View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 [113] 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

el nino coro
12/05/2012, 8:23 PM
Carrigaline 0-2 bandon.

No sign of footiefanatic after that result but i suppose whats new,he only reports on positive results.

el nino coro
12/05/2012, 8:24 PM
Rockmount 2-0 Everton

The Boar
13/05/2012, 2:04 PM
Have it from a good source that Wilton, Kinsale, Leeside and a Cork City reserve team are going into MSL 2nd Division so it will be one hell of a Division to get promoted from next season. The cork City team is probably to keep their Under 19 team from this season together how can the league think its fair to allow them back into the league its a joke

ringmahon4ever
13/05/2012, 3:01 PM
Was that good source the evening echo

the sub
13/05/2012, 4:38 PM
Or was that the source you seen was my post last week before it hit the echo :)

Glenbuck
13/05/2012, 5:42 PM
Oh no blarney,midletons faith back in there own hands.Good to see a professional performance by rockmount tonight,I hope Avondale will be the same after there intermediate cup final,don't doubt it for a minute,because a team of winners should be the same in every league game,plus isn't it a game where they will be presented with a league trophy,surely they will want to perform well on the night.Sorry for the slow reply, up the walls with club function in last few weeks. Blarney were well beaten on Wednesday night. Deplorable behaviour by Jon Coker. Deserved to go and his reaction when leaving the pitch could have led to a more serious problem.Whats the story with kicking the corner flag out of the ground. ???? Also their ex managers behaviour to the officials was actually embarrassing. Im sure players will accept they were well beaten on the night regardless of sending off.

footiefanatic
13/05/2012, 7:32 PM
Poor result on saturday, need clifford and fermoy to do us a big favour to keep next saturday interesting! Outfought and outbattled by Bandon. Very poor game of football, pitch in poor condition and we just played into their hands. Few chances for carrig,a goal disallowed which was 50/50 and a penalty shout which could have been given, but can't really complain about the result!
Congrats to Avondale on a fantastic achievement, league and intermediate cup double. Best team in the country for me!

Chiefscout
13/05/2012, 7:44 PM
Sorry for the slow reply, up the walls with club function in last few weeks. Blarney were well beaten on Wednesday night. Deplorable behaviour by Jon Coker. Deserved to go and his reaction when leaving the pitch could have led to a more serious problem.Whats the story with kicking the corner flag out of the ground. ???? Also their ex managers behaviour to the officials was actually embarrassing. Im sure players will accept they were well beaten on the night regardless of sending off.
People in glass houses springs to mind with your comment about ex managers and officials

Carpet
13/05/2012, 7:51 PM
Up in Dublin working so went out to Tallaght for a look. Very tight game but you couldn't have dreamt of a better finish. Congrats to Dale on a great double.

Glenbuck elaborate there. What did Coker do? And the ex manager? Was that the red headed fella or the guy who was there last year?

The Boar
14/05/2012, 12:52 AM
Or was that the source you seen was my post last week before it hit the echo :)

sorry guys haven't been on in a while so not up to speed didn't go back far enough to catch up, just wanted to comment really on the unfairness of the league to let Cork City to use them to keep their un19 team together

Dixie's Cousin
14/05/2012, 12:10 PM
Should Avondale be looking to move into the LOI? Personally i think they are good enough, obviously they would need investment in their club structure but it looks as though they have hit a glass ceiling! Thoughts?

Shilts
14/05/2012, 2:51 PM
They could not afford to pay the LOI related bills.
Best move would be for those players who feel that they are good enough for LOI, to move from Avondale (and other MSL clubs) to Cork City.

Goggs
14/05/2012, 8:43 PM
Should Avondale be looking to move into the LOI? Personally i think they are good enough, obviously they would need investment in their club structure but it looks as though they have hit a glass ceiling! Thoughts?
They would hold there own with the bottom half of the first division initially for the first season then they would need to invest heavily just to keep afloat but there is no core support for them and i don't think the sponsors would fit the bill but I do think there should be another Cork side in the League of Ireland

Glenbuck
14/05/2012, 9:13 PM
Up in Dublin working so went out to Tallaght for a look. Very tight game but you couldn't have dreamt of a better finish. Congrats to Dale on a great double.

