View Full Version : Outlook Express

hamish
25/04/2005, 8:39 PM
Folks, I got a real problem here. I stupidly signed up (since cancelled) to a crowd called Spam Arrest to cut down on junk email. I already have Norton, Spybot, Spyblaster. Since I dallied with Spam Arrest - I have got no email and I'm expecting a message from my godson who has just just arrived in China. I also receive daily stuff from The Guardian, Reuters, eBay, Amazon etc etc. All of this has just GONE/NADA/NOWT/NIL/NOTHING. Can any of you good folks help me get back to where I was was?? Please make it simple - we're talking monkey at the controls of a 747, if you know what I mean. Really would appreciate anyone's help. Thanks. SirHamish :eek: :confused: :confused: :mad: :(

exile
25/04/2005, 9:01 PM
can you just not remove the programme ??

hamish
25/04/2005, 9:09 PM
Sorry Exile, how do I do that??? Remember the monkey/747 bit!! I do appreciate your reply, though and any help would be really appreciated. I've tried the tools etc bit but I just cannot figure out this reconfigure thingy. :o :o :o :o :o

M@ttitude
25/04/2005, 9:16 PM
Go to- My computer (on your desktop)... Click add or remove programs, look for the program you want to get rid of.. Should bring you through it..

M@ttitude
25/04/2005, 9:47 PM
I cant be sure what the problem is from here man, maybe try mail support@outlook-express-backup.com from a personal email account..

25/04/2005, 10:42 PM
Thanks M@ttitude and Exile, did that M@ttitude but after clicking on send/receive in Outlook Express still cannot get any emails. I'm now totally confused. I'm sorry to be such a pain in the ass and appreciate your patience but did my dalliance with Spam Arrest wipe out any emails due to come? I'm at a loss what to do right now. :o :o :o
I am not familiar with this particular software but some of these 'e-mail washers' intercept all your message and require you to set up 'Authorised or Verified' e-mail addresses, i.e those e-mail addresses from which you are happy to accept messages. (You can normally set up the entire contents of your personal address book in one go).

If you do not do this you will not see any e-mails in your 'Inbox'. However, many of these 'e-mail washers' will have a folder or a function called 'Unauthorised' or 'Unverified' and all your 'unauthorised/unverifed' e-mails can be read from there. (Look down the left hand side of the screen)

I assume this programme is either a 'trial period' or you have signed up for a subscription' These programmes usually have a cancellation function which you activate by sending an automated e-mail.

I am not sure if this is any use but good luck!

25/04/2005, 10:57 PM
I don't you will be able to get any useful info from anyone here unless you provide more info.

I would recommend Mozilla Thunderbird as alternative to Outlook Express. When you download it will automatically copy across all your Outlook express settings.

26/04/2005, 6:29 AM
Thanks Superhoops and thanks Pete. I did check Spam Arrest for unverified etc and got zero, if you know what I mean. I presume that means no messages have entered their system. Jeez, why could I have not left well enough alone. I'm really sorry to bother you guys about all this but I'll keep trying until I sort it out. All advice gladly appreciated. If any of you blokes are ever down this way, by the way, call in and have a drink on me, lads, you deserve it. Muchos gratias, amigos. Oh, I'll check Mozilla Thunderbird as well but I'm afraid that I've dug a hole and am still digging. What the hell. :o :o
One final suggestion from me. Have you tried to read your e-mails from your ISP's website, a facility which most ISP's have to allow you to read your e-mails from anywhere.

Fair_play_boy
26/04/2005, 9:21 PM
- we're talking monkey at the controls of a 747 . . . :D :D :D :D Hamish I never met you, but any guy that is able to express himself so exquisitely must be a decent sort. Class expression!

mouldymurphy
26/04/2005, 10:07 PM
lads can you set up outlook express for any e mail address because i have a campus ome andid like to set it up

hamish
26/04/2005, 10:10 PM
Thanks Fair Play Boy, but is there a slag tucked in there soemwhere? If so, I deserve it!!!!! To be honest, I'm utterly baffled by a lot of this computer technology - it's a big achievement for me to even use the basic Foot.ie functions but I make the very best of two brain cells I've got. Cheers. :D :o

26/04/2005, 10:52 PM
Sir Hamish, how is it going now ??

