View Full Version : Weekend Games 3-4 May

Pages : 1 [2] 3

placid casual
04/05/2019, 11:20 AM
Being a classless cvnt and a Rovers legend are not mutually exclusive then?
The only classless cvnts are the ones singing a song praising a known sex predator.
And you'll be losing your manager soon as well. 😜

Jack B
04/05/2019, 11:28 AM
Interestinb tidbit of information didn’t know LOB was his assistant at Bray, he is a very experienced coach.

We offered him the job too but lowballed him and he turned it down. Looking like a bit of an oversight at the moment...

04/05/2019, 12:02 PM
Jesus Christ. Losing to Harps is bad, but this is a hammering

I remember chatting to a few of you after the Belfield game and you said it had been coming, performances had been good and that combined with us being bad on the night made it a very one sided affair. Last night was the same but in reverse.

Harps were solid and UCD resorted to launching it at times, on the counter and in general we were excellent and played some great football. We probably should have been out of sight a lot sooner.

Massive relief for us to find a bit of form, we needed it as morale at the club was on the floor and attendances were tanking completely.

Bohs11
04/05/2019, 12:37 PM
Funnily enough, not being cute and mastering the dark arts is something I've criticised Cork City for over the years. Interesting that you think we are good at it.

Oh it was definitely there alright. Masters at it.

You were the most cynical, cheating team I've seen all season, last night.

White Horse
04/05/2019, 12:43 PM
Dundalk should have been home and hosed after going two up. I'd forgive the first goal, but the second was slack defending. Toal leaving his man unmarked, poor stuff.

The penalty, according to Dundalk fans we were chatting to afterwards, was for a handball. Despite being the closest to it, we'd no idea what it was for.

Dundalk made a real effort after the equaliser, you wouldn't have known they were a goal down. We were glad to see the final whistle.

On the ref (Rob Hennessey), I thought he was grand, up until after we had our penalty.
Dundalk, Shamrock Rovers, and Cork are great at drawing a foul when there's one going. We aren't, we probably need to be cuter.
After the penalty, the ref bought everything Dundalk went for. There must have been a dozen odd frees in a row he gave to Dundalk. This isn't something I have noticed with Dundalk in previous seasons, but there was a bit of off the ball fouling, which occasionally got called out, usually wasn't. Interesting change from the Kenny era.

Happy with the result from the Derry end. This time last year, we'd have lost that by four or five. A bit of heart has come back.

On Oriel, the new toilets were open. No hot water or hand towels, but there was heating.
The chip van has upgraded their produce, a serious contender for best chips in the league, especially considering the sad decline of the Finn Park away side van.
Best of all, no holding us in after the game for 10 minutes, and no gardaí with the dogs.
Restore access to the bar, and you almost forgive the fact you can't see the nearside, left hand corner area of the pitch from the away section.

Looking at the RTE highlights, it was not given for a handball, seems to be given for holding but there was no obvious foul viable in the footage. Even if there was a foul, I fail to see what the yellow card offence was.

I though the ref was deplorable all game. He blew up constantly, would not play advantage (when there was a clear advantage), and allowed persistent fouling to go unchecked. he was out of the depth, he should go back to schoolboy games for more experience and training.

Dundalk were very poor and didn't deserve three points but should have seen the game out when 2-0 up.

RathfarnhamHoop
04/05/2019, 1:23 PM
Looking at the RTE highlights, it was not given for a handball, seems to be given for holding but there was no obvious foul viable in the footage. Even if there was a foul, I fail to see what the yellow card offence was.

I though the ref was deplorable all game. He blew up constantly, would not play advantage (when there was a clear advantage), and allowed persistent fouling to go unchecked. he was out of the depth, he should go back to schoolboy games for more experience and training.

Dundalk were very poor and didn't deserve three points but should have seen the game out when 2-0 up.

Seems to have been given for a push, hard to see if there is one as the camera pans just as whatever happened happened but the ref is right there and a push isn't exactly something that he could really get wrong from that distance. The lack of appeals could be put down to the decision being made immediately and once he makes that decision he has to give a yellow really.

trevy
04/05/2019, 2:12 PM
Great win for Waterford away at St Pats. It was my first visit to Richmond Park and an enjoyable one with the Blues fans in fine voice in 2nd half with a few chants directed at St Pats over the Europa League controversy. First half was even enough with not many chances. Akinade came on and scored his 2nd goal in 4 games off the bench after a nice move. Elbouzidi made it 2 with a good finish soon after. Pats pressed for a goal back and had a few chances but Waterford broke away to get number 3 with Drinan.

