View Full Version : Fixtures 26-29 April
Dalymountrower
27/04/2019, 7:30 AM
Disjointed performance from our under 19's last night.8 changes from.starting line up v Rovers.
A few great saves from Talbot saved a point.
Waterford capable of beating any team in the league.
ToberonaTornado
27/04/2019, 8:51 AM
For all the bluster from dundalk fans about creating loads of chances and "it could have been 5" $hite, their centre half got man of the match.
Clearly gartland can't be trusted in these games anymore anyway.
dundalk have good players and showed it last night. Everyone at oriel has been quick to mention the loss of their midfielder's as evidence of their slow start so far, well the loss of Rovers back 4 last night had a similar effect.
3 very winnable games coming up for Rovers.
LOL,
DO you know anything about this football lark?(soccer we call it sometimes) df's with the talent Gannon has are sometimes given a license to roam & will bust your ass open.He done that quite a few times last night!
Red herring regarding Gartland.SB had nothing in the locker coming up here and thats why yous wont win the league flacid
White Horse
27/04/2019, 10:12 AM
For all the bluster from dundalk fans about creating loads of chances and "it could have been 5" $hite, their centre half got man of the match.
A decision that left everyone in the ground bemused.
Bradley handed Dundalk the game on a plate and once Dundalk realised that the Rovers left hand side was wide open, it was knife through butter. Dundalk have not recovered last season's form which is why they only scored two goals, but it could and should have been 4-5 goals.
Rovers were missing several first team players, so it was always going to be a tall order to get something from the game. However, the way Bradley set up the team was naive. That is the most noteworthy item to take away from the game.
redarmyfaction
27/04/2019, 10:34 AM
A decision that left everyone in the ground bemused.
Bradley handed Dundalk the game on a plate and once Dundalk realised that the Rovers left hand side was wide open, it was knife through butter. Dundalk have not recovered last season's form which is why they only scored two goals, but it could and should have been 4-5 goals.
Rovers were missing several first team players, so it was always going to be a tall order to get something from the game. However, the way Bradley set up the team was naive. That is the most noteworthy item to take away from the game.
I had a conversation with a guy in the Centra in Maugheraboy before the Showgrounds last night and I told him there was no league in Bradley and Dundalk would win, I also told him Derry would beat Cork and that we would struggle to take advantage of the latter, now no man is a prophet in his local convienience store yet I say with the utmost conviction Shams win no league this year and Flacid and all the other Dale Farmers know this in their hearts.
Dalymountrower
27/04/2019, 10:53 AM
I had a conversation with a guy in the Centra in Maugheraboy before the Showgrounds last night and I told him there was no league in Bradley and Dundalk would win, I also told him Derry would beat Cork and that we would struggle to take advantage of the latter, now no man is a prophet in his local convienience store yet I say with the utmost conviction Shams win no league this year and Flacid and all the other Dale Farmers know this in their hearts.
Is his brother a priest in Kilvarnet?
redarmyfaction
27/04/2019, 10:59 AM
Is his brother a priest in Kilvarnet?
Mebbee, he was a country fellah anyways might have been from Kilvarnet.
Jack B
27/04/2019, 11:01 AM
Jamie Lennon is so good.
ToberonaTornado
27/04/2019, 11:24 AM
Mebbee, he was a country fellah anyways might have been from Kilvarnet.
Had he two pints? .....asking for a friend
RathfarnhamHoop
27/04/2019, 11:25 AM
Joking aside, what is worrying (for Rovers fans) about that post is how apparent you have made it that Rovers have such little strength in depth across their back line.
Yeah, what sort of manager doesn't expect 5 defenders to be out at the one time...
placid casual
27/04/2019, 11:37 AM
Stop inhaling the silage fumes, you mucksavage.
Ezeikial
27/04/2019, 11:41 AM
Some interesting observations from James Rogers on twitter
Incidentally on this day last year Dundalk sat second in the table 3 points off then leaders Cork. After last night's win Dundalk also sit second in the table 4 points behind Shamrock Rovers but with a game in hand
https://twitter.com/jamesdundalk/status/1122014767739297792
Pat Hoban goals after 13 league games:
2019 - 7
2018 - 7
https://twitter.com/jamesdundalk/status/1121918525029924864
Kingswood Rover
27/04/2019, 12:12 PM
do not know the **** the dale farmer rovers fans connection is all about, I have said all along if we finish within 10 of the winners which will be Dundalk thats progress, We are much improved on last year so far.
marinobohs
27/04/2019, 12:16 PM
I've been saying since the start of t he season we need to be lucky with injuries and suspensions.
