View Full Version : Dave Hannigan's article today.

adamd164
18/04/2005, 5:17 PM
In Dave Hannigan's article, which featured in the Evening Echo's Sports Special today, he spoke about the GAA's decision to open Croke Park to "foreign" sports. Proving yet again - he claimed - that it is the "most democratic sports organisation in the country". A bizarre statement to make, considering the fact that Cork did not even take a vote on the subject.

He went on to quote a 'cautious' FAI statement that the organisation would "investigate all venue options available". Apparently, this mystified Mr. Hannigan, who said that he "thought he'd heard it all". One must presume that he expected the FAI to just be greatful and happy that the GAA would let mere mortals into their mighty tax-funded stadium and not care about the terms and conditions of its useage. Don't make me laugh! After all, they never asked for it to be opened up.

Yes, it's true to say that the GAA are owners of Croke Park, but millions upon millions of tax-payers money was handed over, no questions asked, to the organisation. Why? Because, put simply, the government would not dare tell the GAA that there was a catch, that the FAI should be allowed use the facility aswell. No, this would cost them votes.

Also mentioned in his article was - not for the first time - the situation at Shamrock Rovers Football Club. Last week, Rovers went into examinership. Yes, there is something serioulsy wrong there, but he has pointed this out on numerous ocassions, in - irritatingly - a smug, holier-than-thou attitude, as if to boast. Sickening. He then said, jokingly, that SRFC may ask for the use of Parnell Park rent-free for the remainder of the century. Here, he was having a go at the fact that they have no ground of their own. Then again, as a professional club, they have a wage bill to pay.

It's not just in this case, he seems to take joy in Irish soccer clubs' failings and in the success of the good-old GAA. Never mentioned, however, are the eircom League's success stories. Shelbourne's and our fantastic European runs last season, for instance. Perhaps Mr. Hannigan has a chip on his shoulder when it comes to our National League. I wonder.

He has also, on several ocassions, taken stabs at the quality of the league. Well, I put it to him that Gaelic Football and Hurling may not look so fantastic in Ireland if the sports were played worldwide. The fact is, there's nothing to compare GAA players to, no standard, and that's why they are superstars in the eyes of many.

He ended by quoting Seán Kelly on the temporary changing of Rule 42, "I think very few other organisations would have done it," said Mr. Kelly. No, but then again, few other organisations would have such a moronic rule in the first place.

18/04/2005, 5:22 PM
does anyone even listen to the guy anymore?

18/04/2005, 5:25 PM
*Slightly off topic in the CCFC section*

Agree with you Anti-Dub.

Did anyone see the report on 6.1 sports section when it asked GAA fans in Parnell Park if they were happy with Croker being opened up? They showed 3 people, the first 2 said it was fine but the last (real Anto accent) said "Jayz, I wouldn' even let them the car park". Fair enough, but the guy was wairing a Celtic hat! :rolleyes: :o ... Typical! :o

adamd164
18/04/2005, 5:27 PM
the last (real Anto accent) said "Jayz, I wouldn' even let them the car park". Fair enough, but the guy was wairing a Celtic hat! :rolleyes: :o ... Typical! :o

Yes, typical. What a moron :rolleyes:

Druss
18/04/2005, 6:33 PM
It's not just in this case, he seems to take joy in Irish soccer clubs' failings and in the success of the good-old GAA. Never mentioned, however, are the eircom League's success stories. Shelbourne's and our fantastic European runs last season, for instance. Perhaps Mr. Hannigan has a chip on his shoulder when it comes to our National League. I wonder.

Dave likes to write doom laden articles. He's on a seriously bad run at the moment. He can't attack Limerick, Derry or Drogs any more, so hes limited to picking on the Hoops.

Did ye catch his article a few weeks ago where he tried to pick an alternative Irish squad to demonstrate the huge selection available to Kerr? He picked players from every lower league in the UK (and of course he picked Ronnie O'Brien coz Dave lives in the US and is convinced Ronnie is the answer to all Irelands problems).
He picked Rory Delap as a striker! No mention of any eircom league players, despite the fact that there are at least 6 eircom league players and probably more who are better strikers than Rory Delap.

Ruairi
18/04/2005, 8:06 PM
*Slightly off topic in the CCFC section*

yeah gonna move it

erra, hannigan seems to like writing articles just to p!ss people off.. i ignore them to be honest

18/04/2005, 8:29 PM
Dave Hannigan is no friend of EL football and most of his articles are written from the prospective of a ball ox ! :mad:

hamish
18/04/2005, 8:46 PM
As I've stated in other posts, we have a serious problem with good football writers in this country. It's ironic that two of the better ones, Pauls Hyland and Lennon, write for tabloids! One "expert" in a Sunday rag used to boast of the few Eircom matches he attended and that the fare was brutal. What a dipstick! Far too many "soccer journalists" have no interest in the game and are merely waiting to move on to their own sports. Tony O'Donoghue is another keen footie fan, played junior until a few years. John Creedon was at quite a few Cork City in St. Mel's Park and Con Murphy of RTE is a Shamrock Rovers fan, I think. Derek Foley is another keen football fan, does a great job on Tuesdays in The Star Junior/Schoolboys section but spends far too much time on eggball.

