View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 [102] 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

beautiful game
06/02/2012, 11:19 PM
Valid argument Chiefscout as there are plenty of cases for and against the competition but it's something different.

There's no doubt the Munster Senior League teams will start as very strong favourites but it's a great incentive for the AUL teams to have a right go.

It's a pre-season competition (with hopes to have it as a major competition in the next few seasons) so that might balance it out further and the aim long-term is to reduce the so-called gulf in class between the leagues and have a competition that will capture the imagination of all football fans in Cork.

The qualifying teams will also prefer competitve football rather than pre-season training so it adds more incentive.

The MSL qualifiers will be the Munster Senior League Premier Division winners, FAI Intermediate Cup winners assuming it's a Cork winner (If Avondale win league and cup then the Cork team that went out of the Intermediate Cup previous to Avondale will qualify.

The Beamish Cup winners and the Keane Cup winners.

The AUL will be represented by the Premier League winners, again the team that went furthest in the FAI Junior Cup considering we haven't won it in over 60 years.

The AOH Cup winners and the Mossie Linane Cup winners.

And a replica of the Champion's League trophy for the winners.

Great way to start the season. Be very surprised if the qualifying teams didn't give it full consideration.

Dixie's Cousin
08/02/2012, 8:08 AM
Castleview A.F.C
Last Man Standing

€10 per entry
Minimum prize €500

Details available from:
Ger Rennie No: 087-6350312
Martin Meehan No: 086-8667751

First Week 24th February
Committees Decision Final

beautiful game
08/02/2012, 12:03 PM
Valid arguments for and against the competition but it's something different.

There's no doubt the MSL teams will be very strong favourites but it gives the AUL clubs a great incentive.

It's also a pre-season competition with hopes in the future to make it a very significant competition potentially beginning in March.

And the trophy is a replica of the Champion's League so I'd expect the eight qualifiers to give it everything they've got and begin the season with a beautiful trophy in the cabinet.

el nino coro
09/02/2012, 4:33 PM
Valid argument Chiefscout as there are plenty of cases for and against the competition but it's something different.

There's no doubt the Munster Senior League teams will start as very strong favourites but it's a great incentive for the AUL teams to have a right go.

It's a pre-season competition (with hopes to have it as a major competition in the next few seasons) so that might balance it out further and the aim long-term is to reduce the so-called gulf in class between the leagues and have a competition that will capture the imagination of all football fans in Cork.

The qualifying teams will also prefer competitve football rather than pre-season training so it adds more incentive.

The MSL qualifiers will be the Munster Senior League Premier Division winners, FAI Intermediate Cup winners assuming it's a Cork winner (If Avondale win league and cup then the Cork team that went out of the Intermediate Cup previous to Avondale will qualify.

The Beamish Cup winners and the Keane Cup winners.

The AUL will be represented by the Premier League winners, again the team that went furthest in the FAI Junior Cup considering we haven't won it in over 60 years.

The AOH Cup winners and the Mossie Linane Cup winners.

And a replica of the Champion's League trophy for the winners.

Great way to start the season. Be very surprised if the qualifying teams didn't give it full consideration.

What if both corinthians and everton both go out in the 1/4 final stage and avondale go on to win both league and intermediate,who gets the place then?

beautiful game
09/02/2012, 7:47 PM
If Everton and College Corinthians go out in the quarter-final stage then Everton will qualify as Corinthians already have their name in the hat after winning the Keane Cup.

So it looks like Everton have practically qualified.

MSL qualifiers appear to be Avondale United, College Corinthians, Everton and whoever can pick up the Beamish Cup.

townhall tez
09/02/2012, 9:16 PM
I think 'beautiful game' has been given the job of promoting this competition but it's a tough gig! I'd expect all senior league clubs to play their junior team in this cup. It's simply too early for Munster senior league teams .

duckdu
09/02/2012, 9:36 PM
Quick question lads, Are the senior league leaving Aul clubs join next season????

el nino coro
09/02/2012, 10:03 PM
Quick question lads, Are the senior league leaving Aul clubs join next season????

As far as i know the 5 year agreement between Aul and Msl in that teams coudnt switch is up at the end of the season!

