View Full Version : FAI Senior Cup First Round

Clifford
22/04/2005, 2:35 PM
Taken from the fai site, anyone involved? The Mount will have trouble v Lisadell, hopefully will come through, tasty all Cork match there for St Marys and Avondale, thoughts Razor? Anyone?

This week-end sees the start of the FAI Carlsberg Cup 2005 with 10 matches down for decision, nine on Sunday 24th April and one fixture being played on Saturday 23rd April. All the competing teams come from the Junior and Intermediate ranks but many carry a cup pedigree either at league or national level. The winners of each game have a chance to face the Big Guns from the eircom League in the 2nd round draw on 12th June.

Lissadell Utd. V Rockmount FC
Venue: St. Michaels, Inchicore, Dublin
Date: Sunday 24th April
Kick-off: 14.00 hrs
Match Officials: L.White, G.Behan, J.Grimes
Lissadell Utd. From Inchicore make their first appearance in the Senior Cup when they host cup specialists Rockmount at St. Michaels. Rockmount FC have already qualified for the FAI Carlsberg Intermediate Cup Final next month and reached the quarter finals of last season’s Senior Cup before being knocked out by Waterford United after a replay. The Cork side will be favourites to win this one.

St. Mary’s Cork V Avondale Utd.
Venue: St. Mary’s Park, Kilcully, Cork
Date: Sunday 24th April,
Kick-off: 14.30 hrs
Match Officials: F. Murphy, J. Lyne, D. O’Mahony
A local Cork derby sees St. Mary’s face Avondale Utd. at Kilcully. Avondale have been getting assistance from former Cork City player, John Caulfield and will be hoping that his words of wisdom will see them through.

Cherry Orchard V Belgrove FC
Venue: De La Salle School, Ballyfermot, Dublin
Kick-off: 11.00 hrs
Match Officials: T. Geoghegan, J. Mooney, D. Coombes
Dublin’s top two sides clash at De La Salle in Ballyfermot. Cherry Orchard have been the FAI Junior Cup specialists over the years and they are sure to put it up to their northside rivals, Belgrove, who are no strangers to cup victories. Their last major success was in the FAI Carlsberg Intermediate Cup, 2002/2003

Bangor Celtic V Wayside Celtic
Venue: Whitehall Rd, Rathfarnham, Dublin
Match Officials: T. Traynor, A. Bell, R. Rogers
Leinster Senior League side Bangor Celtic from Crumlin, face another of the cup specialists, Wayside Celtic at Rathfarnham. The Golden Ball side are no strangers to the Senior Cup and have already qualified for the Intermediate Cup Final.
They will also be hoping to be in next month’s 2nd round draw.

Douglas Hall V Moyle Park
Venue: Moneygourney, Douglas, Cork
Officials: J. Thompson, G. Kelly, E. McNally
Douglas Hall of Cork will be hoping to overcome the disappointment of losing to Wayside Celtic in the FAI Carlsberg Intermediate Cup on Sunday last when they face Moyle Park, regular Senior Cup participants at Douglas. Home advantage may be the spur for the Hall.

Mount Merrion YMCA V Galway Hibernians
Venue: Belfield, Dublin
Time: 14.30 hrs
Officials: J. O’Hanlon, P. Lambert, E. Cummins
Mount Merrion YMCA who, have had assistance from former Boh's player, Dave Connell, face Senior Cup first—timers Galway Hibernians at Belfield. Hibs qualified as semi-finalists in the Junior Cup but will find it difficult to advance to the next round of the Senior Cup.

St. Peters Athlone V Carew Park
Venue: Golden Island Pk. Athlone, Co. Westmeath
Date: Saturday 23rd April
Kick-off: 19.30 hrs
Match Officials: J. McGloughlin, D. O’Donovan, D. Maguire
Golden Island Park in Athlone sees the clash of St. Peters, sole representatives of the Leinster Football League, and Limerick side, Carew Park who appear in the Senior Cup for the first time. The good run in this year's Junior Cup might just sway it in Carew’s favour.

Waterford Crystal V Bonagee Utd.
Venue: Waterford Crystal S.S.C, Waterford
Kick-off: 12.00 hrs
Match Officials: N. Purcell, A. Walsh, T. Walsh.
It is south-east versus north-west at Waterford Crystal on Sunday when the locals face Donegal’s Bonagee Utd. from the Ulster Senior League. Crystal have qualified for the final of the FAI Junior Cup after beating Galway Hibs and will be looking to advance here also.

