View Full Version : Sligo GAA county chairman on rovers

shedhead
19/04/2005, 4:33 PM
By Gerry McLaughlin

The GAA have passed an historic Sligo sponsored motion allowing ‘foreign games’ to be played at Croke Park.
But there will be no soccer at Markievicz Park on the Pearse Road for the foreseeable future.
That’s the firm message from Sligo county board chairman Joe Queenan following the momentous verdict giving Central Council the power to rent Croke Park to the IRFU and the FAI while Lansdowne Road is being developed over the next few years.
Delegates at the weekend Congress voted by 227 to 97 for a “temporary change” of Rule 42 which was proposed by Sligo Central Council delegate Ciaran McDermott.
County chairman Mr Queenan stressed that this decision only applied to the period while Lansdowne Road was being developed.
I have nothing against soccer and am a Liverpool fan but you won’t be seeing Sligo Rovers trotting out on Markievicz Park
“That is not a runner and we in Sligo knew that we had to be pragmatic if we wanted this motion to get through.
“This is no disrespect to Rovers who have their own fine facilities but it was only Croke Park we were concerned about.
“The motion made it quite clear that no other GAA facilities should be used by other bodies for non-GAA purposes.
“Our Central Council delegate, Ciaran McDermott, came up with the idea and we are delighted to steer it through.
“We could not have completely shelved the rule because there would not have been the necessary two-thirds support for such a move but it is a very positive step.
“I have been personally interested in this issue since the time Shamrock Rovers were looking to share facilities with the GAA in Dublin back in 1991.
Mr Queenan said the weekend decision was a measure of how much attitudes towards other sports have changed in Sligo since 1971.
“Sligo was one of only two in the entire island who voted to keep the ban on our members attending or playing foreign games.
“We have moved on and had an almost 85% majority in favour of opting for a temporary leasing of Croke Park when we put it to our County Convention at Christmas.
“In Sligo people tend to follow all sports and that includes Rovers, the county GAA team and Liverpool in my case.
“We got great support from many soccer fans in Sligo in 2002 and long may it continue.
Two of Sligo’s former top GAA stars, Michael McNamara and Philip Gallagher, are now lining out with Rovers.
The county chairman said he was proud to be involved in such an historic occasion.
“We have been accused of being conservative in the past but the weekend showed that we have taken the lead on major questions.
“This decision will allow the GAA to make a gesture to other sports which many thought we were not capable of doing.
“It is a major PR victory and also opens up the possibility of increased revenue which should ultimately benefit the clubs”

19/04/2005, 5:14 PM
you won’t be seeing Sligo Rovers trotting out on Markievicz Park

Why would we want to play in that sh!thole anyway :confused: :confused:

Petmuller
19/04/2005, 5:24 PM
I've never in all my days read such crap. Who in the name of the almighty does this guy think he is?? Rovers will never trot out on the hallowed turf of Markievicz Park and him a Liverpool fan?? What's the guy on?? It's people like this fellow that has our little country the way it is. I bet he has no problem swanning over to scouserland and forking out big money to watch the foreign game yet he does'nt want to see the bit o red trot out on their little bit of a green field. He talks about the fact thet Sligo GAA were one of two counties which voted in favour of upholding the ban on their members and players attending and playing foreign games yet they were first in the country to play players of the foreign game, David Pugh and the late Gerry Mitchell.
Never say never Mr. Queenan, someday just like your higherarkie in Croke Park you might just be damn glad to make a few bob from Sligo Rovers.

1 9 2 8
19/04/2005, 6:23 PM
Why would we want to play in that sh!thole anyway :confused: :confused:
I was thinking the same thing myself. The Showgrounds has always been our home and that sh1thole wouldn't even get a 1st division licence :rolleyes:

roversfan
19/04/2005, 8:44 PM
ya..this reminds me of a couple of years back..cup game against shams, i had the courage to intice two gaa blocks to come to the showgrounds..you know what...they started to cheer for fecking shams

roversfan
19/04/2005, 8:46 PM
and thats the truth....
Miserable shower..ha ha

19/04/2005, 10:04 PM
This isn't a Sligo thing. Seen guy on RTE news on sunday who was at some bogball game saying how he opposed the yes vote - he had a Celtic wool hat on at the time.

Irish people love soccer but not in their own country.

raginrover
20/04/2005, 8:47 AM
I would'nt get to worried about this fool lads,I follow the gaelic as well as the football and if you knew half the stories about this clown you would'nt believe it, If you were to look up the word simpleton there beside it would be "Jolting" Joe Queenan trust me. ;) ;)

SRFC Head
20/04/2005, 9:34 AM
Muppet...

Alot of these GAA people are so far up their own arse, contradicting themselves at every possible occasion, why would he say he was a liverpool fan, is he looking for some comadary ? If he likes football why doesn't he get himself out to the showgrounds to see some lovely football being played.

LondonRover
20/04/2005, 11:05 AM
The Showgrounds are far superior to ****in Mark anyway

20/04/2005, 11:26 AM
This isn't a Sligo thing. Seen guy on RTE news on sunday who was at some bogball game saying how he opposed the yes vote - he had a Celtic wool hat on at the time.

Yeah I seen that too. It was very funny alright :D

LFC in Exile
20/04/2005, 12:04 PM
“The motion made it quite clear that no other GAA facilities should be used by other bodies for non-GAA purposes.

So that means no more Michael Jackson concerts in Pairc Ui Chaoimh? :(

Just for that lads you shouldn't let them use the Showgrounds.

20/04/2005, 12:48 PM
If it is anything like the galway gaa team, they will come sniffing around when ye build yer astroturf pitch so they can train on it! (galway gaa team often train in salthills/GUFCs training pitches in the drom). Either tell them to go jump or do what salthill did and charge them an arm and a leg! :D

Da Real Rover
20/04/2005, 4:05 PM

I remember commenting on that at the time cause as with those fat cats at the top in GAA there a bunch of hypocritcal gob****es. And what gave Queenan the impression of us wanting to play in Marcievicz.As with alot of them they seem to have some kind of moral superiority comlex, so as for them to look down on us and patronise us.

Daxion
20/04/2005, 8:29 PM
I was thinking the same thing myself. The Showgrounds has always been our home and that sh1thole wouldn't even get a 1st division licence :rolleyes:

I have to agree with this, When the Markw.... is up to a decent standard, may then the Rovers might consider using it NOT

For all I care, WESTLIFE can play there every month.

1 9 2 8
21/04/2005, 9:36 PM
If it is anything like the galway gaa team, they will come sniffing around when ye build yer astroturf pitch so they can train on it! (galway gaa team often train in salthills/GUFCs training pitches in the drom). Either tell them to go jump or do what salthill did and charge them an arm and a leg! :D
If I had my way I wouldn't let them near our astroturf pitch :D