Glenbuck elaborate there. What did Coker do? And the ex manager? Was that the red headed fella or the guy who was there last year?Jon Coker flagged by linesman for kicking Mount player. Ref sent him off and when he was leaving the pitch he kicked the corner flag. Could have hurt someone badly. The ex manager is Mr Hogan.

15/05/2012, 8:27 AM
he kicked the corner flag. Could have hurt someone badly.With the corner flag?
Like a javelin?, more likely to have hurt himself.

How did ye get on with Roy?

beautiful game
15/05/2012, 10:14 AM
Big night tomorrow night.

Very interesting to see if Avondale and Everton will compete with Blarney and Midleton.

I have no doubt whatsoever both teams will do so but Midleton look favourites to stay up now.

Bandon can also secure promotion with a win over Fermoy tonight. Great end to the season again.

Fair play to Avondale. Best team in Ireland at this level and hard to see anybody stopping them next season.

striker9
15/05/2012, 4:23 PM
Word has it John Ryan going to Mayfield ? Chiefscout here anything ?

villaman10
15/05/2012, 5:34 PM

will you be joining him up there?

Chiefscout
15/05/2012, 6:20 PM
Didn't hear that but heard patsy freynes name mentioned.but if tadhg wants to stay the job is his

mayfield utd
15/05/2012, 7:38 PM
are ye just picking these names out of a hat or what,as i said before tadgh is going nowhere

el nino coro
15/05/2012, 8:53 PM
Bandon 0-1 Fermoy

villaman10
15/05/2012, 9:26 PM
Bandon 0-1 Fermoy

when is the fermoy-carrig game on?? and does it come down to goal difference if carrig manage a win against fermoy?? very exciting stuff!!

Clifford
15/05/2012, 9:33 PM
Bandon 0-1 Fermoy as mentioned above. Tough game again, a dropped cross five mins in was tapped home by graham Byrne. Hard bobbling pitch didn't suit us much but when we got it down we cut them open a few times. No save for mick Devine to make although there were a few half chances near the end.

This league is amazing its so hard to get out of. Fair play to all in Bandon again for a sporting game.

Clifford
15/05/2012, 9:35 PM
when is the fermoy-carrig game on?? and does it come down to goal difference if carrig manage a win against fermoy?? very exciting stuff!!

We play Carrig at three in Fermoy. Who knows what will happen if they win 2-1. We'll be going for it as ever so it'll be a decent game to see hopefully. I've no idea what way they plan to sort out the goal difference if it comes to it. We've not been told anything as far as I'm aware.

AvondaleNutter
15/05/2012, 9:44 PM
We play Carrig at three in Fermoy. Who knows what will happen if they win 2-1. We'll be going for it as ever so it'll be a decent game to see hopefully. I've no idea what way they plan to sort out the goal difference if it comes to it. We've not been told anything as far as I'm aware.

Well done tonight Clifford. If any team deserves to go up, it will be ye. The last few years you have been very unlucky. Best of luck and I'll be expecting a tough game against yourselves next year

Clifford
15/05/2012, 10:30 PM
Thanks a mil Avondale N. Would love a shot off the Prem lg with this group. They are a cracking bunch with great heart, one more massive game coming up now for us.

Hats off to you lads as well for Sundays win, unbelievable consistency over the last few years at the top table. True flag bearers for the MSL. :applause::encouragement:

Glenbuck
16/05/2012, 3:24 PM
With the corner flag?
Like a javelin?, more likely to have hurt himself.

How did ye get on with Roy?Great night Razor, thank you. Well supported by the sporting Cork public. I think everyone went away happy. It wasnt from lack of effort anyway. Good day yourselves ???

beautiful game
16/05/2012, 4:39 PM
Match report from tonight's crucial Blarney United v Avondale United game at O'Shea Park available later at www.backofthenetcork.ie (http://www.backofthenetcork.ie)

Chiefscout
16/05/2012, 7:53 PM
Midleton 1 Everton 0 halftime
blarney 0 dale 0 halftime

Reznik
16/05/2012, 7:56 PM
Blarney 1-1 Dale... hour gone...

