View Full Version : New crossborder tournament: Unite the Union Champions Cup

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

Mr_Parker
09/11/2019, 8:37 PM
For someone who professes to be interested primarilt in 'facts', I thought this might appeal to you.

Obviously not, instead you offer ambiguous negative opinion - why do you think that the average Linfield attendance is a poor or irrelevant measure?

A one of cup game, a final at that, cannot be compared to league attendances, especially a fixture that involves the top 2 clubs on the island.

sullanefc
10/11/2019, 12:13 AM
A one of cup game, a final at that, cannot be compared to league attendances, especially a fixture that involves the top 2 clubs on the island.

Cannot be compared to a league game alright. This may have been called a final, but it's a glorified friendly IMO. Most fans would be more interested in the bread and butter of winning 3 points in the league IMO.

Steve Bruce
10/11/2019, 7:38 AM
I was actually very disappointed in the quality of both sides. Linfield where very negative and dundalk offered little in offense.

As far as how we where so effective in Europe? well the simple answer to that is we played much much better than Friday.

Let's not kid ourselves here this is a glorified friendly, as our manager said before Friday night, our biggest game in the next 3 matches is Institute. It was highly unlikely Linfield where going to risk adding to our injury list by going all out for 2 meaningless games vs dundalk.

marinobohs
10/11/2019, 9:28 AM
[QUOTE=sullanefc;2022980]Cannot be compared to a league game alright. This may have been called a final, but it's a glorified friendly IMO. Most fans would be more interested in the bread and butter of winning 3 points in the league IMO.[/QUOTE

Rubbish, trophy at stake, very decent prize money, two best teams on the island. It was or should be far more attractive than an average League game.]

marinobohs
10/11/2019, 9:30 AM
I was actually very disappointed in the quality of both sides. Linfield where very negative and dundalk offered little in offense.

As far as how we where so effective in Europe? well the simple answer to that is we played much much better than Friday.

Let's not kid ourselves here this is a glorified friendly, as our manager said before Friday night, our biggest game in the next 3 matches is Institute. It was highly unlikely Linfield where going to risk adding to our injury list by going all out for 2 meaningless games vs dundalk.

Meaningless game = we were outplayed. 😁

Steve Bruce
10/11/2019, 1:07 PM
I don't think we where outplayed although I thought we didn't get out of 2nd gear but each to their own.

marinobohs
10/11/2019, 6:15 PM
I don't think we where outplayed although I thought we didn't get out of 2nd gear but each to their own.
I suspect your enthusiasm (or lack of it) is related to Linfields chances of winning.
Not outplayed TBF but Dundalk were better side.

Kingswood Rover
10/11/2019, 6:35 PM
Nice to see a linfield fan posting keep them coming always good to get different views, Would there be any Linfield fans in favor of combining the 2 leagues.

dundalkfc10
10/11/2019, 10:40 PM
I suspect your enthusiasm (or lack of it) is related to Linfields chances of winning.

Linfield were decent i thought, especially first half. Dundalk loads ball but we never done anything with it.

I think Vinny will go full strength tomorrow night and we will win easily

seand
11/11/2019, 8:11 AM
Enjoyable game, disappointing crowd but that was expected. Much better 2nd half by Dundalk and the sort of passing tempo that was missing last Sunday. Whather that was down to opposition, form, or having Shields back in the side its hard to know. The FT/PT training stuff didnt seem to make a difference. Its still hard to firgure out how Linfield were so effective v Qarbag compared to our own performances against the same opposition looking at the teams tonight. If Hery was a little less sloppy with his pasing he would be playing elsewhere, he does some great stuff and then just switches off or something. All in all there is potential for this champions fixture to grow.

Nesta your PM box is full I can't reply to your message. PM me your email/phone or sort out your inbox ;-)

11/11/2019, 10:28 AM
Nesta your PM box is full I can't reply to your message. PM me your email/phone or sort out your inbox ;-)

Done!

Real ale Madrid
11/11/2019, 11:22 AM

Hardly meaningless if there is €25,000 on the line.

Although I see Larne play Crusaders tonight on Sky in a direct clash with this game. Silly.

Steve Bruce
11/11/2019, 12:13 PM
Nice to see a linfield fan posting keep them coming always good to get different views, Would there be any Linfield fans in favor of combining the 2 leagues.

Their are a number of Linfield fans in favour of an AIL. Whether or not they are in favour of the Lucid AIL is up for debate though.

I can see pros and cons to it. Theirs certainly fixtures I would love to see on a regular basis, the biggest game for me on this island would be Linfield vs Shamrock Rovers.