Westport Utd V Fanad Utd
Venue: Sports Park, Westport, Co. Mayo
Match Officials: D. McGrath, L. McEntee, J. Cawley
Once FAI Carlsberg Cup giant killers, Fanad Utd, travel to the Sports Park, Westport to face Westport Utd, the first Mayo team to qualify for the Senior Cup. The Donegal side will be hoping their cup experience will assist them here.

Malahide Utd V Glenmore/Dundrum
Venue: Gannon Park, Malahide, Dublin
Match Officials: J. Caulwell, D. Reale, M. Burke
Gannon Park, home to the Irish international team for training purposes, will see the all-Dublin clash of Malahide Utd. and Glenmore/Dundrum. The northsiders are beaten, Charlie Cahill Cup Finalists while the Southsiders are former winners of the Intermediate Cup. This game will be a close one to call.

amarach
22/04/2005, 3:46 PM
I'd say we'll do it nicely Clifford, we've still gotta strong team without the rest missing, I forgot my jersey last week, I'll bring it in the bag this week just in case they run short lol probably bring a few lads up from the junior team...

dcnags
22/04/2005, 3:56 PM
tasty all Cork match there for St Marys and Avondale, thoughts Razor? Anyone?

Avondale have been struggling of late, drawing their last 2 or 3 games in the league. (including last weeks game vs st marys) It will be very tough for them to regain the title. They have a lot of injuries at the moment, and maybe 3 of them won't play again this season.Lastnight, our sub keeper who has been in goal for half the season got an injury. Also Willie O'keeffe picked up an injury. I'd say he should be ok for sunday though.

St Marys had a fairly good defence against us and almost caught us on the break, and knowing how they did last time i reckon they'll be up for it....

Clifford
22/04/2005, 4:35 PM
Avondale have been struggling of late, drawing their last 2 or 3 games in the league. (including last weeks game vs st marys) It will be very tough for them to regain the title. They have a lot of injuries at the moment, and maybe 3 of them won't play again this season.Lastnight, our sub keeper who has been in goal for half the season got an injury. Also Willie O'keeffe picked up an injury. I'd say he should be ok for sunday though.

St Marys had a fairly good defence against us and almost caught us on the break, and knowing how they did last time i reckon they'll be up for it....

What was last night score? It's looking like rockmount for the league if they can win their games in hand. Although we still have Avon & Castle to play.

Good luck this weekend, good to see Cork teams progress.

dcnags
22/04/2005, 9:33 PM
It was 1-1. We got a penalty in the first half,had our centre half sent off early in the second half.Then with less than 5 minutes to go there was a problem with one of the goalposts for ages. When play resumed the ref actually asked one of the avondale coaches how long was left! And his reply was 'i dont know'!!! Surely he could have said its over ;) :o

He played on for another 10 minutes and their left full scored a beauty of a free. In fairness, they deserved a draw out of it. Rory Beechiner was at the game, its a pity he'll miss championship with St. Michaels, looks like a handy gaelic footballer. I reckon its rockmount's to lose.

Some big games left to play though..... :ball:

Would love to see more Cork teams do what rockmount did last year! good luck to all...........except St Mary's ;) :D

dcnags
24/04/2005, 9:27 PM
From Aertel:

FAI CARLSBERG CUP FIRST ROUND MATCHES

SATURDAY APRIL 23
St Peters Athl 0-0 Carew Park RES
Golden Island Park

SUNDAY APRIL 24
Lissadell Utd 3-0 Rockmount RES
St Michael's, Inchicore

St Mary's Cork 1-4 Avondale Utd RES
St Mary's Park, Kilcully

Cherry Orchard 0-0 Belgrove RES
De La Salle School, Ballyfermot

Bangor Celtic 1-2 Wayside Celtic RES
Whitehall Rd, Rathfarnham

Douglas Hall 2-0 Moyle Park RES
Moneygourney, Douglas

Mt Merrion YMCA 2-2 Galway Hibs RES
Postal SC, Kiltipper

Waterford C'stal 2-0 Bonagee Utd RES
Waterford Crystal SSC

Westport Utd 1-2 Fanad Utd RES
Sports Park, Westport

Malahide Utd 3-2 G'more/D'drum RES
Gannon Park, Malahide

Good win for avondale, although i wasn't at it, my grandad was and he said the dale were good. Were winning 1 or 2 nil at half time (cant remember) and phil harrington was in goal for us. Douglas Hall had a decent win also. :) Rockmount, what happened ye :( was hoping for as many cork teams as possible.

