View Full Version : Jim McDaid
carrickharp
28/04/2005, 7:06 AM
McDaid says sorry for drink driving (from RTE website)
The former Minister of State for Transport, Jim McDaid, has apologised for what he said was a serious lapse in judgement in driving while under the influence of alcohol last night.
In a statement issued this afternoon, Dr McDaid said that as a public representative he had a particular obligation to uphold the law.
He said the incident was now a matter for the gardaí to deal with, and apologised to the force and to his family and constituents. It is understood the Donegal North East TD was stopped on the Naas Road on the outskirts of Dublin last night.
Gardaí have confirmed that they stopped a car on the N4 or Naas Road outside Naas, Co Kildare, and arrested the driver on suspicion of drunken driving. The man was taken to Naas Garda Station and later released, while samples have now been sent to the Medical Bureau of Road Safety.
The embarrassment for Dr McDaid is compounded by the fact that the issue of road safety was highlighted by the Taoisach, Bertie Ahern, during Leader's Questions in the Dáil this morning. Mr Ahern appealed for responsible behaviour by drivers as the Bank Holiday weekend approaches.
Dr McDaid was Minister for Sport and Tourism in the last Government.
He was subsequently dropped from the Cabinet but served as the Minister of State for Transport with responsibility for traffic until last year's reshuffle.
What a a*****e, I for one am glad as this will be the end of his policital career. As minister of sport he pumped €€€ into his home town while local sports down our side of the county were more or less told to feck off.
Just after reading this a couple of minutes ago, total disgrace this is, and this coming from someone who in 2000 made an issue about drink driving.
It seems that if it wasn't for a quick thinking lorry driver who blocked the N7 bringing him and all the rest of the traffic to a halt we could have had utter carnage.
An example of him and his stupidity should be made, stick him in the Joy for a while.
joey B
28/04/2005, 9:34 AM
McDaid says sorry for drink driving (from RTE website)
The former Minister of State for Transport, Jim McDaid, has apologised for what he said was a serious lapse in judgement in driving while under the influence of alcohol last night.
In a statement issued this afternoon, Dr McDaid said that as a public representative he had a particular obligation to uphold the law.
He said the incident was now a matter for the gardaí to deal with, and apologised to the force and to his family and constituents. It is understood the Donegal North East TD was stopped on the Naas Road on the outskirts of Dublin last night.
Gardaí have confirmed that they stopped a car on the N4 or Naas Road outside Naas, Co Kildare, and arrested the driver on suspicion of drunken driving. The man was taken to Naas Garda Station and later released, while samples have now been sent to the Medical Bureau of Road Safety.
The embarrassment for Dr McDaid is compounded by the fact that the issue of road safety was highlighted by the Taoisach, Bertie Ahern, during Leader's Questions in the Dáil this morning. Mr Ahern appealed for responsible behaviour by drivers as the Bank Holiday weekend approaches.
Dr McDaid was Minister for Sport and Tourism in the last Government.
He was subsequently dropped from the Cabinet but served as the Minister of State for Transport with responsibility for traffic until last year's reshuffle.
What a a*****e, I for one am glad as this will be the end of his policital career. As minister of sport he pumped €€€ into his home town while local sports down our side of the county were more or less told to feck off.
Aye pumped millions into St Eunans Gaa club and ignored the county's senior soccer club what an ass**le. :mad:
I never liked as a sports Minister. Even his medical comments on certain issues were very strange.
He must have been blind drunk to attempt such a stunt. This was dangerous drinking of the most extreme kind & should face 10 year+ drinking ban & possibly jail time.
Should at very least be getting long community service sentence cleaning a Hospital A&E ward or something.
Gareth
28/04/2005, 3:32 PM
Total fool. Especially as he was involved in the Department of Transport when that TV ad campaign came out. He should be banned for 10 years definately and whatever other punishments under the law be applied as he is a public official and I fully believe an example should be set. My feeling run deep on this one.
hamish
29/04/2005, 12:37 PM
Utter and absolute wnaker! His predecesor Allen was another one! Sorry, Cork Lads, nowt against yer county. Two of the worst possible "Sports" Ministers any country could have.
I hope he gets jail time - Liam Lawyer won't be lonely. Hope they're in the same cell and ass-fcuk each other to oblivion! :eek:
29/04/2005, 12:57 PM
Utter and absolute wnaker! His predecesor Allen was another one! Sorry, Cork Lads, nowt against yer county. Two of the worst possible "Sports" Ministers any country could have.
