View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 [123] 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

Ordinary Joe
12/09/2012, 5:55 PM
Well hello to you to jimhacker :)

Whatever you want to believe about the wheels coming off our ''wagon'' we are just one game into the season.
Granted we did lose 3-0 to Blarney, far from a thrashing, and if you were at the game yourself you would have seem a very evenly matched game for 60 mins at least. defensive errors proving costly. Carrig had plenty of chances of their own, and only for some magnificant Blarney defending at times right on their own goal line, could have scored 1 or 2 themselves. We won 2 previous keane cup games before that, and narrowly lost to everton at home. No goalkeeper, our goalkeeper from last year played vs Blarney so don't know about that fact. numbers low on one training session, due tom injuries,work or other commitments. I see you haven't been to one of our other sessions where we have had at least 14/15 participating!! On players wanting to go down junior, don't see why players would want to drop down the grades to play a much worse standard of football, so don't see any players currently in the senior squad thinking of doing so. Tough away game to ringmahon next saturday. Hopefully to get first points of the season, which will be no easy task. Onwards and upwards!

Jimhacker what is your issue with Carrigaline? You appear out of nowhere when they have a bad result quoting doom and gloom!!! I was at the Blarney game and for 60mins they were well on top and should have been 1/2 up. Through awfull defending they went 1 down and got caught late on chasing the game. They also had 20+ players in attendance at Blarney and have 2 quality keepers in Craig Noonan and Twiggy(injured). Carrig had 10 at training last night with the rest working or injured. That jnr statement is utter nonsense. Didn't they loose to Bandon in the 1st game of last season and yet where within 30secs of going up in the end. Settle down - loads of football to be played yet in what will be a tough division. 😜

Reznik
12/09/2012, 7:37 PM
footiefanatic and Ordinary Joe, I hate to be the one to break the news but football is a 90minute game. Even enough game for probably an hour but Blarney ran riot and scored some great goals in about a 20 minute period.

footiefanatic
12/09/2012, 8:37 PM
footiefanatic and Ordinary Joe, I hate to be the one to break the news but football is a 90minute game. Even enough game for probably an hour but Blarney ran riot and scored some great goals in about a 20 minute period.

Don't worry Reznik, i'm not begrudging the result at all, Blarney played some lovely football and fully merited the win in the end. Ray O'Leary still pulling the strings in that midfield. I was just pointing out that the attack on Carrigaline seemed very harsh as we had quite a few chances in the game as well, just couldn't finish them on the night! As ordinary Joe pointed out we lost away to bandon first game last season and lost out on promotion in the last few mins vs Fermoy last game. Blarney will most likely be battling it out at the top this year, hopefully we will be there battling away with ye!

ringmahon4ever
12/09/2012, 8:54 PM
footie the way people are talking bout our teams and players i just hope its gonna be a good game Saturday ha ha

footiefanatic
12/09/2012, 9:09 PM
footie the way people are talking bout our teams and players i just hope its gonna be a good game Saturday ha ha

Taking some of the heat off of ye ringmahon4ever :P haha ya both of us could have done with better starts but sure what harm! Best of luck saturday and may the worst team win! ha ha

Gobias
13/09/2012, 11:52 AM
I think people are getting carried away with Carrigalines result against Blarney. Carrig are still going to be challenging for the league cause they have some very good players, particularly going forward and Blarney have started the season well (beat Douglas in pre-season, drew with St.Marys and hammered Kinsale and Ballinhassig in the Keane cup). And as for having a small crowd at training it doesnt look good but that happens sometimes with alot of teams after such a disappointing result im sure they will have a better turnout the next session

Gobias
13/09/2012, 12:00 PM
Betting for the Weekend from Paddypower

Rockmount 4/7 Draw 5/2 Midleton 7/2
Mayfield 3/1 Draw 13/5 Avondale 8/13
Everton 6/4 Draw 9/4 Douglas Hall 5/4
St.Mary's Evs Draw 5/2 College Corinthians 7/4