18/04/2005, 9:05 PM
Yes, it's true to say that the GAA are owners of Croke Park, but millions upon millions of tax-payers money was handed over, no questions asked, to the organisation. Why? Because, put simply, the government would not dare tell the GAA that there was a catch, that the FAI should be allowed use the facility aswell. No, this would cost them votes.

He ended by quoting Seán Kelly on the temporary changing of Rule 42, "I think very few other organisations would have done it," said Mr. Kelly. No, but then again, few other organisations would have such a moronic rule in the first place.
A couple of facts here.
"but millions upon millions of tax-payers money was handed over, no questions asked, to the organisation."
COMPLETELY AND TOTALLY UNTRUE.
In total, €19 million of "taxpayers money" has been "handed over" to the GAA. The rest of the money for the stadium has been generated by the GAA itself, or came from grants from Lottery funding, just like hundreds of golf, soccer, boxing, rowing etc clubs recieved grants.
€19 million is a pittance to contribute to an organisation that has provided a playing ground, social centre and youth club to virtually EVERY parish in this country. The estimated financial contribution from the GAA and it's members to these facilities is €2.6 BILLON, so 19 million is really small in comparison.
Parishes with populations of 300 and less have managed to build these facilities through sheer hard work, effort and digging deep into their OWN pockets. Any grants they have got is a tiny proportion of the overall cost.
The secratery of an average small-sized GAA club, can run his club, and organisation in a far more professional manner than the entire team of well-paid morons who have been employed by the supposedly professional FAI.

The most important fact of all is that THE GAA ARE NOT TO BLAME FOR THE INCOMPETENCE OF THE FAI.

AS for few other organisations would have such a moronic rule in the first place, what about the IRFU?
They might not have it actually written down somewhere, but this is the most elitist, class-based, exclusionary organisation in the world possibly.
How many players from Knocknaheeny/Togher/Gurranabraher play with Cork Con or some other shower? How many facilities built and community work has your average rugby club done around your area? How many coaches/parents from rugby clubs have knocked on doors in the poorest areas of this country to see if children want to come to a safe place where they can get healthy exercise, make good friends and be well looked after, all while enjoying themselves?
SWEET F*CK ALL, thats how many.
These c*nts are sitting on massive parcels of development land around the country, playing the property market to increase their financial reserves, yet is there ever a word of criticism about them?
It makes me PHYSICALLY SICK to think that these privileged, middle class, want for nothing f*cking gurriers will be allowed on to the hallowed turf of Croke Park, when for years their spiritual masters and wannabee west Brit ancestors killed and maimed the ordinary decent people of this country. I'm no SFer, or hold with any of that crap, but these rugger f*ckers make me gag.

It's very easy to run off the usual trite old bullsh*t about the GAA, but a closer look at the real facts wouldn't go amiss with anyone who wants to have yet another tedious go off them.

18/04/2005, 9:09 PM
The most important fact of all is that THE GAA ARE NOT TO BLAME FOR THE INCOMPETENCE OF THE FAI
I'm no friend of the GAA, but that is absolutely spot on. As for rugby- well I wouldn't agree there. In fairness, rugby (in Limerick in particular) is played by all sections of the community. Part of the problem with rugby is the stigma attached to it by people- same as saying GAA is for culchies/soccer is for west-brits etc etc

18/04/2005, 9:15 PM
Part of the problem with rugby is the stigma attached to it by people- same as saying GAA is for culchies/soccer is for west-brits etc etc
Bullsh*t Eanna.
I didn't attach any stigma to rugby, it has an elitist exclusionary policy, pretty much in the same way that golf clubs do. It's not written down anywhere, it's a nod and a wink, did you go to the right school attitude.

18/04/2005, 9:26 PM
Bullsh*t Eanna.
I didn't attach any stigma to rugby, it has an elitist exclusionary policy, pretty much in the same way that golf clubs do. It's not written down anywhere, it's a nod and a wink, did you go to the right school attitude.
I'm not saying YOU attached a stigma to it, but you're way off the mark there Pat. I know plenty of people who play rugby, watch rugby etc who are ordinary joe soaps- just like you, me and anyone else. I also know plenty of people involved in rugby who are complete tossers- the "rugger bugger" stereotype exists for a reason- they are out there, but they are not a majority IMO.

