View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 [108] 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

Gobias
04/04/2012, 1:57 PM
O'Connell Cup Draw

First round draw:
1. Rockmount v Mayfield Utd
2. Avondale Utd v Everton

Q-Finals:

1. Douglas Hall v Rockmount / Mayfield Utd
2. College Corinthians v Avondale Utd / Everton
3. Blarney Utd v Midleton
4. Leeds v St Marys

Gobias
04/04/2012, 2:00 PM
Beamish Cup Q-Final Draw

Carrigaline vs College Corinthians
Castleview vs Blarney Utd
Everton or Douglas Hall vs Cobh Wanderers or Avondale
Mayfield vs Rockmount or Midelton

el nino coro
04/04/2012, 9:13 PM
[QUOTE=six-yard-box;1585659]Gareth Gazza buttsey and Kenny Coleman all Mary's bound for next season.[/QUOTE

Montgomery aswell crossing the divide!

mayfield utd
04/04/2012, 10:42 PM
O'Connell Cup Draw First round draw: 1. Rockmount v Mayfield Utd 2. Avondale Utd v Everton Q-Finals: 1. Douglas Hall v Rockmount / Mayfield Utd 2. College Corinthians v Avondale Utd / Everton 3. Blarney Utd v Midleton 4. Leeds v St Marysis rockmount name super glued to our for cup draws,we seem to get them in nearly every cup over the last few years

footiefanatic
04/04/2012, 11:48 PM
Beamish Cup Q-Final Draw

St.Mary's vs College Corinthians
Castleview vs Blarney Utd
Everton or Douglas Hall vs Cobh Wanderers or Avondale
Mayfield vs Rockmount or Midelton

Carrigaline beat st.mary's lad. just for your information :)

Chiefscout
05/04/2012, 4:38 AM
[QUOTE=six-yard-box;1585659]Gareth Gazza buttsey and Kenny Coleman all Mary's bound for next season.[/QUOTE

Montgomery aswell crossing the divide!

That won't happen.monty is the one true rockmount man left in that squad

Chiefscout
05/04/2012, 10:11 PM
[QUOTE=el nino coro;1586010]

That won't happen.monty is the one true rockmount man left in that squad

Gareth to castleview.and that's from the horses mouth

six-yard-box
05/04/2012, 10:18 PM
[QUOTE=Chiefscout;1586060]

Gareth to castleview.and that's from the horses mouth

Haha you must have mis heard. You do realise your talking about the biggest ego in the msl and you think he's dropping down first division hahahahaha. Mark cambridge is staying with castleview I'd say you heard or The boys will only go to castleview If they come up.

Sparky
06/04/2012, 6:43 PM
Referees and the MSL Committee often come in for criticism on this forum (mostly justified I may add). I would like to commend the fixtures officer for his work this year. On April 6th we have fixtures as far as 18th April. This is a massive improvement on last year. We all had strong words to say last season and it looks like the MSL got their act together. WELL DONE for listening and THANK YOU on behalf of all the players/managment and supporters.

el nino coro
06/04/2012, 8:13 PM
Mayfield 2-2 Rockmount
Corinthians 4-1 Blarney
Leeds 0-0 Douglas Hall

Chiefscout
06/04/2012, 8:22 PM
Blarney now have to be favourites to go down with leeds

el nino coro
06/04/2012, 8:28 PM
Blarney now have to be favourites to go down with leeds

Mayfield (A)
Rockmount (A)
Avondale (H)

some collapse in all fairness,i suppose it was always likely to happen when they cant get numbers for training!

Chiefscout
06/04/2012, 8:35 PM
Mayfield (A)
Rockmount (A)
Avondale (H)

some collapse in all fairness,i suppose it was always likely to happen when they cant get numbers for training!

Can see the vultures circling around blarney to snap up ken Coleman

townhall tez
06/04/2012, 8:39 PM
Watched Leeds v Hall this evening,after beating Mayfield they have now drawn with Rockmount and Douglas Hall. Shame they couldn't show anything like this form a little bit earlier in the season.

Silly Billy G
06/04/2012, 9:17 PM
I went to blarney v college game . Blarney well beaten in fairness . I got there 5 mins in and 2-0 to college . They got a rocket before ht to go in 3-0 up . Croker had decent effort and blarney had goalmouth scramble also in first half .
Second half quiet enough - college went 4-0 up and blarney got 1 near the end to end 4-1. Big lad up front for college mark murphy (I think ) was outstanding . V dangerous all night

College 1 point behind now with game in hand . Midelton still in big trouble too .