Im liking a Everton & Avondale Double @ 3/1 myself

el nino coro
13/09/2012, 1:05 PM
Betting for the Weekend from Paddypower

Rockmount 4/7 Draw 5/2 Midleton 7/2
Mayfield 3/1 Draw 13/5 Avondale 8/13
Everton 6/4 Draw 9/4 Douglas Hall 5/4
St.Mary's Evs Draw 5/2 College Corinthians 7/4

Im liking a Everton & Avondale Double @ 3/1 myself

Rockmount And Avondale - 6/4

St Marys v College - Draw

jimhacker
13/09/2012, 4:25 PM
Well hello to you to jimhacker :)

Whatever you want to believe about the wheels coming off our ''wagon'' we are just one game into the season.
Granted we did lose 3-0 to Blarney, far from a thrashing, and if you were at the game yourself you would have seem a very evenly matched game for 60 mins at least. defensive errors proving costly. Carrig had plenty of chances of their own, and only for some magnificant Blarney defending at times right on their own goal line, could have scored 1 or 2 themselves. We won 2 previous keane cup games before that, and narrowly lost to everton at home. No goalkeeper, our goalkeeper from last year played vs Blarney so don't know about that fact. numbers low on one training session, due tom injuries,work or other commitments. I see you haven't been to one of our other sessions where we have had at least 14/15 participating!! On players wanting to go down junior, don't see why players would want to drop down the grades to play a much worse standard of football, so don't see any players currently in the senior squad thinking of doing so. Tough away game to ringmahon next saturday. Hopefully to get first points of the season, which will be no easy task. Onwards and upwards!

Gosh!

Where to start.

1. I haven't appeared "out of nowhere" Recent posts have included opinions on Douglas Hall, Castleview,Crosshaven etc. Is that not what an internet forum is supposed to be about.

2. What "attack" on Carrigaline. Passing on a little bit of info and opinion on their chances hardly constitutes an "attack" now, does it.

3. My info on their situation is entirely correct - Footie Fanatic is either in denial or is totally deluded.

They had no goalkeeper for their Keane Cup game - vs Tramore, I think.

There were five players at their training session at start of the week - and, subject to confirmation, neither manager turned up! That's some response to the Blarney defeat ( or 60 minute victory if you wish!)

4. I never mentioned players wanting to regrade to junior - that was another poster.

Finally, just so that you don't think I've singled you out for special attention here are a few more opinions.

Everton and Fermoy to be relegated from Prem.

Castleview, Leeds, Blarney or Ringmahon to be promoted.

Carrigaline (oops!) and Bandon or Tramore to be relegated.

Ballincollig and Mallow to be promoted with Ballinhassig dropping out altogether.

corkey121
13/09/2012, 5:12 PM
Gosh!

Where to start.

1. I haven't appeared "out of nowhere" Recent posts have included opinions on Douglas Hall, Castleview,Crosshaven etc. Is that not what an internet forum is supposed to be about.

2. What "attack" on Carrigaline. Passing on a little bit of info and opinion on their chances hardly constitutes an "attack" now, does it.

3. My info on their situation is entirely correct - Footie Fanatic is either in denial or is totally deluded.

They had no goalkeeper for their Keane Cup game - vs Tramore, I think.

There were five players at their training session at start of the week - and, subject to confirmation, neither manager turned up! That's some response to the Blarney defeat ( or 60 minute victory if you wish!)

4. I never mentioned players wanting to regrade to junior - that was another poster.

Finally, just so that you don't think I've singled you out for special attention here are a few more opinions.

Everton and Fermoy to be relegated from Prem.

Castleview, Leeds, Blarney or Ringmahon to be promoted.

Carrigaline (oops!) and Bandon or Tramore to be relegated.

Ballincollig and Mallow to be promoted with Ballinhassig dropping out altogether.

Bandon and carrigaline to go down both were in play off last year,niall o regan and bandon far to good to go down they will be up there ..id have to fancy blarney leeds and bandon to go up with ringmahon 4th castleview 5th and so on so on

beautiful game
13/09/2012, 9:06 PM
I'm absolutely loving Everton and the draw at 1/2.

Short price but not a lot of teams come away from Everton Park with three points.