Soko
18/04/2005, 9:30 PM
Bullsh*t Eanna.

Ahh you know so much about the inner workings of rugby circles I feel that I may not be qualified to converse with you. I will however give it a go. Now barring Cork Con (exclude Leinster altogether from this) what clubs would adhere to this elitist policy in Munster? I have a lot more to say on this but I reckon you dont so go ahead and knock yourself out.

hamish
18/04/2005, 9:35 PM
Well said Patsh. I see eggball is trying to get into the Olympic games. This is the sport who disgraced the country when playing against the nazis who controlled South Africa and fcuked up the Melbourne Olympics when a host of countries (many African) withdrew due to the eggball tours to that part of the planet. Until, the IRB and its constituents publicly apologise for their arrogance and support of racism they should be barred from the Olympics, period. To be utterly fair, I'm still outraged over the Irish Soccer team playing Chile (included one Mr. Dunphy) straight after the murder of Allende by CIA supported Pinochet and his thugs in the early 70's. Also, there are still so-called rugby schools who will not allow soccer in and treat Gaelic games as an afterthought. I have no problem with ALL GAMES being played in schools but no elitism - that breeds the mentality that led to tours of South Africa. :eek:

Fair_play_boy
18/04/2005, 11:21 PM
. . . The secratery of an average small-sized GAA club, can run his club, and organisation in a far more professional manner than the entire team of well-paid morons who have been employed by the supposedly professional FAI.Agreed. Add to that the legions of volunteers who work in all weathers to develop youth teams right up to inter-county players. Go to the Rockies any saturday morning. About 500 to 600 kids are there, being coached by anything up to 50 voluntary coaches.
For as long as I can remember, the GAA has been responsible for unpaid social workers and youth workers. In my humble opinion, they have been the glue which held Irish community life together.
If they got 100 times the financial support they got from the government, so what? It is coming from tax payers' pockets, that is true, but for those of us who are not GAA members, we can be damn glad the organisation is there.
By the way I never played any Gaelic games, and I think a lot of GAA spokesmen down the years were l@ngers, but without that organisation I think we would be a lot poorer as a country.

Soko
19/04/2005, 12:04 AM
Well said Patsh. I see eggball is trying to get into the Olympic games. This is the sport who disgraced the country when playing against the nazis who controlled South Africa and fcuked up the Melbourne Olympics when a host of countries (many African) withdrew due to the eggball tours to that part of the planet. Until, the IRB and its constituents publicly apologise for their arrogance and support of racism they should be barred from the Olympics, period. To be utterly fair, I'm still outraged over the Irish Soccer team playing Chile (included one Mr. Dunphy) straight after the murder of Allende by CIA supported Pinochet and his thugs in the early 70's. Also, there are still so-called rugby schools who will not allow soccer in and treat Gaelic games as an afterthought. I have no problem with ALL GAMES being played in schools but no elitism - that breeds the mentality that led to tours of South Africa. :eek:

Time to get over yourself there, times have moved on. Any names for those so called rugby schools that dont allow soccer in?

19/04/2005, 12:12 AM
Time to get over yourself there, times have moved on. Any names for those so called rugby schools that dont allow soccer in?

Terenure College is definately one. Or are you only referring to Munster?

Soko
19/04/2005, 12:16 AM
Terenure College is definately one. Or are you only referring to Munster?

Well I wouldn't know the ins and outs exactly of most Leinster schools but I doubt very much that soccer and gaelic is not allowed. I'm almost 100% that all rugby playing schools in Munster allow whatever sport you want to be played.

19/04/2005, 12:18 AM
It makes me PHYSICALLY SICK to think that these privileged, middle class, want for nothing f*cking gurriers will be allowed on to the hallowed turf of Croke Park, when for years their spiritual masters and wannabee west Brit ancestors killed and maimed the ordinary decent people of this country. I'm no SFer, or hold with any of that crap, but these rugger f*ckers make me gag.

Get over the 1950's post-colonial anti-rugby chip, Patsh.

Claiming that rugby fans/officials/players in the 21st Century are in any way linked to the actions of the British army in Ireland in the 20th century and prior is absolutely feckin ridiculous. If that's the case, then the GAA - it's players, fans and officials - are likewise to blame for IRA atrocities. Ignoring the fact that the GAA's links to republican paramilitarism have arguably been much stronger than any rugby link to British militarism, the fact is that neither of those assertions is true.

Time to move on Patsh....

19/04/2005, 12:25 AM
Well I wouldn't know the ins and outs exactly of most Leinster schools but I doubt very much that soccer and gaelic is not allowed. I'm almost 100% that all rugby playing schools in Munster allow whatever sport you want to be played.

