View Full Version : Some good news and hope for those on the waiting list.

19/04/2005, 1:44 PM
After two years on Fai Block Booking the waiting list, I got a ticket today offering me tickets for the remaining 3 home internationls and saying that I was now on the block booking list. I was delighted and did not expect this. Just thought I would share the news and to anybody who is interested getting tickets try to get on the waiting list and eventually you will get there if you keep attending every game

neil

19/04/2005, 2:54 PM
I sent a mail to the FAI just 2 weeks ago to see where I was on the waiting list. I'm number 879, down from well over 1000.

barglee
19/04/2005, 3:04 PM
try to get on the waiting list and eventually you will get there if you keep attending every game

neil

does attending games help you move up the list??????

Cowboy
19/04/2005, 3:09 PM
does attending games help you move up the list??????

depends on the ticket source

19/04/2005, 3:10 PM
I got the same letter yesterday. :D Only on the list for about 6 years!
does attending games help you move up the list?????? If you don't take the tickets they offer you when you're on the waiting list, you lose your place on the list.

Cowboy
19/04/2005, 3:11 PM
Congratulations Neil, just make sure you always take up your application to stay on the list even if you cant attend any game.

After two years on Fai Block Booking the waiting list, I got a ticket today offering me tickets for the remaining 3 home internationls and saying that I was now on the block booking list. I was delighted and did not expect this. Just thought I would share the news and to anybody who is interested getting tickets try to get on the waiting list and eventually you will get there if you keep attending every game

neil

19/04/2005, 3:12 PM
depends on the ticket source

I've been to every home game under Brian Kerr's reign, the majority of tickets I've gotten from Ticketmaster or the FAI. Should I let them know this?

Cowboy
19/04/2005, 3:13 PM
I got the same letter yesterday. :D Only on the list for about 6 years! If you don't take the tickets they offer you when you're on the waiting list, you lose your place on the list.

Congrats also, out of curiosity how high have the numbers gone, i'm in the 11000's

Cowboy
19/04/2005, 3:15 PM
I've been to every home game under Brian Kerr's reign, the majority of tickets I've gotten from Ticketmaster or the FAI. Should I let them know this?

Would not do any harm but you would need all the ticket stubs to prove it, the most important thing is to take any tickets offered to you whilst on the waiting list. You should also know that guys ahead of you have been going for many years so it may be some time, hang in there though as the new stadium will help.

cullenswood
19/04/2005, 3:15 PM

They'll know what tickets you bought from them (wouldn't think tickets bought from ticketmaster will make any difference to them), and if you keep buying from them for every game you will move up slowly but surely!

19/04/2005, 3:17 PM
Are you on their block booking waiting list?

19/04/2005, 3:22 PM
Congrats also, out of curiosity how high have the numbers gone, i'm in the 11000's

please tell me you meant 1100's :eek:

19/04/2005, 3:25 PM
Are you on their block booking waiting list?

yep, for just over a year now.

19/04/2005, 3:27 PM
Just a matter of waiting 'til you move up enough to get onto the list proper. I could take a while though, I joined it in 1999. :eek:

Cowboy
19/04/2005, 3:27 PM
please tell me you meant 1100's :eek:

My number is 116** just wondering what range the new ones being released are in? In other words they had over 11,600 at that point issued.

Cowboy
19/04/2005, 3:29 PM

well done, I thought the waiting list had closed, perhaps they reopened it as a result of the new stadium

19/04/2005, 3:32 PM
My number is 116** just wondering what range the new ones being released are in?
I think mine is 10*** but I don't know the full number off hand.

Cowboy
19/04/2005, 3:34 PM

Thanks, its ok just wanted a general idea not the exact number. Maybe they have cleared out some block bookers and are re assigning them.

19/04/2005, 3:37 PM
They were looking to sell 10-year tickets a while back, maybe they didn't sell as well as they hoped (wouldn't be surprised going on the price :eek: ) as there's some spare capacity.

cullenswood
19/04/2005, 3:51 PM
They were looking to sell 10-year tickets a while back, maybe they didn't sell as well as they hoped (wouldn't be surprised going on the price :eek: ) as there's some spare capacity.

Those ten year tickets were a joke, I can't understand why anyone would buy them. I think they were €7500 each, what would be the incentive of buying one of them, considering they were initially only offering them to block-bookers and those on the waiting list. :confused:

Cowboy
19/04/2005, 3:53 PM

Yeah I was offered these for eircom park but thought them bad value at the time.

