View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

25/05/2006, 3:14 PM
Post the score when you can Clifford please. I'm home next weekend so might try and take a game in if there's any left? My friend plays for Corinthians but I think they're finished after last night.

Clifford
25/05/2006, 3:25 PM
Will do DFA. If the result is positive for Mount it'll be late and slurred!!

Clifford
26/05/2006, 12:03 AM
Late and slurred as promised.

Champions MSL 2005/2006 Rockmount AFC.

A 2-1 win against a determined, but ultimately lacking Avondale side. Rockmount yet again dispatched their main title rivels with aplomb. Pat Keane after a minute and Steph Hurley a min after Dale's equaliser sealed the title for the Mount.

Awesome stuff. Goodnight.

26/05/2006, 7:42 AM
Cheers Clifford, well done to Rockmount. A weekend of celebrating no doubt...

Mount favourites already for next season and can only throw it away now ;) :D

Clifford
26/05/2006, 9:24 AM
Cheers Clifford, well done to Rockmount. A weekend of celebrating no doubt...

Mount favourites already for next season and can only throw it away now

Ha ha, thanks very much and obviously College are the favourites at this stage for next year....:D :p

BillysBoots
26/05/2006, 9:29 AM
Late and slurred as promised.

Champions MSL 2005/2006 Rockmount AFC.

A 2-1 win against a determined, but ultimately lacking Avondale side. Rockmount yet again dispatched their main title rivels with aplomb. Pat Keane after a minute and Steph Hurley a min after Dale's equaliser sealed the title for the Mount.

Awesome stuff. Goodnight.

Fair play, well done and well deserved!! Enjoy it, MSL Champions!!! ;)

Clifford
26/05/2006, 11:08 AM
Fair play, well done and well deserved!! Enjoy it, MSL Champions!!!

Thanks Billy, appreciate the sentiment. Here's to another tight battle next year for us all.

4 years since Mount's last title, it is sweet to be back on top.

29/05/2006, 9:09 AM
Back tanned and refreshed.
Must say was extremely disappointed on Thursday night when the text came through (Not as disappointed as Friday nights text after City conceding late) but if you had promised Dale the Intermediate Cup at the start of the season then they'd have bitten your hand off.
Rockmount were the most consistent team over the season and deserve the title congrats and well done.
Dale must now play Carrigaline, a loss for Dale will mean Leeds get relegated.
What to do ?????:D

Clifford
29/05/2006, 9:27 AM
Back tanned and refreshed.
Rockmount were the most consistent team over the season and deserve the title congrats and well done.
Dale must now play Carrigaline, a loss for Dale will mean Leeds get relegated.
What to do ?????:D

Lucky you, could do with a break myslef. Anywhere nice?

Cheers for the congrats, it was a good weekend of celebrating. Wins against Dale and View in the closing stages clarified it really, not a lot between them all other than that. Rest of the league is poor enough, new blood like Blarney and Carrig have been a breath of fresh air.

Please let Carrig win, please please please......Leed to go down? Sweetttt.

29/05/2006, 1:35 PM
Costa Del Sol for the week, it was a nice break.

Please let Carrig win, please please please......Leed to go down? Sweetttt.You never know in football, its a funny old game. ;)

30/05/2006, 7:22 AM
Avondale Utd 1-3 Carrigaline Utd

Leeds are relegated.

BillysBoots
30/05/2006, 9:29 AM
Avondale Utd 1-3 Carrigaline Utd

Leeds are relegated.

Castleview 2-1 Blarney UTD, 'View finish runners up, story of their season...second best!!

Clifford
31/05/2006, 11:49 AM
'View finish runners up, story of their season...second best!!

Ha ha, nice one. The table doesn't lie eh?

Clifford
31/05/2006, 11:51 AM
Leeds are relegated.

:cool: :D ;)

Hallelujah.....

