Freddie04 I think you have the wrong end of the stick here. Dont remember having a pop at Midleton about how their squad was made up from or what parish was what. Had a joke about them getting relegated but striker09 saw it for what it was. I think it was the lol and the stupid little smiley face that gave it away. Maybe if you spent less time on the defensive and more time reading the posts you'd have seen that. To quote yourself "you should really thing before you post stupid comments on the forum about a team's make up. Players move around clubs all the time thats just local football for you"

el nino coro
27/09/2012, 8:59 PM
Graham McCarthy back at Avondale

Another one tries and fails to make it in the league of Ireland!

AvondaleNutter
27/09/2012, 9:05 PM
Fair play to him for giving it ago. Who knows what his reasons are. Could be work commitments, there's lots of traveling involved or it could be down to lack of playing time. Lets not knock a fella, I'm sure you were a great player by the way you carry on

28/09/2012, 7:54 AM
Another one tries and fails to make it in the league of Ireland!The more i watch City the more I get the impression that Tommy Dunne hasn't any mass on the MSL players.

When Graham joined it was "he was recommended to us", like he couldn't be bothered taking in a game himself.
To be fair Graham, like Marky Sull before him, never got a chance to prove himself.

So I think partly to do with Tommys indifference to the MSL, injury also and partly due to the fact that there are some players from the double winning U19 squad starting to break into the first team.

Pundit
28/09/2012, 12:54 PM
el Nino why do i get the impression that you love msl players failing to make it with LOI clubs. The fact of the matter is that tommy dunne is a clown. he has no mass on msl players. in my opinion graham is better than some of city s midfield. dunne never gave him a chance. same with Marky Sull. you have to wonder some of his decisions. he had no problem giving gavin kavanagh a chance and he played lsl. in my opinion there is better centre backs in the msl than him..you would never guess dunne is a dub would you. rant over. dunne out.

our_ball_ref
28/09/2012, 7:24 PM
Ringmahon 2-1 Blarney at half time

greengrass
28/09/2012, 8:32 PM
blarney 1-2 ringmahon full time
mahon with man sent off in first half so credit to them

corkey121
28/09/2012, 8:54 PM
The more i watch City the more I get the impression that Tommy Dunne hasn't any mass on the MSL players.

When Graham joined it was "he was recommended to us", like he couldn't be bothered taking in a game himself.
To be fair Graham, like Marky Sull before him, never got a chance to prove himself.

So I think partly to do with Tommys indifference to the MSL, injury also and partly due to the fact that there are some players from the double winning U19 squad starting to break into the first team.

Are ye guys for real here.this guy played in handfull off games and wasnt good enough to quick to leave his feet poor at passing the ball and lackex fitness .as for mark sull fair enough maybe but id have my doubts bout that two.now as for tommy dunne he is a good manger with no backing from the board.sold top striker one week before window.city would be in top 3 if they had cummins.

Was at ringmahon game great win for the mahon boys ...apparently the chairman has left thr managment of senior ..

ringmahon4ever
28/09/2012, 9:09 PM
Beat blarney tonight two one. Two up after ten mins. Down to ten men after 25.conceded peno five mins before half time. Blarney through everything at us in second half but we held out.great performance from a team with four juniors in starting 11 due to injuries.
One more thing. That Eddie mc nally should be left no where near a soccer pitch.

our_ball_ref
28/09/2012, 9:25 PM
What are ya on about yer striker gave Blarneys left back not one but 2 digs into the face and he stayed on the pitch, assaulting a player like that is a disgrace, blarney missed 3-4 unreal chances ye were haunted!!!

rebelraider
28/09/2012, 9:45 PM
What are ya on about yer striker gave Blarneys left back not one but 2 digs into the face and he stayed on the pitch, assaulting a player like that is a disgrace, blarney missed 3-4 unreal chances ye were haunted!!!

