View Full Version : Dolan/Bohemiens

17/04/2005, 12:18 PM
Personally i feel that if bohs keep up there current form it will be only a matter of time before Pat Dolan is announced as there new manager and Gareth Farrelly is resigned to player/coach or just player(remebering they have a perfectly good assistant manager).If(when) this happens i have 2 questions for the people posting on this thread

1. Would this be a good move on Bohemiens part.
2. Should he bring some stability back to bohs,would he be able to tempt some of his dressing room supporters(O'Callaghan etc.) to bohs.

Now i know that alot of people will be saying why would they leave cork for bohs but cork have a big squad and only eleven players can play at one time.Behan,O'Flynn and Doyle are 3 good players fighting for 2 places and that is just one example and with Dolans powers of persuasion who knows.
Remember you heard it here first ;)

17/04/2005, 12:28 PM
Farrelly looks out his depth even if Bohs are missing players due to injury. He had Keedy & O'Brien on the bench last friday so was his own decision not to play them & not injury.

I think he is unlucky in ways as 2nd string players from last season ain't great. IMO Foley is terrible & City are lucky didn't sign him.

Farrelly did have 10+ games at end of last season to access players so can't use that excuse. I still don't understand why Farrelly doesn't play as always seems to have a strange "injury".

I don't think Bohs will sack him yet as supporters at Dalymount seem to have accepted that going to be a long season.

17/04/2005, 12:39 PM
Your right Pete,This mysterious injury Farrelly seems to have when it suits him and cork were also very lucky with Foley he's shocking :eek:

RedX
17/04/2005, 1:59 PM
If Dolan was to take over in the future at Bohs of course there would be speculation that some players at City would join up with him again..i think the most likely ones he would want would be Kevin Doyle and Joe Gamble..not so sure would he actually try and sign Georgie and also not sure Georgie would play with any other eircom side..I have to say i am surprised Bohs have started so poorly because i thought towards the end of last season you were starting to improve and play well...but GF will be given at least the season i reckon..

I have a sneaking suspicion Dolan could end up in Drogheda eventually..they sound perfect for him..spent loads of cash(which means they will demand success)so when they are not doing great i can see Doolin losing his job there and Dolan moving in..maybe :(

17/04/2005, 2:57 PM
i thought towards the end of last season you were starting to improve and play well

I'm sorry was it not clear from the jersey beside my user name who i supported.I'll change it so.

RedX
17/04/2005, 3:26 PM
I'm sorry was it not clear from the jersey beside my user name who i supported.I'll change it so.

My mistake D2...i should have spotted your lovely yellow Shels shirt.. ;)

skitz3
17/04/2005, 4:56 PM
...but GF will be given at least the season i reckon..

There is no way Farrelly will be given the full season to assert himself to the job and prove himself. Bohs are a big club and if they continue in this way it won't be long before the fans are asking for his head, regardless of the way you think the fans have decided on the future hardship of the season. If their bad form continues Farrelly will be out of his current job.

Just for the record Bohs won't be relegated but if they were it couldn't happen to a more deserving bunch of lads. ;)

17/04/2005, 5:05 PM
My mistake D2...i should have spotted your lovely yellow Shels shirt.. ;)

Yeah yellow is my favorite colour but i keep asking for pink shorts with the yellow jersey but for some strange reason they keep throwing me out,must be the way i'm asking. :D

skitz3
17/04/2005, 5:10 PM
I forgot to answer D2 Red's questions.

1. So far Dolan hasn't achieved very much in the eL with the teams he has been with so it's hard to say given that he's not the worst manager around. However Dolan is a bit of a Narcissist and, as with any club he's been at, he may clash with the board. Ultimately I think that it would be a bad idea for Bohs to take him on board.

2. If, hypotetically speaking, he did get the job I don't think he would be able to take any of the bog... I mean Cork lassies with him. I's not that I feel the likes of 'Oscar nominated' Georgie are 100% loyal to Cork, loyalty is lost in football, but it's just that Cork are a better team than Bohs and it would be illogical for them to go to a lesser team.

17/04/2005, 5:32 PM
Skitz3

1.he won a league title which is enough
2.there are more than 11 good players in cork citys dressing room but only 11 starting places

skitz3
17/04/2005, 5:44 PM
1. He won one league title which, no doubt is good, but he has done absolutely nothing since. I think the time in between the title win and now should be taken into consideration. He had a better team in the current Cork side than with Pats and achieved nothing with them domestically. I did say he was a good manager. I also feel his ego should be taken into consideration when we see how he departed from Pats and Cork.