Well in the aformentioned school in 4th year some of us tried to organise a soccer team for the senior years with people not involved in rugby to play friendlies against other schools with a view to seeing how it went so we may eventually apply to play in competition. We had a couple of teachers agreed to coach us. As soon as the main rugby guy who is now principal found out he ripped the notices down and that was that. I know the school has also not played GAA sports since the 1910's when it fell out with the GAA (I think, though may be wrong, not sure, that it was ironically over playing 'foreign' sports). I cannot speak for Blackrock, Belvedere or Marys or any of the others but certainly in Terenure College there is no chance of even the willing organising the school on a competitive level in GAA or soccer.

19/04/2005, 12:28 AM
Bullsh*t Eanna.

Ballax Patsh. If you turned-up to a rugby club, said you'd never played rugby before but were interested in learning and playing the game, they'd take you in (unless of course you looked like you'd physically struggle). You'd get lumped in with the 4ths for training to see how you handled it, but they'd still give you a shot. If you don't believe me - try it. Don't approach one of the really big clubs (that would be like trying to approach Man U for a kickabout) - try one of your smaller local teams. Then compare the reception you'd receive with that you'd get if you turned up at a small soccer team in this country, looking to play for the first time. You'd be laughed outta town....

The biggest exclusionary element in the game of rugby is the blinkered old-fashioned attitudes of people like yourself who, by spreading half-arsed tales like this, are helping to create and perpetuate a self-fulfilling exclusionary myth.

Again, if you don't believe me - approach your local club and present yourself as someone keen to get involved....

Soko
19/04/2005, 12:31 AM
Ballax Patsh. If you turned-up to a rugby club, said you'd never played rugby before but were interested in learning and playing the game, they'd take you in (unless of course you looked like you'd physically struggle). You'd get lumped in with the 4ths for training to see how you handled it, but they'd still give you a shot. If you don't believe me - try it. Don't approach one of the really big clubs (that would be like trying to approach Man U for a kickabout) - try one of your smaller local teams. Then compare the reception you'd receive with that you'd get if you turned up at a small soccer team in this country, looking to play for the first time. You'd be laughed outta town....

The biggest exclusionary element in the game of rugby is the blinkered old-fashioned attitudes of people like yourself who, by spreading half-arsed tales like this, are helping to create and perpetuate a self-fulfilling exclusionary myth.

Again, if you don't believe me - approach your local club and present yourself as someone keen to get involved....

Spot on, its obvious this fool has no idea what he's talking about but he's heard stories you know :rolleyes:

19/04/2005, 12:36 AM
Actually was my school a particular bunch of knobs or is there anyone else here who went to a Dublin rugby school who found other sports were tossed to the wayside and there was an almost militant obsession with the Leinster Junior and more particularly Senior Cups? :confused:

harry crumb
19/04/2005, 12:54 AM
Actually was my school a particular bunch of knobs or is there anyone else here who went to a Dublin rugby school who found other sports were tossed to the wayside and there was an almost militant obsession with the Leinster Junior and more particularly Senior Cups? :confused:

I went to a rugby school in Leinster and there was definately a lot more obsession with the rugby teams when it came to the junior and senior cups.

I was more interested in the hurling and we were probably equally as succesful with our hurling team but we didnt get the same recognition. Plus some our best players were sometimes distracted by the glamour of the rugby team.

I think I was lucky I didnt go to a school in Dublin(thank god) and we were able to play most sports. We didnt have a soccer team, but we had soccer leagues near the end of the year.

Most Schools can only compete properly with a 1 or 2 sports.

Schools like Blackrock and others however have huge numbers and should allow all sports IMO.

hamish
19/04/2005, 6:23 AM
It's got nothing to do with times moving on - that's a cop out. We're talking recent history here and you know the old saying about people who refuse to learn the lessons of history are doomed to repeat it. I heard a Principal on RTE Radio a year or so ago of a Cork rugby school stating for traditional reasons. they had no place for competing sports - think it was one of the schools involved in the recent Munster Schools comp. or some school like that, you'd know the name better than I would. Garbally College, literally behind my back door, annually refuses to enter Connacht FAI Schools competitions despite constant requests from parents and students. I could name dozens more so it's BS to waffle about getting over anything, with all due respect!
Blackrock regularly play in schools soccer and won the Tony O'Neill Cup last year against St. McCartans, Monaghan in Belfield - that's a reply to other posts, not you Soko.
Look, I state again, that there is room for all the major field games in post Primary schools. My bone of contention is that NO sport, including soccer, has a divine right to be first in the school pecking order, especially when teachers use their pull and influence to make this type of decision on behalf of pupils. Self indulgence, whether it's RTE Donnybrook or schools leads to elitism and that, as far as I am concerned, is racism-lite.
As regards to getting over it, tell that to the Melbourne/Canadian taxpayers who, I believe, are still paying off the bill for Montreal. Running the Olympics is a loss making affair, usually, and having mass withdrawals of countries only makes the financial situation much worse.
Patsh is a brave man to make his point. Wrong is wrong is wrong. We football fans have no problem crucifying our game if there are **** ups in the various areas of football but rugby fans seem very sensitive to any criticism - not surprising given the soft ride/self-indulgence the game gets in the media and in schools.
In my own case, ok wer'e talking early 70s here, I was threatened with expulsion if I didn't play rugby in Garbally but I stuck to my guns and eventually got the priest who made the threat to take an interest in soccer and he eventually became President of the local soccer club, believe it or not!!!
Nothing against rugby, honestly, but elitism and self-indulgence yes.
Cheers. Sir H.