Rovers don't have dfc budget and have tried to have a competitive first 11 (which I agree with). Quality rather than quantity.
Hard to argue with the approach given our position.
The next few games are important, need to get another run going as so many teams tucked in behind us
Shams whining about resources 😁 you couldn't make it up 😁 whatever happened the FOUR left backs that were all better than Leahy ?
Meanwhile at mega budget Bohs, 8 changes to the starting X1 left us very disjointed and Waterford were much better early on. Bohs improved as second half went on and finished the stronger but Waterford well worth the point.
redarmyfaction
27/04/2019, 12:18 PM
Stop inhaling the silage fumes, you mucksavage.
I'm a London boy innit and I know little of these things, maybe it's the sheep infested slopes and boggy wastes in the distance or the concerte functionality of the stadium itself but Tallaght always reminds me of a GAA stadium and when I emerge blinking into the arena I always half expect a garlic match to be in progress. That actually happened to one of the boys the time of the 83 final, he arrived out of Amien St station in highly befuddled state unsure of his direction and seeing black and red bedecked peoples heading northwards,he assumed they were Boh's fans and followed them, he ended up in Croagh Patrick watching Antrim playing Belfast or someone and missed us lifting our first cup, tragic.
Bit early in the year yet for the shrooms?
redarmyfaction
27/04/2019, 12:28 PM
Bit early in the year yet for the shrooms?
I dry mine, true story but.
RathfarnhamHoop
27/04/2019, 12:31 PM
Shams whining about resources 😁 you couldn't make it up 😁 whatever happened the FOUR left backs that were all better than Leahy ?
Knocks to the head are an awful thing
marinobohs
27/04/2019, 12:46 PM
Knocks to the head are an awful thing
Not recall all those left backs you imagined you had ? Maybe the "knocks on the head" made you forget ? 😁
The gift that never stops giving.
RathfarnhamHoop
27/04/2019, 12:53 PM
Not recall all those left backs you imagined you had ? Maybe the "knocks on the head" made you forget ? 😁
I believe it was you and Ez that managed to to turn "3 of the best" to "the 3 best" and now you seem to have conjured up another one out of nowhere.
As I recall your inability to grasp the difference between the two claims at the time I'm not going to bother trying explain it to you again.
dundalkfc10
27/04/2019, 1:07 PM
On a regular pitch with a first eleven I'd be quite confident of beating that Dundalk side who are definitely below their norm of the last few seasons. Interesting times ahead.
You must have missed the game earlier in season when Rovers had their first 11 and we were miswing a few on a good pitch, finisher 0-0 and most people who watched said Dundalk were the better team
Asterix
27/04/2019, 1:17 PM
You must have missed the game earlier in season when Rovers had their first 11 and we were miswing a few on a good pitch, finisher 0-0 and most people who watched said Dundalk were the better team
Well we were missing greene and boyle,
dundalk had no shots on target so not sure how they were the better team, Rodgers actually had to make a few saves unlike Mannus.
Ezeikial
27/04/2019, 1:33 PM
Not recall all those left backs you imagined you had ? Maybe the "knocks on the head" made you forget ?
I believe it was you and Ez that managed to to turn "3 of the best" to "the 3 best" and now you seem to have conjured up another one out of nowhere.
As I recall your inability to grasp the difference between the two claims at the time I'm not going to bother trying explain it to you again.
To be fair that was all good craic with some mischief makers wondering if Ally Gilchrist was part of this group of 3 or 4 of "the best in the league". The general consensus among Rovers fans was that he was excluded but that Luke Byrne was definitely a star. I seem to recall that sbgawa claiming that some u-19 whose name he could not remember was also among the best in the league.
James Furlong had a decent debut for such a young player, but he was left totally exposed by Daniel Carr and the Rovers management inability to try to resolve the obvious problem for 70 minutes
RathfarnhamHoop
27/04/2019, 1:47 PM
Shocked it hasn't been mentioned yet but Brandon Kavanaghs assist yesterday was absolutely superb put it on a plate for Vojic and so good Cleary fell over himself at the sight of it
Candystripe
27/04/2019, 2:15 PM
How Derry city only won 2-0 is baffling. Cork were never at the race's in the game. I think they'll struggle to get near a top four spot this season.
joey B
27/04/2019, 2:28 PM
Biggest mystery of the season is how have Dundalk dropped points to Sligo Rovers twice, we're the worst team in league and should have had the game won before they woke up,our search for a win goes on with a ball's of a journey on Monday night!
dundalkfc10
27/04/2019, 2:35 PM
Well we were missing greene and boyle,
dundalk had no shots on target so not sure how they were the better team, Rodgers actually had to make a few saves unlike Mannus.