Cici900
07/04/2012, 9:05 AM
Watched blarney game last night blarney in a sorry state, but a huge win for cors.

Feel tommy dunne can't last much longer At city if results continue like that, maybe an msl manager to take over? Cambridge from marys, cotter from avondale? Cotter certainly has the ability to attract top players, a dead cert for the job, he's a class act.

Dixie's Cousin
07/04/2012, 9:18 AM
Why are Blarney struggling so much? It can't be just fitness

Chiefscout
07/04/2012, 11:49 AM
Watched blarney game last night blarney in a sorry state, but a huge win for cors.

Feel tommy dunne can't last much longer At city if results continue like that, maybe an msl manager to take over? Cambridge from marys, cotter from avondale? Cotter certainly has the ability to attract top players, a dead cert for the job, he's a class act.

So cotter is going to leave his league winning and intermediate cup semi finalist side that he assembled and join blarney?.

townhall tez
07/04/2012, 12:04 PM
So cotter is going to leave his league winning and intermediate cup semi finalist side that he assembled and join blarney?.

I think he is saying Cotter for Cork City,can't wait to see the responses to that!

Chiefscout
07/04/2012, 12:39 PM

I think he is saying Cotter for Cork City,can't wait to see the responses to that!
On the ball.my mistake.my apologies cici ..,Jaysus,that's a big shout.would be very very interesting to see a msl manager given the chance at that level

Glenbuck
07/04/2012, 5:21 PM

Feel tommy dunne can't last much longer At city if results continue like that, maybe an msl manager to take over? Cambridge from marys, cotter from avondale? Cotter certainly has the ability to attract top players, a dead cert for the job, he's a class act.Cambridge from Marys ??? Very doubtful. I know the guy well, grand fella but defo not up to that job.

Clifford
07/04/2012, 7:26 PM
Fermoy 2-0 Carrigaline in the Pop Keller cup today. Both teams mixed things up from league team.

Bandon beat Cobh W in the first division 3-0 apparently. Hotting up nicely now with only two/three games left its between UCC, carrig, castleview and Bandon. Interesting to see what happens.

el nino coro
07/04/2012, 8:43 PM
Cambridge from Marys ??? Very doubtful. I know the guy well, grand fella but defo not up to that job.

Go away ya ol sour so so and so

Sparky
07/04/2012, 10:46 PM

This is surely a wind up comment just to get a reaction? Cambridge to run Cork City? Cotter to run Cork City? Jaysus that is ridiculous. Name 3 top players that Cotter can attract to Cork City PREMIER Division. What badges do they have? Possibly the most ridiculous comment on this.

Don't get me wrong here, Cotter doing brilliant job and Cambridge knows a bit about the game but we are talking about the League of Ireland here. Different level altogether.

townhall tez
08/04/2012, 12:09 AM
This is surely a wind up comment just to get a reaction? Cambridge to run Cork City? Cotter to run Cork City? Jaysus that is ridiculous. Name 3 top players that Cotter can attract to Cork City PREMIER Division. What badges do they have? Possibly the most ridiculous comment on this.

Don't get me wrong here, Cotter doing brilliant job and Cambridge knows a bit about the game but we are talking about the League of Ireland here. Different level altogether.

It is a ridiculous quote to be fair! I think you would need at least a uefa b badge to manage at league of Ireland level. Maybe Cotter has that,the fella managing Corinthians has and the Bandon manager,maybe more do???
City would need a big name manager,a guy who knows the ins and outs of the league. However Tommy Dunne should be left to get on with things,after all he did get City up...

Dixie's Cousin
08/04/2012, 10:08 AM
You need your UEFA A at least for top division, preferably the Pro license or at leat going for it. Don't think City will pay €10,000 for some fella to do that!

mayfield utd
08/04/2012, 11:24 AM
probably billy cronin would be the only msl manager that could get a crack at a league of ireland team,but to be honest i don't think he'd be good enough at that level either

beautiful game
08/04/2012, 1:31 PM
Billy Cronin wouldn't even be considered as he hasn't got the necessary coaching qualifications.