Lookin forward to the draw anyway, hopefully the 'dale can do a bit of giant-killing :) ;)

Clifford
24/04/2005, 10:03 PM
One of those days for the Mount, a load of things against us during the week, but no excuses on the day. They were good, we never got goin. Nothing went for us, but they were tidy outfit. Beech missing for us also didn't help.

Fair play to the Hall and the Dale, best of luck in the next round. Lg and Intermediate for us to concentrate on, gutted with today, but onwards and upwards.

25/04/2005, 8:08 AM
great result for galway hibs

25/04/2005, 8:15 AM
From Aertel:

FAI CARLSBERG CUP FIRST ROUND MATCHES

St Mary's Cork 1-4 Avondale Utd RES
St Mary's Park, Kilcully
Arrived about 10 mins before HT to see Spratty score the 1st, buried it into the roof from about 10 yards. Robbie Giltenan scored a header from a corner early in the 2nd half and soon after that a moment of genius from Caulfield, turned his man on the edge of the box saw Eric Barrett off his line and cooly lobbed it in over him, a peach. Marys scored a consolation with about 5 mins left and Willie O'Keeffe, who had earlier come on for Caulfield wrapped things up at the death.
Comfortable enough for Avondale, heres hoping for a good draw.

25/04/2005, 8:46 AM
One of those days for the Mount, a load of things against us during the week, but no excuses on the day. They were good, we never got goin. Nothing went for us, but they were tidy outfit. Beech missing for us also didn't help.

Big shock to see Rockmount knocked out by a FOURTH DIVISION Leinster Senior League team. Well I did say they were a handy little team. Rockmount will have to get their act together before they play Wayside, who seem to be getting stronger as the season goes on.

Clifford
25/04/2005, 9:05 AM

Good draw indeed, when the replay? Would you fancy Galway United in the next round if you got there or someone that is actually a big club?

Clifford
25/04/2005, 9:10 AM
Big shock to see Rockmount knocked out by a FOURTH DIVISION Leinster Senior League team. Well I did say they were a handy little team. Rockmount will have to get their act together before they play Wayside, who seem to be getting stronger as the season goes on.

Wouldn't read to much into it if I were you. Hugely disappointing performance by the Mount, but it was bound to happen some day. Nothing clicked on the day and it will never happen again like that. Manager, Assistant Man, two strikers and a midfielder all missing. They were a good outfit and I'd venture they will climb the divisions up there fairly quickly.

Let Wayside be favourites, yes, Wayside will stroll the final, no need to show up even I bet. Hear that Wayside? A stroll in the park ahead for yee. ;)

galwaygirl
25/04/2005, 9:22 AM
Great result is right, replay is next sat in terryland

25/04/2005, 9:31 AM
Unlike Rockmount, Wayside don't take anybody lightly and certainly wouldn't have been beaten by the likes of Lisadell.

25/04/2005, 9:59 AM
Good draw indeed, when the replay? Would you fancy Galway United in the next round if you got there or someone that is actually a big club?

Im not a hibs fan, just happy to see a galway junior team doing well. It would be a huge crowd puller to see both GUFC and Galway Hibs play in terryland ! If they could draw with Mount Merrion in Dublin, there is no reason why they can't beat them at home and set up the possibility also!

Patrick Dunne
25/04/2005, 11:01 AM
.. Galway United FC won the FAI Senior Cup in 1991, have competed in Europe three times, and have won six other senior trophies.

WE ARE A BIG CLUB :mad: :D

Clifford
25/04/2005, 11:17 AM
.. Galway United FC won the FAI Senior Cup in 1991, have competed in Europe three times, and have won six other senior trophies.

WE ARE A BIG CLUB :mad: :D

And there we have the first bite.....only joshing. I know they were once big...

Clifford
25/04/2005, 11:20 AM
Unlike Rockmount, Wayside don't take anybody lightly and certainly wouldn't have been beaten by the likes of Lisadell.