Dixie's Cousin
11/02/2012, 8:19 AM
Well the morning after the night before and I think we all had time to reflect on the match. Just the experience for the lads alone was worth it, Waterford were very good to be fair. Im not goin to comment on the ref because people will say we're just looking for excuses. They hit us early and and doubled their lead soon after, but Mark Cambridge got a beautiful header just before we were reduced to 10 men. Fitness told in the end but that was always going to be the case against a LOI team. But the real winners tonight are all the lads on facebook that were in Paddy Powers! It wasn't too nice looking at those comments but that's the joy of social networks! The real losers were obviously Paddy Powers! Bring on the Beamish cup next week! C'mon the View!

AvondaleNutter
11/02/2012, 8:44 AM
Well the morning after the night before and I think we all had time to reflect on the match. Just the experience for the lads alone was worth it, Waterford were very good to be fair. Im not goin to comment on the ref because people will say we're just looking for excuses. They hit us early and and doubled their lead soon after, but Mark Cambridge got a beautiful header just before we were reduced to 10 men. Fitness told in the end but that was always going to be the case against a LOI team. But the real winners tonight are all the lads on facebook that were in Paddy Powers! It wasn't too nice looking at those comments but that's the joy of social networks! The real losers were obviously Paddy Powers! Bring on the Beamish cup next week! C'mon the View!

What's the issue you are having Facebook and paddy powers

Dixie's Cousin
11/02/2012, 12:21 PM
No issue nutter, just an in Joke with the northside lads!

villaman10
11/02/2012, 4:11 PM
college cors 0-2 midleton!

six-yard-box
11/02/2012, 4:21 PM
To be fair Dixie that mistake was there to be pounced on an we had right off haha.

Goggs
11/02/2012, 4:25 PM
Huge win for Midleton today a real 6 pointer just shows a change of management can bring an instant reaction all lot of credit due to the players as the last week hasnt been easy for them.

AvondaleNutter
11/02/2012, 4:43 PM
Avondale vs blarney is switched to mayfield park tomorrow morning

Dixie's Cousin
11/02/2012, 5:09 PM
To be fair Dixie that mistake was there to be pounced on an we had right off haha.
i know that, that's why I said it! We'll all take huge positives from the whole thing so I'm well chuffed!

Clifford
11/02/2012, 5:54 PM
Bandon beat Carrigaline today 1-0 in div one apparently.

villaman10
11/02/2012, 6:44 PM
i hear leeds beaten 3-1 aswell??

striker9
11/02/2012, 7:27 PM
Ya solid rockmount win... 3-1 !

beautiful game
11/02/2012, 8:51 PM
Interesting scores again today.

Midleton after giving themselves half a chance of surviving with that win over Corinthians and Bandon after keeping the first division race for the title and promotion alive with a huge win in Carrigaline.

All we need now is Avondale to slip up (which is not going to happen) and we get a good title run-in.

12/02/2012, 12:08 PM
Avondale 3-0 Blarney

Billynomates
12/02/2012, 12:19 PM
Mayfield beat Mary's 3-0. Hall drew 1 all

Billynomates
12/02/2012, 12:22 PM
Rockmount to be awarded 3 points for the game against Corinthians a few weeks back. Not sure of the reason

go for gold
12/02/2012, 12:34 PM
think colin o shea played even though he was suspended.thats the rumour anyway

townhall tez
12/02/2012, 2:00 PM
Heard from a Corinthians member that the committee said players sent off in intermediate cup must serve an Fai ban and are therefore eligible for domestic football. However it appears they were wrong. Apparently there is a huge divide between the players/management and the board now after they made an already bad situation worse. A grave error by any committee to make. My source was very reliable too.

beautiful game
12/02/2012, 2:50 PM
Very impressed with Mayfield this morning. And won 3-0 too without the likes of Dave Kiely, Barry Triggs and Wayne McBride.

St Mary's worked hard but Mayfield just had that extra bit of quality on the day.

Read the match report on www.backofthenetcork.ie (http://www.backofthenetcork.ie)

six-yard-box
12/02/2012, 5:09 PM
think colin o shea played even though he was suspended.thats the rumour anyway

I heard this aswell 4 yellows. Which was not picked up by whoever keeps the records for cors.

villaman10
12/02/2012, 8:18 PM
so cors have 6pts???