ToberonaTornado
04/05/2019, 2:38 PM

Hennessey was awful alright.In a game that wasn't dirty(as dirty goes) he somehow managed to book 6 players(4,Derry 2 Dlk) and send 1 off. 'Hennessey roulette' anytime he whistled for what he deemed to be a foul in 50/50 clashes(most of which weren't fouls at all);who's going to get this one? Making it up as he went along it seemed! He's terrible.

sullanefc
04/05/2019, 3:06 PM
You were the most cynical, cheating team I've seen all season, last night.
I'm delighted.

marinobohs
04/05/2019, 4:05 PM
Funnily enough, not being cute and mastering the dark arts is something I've criticised Cork City for over the years. Interesting that you think we are good at it.

Oh it was definitely there alright. Masters at it.

Worst display of time wasting ever at Dalymount, Cork were embarrassing.
Very tepid performance from Bohs looked leggy and lacked any zip. Cork scored off a free kick and played 11 behind the ball after that. They defended well but Bohs were limited and never got at them. Maybe the busy recent schedule caught up with us or maybe it was an off day but definitely our worst performance for a while.

04/05/2019, 6:55 PM
Interestinb tidbit of information didn’t know LOB was his assistant at Bray, he is a very experienced coach.

speaking of the devil where is LOB now?

04/05/2019, 6:59 PM
Shels dominated Cabinteely last night on that car park pitch, a game that one sided normally would have resulted in a 3 goal win but no Shels can't finish the ball into the net and lose, an embarrassment to lose that game.

Longford were my title favourites before the season and barring a collapse it's there for the taking. I don't see Cabinteely as serious contenders, the inexperienced managers of Shels and Bray are struggling, Drogheda are going backwards and the mess going on in Limerick should rule them out

barring an injury to conor kenna I am really believing that this could be our season to make up for the disappointment of last year. mcglade isnt missed one bit. stacey is a superb GK. Mick McDonnell and Kenna are some partnership.We should beat Cabo as our home form is excellent but I am well used to chaos and disappointment so I expect a sting in the tail!

White Horse
04/05/2019, 8:26 PM
Some game in Sligo by the sound of things. Rovers 2-1 up.

The Lilywhites
04/05/2019, 8:46 PM
Great win for Sligo.

3 losses in 4 for Bradley. How long before the Rovers supporters turn on him again?!

Ezeikial
04/05/2019, 8:47 PM
Strap in for the excuses..

I'm all buckled up.

1 win in 4 now. Meltdown is happening sooner than expected

placid casual
04/05/2019, 8:57 PM
Not the best game. stream was a nightmare to watch,

Our rivals for the league also lost at the weekend , so no ground lost I suppose.

dong
04/05/2019, 9:06 PM
New low for the pigs. Escaped to attack the players.

redarmyfaction
04/05/2019, 9:08 PM
Blantant handball assist for Greene's goal, ref seen it too, I suppose he can't do the no celebration v former clubs he played for them all, but taunting the home support is bit much. Tramps on the pitch , throwing bottles as per usual.

red bellied
04/05/2019, 9:29 PM
I got a volley of spit aimed at me through the railings that divide the showgrounds from road. The mongrel was in his fifties. Anyone that encroached the pitch tonight should get an example made of them and a month in jail. They get off too soft when they come to Sligo.

marinobohs
04/05/2019, 9:56 PM
Not the best game. stream was a nightmare to watch,

Our rivals for the league also lost at the weekend , so no ground lost I suppose.
Can you feel it slip away ?

MattB11
04/05/2019, 10:03 PM
Big opportunity blown for Rovers after last night's 2 results

mcgonigle
04/05/2019, 10:08 PM
Can you feel it slip away ?

No no, Rovers aren't in a title race and never have been. Just happy to take part.

oriel
04/05/2019, 10:13 PM
Absolutely agree with posts from last night. Dundalk didn't deserve to win.

The result in Sligo makes it interesting though. I didn't see that coming. I think Dundalk can go top on GD if we beat Bohs on Friday (tough) but they'll be thinking they will also want to get closer to Rovers.

What's not up for debate is this. It's a fantastic open league this season !

Nah Nah Nah Nah
04/05/2019, 10:37 PM
We've managed to beat Dundalk and Shams at home yet were played off the pitch by UCD there and needed a last minute penalty to get a point against Harps

3 brilliant goals tonight.

We need to figure out some way of not having Shams fans cause hassle pretty much everytime they turn up.