Haunted or not it was a great battleing performance,at the end of the day ringmahon picked up 3 points which they deserved.

ringmahon4ever
28/09/2012, 9:51 PM
What game were you watching cause i never seen that and im not just saying it cause its my team. Only thing that resembles that is when our centre half hit out and was rightly sent off. If this 'assault' did take place i didn't see or hear any blarney player mentor sub or supporter mentioning it

thebooboys
28/09/2012, 10:29 PM
Passage 1 - Leeside 0

Should have went in at half time a few goals to the good. Passage picked things up in 2nd half, we didn't get started. Looked like another nil nil but for another gift. Very frustrating. Crosshaven at home in cup next week

villaman10
28/09/2012, 10:46 PM
look at the bright side, at least ye won't have to back down there in mid january! probably should of been 2-0 at half time alright, but passage were always tough on their own patch!! crosshaven next week, that should be interesting after what went on here the last week are so:-)

villaman10
28/09/2012, 10:50 PM
That Eddie mc nally should be left no where near a soccer pitch.

two weeks in a row this ref has been mentioned.... he always did have a case of little man syndrome to me:-)

our_ball_ref
28/09/2012, 11:03 PM
Well it happened 2 clear digs to his face yer number 9 and there number 3 just before half time, I was on the far side and could hear both digs, he def should have been sent off simple as

Gobias
29/09/2012, 12:03 AM
Well it happened 2 clear digs to his face yer number 9 and there number 3 just before half time, I was on the far side and could hear both digs, he def should have been sent off simple as

I saw it aswell, both players were battling for the ball and ringmahon number 9 threw an elbow (might have been accidental),both players were arguing and ringmahon 9 threw a clear punch to the face and another after more arguing. In fairness to the ref you cant blame him for not seeing it as the ball was up the other end of the pitch when the punches were thrown and the blarney player didnt make a big deal of it either.

As for the game itself Blarney probably deserved a draw having battered ringmahon for the whole 2nd half but credit has to be given to mahon for hanging on for the win with 10 men for 60+ minutes

fifa
29/09/2012, 12:34 AM
Was at the game aswell didn't see any digs nor any complaints from blarney looked like a good fair game with ringmahon battling to 3 points and not a bad tackle in the game

striker09
29/09/2012, 8:29 AM
midleton 1 cork city 2 ... both teams full strength good game to be fair cork city are excellent movement and quality deliveries from wide areas but we did battled very well hit post in first half from excellent free kick.... but city more than deserved to win a excellent work out for us and to be fair to tommy dunne he said it was a good work out for his side ..

Boc 123
29/09/2012, 10:25 AM
Passage 1 Leeside 0

to be far , good effort in the first half , Leeside should have been a goal up at least , never showed up for the second half , Passage well deserved the win on the second half performance , Still think leeside will be tough to beat at home , away form not the best and needs to improve on looking at the second half last night

toto
29/09/2012, 11:14 AM
Cracking game last in Mahon. It had just about everything you could ask for in a match. Only let down was the unsavoury stuff that went on of the ball and I can assure you it did. Mahon no 9 through a few cute punches alright which really put a dampener on a great win for mahon but the way they celebrated at the end I dont htink they care. Blarney threw everything bar the kitchen sink at Mahon but in fairness Mahon held out for the 3 points as they were penned back for the entire second half. Blarney will rue the chances missed and a few boys will be waking up this morning scratching their head wondering how they weren't on the score sheet. Referee let the game get away from him a bit at the beginning but then reeled it in a bit too tight. It wasn't a game for the faint hearted but all credit to Mahon for the win. Return fixture will be dynamite.......cant wait

the hawk
29/09/2012, 5:53 PM
Passage 1 Leeside 0

to be far , good effort in the first half , Leeside should have been a goal up at least , never showed up for the second half , Passage well deserved the win on the second half performance , Still think leeside will be tough to beat at home , away form not the best and needs to improve on looking at the second half last night

From what i saw i taught passage deserved the 3 points .In fairness both teams tried to play football and Gene did try and let them play .Think Leeside will struggle .Keeper is poor and so are the two centre halves .The seven and 8 tried hard but ye lacked fire power .
Passage seem to be hesitant under high balls but weren't afraid to do the hard work again they seemed to lack fire power except when it came out of there centre forwards mouth and what a mouth he had too