Mighty almighty
13/09/2012, 9:15 PM
Rock mount v midleton draw
avondale win
everton v Douglas draw
St.marys win

Might fire a sneaky €5 accum at this.....long shot but you never know at the start of the season.

Clifford
13/09/2012, 9:25 PM
Fixtures out again this evening for the weekend of the Michael Ward. Really appreciate the site getting them out so quickly. Top class job in fairness.

Is that squad announced yet? Can't wait to see who's in this time round.

Horse24
13/09/2012, 9:45 PM
Everyone knew the first division was going to be very tough this year with loads of huge games. Massive game already in Ringmahon Saturday - neither side wants to be minus 6 already.

footiefanatic
14/09/2012, 10:13 AM
I never mentioned any attacks on us jimhacker, nor did I say you appeared out of nowhere, think you were referring to ordinary joes post! yes it is all opinion, and you are entitled to your own, just want to clarify some things you stated about carrigaline.Yes we did have no keeper vs Tramore, both were carrying injuries and junior keepers were already occupied, so that would be correct. But generally except for mad circumstances we would have at least 3 keepers t call upon if needs be! there were 5 at the start at training. but whoever passed you on the info must have been there for only a short while because about 20 mins into training there were 11. Bad timekeeping is a problem!!haha. and yes that was another poster, i was referring to his post, just never said it, so apologies. Lets just end this arguement here, leave this forum to predictions, chiefscouts transfer rumours etc...

beautiful game
14/09/2012, 4:53 PM
Rockmount v Midleton read the full match report later this evening at www.backofthenetcork.ie (http://www.backofthenetcork.ie)

Clifford
14/09/2012, 6:56 PM
1-0 Midleton. 20 mins in from a set piece not cleared.

Clifford
14/09/2012, 7:38 PM
1-1 now Gilly finished a stunning football move.

Clifford
14/09/2012, 8:18 PM
1-1 red for Middleton with 20 ish left. Horrid tackle. Fair result.

Gobias
14/09/2012, 9:25 PM
Castleview 1-2 Blarney

Similar story to Blarneys game against Carrig last week, started slowly and went in at half time 0-0 but probably deserved to be behind. Came out for the 2nd half a different team and got 2 goals in the space of 5mins 10minutes into the half. Ray O'Leary with both, the first a cross that went straight in and the second a strike from just outside the box . Blarney looked like coasting from there hitting the post and creating a couple more chances but Castleview got back into it with a penalty around 20minutes from time but Blarney survived a couple of scary moments late on to get the win.

beautiful game
14/09/2012, 10:25 PM
Match report from Rockmount Park at www.backofthenetcork.ie (http://www.backofthenetcork.ie)

striker9
15/09/2012, 11:13 AM
[QUOTE=el nino coro;1626113]Take off your black and white glasses,ye beating mayfield the other night was the biggest upset,you will be put back in your box friday night![/QUOTE

Put back in their box alright !

el nino coro
15/09/2012, 11:17 AM
[QUOTE=el nino coro;1626113]Take off your black and white glasses,ye beating mayfield the other night was the biggest upset,you will be put back in your box friday night![/QUOTE

Put back in their box alright !

Middleton will win the league now i suppose will they? They will be 7th or 8th!

Glenbuck
15/09/2012, 1:09 PM
Isnt it funny how glenbuck appears when rockmount win,had they lost there would be no sign of him....it would make ya laughAppears ???? I wasnt even at the game. I was there last night though and they didnt win. Whats your gripe.

the owl
15/09/2012, 2:32 PM
Jordan o leary came on for Midleton last night. I thought he was signed with Carrigtwohill ?

Mighty almighty
15/09/2012, 3:31 PM
[QUOTE=striker9;1627818]

Middleton will win the league now i suppose will they? They will be 7th or 8th!
Calm down lads...I like the reply from striker9 though,wasn't a surprise to see another cocky comment from rock mount....you can only judge a team on there results and midleton hav 4 points in two games,as good as most so far,they ain't goin to win a league but hav started well.

duckdu
15/09/2012, 4:29 PM
Bandon 2-0 Tramore . . .