hamish
19/04/2005, 6:29 AM
Oh, by the way lads, if your'e going to call Patsh a fool, do a Gerry Adams when he "meets" the IRA and look in the mirror. That's the last time I'll name call, promise!! :D : :D

19/04/2005, 8:26 AM
€19 million is a pittance to contribute to an organisation that has provided a playing ground, social centre and youth club to virtually EVERY parish in this country.
The most important fact of all is that THE GAA ARE NOT TO BLAME FOR THE INCOMPETENCE OF THE FAI.Didn't the GAA get another huge wad recently no questions asked ? Your 2nd point is bang on, my take is that fair play to the GAA its their hard work, its their stadium and it galls me to think of the level of incompetance in hte FAI but its a fact of life and we must live with it.

They might not have it actually written down somewhere, but this is the most elitist, class-based, exclusionary organisation in the world possibly. Pat I'm no fan of Rugby but I do think the Rugby situation is changing. There are more and more young fellas out there playing Rugby that would have had no exposure to it in school. My 18 year old cousin recently captained Munster U18, he goes to a non rugby playing school and ain't from an upper crust area or family (In fact we don't even like to talk about the fact he plays rugby ;) ) and while the Rugger Bugger phenomenon still exists and annoy me as much as anybody, times are changing.

19/04/2005, 9:40 AM
Becuse of the prejudices towards “soccer” in the 40s and 50s by schools and the church, it meant the sport was only played by a small number of people, usually in the inner cities of Dublin and Cork. This deprived the game of many many people who might have become involved. Watched Bill Cullen on the Late Late on Friday, he said he was expelled from school aged 13, because his picture appeared in the paper with Home Farm. Incredible when you think of it. Liam Brady suffered the same fate when he refused to play GAA and turned out for St Kevins in the early 70s. Thankfully the country has moved on from those dark days. The FAI are a badly run organisation. Football should be organised similar to the GAA. One club per parish. Until this is done, football will remain the poor relations. The other sports have had a head start on football as regards facilities. This is slowly being rectified, especially in country areas like Mullingar Athletic and Town, Edenderry, Parkvilla and many many more throughout the country.

Bald Student
19/04/2005, 10:21 AM
I went to a rugby playing school and played when I was younger (I was a fat little kid so there was little room for me in soccer, GAA or athletics). Some of my old classmates now are involved in setting up the new club in Tallaght, which the IRFU have invested a lot of effort in. It's my opinion that the majority of rugby players are still coming from middle class backgrounds but that this is not as a result of any 'nod and wink' policy. The IRFU are putting a lot of effort into changing the make up of the union by bringing coaches to less traditional areas and by introducing Tag Rugby which can be played more casually than proper rugby.

Soko
19/04/2005, 10:28 AM
It's got nothing to do with times moving on - that's a cop out. We're talking recent history here and you know the old saying about people who refuse to learn the lessons of history are doomed to repeat it. I heard a Principal on RTE Radio a year or so ago of a Cork rugby school stating for traditional reasons. they had no place for competing sports - think it was one of the schools involved in the recent Munster Schools comp. or some school like that, you'd know the name better than I would.

Lads would ye stop making things up please. I went to one of the afformentioned schools and you could play whatever the #### you wanted to play, soccer, GAA, tennis, golf etc... and it was the same in the other. Now there could only be 2 schools that you're reffering to so make of that what you want to.

ColinR
19/04/2005, 11:06 AM
A couple of facts here.
"but millions upon millions of tax-payers money was handed over, no questions asked, to the organisation."
COMPLETELY AND TOTALLY UNTRUE.
In total, €19 million of "taxpayers money" has been "handed over" to the GAA.

is €19m not millions upon millions, which would make the original quote completely and totally true.

(sorry for being a bit petty!)

monutdfc
19/04/2005, 11:39 AM
Blackrock regularly play in schools soccer and won the Tony O'Neill Cup last year against St. McCartans, Monaghan in Belfield - that's a reply to other posts, not you Soko.
Unfortunately, it was not my Alma Mater (St Macartan's) that Blackrock defeated in that final but rather St Patrick's Cavan.