Tough place the go as the pitch is tight but in Fairness the surface and the lights are top notch

ballsac7
29/09/2012, 8:43 PM
Watched Crosshaven play in Kinsale today. The home side raced into an early 2-0 lead but Crosser fought back to 2-2. When Kinsale retook the lead I thought that would kill Crosser off. To their credit they fought back again for a deserved point at 3-3. Young side backed up by Greg and Beezer who got 2. Kinsale though will be very close to the title and Charles Fort a difficult place to go to.

sharpshooter
29/09/2012, 11:53 PM
Bandon 3 v 1 Youghal

pirlo
01/10/2012, 8:43 PM
Passage 1 - Leeside 0

Should have went in at half time a few goals to the good. Passage picked things up in 2nd half, we didn't get started. Looked like another nil nil but for another gift. Very frustrating. Crosshaven at home in cup next week
Great to see that Leeside are doing so well this year.

pirlo
01/10/2012, 8:49 PM
[QUOTE=striker09;1631099]midleton 1 cork city 2 ... both teams full strength good game to be fair cork city are excellent movement and quality deliveries from wide areas but we did battled very well hit post in first half from excellent free kick.... but city more than deserved to win a excellent work out for us and to be fair to tommy dunne he said it was a good work out for his side ..
City completly dominanted from start to finish, although they did not penetrate the midleton defence with open football. Midletons midfield worked very hard and with this work rate they will be hard to beat, although i still think they'll find it hard to stay in the division.
City will be hoping for more going forward if they are to have any chance of getting anything from the sligo game.

Any predictions for the weekend fixtures lads?

bluey
02/10/2012, 2:02 PM
Whats the story with the transfer date in the MSL, was it the end of sept or is it sometime in october???

ballsac7
02/10/2012, 8:50 PM
Whats the story with the transfer date in the MSL, was it the end of sept or is it sometime in october???

End of Sept - I think window opens in December again

rebelabroad
03/10/2012, 7:11 AM

Every player should try and play at the highest level. I do not think you can describe a player as having "failed" particularly when he has had little opportunity to prove himself. I expect Graham's reasons for returning to the MSL were football ones, most probably, he wanted regular football. Local players should always be encouraged to give League of Ireland a go. Even if they do not make the cut for whatever reason they usually come back better players for the experience and improve the standard of the MSL as a result. I am sure Avondale are glad to have Graham back in their ranks.

Boc 123
03/10/2012, 4:09 PM
i agree there Hawk , Fire Power is a big thing missing from the games ive seen , But Young side and building so cant complain

From what i saw i taught passage deserved the 3 points .In fairness both teams tried to play football and Gene did try and let them play .Think Leeside will struggle .Keeper is poor and so are the two centre halves .The seven and 8 tried hard but ye lacked fire power .
Passage seem to be hesitant under high balls but weren't afraid to do the hard work again they seemed to lack fire power except when it came out of there centre forwards mouth and what a mouth he had too

Tough place the go as the pitch is tight but in Fairness the surface and the lights are top notch

Boc 123
03/10/2012, 4:10 PM
to be honest i dont think Tommy gave him much of a chance really ??

Every player should try and play at the highest level. I do not think you can describe a player as having "failed" particularly when he has had little opportunity to prove himself. I expect Graham's reasons for returning to the MSL were football ones, most probably, he wanted regular football. Local players should always be encouraged to give League of Ireland a go. Even if they do not make the cut for whatever reason they usually come back better players for the experience and improve the standard of the MSL as a result. I am sure Avondale are glad to have Graham back in their ranks.

striker09
03/10/2012, 6:18 PM
[QUOTE=striker09;1631099]midleton 1 cork city 2 ... both teams full strength good game to be fair cork city are excellent movement and quality deliveries from wide areas but we did battled very well hit post in first half from excellent free kick.... but city more than deserved to win a excellent work out for us and to be fair to tommy dunne he said it was a good work out for his side ..
City completly dominanted from start to finish, although they did not penetrate the midleton defence with open football. Midletons midfield worked very hard and with this work rate they will be hard to beat, although i still think they'll find it hard to stay in the division.
City will be hoping for more going forward if they are to have any chance of getting anything from the sligo game.