Clifford
15/09/2012, 6:13 PM
Mayfield v dale drew according to web site. Any reports?

el nino coro
15/09/2012, 7:54 PM

Mayfield 2 up at half time,dale fought back in the second half to make it 2-2

jimhacker
15/09/2012, 8:14 PM
[QUOTE Lets just end this arguement here, [/QUOTE]

What argument?

Well there's certainly no argument now - just heard the result. 1-3 against nine men!!!!!

footiefanatic
15/09/2012, 8:37 PM
[QUOTE Lets just end this arguement here,

What argument?

Well there's certainly no argument now - just heard the result. 1-3 against nine men!!!!![/QUOTE]
Yes ringmahon finished with nine men. 2nd red card just 5 mins before the end of play. ringmahon very tough side, set pieces really caught us out. as mentioned before, the long throw ins are a devil to deal with, couldnt handle them all day. they got their first red card on half hour mark. keeeper sent off for last man challenge. red card was fair in my opinion, but as ringmahon4ever would agree with, penalty decision was ludacrous! keeper was at least 4 yards outside area. striker went in goal, and to his credit, produced a great save from the spot. ringmahon then scored 2 goals in next ten mins, both from set pieces ( one long throw in). poor defending catching us out again!! carrig pulled one back early in the second half, but from a free kick 15 minutes into 2nd, mahon scored a lovely header at the back post. not much after that. 2nd red was handbags at most. certainly an uphill challenge at this stage!! ringamhon well deserved of victory, best of luck to them for rest of season!

Goggs
16/09/2012, 8:20 AM
An enthralling match played at break neck speed Mayfield went at them from the off and played a classic counter attacking style pouring forward when they had it and closing the gaps when they defended they raided down the left every chance they got and put in some menacing crosses one which was met with a lovely header at the far post. This seemed to stun the crowd but Avondale didnt panic they kept moving the ball and played nice little triangles around the park Mayfield stayed patient and defended well and waited for their opportunity and it duly came when some sloppy defending let Warren through on goal with only the keeper to beat penalty awarded but for some unknown reason no red card was given. Avondale pressed hard before the break but were kept at bay. There was a sense around the ground that this game was far from over and Dale came out with all guns blazing and scored after 6min of the restart in what seem to be another bizarre decision by the ref the right back was blatantly fouled in the box but no free was given and Dale scored this led to uproar once more and just maybe a Malaysian syndicate was at play here.This decision changed the course of the game and Dale could smell the blood Mayfield defended resolutely and were visibly tiring from the onslaught and when Dale scored again with 15min to go you would have thought there is only going to be one winner here but Mayfield held firm and the introduction of a fresh winger on the right took much relived pressure off to see the game out. This Avondale side is one serious team and I can't see anyone beating them gone is the aimless punts replaced by functional one-twos triangles and third man runners a joy to watch I pity the next team that plays them there hurting badly after the first two games but this is just a temporary setback.

Glenbuck
16/09/2012, 12:35 PM
[QUOTE=el nino coro;1627819]
Calm down lads...I like the reply from striker9 though,wasn't a surprise to see another cocky comment from rock mount....you can only judge a team on there results and midleton hav 4 points in two games,as good as most so far,they ain't goin to win a league but hav started well.Another cocky comment from Rockmount ???? Im lost with this one.

ringmahon4ever
16/09/2012, 6:00 PM
What argument?

Well there's certainly no argument now - just heard the result. 1-3 against nine men!!!!!
Yes ringmahon finished with nine men. 2nd red card just 5 mins before the end of play. ringmahon very tough side, set pieces really caught us out. as mentioned before, the long throw ins are a devil to deal with, couldnt handle them all day. they got their first red card on half hour mark. keeeper sent off for last man challenge. red card was fair in my opinion, but as ringmahon4ever would agree with, penalty decision was ludacrous! keeper was at least 4 yards outside area. striker went in goal, and to his credit, produced a great save from the spot. ringmahon then scored 2 goals in next ten mins, both from set pieces ( one long throw in). poor defending catching us out again!! carrig pulled one back early in the second half, but from a free kick 15 minutes into 2nd, mahon scored a lovely header at the back post. not much after that. 2nd red was handbags at most. certainly an uphill challenge at this stage!! ringamhon well deserved of victory, best of luck to them for rest of season![/QUOTE]

yeah how the referee deemed it a penalty was madness.he was fouled outside the circle of box .it looked bad off from there but the striker that went in goal made a great save.caught ye with two goals then . handbag.s is right for other sending off.stupid really. hopefully we can push on now after our horror show last week