Most people at the time said Dundalk shaded it. Be better off with professor Green up fron than Aaron Greene
mcgonigle
27/04/2019, 2:46 PM
Shocked it hasn't been mentioned yet but Brandon Kavanaghs assist yesterday was absolutely superb put it on a plate for Vojic and so good Cleary fell over himself at the sight of it
Because you lost Cyril
sbgawa
27/04/2019, 4:26 PM
To be fair that was all good craic with some mischief makers wondering if Ally Gilchrist was part of this group of 3 or 4 of "the best in the league". The general consensus among Rovers fans was that he was excluded but that Luke Byrne was definitely a star. I seem to recall that sbgawa claiming that some u-19 whose name he could not remember was also among the best in the league.
James Furlong had a decent debut for such a young player, but he was left totally exposed by Daniel Carr and the Rovers management inability to try to resolve the obvious problem for 70 minutes
Do you never get bored with yourself whinging about rovers mangt a mangt team with probably half vinny budget that are 4 points ahead? We probably wont win tge league but it wont be the mangt team...You certainly bore most people on here with your constant banging on.
Vinny a genius now? You were very quiet there for a while, almost started to miss you.......almost
Ezeikial
27/04/2019, 5:29 PM
Do you never get bored with yourself whinging about rovers mangt a mangt team with probably half vinny budget that are 4 points ahead? We probably wont win tge league but it wont be the mangt team...You certainly bore most people on here with your constant banging on.
Vinny a genius now? You were very quiet there for a while, almost started to miss you.......almost
No whinge at all! I was delighted with the Rovers inertia about the obvious problem with Daniel Carr leaving Furlong exposed. It had nothing to do with budget, points gap or Vinny Perth's abilities.
If you disagree with the observation, by all means articulate an alternative view.
If the topic bores you or causes you discomfort, just ignore it
27/04/2019, 5:33 PM
Bohs management with a lot less than both Dundalk and Rovers budget! Why not hand out the league trophy before the start of the season based on player budgets....its an excuse most of the time and kind of a lazy point Aside from the clamour for 4ths spot its pointless to bang on about budgets. They are what they are if they if the can be afforded rather than a club gambling itself. In the current table probably Harps are the only side that are in a position relative to their budget.
27/04/2019, 6:09 PM
Cobh 1-2 Drogheda after 8 minutes.
Probably going to end that way now
mcgonigle
27/04/2019, 7:54 PM
probably half vinny budget that are 4 points ahead? We probably wont win tge league but it wont be the mangt team...
Hi Stephen, nobody is buying it. Get back on the training pitch
sbgawa
27/04/2019, 8:20 PM
Bohs management with a lot less than both Dundalk and Rovers budget! Why not hand out the league trophy before the start of the season based on player budgets....its an excuse most of the time and kind of a lazy point Aside from the clamour for 4ths spot its pointless to bang on about budgets. They are what they are if they if the can be afforded rather than a club gambling itself. In the current table probably Harps are the only side that are in a position relative to their budget.
I'm not using the budget as an excuse just explaining why we were short of cover because a decision was made to spend the budget on a smaller amount of players and try to keep quality high and have a first 11 capable of winning the league.
Biggest budget doesn't always win it's up to all the clubs to maximise what they have as creatively as possible to compete.
sbgawa
27/04/2019, 8:21 PM
Hi Stephen, nobody is buying it. Get back on the training pitch
If only I was that young.
sbgawa
27/04/2019, 8:26 PM
No whinge at all! I was delighted with the Rovers inertia about the obvious problem with Daniel Carr leaving Furlong exposed. It had nothing to do with budget, points gap or Vinny Perth's abilities.
If you disagree with the observation, by all means articulate an alternative view.
If the topic bores you or causes you discomfort, just ignore it
As usual EZ u try to isolate one point or one detail, every post u ever post about rovers is negative that's what makes you so boring. A complete lack of an ability to see anything outside of your blinkers.
27/04/2019, 8:39 PM
Longford 1-0 Limerick FT.
Limerick missed a penalty early in the second half, then had McSweeney sent off, before Longford scored with 15 to go. Hard to complain when the players are struggling to even get paid.
marinobohs
27/04/2019, 9:19 PM
So, just "THREE of the best left backs in the League" (in your words) ?