It's UEFA A Licence for League of Ireland.

the ghost
08/04/2012, 3:16 PM
Caulfield??

townhall tez
09/04/2012, 10:11 AM
Caulfield??
No badges.

AvondaleNutter
09/04/2012, 10:27 AM
I think we should put a stop to this nonsense talk of mangers taking over city.no one from the msl will take over at city as they don't have the necessary requirements. Tommy Dunne did a fine job last year, give the guy a chance.

The 1st div race for 2nd place is getting exciting. Any of the 4, fermoy, Carrigaline, Bandon or castleview can go up. I'd like to see fermoy go up after going so close last year

collcorforever
09/04/2012, 6:40 PM
What are peoples view on having a manager with badges, does it help improve a team? In my opinion no, we have seen a few guys with badges manage Corinthians and really struggle, Canice Kennedy, Kevin McNamara and also have seen managers in other clubs struggle. I think these managers forget about the basics, most MSL players train twice a week and need a good blow out on a Tuesday after a good weekend, the managers with badges seem to think hard running is a thing of the past. Wouldbe interested to see what others think?

lawman
09/04/2012, 7:49 PM
What are peoples view on having a manager with badges, does it help improve a team? In my opinion no, we have seen a few guys with badges manage Corinthians and really struggle, Canice Kennedy, Kevin McNamara and also have seen managers in other clubs struggle. I think these managers forget about the basics, most MSL players train twice a week and need a good blow out on a Tuesday after a good weekend, the managers with badges seem to think hard running is a thing of the past. Wouldbe interested to see what others think?

lads,i have always believed that you train to get and keep fit on your own time. Organised sessions with your team mates DURING the season are meant to be COACHING, not training to get fit. People should keep fit even if they dont play or participate, just to stay healthy and live a better quality of life. That all make sense?

Goggs
10/04/2012, 6:57 AM
The ideal situation is to have a manager with both who can use his playing experience and also use his coaching knowledge.Ive played under both types of managers and found the guy with the badges training to be far more enjoyable and i learned alot more wheres the manager with no badges training was always more physical but this was mainly due to ignorance on his part as he knew little else.A perfect example of this without been lambasted was when your own club plyed Avondale last season and Avondale went down to 10 men your coach was toally void of ideas and ultimately cost ye the tie wheres if he had been more educated he would have put a structure in place.

townhall tez
10/04/2012, 12:42 PM
The ideal situation is to have a manager with both who can use his playing experience and also use his coaching knowledge.Ive played under both types of managers and found the guy with the badges training to be far more enjoyable and i learned alot more wheres the manager with no badges training was always more physical but this was mainly due to ignorance on his part as he knew little else.A perfect example of this without been lambasted was when your own club plyed Avondale last season and Avondale went down to 10 men your coach was toally void of ideas and ultimately cost ye the tie wheres if he had been more educated he would have put a structure in place.

A good piece here Goggs which i would agree with except for your example. If you can remember back to that game college had no wingers available on the day and were so stuck for attacking players that their assistant manager who was retired for about ten years came on!!! In the first game that they came so close to winning it was on the wings where they got at Avondale.
Maybe that is the way to get at Avondale,I'm sure many have tried.

maninthemiddle
10/04/2012, 2:26 PM

lads cork city arent that far off the level at all are are certainly not getting hammered. everyone knew it would be tough in the prem. as for an msl manager taking over in the unlikely departure of dunne well IMO thats ridiculous.

10/04/2012, 2:52 PM
as for an msl manager taking over in the unlikely departure of dunne well IMO thats ridiculous.As well as the fact that Tommys got a 3 year deal.

townhall tez
10/04/2012, 8:20 PM
Let's move on - everton v dale replay,thoughts? I think Dale won't play so bad again so Everton may well have missed their chance. However,now that they have got a sniff they will be confident.

11/04/2012, 7:41 PM
St Marys 0-2 Avondale

Chiefscout
11/04/2012, 9:42 PM
Mayfield 1 Everton 0

townhall tez
12/04/2012, 6:26 PM
Mayfield 1 Everton 0
Are Everton being dragged into a relegation battle? Surely they are too good...

el nino coro
12/04/2012, 6:57 PM
Are Everton being dragged into a relegation battle? Surely they are too good...