16/09/2012, 6:56 PM
Mayfield v dale drew according to web site. Any reports?Will hardly match Goggs excellent match report. The first Mayfield goal was a super header and the second a superbly taken penalty after Alan Carey was caught in possession, probably couldn't have complained about a red but Warren wasn't exactly through on goal.
I thought the contentious "foul" on the right back for the first Dale goal was a dive and rightly ignored.
Sherlock in the Mayfield goal made at least 2 superb saves and was my man of the match.
Dale, like Marys last week, deserved a draw, I don't blame Mayfield at all for time wasting and the ref rightly called 6 minutes at the end but blew after 5 with an Avondale corner yet to be taken.
Dale not firing yet, few players yet to fit in and some yet to get going.

Pundit
16/09/2012, 7:45 PM
hey lads. haven't been on in awhile. razor a fair a comment about avondale. they looked excellent at times yesterday but leaked some sloppy goals in both the Mary s game and yesterday.
Wat about college cors great start to the league. fair play to them. i think this years league will will be alot tighter this year than last.
its great to have the msl back.

do ye fancy the msl to retain the Michael ward this weekend. few players missing. monty , Bren o Connell, Decky cahill suspended for first game along with Hoggy and Karl Calfield.
what team would ye pick for it

Mighty almighty
16/09/2012, 8:14 PM
Will hardly match Goggs excellent match report. The first Mayfield goal was a super header and the second a superbly taken penalty after Alan Carey was caught in possession, probably couldn't have complained about a red but Warren wasn't exactly through on goal.
I thought the contentious "foul" on the right back for the first Dale goal was a dive and rightly ignored.
Sherlock in the Mayfield goal made at least 2 superb saves and was my man of the match.
Dale, like Marys last week, deserved a draw, I don't blame Mayfield at all for time wasting and the ref rightly called 6 minutes at the end but blew after 5 with an Avondale corner yet to be taken.
Dale not firing yet, few players yet to fit in and some yet to get going.
Well well,amazing this game was played at a high pace after the rockmount game,in truth I was quiet bored of the first half of mayfield game,especially at a extremely slow Avondale out of the blocks,but believe me this was far from frantic,until a really talented Avondale got going,and boy god they did,but what flashes through my mind is did mayfield once again cave in like last week or have they just got no leadership like was mentioned last week,and cowardly shy'ed away from what could have been a superb 3pts against a hugely potential and possibly fulltime Avondale side,can take make d step up?but the time wasting from a early momement in second half was very negative,surely with ambition of a home side put Avondale to the sword!!oh well we'l never know now.

Mighty almighty
16/09/2012, 8:21 PM
Yes glenbuck,mr.coro (aka cambridge)once again believes nobody has the right to win the league other than rockmount(sorry haven't avondales chalice at d mo),but at he end of the day nobody is back in there box.midleton got a good point away from home,and call a spade a spade could have snatched the 3 pts!!

Glenbuck
16/09/2012, 11:35 PM
Yes glenbuck,mr.coro (aka cambridge)once again believes nobody has the right to win the league other than rockmount(sorry haven't avondales chalice at d mo),but at he end of the day nobody is back in there box.midleton got a good point away from home,and call a spade a spade could have snatched the 3 pts!!My sincerest apoligies.I thought you were on about Strikers comments??????