But then theirs the downsides, for me the one that I can't get past is the sectarianism. I'm not going to come on here and blast Dundalk as a club or their fan base, but their was a sizable amount made the journey to Belfast with the sole purpose to stir up a sectarian pot. Linfield supporters where not completely innocent either may I add, but I do believe that if the chants from the Dundalk end where focused on football chants, their wouldn't have been a reaction, not that, that's an excuse either.

Linfield have tried very hard and we have all but eradicated the sectarian element in our support and the last thing Linfield football club needs is to be dragged back..

Anyway, I know I'm going on with myself here, I'm sure people will see it much differently, but as a supporter of Linfield, All I want is whats best for Linfield and for me personally, I feel an AIL isn't the best thing for Linfield right this minute in time, although I'm not writing off an AIL in the future.

Steve Bruce
11/11/2019, 12:17 PM

Dundalk are the best side on this island, my lack of enthusiasm is because we are now 3 games behind in our league coming into the christmas period. It's nothing to do with if we get beat or not. I like Linfield to test themselves against top teams, but the timing of this couldn't be worse. It really isn't that important to us, although it's nice to win, but it wont define our season one way or another.

Steve Bruce
11/11/2019, 12:20 PM
Hardly meaningless if there is €25,000 on the line.

Although I see Larne play Crusaders tonight on Sky in a direct clash with this game. Silly.

Our domestic football should not be changed because of a friendly 2 legged game between our legs. Money is great, but that doesn't give the game any automatic prestige. If the Co Antrim shield got a massive sponsor and their was 1M for the winners, yes the clubs will take it seriously, but the fans wont be going out in their droves just because of the big money. It's still a low prestige competition.

Real ale Madrid
11/11/2019, 12:41 PM
Our domestic football should not be changed because of a friendly 2 legged game between our legs. Money is great, but that doesn't give the game any automatic prestige. If the Co Antrim shield got a massive sponsor and their was 1M for the winners, yes the clubs will take it seriously, but the fans wont be going out in their droves just because of the big money. It's still a low prestige competition.

I totally agree with you. just Bizarre that the UTUCP Final would be scheduled to clash with another league game. Makes no sense.

Ezeikial
11/11/2019, 1:14 PM
But then theirs the downsides, for me the one that I can't get past is the sectarianism. I'm not going to come on here and blast Dundalk as a club or their fan base, but their was a sizable amount made the journey to Belfast with the sole purpose to stir up a sectarian pot. Linfield supporters where not completely innocent either may I add, but I do believe that if the chants from the Dundalk end where focused on football chants, their wouldn't have been a reaction, not that, that's an excuse either.

Sectarianism in all its forms is repulsive and should not be tolerated. While I was embarrassed and annoyed by some of the chanting on Friday night, I was also encouraged by the negative reactions of many of the Dundalk fans to the worst of these from within the away support. Ditto for Vinny Perths reactions during the match and his post match comments

I don't think it is particularly helpful or accurate to make the accusation that a "sizable amount made the journey to Belfast with the sole purpose to stir up a sectarian pot", nor is reasonable to give all Linfield supporters a relatively free pass - particularly those who came with the Parachute Regiment flag or the Israeli flag.

Most who made the journey to Belfast were primarily focused on supporting their team; for some a misguided aspect of this is to try to get a verbal reaction from opposition fans, rather than it being naked sectarianism. It does not make it excusable or okay in any way, but less attention should be given to a handful of headcases out for a reaction

As a club Linfield have done remarkable work in trying to tackle sectarianism among it's own supporters and despite plenty of high profile incidents and several fines along the way, have made a lot of progress. However the problem clearly still exists

Tonight may be a bigger test for the maturity of both sets of supporters

11/11/2019, 1:44 PM
Sectarianism is still rife in this country.

Many people cry foul the minute James McClean is called out for not wearing a poppy, but many of the same people have no issue calling Alan Mannus an 'orange ba$tard' because he didn't turn around during the anthem in Lansdowne road.

You only had to look at the average comment section on social media of the Linfield v Dundalk game the other night to see the issue exists in massive quantity here.

It was fantastic to hear of Dundalk fans and coaches reaction to chanting in the stand, but there's large numbers defending it online too. Likewise Linfield and their flags, a clear swipe at Dundalk fans. Sectarianism only works one way for some, and it's disgusting and doesn't belong on any street in this country.

EatYerGreens
11/11/2019, 6:07 PM
Any streams kicking around for tonight ?

11/11/2019, 6:46 PM
Easy for aDundalk so far.

