View Full Version : Wait for the black-out ??

Gerrit
17/04/2005, 1:23 AM
Well, it seems Ireland does not have a Gothscene at all. I live here now since almost 9 months and got around quite much (living in Dublin, visited Belfast and Galway and some smaller cities) and NOWHERE I have found a decent gothic place :( I realised this again when I met some fellow goths today in Dublin and realised that in all those months it was only the second or third time I ran into some gothics... Dublin is a huge metropolis, but unlike most big cities the gothscene seems to be unexisting, and I sometimes feel like a rarity being gothic in Ireland... (And I'm definitely the only one in Tolka Park !)

I was wondering if there is such thing as a gothic meet-up place in the country, or a place that sometimes organises goth meetups, a shop where I can find some decent gothic CD's other than the obligate Bauhaus and Cure records (where are Sopor Aeternus, 18 Summers, Lacrimosa, ... ??)

I thought I finally found a place where I could find some info on where to go, but gothic.ie is in development (and was last time I checked before, which was more than half a year ago !) and a goth site with a pint of Guinness on the opening page is not really a promising thing...

*PS: I put this in Off-topic instead of Music because gothic is not strictly a musical thing, it's a subculture. So it's larger than music and therefor I thought it suits best in Off-topic ?*

17/04/2005, 2:00 AM
and NOWHERE I have found a decent gothic place :(

Thank Christ!

17/04/2005, 2:17 AM
Thank Christ!

exactly, no offence Gerrit, but we are swamped with them over here in Glasgow, come here and you will meet loads, especially in the 'Cathouse' or on any Saturday, there are hundreds of them hanging around the Gallery of Modern art/ Borders bookshop, Royal Exchange Square. It is their meeting place and they hang around fighting each other and fighting with the neds (although i have to admit it is really entertaining when they fight with the neds, they really hate each other :D ) They stand in the doorways, throw litter and i find their behaviour and costumes, white painted faces etc intimidating. I really don't think the Goth thing will catch on in Ireland, don't know why, but don't think it is our cup of tea. Why would we want to paint our faces any whiter than they are.? :D Maybe also the 'gothic' style music is not popular in Ireland(Thank God)

Fair_play_boy
17/04/2005, 10:56 AM
. . . I really don't think the Goth thing will catch on in Ireland . . . Uh - oh, now you've done it! I can see the corners of Pana turning black and white now!!
Seriously though, there are a couple of goths in my kids school, and I have met some of their older fellow monochromes who gather around Paul Street. All aged in mid-upper teens. Have to say they were no different than any others of the same age group, a couple of muppets, but OK in the main.

davey
17/04/2005, 3:03 PM
exactly, no offence Gerrit, but we are swamped with them over here in Glasgow, come here and you will meet loads, especially in the 'Cathouse' or on any Saturday, there are hundreds of them hanging around the Gallery of Modern art/ Borders bookshop, Royal Exchange Square. It is their meeting place and they hang around fighting each other and fighting with the neds (although i have to admit it is really entertaining when they fight with the neds, they really hate each other :D ) They stand in the doorways, throw litter and i find their behaviour and costumes, white painted faces etc intimidating. I really don't think the Goth thing will catch on in Ireland, don't know why, but don't think it is our cup of tea. Why would we want to paint our faces any whiter than they are.? :D Maybe also the 'gothic' style music is not popular in Ireland(Thank God)

At one time, the Modern Art Gallery in Glasgow got fed up of all the neds and goths hanging round outside so they decided to pump classical music outside in a bid to deter them. The neds did stop hanging round there for a while but the goths stayed because they quite liked it :D

Gerrit
17/04/2005, 4:12 PM
I was in Glasgow in February and yes I met some fellow goths. That was a relief I must say, though I didn't find any real goth place, I just met them on the street in front of the Central Station.