I hope he gets jail time - Liam Lawyer won't be lonely. Hope they're in the same cell and ass-fcuk each other to oblivion! :eek:
So you are a supporter of corporal punishment! ;)
hamish
29/04/2005, 1:15 PM
Verrrrrrrrrrrrrrrry funny, Smartass!! On a serious level, got the $hit beaten out of me in school so corporal punishment (teacher used to use a black wavin pipe), even in yer jocular terms, has bad memories. Now, there's a thread worth starting! I see where Texas schools still allow it - it was on Faux "News" last night so it must be true. :D . Bring back the cane, I say, one way of calming Hoops fans!! :D :D
29/04/2005, 8:50 PM
I never liked him as a sports Minister.
I never liked him !!!
I remember him on the late late show speaking about stadium Ireland ..... he was the king of all thing smarmey and slippery, what a wessel !! .... you got blown out of it by the audience that night and clealy wasn't able for it.
It is a good thing that a guy like this is removed from anything the tax payer foots the bill for. fúcking leech !!
fúcking leech !!
I think you are confusing him with Martin Cullen :)
I've disliked the guy since he was the man who did everythnig he could for his master bertie to destroy eircom Park.
30/04/2005, 9:04 PM
Latest craic is in the papers that apparently the place called a taxi for him three times that night but he refused two and jumped out of the third and they could not get the keys off him. He wasn't just drunk, he was well off his face and showed no ability to make a safe judgement as well as being an arrogant knob. He deserves a lengthy road ban.
Thunderblaster
30/04/2005, 9:13 PM
And made do a driving test again before getting his license back live on television just for humilliation purposes. :mad:
30/04/2005, 9:18 PM
And made do a driving test again before getting his license back live on television just for humilliation purposes. :mad:
Lol. Well actually apart from the live tv bit you're right. A full revocation of his licence would be correct. Of course he'll probably win back his seat at the next election. For whatever reason we just keep voting arrogant above the law knobs back into the Dáil.
30/04/2005, 9:23 PM
I've disliked the guy since he was the man who did everythnig he could for his master bertie to destroy eircom Park.
Well said young man !
30/04/2005, 10:10 PM
Latest craic is in the papers that apparently the place called a taxi for him three times that night but he refused two and jumped out of the third and they could not get the keys off him. He wasn't just drunk, he was well off his face and showed no ability to make a safe judgement as well as being an arrogant knob. He deserves a lengthy road ban.
If this is true (and I have no reason to believe it isnt) a ban would not be much of a deterrent to him. A custodial sentence would give him time to reflect.
hamish
30/04/2005, 10:44 PM
Way to go, Patsh. I couldn't agree with you more. The whole Bertie/McDaid/Eircom Park scenario really annoys the fcuk out of me. :(
hamish
30/04/2005, 10:47 PM
Even better, make his test a "live" show of telly with an electric shock for any mistakes made! Now that's the kind of reality TV I'd like! :D
Fair_play_boy
01/05/2005, 12:14 AM
Ah lads, lads, lads. Some of these comments are a bit over the top, IMO. There is no sense in so many people trying to pitch a tent on the moral high ground. There is not enough room up there.
Look, the man has a disease. He fooked up. He will pay a price, probably no less or greater than any of us would in similar circumstances.
His photo was on today's Examiner front page, with his partner. This question might belong more in the totty watch thread, but is she the one in Fair City who had a kid by Floyd?
hamish
01/05/2005, 12:19 AM
Ah lads, lads, lads. Some of these comments are a bit over the top, IMO. There is no sense in so many people trying to pitch a tent on the moral high ground. There is not enough room up there.
Look, the man has a disease. He fooked up. He will pay a price, probably no less or greater than any of us would in similar circumstances.
His photo was on today's Examiner front page, with his partner. This question might belong more in the totty watch thread, but is she the one in Fair City who had a kid by Floyd?
Fair Play Boy, I honestly didn't know he was an alcoholic, just thought he was a b....x, period. That's the reason I gave out about him, honest.
Fair_play_boy
01/05/2005, 12:23 AM
Didn't know that meself until this week, Hamish. Seemingly it has ruined his private life.
01/05/2005, 12:56 AM
If this is true (and I have no reason to believe it isnt) a ban would not be much of a deterrent to him. A custodial sentence would give him time to reflect.