2. If all the Cork players there are afraid of a little competition then by all means I would encourage them to leave. I just don't feel that they will be that frighened by the competition considering Cork are one of the best sides around.

17/04/2005, 6:00 PM
Skitz3

1.That cork team was up against the strongest team in the eircom league for about 10 years.

2.It's not just the competition but the chance of linking back up with an old friend/manager,one on it's own is not much of a deal but both together is.we all know the respect the cork players had for him.

skitz3
17/04/2005, 6:25 PM
1. I'll give it to you, they really were up against the best team the eL has seen for ages. ;) . But he didn't see that. Him and everybody from the foreign land of sh1te didn't see it, claiming that they were good enough to win it. If he makes people believe it then surely he should be expected to deliver on it.

2. It still remains that they would be moving to a worse club. I don't think the prospect of being re-united with him will take to the fore. They did have a lot of respect for him but at the moment they are at a team that are potential title challengers.
This might be a bit extreme but if Dolan gets Limerick promoted would the players follow him there. (before you answer forget that they are bitter rivals).

adamcarr
17/04/2005, 6:29 PM
if Dolan gets Limerick promoted would the players follow him there. (before you answer forget that they are bitter rivals).
No we're not! City fans have nothing against Lims fans and I myself are hoping that they make it up this season!

skitz3
17/04/2005, 6:34 PM
No we're not! City fans have nothing against Lims fans and I myself are hoping that they make it up this season!

Sorry about the misunderstanding. :o I had a conversation with a couple of Cork fans and they left me with the impression that you two hated each other.

adamcarr
17/04/2005, 6:41 PM
Sorry about the misunderstanding. :o I had a conversation with a couple of Cork fans and they left me with the impression that you two hated each other.
There would be a rivalry if they made the premier but ATM most CCFC fans would be hoping for them alongside Ramblers to come up!

17/04/2005, 6:48 PM
1. I'll give it to you, they really were up against the best team the eL has seen for ages. ;) . But he didn't see that. Him and everybody from the foreign land of sh1te didn't see it, claiming that they were good enough to win it. If he makes people believe it then surely he should be expected to deliver on it.

Yeah your right there.

17/04/2005, 7:27 PM
Is Dolan involved with Limerick?

Given how the fans there treated Pete Mahon when he didn't live up their expectations I wonder if it will not be long before the fans really get on Farrelly's back. I suppose if the job becomes vacant it will be inevitable that big Pat will be linked with the job. He is a young man with a passion for the eL and a lot to offer it there is a strong chance he will get the next big vacancy.

17/04/2005, 7:35 PM

Given how the fans there treated Pete Mahon when he didn't live up their expectations I wonder if it will not be long before the fans really get on Farrelly's back. I suppose if the job becomes vacant it will be inevitable that big Pat will be linked with the job. He is a young man with a passion for the eL and a lot to offer it there is a strong chance he will get the next big vacancy.

Dolans not involved with Limerick.

The bohs fans treatment of Pete Mahon was disgraceful and soon enough Farrelly is going to get it,the difference between them is Pete Mahon is a Quality manager.Gareth Farrelly wasn't up to it as a player and won't be up to it as a manager.

17/04/2005, 8:02 PM
Ah sorry, I just thought the way skitz was saying things Dolan was involved there. One difference in the Mahon/Farrelly situations is though that Mahon took over when Bohs were doing well and they had expectations whereas they only had an average season last season and they are in a poor financial state.

17/04/2005, 8:02 PM

No, but AFAIK he is friendly with Danny Drew (Limerick chairman).
As for Bohs, I'd be surprised at Dolan if he went to a Dublin club given what he's been saying about the "Dublin bias" etc for the last 2 years. Farrelly needs to be given time- Bohs are in debt and have a fairly poor squad, I think they'll struggle this season. They probably have the strongest midfield in the league (when fit) but they're toothless up front and their central defence looked brutal (Aggrey is TERRIBLE!) IMO, bohs will be lucky to finish in the top half of the table this season- no manager can change that

17/04/2005, 8:05 PM
As for Bohs, I'd be surprised at Dolan if he went to a Dublin club given what he's been saying about the "Dublin bias" etc for the last 2 years.