31/05/2006, 12:30 PM
1 Mount 21 15 5 1 45 11 50
2 CView 22 14 4 4 43 31 46
3 Adale 21 11 7 3 41 21 40
4 B'ney 20 9 5 6 41 29 32
5 UCC 22 9 4 9 31 18 31
6 Cors 22 9 4 9 32 36 29
7 HALL 22 6 10 6 33 38 28
8 E'ton 22 7 7 8 22 28 28
9 CARRIG 22 6 5 11 24 32 23
10 LEEDS 22 5 7 10 24 34 22
11 M'ton 22 4 5 13 25 40 17
12 R'Mahon 22 1 5 16 17 46 8

Blarney to play Avondale next Friday and then Rockmount on Tuesday next

31/05/2006, 12:54 PM
Didn't realise 3 teams were relegated, that's a bit much for a 12 team division isn't it?:eek:

So who got promoted from the 1st?

Clifford
31/05/2006, 2:28 PM
1 Mount 21 15 5 1 45 11 50
2 CView 22 14 4 4 43 31 46
3 Adale 21 11 7 3 41 21 40
4 B'ney 20 9 5 6 41 29 32
5 UCC 22 9 4 9 31 18 31
6 Cors 22 9 4 9 32 36 29
7 HALL 22 6 10 6 33 38 28
8 E'ton 22 7 7 8 22 28 28
9 CARRIG 22 6 5 11 24 32 23
10 LEEDS 22 5 7 10 24 34 22
11 M'ton 22 4 5 13 25 40 17
12 R'Mahon 22 1 5 16 17 46 8

Blarney to play Avondale next Friday and then Rockmount on Tuesday next

And Rockmount to play Carrigaline on Thurs in O Connell Cup semi final.

Clifford
31/05/2006, 2:35 PM
Didn't realise 3 teams were relegated

So who got promoted from the 1st?

Making the league smaller.

Mayfield and Tramore coming up.

31/05/2006, 2:40 PM
Making the league smaller.

Mayfield and Tramore coming up.
Think they are attempting a 3 tier system of some sorts eventually.

BillysBoots
01/06/2006, 9:23 AM
Think they are attempting a 3 tier system of some sorts eventually.

Yep, they're trying to make it into Three Divisions. Ten in each Division!!

01/06/2006, 9:54 AM
That's the same system as the League I play in over here with 12 in the top division and 11 and 10 in the other 2. Most people here would prefer 2 Divisions with 15 or 16 in each.

A ten team division isn't great IMO.

Clifford
01/06/2006, 11:46 AM
Most people here would prefer 2 Divisions with 15 or 16 in each.

A ten team division isn't great IMO.

The prob with 15 in a league here is that it wouldn't be finished til August with the MSL in charge, ha ha.

There is about 6 cups here that the teams are in as well as the league and Christmas fixtures invariably always clog up (cos of the state of the pitches etc) so I suppose that is the reasoning behind the change. I for one am happy with it cos it might allow Mount a concerted effort to pull off both the league and FAI Intermediate cup. I'm sure Avondale agree.

01/06/2006, 12:06 PM
I for one am happy with it cos it might allow Mount a concerted effort to pull off both the league and FAI Intermediate cup. I'm sure Avondale agree.Yeah, Dale would be ecstatic with a Rockmount double.;)
We have the Beamish Cup, O'Connell Cup, Keane Cup, Munster Senior Cup, FAI Intermediate Cup and ???

01/06/2006, 12:08 PM
Yeah, Dale would be ecstatic with a Rockmount double.;)
We have the Beamish Cup, O'Connell Cup, Keane Cup, Munster Senior Cup, FAI Intermediate Cup and ???

Oh yeah, I forgot about all those cups...

jimhacker
01/06/2006, 12:17 PM

Cheers for the congrats, it was a good weekend of celebrating. Wins against Dale and View in the closing stages clarified it really, not a lot between them all other than that. Rest of the league is poor enough, new blood like Blarney and Carrig have been a breath of fresh air.

Please let Carrig win, please please please......Leed to go down? Sweetttt.

Happy now?

Clifford
01/06/2006, 3:51 PM
Yeah, Dale would be ecstatic with a Rockmount double.;)

Ahem, cough, FAI Senior Cup........in my defence I said "about 6 cups".

I know Dale would be chuffed for Mount indeed. As would Rockmount if the impossible ever happended and Dale did it!!!!

Clifford
01/06/2006, 3:51 PM
Happy now?

