View Full Version : Old Firm - new topic without political references

Gerrit
24/04/2005, 3:17 AM
Okay, let's re-open this as it's still a very important and interesting derby, but let's leave out political references this time and focus on the game.

I predict a 1-1.

Soper
24/04/2005, 4:01 AM
3 - 1 Celtic

Closed Account 2
24/04/2005, 4:13 AM
Is it only on Pay Per View in the UK ?

Soper
24/04/2005, 11:12 AM
yeah, unfortunateley I need money for a gig tomorrow night, so I can't watch it.

24/04/2005, 11:14 AM
I reckon Rangers might scrape it 2-1 :ball:

More realistic is 2-2 :D

24/04/2005, 1:53 PM
3 - 1 Celtic
Had that myself @ 25/1... Think it may have happened if Bellers had of stayed on. Celtic are now SPL champions without a shadow of a doubt!!!! :p

FarBeag
24/04/2005, 2:19 PM
Great result.Well done the Bhoys.

24/04/2005, 2:54 PM
They made it hard for themselves in the 2nd half - couldn't keep hold of the ball. Luckily Rangers scored too late.

Beattie looks an average player.

Bellamy booked for saying a prayer at the corner flag ?? Petrov rightly booked for celebrating in the face of the Rangers supporters.

24/04/2005, 3:33 PM
Oh ye-essssss. Bring it on. Five points and rompin'... :D

I was the only one at my CSC who wasn't worried by a distinctly ordinary Rangers side. Despite that, we did our best to help them back into the game. Ah well. You win some, you lose some. And today was one of the good days. :)

Beattie's not that good, by the way. Unfortunately for him, average seems to be an ambition. Another one bites the dust?

:) PP

Gerrit
24/04/2005, 5:20 PM
Good result, way to go Celts !

The championship seems certain, if now Inverness avoids relegation my two favourites in Scotland did what I hoped for before the season (and seems good so far for both Celtic and ICT)

Eire06
24/04/2005, 5:37 PM
Great stuff enjoyed the match was at the edge of my seat for the last 20 or so mins Rangers looked like they were gona score a good few times..

Fair play to David Marshall top class performance.. Man of the Match for sure :D

24/04/2005, 7:27 PM
Watched it in a 'neutral' pub in glasgow just up the road with my boyfriend, ended up wedged between celtic and rangers supporters :rolleyes: Of course just my luck to sit beside a racist slug of a rangers supporter who did nothing but bleat nasty stuff about Didier and Bobo. He was an old boy too. :eek: The minute he started it, i gave him the evil eye and he seemed quite embarrassed someone had taken notice. He soon stopped thank God. Apart from that, it was a highly entertaining game and it suffered for the loss of craig bellamy, i admire his passion and spirit when he plays, it just fires up the whole team. Pleasure to watch.

Petrov is always a pleasure to watch :D aloha, take me to sofia! ( wish he would get rid of the minging blond hair though :rolleyes: )

Rebal Boy
24/04/2005, 8:11 PM
I only saw the 2nd half of this game. I'm delighted with the result. :D Its great for Martin O'Neill and The Bhoys. They should clinch it next week at home to Hibs in front of their home crowd. Hopefully they will buy new players and go futher in the Champions League next season.

24/04/2005, 8:39 PM
All i saw was Petrov getting hit by plastic cup. I would never condone fans throwing items on the pitch but in that case given the particular tensions of the match IMO Petrov deserved it for celebrating so close to the fans - ref agreed too as i think he booked him.

Fans have responsibilties not to attack players & players have responsibilities not to incite the fans.

boysingreen
24/04/2005, 10:03 PM
Well done by the bhoys. Was almost comical watching the Rangers defense try to cope with Bellamy. Petrov's was a great goal as well. Marshall was amazing. :D :D

See goals here: http://www.celticaction.co.uk/movies/bellamy.wmv

25/04/2005, 9:42 AM
I thought the booking for Bellamy was harsh he maybe is a little **** but did not deserve to be booked in my opinion

Eire06
25/04/2005, 9:48 AM
I thought the booking for Bellamy was harsh he maybe is a little **** but did not deserve to be booked in my opinion

It was totally undeserved...
Petrov shouldn't have got booked either, not like he was pretending to be a flute player or making racist suggestions towards the crowd.. Might as well ban celebrating goals altogether in old firm derby’s..

Rovers Fellow!
25/04/2005, 9:50 AM
Ye almost knew something was gonna happen Petrov when he ran towards Rangers support. Probably shouldnt have done it, but doesnt excuse anyone throwing something at him. Bellamys booking was a joke. Rangers were very disappointing on the day, Celtic got the 2 goals in first half and were reasonably comfortable in second half apart from 1 or 2 moments but Marshall was solid. Felt sorry for Beattie although didnt perform when he came on yesterday, has been very impressive any other time ive seen him.