Well I think primarily others have a duty to be protected and the focus wuld be to get him off the road. Fair Play Boy the comments are not over the top, with his arrogance and ignorance he put other people's lives in danger. Yes he may have a disease in alcoholism but he would not want to be driving then.
01/05/2005, 9:28 AM
...... Seemingly it has ruined his private life.
Interesting article by Jerome Reilly in today's Indo http://www.unison.ie/irish_independent/stories.php3?ca=9&si=1388261&issue_id=12416 (you need to register)
No doubt he has a drink problem, but his biggest problem is his arrogance (driving around Letterkenny the following day in the same car he was stopped in despite knowing how high profile the incident was).
When his case comes to court, and I wouldn't bet against it being struck out on a technicality, no doubt his drink problem and pressure of work will be trotted out in mitigation. However, the court should not lose sight of the two main issues (a) despite having a drink problem and having consumed a large amount of drink, he chose to drive even though he was offered to be driven by taxi, and by doing so (b) he put others lives at risk.
The court must impose the maximum and most punitive penalty to the individual that is allowed.
01/05/2005, 3:25 PM
Fair Play Boy, I honestly didn't know he was an alcoholic, just thought he was a b....x, period. That's the reason I gave out about him, honest.And you're perfectly entitled to. You can be a b....x and an alcoholic at the same time, and while the latter should be taken into account when considering issues like this, it shouldn't be used to cover them up. Alcoholism is a terrible affliction, one of the worst out there imho, however alcoholism is an addiction to alchohol, not a licence to commit crime.
You can only get so drunk. One of my apparent weaknesses is that I drink to get drunk - sorry, I know it's unfashionable, but I don't see the point otherwise - and I'd wager that maybe once a month or so I'll be as drunk as McDaid that night. No matter how drunk I was, you wouldn't see me getting into a car and driving it.
01/05/2005, 3:44 PM
You can only get so drunk. One of my apparent weaknesses is that I drink to get drunk - sorry, I know it's unfashionable, but I don't see the point otherwise - and I'd wager that maybe once a month or so I'll be as drunk as McDaid that night. No matter how drunk I was, you wouldn't see me getting into a car and driving it.
fair play. it is unbelievable the amount of people who drink-drive, in my place, rural fermanagh/tyrone/border monaghan area, so many do it, and to make it worse a lot of the police turn a blind eye to it :rolleyes:
Alcoholism may be a reason for his crime but IMO not an excuse. Same as the "i was stealing cos of drug habit".
Does this assume an alcoholic gets lighter sentence than a non-alcoholic? How do we really know he a proper alcoholic?
Jail him and the country will really get the message he was trying to project in drink driving adds. I couldn't care less if he was a raging alcoholic, he's not above the law and deserves the full whack IMO.
Totally agree
hamish
01/05/2005, 10:50 PM
And you're perfectly entitled to. You can be a b....x and an alcoholic at the same time, and while the latter should be taken into account when considering issues like this, it shouldn't be used to cover them up. Alcoholism is a terrible affliction, one of the worst out there imho, however alcoholism is an addiction to alchohol, not a licence to commit crime.
Cheers, Adam. True, when I went pintin', as we say down here, it was to absorb alcohol, absord the creac (whatever that's supposed to be!!?), and hopefully, get laid, in that order. I always thought the term mature/sensible drinking was a bit of an oxymoron. McDaid, is a wnaker, alcho or not. The booze only serves to make him worse.
Thunderblaster
03/05/2005, 1:24 AM
Fair Play Boy, I honestly didn't know he was an alcoholic, just thought he was a b....x, period. That's the reason I gave out about him, honest.
Send him to the Betty Ford Clinic wing of Mountjoy and impose a decree that he joins the PTAA. :p He can then fully examine the consciousness of his actions. :rolleyes: Call a bye-election in Donegal North East as punishment. ;) Then again, he wants to give Ray Burke company. :D
03/05/2005, 7:56 AM
If even half of what i'm seeing here is true he should do time for it.
Tragic the number of people who were on the radio on friday sticking up for him and it was all "I know he was caught drinking and driving BUT...." but nothing!!!
One guy even opined it was a shame he'd been caught ffs!!!
What are we like.
03/05/2005, 3:46 PM
...........What are we like.