Are you getting alot of spam to say that you are installing all those programmes to try and cleanup ??

What is Spam Arrest ?

What Operating System are you using ? If Windows

Do the following .... Start - Run - Type in "Outlook.exe /cleanviews" and hit OK

I'd also go to Start - Programs - Accessories - System Tools - Disk Cleanup
Wait for it to load (if it takes a bit, that is half the problem) and have a look at the really big folders, make sure you have a tick in Temp files and Temp Internet files, and Compressed files (all of these are in your cache and you dont need them) then hit OK, it'll sort it out.

Also ... look at setting up "Rules" for Outlook

Go to Start - Run - Type in "msconfig" and hit OK
Go to the last tab "Startup" and uncheck everything, hit apply and OK, it'll ask you to restart, and go for it. When it starts up you'll get a pop-up box, put a tick in it and hit OK

System Restore is a good place for viruses and other nasties to store files they need .... maybe look at dumping some of that AFTER you back up what you need.

You can backup you mail from Outlook to a .pst file (double check that) and cleanup, you can bring in back in later on.

Hop that helps !!

26/04/2005, 11:43 PM
Replace IE as browser with Firefox (freebie) if want to pretty much eliminate browser spam.

27/04/2005, 12:03 AM
Thanks a millions A Face, I managed to solve the problem by restoring the computer settings to pre Spam Arrest settings - hoped I explained that right. I've got all my emails and one from Spam Arrest saying that any they had they would send on.
I have all the usuals - Norton, Spybot etc. I was looking for another anti-spam system and found 4 eg Net Nanny etc. Spam Arrest was one that looked ok. Basically they absorb emails for you, dump the siht into a file for 7 days and delete it - they then inform the senders that this has happened. I thought that was a neat idea because if I get any more adverts for viagra, condos in Los Angeles and internet gambling, I'll fcuk this machine into the fire!
I's love to be able to put up websites into posts, like you guys do, as it would cut down on my long paragraphs. I think that's got something to do with pasting. Right, I've got the glue, sharp new scissors and paper!! What next????? Thanks a bunch A Face and all above - ye're the best! :)

Fair play Boy is right, your posts are hilarious in a good way :D

to post websites click the 'insert hyperlink' symbol above enhanced mode, the symbol is just to the right of the bold/italic/underline symbols when you post. it is an earth with a paperclip. click on that you'll get a box come up in that type text which links to the website like 'see here' or 'click here' etc
ok that another box comes up, with this one, copy and paste the url into this box http://www.blahblah.....
then ok, that should work

hope it makes sense, i don't explain things very well :o

hamish
27/04/2005, 12:29 AM
Not at all, Kerrs Tribe, you explained it very well. I've a Canadian TV programme in my Favourites colums which I want to link over to the thread I started on Michael Moore. I'll give it a go now and get back to you soon - about 6 months!!!
By the way, that boyfriend of yours might not be too happy with you conversing with an apprentice prevert - remember the other posts a while back. On that note, I've got that raincoat. Next on the shopping list are stillettos, eye-patch, whip and fishnet stockings and I'll be set up!!!!!!!!!! Cheers and good vibes, young wan!! :D :D :D

M@ttitude
27/04/2005, 12:29 AM
http://www.blahblah[/url].....