Euhm,white painted faces?? Okay, there are some gothics who do that, but it's a slight minority. Are you sure those aren't black-metal fans ? Also many people think they can label themselves as goth because they listen to Evanescence or Cradle of Filth or so.
1) gothic is not a music style, it's a subculture with amongst other aspects its own art form
2) many of the so-called "goth bands" aren't gothic at all and sell records to kids who think it's cool to act goth while they don't know what it's about

Most gothics will not paint their faces white or get into fights with people from other subcultural or social groups. This would be just a very slight minority. Seems you had bad luck with the goths you met then, there's many really sensitive great people amongst us as well :)

And personally I do not paint my face white by the way. Just some black eyeliner, that's all facepainting I need. Apart from that one thing I look average.

Gerrit
17/04/2005, 4:18 PM
At one time, the Modern Art Gallery in Glasgow got fed up of all the neds and goths hanging round outside so they decided to pump classical music outside in a bid to deter them. The neds did stop hanging round there for a while but the goths stayed because they quite liked it :D

Of course. Lot of goths are heavily into art and like classical music. Listen to goth music and you will hear classical influences in some bands' work.

Personally I'm more into the eighties gothic and newwave music, stuff like Bauhaus, early The Cure, Echo & The Bunnymen,... And some more recent gothic bands as well that luckily are hardly known outside the gothic world, luckily because otherwise they'd have to commercialise...

Lot of gothics are into art such as paintings or literature as well. You'll find quite lot of gothics who have a good intellect. Of course there's others aswell :( and the scene is getting commercialised and interfered by people who don't really get what it's about but see it as a fashion thing. Sad.

17/04/2005, 4:22 PM
There's a few Goths hanging round in Derry, though not enough to have their own bar/place. Used to be a lot more when I was growing up as a 'fraggle' (i.e. into Indie music and usually wearing dark clothes, but certainly no goth). There are Goth nights every now and again in the Dungloe and Gweedore pubs though on William St. I've a mate who knocks around with the Goths in Derry/Donegal and Galway, so I'll do some investigating for you.

The biggest Goth population I've ever seen anywhere is in Newcastle-upon-Tyne in England. Literally hundreds of them congregate in the original Eldon Square (i.e. the park, not the shopping centre) every Saturday afternoon. Never seen so many Goths in one place bar a Cure/Marilyn Mansun gig...!

Gerrit
17/04/2005, 4:33 PM
Yeah if your friend could point me at some nice goth events in Ireland/N.Ireland that would be cool. I'd be happy to catch a train or bus to Cork/Belfast/Derry/Galway for it, as Dublin doesn't seem to have any place willing to organise gothic meetings...

Fair_play_boy
17/04/2005, 4:49 PM
The biggest Goth population I've ever seen anywhere is in Newcastle-upon-Tyne in England. Literally hundreds of them congregate in the original Eldon Square (i.e. the park, not the shopping centre) every Saturday afternoon. Never seen so many Goths in one place bar a Cure/Marilyn Mansun gig...!Ah, they were just Newcastle fans. ;) :D

Soper
17/04/2005, 5:54 PM
Theres goths everywhere in south wales, their lifestyle seems to have become quite trivial now, what with the number of them.

Being a 'member' of the hardcore community, I do some across all sorts.I still believe my music scene has alot more to say than others, I mean that in the least arrogant way possible.

18/04/2005, 12:16 AM
I was in Glasgow in February and yes I met some fellow goths. That was a relief I must say, though I didn't find any real goth place, I just met them on the street in front of the Central Station.

Euhm,white painted faces?? Okay, there are some gothics who do that, but it's a slight minority. Are you sure those aren't black-metal fans ? Also many people think they can label themselves as goth because they listen to Evanescence or Cradle of Filth or so.
1) gothic is not a music style, it's a subculture with amongst other aspects its own art form
2) many of the so-called "goth bands" aren't gothic at all and sell records to kids who think it's cool to act goth while they don't know what it's about

Most gothics will not paint their faces white or get into fights with people from other subcultural or social groups. This would be just a very slight minority. Seems you had bad luck with the goths you met then, there's many really sensitive great people amongst us as well :)

And personally I do not paint my face white by the way. Just some black eyeliner, that's all facepainting I need. Apart from that one thing I look average.

