View Full Version : Limerick, it's nicer than you think.

Derek
17/04/2005, 6:35 PM
(I copied this from the DCFC site.)

Not a bad effort by the lads on Friday. We had the lions share of the ball and chances, but that does not count for much if you can't convert you chances into goals. Big Trev took a bad knock, he was out cold and talking gibberish went he woke(I know because I heard him, I was a few feet behind the goal.

When we got the equaliser it was weird, the ball was in the back of the net, the ground was silent and Trev was out cold! our players stood motionless, the ref gave his whistle a toot and I was going to bang the drum a cheer but nobody seemed to know if it was a goal or if the ref was blowing for a free kick, so about 30 seconds after the the ball hit the back of the net I shouted over to the ref if it was a goal, he said it was so I cheered a bit. With Trev on his back cheering didn't seem to be the right thing to do I stopped.

Anyway Robbie and Philly(came on for Trev) upfront looked lively and Holty gave 100% the rest of the lads did a good job apart from Brens mistake dropping the ball, I'm not having a go at him, it's just unfortunate that when you make a mistake as keeper the ball goes in the net.

I would just like to add that I didn't see one knife the whole time in Limerick that included a rather scaldy kebab and chips in Abrakebabra in the main strret after the game, I would say that the people I came across at the game could only be described as gentlemen. Keep up the good work down there in Jackman park. I look forward to going down there again only I hope we get all three points next time

18/04/2005, 10:03 AM
I would just like to add that I didn't see one knife the whole time in Limerick that included a rather scaldy kebab and chips in Abrakebabra in the main strret after the game, I would say that the people I came across at the game could only be described as gentlemen. Keep up the good work down there in Jackman park. I look forward to going down there again only I hope we get all three points next time

It's Rathbane by the way and just out of curiosity what did you think of the set up? :ball:

LFC in Exile
18/04/2005, 10:56 AM

Not a bad effort by the lads on Friday. We had the lions share of the ball and chances, but that does not count for much if you can't convert you chances into goals. Big Trev took a bad knock, he was out cold and talking gibberish went he woke(I know because I heard him, I was a few feet behind the goal.

When we got the equaliser it was weird, the ball was in the back of the net, the ground was silent and Trev was out cold! our players stood motionless, the ref gave his whistle a toot and I was going to bang the drum a cheer but nobody seemed to know if it was a goal or if the ref was blowing for a free kick, so about 30 seconds after the the ball hit the back of the net I shouted over to the ref if it was a goal, he said it was so I cheered a bit. With Trev on his back cheering didn't seem to be the right thing to do I stopped.

Anyway Robbie and Philly(came on for Trev) upfront looked lively and Holty gave 100% the rest of the lads did a good job apart from Brens mistake dropping the ball, I'm not having a go at him, it's just unfortunate that when you make a mistake as keeper the ball goes in the net.

I think the report can be taken with a grain of salt - we are all biased in favour of our own teams I think. I was feeling sorry for you down there in teh second half - hope you had strong glasses on to see all the action up the other end. City had two really good chances in the first half - a great save by Mooney for one and a terrible miss for the other. They had a couple of corners in the second half. The goal was well taken but came from a sloppy clearance under no pressure. Limerick spent most of the second half in the City half and although we ddin't carve out many clear chances we were on top in terms of possession (though your possession wasn't helped by the fact that every time a defender got the ball he just lumped it up into the air). Does Dermot Keely have to inform air traffic control before each Dublin City game?

Glad you enjoyed the visit anyway - see, we are not that bad down here. Fair play for travelling - maybe see you in Richmond. :ball:

By the way - how is Vaughan? Saw the ambulance coming in as the crowd was leaving.

Derek
18/04/2005, 11:10 AM

It's Rathbane by the way and just out of curiosity what did you think of the set up? :ball:

I wish we could have a setup like it, it's a bit messy at the moment but you have a lot of potetial to big a big club if driven in the right direction. 1000+ fans is a great starting place, only problem is you need to get some proper chanting on the terraces.

Trev recovered and made it to the bus home, he was badly bruised though.

18/04/2005, 11:42 AM
I wish we could have a setup like it, it's a bit messy at the moment but you have a lot of potetial to big a big club if driven in the right direction. 1000+ fans is a great starting place, only problem is you need to get some proper chanting on the terraces.

Trev recovered and made it to the bus home, he was badly bruised though.

Alas I tried, but we Limerick people aren't great at that sort of thing.

Glad ye enjoyed it, I'll see you and your drum at Richmond :D

20/04/2005, 11:30 AM
I would say that the people I came across at the game could only be described as gentlemen.

That's me and Nempton BTW! :D

20/04/2005, 11:35 AM
That's me and Nempton BTW! :D

Indeed, Jolly good show old gents :D