That link didnt work! :p

27/04/2005, 12:35 AM
Not at all, Kerrs Tribe, you explained it very well. I've a Canadian TV programme in my Favourites colums which I want to link over to the thread I started on Michael Moore. I'll give it a go now and get back to you soon - about 6 months!!!
By the way, that boyfriend of yours might not be too happy with you conversing with an apprentice prevert - remember the other posts a while back. On that note, I've got that raincoat. Next on the shopping list are stillettos, eye-patch, whip and fishnet stockings and I'll be set up!!!!!!!!!! Cheers and good vibes, young wan!! :D :D

No problem SirHamish the pervert! :D Hope it works for you. My boyfriend wouldn't notice what I write on this, he's foreign so he wouldn't be interested in this website much :D All the better, think he'd be horrified by my posts on the totty watch thread! :o Ha ha.

27/04/2005, 12:36 AM
Thanks Pete, I'll do that. Just a question, in the past week or so, I've been moved from new signing to apprentice to youth team. What does that mean and how is it worked out. Just curious. Cheers, man. :)

Sweet FA as far as I know! :D No offence adam! :D Just your postings are increasing, more u have , higher position in team, like me! ;)

27/04/2005, 12:38 AM
That link didnt work! :p

No sh!t, Sherlock! :rolleyes: :D :D

27/04/2005, 12:50 AM
[QUOTE=sirhamish]Jesus, I started a question asking for advice on this internet/computer whatyamacallit and a few posts down, the slagging starts! You're all great crack so yes are, so yes are, but very mischiavious.
Hey, Nurse, more tablets please! :D :D

Moi?! :D

M@attitude loves a good slagging, he thrives on it. Don't start the nurse talk again! :rolleyes: :D

27/04/2005, 1:12 AM
I heard about those steriods, that is true what he is saying,, a few other types are the same they just take about 7 months to take effect.

27/04/2005, 1:19 AM
Ok, maybe I better tell you that I was joking incase you're loading up a shotgun or something! :D I don't know about those steroids at all, but I did hear they had such an effect, but I don't know! I am a student but not a student nurse thank God! :eek: Would not be a job for me at all, no way! :D :D

Forgive me , i couldn't resist! :D

27/04/2005, 1:25 AM
Oo-er, he's gonna go apesh!t now! Sorry! Yeah, went a bit off-topic :D :D

M@ttitude
27/04/2005, 3:18 AM
I think Kerrs tribe should go to uncle hamish's for that drink he's talking about.. Filthy talk at all hours..
p.s hamish, most narcotics coz temporary mickey shrinkage (heard from a friend by the way) :ball: :ball:

27/04/2005, 9:09 AM
Replace IE as browser with Firefox (freebie) if want to pretty much eliminate browser spam.

This is also a feature available in IE running on XP with SP2
People are so quick to knock MS products just for the sake of it.
I've been running FireFox and IE for a while now and there is no significant advantage to FireFox.
The whole tabbed windows thing is not enough of a selling point to win me over.

27/04/2005, 9:26 AM
I've been running FireFox and IE for a while now and there is no significant advantage to FireFox.

for an educated view on this, i shall tell ye what to do :D

for daily browsing sirhamish and those dodgy sites you were telling me about before that you go into, use firefox. its simple and easy to use, looks a little more basic than IE. If you however want to use streaming video/tv/radio etc that require plug-ins (latest), but that you know are safe sites then use IE. IE uses approximately 8-10,000kb of virtual memory and sometimes can really slow things up if you have multiple windows open, firefox uses very little however.

27/04/2005, 9:28 AM
forgot to add there, you should get the latest ad-adaware, and if you are using IE, install microsoft anti-spyware.

my pc was fooked with spam, still somewhat is, but i have switched to firefox and its going 90, if i revert back to IE the whole computer freezees if i open more than 2 windows.... :(

27/04/2005, 9:57 AM
my pc was fooked with spam, still somewhat is, but i have switched to firefox and its going 90, if i revert back to IE the whole computer freezees if i open more than 2 windows.... :(

I'll clean it for you.
Should take less than 30 minutes.

27/04/2005, 10:01 AM
I'll clean it for you.

how??