Glenbuck
16/09/2012, 11:41 PM
Isnt it funny how glenbuck appears when rockmount win,had they lost there would be no sign of him....it would make ya laugh If you are who I just got tipped off you are you have some cheek. Still not sure of your identity though. Bottom line, dont ever accuse me of going missing. You have no idea mate.

el nino coro
17/09/2012, 9:21 AM
Yes glenbuck,mr.coro (aka cambridge)once again believes nobody has the right to win the league other than rockmount(sorry haven't avondales chalice at d mo),but at he end of the day nobody is back in there box.midleton got a good point away from home,and call a spade a spade could have snatched the 3 pts!!

Im hardly martin cambridge now,does he even know what a computer is?

17/09/2012, 11:09 AM
Im hardly martin cambridge now,does he even know what a computer is?Doubtful but he hears everything.
He even threatened to sue me on Saturday cos someone said on here that he talked a lot.
How wrong could they be? :D

Dixie's Cousin
17/09/2012, 12:15 PM
i'm fecked so, haha

el nino coro
17/09/2012, 2:51 PM
anyone know the squad for the coming weekend lads? heard rumours of 10/11 avondale players

Sparky
17/09/2012, 5:55 PM
anyone know the squad for the coming weekend lads? heard rumours of 10/11 avondale players

Not sure yet exactly who but prob can expect 8-10 Avondale players considering what they won and how many international call ups they have. Most of them are ex LOI anyway. I think this competition should be taken more seriously though. ONE TRAINING session before it starts. On away trips it's usually a **** up. It is an honour to be picked so I personally think it is totally undervalued. Like the FAI Intermediate cup v's the FAI Junior Cup. The FAI Junior cup is pencilled in for the AVIVA next year but nothing about the Intermediate Cup. This level of football is not recognised as much as it should. Anyway that is my rant over with. Best of luck to all Involved and hopefully we can send the Dubs home packing.

Muller
21/09/2012, 8:38 PM
Hi Lads, new to this forum after reading it over the last few weeks. Following a lot of junior and senior football in the East Cork area after moving down from the city in the past few years. Looking forward to getting to more games as the boots are well hung up at this stage :-)

toto
23/09/2012, 1:56 PM
Made the trip out to Crosshaven yesterday to take in the match of the week. Witnessed one of the most one sided games so far this season. Leeside literally battered Crosshaven for the entire ninety minutes with Greg o halloran and the Crosshaven keeper( man of the match) giving Crosshaven a share of the points. One thing that was pretty evident as well as some great football from leeside was some very poor gamesmanship from Crosshaven. In an attempt to disrupt leesides passing game Crosshaven opted to let their youths play on the much superior senior pitch and play the senior game on a shockingly bad junior pitch and a very poor junior pitch at that. Add that to the fact that the away team wasnt allowed into a dressing room until 2.20. Don't get me wrong I'm all for a club doing all it can to get a win on the day but to resort to tactics like this is just plain unsporting. I saw a few posts back in which a club official defended Crosshaven as a good sporting club following some damning accusations but yesterday's behavior was plain unsporting. A good game and a good point for both clubs but poor a setting for a munster senior league game. Crosshavens fixtures secretary needs to get his house in order.

Shilts
23/09/2012, 3:07 PM
Toto, should Crosshaven have played on the better pitch to suit the opposition? ;)
Sounds like good tactics to me if they thought they could be up against it.

toto
23/09/2012, 3:39 PM
Don't get me wrong the terrible pitch suited Crosshaven but this isn't the aul here its senior league. What's the point in having specific pitch requirements in the rules when they can be flouted. Surely tactics should be saved for the pitch...... By the way the junior pitch had just had a game played on it whereas the senior pitch hadn't. No dug outs no place to warm up at side of pitch. Anybody have any clear idea on what the rules say?

archie
23/09/2012, 5:35 PM
Was at that game in Crosser, and what I saw was two teams of under 13 /14 girls coming out of the dressing rooms,about five past two, after togging on after playing a game themselves, Now would you let a team of about 20 adults into a dressing room to tog out with 12 year old girls for the sake of five minutes,, get your priority right toto, and read the child care act that every club has, as for playing on any particular pitch, if the lines are clear and grass cut, flag poles and nets in place, within the min/max size and the referee is happy, then that's all that matters, and if your team is allowed to warm up on the pitch, what do you need an off pitch warm up area for.
Welcome to the real world :)