Ah, the strong favourites Wayside, only have to show up to claim the trophy on the 15th apparently. What a joke that one result will make a guy come up with such horse poo. Team talk for Rockmount taken care of by ignorant Dub cockiness. Cheers for that.

Wait til I tell the lads that Wayside reckon it will be a doddle cos we lost to Lisadell, thanks a lot matey.

25/04/2005, 11:36 AM
Ah, the strong favourites Wayside, only have to show up to claim the trophy on the 15th apparently. What a joke that one result will make a guy come up with such horse poo. Team talk for Rockmount taken care of by ignorant Dub cockiness. Cheers for that.

Wait til I tell the lads that Wayside reckon it will be a doddle cos we lost to Lisadell, thanks a lot matey.

You Clifford are the person saying Wayside are favourites, not me. All I said was that Wayside would not have treated Lisadell as lightly as you obviously have. Sad to see a manager and his assistant would rather head off for the weekend when their club were playing in the premier cup competition in the land. In fact I’d say that the ignorant cockiness was shown by you with your comments here last week. Nice to see your words shoved up your rear end.

Clifford
25/04/2005, 11:44 AM
You Clifford are the person saying Wayside are favourites, not me. All I said was that Wayside would not have treated Lisadell as lightly as you obviously have. Sad to see a manager and his assistant would rather head off for the weekend when their club were playing in the premier cup competition in the land. In fact I’d say that the ignorant cockiness was shown by you with your comments here last week. Nice to see your words shoved up your rear end.

"The Mount will have trouble v Lisadell, hopefully will come through," that's my comment from this thread on Friday, where the cockiness there?

Aw poor diddums, out of bed on the wrong side this morn? Lookin for someone to rough up on the other end of a computer?

Brilliant that Wayside are going to win the FAI Senior Cup, brillo that they have never ever lost a football match and brillo that you can actually read my comments and turn them into some extraordinary spin. Roll on the 15th and the visit of the cocky Dubs, we'll enjoy the experience. As I said keep it comin, the team talk is writing itself before our eyes. Wait til I let the lads know of wayside arrogance.

25/04/2005, 11:50 AM
Brilliant that Wayside are going to win the FAI Senior Cup, brillo that they have never ever lost a football match and brillo that you can actually read my comments and turn them into some extraordinary spin. Roll on the 15th and the visit of the cocky Dubs, we'll enjoy the experience. As I said keep it comin, the team talk is writing itself before our eyes. Wait til I let the lads know of wayside arrogence.in fairness to drummerboy he never made any reference to Waysides cockiness. Can't see where you are getting that from.
Bit strange the management team being away. I know its an annual thing but its still the FAI Cup. Missing 3 players ain't a huge thing with a squad the size of Rockmounts, I must say I was surprised to say the least when I saw the result.

Clifford
25/04/2005, 11:59 AM
in fairness to drummerboy he never made any reference to Waysides cockiness. Can't see where you are getting that from.
Bit strange the management team being away. I know its an annual thing but its still the FAI Cup. Missing 3 players ain't a huge thing with a squad the size of Rockmounts, I must say I was surprised to say the least when I saw the result.

"Rockmount will have to get their act together before they play Wayside, who seem to be getting stronger as the season goes on." That comment to me suggest he thinks Wayside will cream Rockmount. Fair enough if he thinks the Mount underestimated Lisadell, we'll see.

With regard to the lads goin - I made this comment last night:
"One of those days for the Mount, a load of things against us during the week, but no excuses on the day". Don't think you could blame lads for not wanting to lose a fortune invested in holidays, FAI didn't want to play ball after MSL gave us the permission to go ahead. Maybe your missus/bloke would let you throw away a few hundred quid, but some of us aren't as fortunate. Why not come up to Billy and the lads and question their committment next time we play eh? Rubbish.

25/04/2005, 12:03 PM
"The Mount will have trouble v Lisadell, hopefully will come through," that's my comment from this thread on Friday, where the cockiness there?

Aw poor diddums, out of bed on the wrong side this morn? Lookin for someone to rough up on the other end of a computer?

Brilliant that Wayside are going to win the FAI Senior Cup, brillo that they have never ever lost a football match and brillo that you can actually read my comments and turn them into some extraordinary spin. Roll on the 15th and the visit of the cocky Dubs, we'll enjoy the experience. As I said keep it comin, the team talk is writing itself before our eyes. Wait til I let the lads know of wayside arrogance.