Dundalk fans "You're only here for your passports".;)

Kingswood Rover
11/11/2019, 6:53 PM
Sectarianism is not anywhere near as bad as even 20 years ago listening to shed is embarrassing the fact that this game is being played in a pretty much run of the mill manner is testament to that.

mrtndvn
11/11/2019, 6:58 PM
Sectarianism is still rife in this country.

Many people cry foul the minute James McClean is called out for not wearing a poppy, but many of the same people have no issue calling Alan Mannus an 'orange ba$tard' because he didn't turn around during the anthem in Lansdowne road.

You only had to look at the average comment section on social media of the Linfield v Dundalk game the other night to see the issue exists in massive quantity here.

It was fantastic to hear of Dundalk fans and coaches reaction to chanting in the stand, but there's large numbers defending it online too. Likewise Linfield and their flags, a clear swipe at Dundalk fans. Sectarianism only works one way for some, and it's disgusting and doesn't belong on any street in this country.

The two issues are completely different.

Mannus realised he made a mistake and said sorry, should be the end of it.

11/11/2019, 7:00 PM
Looked like John Gill was apologising at HT there likely for the chants from the shed. Embaressing stuff!!! As Steve Bruce says above huge effort has gone in to combating sectarian chanting in the IL but we are decades behind. Many will not even realise the significance of their chanting which is sad in itself, almost like they think it the done thing. These are people that used to chant about the 'Mushahalee' as thats what they thought they heard in the past...

Steve Bruce
11/11/2019, 7:15 PM
Sectarianism in all its forms is repulsive and should not be tolerated. While I was embarrassed and annoyed by some of the chanting on Friday night, I was also encouraged by the negative reactions of many of the Dundalk fans to the worst of these from within the away support. Ditto for Vinny Perths reactions during the match and his post match comments

I don't think it is particularly helpful or accurate to make the accusation that a "sizable amount made the journey to Belfast with the sole purpose to stir up a sectarian pot", nor is reasonable to give all Linfield supporters a relatively free pass - particularly those who came with the Parachute Regiment flag or the Israeli flag.

Most who made the journey to Belfast were primarily focused on supporting their team; for some a misguided aspect of this is to try to get a verbal reaction from opposition fans, rather than it being naked sectarianism. It does not make it excusable or okay in any way, but less attention should be given to a handful of headcases out for a reaction

As a club Linfield have done remarkable work in trying to tackle sectarianism among it's own supporters and despite plenty of high profile incidents and several fines along the way, have made a lot of progress. However the problem clearly still exists

Tonight may be a bigger test for the maturity of both sets of supporters

I purposely said sizable and not majority and from the South stand it wasn't evident that anyone shouted them down but fair play to those that did (wasn't evident because of the distance, not that I don't believe you). I also noticed your manager waving his arms to cut the crap.

The para flag is antagonistic to some, I agree. No need for it to be their.

I seen both Israeli and palistinion along with a D Coy IRA flag.

All these things regardless of who have them are not needed at football games and once more not welcome at Windsor Park.

Linfield is such a mix of all backgrounds, the days of linfield being a protestant club for protestant people is long gone. Obviously we can force other backgrounds to support us but the makeup of the club is very different to 30 years ago.

Well done dundalk for winning tonight

joey B
11/11/2019, 7:35 PM
Audible IRA chants from Dundalk fans really isn't a good look...

11/11/2019, 7:42 PM
It's a free for all this evening, a sanction free for all?

mrtndvn
11/11/2019, 7:43 PM

Embarrassment.

Its a shame a stand wasn't taken by the Dundalk players/management.

11/11/2019, 7:51 PM
I would expect that Vinny Perth will be very critical of any chanting in his post match interviews. It is a pity that we are not just talking about the football!!

D24Saint
11/11/2019, 7:52 PM

It sadly comes as no surprise that morons unfortunately follow football.

dong
11/11/2019, 7:54 PM
Depressing to hear those chants.

Kiki Balboa
11/11/2019, 7:55 PM
Lads, get over the faux outrage.

mrtndvn
11/11/2019, 7:57 PM
I would expect that Vinny Perth will be very critical of any chanting in his post match interviews. It is a pity that we are not just talking about the football!!

Appears to be celebrating with them.

Kiki Balboa
11/11/2019, 8:11 PM
Shock, horror,.... Dundalk, a place where Gerry Adams tops the poll, has a nationlist element. Also disgraceful that there are Palestinian flags in the ground.......

You swear their was a riot the way people go on. Worse happens on a Saturday night in Belfast.

You can't rail against sanatisation of football, then complain when people have their opinions. FFS, Dundalks singing section is the "mujahideen". Dundalk FC is as much a product of its community as Linfield is.