19/04/2005, 4:04 PM
Yeah I was offered these for eircom park but thought them bad value at the time.

eircom Park tickets were something like IR£2,500 but the Lansdowne Road tickets were €7,500

We were saying on another thread that, even if we had 10 home games a year, that's still €75 per game.
You'd be looking for a lash of pints and a lapdance for that money! :D

19/04/2005, 4:09 PM
Those ten year tickets were a joke, I can't understand why anyone would buy them. I think they were €7500 each, what would be the incentive of buying one of them, considering they were initially only offering them to block-bookers and those on the waiting list. :confused:

I don't know anyone who bought them but do know somebody with loads of money who seriosuly considered them.

They do give priority for away games (not great here apart from Basle 2003) however did give tickets for major finals as well.

Really only worth it if you've loads of money and are nowhere near the top of the queue in the block bookers list.

Bet guys gave up and didn't buy China and Italy tickets.

monutdfc
19/04/2005, 4:52 PM
I got the same letter yesterday - made the block booking list after a good while on the waiting list. Made my day. I had been lining up potential sources for the home games v France and Switzerland for months, no need now :D :D :D :)

19/04/2005, 5:11 PM
Those who didn't take their allocation for the China match were going to be taken off the block booking list which explains why so many have made the list.

Cowboy
19/04/2005, 7:16 PM
Those who didn't take their allocation for the China match were going to be taken off the block booking list which explains why so many have made the list.

good enuf for em, cant stand guys who pick and choose their games

4tothefloor
19/04/2005, 7:29 PM
I got the letter as well, and posted it back in lightening quick time by registered post :D I've been on the waiting list since January 2004, and at that stage I was in the 800's. So i've made my way up the list in relatively short time. The next step now is to go from bucket seats to stand tickets, so hopefully that will happen in the next year or two. I genuinely did not expect to get on the BB list until the new stadium opens, so this is quite a nice surprise.

Having said that, I would really need about 8 tickets per game to satisfy my own group that go to the games, so i'll still always be looking for spares.

For those who were on the list and stopped taking the friendly tickets because they presumed that no tickets for the big WCQ games would be available - How sick are they now?! It's a true saying, Presumption\Assumption is the mother of all **** ups :p

Cowboy
19/04/2005, 7:31 PM
When the current campaign is over try writing a letter asking for a change to the stand.

I got the letter as well, and posted it back in lightening quick time by registered post :D I've been on the waiting list since January 2004, and at that stage I was in the 800's. So i've made my way up the list in relatively short time. The next step now is to go from bucket seats to stand tickets, so hopefully that will happen in the next year or two. I genuinely did not expect to get on the BB list until the new stadium opens, so this is quite a nice surprise.

Having said that, I would really need about 8 tickets per game to satisfy my own group that go to the games, so i'll still always be looking for spares.

4tothefloor
19/04/2005, 7:39 PM
When the current campaign is over try writing a letter asking for a change to the stand.

Ssshhh, or they'll all be at it :D

Cowboy
19/04/2005, 7:56 PM
Ssshhh, or they'll all be at it :D

only the ones who can write :)

joema
19/04/2005, 8:00 PM
I've been told i will be in south bucket area S04, is that where all people off the waiting list will be ?

Colie
19/04/2005, 8:38 PM
I feel like crying seeing yee all with yer tickets.

I've only been on the list for probably over a year & guess I'm nowhere near the top.

I don't think the new stadium will make much difference considering it's only increacing the capacity by 1,000, maybe that'll 1,000 block bookers, who knows.

Also I doubt going to any games will make a bit of difference, I've gone to all the home (tickets thru dodgy sources) & away games (tickets from FAI) since the first Basel & I didn't get no damn letter.

Looks like another €120 come the Israel game off that one legged guy that stands on the Berkley Court corner..... :mad: If youes'r awash with tickets for the games please let me know,I'm sure I can help you sort that problem out.

19/04/2005, 9:26 PM
I don't think the new stadium will make much difference considering it's only increacing the capacity by 1,000, maybe that'll 1,000 block bookers, who knows.
50,000 - 36,000 = 14,000. I won't ask where you got your 1,000 figure. ;)

Cowboy
19/04/2005, 9:29 PM
i think the waiting list will be wiped out when L/R finished (if Bertie can shut up for that long)

onenilgameover
20/04/2005, 12:31 AM
I'm on the waiting list too been on there for over a year and a half not missed a game in that time. Was in the 800's last time I ckecked a month or two ago. Will i be gettin a letter too? Jaysus that id make my feckin year and not just a day if that happened. Congrats to yourself all the same and yeah I advise anyone who can to get on the list there's noe harm in it in anyway.