Gaelic football has always been the number one sport in St Macartan's which is fair enough I suppose (except that according one particular priest of the gaa zealot type it is written into the constitution of the school), but when I was there the soccer team were treated like second-class citizens. I think things have improved since.

hamish
19/04/2005, 5:48 PM
Unfortunately, it was not my Alma Mater (St Macartan's) that Blackrock defeated in that final but rather St Patrick's Cavan.

Gaelic football has always been the number one sport in St Macartan's which is fair enough I suppose (except that according one particular priest of the gaa zealot type it is written into the constitution of the school), but when I was there the soccer team were treated like second-class citizens. I think things have improved since.
Apologies - it was St. Patricks not St.McCartans - I really will have to stop posting at all ours of the morning. I was at quite a few St.McCartans games and their attitude to all sports was top class. Things have changed. Fair play.
Soko, stop the nonsense about making things up - Garbally, Clongowes etc have soccer pitches and kids can play there BUT my point was do these schools enter FAI Schools competitions and do they bring in coaches etc to coach the students interested in football. Any school can toss up a couple of acres for a kickabout but DID YOU get the opportunity to represent your Cork school in the various Munster Cups and had you a teacher willing to enter teams in the competitions. If so, what happened?
Look Soko, forgive me me if I sound a patronising bsatard, I respect your points of view but I still think I'm right on this one. Let me tell you a little sceal. I captained the Garbally school team against St. Mary's of Galway in 1972 after we fought like fcuk to get a team in to Connacht football. (It lasted one more year after that and the rugby boys killed it). Stephen, a teammate of mine, recalled that recently and said it was one of the proudest days of his life that he could represent his school playing the game he loves. Do you see where I'm coming from? Would not YOU have liked to be able to say the same thing?
I agree with the other posts, rugby IS making great efforts to expand the game from its base. Why? The game will die otherwise. I fully support this, by the way but I DON'T support exclusivity, self indulgence and elitism in sport.
Cheers, man. Sir H. :)

19/04/2005, 5:56 PM
To be utterly fair, I'm still outraged over the Irish Soccer team playing Chile (included one Mr. Dunphy) straight after the murder of Allende by CIA

You must have been in rages during USA '94 so?

19/04/2005, 5:57 PM
Spot on, its obvious this fool has no idea what he's talking about but he's heard stories you know :rolleyes:
Ah the typical reply from the rugger bugger, a little abuse and then the superior attitude to think you know something about me. One must never denigrate the guys, must one?...:p

19/04/2005, 5:58 PM
is €19m not millions upon millions, which would make the original quote completely and totally true.

(sorry for being a bit petty!)
You are not being petty, just intensely pedantic.....;)

19/04/2005, 6:07 PM
Ballax Patsh. ....
Ballax back to you.
I have recent (3 months ago) close experience of snobbery and elitism from rugger buggers, based entirely on birthplace, school and social class.
I don't give a flying f*ck for rugger boys attitudes and opinions on this forum or anywhere else, so I couldn't care less about the attempts at abuse, but I know from certain, experienced at first hand, events what attitudes did exist and are still extant to this day.
I repeat, it is SICKENING to think of no-necked, privileged gurriers being allowed to use Croke Park.
Actually when they are eventually allowed in, maybe the Revenue Commisioners could arrest the entire attendance, I'm pretty sure they would find a lot of tax-cheats, slave labour employers and general low-life thieves masquerading as the "great and good" of this country.

hamish
19/04/2005, 6:09 PM
Becuse of the prejudices towards “soccer” in the 40s and 50s by schools and the church, it meant the sport was only played by a small number of people, usually in the inner cities of Dublin and Cork. This deprived the game of many many people who might have become involved. Watched Bill Cullen on the Late Late on Friday, he said he was expelled from school aged 13, because his picture appeared in the paper with Home Farm. Incredible when you think of it. Liam Brady suffered the same fate when he refused to play GAA and turned out for St Kevins in the early 70s. Thankfully the country has moved on from those dark days. The FAI are a badly run organisation. Football should be organised similar to the GAA. One club per parish. Until this is done, football will remain the poor relations. The other sports have had a head start on football as regards facilities. This is slowly being rectified, especially in country areas like Mullingar Athletic and Town, Edenderry, Parkvilla and many many more throughout the country.
Dead on Drummerboy, but I would state that the improving of facilities is going at a phenomenal rate. Mullingar Athletic's Gainstown ground is sensational. I remember an Ennis teavher in 2000 arriving for Primary Finals ans saying "FCUK it, we have nothing like this!!!" Some places still have some catching up to do, obviously. Regards Parkvilla, if your'e up in Navan, check out the Meath & District League grounds on the Trim road - amazing. Another town I know in that league, Kingscourt, recently announced a six figure ground development scheme - this club didn't exist a few years ago!! Amazing!
I'll take a break for a while, lads, as I've just seen the muppet elected a Pope and I'm thoroughly depressed. And we criticise the FAI for who they select as their top man? Jeez. :eek: :( :mad:

hamish
19/04/2005, 6:20 PM
You must have been in rages during USA '94 so?
:D :D Nah, Slick Willy was in charge then!!! On second thoughts.......... :eek:

Soko
19/04/2005, 6:23 PM
Apologies - it was St. Patricks not St.McCartans - I really will have to stop posting at all ours of the morning. I was at quite a few St.McCartans games and their attitude to all sports was top class. Things have changed. Fair play.
Soko, stop the nonsense about making things up - Garbally, Clongowes etc have soccer pitches and kids can play there BUT my point was do these schools enter FAI Schools competitions and do they bring in coaches etc to coach the students interested in football. Any school can toss up a couple of acres for a kickabout but DID YOU get the opportunity to represent your Cork school in the various Munster Cups and had you a teacher willing to enter teams in the competitions. If so, what happened?
Look Soko, forgive me me if I sound a patronising bsatard, I respect your points of view but I still think I'm right on this one. Let me tell you a little sceal. I captained the Garbally school team against St. Mary's of Galway in 1972 after we fought like fcuk to get a team in to Connacht football. (It lasted one more year after that and the rugby boys killed it). Stephen, a teammate of mine, recalled that recently and said it was one of the proudest days of his life that he could represent his school playing the game he loves. Do you see where I'm coming from? Would not YOU have liked to be able to say the same thing?
I agree with the other posts, rugby IS making great efforts to expand the game from its base. Why? The game will die otherwise. I fully support this, by the way but I DON'T support exclusivity, self indulgence and elitism in sport.
Cheers, man. Sir H. :)

Our school did play in Munster cups etc... and weren't that bad actually. We had a huge mix of GAA, soccer and rugby players in our school but it just so happens that rugby is by far the highest profile sport played there. People didn't complain about having to play in second rate GAA competitions because thats not where we were strong. Are you going to give out about Colmans etc... not expanding in to rugby fields? I know Newbridge have practically abandoned rugby and become predominantly GAA orientated so good luck to them.

Once again though, who were you talking about in Cork as I know this one for fact and you seem to have given up this point altogether. People like Patsh have completly ignored me too......... bar Cork Con name where the elitist clubs in Cork. You cant because you're full of ####.

hamish
19/04/2005, 7:04 PM
Look Soko, I have not given up on any point. I'm delighted to see your school took part but I repeat, there are too many schools who deliberately snub soccer or give it a low profile - Cork is only one county, by the way so stop the know-it-all BS - you sound anally retentive. As for me talking sihte, you can do better than that. You conveniently overlook the thrust of my post so I can only presume your'e not too convinced of whatever point you are trying to make. :p

19/04/2005, 7:16 PM
..... maybe the Revenue Commisioners could arrest the entire attendance, I'm pretty sure they would find a lot of tax-cheats, slave labour employers and general low-life thieves masquerading as the "great and good" of this country.Steady on now patsh, the entire attendance won't all be from Cork will they?

19/04/2005, 7:28 PM
Steady on now patsh, the entire attendance won't all be from Cork will they?
There will be far too many from here.....:(
Not as many as the revolting D4 jackeens though.

Soko
19/04/2005, 8:19 PM
Look Soko, I have not given up on any point. I'm delighted to see your school took part but I repeat, there are too many schools who deliberately snub soccer or give it a low profile - Cork is only one county, by the way so stop the know-it-all BS - you sound anally retentive. As for me talking sihte, you can do better than that. You conveniently overlook the thrust of my post so I can only presume your'e not too convinced of whatever point you are trying to make. :p

I'm just calling you out for making bs statements thats all. You never did name that school from Cork.

Patsh is the one full of #### and I'd love to hear more of his opinions of how rugby toffs have ruined his life, I really would :rolleyes:

And I never tried to act as if I know it all, read one one of my first posts as an admission. I do however know about Munster schools and I've stated what I know, not much about any other schoools. Go ahead and read back on my posts before you come out with this tripe.

Bosco
19/04/2005, 9:40 PM
In terms of Rugby in Dublin,everything patsh is saying seems to be spot on in my experience.However it seems to be people from cork who are slating him and calling him a bull****er.I have had no experience of rugby in cork but munster rugby in general seems alot different then that of d4 dwellers

martin_rules_ie
19/04/2005, 10:21 PM
I'm just calling you out for making bs statements thats all. You never did name that school from Cork.

i'll name you a school, christian brothers college. i attend this school and soccer is ignored mostly

19/04/2005, 10:22 PM
The GAA got €40m (or at least promised it) last year to complete the stadium. Beries tried to do deal for €60m but he didn't have cabinet approval so the PDs stopped it. The GAA must have got something at the start. €19m is not correct no matter what way you calculate it.