:D hello! i'm quite drunk so you'll have to excuse any abnormal behaviour! had a bit of a dinner party in the flat and then we consumed a LOT of wine :D hiccup! yeah, they usually meet up around central station too, but be careful Gerrit, that is because that is their meeting place for the under-18's , going to the UNDER-18 disco in the ca\thouse!!! u might find yourself locked up!! :D oh dear, eyeliner, well only one thing for that, it has to be discussed in the totty watch thread, i don't personally like it on guys, actually i find it hard to master myself, how the hell doees a guy get it on???? :eek:

onenilgameover
18/04/2005, 12:38 AM
As far as I know St Patrick ran the Goth's out of Ireland in the Early Ninties and I'm pretty sure he'ill do it a second time if yis start up that lark again...

otherwise try Fibbers in Dublin town..Seen some strange ones still goin in there

Gerrit
18/04/2005, 7:25 PM
Putting eyeliner on is piece of cake, I even do it without a mirror. But then again I'm a rather fanatic user.

18/04/2005, 7:30 PM
There used to be alot more goths around a year or two back than now, but it was mainly 15 year olds trying to look cool really, they were all over Dublin though.

Colie
18/04/2005, 7:42 PM
otherwise try Fibbers in Dublin town..Seen some strange ones still goin in there

That was where it was at back in the day. I remember I went in once & this guy they called "the king Goth" was sittin on a massive chair at the back of the stage. It was f'in halarious. To be honest, I didn't even think Fibbers was still open & I really hope it isn't.....

onenilgameover
18/04/2005, 9:59 PM
That was where it was at back in the day. I remember I went in once & this guy they called "the king Goth" was sittin on a massive chair at the back of the stage. It was f'in halarious. To be honest, I didn't even think Fibbers was still open & I really hope it isn't.....

Its open yeah have'nt been in since I was 17 though too my credit...Its more of a pub than a club now but still has the name but lost much of its rep

Aberdonian Stu
19/04/2005, 9:43 AM
Fibbers is still loaded with them. Went to a friend's birthday there in the summer, first time I'd seen the place in a few years but I can assure you that nothing has changed.

Loads of them used to congregate around the Central Bank, they fenced off where the steps are about five or six years back so they don't really hang there any more (thankfully).

19/04/2005, 9:50 AM
bauhaus is still going, down stairs fibbers on parnell street is still full with goths. more metallers though, also check out bruxelles you will find some hot goths, i mean the women that go in there are seriouslly fit. thats what i miss aboout that place.

also every third friday downstairs in fraizers or upstairs cant remember?? there is always goths there!!!

gerrit finally check out www.metalireland.com i am registered on that, but dont always post as there are a lot of "im more metal than you" people on there, and you can only post _METAL_ related stuff, absoloutely nothing else!!!

19/04/2005, 9:56 AM
They stand in the doorways, throw litter and i find their behaviour and costumes, white painted faces etc intimidating. I really don't think the Goth thing will catch on in Ireland, don't know why, but don't think it is our cup of tea. Why would we want to paint our faces any whiter than they are.? Maybe also the 'gothic' style music is not popular in Ireland(Thank God)

they arent goths, they are metallers!!! metallers hate neds, spides, pikies, chavs, knackers etc.

the paint you speak of is called corpse paint. here is a picture:

http://immortal.battlegrim.net:8081/img/entrance/immortal.jpg

Gerrit
20/04/2005, 8:44 PM
Yeah, I was told two days ago that Frasiers has a goth night. She thought every Saturday, but you say it's just every third Friday ? Would be more industrial and darkwave than true goth though, but still closer to my style than what's played in most pubs.

Gothic parties in a Celtic fan pub, it seems a weird combination, but why not giving it a go heh ? I like Celtic, so it's not like I'd feel on strange soil or so.

and definitely the guys Kerr's Tribe is referring to are metal fans. Goths tend to be very peaceful, and to be honest many people point at us as being nerds ourselves, so we wouldn't dare to get into trouble with them :) But also know that only a slight minority of metal fans has troubled behaviour.