Hibs4Ever
25/04/2005, 9:52 AM
I only saw the 2nd half of this game. I'm delighted with the result. :D Its great for Martin O'Neill and The Bhoys. They should clinch it next week at home to Hibs in front of their home crowd. Hopefully they will buy new players and go futher in the Champions League next season.

Don't discount the Hibee's just yet :D We're due a win in Glasgow ;)

25/04/2005, 9:53 AM
All i saw was Petrov getting hit by plastic cup. I would never condone fans throwing items on the pitch but in that case given the particular tensions of the match IMO Petrov deserved it for celebrating so close to the fans - ref agreed too as i think he booked him.

Fans have responsibilties not to attack players & players have responsibilities not to incite the fans.

C'mon Pete, there is never any excuse for a cowardly fan to throw something from the crowd at a player. It is horrible. It is not like he was taunting them the way Gazza has done.

Eire06
25/04/2005, 9:54 AM
Don't discount the Hibee's just yet :D We're due a win in Glasgow

he he
Your havin a laugh :D :D :D :D

Hibs4Ever
25/04/2005, 9:56 AM
he he
Your havin a laugh :D :D :D :D

WHY :confused:
Aberdeen and the Jambo's stuffed you's in Parkhead.

25/04/2005, 9:56 AM
IMO Petrov deserved it for celebrating so close to the fans - ref agreed too as i think he booked him.

How the fcuk did he deserve it like!!!!? Of course he shouldn't have celebrated in front of the Rangers fans but by saying he deserved it you ARE condoning it.

Nobody deserves to have anything lobbed at their head for celebrating a goal whether the fans hate each other or not but of course he should've used a bit of common sense and stayed away from that end. I think he realised though because he threw his hands up to the fans by way of apology after getting treatment.

Hibs4Ever
25/04/2005, 10:01 AM

Also, how do you work out Ceptic will win league next weekend against Hibees :confused:

Eire06
25/04/2005, 10:05 AM
WHY :confused:
Aberdeen and the Jambo's stuffed you's in Parkhead.

That was a slight glich and won't be repeated.. They're on top form now, just waitin to get the cup really...

Is Bellamy ok was it just a hamstring injury or something more? Will he be fit to give hibs a good kickin :D

Eire06
25/04/2005, 10:16 AM
On a slightly off topic See both Hartson and Ricksen have to share the SPFA Player award because the vote was a draw :rolleyes: :D :rolleyes:

stickyjoe
25/04/2005, 11:07 AM
petrov was fantastic yesterday. box to box he went for most of the game. hes come a long way from the john barnes days when barnes played him at full back :rolleyes:

he certainly didnt deserve to have something thrown at him, but he did deserve a yellow card. it was the wrong way to go about celebrating an old firm goal. and he acknowledged that himself by raising his hands in apology to the rangers fans

Rebal Boy
25/04/2005, 8:31 PM
Also, how do you work out Ceptic will win league next weekend against Hibees :confused:
If Celtic do beat Hibs in which they should and Rangers don't beat Aberdeen Celtic have it. Rangers don't play til Sunday and Celtic will be 8pts clear by then theirs no way back for Rangers. :D

25/04/2005, 10:32 PM
Just cos Petrovs celebration wasn't as bad as Gazas doesn't make it right. I'd don't approve of him having a cup thrown at him but i do believe he deserved it for his actions. I only saw the incident briefly though.

26/04/2005, 1:21 AM
Just cos Petrovs celebration wasn't as bad as Gazas doesn't make it right. I'd don't approve of him having a cup thrown at him but i do believe he deserved it for his actions. I only saw the incident briefly though.

No matter what a player does, even that prat Gazza, they do not deserve to be physically attacked like that. It is physical abuse whether it is a coin, flare, carton (full of p!ss which it probably was), or whatever. The person who throws such things is nothing but a violent cowardly thug, hiding in the stands, in the 'safety' of the crowd. If only these thugs were as civilised as ice-skating crowds and we'd get soft teddies and flowers thrown instead :D ;) :D :D

Hibs4Ever
26/04/2005, 7:00 AM
If Celtic do beat Hibs in which they should and Rangers don't beat Aberdeen Celtic have it. Rangers don't play til Sunday and Celtic will be 8pts clear by then theirs no way back for Rangers. :D

IF ceptic win this weekend, and rangers lose, that puts ceptic 8 points ahead with 3 games left. Sorry mate, you probably don't know this, but it's THREE points for a win in Scotland, so ceptic won't be champions on Saturday

26/04/2005, 7:05 AM
Son, the name of the club is Celtic. I don't know what they teach you at inter-cert level over there, but if you're representative of the nation as a whole, I'd guess that literacy isn't on the list... :rolleyes:

:ball: PP

Hibs4Ever
26/04/2005, 7:16 AM
Sorry Dad, But it's ok for you ceptic fans to say "the huns" instead of Rangers :confused:

26/04/2005, 7:19 AM
I'm sure that our loyal "friends" will be delighted to see you defending them with such staunch vigour. :rolleyes: And anyway, "you started it"-type arguments really aren't the best way to publicly justify your own petty prejudices.