Chiefscout
16/05/2012, 8:03 PM
Midleton 2 up,blarney 1-1 dale

Chiefscout
16/05/2012, 8:09 PM
2-1 Avondale

Reznik
16/05/2012, 8:09 PM
Dale 2-1... 82mins

Reznik
16/05/2012, 8:16 PM
2-2 blarney v dale

Reznik
16/05/2012, 8:20 PM
3-2 blarney....last kick of the game

Chiefscout
16/05/2012, 8:22 PM
3-2 blarney but looks like its too little too late.great effort tonight but question is where was the effort all season

Chiefscout
16/05/2012, 8:54 PM
Blarney relegated.midleton beat Everton 3-1

Mighty almighty
16/05/2012, 9:20 PM
Blarney relegated.midleton beat Everton 3-1

Midleton 3-0 everton
Huge result for midleton,magpies were missing 3 first team regulars due to suspension,everton also missing a few big stars,some result from blarney though,makes you wonder why they couldn't produce anything like that before tonight,tough league to come back up from.couple of big football men in cork down watching this game in midleton....hmmm

el nino coro
16/05/2012, 9:38 PM
Midleton 3-0 everton
Huge result for midleton,magpies were missing 3 first team regulars due to suspension,everton also missing a few big stars,some result from blarney though,makes you wonder why they couldn't produce anything like that before tonight,tough league to come back up from.couple of big football men in cork down watching this game in midleton....hmmm

I seen Tommy Dunne alright,supposedly down there to watch stapleton.

Pundit
16/05/2012, 10:23 PM
stapelton is a good player but tommy dunne had one of the best strikers in the country in my opinion in Mark o Sullivan and he gave him no game time. city could do with him now

Goggs
17/05/2012, 6:43 AM
Solid performance from midleton 3 goals from set pieces Everton didnt want to know about it Mark Duggan has done a fantastic job since taking over as manager Billy Cronin there last night to meet the committee after the game will be very interesting to see will he bring his long ball methods next season or will he keep Midletons footballing philosiphy?will he do a Blarney and turf out all the locals. On the Mark O Sullivan v Chubbs on whos a better player its like comparing a porch to a ferrari one is all power the other is pure technic.

Silly Billy G
17/05/2012, 8:33 AM
Solid performance from midleton 3 goals from set pieces Everton didnt want to know about it Mark Duggan has done a fantastic job since taking over as manager Billy Cronin there last night to meet the committee after the game will be very interesting to see will he bring his long ball methods next season or will he keep Midletons footballing philosiphy?will he do a Blarney and turf out all the locals. On the Mark O Sullivan v Chubbs on whos a better player its like comparing a porch to a ferrari one is all power the other is pure technic.

I watched the Blarney game last night, in fairness they battled well but Avondale were in 2nd gear. Avondale are an axcellent side, brought on Mulcahy (ex D Hall lad) and Spratt, handy two subs. If they were on the beer all week it didnt show, Caufield and Mulconry great engines. Avondale streets ahead of other teams in the league. Blarney unfortunately heading to the first division. Lost a lot of local players for outside stars, then lost a lot of the stars to other clubs. (Avondale had 2 of them in first 11 last night), unfortunately the lads brought in to replace them were not good enough. Allan Weldon an awful loss for long periods of the season and Pat Keane another huge loss through injury. The two of them were the starting centre backs last season. Allan played last night and made a huge difference but he was missed for the run in.
Its not the end of the world i suppose for Blarney, both first and second teams relegated in a season a major setback for the club though. Need to have a long hard look at it and hopefully can turn it around.

Clifford
17/05/2012, 11:29 AM
The play off between Fermoy and Carrigaline is now moved to Sunday morning at 10.45 due to a bereavement in the Carrigaline club. Condolences from all involved in Fermoy FC to the family on their loss. RIP.