Bring your sanctimonous nature to Rugby if you want to pretend that everyone gets along.... I bet everyone complaining here had their posts typed out before kick off....

11/11/2019, 8:20 PM
Dundalks singing section is the "mujahideen".

Ask any of them why, how or even to pronounce it never mind spell it. In equal measure that you think people shouldnt comment you are able to disagree and entitled to your opinion. I for one think there is no need to stoop to chanting about a paramilitary organisation or derogatory chanting on a nationality. I still have no doubt that Dundalk management led by Perth will comment subsequently on what is inappropriate chanting from a different era!

dundalkfc10
11/11/2019, 8:28 PM
Ask any of them why, how or even to pronounce it never mind spell it. In equal measure that you think people shouldnt comment you are able to disagree and entitled to your opinion. I for one think there is no need to stoop to chanting about a paramilitary organisation or derogatory chanting on a nationality. I still have no doubt that Dundalk management led by Perth will comment subsequently on what is inappropriate chanting from a different era!

Was always going to happen, some of the clowns were boasting on twitter about it after Friday night

mrtndvn
11/11/2019, 8:30 PM
Shock, horror,.... Dundalk, a place where Gerry Adams tops the poll, has a nationlist element. Also disgraceful that there are Palestinian flags in the ground.......

You swear their was a riot the way people go on. Worse happens on a Saturday night in Belfast.

You can't rail against sanatisation of football, then complain when people have their opinions. FFS, Dundalks singing section is the "mujahideen". Dundalk FC is as much a product of its community as Linfield is.

Bring your sanctimonous nature to Rugby if you want to pretend that everyone gets along.... I bet everyone complaining here had their posts typed out before kick off....

You might think that's acceptable, but you clearly don't have to deal with the ramifications of it.

Some of us are from an area of the Island where Irish people have been discriminated against for years. Where are now facing a huge challenge in Brexit, where things will most certainly get worse for those areas, and if you think nights like tonight will encourage the unionist people to a new or united ireland, it won't.

Some of us are trying to move on and improve parts of this island that need it most. This **** is most unhelpful.

Never mind a new Ireland, even a basic AIL is hugely damaged by tonight.

dong
11/11/2019, 8:32 PM

No it is a bit depressing. I'm not outraged by it particularly and I've very little interest in rugby.

Kiki Balboa
11/11/2019, 8:36 PM

I agree, if my son was doing that, he would get a slap across the ears. Many people from the Town suffered, and had their lives ruined because of the IRA...

...But Lets not Blow things out of porportion. This was always going to happen. There is the element of it in Dundalk, and because the football club is so close to the community, it shows up in Oriel as well.
No-one was hurt, no pitch invasions. There was worse behaviour at the some final few league games for other teams.

People just want to be offended......

marinobohs
11/11/2019, 8:56 PM
No place in football, but it's a minority of morons at a highly sensitive (given history) match. A few gob****es that should know better and a bunch of kids mimicking them.
Let's stay real, work to be done, a lot of it, but it's a long ling way from the Tyler's All Ireland Cup days.

sparky12345678
11/11/2019, 8:57 PM
I agree, if my son was doing that, he would get a slap across the ears. Many people from the Town suffered, and had their lives ruined because of the IRA...

...But Lets not Blow things out of porportion. This was always going to happen. There is the element of it in Dundalk, and because the football club is so close to the community, it shows up in Oriel as well.
No-one was hurt, no pitch invasions. There was worse behaviour at the some final few league games for other teams.

People just want to be offended......

Ah like its a bit of both... i mean simpsons memes can be funny and some argue they are a reflection of an average irish outlook but sometimes this whole "feckin' tans" thing gets a bit much/tired.
Its not a surprise. And these things happen alot in football all across Europe, sometimes it adds to the edge and sometimes its taken too far. We all have different limits, and different definition of what a RA song is etc but ultimately people are looking to be provocative and looking for a reaction from both sides. Sometimes we can shrug it off and boo them down but sometimes it still needs to be pointed out. The Para flag or the Israeli/palestinian flags are signs of more organised "sectarianism" than just getting carried away with a chant or two...but yea I mean as pointed out with Brexit and this talk of a united league our "bigger/better" league maybe needs to also be considerate of their concerns etc

11/11/2019, 9:18 PM
Whether it was always going to happen, that it is no surprise, that worse happens elsewhere, that there is an element in Dundalk and the football club is an extension of community, it doesnt mean that it isnt embaressing, a sad reflection of the mindest of some. In the grand scheme of things of course it wasnt catastrophic. But it could make potential investors in an AIL think twice never mind the clubs etc. It doesnt look good for Dundalk FC whether people were ready to pounce in advance or not. Disappointment is more how it feels than (faux) outrage. It would be remiss of level headed fans not to speak out rather than condone by saying nothing or make excuses either. Linfield fan by contrast werent riled in to responding with their own chants albeit maybe the scoreline had taken the sting out of things for them. There is a whole load of work that needs to be done prior to an AIL and it isnt on finances or European places!!