Hibs4Ever
26/04/2005, 7:22 AM
I'm sure that our loyal "friends" will be delighted to see you defending them with such staunch vigour. :rolleyes: And anyway, "you started it"-type arguments really aren't the best way to publicly justify your own petty prejudices.

Good then, so you DO think it's ok for ceptic fans to have different names for other clubs, but not anyone else. GOOD MAN. :rolleyes:

And PLEASE learn to read the thread title!!!! I don't care about ANYTHING ranger's loyal. I'm a FOOTBALL fan ;)

26/04/2005, 7:27 AM
Good then, so you DO think it's ok for ceptic fans to have different names for other clubs, but not anyone else. GOOD MAN. :rolleyes:

And I said that where exactly? Another crass assumption, S4E. This is about your prejudices - clear for all to see - and not mine.

Bolnoy Bratchny
26/04/2005, 8:45 AM
Sorry Dad, But it's ok for you ceptic fans to say "the huns" instead of Rangers :confused:

The term Huns usually refers to Rangers fans as opposed to the actual team. Its true to say that Celtic fans call Rangers this, amongst other things, but isnt this the case with all football supporters when they are addressing their biggest rivals?? I am sure you have a slag name for your biggest rival (presumably this is Celtic?) Do you also address other British teams with this incredibily intelligent wordplay e.g Arse-nil etc?

Hibs4Ever
26/04/2005, 8:53 AM
The term Huns usually refers to Rangers fans as opposed to the actual team. Its true to say that Celtic fans call Rangers this, amongst other things, but isnt this the case with all football supporters when they are addressing their biggest rivals?? I am sure you have a slag name for your biggest rival (presumably this is Celtic?) Do you also address other British teams with this incredibily intelligent wordplay e.g Arse-nil etc?

NO. WHY ON EARTH WOULD I????? Celtic are known by all Scottish fans outside of Glasgow as Ceptic, as are the jokes about ceptic/rangers fans about bars of soap, and fear of washing. It's all part of the banter in Scottish football. Accept it. ;)

Bolnoy Bratchny
26/04/2005, 9:11 AM
NO. WHY ON EARTH WOULD I????? Celtic are known by all Scottish fans outside of Glasgow as Ceptic, as are the jokes about ceptic/rangers fans about bars of soap, and fear of washing. It's all part of the banter in Scottish football. Accept it. ;)

Just that i thought by looking at the crest on your posts that you were a St. Pats fan! Was wondering why you'd get involved in the "banter in Scottish football" but not then slag off English/Welsh/European sides in the same way?

Hibs4Ever
26/04/2005, 9:20 AM
Just that i thought by looking at the crest on your posts that you were a St. Pats fan! Was wondering why you'd get involved in the "banter in Scottish football" but not then slag off English/Welsh/European sides in the same way?

So because I'm a Saints fan I can't support another club in a different country :confused:

Bolnoy Bratchny
26/04/2005, 9:40 AM
So because I'm a Saints fan I can't support another club in a different country :confused:

Of course you can, i apologise as i see from your previous posts you are a Hibs fan. As a Hibs fan you may have seen the amount of nonsense directed at people who support "foreign teams". I assumed, been half awake and too lazy to read all posts fully, you were one of the large number of people on these boards who commit more energy to hating Celtic etc than supporting their own el team.

Hibs4Ever
26/04/2005, 10:05 AM
Of course you can, i apologise as i see from your previous posts you are a Hibs fan. As a Hibs fan you may have seen the amount of nonsense directed at people who support "foreign teams". I assumed, been half awake and too lazy to read all posts fully, you were one of the large number of people on these boards who commit more energy to hating Celtic etc than supporting their own el team.

No probs, I'm a 500 club member at St Pats and a season ticket holder at Easter Road, so I do commit a lot of time to supporting both clubs :)

sylvo
26/04/2005, 10:20 AM

Maybe that may be part to Rangers being a serious rival, where as Hibs ARE NOT A SERIOUS RIVAL. :D

Hibs4Ever
26/04/2005, 10:27 AM
Maybe that may be part to Rangers being a serious rival, where as Hibs ARE NOT A SERIOUS RIVAL. :D

Then you's shouldn't have a problem so :D

26/04/2005, 12:14 PM
You lot can't even read the title of the the thread now
new topic without political references
This thread is locked, and as of now I'm going to bin EVERY thread that involves Glasgow Celtic and Glasgow Rangers, because some people on this site cannot post on these threads without bringing up their petty political prejudices. If you want to argue Scottish politics, do it on a Scottish site and quit wasting everyone's time.