21/04/2005, 10:36 AM
and definitely the guys Kerr's Tribe is referring to are metal fans

ya,, tsch tsch ignorance :p

hehe ya metallers do hate knacks.

gerrit, its more new wave/industrial type stuff, but you will get the likes of typo there and that sort of stuff.

lots of people in there jsut hold hands together and sit down, even i found things a bit strange. btw its not in the main part of friasers, can you imaginge the hardcore celtic fans element seeing goths going in, i dont think they would hmm "appreciate" them ;)

maybe it is every saturday it usent be though, it used to be every third friday. its the side entrance of fraiseers!

21/04/2005, 11:47 AM
There's a few goths in Limerick, they just latch onto the rock scene and sulk at the edges though.

21/04/2005, 3:03 PM
sulk at the edges though.
:D :D

Bosco
21/04/2005, 9:53 PM
Was that you tonight in flancare Gerrit,sporting some black eye-liner or is this just becoming a trend amongst el fans?

Gerrit
22/04/2005, 5:51 PM
"sporting eyeliner" ?

ehm, unless there's another Shels fan or a Longford fan that happens to be goth, that was me allright. I think I'm the only one in the Shels supporters group though...

New wave music sounds good, I'm an Echo & The Bunnymen fan after all, and I also do like The Cure and Indochine. Most new wave clubs will attract some gothics as well, so I'll give it a try.

And yeah, I can imagine that the Celtic fans would find it strange to see a gothic appear in their fanclub. But on the other hand, why not ? Football can be loved by anyone regardless their gender, religion, roots, colour of skin, or in this case subculture. I do like Celtic by the way, follow them for many years, and I didn't have any probs when I was at Celtic Park two months ago.

Gerrit
23/04/2005, 2:40 AM
OK, just been to Fibbers for a few hours. Not bad, not bad at all :) But also not great. It was mainly metal that was played, only a minority of the tracks were really gothic or goth-related. I appreciate some metal, but not for too long, and after two hours waiting for a true all-gothic song I've had enough of it. Fair play for the DJ though for giving in to my request to play "Paranoid" from Black Sabbath (my goth requests were not in his CD collection...)

Let's see what Frasiers brings tomorrow, it's every Saturday indeed gothic evening in the basement, and every third Friday of the month they have a new-wave evening. According to the staff member that provided me with info, it will be "spooky and loud", so I'm afraid it will be mainly industrial rather than real gothic. But will report on it tomorrow night.

23/04/2005, 2:47 AM
I can't contain myself with excitement Gerrit! :D :D ;)

Gerrit
24/04/2005, 3:21 AM
OK, as I promised... I have been to the Frazers (the goth club is called Dominion ---> http://dominion.gothic.ie/dominion and http://groups.yahoo.com/group/mother_russia/)

Can't say one thing but... THANKS TO ALL WHO REFERRED ME TO THIS CLUB !!!! This is so damn great ! Finally a place with fellow goths and without metalheads who think they're goth... Finally a place to be amongst real fellow goth fanatics. This was a damn great evening, good music, nothing but goths amongst eachother, a fairytale in black ! :cool:

I recommend this to any gothic who may ever read this (but I have the slight impression I'm the only one on this boards ?? :confused: ). It's every Saturday, I'll surely go back the coming weeks.

Gerrit
24/04/2005, 3:27 AM
One minor negative thingy though: I saw a girl so stunning I couldn't believe it, she likes gothic as well as me (otherwise she wouldn't be there), and apparently she is single... And I didn't have the guts to go towards her and start conversation, I am way too shy :( I was hoping she'd take the first step, but it seems I can only hope she's there next week again and that I'll be a bit braver then.