Dolan will say whatever it is he thinks people want to hear. Like while still Cork manager while in Inchicore didn't Dolan say to the Pats fans something like "Cork is just a job, this is my club". Dolan would crawl to Dublin for the chance to manage Bohs.

17/04/2005, 8:12 PM
Like while still Cork manager while in Inchicore didn't Dolan say to the Pats fans something like "Cork is just a job, this is my club".
true. I'd forgotten that.

17/04/2005, 8:17 PM
Dolan will say whatever it is he thinks people want to hear. Like while still Cork manager while in Inchicore didn't Dolan say to the Pats fans something like "Cork is just a job, this is my club".

:rolleyes: :rolleyes:
If you believe that you'll believe anything.

You shouldn't listen to lies told by bitter and jealous St. Pats fans.

17/04/2005, 8:19 PM
:rolleyes: :rolleyes:
If you believe that you'll believe anything.

You shouldn't listen to lies told by bitter and jealous St. Pats fans.
so he definitely didn't say it? I'd heard from a number of Pats fans that he did- its no big deal really, the guy is entitled to have those feelings for St Pats. He's a passionate football man, of course he's going to love a club that he put so much into.

17/04/2005, 8:25 PM
so he definitely didn't say it? I'd heard from a number of Pats fans that he did- its no big deal really, the guy is entitled to have those feelings for St Pats. He's a passionate football man, of course he's going to love a club that he put so much into.

Of course he didn't say it. I've been assured of that.

Of course he still has feelings for Pats but he didn't say that, you should know better than to listen to that particular group of Pats fans.

17/04/2005, 8:27 PM

By who?

17/04/2005, 8:28 PM

Of course he still has feelings for Pats but he didn't say that, you should know better than to listen to that particular group of Pats fans.
Fair enough, but its hard to ignore something when you hear it from several different sources, most of which are reliable. You know the guy well and talk to him regularly, so I'll take your word for it :)

17/04/2005, 9:55 PM
If Dolan went to Bohs he'd be more likely to take city supporters to Dalymount than players.

;) :rolleyes:

joeraki
17/04/2005, 10:28 PM

By who, your mikman, postman ??

particular group eh... round em up and hang em at dawn I say :rolleyes:

skitz3
17/04/2005, 11:27 PM
Dolan would definitely go to Bohs given the chance. As for taking players from Cork: I just can't see them wanting to leave league contenders for a struggling team at the moment. Bohs have a good name and a credible reputation as one of the eL's finest teams but those will only hold them afloat for awhile. That's not to say they'll be relegated, far from it, but if they don't get their act together soon no player from the top 2 or 3 teams will put pen to paper for them.

monkey magic
18/04/2005, 4:15 PM
starting to think bohs may have to do a st pats over the next few years and get their house in order before they think bout challenging for honours again...

also wonder are the bohs board starting to wonder bout their decision to sack, imo one of the best managers in the league(stephen kenny) and appoint an unconvincing player as his replacement :rolleyes:

ThatGuy
18/04/2005, 6:18 PM
Ah sorry, I just thought the way skitz was saying things Dolan was involved there. One difference in the Mahon/Farrelly situations is though that Mahon took over when Bohs were doing well and they had expectations whereas they only had an average season last season and they are in a poor financial state.
Mahon had control of what in my opinion was the best professional squad that I have seen in Irish football, and failed spectacularly.

Stephen Kenny unfortunately broke up the team and replaced key players with poorer ones, and Bohs are paying the price now after losing key players in Glen Crowe and Simon Webb, and not replacing the likes of Hawkins and Ryan, who although weren't exactly great players were still regulars.

Dr.Nightdub
18/04/2005, 7:58 PM

There were three people involved in that incident - Dolan and two Pats fans, Danny (who posts here the odd time I think) and Supernintendo Kev. I've heard Danny and Kev's versions of events and they concur. You've heard Dolan's. His is different from theirs.

Dolan knows that Danny and Kev were involved in the successful Dolan Out campaign a few years back. Wouldn't be hard to, as none of us wore balaclavas at the time. So let's just say they wouldn't all have been catching up on each others' news.

An element of mutual antagonism and mutual wind-up was undoubtedly involved. But knowing the two lads, I've no doubt the incident happened as they described.

As regards us being bitter, why would we be? We wanted him out, so if anything, we were triumphalist at the time. Now though, he's just the bloke who preceeded the manager before the current Pats manager, he brought a (as in singular) league trophy and some good times but he also brought us to the financial position from which we're still trying to recover.