Top class. Are Carrig going to be strong tonight?

Clifford
02/06/2006, 9:24 AM
Rockmount 3-1 Carrigaline. Ross O Callaghan 2 headers for the Champions and Terry White with a contender for goal of the season.

Two games to go in the season, for some stupid reason it's rumoured that the Final is on in Crosshaven next Friday night. Rubbish.

02/06/2006, 1:49 PM
for some stupid reason it's rumoured that the Final is on in Crosshaven next Friday night. Rubbish.final of what ?
Dale out in Blarney tonight, big celebrations in the RPH last night so expect a reserve side, i'd say none of the Internationals will be risked.
Nice touch too on the Echo the other night, lots of photos from the cup celebrations.

Clifford
02/06/2006, 3:22 PM
final of what ?
Dale out in Blarney tonight, big celebrations in the RPH last night so expect a reserve side, i'd say none of the Internationals will be risked.
Nice touch too on the Echo the other night, lots of photos from the cup celebrations.

O Connell Cup final. Not sure who won between Douglas and Everton in other semi.

Thank the Lord for the Echo, they do wonderful work with the leagues.

03/06/2006, 9:53 PM
Blarney Utd 0-3 Avondale Utd.
Only played 30 minutes a side with Blarneys huge fixture backlog.
John Caulfield played on goal too, clean sheet as well.

04/06/2006, 2:54 PM
Rockmount 3-1 Carrigaline. Ross O Callaghan 2 headers for the Champions and Terry White with a contender for goal of the season.What was the story with Alan O'Connor? Rumours are he faces at least a year if not two on the sidelines, sent off with 9 minutes to go and the game ended at that point. I heard the gardai were also called to the incident.

Clifford
04/06/2006, 8:15 PM
What was the story with Alan O'Connor? Rumours are he faces at least a year if not two on the sidelines, sent off with 9 minutes to go and the game ended at that point. I heard the gardai were also called to the incident.

Amazing how these things grow legs. The game was in stoppage time, Howey went down the wing, centre half comes and levels him. Second yellow had to go. Awaiting free (I was right behind goal on way out) Carrig player kicks Alan 3/4 times no reaction. Free comes in goes over bar, everyone turns to run outfield, same Carrig player trips Alan, they come face to face Carrig player throws head and Alan reacted. Ref blows it up, I expect Alan to get 3 match ban for straight red and maybe 5 or 6 more games on top of that.

No Gardai called, that was all over emotional tension at the end. I was there til they all were gone. Unsavoury incident, the Carrig guy went looking for and got a reaction. I'd say he regrets it now, I don't agree with reacting to provokation in this manner, but can understand how a guy would get upset.

Fair play to JC for going in goal, might stay there next year....

05/06/2006, 8:04 PM
they come face to face Carrig player throws head and Alan reacted. Ref blows it up, I expect Alan to get 3 match ban for straight red and maybe 5 or 6 more games on top of that.Was there a punch or a bop?, I heard a new rule came in at the start of last season that for a bop its a straight 12 months. Must be pretty bad if u reckon he could be facing 8 or 9 games all the same.
Did you witness the goings on?
Was the Carrig guy badly injured?

Clifford
06/06/2006, 9:05 AM
Was there a punch or a bop? Must be pretty bad if u reckon he could be facing 8 or 9 games all the same.
Did you witness the goings on?
Was the Carrig guy badly injured?

Only reckon on the extra games cos of the reaction at the end of the game. As mentioned above I was right behind the goal about 10 yards from it. Not a thing you want to see, but I've seen it happen many times in MSL, local GAA etc.

A year would be totally wrong, IMHO.

Clifford
06/06/2006, 11:10 PM
Blarney 1 - 2 Rockmount

The champions finished their league campaign with yet another win, losing only 1 game all season. Sensational stuff indeed.

Steph Hurley and Ken Howey got the goals, Blarney made it interesting yet never really were going to win it.

Roll on Friday night and the O Connell cup final. Missing 6 of course for good measure!

07/06/2006, 8:27 AM
Roll on Friday night and the O Connell cup final. Missing 6 of course for good measure!6? that means poor Billy has to pick 11 from the 20 that are left so.:D But it is the start of the World Cup.