Johnnie C
11/11/2019, 9:39 PM
Well done Dundalk. How did Linfield run Qarabag so close, they were dreadful.

Johnnie C
11/11/2019, 9:44 PM
You might think that's acceptable, but you clearly don't have to deal with the ramifications of it.

Some of us are from an area of the Island where Irish people have been discriminated against for years. Where are now facing a huge challenge in Brexit, where things will most certainly get worse for those areas, and if you think nights like tonight will encourage the unionist people to a new or united ireland, it won't.

Some of us are trying to move on and improve parts of this island that need it most. This **** is most unhelpful.

Never mind a new Ireland, even a basic AIL is hugely damaged by tonight.

Cop on. A basic AIL might have been damaged by how awful Linfield were. And they're the best that league has to offer.
🙄🙄

mrtndvn
11/11/2019, 9:52 PM
Cop on. A basic AIL might have been damaged by how awful Linfield were. And they're the best that league has to offer.
����

Everyone with a brain realises that the IL is way behind the LOI. They point of an AIL league is that with combined resources we are better than we should be apart. With DAZN about to launch in the UK and Ireland, there was an opportunity with a new exciting product, with a larger catchment area that would process a goal of professional football on the Island.

We need to convince a large majority IL fans to give up their part-time comforts and put the effort in to professionalise football. I doubt too many would-be bothered if they are listening to IRA chants every week, and I hardly blame them.

Ezeikial
11/11/2019, 10:14 PM
I must be missing something!

I was concerned about the potential for sectarian and provocative chanting, flags, banners etc tonight, but I neither saw nor heard anything that was offensive. Admittedly I was in the stand on the other side of the ground from the more raucous shed side and was perhaps slightly distracted by the quality of the Dundalk display

But from reading the discussion on this thread it seems that the level and ferocity of abuse was so severe that it overshadows all reference to the football on display and has greatly offended many sensitive football fans on this forum.

Anxious to fill in the gaps, I checked some media reports to read some impartial reports on this crowd misbehaviour. Heck I even looked for some partial ones from the more sensationalist media. Amazingly all I could find were reports that detailed the magnificent performance by Dundalk in the 6-0 win.

I really need to be more observant and pay more attention to the important details.

mrtndvn
11/11/2019, 10:26 PM
I must be missing something!

I was concerned about the potential for sectarian and provocative chanting, flags, banners etc tonight, but I neither saw nor heard anything that was offensive. Admittedly I was in the stand on the other side of the ground from the more raucous shed side and was perhaps slightly distracted by the quality of the Dundalk display

But from reading the discussion on this thread it seems that the level and ferocity of abuse was so severe that it overshadows all reference to the football on display and has greatly offended many sensitive football fans on this forum.

Anxious to fill in the gaps, I checked some media reports to read some impartial reports on this crowd misbehaviour. Heck I even looked for some partial ones from the more sensationalist media. Amazingly all I could find were reports that detailed the magnificent performance by Dundalk in the 6-0 win.

I really need to be more observant and pay more attention to the important details.

It was very apparent on TV. I would be surprised if the other stand didn't hear it as at one point a different section on Dundalk fans tried to boo it out.

Ezeikial
11/11/2019, 10:30 PM
It was very apparent on TV. I would be surprised if the other stand didn't hear it as at one point a different section on Dundalk fans tried to boo it out.

Be as surprised as you like - I have already told you that I did not hear anything from the main stand, although it's well possible that others with keener hearing did.

BTW, I don't doubt you or others who said there was offensive chanting.

White Horse
11/11/2019, 10:35 PM

I was in the main stand also and could hear very little from the Shed. They were quieter than usual.

I think I heard a variation of the "We know what we are, Champions of Ireland etc" at one point. It sounded like "You know what you are. You're Irish. You know what you are." Certainly the Linfield officials close to me in the stand were laughing at that one.

Ezeikial
11/11/2019, 10:38 PM
The political pontification on social media is verging on the absurd. One chap even thinks that the NIFL can sort out these issues for us

It's pretty clear that the LOI needs the NIFL to sort out our growing issues.
https://twitter.com/mrtndvn1/status/1193997125396369415

Surely thats not you mrtndvn?

Ezeikial
11/11/2019, 10:43 PM
In other news

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EJIR_ugXkAApvHc?format=jpg&name=small