It seems to be part of Dolan's psyche to lurk like the ghost of Xmas past around clubs from which he's been despatched. Since getting the bullet from Cork, he's had that sad farewell do, gone to friendlies, been up to Harps to see them, etc etc. The appointment of Bernard O'Byrne as CEO firmly shuts the door on him returning to Pats in the near future so I'd imagine Cork fans will be seeing even more of him in the weeks to come.

Personally, I think he'd be best off sticking to TV punditry where his natural passion and enthusiasm for the league can shine through and his hyperbole isn't that out of place.

As a manager, I don't think his record amounts to that much - a league win which was got at a horrendous financial price, "Director of Football" when Buckley lead us to the two-in-a-row, conveniently not responsible for the football when he needed rid of Buckley, a possible league win thrown away cos he didn't have the gumption to keep his head down and his mouth shut when the registration fiasco happened. In between times, a few mid-table finishes and a brush with the play-offs.

If I was chairman of any league club, he'd actually be the last person I'd appoint as manager. His track record shows he's a bit too fond of large, expensive squads of less-than-effective players. The only ones who could afford him at the moment are Shels (and possibly Drogs) and they've already got the best proven manager in the league. Cork have the next best squad and I reckon they'll do better under Rico than they would've under Dolan.

18/04/2005, 8:55 PM
well rico has them unbeaten so far. Last season and the season before cork were very poor starters. Rico is a flair manager and dont forget when he was at rovers they were strong favourites against dundalk three years ago in the cup semi and lost! he is a born winner and I really think that cork city can get their overdue title win!

18/04/2005, 9:13 PM
Surely Bohs can't afford to get rid of GF, and have to pay him off for the next 2(3 ?) seasons....

18/04/2005, 9:14 PM
Just tell him he's not manager anymore and keep him as a player. No bother, and he'd surely be a decent enough footballer for them.

18/04/2005, 9:33 PM
Surely Bohs can't afford to get rid of GF, and have to pay him off for the next 2(3 ?) seasons....
Bohs would want to cop themselves on. They're utterly deluded. They had 2 or 3 good season with reasonable success and they were swaggering around as though they were european champions. Their fans are notoriously impatient anyway, no surprise to see Farrelly under pressure already :rolleyes: Still, if they want to give him the boot and bankrupt themselves, I'm sure we could offer him a spot on the subs bench :)

19/04/2005, 12:11 PM
Bohs would want to cop themselves on. They're utterly deluded. They had 2 or 3 good season with reasonable success and they were swaggering around as though they were european champions. Their fans are notoriously impatient anyway, no surprise to see Farrelly under pressure already :rolleyes: Still, if they want to give him the boot and bankrupt themselves, I'm sure we could offer him a spot on the subs bench :)
Wonderful advice there. We'll have the stadium announcer read it out on Friday. Eanna from Cork sez will yiz ever cop on!. That'll sort us out.
I think this Bohs fan impatience line is becoming a bit thin. Are we the only crew that give our players and managers ear ache? Does that never, ever happen in Cork?
As for Dolan, he's a good manager and was unlucky not to lift the league again last year. I don't accept all that my-heart-is-in -Inchicore/Cork baloney: he's a hired gun and he'd at least not be a disaster. But there may be too much water under the bridge for core Bohs support to accept him. That said, Rovers have Roddy and half our current team are hoop sabateurs!

19/04/2005, 12:46 PM
I think this Bohs fan impatience line is becoming a bit thin. Are we the only crew that give our players and managers ear ache? Does that never, ever happen in Cork?
It happens at all clubs, but Bohs fans seem to get on managers/players backs much quicker than any other club in the country. All I'm saying is that Bohs enjoyed 2/3 good seasons in the last decade or so, and have now got financial problems, so expecting brilliant results (as Bohs fans evidently do, judging by the posts on their message board) is out of the question.

19/04/2005, 1:35 PM
Farelleys missus has not settled in Ireland, watch this space.

Carlin
19/04/2005, 2:00 PM
so expecting brilliant results (as Bohs fans evidently do, judging by the posts on their message board) is out of the question.

Is it not fair to expect that for the 2nd or 3rd highest wage bill in the country, we score more than one goal in 5 games or are higher than 2nd last? :mad:

19/04/2005, 2:40 PM
Bohs would want to cop themselves on. They're utterly deluded. They had 2 or 3 good season with reasonable success and they were swaggering around as though they were european champions.