20/04/2005, 9:30 AM

I can confirm that you are number 906 on our waiting list.
Unfortunately, I am unable to confirm when you will be offered a block
booking with us, as this will depend on suitable availability on our
scheme.
Please note that your customer reference with us is c/c 14***.

Should you have any further queries, please do not hesitate to contact
me.

Kind Regards

Emma Buckley
Ticket Office
Football Association of Ireland

20/04/2005, 9:40 AM
Mine is 14*** not sure what i was on the waiting list. I think the answer to anybody out there is , to get on the waiting list and take your tickets for every game they offer you and never turn them down. Even if this means getting a terrace ticket for the game against China when you can get a stand from one of your mates. The point is it is not good enough just to attend the games you need to be seeing to be attending the games by the FAI. This way you will move up the ladder much quicker. I signed up during the qualifiers for 2004 and have been offered tickets for every home game since, as we have not played a team that has sold out their away allocation. Now that we are playing teams that will, I am on the block booking list and I have to say I am delighted. Not sure if the away games were taken into account , i doubt it but I took up tickets for everyone of those too with the exception of Poland.

20/04/2005, 12:30 PM
So much for my memory! I looked at it last night and it's 133** :rolleyes:

Cowboy
20/04/2005, 2:32 PM
So much for my memory! I looked at it last night and it's 133** :rolleyes:

Ah so perhaps they are still issuing new numbers

Colie
20/04/2005, 5:51 PM
50,000 - 36,000 = 14,000. I won't ask where you got your 1,000 figure. ;)

I'll answer for the craic....

Sportscall would you believe! :confused:

slow2anger
21/04/2005, 7:43 AM

always get your tickets from the FAI so they will have a record of you, keep away from ticketmaster.

monutdfc
21/04/2005, 8:12 AM
Get yourself on the waiting list, if you are not already on it - it had been closed but it should be opened up again now that they have taken a lot off it.
Then you should offered tickets for every friendly, and also for the qualifiers with low demand (I have been since I went on the waiting list). You must take these or you will be knocked off the list. Then it is a matter of waiting - I have to say that like the others on this thread who received the magic letter this week, I had given up any hope, so who knows...

21/04/2005, 12:25 PM
50,000 - 36,000 = 14,000. I won't ask where you got your 1,000 figure. I'll answer for the craic....

Sportscall would you believe! :confused:
The 1,000 figure would be for games without bucket seats on the terraces, capacity 49,000.

4tothefloor
21/04/2005, 11:41 PM
Get yourself on the waiting list, if you are not already on it - it had been closed but it should be opened up again now that they have taken a lot off it.
Then you should offered tickets for every friendly, and also for the qualifiers with low demand (I have been since I went on the waiting list)

Since I went on the waiting list, I've been offered tickets for every Home game, both competitive and friendlies, so it's worked out brilliantly for me. It's well worth going on it

22/04/2005, 7:57 AM
One of my mates who has been on the waiting list for
about 3-4 years just got added to the blockbooking

oconghc2
22/04/2005, 10:30 AM
happy days! have got the letter too! been on list for about 3 years

just keep annoying the ticketoffice with emails and eventually you start getting offred certain games - friendlies mostly

then if you keep accepting these they start moving you up the ladder!!

Baker
22/04/2005, 3:28 PM
Ive been on the waiting list for a year so I got on to the FAI to find out what the story is with the friendly tickets as Ive been just getting them from ticketmaster and had never been offered any from the FAI, heres what they said:

"At the start of the World Cup Qualifying campaign we were in a position to offer some people on the waiting list tickets for the Bulgaria friendly and the first WCQ`s against Cyprus and Faroe Islands. Customers who took up these tickets were offered tickets for the friendly games against Croatia/Portugal and then China/Italy. We are unable to offer anyone on the waiting list tickets for the upcoming WCQ`s against Israel, France and Switzerland as the three Associations are taking their full allocations."

22/04/2005, 3:33 PM
I would request from them that you get offered tickets for all friendlies so that you can build up a bit of loyalty points etc. It is terrible that they are offering tickets to ticketmaster for a game and not offering them to a person that is on the waiting list, i.e. you. They made a **** up like that with my brazil czech rep. romania package and I gave out **** about it, and since then there have been no errors. I think it is always worth ringing up and checking time and time again.

Colie
23/04/2005, 1:19 AM
I think if you can show ticket stubbs for all the away games you should be able to get home match tickets.

4tothefloor
23/04/2005, 6:37 PM
Credit Card has been deducted €180 for the three games already. That's Delaney for you.....