Any predictions for the weekend fixtures lads?

@ pirlo why u think we will find it hard in this division ??????? how many times u seen us play excluding the leeside game away (which was off day ) we have 3 wins and 1 draw ( away to rockmount) . wondering where ur knowledge on this comes from very interested to hear

rebelabroad
03/10/2012, 10:10 PM
I do'nt think he ever started even.

toto
04/10/2012, 8:29 AM
i agree there Hawk , Fire Power is a big thing missing from the games ive seen , But Young side and building so cant complain

From what I know a few players were brought in to remedy that but they haven't clicked. Mark Quinn (ex city youths) and Dave Dennehy from Mayfield. Quinn scored goals for fun last season and was top goal scorer in the West Cork but I guess the step up in level from the cow fields seems a bit to much for him. I watched Dennehy at the Crosshaven game and he didnt look fit at all.

corkgaffer
04/10/2012, 9:26 AM
Wind your neck in a bit toto. You bang 6 past a poor grattan side and all of a sudden your jamie redknapp. Like hawkeye said young team with a lot to learn. Not just the team but the Club in general who are making huge strides in stepping up to the demands of senior football following loss of a number of very good players. Juniors doing very well in the MSL junior league also. Average age of team playing Passage was 23. When you look around and see how well established clubs like Ringmahon have brought young lads though the system and done well we are trying to emulate this. Everyone at the club enjoying the challange and whilst results havent followed the impressive start against Midleton its a long season ahead. Hoping all the AUL sides can continue to do well in MSL.

04/10/2012, 10:10 AM
to be honest i dont think Tommy gave him much of a chance really ??I think he featured in the Watford and Man Utd friendlies but not competetively.

rebelabroad
04/10/2012, 11:27 AM
Do City have a reserves side anymore? I am abroad so I am out of touch. From the League of Ireland's teams point of view it is vital to have a second string particularly to blood youngsters like Graham McCarthy and get injured first teamers back up to match fitness. The problem, in my time, was that the LOI resrves sides totally messed up the MSL. 1 week you could be playing (and losing) against an almost full strength LOI team, the next week they could be putting out a weakened team (or as happened a few occasions in my time) giving a walkover to your rivals for the MSL.

04/10/2012, 1:08 PM
Do City have a reserves side anymore? There's an U19 side that won the double in the National League last season and because a few of the better U19s were now overage there was talk that we might enter a reserve side in the MSL but it never materialised.
A few of these are starting to break into the first team though, most notably Stephen Kenny and Garry Buckley.

Muller
04/10/2012, 8:19 PM
Is this a Leeside forum or MSL forum ;) From playing against leeside for years on end (and by god did i hate going to play there cause we never got anything out of there) they are a great club and have a trophy cabinet that the majority of cork clubs would love to have their hands on. Anyway thats that, took in Midleton v Cork City last friday night, good game but it looked like City where just going through the motions, if they upped the gears it could of been a higher scoreline, midleton where on their knees at half time. Midleton have had a good start in fairness but i think they will struggle come the serious end of the season. After all the talk of Crosshaven, leeside i am going to take this game in on saturday so hope it is a good game of ball.

Boc 123
05/10/2012, 5:10 PM
correct there razor i was at the Man u Game he looked good and sharp given time , thats why i think tommy didnt give him a fair crack

Clifford
06/10/2012, 7:11 PM
Any score from the college v Ucc game?

Nedge
06/10/2012, 7:20 PM
Cor 2 1 Ucc,

Clifford
06/10/2012, 9:11 PM
College flying. Thats 9/9 now for them isn't it. Fair play to them. Good side.

Avondale in cup for us tomorrow, 4 Dale played in Irish game tonight - hope they are wrecked for the morn!!

Chiefscout
07/10/2012, 12:18 PM
Marys 2 mount 1