I have absolutely nothing to do with Wayside. You were on this forum gloating about beating Belgrove. I think Rockmount players will be embarrassed by your ranting here. If you need me to write your teamtalks pm me and I'll send my rates on, obviously your management must to heading off again.

Clifford
25/04/2005, 12:16 PM
I have absolutely nothing to do with Wayside. You were on this forum gloating about beating Belgrove. I think Rockmount players will be embarrassed by your ranting here. If you need me to write your teamtalks pm me and I'll send my rates on, obviously your management must to heading off again.

Belgrove was two weeks ago, come on get with the programme. Move with the times.

I believe the protocol here is attack the post not the poster. That's very naughty of you to be so mean to me. I wonder should you be banned?

The lads need no motivation from me at all, it amazes me how worked up lads/lasses become when it doesn't even involve their own club. I know it's Monday, but don't be so aggressive and uptight, have a laugh once in a while. :D :D :D :D

25/04/2005, 12:23 PM
"Rockmount will have to get their act together before they play Wayside, who seem to be getting stronger as the season goes on." That comment to me suggest he thinks Wayside will cream Rockmount. Fair enough if he thinks the Mount underestimated Lisadell, we'll see.
I took the comment to mean Wayside are a good side and that Rockmount can't afford any performances like yesterday on the 15th or they will lose, I'd take his word on the Wayside improving cos I don't follow the LSL.

With regard to the lads goin - I made this comment last night:"One of those days for the Mount, a load of things against us during the week, but no excuses on the day". Don't think you could blame lads for not wanting to lose a fortune invested in holidays, FAI didn't want to play ball after MSL gave us the permission to go ahead. Maybe your missus/bloke would let you throw away a few hundred quid, but some of us aren't as fortunate. Why not come up to Billy and the lads and question their committment next time we play eh? Rubbish.I didn't say you were making excuses, just wanted to know the reasoning behing the trip. Was there a whole group went or just Billy & Assistant and who managed the team yesterday?
Not saying they should throw away a few hundred quid but I thought the club might have chipped in a few bob. Again I wasn't questioning anyones commitment don't be so defensive but was surprised ye didn't get at least a draw to be honest.

Clifford
25/04/2005, 12:48 PM
I took the comment to mean Wayside are a good side and that Rockmount can't afford any performances like yesterday on the 15th or they will lose, I'd take his word on the Wayside improving cos I don't follow the LSL.

I didn't say you were making excuses, just wanted to know the reasoning behing the trip. Was there a whole group went or just Billy & Assistant and who managed the team yesterday?
Not saying they should throw away a few hundred quid but I thought the club might have chipped in a few bob. Again I wasn't questioning anyones commitment don't be so defensive but was surprised ye didn't get at least a draw to be honest.

Naw, the way we played yesterday Fermoy might even have beaten us. (I know, I know). Just one of those days, everything we tried failed to come off. I'd rather get that one out of the system in a cup we are never going to win (after last years cheating against us in Waterford by the ref). Who was on the line doesn't really matter cos the players know exactly what their role is and it just didn't happen. Lisadell were just superb on the day we weren't. I don't know enough about the LSL either, but we had a lovely day out with very friendly people who told us what is developing there. They are in two cup finals, I think flying in their lg and I'd venture that if they keep that squad together they will do very well in the future.

(I'm only winding up the Jackeen, he knows the Mount are a decent side and the final will be keenly contested and neither side will underestimate each other)

amarach
25/04/2005, 4:48 PM
We were ****e yesterday no excuses what so ever, Lissadel fought real hard, they came out on the pitch with the right attitude, we didn't, our lads were tired, they've all got their arse's slapped now and they'll never again be a performance like we've witnessed yesterday.

The Lissadel team stewards, support is excellent, got myself a Cork Jersey signed by the players so we got something from them ;) Nice bunch of lads hope they do real well, they've a fine side

branch
25/04/2005, 7:09 PM
whats all this talk of wayside being brilliant they are ten points behind bangor in the league and behind belgrove and crumlin they are a very good physical strong side but i dont think rockmount should worry too much despite last week every team has a few days like that during a season i expect it to be a tight match between 2 evenly matched teams with a goal separating them