Perfect analysis of the gypos delusions. Anyone who calls themselves "The Big Club" is in dire need of some lessons in self-awareness. Even if it did start as a joke among some of their more ironic fans.

In ways they're a bit like Man City in the seventies - for the first time in their not-very illustrious history they (briefly) over-shadowed their far more successful neighbours and got delusions of grandeur for their troubles.

Man City - The Massive Club and Bohs - The Big Club. Both names are ridiculous in the extreme.

19/04/2005, 2:47 PM
Is it not fair to expect that for the 2nd or 3rd highest wage bill in the country, we score more than one goal in 5 games or are higher than 2nd last? :mad:
It would be fairer to wonder how such a high wage bill has come about, given the fact that the club is in debt and you don't have that many players who would get into either the Shels or City team, or into the Drogs team for that matter- i.e. you're paying out over the odds in wages.

Also, it is fair enough to expect a better return than that, but it IS only 5 games- you need patience

19/04/2005, 3:59 PM
Perfect analysis of the gypos delusions. Anyone who calls themselves "The Big Club" is in dire need of some lessons in self-awareness. Even if it did start as a joke among some of their more ironic fans.

In ways they're a bit like Man City in the seventies - for the first time in their not-very illustrious history they (briefly) over-shadowed their far more successful neighbours and got delusions of grandeur for their troubles.

Man City - The Massive Club and Bohs - The Big Club. Both names are ridiculous in the extreme.

Is this a new, post-post-modern take on irony, where you first acknowledge it and then take it on the level?
I don't think any Bohs fans have delusions about this season. Heck, we even managed to draw with your pub team: how bad is that? And then we're slagged off for being cross with our manager!
We'd be worried about going down if it wasnt' for the knowledge that there's always you lot and a couple of others almost as rubbish as you are.
Another hoop living in the past, taking any opportunity not to have to think about your less than illustrious present.
If you want to talk about size, the bottom line is Shams ;) = minnows.

fitzknows
19/04/2005, 4:14 PM

Ha! That's some laugh coming from a rovers fan. The biggest delusion I've heard in years was 'rovers going pro' during the winter break. Try keeping yer heads above water first lads. By the way, ye're also indebted to the 'big club' this season. Otherwise given the financial situation at rovers you could have the sight of a first team in green & white hoops, some fellow in a flash trench coat along with 297 people that consist of the '400' club hitching on the side of the M1 in order to play 'home' games in Drogheda.

19/04/2005, 4:24 PM
By the way, ye're also indebted to the 'big club' this season.

Incorrect, the gypos are indebted to us this season - to the tune of a few grand every fortnight. Money they desperately need. Which is why we're trying to move to Santry. Cheaper for us and we won't be subsidising Bohs in their hour of need.

And BTW none of us believed the going full-time rubbish from Roddy and if the thoughts of the fans taking over in the guise of the 400 Club upsets you that much then I'm sorry for you.

fitzknows
19/04/2005, 4:35 PM
Looks like ye'll be subsidising Bohs in yer own hour of need. Handing over whatever bit of money ye've left to yer bitter enemies. Must be hard to take.

BTW hope the fans take over the club and get the thing sorted out. Whatever about yer past success it's always entertainment slagging with the hoops.

fitzknows
19/04/2005, 4:49 PM
Club A

Debt - 2.3 million euro approx
Assets - One rather flashy trench coat.

Club B

Debt - 1 million euro approx
Assets - Large area of rather valuable propery in Dublin 7.

Fan from Club A reckons if they can manage not to pay Club B 60 odd grand and keep it for themselves they will be saved and Club B will face untold consequences in their hour of need.

Now that's what I call wishful thinking.

monkey magic
19/04/2005, 5:13 PM
Club A

Debt - 2.3 million euro approx
Assets - One rather flashy trench coat.

Club B

Debt - 1 million euro approx
Assets - Large area of rather valuable propery in Dublin 7.

Fan from Club A reckons if they can manage not to pay Club B 60 odd grand and keep it for themselves they will be saved and Club B will face untold consequences in their hour of need.

Now that's what I call wishful thinking.

spot on... but im wondering is amnesia already affecting some limerick fans :rolleyes: yer not exactly a fine example of how a club shud be run