Clifford
08/06/2006, 4:26 PM
Very funny, the lads are all gone to La Manga for pre season training if you must know!!!

I heard Alan Weldon and Ken Howey were excellent in the Irish trials. How are the Dale lads getting along? I assume Marky Sull will be kept and Knowlsey dropped like the hot coles after his recent form. Was Dave the save up there in the end? Probably struggled badly if the training is intense up there.

citybone
08/06/2006, 5:26 PM
west cork league team beat clair district league team the aul team and now the munster league to make the final of the district leagues/intermediate league national cup
so ha yee lost to a poor junior district league team
its the furthest we ever got as far as i know anyone know any info about the final???
sorry i left the result for so long but dublin aul beat a hungover west cork league 5-0 in tolka park last sunday
maybe next year

09/06/2006, 8:22 AM
I heard Alan Weldon and Ken Howey were excellent in the Irish trials. How are the Dale lads getting along? I assume Marky Sull will be kept and Knowlsey dropped like the hot coles after his recent form. Was Dave the save up there in the end? Probably struggled badly if the training is intense up there.2 good wins so far, Dave and Marky are currently in Dublin and will be flying to San Marino today, game is 9pm tomorrow night. I think the lad out of Blarney and 1 or 2 other MSL lads are gone too. Knowlsey is young and a very good prospect.

After his numerous sessions with Biscuits and the City keepers throughout the season I don't think Dave will have too much problem with the Ireland sessions.

Clifford
10/06/2006, 9:54 AM
sorry i left the result for so long but dublin aul beat a hungover west cork league 5-0 in tolka park last sunday
maybe next year

Hard luck, a great run to the final all the same eh? Good luck in it next season. Any advance on joining the MSL?

Clifford
10/06/2006, 9:55 AM
After his numerous sessions with Biscuits and the City keepers throughout the season I don't think Dave will have too much problem with the Ireland sessions.

Digestives? Chocolate chip?

Best of luck to all of them.

Clifford
10/06/2006, 9:57 AM
O Connell Cup final

Rockmount 0-2 Everton
An abject performance in the shocking Crosshaven pitch by Rockmount saw the season end badly. Nothing went right on the night, keeper sent off as well near the end to add insult to injury.

A well deserved rest is on the way.

citybone
10/06/2006, 12:10 PM
Hard luck, a great run to the final all the same eh? Good luck in it next season. Any advance on joining the MSL?
i will let you know but it will not be for a few years at least i would think
what teams from west cork are in the msl? i think i i saw bandon?

12/06/2006, 7:49 AM
Digestives? Chocolate chip?Jaffa Cakes of course ;) .
Shame on Clarkey denying that poor Everton lad his hat trick.
I'm sure Johnny C would have togged out for ye if he knew ye were short a keeper. Would loved to have seen Willie on goal though.
Looked like a pretty strong team ye had out apart from in goal, some nights things just don't go your way.
Fair Play to Everton though, nice to see the trophies shared around.

BillysBoots
28/07/2006, 2:25 PM
Well, it's that time again when the pints are put to the side and the hard graft off pre-season training kicks in. So what's the news, who's gone where and who signed who?

Clifford
30/07/2006, 8:31 PM
Mount back at it today as well. No new signings as of yet that I know of. Can't wait for them to get back at it, I'm fed up of sitting around watching bog ball and fighting golf for the summer.

Bring it on...

Clifford
04/08/2006, 10:20 AM
Mount vs Ballinhassig, Passage, Ringmahon in the Keane Cup group.

Taking on the mighty Castleview in the Donnie Forde cup I believe also.

Any more news on signings?

Clifford
11/08/2006, 1:21 PM
Come on lads, what's news?

Is Marky sull off to Douglas Hall or what?

Razor, confirm or deny!!!!

Come on Billy - who have you brought in or lost?

Mount have re-signed Alan Martin and everyone of the Championship winning team.

13/08/2006, 9:46 PM
Come on lads, what's news?

Is Marky sull off to Douglas Hall or what?

Razor, confirm or deny!!!!He is, silly lad.
To be replaced by Colin P. O'Brien