27/04/2005, 10:07 AM
how??

We haven't agreed my fee yet, boy!

27/04/2005, 10:26 AM
i aint paying for something if i doont know how its going to be fixed i.e. will it, not am i....??

hamish
27/04/2005, 4:18 PM
for an educated view on this, i shall tell ye what to do :D

for daily browsing sirhamish and those dodgy sites you were telling me about before that you go into, use firefox. its simple and easy to use, looks a little more basic than IE. If you however want to use streaming video/tv/radio etc that require plug-ins (latest), but that you know are safe sites then use IE. IE uses approximately 8-10,000kb of virtual memory and sometimes can really slow things up if you have multiple windows open, firefox uses very little however.
Hey Paul O'Shea, man, I appreciate all the data and sincerely mean this with no intention of insulting you, but I haven't a fcuking clue what all that above means. Is the IE bit the same as the sirhamish@iolfree.ie - those letters at the end?? I'm relatively new to all this internet thingy and have come up with my own solution to spam. I managed to arrange ALL emails to go directly to DELETE (I think I used the message bit to do this). Then, when I check the emails I slide (you know what I mean, right click/left click) the ones I want into inbox and fcuk all the rest into the delete ether where they belong.
I got three emails for Viagra today - is somebody trying to tell me something?? The prices they charge for all the medicines in the emails were massive, by the way - $200 etc
But, importantly, in the very first post, above, in asking for help, where I mentioned that I was waiting an email from my godson (Shakedown) from China - he came through loud and clear today, with photo attachments and all! He already has a sceal which I'll add after this. Cheers. :confused: :D

27/04/2005, 4:24 PM
'IE' is Internet Explorer, Microsoft's programme for viewing the internet. If you look at the top of your screen, you'll see 'Foot.ie - Outlook express - Microsoft Internet Explorer' if you're using it (more than likely). Paul is suggesting an alternative programme, Firefox, which will do pretty much the same thing.

hamish
27/04/2005, 4:53 PM
Schumi - thanks, man. I'm really sorry to be such a pest about all this but, honest to God, I'm really trying to get the hang of all this siht and it's driving me nuts, to be honest. I'll get there eventually. Thanks to all you decent folks for your incredible patience - I really mean that! :o
By the way, with reference to the godson, I'll load (is that the right word?) the email of place in China where he is. I'm sure some of you folks are interested in Karate - he's doing some class of advanced Karate course there and some of you might like to see the place - he showed me the website before he left. Also, the karate he's doing is called (PHONIC SPELLING) =
**** - ooo - reeeo and he has something called a second dan in it.
So there ya have it - I'll give that sceal he emailed me in a while. Cheers. :)

barglee
27/04/2005, 5:10 PM
dunno if uve solved ur problem.

since outlook is just a program for downloading email from another server u can use another program to access ur email and this blocker program wudnt have any influence over.

if u know the mail server just goto www.mail2web.com and u can access any email account....

hamish
27/04/2005, 5:23 PM
Thanks barglee, I'll make a note of that - and all the other advice. I'm think I'm pretty ok now - as I said, the emails from China came through and I've just sent one back, so something is fcuking working!!!! :D

hamish
29/04/2005, 12:07 AM
Foot.iefriends - contact with the godson is aok now - thanks for all your help. That sceal I mentioned above - he's based near the city of (PHONIC SPELLING) Sigh-Ping. The day after he arrived, Shakedown (that's his nickname) and a couple of Aussies doing the course decided to hire a taxi to that city. Journey was 40 miles each way. TOTAL cost - equivalent of FIVE euros - for 80 miles. Anyway, the lads gave the driver a few "bob" extra in tips and he was so over-joyed that he offered to "introduce" :D them to his daughters. Driver had surprisingly good English, by the way. I'll have the website name of the place Shakedown's in soon - he has only a limited time on the internet in the place so I told him not to rush.