But apart from that: great evening, and I heard from another visitor that my beloved band Echo & The Bunnymen will be performing at 10 minutes walking from my front door :eek: :cool:

24/04/2005, 3:45 AM
dont know if its still going u might wanna try freakscene (http://www.freakscene.com/index.htm) in cork

4tothefloor
24/04/2005, 1:06 PM
There's a few goths in Limerick, they just latch onto the rock scene and sulk at the edges though.

Or hang around outside Brown Thomas, ruining the look of the place in the process :D

I think the whole gothic thing is way down the popularity list in this country, thank christ. Subcultures that are more popular, and less depressing, are Hip-Hop culture, Dance Music & Electronica culture, the rock scene, w@nkers who are in to 'You're a star' pop culture and last but not least, the culture of being a chav\skanger\scumbag. The latter two I can't stomach, I suppose i'd take goths over them any day.

Gerrit
24/04/2005, 5:14 PM
Eek, hiphop :eek:

Ehm, why would gothic be depressing ? This clealry shows you don't know too much of it. You got depressed people inside every subculture, religion, profession, ... The statement that gothic and depression go hand in hand is one of the most common but also wrong prejudices.

I think everyone's entitled to his/her own pleasures. Why is there a need to say "thank Christ" after stating that it's not really getting started ?? Why would hiphop fans and adepts of that subculture be entitled to have their own places and us goths not ?? Apart from the fact that you may not like it, which I will never blame you as you cannot discuss tastes, what did we ever do wrong to be considered as an unwelcome species ? :confused:

Eire06
24/04/2005, 5:29 PM
Can't say I've noticed much 'grown up' people around Galway in Goth.. You see a lot of kids 15yrs and younger hanging around shop street or the spanash arch at6 the weekends but I presume they grow out of it then... :rolleyes:

The two young ones on cornation street were funny..

Gerrit
24/04/2005, 7:34 PM
That was one thing I liked in Frazers yesterday: no teens that don't know what gothic's about, just grown-up passionate goths. Very nice to be amongst others of my "sort" without the 'fashion goths'.

25/04/2005, 8:22 AM
THANKS TO ALL WHO REFERRED ME TO THIS CLUB !!!!

no worries, good to see you enjoyed yourself. btw there are always good looking birds in there, and even better looking birds in bruxelles - downstairs and take a right.

did you notice many people holding eachothers hands??? and i dont mean couples!!

25/04/2005, 4:15 PM
dont know if its still going u might wanna try freakscene (http://www.freakscene.com/index.htm) in cork

I think it's still going, the last girl slk went all gooey over has been charged with turning their website around.

Gerrit
11/05/2005, 7:54 PM
I went to Cornucopia in Belfast last Saturday. Nice gothscene up there. Musically the Dublin clubs are better, as Belfast plays mainly darkwave and industrial. But the scene is nice in belfast, much more make-up and darkness than in the Dublin scene, seems they just take more effords to dress up and have a good time...

and I saw the most beautiful goth girl Saturday :eek: and I found the guts to talk to her and take the first step :) then to forget to ask her number :(
So if anyone knows a stunning Belfast-based girl looking like she ran away out of a grotesque Marilyn Manson video: tell her she can always mail me to exchange some goth music (as a start :cool: )

11/05/2005, 11:12 PM
LOL good man gerrit. goths seem to go for one another quite easily as they dont get many offers. only messin!!

gerrit, i saw these young ones about 18, dressed in stuff i wouldnt normally associate with goth, industrial metal etc, more like punk with a lot of leather. here is a description can you let me know what it is:

one had blue hair in dreads, leather pvs trousers but baggie, really high boots, those platform sorta boots( :confused: ) and tight sleeveless t-shirt with a dark tshirt longsleeve, underneath. that was a guy, the girls were pretty much the same, what sorta dress is that???

Gerrit
13/05/2005, 11:28 AM
could be goth but it seems unlikely, only very very few goths would dress like that. Seems more metal or punk IMO.

13/05/2005, 11:46 AM
Seems more metal or punk IMO.

no it actually seemed in between, i have never seen it before.