A country of corrupt politicians, worse that any Banana Republic, a phrase which, if Irish politicans continue to carry on as they have recently, could quite easlily be replaced with Potato Republic. :( :mad:
hamish
03/05/2005, 10:00 PM
All so bloody depressing. isn't it. Yet, time after time, local cumann present some Micheal Martin type for the electorate to "choose" - y'know clean, uncontroversial, mammy's boy-type - Some mates of mine involved in politics tell me it's virtually impossible for fresh blood to rise through the ranks in these cumann as the officers (usually in place from the year dot) have their favourites - usually a son/daughter/in-law/inbred connected with retiring/past TDs.
So, the circle continues on and on and on................. :(
Tragic the number of people who were on the radio on friday sticking up for him and it was all "I know he was caught drinking and driving BUT...." but nothing!!!
Bottom line is it's still socially acceptable, particularly in rural Ireland.
04/05/2005, 8:06 AM
But even aside from the 'turn a blind eye and sure arent we all doing it' culture Macy -this tosspot drove six miles* up the wrong way on a dual carriageway. He should be banned for life from driving at the least -and some form of a reckless endangerment charge should be brought too.
* source Joe Duffy himself (3/5/05) :p ...as opposed to some deranged loon given access to the airways on Talk to Joe.
But even aside from the 'turn a blind eye and sure arent we all doing it' culture Macy -this tosspot drove six miles* up the wrong way on a dual carriageway. He should be banned for life from driving at the least -and some form of a reckless endangerment charge should be brought too.
Totally agree, but that’s why a lot of people have sympathy. They can't see the difference between the couple of pints and the couple of miles drive home and being absolutely paralytic and driving up the wrong side of a dual carriageway.
Perhaps there is no difference anyway, but I still have sympathy for the 60 year old farmer that gets pulled after his couple of pints in his local village, something he's been doing for 40 years no bother....
Totally agree, but that’s why a lot of people have sympathy. They can't see the difference between the couple of pints and the couple of miles drive home and being absolutely paralytic and driving up the wrong side of a dual carriageway.
IMO theres a huge difference. Punishment has to fit the crime. Big difference between someone taking a chance at 2-3 pints & not having the sense even when paralytic not to get into the car.
Exactly how drunk does someone have to be to firstly taking roundabout the wrong way (lets say was innocent mistake) but then not to realise was going the wrong direction on a dualcarraigeway. Clearly so wasted be lucky to stand in the later case.
exactly.
IMO theres a huge difference. Punishment has to fit the crime. Big difference between someone taking a chance at 2-3 pints & not having the sense even when paralytic not to get into the car.Spot on pete. In fairness, there's a difference between driving when you're over the limit (i.e. drink driving) and drunk driving. Neither is a good idea, obviously, but one is totally indefensible.
Good point made by someone on Liveline last week about it actually- when you fill out the form for a drivers licence, don't you have to fill in a box about diseases/illnesses and both drug addiction and alcoholism are mentioned as thing you have to declare. Did he declare it?
04/05/2005, 9:47 PM
Before I'm accosted by any of my old mates that are lurking on Foot.ie, I should add that I did drink and drive when I was young and stupid. Only a few times, but I did it, and I shouldn't have. I'm not young any more. Neither is Jim McDaid. I can't speak for his stupidity, but I have drawn conclusions in recent days.
Spot on pete.
This agreeing with me thing is getting old. Need to pick an argument ;)
04/05/2005, 10:26 PM
Good point made by someone on Liveline last week about it actually- when you fill out the form for a drivers licence, don't you have to fill in a box about diseases/illnesses and both drug addiction and alcoholism are mentioned as thing you have to declare. Did he declare it?
See an application for a licencehere (http://www.roscommoncoco.ie/services/motortax/motortaxforms/drivinglicenceapp.pdf) You have to declare if you've ever been dependent on alcohol. IMO, if McDaid didn't do this, its a resigning issue- lying on an official form.
04/05/2005, 10:27 PM
This agreeing with me thing is getting old. Need to pick an argument ;)
didn't you hear? I'm reasonable nowadays :p Besides, how else would I keep up with you in the posting stakes ;)
IMO theres a huge difference. Punishment has to fit the crime. Big difference between someone taking a chance at 2-3 pints & not having the sense even when paralytic not to get into the car.
Exactly how drunk does someone have to be to firstly taking roundabout the wrong way (lets say was innocent mistake) but then not to realise was going the wrong direction on a dualcarraigeway. Clearly so wasted be lucky to stand in the later case.
That was the point I was trying to make - but some of the types that would phone Liveline wouldn't. Thought I made it clear that I do think there is a difference.