Yossarian
04/05/2019, 10:45 PM

Despite a poor showing from Dundalk last night, we drew and gained a point on rovers at the end of this round of fixtures. If we win our game in hand on a Friday we’ll go top. Not bad considering we were 13 points off Rovers when we lost to Sligo three weeks ago.

redarmyfaction
04/05/2019, 10:53 PM
I got a volley of spit aimed at me through the railings that divide the showgrounds from road. The mongrel was in his fifties. Anyone that encroached the pitch tonight should get an example made of them and a month in jail. They get off too soft when they come to Sligo.

Hape of fat ****e waking Maugheraboy direction shouldering into an ould fella as we were walking down, his mate laughing. There is better pedigrees on the side of the road surrounded by batteries than some(most) what they bring down here. At least the minks can blame the lead for the mental degradation.

It seems to me that for many of them, it's more about other people being unhappy than taking joy in the thing itself.

redarmyfaction
04/05/2019, 11:03 PM
We've managed to beat Dundalk and Shams at home yet were played off the pitch by UCD there and needed a last minute penalty to get a point against Harps

3 brilliant goals tonight.

We need to figure out some way of not having Shams fans cause hassle pretty much everytime they turn up.
It's not hard, Dale Farm officials watch who is coming in and make sure the ****e is refused, common practice elsewhere. I have a feeling that the utter dregs make a point of coming here.

Also it must be said that the spotty youths from our singing section ran down to taunt the Farm . I would be having a word with those guys and offering bans to recidivists.
Great to see the league on the up after all the years in the desert but one incident could put us back years.

The Lilywhites
04/05/2019, 11:35 PM
Rovers fans shout the loudest about Dundalk's away facilities. Is it any wonder the club kept the toilets closed for their visit last week.

Animals should be locked up in a cage.

Hope they kept their 'Enough is Enough' flag somewhere safe.

A 13 point lead wiped out within 3 weeks and they'll drop to 2nd next week, even Bradley has outdone himself with this one.

https://inpho.ie/cache/inpho/aa/9c/f4/127f1adcb77ed3ac6a657e70fe9aa611e09b1efcd7/INPHO_01545036.jpg

joey B
05/05/2019, 12:17 AM
Keaneys free kick was top drawer,great strike!Rovers have missed a couple of opportunities but I don't think this Dundalk team are the animal they were,last night's dropped points,losing a 2 goal lead at home wouldn't have happened under Kenny,plenty of twists and turns to come.......

ToberonaTornado
05/05/2019, 2:02 AM
Keaneys free kick was top drawer,great strike!Rovers have missed a couple of opportunities but I don't think this Dundalk team are the animal they were,last night's dropped points,losing a 2 goal lead at home wouldn't have happened under Kenny,plenty of twists and turns to come.......

Hard task for any manager to take over @ Dundalk espc after & from the legendary SK.
VP has done alright so far and we're expecting more from him.
We've lost only 2 games under him.The loss in Sligo was a horrible one,no excuses for that one,Dundalk awful that night.The v Pats loss was unlucky(Dundalk the better side on the night) an og scuppered us that night.
We're not far off turning the draws into wins either & We're still playing good football.
Perth's a determined lad and he'll come good imo.

Ezeikial
05/05/2019, 7:30 AM

This has been said many times during the Stephen Kenny period.

Dundalk had the identical number of points at this stage last season.

Time will tell

White Horse
05/05/2019, 9:16 AM

Good luck with that. Most clubs have their share of teenagers who have yet to grow up and fancy themselves as the centre of attention.

However, Rovers are the only club with 50 year old who behave as utter scumbags. The club seem to tolerate them.

It is what sets Shamrock Rovers apart from everyone else.

ToberonaTornado
05/05/2019, 11:24 AM
Rovers fans shout the loudest about Dundalk's away facilities. Is it any wonder the club kept the toilets closed for their visit last week.

Animals should be locked up in a cage.

Hope they kept their 'Enough is Enough' flag somewhere safe.

A 13 point lead wiped out within 3 weeks and they'll drop to 2nd next week, even Bradley has outdone himself with this one.

https://inpho.ie/cache/inpho/aa/9c/f4/127f1adcb77ed3ac6a657e70fe9aa611e09b1efcd7/INPHO_01545036.jpg

The scum of the earth aren't even fit.
Three layered bulb head has a problem over a screamer goal.
Imagine going all the way to Sligo to end up in clink.......

joey B
05/05/2019, 11:34 AM
Good luck with that. Most clubs have their share of teenagers who have yet to grow up and fancy themselves as the centre of attention.

However, Rovers are the only club with 50 year old who behave as utter scumbags. The club seem to tolerate them.