AvondaleNutter
12/02/2012, 8:40 PM
Goals by kev Mul, marky sull and Danny long. They were well over blarney today and could have won by more. Thought Karl caulfield and Danny long were outstanding.

mayfield utd
12/02/2012, 11:44 PM
won 3-0 away to marys 2 good goals from dave warren and steph hurley came off the bench to make it 3-0,our lads played very well.

Clifford
14/02/2012, 4:51 PM
Gonna get to see Glenbuck and all the mount massive out in the sticks this Sunday for the Beamish cup game? Come on down lads, we'll look after ye in an ould country kind a way.

Glenbuck
14/02/2012, 7:04 PM
Gonna get to see Glenbuck and all the mount massive out in the sticks this Sunday for the Beamish cup game? Come on down lads, we'll look after ye in an ould country kind a way.Hopefully I will make it if my "services are not required somewhere else. Weather will have a big say in my location on Sunday.

Clifford
14/02/2012, 9:12 PM
Always bright and sunny down here lad. If ya do come down come over and say hi. It's been a while.

If we're 5-0 up even better again. Arf!!

boiled egg
18/02/2012, 3:30 PM
Everton v avondale should be a cracker sunday. I think everton will have the say in this one..??

the hawk
18/02/2012, 3:50 PM
Everton v avondale should be a cracker sunday. I think everton will have the say in this one..??

i don't think it even matters at this stage boiled egg i cant see the dale losing 4 out of 7 games and rockmount or the hall winning there last 6 esp when they both have to play each other and avondale .we might as well just worry about who is going to win the intermediate cup and all the local cups

impartial
18/02/2012, 3:52 PM
Heard from a Corinthians member that the committee said players sent off in intermediate cup must serve an Fai ban and are therefore eligible for domestic football. However it appears they were wrong. Apparently there is a huge divide between the players/management and the board now after they made an already bad situation worse. A grave error by any committee to make. My source was very reliable too.

Not for the first time Colin o'sheas discipline problems costing his club again. You can argue re the committee should have got it right but it was a stupid red card

Southsider
18/02/2012, 7:19 PM

It will be tight egg no doubt as always in Everton Park but I think if one team will win it it's gonna be the Dale and your Everton will gladly take a point. Danny Long to continue his good form......

villaman10
19/02/2012, 12:03 PM
It will be tight egg no doubt as always in Everton Park but I think if one team will win it it's gonna be the Dale and your Everton will gladly take a point. Danny Long to continue his good form......

any result??

19/02/2012, 12:17 PM
Everton 0-2 Avondale

After Bishopstown yesterday I was fully prepared for the cold but it was the most glorious of mornings up there, pitch a bit heavy but same for both teams.

Glenbuck
19/02/2012, 12:48 PM
Fermoy 1 Rockmount 2. Beamish cup. Nice morning on the banks of the Blackwater. Not a great game. Could have gone anyway. Questions over Mounts equaliser. Chris Butt with first one, Gary O Riordan off bench for winner. PS No cup of coffee at half time for me Clifford.

Clifford
19/02/2012, 1:18 PM
Yeah, heavy pitch made it hard work for the lads getting it down and playing. A lot of huff and puff from both sides. While having a lot of possession at 1-2 we didn't creat enough chances, with only one really good chance to level it up coming our way.

Enjoyable morning all the same and as usual nice to test ourselves against the best. Great to meet up with all the old Rockmount faces and no GlenB, no coffee for you. Our tea lady scored last night with Mick Flatley so there was no way she was hoppin out of his scratcher to come and make you milky coffee. :cool2:

Glenbuck
19/02/2012, 2:38 PM
Yeah, heavy pitch made it hard work for the lads getting it down and playing. A lot of huff and puff from both sides. While having a lot of possession at 1-2 we didn't creat enough chances, with only one really good chance to level it up coming our way.

Enjoyable morning all the same and as usual nice to test ourselves against the best. Great to meet up with all the old Rockmount faces and no GlenB, no coffee for you. Our tea lady scored last night with Mick Flatley so there was no way she was hoppin out of his scratcher to come and make you milky coffee. :cool2:She dont know what she missed out on...what has he got that I dont.

Southsider
19/02/2012, 9:44 PM
Everton 0-2 Avondale

After Bishopstown yesterday I was fully prepared for the cold but it was the most glorious of mornings up there, pitch a bit heavy but same for both teams.

Wasnt at the game but heard Avondale very comfortable. Was it a handy a game as I heard Podge only had a few crosses to deal with and no real shots in 90 mins ????