Which one played last night ? In your own time 😁
RathfarnhamHoop
27/04/2019, 9:28 PM
Its sad to see how far literacy rates in North Dublin have fallen
mcgonigle
27/04/2019, 9:47 PM
If only I was that young.
Well he should hire you as his PR manager at least. Always quick to roll the excuses out. No money, injury crisis, only 11 good players. And quick to point out the positives i.e. Top of the league. Have you considered a hashtag?
Ezeikial
27/04/2019, 9:54 PM
As usual EZ u try to isolate one point or one detail, every post u ever post about rovers is negative that's what makes you so boring. A complete lack of an ability to see anything outside of your blinkers.
Nonsense on the single point issue - but please feel free to clarify what you mean. I made an observation about tactical inadequacies from Rovers and suggested that if you disagreed you offer a contrary view. As usual you are unwilling or unable to do so and resort to the usual diversionary claims.
On the equally erroneous assertion of only posting negatives about Rovers, here is a snapshot of some complimentary post match comments I have made in this thread
James Furlong had a decent debut for such a young player
to lose by only a single goal it should be declared as a moral victory for Rovers
Well done to all involved
Rovers have a fine side and are much improved over last season.
If you actually have an opinion on the point I raised about Daniel Carr being left in place for 70 minutes as Gannon and Kelly ran rings around him, I'd still be interested to hear it
sbgawa
27/04/2019, 10:06 PM
Lol you are great at posting out of context and sarcastic comments portrayed as balance.
Everyone on here knows you for what you are EZ, ,
I've broken my practise of ignoring you ....
Must try harder
Ezeikial
27/04/2019, 11:19 PM
Lol you are great at posting out of context and sarcastic comments portrayed as balance.
Must try harder
Unfortunately as expected you fail to address any of the points raised........
marinobohs
28/04/2019, 9:04 AM
Its sad to see how far literacy rates in North Dublin have fallen
Did you claim shams had “three of the best left fullbacks in the League” when you were wrongly claiming they didn’t try and sign Leahy ? Either you did or you didn’t (unless the knock on the head...).
Calcio Jack
28/04/2019, 11:42 AM
Must try harder
Couldn’t agree more EZ is our own version of Littlefinger from GOT thinks he’s clever but so easy to see through.
As you say the faux balance- and lack lack of guile similar to LF is fairly pathetic and fools no one, hopefully EZ or should we say Lillyfinger has a better outcome .
Cue the usual boring self obsessed reply - or perhaps LF correction EZ will show the maturity to ignore this (hopefully)
PartySaint
28/04/2019, 11:52 AM
Jesus, I might start rooting for Rovers in this title race, I didn’t realise they had no money and only 11 players, the big spenders at Bohs might catch them soon tho.
Decent at times from Pats on Friday night, there was about 15 minutes in the second half where we couldn’t get the ball off UCD but they only really managed to create one chance and they look poor enough at the back. I still think they’ll stay up comfortably though.
3 wins on the bounce for us, on to Monday we go, I just hope Rovers have enough pennies in the bank account to keep the club going until then, bless them.
28/04/2019, 12:10 PM
Five wins in six for Pat's suddenly, which I hadn't realised.
There was still a lot of moaning in the first half in particular when another long ball over the top from midfield went out of play. I know Pat's fans are prone to moaning anyway :) - but is there a feeling Kenny is starting to get somewhere?
Dalymountrower
28/04/2019, 1:23 PM
Jesus, I might start rooting for Rovers in this title race, I didn’t realise they had no money and only 11 players, the big spenders at Bohs might catch them soon tho.
3 wins on the bounce for us, on to Monday we go, I just hope Rovers have enough pennies in the bank account to keep the club going until then, bless them.
Don't worry , Harry Kenny will give them a dig out on Monday, may even sit on the Rovers subs bench if they run out of 16year olds.
PartySaint
28/04/2019, 1:59 PM
but is there a feeling Kenny is starting to get somewhere?
Not really, 4 of the last 5 were against the bottom 4 and we were beaten comfortably by Derry in the other. A win on Monday night and we might be getting somewhere.
Kingswood Rover
28/04/2019, 5:46 PM
Not really, 4 of the last 5 were against the bottom 4 and we were beaten comfortably by Derry in the other. A win on Monday night and we might be getting somewhere.
Pats are better than there performances so far are Rovers not as good as there performaces so far, Monday night should make working that conumdrum out a little easier, maybe i think perhaps, possibly.
Briuk
28/04/2019, 11:14 PM
I'd say the European dream has made Pats a bigger favor than whatever Kenny has changed. You see the season in a totally different way with that motivation