I have finally had enough of some GAA peoples opinions. That section are a shower of hypocrites. Most will probably support a foreign game team abroad & will cheer on the international team during the WC. The love soccer as much as the GAA but never in their own country.

I'm also sick of this notion that all these soccer & rugby clubs are queuing up to use their local GAA facilities. Cork City would have use for any GAA ground in the county. Flower Lodge is no better than the cross. The Parc wouldn't likely pass the UEFA Licencing regulations.

Would Longford Town use the local GAA pitch? Would Sligo use whatever GAA pitch they have up there? I don't think so.

Remember almost 1/3 of the voters last sunday voted to against a TEMPORARY opening of Croke Park.

It is shamful the stance of the Cork GAA board when many people in the city & county go to games of all organisations throughout the year.

Fair_play_boy
19/04/2005, 10:34 PM
You never did name that school from Cork. . . . Patsh is the one full of #### and I'd love to hear more of his opinions of how rugby toffs have ruined his life, I really would :rolleyes: Soko there is no need to attack the poster. Maybe you should stick to attacking the post and we can progress this discussion a bit.
I think it likely that the school Patsh is talking about is CBC (http://www.ratemyteachers.ie/ShowRatings.php?tid=880&type=0), and I think his observations are completely valid. Click that link and see what current pupils say about rugby, one guy saying that "if you didn't play rugby or you weren't in trouble he (school principal) didn't know who you were. People joked that rugby players had free reign of the school... but they did!".
My memories of that school are that you were a second class citizen if you did not play rugby. The type of guys who played the game started out as a mixture of normal lads, but a few years into it and they all turned into the sort of social nightmares that Patsh is talking about.
The school was considered as being exclusive, and probably still is, as you have to pay fees to go there. But it was exclusive in a nasty way. Many of the lads who went there looked down on anybody who appeared socially different. For example most comments I heard about the lads who went to the One Day a Week school up the road would make you think that they were a lower life form. There were incredible stone age attitudes there, which condemned trades unions, Travellers, people who were poor, the unemployed, in fact anybody who did not appear to be "socially acceptable", in their own narrow sense of the word.
The Brothers in CBC were no better. Attempts to introduce soccer were undermined. There was this one guy who had a trial for Arsenal, called Harrington I think. From Iona Park in Mayfield anyway. He and a few others made a determined effort to start a team and enter it in the school boys leage at the time. Not one teacher helped, despite the fact that they were queueing up to coach the rugby teams. The boss of the school would not allow the team to use the extensive school grounds at Lansdowne (up next to Collins Barracks). The only concession was that the organisers were allowed to put a notice on the school notice board.
In CBC I "learned" that GAA was a sport for culchies, Soccer was played by rough people from the poorer parts of town, and Rugby was the sport of men. Later I saw that the circle of priveleged people whose sons played rugger ensured that these boys walked into jobs if they did not get the points to go to Uni.
These guys are caricatures of intolerance of anything and anybody that does not fit within their rigid social scene. Of the guys I know, very few have any interest in or respect for GAA or soccer. They live in a different world, and I get the sense that I am possibly the only person they know who supports an EL club. Oh, they will go to Old Trafford alright, maybe more than once a year, but sin sceal eile.
So, why would you want to feel good about city slicker rugger buggers playing at Croker? The only positive things about it, IMO, are that the country will be saved a few bob, and the GAA will earn a few million in rent.
So give Patsh a break, will ya?

hamish
19/04/2005, 10:49 PM

Patsh is the one full of #### and I'd love to hear more of his opinions of how rugby toffs have ruined his life, I really would :rolleyes:

And I never tried to act as if I know it all, read one one of my first posts as an admission. I do however know about Munster schools and I've stated what I know, not much about any other schoools. Go ahead and read back on my posts before you come out with this tripe.
Soko, I read your posts. Martin Rules ie mentioned the Cork school, above, I think that's the one. All I'm saying is I heard a radio interview with a Cork schools Principal state that rugby was the traditional sport and there was no room for "other" sports. I'm not anti-Cork - I did mention my own Galway school as an example where the same dunmbass attitude persists. My basic point is, I am against elitism, croneyism, special preference and pseudo-tradition in either school, media or any other area. If a Principal stated that soccer was the school sport and other sports were down the pecking order, I would be just as vehemently against that. If that's tripe then so be it - you can live in your own little world. :D

20/04/2005, 3:06 PM
you were a second class citizen if you did not play rugby.
there is no doubt truth in that, but I'm sure there are GAA-oriented schools where that is the case too. In my experience, most schools tend to treat "sports stars" differently.