They must choose certain games to go to,any Rovers fans I've come across in Ballybofey have been sound as a pound , drinking in pubs across the town not a hint of bother.

redarmyfaction
05/05/2019, 12:38 PM

I surprised the fat happy of ****e could climb the wall, what an embarrassment. If the league is to continue to make progress these ****e have to be eradicated the cringe factor alone demands it.

redarmyfaction
05/05/2019, 12:41 PM

There is no direct bus to yeer side, the concept of a transfer is too complicated for them to make it up.

PartySaint
05/05/2019, 1:38 PM

Bohs do as well tbf. I think the top brass at both clubs enjoy having that element attached to them, it definitely helps them big up the derby.

oriel
05/05/2019, 2:54 PM
I don't think this Dundalk team are the animal they were,last night's dropped points,losing a 2 goal lead at home wouldn't have happened under Kenny,plenty of twists and turns to come.......

Maybe not and I was reading this am it was the first time in almost 20 years it happened at home in league game, but Derry beat Dundalk 3-1 under Kenny in oriel park in 2013.

Two top quality strikes btw from Sligo last night.

oriel
05/05/2019, 2:59 PM
They must choose certain games to go to,any Rovers fans I've come across in Ballybofey have been sound as a pound , drinking in pubs across the town not a hint of bother.

Saturday night games in Sligo gives a bigger opportunity for away fans to be ‘tired and emotional’ by the time they arrive over !

desaintsno.12
05/05/2019, 3:47 PM
Kenny Signed a lot of them and is also meant to be the one getting the most from all players. We are massively under performing and thats down to the spoofer Kenny. It was a bit move to give him the job, its time to correct it ASAP. Still plenty of points to play for if we can get a decent manager in.
Kenny is in way over his head and clueless.

The Lilywhites
05/05/2019, 4:06 PM
Maybe not and I was reading this am it was the first time in almost 20 years it happened at home in league game, but Derry beat Dundalk 3-1 under Kenny in oriel park in 2013.

Derry drew 2-2 in Oriel Park last year too, came from behind twice. They were 3-0 down here last season in the second game and came back to 3-2 when Dundalk fell asleep. It's a bit unfair on Perth to say it wouldn't have happened under Kenny.

Duffy was terrible for the first goal and cost us 2 points.

Dalymountrower
05/05/2019, 5:40 PM
Bohs do as well tbf. I think the top brass at both clubs enjoy having that element attached to them, it definitely helps them big up the derby.
To be fair??? Top brass??
What a ridiculous comment.What has any of last night's behaviour to do with Bohs?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
05/05/2019, 7:42 PM
Bohs brought more to The Showgrounds this season and there’s never been any trouble with them when they come to town that I can recall

marinobohs
05/05/2019, 8:14 PM

Long time since there was trouble at Bohs - even when Cork came to visit 😁 Maybe Pats like their scum to big up games against Cork (since nobody in Dublin takes them seriously)

ToberonaTornado
05/05/2019, 8:36 PM
Dundalk have been very progressive on the banning of supporters.

A softly-softly approach was employed at 1st with so called banned fans allowed to sit in the main stand "under supervision" - didn't workout properly.After sometime,the supervision was relaxed and the same banned supporters were able to return the shed :( no photos of them were available to people at turnstiles/controlled entry points)

Not good enough.

Following a supporter breach incident v Cork Dundalk issued 3 & 2 year banning notices to 16 scumbags with the message -,do not come to Oriel or anywhere near or you'll be arrested.
The scumbag level here has dropped all of a sudden!

redarmyfaction
05/05/2019, 9:44 PM
Bohs brought more to The Showgrounds this season and there’s never been any trouble with them when they come to town that I can recall

Not in living memory have Boh's brought anyone anything to Sligo except a highly developed sense of inebriation and sometimes some great singing. Same for the other clubs too they are always to be happy when they travel here.

joey B
05/05/2019, 10:38 PM
Be interesting to find out the last time Bohs,Shels,Pats,Rovers and UCD lost on the same weekend?!

Dalymountrower
06/05/2019, 8:57 AM
Be interesting to find out the last time Bohs,Shels,Pats,Rovers and UCD lost on the same weekend?!
Or none of the top five winning?

joey B
06/05/2019, 4:53 PM
Check out Keith Cowans pass for Harps first goal,Jack Byrne or Keith Ward played it they'd be creaming over it!

marinobohs
06/05/2019, 7:19 PM
Or none of the top five winning?
Think it's good for the League. We all want a competitive League where every match has an element of unpredictability.
Delighted to see Harps get a win (no offence to UCD). It has been a tough season for their fans and they deserve to enjoy this result.

All to play for.