19/02/2012, 11:00 PM
Wasnt at the game but heard Avondale very comfortable. Was it a handy a game as I heard Podge only had a few crosses to deal with and no real shots in 90 mins ????
Only got up there for the second half but comfortable from what I saw.
When I arrived i was told the first goal was a double og off both Byrne brothers with Everton also complaining they should have had a spotter.
Only a matter of time before they got the second.
2 more wins should seal the league.

boiled egg
20/02/2012, 12:15 PM
was at the game and thought it was poor. 2 avondale goals came from nothing, although everton never created a clear chance. everton lack a bit of quality up front. avondales so called superstar team were no great shakes, i think they get credit where its not due, they are very average.

AvondaleNutter
20/02/2012, 12:51 PM
was at the game and thought it was poor. 2 avondale goals came from nothing, although everton never created a clear chance. everton lack a bit of quality up front. avondales so called superstar team were no great shakes, i think they get credit where its not due, they are very average.

If they are average it doesn't say much for the rest of the senior teams in the country, so your comment is a tad bit unfair. Avondale could have scored at least 2 more before they scored the second. They were very rarely threatened and Podge had very little to do. A two nil win, job done whether it was pretty or not.

Passage Away tomorrow night in the Munster Senior Cup 1st round and then Douglas Hall Friday in the Donie Forde semi. Think it’s the first time Kev Mul and Graham McCarthy are playing against their old club so it might be fiesty :p

boiled egg
20/02/2012, 2:22 PM
i dont think its unfair at all. if everton had offered more up front it would have been a different outcome. ya the hall game should kick up some nice battles on and off the pitch. Cotter gets a bit to excited at times i think, the referees let him off with a lot..

justasupporter
20/02/2012, 2:36 PM
i dont think its unfair at all. if everton had offered more up front it would have been a different outcome. ya the hall game should kick up some nice battles on and off the pitch. Cotter gets a bit to excited at times i think, the referees let him off with a lot..

Used to hear the same comments when Billy Cronin was winning everything with Rockmount , Cotter is top Dog now so he'l be given the same breaks & we'll just come on here complaining about how he's been treated differently to the other managers in the league . The successful will always be treated differently , wrongly IMO but thats just the way it is .
Nutter is right too when he says it doesnt say much for the rest of the league if Avondale arent more than average , they could have the league wrapped up before we reach Paddys Day , in fact they probably will so I think they are more than average . Not sure what my points were , just needed to comment :-) hate mondays.

villaman10
20/02/2012, 3:27 PM
avondale are flying, fair play to them but what happened to rockmount, mayfield and douglas?? gang on here a few months ago saying douglas should be praised for their new found battling qualities.... think they much rather be top of the league like last year instead of been cut adrift like every one else! as for rockmount, what a difference a manager can make!! after mayfield beat avondale they seemed to think they could walk the league.. what went wrong there??

justasupporter
20/02/2012, 4:37 PM
avondale are flying, fair play to them but what happened to rockmount, mayfield and douglas?? gang on here a few months ago saying douglas should be praised for their new found battling qualities.... think they much rather be top of the league like last year instead of been cut adrift like every one else! as for rockmount, what a difference a manager can make!! after mayfield beat avondale they seemed to think they could walk the league.. what went wrong there??

nothing wrong with battling qualities , hall at least battling on the pitch this year , but as you say theyd rather be top of the league as opposed to also rans this season . Rockmount , I think Billy saw the end of the road with the squad & alan was left with a poor squad in the end , its up to him to bring his own players in of course but I dont see many being drawn up there now ,if you look at it for years the nucleus of that rockmount team was based around slatts ,keane , howey , ross , willy byrne , beechinor , serious players there but all of em are really finished or at the end of their career , even Howey although hes still playing the injuries are taking their toll now , look at the replacements that signed for those players , I dont want to mention them as its unfair on them but you only need to look at that rockmount side now to see their not a shade on what they were & you have to wonder if they can turn that around & draw the best players again . I think that will be really difficult , dale are the top team now cos theyve done what rockmount did for years & drawn all the best players in the league & beyond & it doesnt look like it will change any time soon , success will mean more will want to go there . As for Mayfield , I would have commented on a post that I felt they had their strongest side in a few years & I stand by that , no way they were or are good enough to win a league tho .