Not a chance,blarney would by my choice to join leeds in going down but with cors and midleton yet to play each other it could be any of the 3

townhall tez
12/04/2012, 7:31 PM
Not a chance,blarney would by my choice to join leeds in going down but with cors and midleton yet to play each other it could be any of the 3
Everton should be fine,but I'm pretty sure they still have to play Midleton and Blarney so it's not clear cut. I do agree though,it's one from three with Leeds.

Carpet
13/04/2012, 12:37 AM
We all know blarney are playing badly, terribly actually but what do you expect from a team with only 3-4 players that give a crap about the club. How many of the players there this year will stay if they go down, its simple the players with interest and loyalty to the club will stay but the rest will be gone and where do they go from there. Its looking like it could go the same path as other teams like ballincollig.
el nino loves a crack off blarney but if you see his earlier comments from last year he played there, your exactly the kind of guy on this forum who just wants to throw sneaky digs at teams, you were useless when playing in blarney and a few comments on foot.ie is sure to make you feel better since you didn't get your game

justasupporter
13/04/2012, 8:33 AM
We all know blarney are playing badly, terribly actually but what do you expect from a team with only 3-4 players that give a crap about the club. How many of the players there this year will stay if they go down, its simple the players with interest and loyalty to the club will stay but the rest will be gone and where do they go from there. Its looking like it could go the same path as other teams like ballincollig.
el nino loves a crack off blarney but if you see his earlier comments from last year he played there, your exactly the kind of guy on this forum who just wants to throw sneaky digs at teams, you were useless when playing in blarney and a few comments on foot.ie is sure to make you feel better since you didn't get your game

whos fault is that though Carpet , the managers sign the players , if they sign from outside the catchment area at the expense of home grown players then theres always a risk that these guys will jump ship , they definately wont have a love for the club anyway thats for sure . Blarney started the ball rolling a few years ago when they signed a half dozen ex cobh lads , that had to push others down the list & eventually out the door . its a shame because they have the best facilities around but I think blarney are reaping what they sowed ,or they will if they go down but thats still in their own hands at least . is there even a junior team out there any more carpet ?

justasupporter
13/04/2012, 8:39 AM
dont get me wrong though Carpet , every team is in the same situation , a lot of players sign for the chance to win medals & if that happens they stay , if it doesnt there on the next transfer form to a club that looks like winning trophies . Do you think many Avondale players give a damn about the club ? put them in the same position as blarney & you have the exact same scenario , not too many that will stay & not a strong junior side to fill the void . thats not a dig at avondale now Nutter :-) its the same for most MSL teams .

el nino coro
13/04/2012, 10:54 AM

I never said i played out there,i said i was involved and i seen with my own two eyes the way fellas are carrying on,no heart because of what justasupporter has stated above aswell as fellas not turning up to training,four or five at training sessions only spells one thing "struggle" and thats exactly what happenning to them the moment,and also the fitness of the players is nothing short of a joke!

AvondaleNutter
13/04/2012, 12:47 PM
dont get me wrong though Carpet , every team is in the same situation , a lot of players sign for the chance to win medals & if that happens they stay , if it doesnt there on the next transfer form to a club that looks like winning trophies . Do you think many Avondale players give a damn about the club ? put them in the same position as blarney & you have the exact same scenario , not too many that will stay & not a strong junior side to fill the void . thats not a dig at avondale now Nutter :-) its the same for most MSL teams .

Agreed thats the risk that clubs like Avondale, Rockmount, Blarney and i'd even say Douglas Hall (watched them in the Donie Forde cup final and i could only make out 4 "Douglas Hall" players, so correct me if im wrong) are making. Short term success might mean long term pain, but thats part and parcel of football. Players can come and go as they please which is what makes it ever more entertaining as you'll never know what one team will be like from one season to the next

el nino coro
13/04/2012, 10:52 PM
Blarney 1-0 Midleton. Blarney get a win of some sorts,cant help thinking they would be better off out of this competition to focus on their relegation battle!

mayfield utd
14/04/2012, 11:30 PM
rockmount beat our lads 2-0 today,even enough game,1st goal looked offside but with no linesmen it makes the ref job at calling the offsides very hard,2nd goal was a stone wall peno,both teams had a man send off for squaring up to each other no punches throwing or nothing,looked very soft reds for both dave warren and monty