AvondaleNutter
17/05/2012, 12:45 PM
I watched the Blarney game last night, in fairness they battled well but Avondale were in 2nd gear. Avondale are an axcellent side, brought on Mulcahy (ex D Hall lad) and Spratt, handy two subs. If they were on the beer all week it didnt show, Caufield and Mulconry great engines. Avondale streets ahead of other teams in the league. Blarney unfortunately heading to the first division. Lost a lot of local players for outside stars, then lost a lot of the stars to other clubs. (Avondale had 2 of them in first 11 last night), unfortunately the lads brought in to replace them were not good enough. Allan Weldon an awful loss for long periods of the season and Pat Keane another huge loss through injury. The two of them were the starting centre backs last season. Allan played last night and made a huge difference but he was missed for the run in.
Its not the end of the world i suppose for Blarney, both first and second teams relegated in a season a major setback for the club though. Need to have a long hard look at it and hopefully can turn it around.

I was impressed with Blarneys fight and if they played like that all season, they wouldnt be anywhere near the relegation zone. Interesting to see if a lot of their players will move, surely Ray O'Leary will be headhunted. Always gave his all for the club.
Who were the two ex blarney?? Conor Meade and ??
Sad to see them go down with such great facilities and an outstanding pitch. That first division can be a very difficult league to get out of as Fermoy know all too well.

wesleyBHFC
17/05/2012, 1:10 PM
I was impressed with Blarneys fight and if they played like that all season, they wouldnt be anywhere near the relegation zone. Interesting to see if a lot of their players will move, surely Ray O'Leary will be headhunted. Always gave his all for the club.
Who were the two ex blarney?? Conor Meade and ??
Sad to see them go down with such great facilities and an outstanding pitch. That first division can be a very difficult league to get out of as Fermoy know all too well.

Is it deccy cahill???

Silly Billy G
17/05/2012, 1:19 PM
Is it deccy cahill???

Yip, played with Blarney for a bit.

I would hope (and be pretty sure) that Ray would hang about. In fairness to him he has been Blarneys best player over the last 10+ years consistently giving his all. He is 30+ now and should be in a position to be able to sit and dictate play rather than having to carry the team and cover so much ground.
Ray, Weldon hopefully hang about and build a younger team around them to get promoted.
I played with Blarney for a good few years when we went senior first and we got promoted from the first division unbeaten and won the pop kelleher cup , nearly exclusively with local lads who were good pals as well as decent players. Hopefully that is something they can get back to. Get decent crowds back at the games then too if a local interest. If the players are in the club/area is another question.

Radiostar
17/05/2012, 2:35 PM
Are the Munster Senior League a joke or what?
Avondale are plaing the biggest game of their season on sunday, and if they win the inter cup, will deservedly be on the booze for a few days if not more celebrating. Yet the munster senior league have put them down to play Blarney the following wed evening. I think this is so wrong and automatically gives blarney an unfair advantage in what will be a massive game in the relegation battle. Why wasnt this game played before now? I think some one with a bit of cop on needs to get involved with this committee and start running our league in a proper order...RANT OVER

Well Magpie, you could have been right about about Avondale, but I seen the Everton team ye played last night and surely Blarney should have been the ones complaining!! But well done on staying up, I was glad as I enjoy watching Midleton games.

Chiefscout
17/05/2012, 4:21 PM
Well Magpie, you could have been right about about Avondale, but I seen the Everton team ye played last night and surely Blarney should have been the ones complaining!! But well done on staying up, I was glad as I enjoy watching Midleton games.
Ah that's not a fair comment.dave welsh is a great centre back!!!!!!!!

magpie
17/05/2012, 6:00 PM
Ah that's not a fair comment.dave welsh is a great centre back!!!!!!!!
if fairness to him,he didnt do to badly now chiefscout. He's a very good footballer.

greengrass
17/05/2012, 7:55 PM
certainly a blow for blarney but they battled back well last night
question is now what players will stay with the club next season?
this kind of situation where locals are moved aside at will in favour of 'outsiders' i suppose in hindsight was always a risky strategy from the club
great facilities out there though so surely will still attract some players
will management change hands aswell this year silly billyg?